Galas assault: Heng a liar, says TBH group

By Wong Teck Chi | Nov 2, 10 4:26pm

The ‘Malaysians for Beng Hock’ movement released a series of photographs today to prove that one of their members was manhandled by an MCA grassroots leader in Gua Musang, Kelantan, last Saturday.

The movement’s coordinator Ng Yap Hwa said the photographs proved that one of its members, Soh Cher Hai, was in fact violently pushed by an individual who has been identified as the Gua Musang MCA division secretary.

The movement said the photographs were proof that Deputy Women, Family and Community Development Minister Heng Seai Kie had issued misleading statements on the incident.

Heng had claimed that Soh did not exactly fall onto the ground and that she had ensured Soh’s safety before she left.

Ng said the photographs also depict Heng not only witnessing the incident but leaving the scene and ignoring Soh, who was on the ground just a few feet from her (right).

The group also challenged Heng’s claim that Soh “nearly fell” during melee, that his fall was broken by others surrounding him.

“Our evidence shows that Heng has lied outrageously,” Ng told a press conference at the Kuala Lumpur and Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall in the federal capital today.

He urged MCA to sack the division secretary who had acted violently and to take displinary action against Heng for lying.

Meanwhile, Soh, who was also present at the press conference, said he reserved his right to take legal action against his assailant.

Last Saturday, Soh had attempted to approach Heng after an evening function at Gua Musang, where the deputy minister was campaigning for BN in the Galas by-election.

Heng: I emphatise with Soh

The pushing incident involving Soh has turned into a campaign fiasco for the MCA as Gua Musang’s Chinese community have expressed disdain over the matter.

In an attempt to diffuse the situation, Heng yesterday issued a statement to show tacit support for one of issues of the Malaysians for Beng Hock movement – the formation of a Royal Commission of Inquiry into Teoh Beng Hock’s death.

Heng (left) said: “As regards the Teoh Beng Hock case, the petition for the inception of a royal commission is of grave concern to the public.

“As a deputy minister, I am duty-bound to report the issue to my party president Dr Chua Soi Lek and Kelantan MCA liaison chief Dr Ng Yen Yen to seek the party’s decision and guidance.”

She also claimed that she was willing to accommodate the group’s demand for a meeting in Gua Musang and in Kuala Lumpur, but this was rejected by the group.

“On the said evening, due to my tight schedule (that was) prior arranged, I had to leave the venue prematurely, but I did offer twice to meet Soh and his members the following day at Galas.

“But that was unfortunately rejected by Soh and his group for whatever reasons best known to them,” Heng said, adding that the group did not accept offers to meet at another time.

She said she would contact the inspector-general of police soon to urge the police to expedite investigations into the pushing incident.

“At the same time, I empathise with Soh over the incident. I urge the police to treat the assault report lodged by Soh seriously,” she added.

At the ‘Malaysians for Beng Hock’ group’s press conference, Teoh’s sister Lee Lan shed tears over MCA’s accusation that the group was trying to politicise the death of her brother.

She criticised MCA for failure to help the family to urge the setting up of a royal commission and blaming the family for politicising the issue when they sought the help of other concerned citizens.

“Our family has never rejected the help of MCA and we are still waiting. However, you have kept us waiting and even asked us to wait until the inquest was finished (before the royal commission of inquiry can be set up).

“How you want us to explain the death of a brother? I feel sad and disappointed with the MCA.”

Ng also denied that the accusation that the movement was influenced by political forces and stressed that opposition leaders only came to the police station to show their compassion.

1. #1 by truly malasie on Tuesday, 2 November 2010 - 10:00 pm

MCA is a joke. I was approached by a colleague who is a MCA branch head, aked me to buy low cost apartment but must pay RM10,000 under table money. He said it was allocated to MCA. Some for UMNO, some for MCA, some for MIC etc.
    I was disgusted. Just didn’t reply and kept it to myself. The low cost houses are for poor people. Why the hell do i want to own one and deprive someone of affordable housing.
    I lost my respect for this so call friend after that day.

2. #2 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 3 November 2010 - 1:58 am

Heng 2 Soh: TQ very much, now I hv a valid excuse 2 meet my party president n hero CSL privately 2 seek his guidance, yummy yummy, nice tool n techniques
    MCA where got time 4 d ‘Malaysians for Beng Hock’ movement, also takut MACC lah

3. #3 by k1980 on Wednesday, 3 November 2010 - 8:11 am

Heng 2 Soh: TQ very much, now sugar daddy chua will promote me from deputy minister to full minister. Also allow me to take Angela Yam’s place in his heart. Next dvd will feature me instead of her.

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 3 November 2010 - 8:18 am

Too bad it did not happen in Batu Sapi. BN then die, die for sure. Send the brother in law to Batu Sapi – show them the photos..

5. #5 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 3 November 2010 - 9:05 am

If Heng could lie for small thing like this, I don’t know how many “big things” she has lied to the Chinese community.

6. #6 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 3 November 2010 - 9:59 am

umno lap dogs at its lowest. look at the MCA pari@h dogs. If they are so tough, go join the army.

MCA=Me Cina Anjing

7. #7 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 3 November 2010 - 12:35 pm

Obviously MCA is oblivious to truth in this IT age. With everyone having a handphone or a tiny digital camera, you can’t BLUFF any more. One picture says a thousand words, surely such action will condemn MCA in the eyes of the community. So, Heng what now? Hang to it or rather hang it yourself?

8. #8 by k1980 on Wednesday, 3 November 2010 - 1:12 pm

I am surprised at the tidak-apa attitude of Ong Tee Kiat. Chua SL will 100% not be allowing him to contest in the coming 13GE. So why is Ong still hanging around in mca? Same as with Chia ah chye who has been sidelined by Gerakan’s Teng in Penang.