Najib’s job as Prime Minister is not just to express sadness at rise of extremism but to provide leadership to stamp out racial bigotry and religious extremism especially when they come from UMNO and allied or outsourced groups

In his Malaysia Day message, the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak expressed strong opposition at the rise of extremism which is a stumbling block in the nation’s progress.

He said he is “saddened” that despite living in an independent multi-cultural nation, there are still those who cannot tolerate, much less accept the benefits of a diverse society and reject the 1Malaysia concept and policy propounded by him since becoming Prime Minister in April last year.

Najib’s job as Prime Minister is not just to express sadness at the rise of extremism but to provide leadership to stamp out racial bigotry and religious extremism especially when they come from UMNO and allied or outsourced groups.

There can be no question that the rhetoric of race and religion had reached an unprecedented level in the past 17 months since he took over the helm of federal government, and what compounded the problem was that the racial bigotry and religious extremism were all coming from one direction – UMNO and its allied or outsourced groups, raising the fundamental question whether Najib has the political will and leadership to stand up and be counted to stamp out extremism coming from his own camps.

Who for instance is the most prominent antagonist of Najib’s 1Malaysia policy if not his Deputy Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin?

The objective of Najib’s 1Malaysia is to build a Malaysian nation where every Malaysian regards himself or herself as Malaysian first and race second – but Muhyiddin had publicly declared that he is Malay first and Malaysian second.

As result, despite my challenge in Parliament, there is not a single Barisan Nasional Minister in Parliament who dared to contradict Muhyiddin by declaring that he or she is a Malaysian first and race second.

With the strongest opposition to his 1Malaysia policy coming from within his own camps and even in Cabinet, is Najib prepared to take a stand that there is no place in his Cabinet for any Minister or Deputy Prime Minister who is not prepared to declare that he or she is Malaysian first and Malay second?

What Malaysians are seeing is the colonial tactics of “Divide and Rule” of the races in the country taken over by Umno and acquiesced by the other subservient Barisan Nasional component parties being practised at the most opportunistic and irresponsible degree.

In contrast, Pakatan Rakyat formed by PKR, PAS and DAP is offering a completely different formula of nation-building and governance based on “Unite and Rule” – to unite the various races, religions, cultures and regions in the country as one national identity to fulfill Malaysia’s potential for greatness which we have lost along the way in the past five decades of Barisan Nasional stewardship.

This is the significance of the official launching of the Pakatan Rakyat Sabah secretariat tonight with some 1,500 Sabahans as witnesses to history in the making – to embrace and endorse the Pakatan Rakyat’s “Unite and Rule” to govern and Sabah Malaysia in rejection of Umno/BN’s discredited formula of “Divide and Rule” which ultimately benefitted only a handful from the various racial groups and their cronies.

[Speech at the Malam Pakatan Rakyat organized by Sabah DAP at Putra Seafood Restaurant, Kota Kinabalu on Wednesday,15th September 2010]

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 9:19 am

Bottom line is Najib think he can just talk is way out of the problem(s). The problem is what is needed is an actual solution. He may not say so or even think so but that is the reality. Nothing he is doing is a solution. His plan is crap. Forget leadership, we don’t expect it. His job is actually just a real plan. He does not have one. Its just that we can’t throw the garbage he is spewing out back in his face.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 9:36 am

Beware of two-headed people. When they see Bumi, they talk in Bumi language. When they see non-Bumi, they talk in non-Bumi language.

3. #3 by DAP man on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 10:20 am

Najib is somnambulist and talking in his sleep . He does not know what he is talking.
    When he wakes up, that is if he does, he will not recall what he had said.

If indeed he is awake then please tell what has he done about the extremist problem – ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!

Why feel sad when you have done nothing, Najib.

4. #4 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 10:30 am

One simple thing he can do is ask the PDRM to investigate PERKASA leaders who have made racist remarks.
    After all, ministers were quick to pounce on Namawee after his Youtube video on the headmistress in Johor.

