TK is not OK

By Martin Jalleh

Political Irony of the day

Today, in The Star we read of former Gerakan President Lim Keng Yaik (KY) telling his protégé Koh Tsu Koon (TK) not to stay longer than he is welcome. Tsu Koon has been the president of Gerakan for only about three years, Keng Yaik has been at the top of the party for 27 years! Who has been overstaying?

For the younger generation who do not know who Lim Keng Yaik is, well his last Cabinet post was Minister of Energy, Water and Communications. Reporters would be ready to attest to the fact that KY was a very communicative Minister with lots of energy and “water” to spare!

The old man must have forgotten that four years ago he told The Star: “When I took over from Tun Dr Lim Chong Eu in 1980, they said, this KY will not be able to measure up to Chong Eu. I think I can now safely beg to defer. No two persons are alike. I told him (TK) to be himself just as I was myself.” As you can see, KY is still very much himself!

Meanwhile, the young “backdoor” Minister who has been besieged by KY for “burying his head in the sand” and “bringing the party to the dogs” barked and brayed loudly today that Gerakan, far from being a party that is hopeless — is a party of “honourable, honest and humble leaders”. What a heap of hype and humbug from a man trying hopelessly hard to whip a dead horse!

TK promised to change his laid back “tai chi” leadership style to a more aggresive (hardened form of kungfu) — the “praying mantis” kungfu. Perhaps the “drunken monkey” style may be more suitable?

1. #1 by monsterball on Monday, 8 November 2010 - 12:57 pm

KY have a big mouth and all must keep far away when he speaks. His legendary spitting out water while speaking is true.
    So are his F words out of each sentence.
    He is a typical empty vessel makes the most noise kind of politician…with an art to carry UMNO B and let go…swing here…swing there..for what?
    So is his low class double talks and cunning personality.
    Tsu Koon can learn all the fungfu he wants and hope to battle and win….but put in Karate Kid…he will be knocked out in 60 seconds.
    But the said Karate Kid will be instructed to loose as having Tsu Koon as Gerakan President is much fun to watch him performance and style.
    This gobolok do give Malaysians some laughs and fun to poke at him.
    Why spoil the party?
    Go on Tsu Koon……ignore KY.

2. #2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 8 November 2010 - 12:57 pm

WoW!

Wow!

Wow!

I hope this won’t be Martin’s wake-up call for a ‘sleeping giant’.

Honestly, KTK, u r not cut out for BN politics. U r too nice and simple, honest too even if u r often spineless such as when u were CM and those BN goons rode roughshod over u.

Maybe, it’s better to just sleep on.

3. #3 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 8 November 2010 - 1:00 pm

KTK is in the same league as Pak Lah.

The only difference is one gets caught snoozing in public, the other “snoozes” on the job.

4. #4 by Voter on Monday, 8 November 2010 - 1:32 pm

ktk said Gerakan down but not out.
    we knew.. we understand this term .
    ktk is no ball but still a man status.

5. #5 by boh-liao on Monday, 8 November 2010 - 2:03 pm

Don’t play play with him, he knows tai ji chuan n now praying mantis chuan as well
    He can b soft n hard at will, very li hai 1, good 4 CSL-like activities b4 snoozing
    Hai-iiiiiiiiii ya, woh lai yeh, chop chop

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Monday, 8 November 2010 - 2:14 pm

The problem is that in the field of biology there is no recorded phenomenon as yet of a crustacean’s metamorphosis to that of an insect like a praying mantis.

7. #7 by lcclck on Monday, 8 November 2010 - 2:18 pm

Gerakan is irrelevant as long as DAP governs Penang well with other partners in PR,,,show the world you guys in PR can do better,,,serve well and be reminded that arrogance will breed down fall of any powerful government,,,,

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 8 November 2010 - 2:23 pm

If u believe Dr Lim Keng Yaik, then KTK is an ostrich “dibawah tempurong” – a ccross between an ostrich and a frog which makes it either an “ostrog” or a frog-rich.

No one doubts a rich frog would be a better choice.