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 10:32 am

Sabahan must remember that in 1965, they could have to ceded with Singapore but they did not. They should ask themselves why is DAP is not the dominant PR party in Sabah?

6. #6 by Godfather on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 10:40 am

This is what happens when the leader leads three rows from the front. Did we elect him leader or he became leader by default ?

7. #7 by vsp on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 10:41 am

Najib is always the fence-sitter and cowardly throws in his support depending on which way the wind blows. In UMNO there is a group against Perkasa and another group for. Najib will wait till the end to see which group is ascendant and he will tailor his tune accordingly. Now he is behaving just like Abdullah Badawi who always had his regrets instead of acting on his power as PM whenever something terrible happens.

8. #8 by Dipoh Bous on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 10:48 am

Being the first PM to finally recognise Sept 16 as an important event must surely deserve credit. I believe most east Malaysians are looking forward to more concrete positive actions ( not just slogans, please ) to move the two states ahead and to be at par with the rest of the states in Malaysia.

Is this the beginning of a new era whereby the two states are finally being recognised as equal partners in the federation of Malaysia? Or is this the ‘last card’ available to ensure BN does not lose putrajaya as the two states are the deciding factor in the last GE?

That said, let us enjoy this first truly Malaysian public holiday. Selamat Hari Malaysia to all Malaysians.

9. #9 by Cinapek on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 10:54 am

Najib is all fart and no shit.

The most provocatively extremist elements are in his own backyard. Namewee makes a Youtube video and he is grilled for 7 hours, intimidated by the PDRM and threatened with a sedition charge. But the culprits whom Namewee is venting his frustrations at, the two school principals, whose blatantly racist remarks are clearly seditious are treated with kid gloves. And then you have the UMNO controlled Utusan who continously use the paper to fan these racist and religious sentiments. Last but not least, look around at your UMNO leaders and their public statements and posturing.

PM you can blab until you are blue in the face but you will not convince us one bit about 1 Malaysia until and unless you are prepared to walk the talk.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 11:17 am

///In contrast, Pakatan Rakyat formed by PKR, PAS and DAP is offering a completely different formula of nation-building and governance based on “Unite and Rule”/// – YB Kit.

“Unite and Rule” sounds nice in opposite rhyme to BN’s “Divide and Rule” but as a political motto it is not as good as “Unite and Lead”, the better one first coined by German dramatist, novelist, poet, & scientist, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749 – 1832).

For this is a big difference between “to rule” and “to lead”. By modern thinking a leader is much more than a ruler.

A ruler dictates to his people “Go” whereas a leader says, “Lets go”. Hitler was a ruler but would we honour him by modern standards a leader??? A leader is much more than a ruler!

For to rule means to dictate top down telling the rakyat, “we know best” of what’s their interest and the nation’s. To rule is to control, dominate, direct and dictate and in an authoritarian way. [Now the PAP is ruling on that basis, so lets not have the DAP being accused of being its clone!]

To lead is different. It is more an action than a position. It means one naturally garners followers, not coral and Shepard them as sheep! A leader shows (as opposed to directs) the way and guides, whilst doing the thing themselves. If he says to rakyat “don’t be corrupt” he sets the same personal benchmark by example and therefore others are prepared to follow because they are inspired by his sincerity and not cheesed off by his hypocrisy!

The following is a voluntary. Whilst it is ever true that a leader can’t get too far ahead of his followers, this is precisely why the leader has to canvass their opinions, even if different groups have differing views, and after weighing competing considerations, the leader decides what’s, on balance, best and represents the greater shared vision, and then after that communicates, persuades and inspires the people to go along with him towards these goals, not because these objectives are just good for the leader but that they are ultimately good for the followers and the country!

The main thrust of Anwar’s/Kit’s & Pakatan Rakyat (PR)’s criticism of the “Umno/BN’s discredited formula of “Divide and Rule”” is that by dividing the people it ultimately benefits only “a handful from the various racial groups and their cronies”.

A handful implies a political hierarchy where those on the top (rule, as distinct from lead) over those below whom they do not necessarily have to give an accounting. In this sense we no more want a PR that unites the people in order to ultimately benefit only “a handful” close to the PR new rulers at the top than a BN that, in contrast, divides the people for the same ends!

I therefore suggest to you that a better political motto for PR to adopt is “Unite and Lead” than “Unite and Rule”!

11. #11 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 11:46 am

Nice one, Jeffrey. I go with you.
    PR, show us the way to go. LEAD us. Don’t RULE and LORD over us like UMNOB/BN.

12. #12 by dawsheng on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 11:53 am

Jeffrey is correct.

13. #13 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 11:54 am

yeah PR, lead us to freedom and we will follow you. we need to unshackled tyrant umno from making us slaves.

14. #14 by Comrade on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 12:08 pm

Mr PM, why pretend to take it so hard
    Extremists are right at your own backyard
    Have them all convicted and barred
    Then you may not end up being a discard
    Will the PM stand up and play this card?
    But the corrupted Umno warlords are always on their guard

Our PM should wield his power as any good PM should and clean up his own backyard, then we know that he means business at last.
    Otherwise, come GE13, lets let PR takes over to give Malaysia a better future.

Nevertheless, wishing all a Happy Malaysia Day.

15. #15 by johnnypok on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 12:57 pm

Talk is cheap. You must act fast. Do it now. ISA the mamak toon and the E-ali guy.

Arrest the two school heads, and warn all those newspaper that publish offensive and lies.

Sack all the lazy and corrupt government officers. Suspend anyone who fail to follow the rule.

16. #16 by frankyapp on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 1:40 pm

Najib is in a dilemma,a kind of a catch 22 situation. He’s liken a weak barn keeper and a couple of bad rats.Initially he wanted to destroy them but was powerless to do so,hence the two bad rats became pretty powerful,Najib realising it now but he could not just burn the whole barn down to the ground because of these two ugly rats. I think the rakyat has two option (1) hopping he steps down as the barn keeper and (2) change the keeper and take over the barn. What’s your take guys ?

17. #17 by boh-liao on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 1:47 pm

A gift on M’sia Day
    Tra la la, it’s out, D Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2010-11, d gold standard in international university performance comparisons
    http://www.timeshighereducation.co.uk/world-university-rankings/
    What has MOHE minister 2 say? Don’t compare pisang tanduk with rambutan? Ha, ha ……

18. #18 by hotspur11 on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 2:17 pm

I wont be surprise a chunk of UMNO members who want Najib step down (like Pak Lah) but waiting for Muyiddin green light. Muyiddin, on the other hand will not give the nod now because he is not sure BN will win the next general election. He would sit back and wait for a good political cause that will ensure BN victory. Then he will unseat Najib. There are many big money pipeline connection that need to be protected. Thats why bumiputra rights need to be maintained.

Common Malay people only want peaceful living and they know the big govt contract is beyond their reach unless join BN. But in that way, you need to be “yes” man for quite a number of years and you also need to spent in order to get support. Where to find that kind of money for a common malay?

All non- Malay want is equal opportunity and equal treatment in all sectors. Non-Malay pay taxes and big part of the money goes to the benefit of one race. Worst of all, that one race want our future generation to continue doing this because of bumiputra rights.

Come on…How do you think we as non- Malay would “tahan” this?

19. #19 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 2:21 pm

Like Najib, I also feel sad that Malaysians are drifting apart; the nation is falling apart. But unlike Najib, I feel it in my heart, not just talking to sooth and comfort.

But what can I do, what could I do? I am only a ordinary citizen. Not even a Yang Berhormat like Yee Bra Heng Ah Lee or a Tong like Beh Ah Tee. So like my fellow countrymen, I can only lament over our misfortune for not having a good leader like Mr. Lee, who built-up a former poor fishing village into world class nation, to to LEAD us. I lament over our bad luck to have a PM who robbed us for over 22 years; who single-handedly started a culture of ”legalised corruption.