9. #9 by perampok cinta1 on Monday, 8 November 2010 - 3:08 pm

Sir,
    I believe in karma. However what you post here is blatant lies. TK was hand pick and groom by former president KY. Should they have any different in perspective, that is normal in politic. Don’t deny it.
    What important now is TK willing to accept the critic that party members give to him and try make a different. Of course it is not easy but what I can smell from your posting is you actually afraid of him and Gerakan can topple DAP in Penang.
    I’m sure by now your beloved son already have other plan to smear TK image in order to stay in power. But soon people will know the one that need kung fu is DAP not Gerakan.
    Under TK, Penang already achieve good FDI figure and even Malay over there were given equal treatment. Other then RM100 given to old folks, what else have you done to Malay in Penang?

10. #10 by lkt-56 on Monday, 8 November 2010 - 3:37 pm

Sure TK knows he is NOT OK. And he knows it. Otherwise why need to change from Taiji to Praying Mantis. ;-)

11. #11 by lkt-56 on Monday, 8 November 2010 - 3:50 pm

perampok cinta1: “…Under TK, Penang already achieve good FDI figure and even Malay over there were given equal treatment…”

Gerakan lost the state… what does that tell you?

You indirectly accuse LGE of not having done anything for the Penang people other than giving Rm100 to Malays.

And you know why you used the Rm100 gift as an example.

So you believe in karma… Good for you if you think making false speech is good for you.

Good luck my friend.

12. #12 by tak tahan on Monday, 8 November 2010 - 4:19 pm

LGE is much better in terms of managing state’s revenue and affairs.Every one regardless of race should be given equal opportunity and not only malay,perampok cinta 1,am i right?Ask urself what u learnt in islam before u fart out some rubbish again from ur dirty mouth and brain.KTK is only umno’s stooge to divide n rule.And that’s bloody racist and against any religion teaching.
    May god cleanse ur dirty racist mind.It’s time to treat other races as equal as stated in ur kitab!

13. #13 by born in Malaya on Monday, 8 November 2010 - 5:44 pm

All the BN component parties are irrelevant to the non malays as they are just there to split the chinese and indians votes.If you joint BN, means you agree to a racist government.
    In other words they are running dogs in the non malays communities. Stop being dogs, fight for your future and children in Malaysia.

14. #14 by boh-liao on Monday, 8 November 2010 - 6:11 pm

Hey, there r many talented n highly educated nonMalays in BN component parties, u know
    How can they b DOGS, sitting, running, jumping, or doing d doggie thingy

15. #15 by born in Malaya on Monday, 8 November 2010 - 9:33 pm

Hey, as talented n highly educated as they r, then, why help umno to split all non malays’ votes? Give me a good reason. Being a non-bumi, may b u r one of those who profited from BN but sacrifices the millions non-malays in Malaysia, sell fish fellow, .
    Anyway, they r not DOGS but running dogs, ask some one if u don’t understand.

16. #16 by Bigjoe on Monday, 8 November 2010 - 11:19 pm

What is surprising is that KTK talks like a bumpkin and Princeton did not call ask their degree back?

17. #17 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 9 November 2010 - 12:45 am

Betul. Betul. Betul. Must learn to give unfriendly cold shoulders to some and great friendliness to others and then turn around to hit below the waistline. Cannot always sit in the empty corner cold office. Must come out and learn to be cunning. That is politics wherever you go. May be he should learn the ancient Chinese art and skill of putting on various masks with lightning speed.

18. #18 by k1980 on Tuesday, 9 November 2010 - 8:39 am

Why not let KTK stay as party president on for life? This is the surest way to bring about the extinction of that worthless party

19. #19 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 9 November 2010 - 9:11 am

KTK can now claim he is KARATE KID, so what? He was too timid all the way and by now, damage has been done permanently! Why didn’t he turn aggressive when Ahmad Ismail’s machai tore up his “face”?????

20. #20 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 9 November 2010 - 12:08 pm

Don’t play play with dis running tyke, it must hv oredi read Sun Tzu’s Art of War

21. #21 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 10 November 2010 - 12:52 am

“There is no dignity, no mutual respect, no honour in the relationship between Koh and his Umno colleagues. It does not matter whether Koh changed his style from ‘tai chi’ to ‘kung fu’. His political DNA is subservient to Umno.”
    Wow, who said dat? Not PR kakis but SAPP president Yong Teck Lee.
    He also said any semblance of respect that people had for Koh disappeared when he crawled into the Cabinet through the “back door” by becoming a senator.
    Ai say, KTK, very pai-seh lah, mana tánglángquán, haaaaai yaaaaaaaaaah