Like my fellow countrymen, my lamentation suddenly turned into one of hope when AAB became PM, but that hope turned into disappointment just as suddenly as it came.

Now….OMG!!!!!! najib bin TUN ABDUL RAZAK!!!!

So you can see now, Mr Najib PM sir. I…WE…the Rakyat don’t have the power to clear-up all this mess. That power has been given to you. Malaysian Patriots are resting last hope on you. Execute that given power with wisdom ( Do Not use ISA to silence your opponents, please ) OR you gonna see that POWER taken awayfrom you. I …. WE …. the RAKYAT will do the necessary for own well-being, for the sake of our nation and for the generations to come.

20. #20 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 2:45 pm

Dear frankyapp #15

Well, looks like we have no better option. Personally, I am all for someone from PR to take over the running of the country, be he TOK GURU, ANWAR, WAN AZIZAH, ZAID IBRAHIM or even that blessed ( what’s her name? …Maaf Zahir Batin ) daughter of ANWAR and WAN AZIZAH. She’s got beauty, she’s got brain…..she’got a good heart, she can LEAD us and EASE our pain.

But, P-L-E-A-S-E, if the change is to another guy from UMNOB or PERKASA, better not lah; unless off course, they humble themselves and appoint LAU LEE as MENTOR MINISTER. Agree??

21. #21 by Loh on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 3:44 pm

///He (Najib) said he is “saddened” that despite living in an independent multi-cultural nation, there are still those who cannot tolerate, much less accept the benefits of a diverse society and reject the 1Malaysia concept and policy propounded by him since becoming Prime Minister in April last year.///–Najib

Is Najib’s state of being saddened progressing from happiness to indifference or indifference to really feeling sad? We do not know because in 1987 as Minister and UMNO Youth Chief, the same UMNO leadership position as Khairy Jamaluddin, Najib vowed to soak kris in Chinese blood. The last time I checked he has neither retracted nor apologized for that remarks. So morally he has no right to speak what he spoke.

Extremism is found in non-Malay communities if Mahathir’s words claiming that those who oppose racism are racists, and so those who are opposed to extremism are extremists.

Extremists or ultras have progressed in their political career as exemplified by Mahathir and Najib himself. Thus, to all prospective UMNO leaders it pays to be extremists. Malaysians are not stupid and when people are protected by the colour of the skin together with the type of religion he practices from prosecution even if they act against the law, they would just uphold extremism, publicly, so as to be noticed. Najib can cry crocodile tears. But he has not retracted his statement made in 1987, 23 years ago, and Najib is still an extremist.

Mahathir said that the call for Malaysian Malaysia was the cause of racism in the country. He thinks like a snatch thief. If the victims easily let go their purse, then there would not be further action against the victims. If the victim struggles, more harm is to be expected. That mentality was congenital to him and he ruled under that guidelines for over 22 years. Thus, Anwar would not have black eyes on him if he just went off quietly after having been sacked.

Even snatch thieves would not feel proud to claim that their victims should just let go of the belongings, to avoid physical harm. Mamakthir claimed that Albar Jaafar went to Singapore to cause racial sentiments after the call of Malaysian Malaysia as if the action was justified. Hence he knew no shame compared to some snatch thieves.

22. #22 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 4:20 pm

Lau Lee and Mahathir…….where can compare. the former is recognised the world over as a visionary Stateman, whilst the latter unabashedly claims himself to be one ( blowing his own trumpet ). To the whole world he is a big crook and an illusionist. Only people like Kassim Amat, cintanegara and the like have been convinced and hold him in high esteem to the extent of calling him ”ayahanda”

23. #23 by boh-liao on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 5:21 pm

Happy birthday to M’sia n Harry LeeKY, both born on 16.9
    Salute to Gopal Sri Ram n Azzat Kamaludin 4 speaking out; brave hearts

24. #24 by bennylohstocks on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 8:09 pm

25. #25 by cemerlang on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 8:49 pm

What is leadership without support ? What is support if it is not the support for the desires of the most influential ? If you are against extremism, but others want to hold on to power, so sad to say that if you cannot beat them, you have to join them. So sad.

26. #26 by asia on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 10:23 pm

Malay, Chinese and India must know that

Malay alone would not be able gain independence from British.

Without the support of Chinese and India, British would not be granted Malaya Independence.

Malaya is formed by Alliance by Malay, Chinese, India finally independence granted from British.

After Independence these land owned by the people who won the independence from British.

Who won?

It is MALAY, CHINESE, INDIA the majority.

It is an absolutely FACT in black/white.

Anyone of them can demand for equality.

Remember it is your effort gained independence from British, and you have the absolutely rights to demand.

27. #27 by cemerlang on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 10:48 pm

Don’t forget Tun Donald Stephens and Temenggong Jugah

28. #28 by johnnypok on Friday, 17 September 2010 - 7:38 am

NTR’s big dream is now a nightmare … can he survive?

29. #29 by dagen on Friday, 17 September 2010 - 9:45 am

The struggling kicks of a dying man. Are we seeing that in umno?

Yes, I think so.

30. #30 by Antitheist on Friday, 17 September 2010 - 10:59 am

I completely agree with Jeffrey about the PR slogan. But that slogan exemplifies the mindset of Malaysia’s politicians – they consider themselves to be rulers and not leaders. “Do as we say, not as we do”.

It’s taxpayer’s money that provide their salaries etc. and everyone pays tax in one form or another. So please keep in mind that they (politicians) work for us (the public) and not the other way round.

The word “Minister” means “servant” – to minister = to serve. They don’t “rule” us – they serve us.

Well at least they’re supposed to.

The problem is many have lost sight of that.

31. #31 by frankyapp on Friday, 17 September 2010 - 11:44 am

And also the malays,chinese and indian in Malaya must remember that the Sabahans and Sarawakians are co-founders and partners with Malayans to forming Malaysia hence everyone can demand for equal rights and shares in the wealth of this nation. It does not make sense and it’s not right that certain Sabahans and Sarawakians have been classified as non this and non that.Why would these group wanted to form Malaysia if they could be deprived of such rights and shares in the first place ?

32. #32 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 17 September 2010 - 11:49 am

/// A ruler dictates to his people “Go” whereas a leader says, “Lets go”. Hitler was a ruler but would we honour him by modern standards a leader??? A leader is much more than a ruler!

For to rule means to dictate top down telling the rakyat, “we know best” of what’s their interest and the nation’s. To rule is to control, dominate, direct and dictate and in an authoritarian way. [Now the PAP is ruling on that basis, so lets not have the DAP being accused of being its clone!]

To lead is different. It is more an action than a position. It means one naturally garners followers, not coral and Shepard them as sheep! A leader shows (as opposed to directs) the way and guides, whilst doing the thing themselves. If he says to rakyat “don’t be corrupt” he sets the same personal benchmark by example and therefore others are prepared to follow because they are inspired by his sincerity and not cheesed off by his hypocrisy! ///

Politicians “leading” as you have defined it is good to have and an ideal. Not many countries are able to practice it. “Ruling” can still work, provided the ruler is benign, fair and not so corrupt.

By your definition, Singapore is also “ruled” by the PAP all these years. However, the results are very different from Malaysia. I put it down to the MATI factors:
    Meritocracy
    Accountabilty
    Transparency
    Integrity

33. #33 by Jeffrey on Friday, 17 September 2010 - 1:59 pm

That’s true – the part about so called “benign” rule by the Best & Brightest elite according to Plato’s prescription, which Harry subscribes.

In politics the end is always acquisition and exercise of power both in terms of climbing up party hierarchy and winning elections by the most effective means to facilitate it.

One big difference here is communal structure of our main race based political parties – as compared to PAP. (I will desist from commenting on other differences that are politically incorrect to mention).

The traditional fighting for race agendas here distorts and replaces MATI as means to that end. Race specific progammes become then an excuse to dispense with MATI anda ‘cover’ for patronage and corruption.