Najib’s words, words and more words!

Fight extremism, says PM | Bernama

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 15 — Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak today expressed strong opposition to the actions of extremist groups or individuals who believe in their radical views and actions against others.

“It saddens me that despite living in an independent multi-cultural nation for over 50 years, there are still those among us who cannot tolerate, much less accept the benefits of a [peaceful] society,” he said.

He said this in his latest entry entitled “Our Fight Against Extremism” in his blog, www.1malaysia.com.my here.

Najib said he was sad because by rejecting Malaysians’ way of life, these groups were rejecting the 1 Malaysia concept.

He said as Malaysia celebrated a landmark in its history tomorrow, there was much to be proud of because Malaysia was a developing nation that had excelled in many sectors such as tourism, banking and finance, halal sector, medicine and many more.

“We are blessed to be able to experience different cultures, food and religions without travelling far and abroad.

“While we have achieved so much, it troubles me to see a rise in issues rooted in extremism in the nation.

“This is not limited to racism. Extremists are groups or individuals who subscribe to radical views and actions against others.

“They treat anyone who is different as an enemy and engineer fear in people who don’t conform to their thoughts or ideologies and, in some cases in people who simply look different,” Najib said.

Hence, extremism here applied to a gamut of factors, including racism, arts, culture, way of life, and more, the prime minister said.

While these groups were often small in number, their presence was amplified through their extreme sentiments and acts.

Nonetheless, the government continued to keep a watchful eye on such groups.

“We have dealt effectively with a number of extreme cases in Malaysia, such as militant groups that have instigated conflicts and posed a genuine threat to national security.

“We will continue to protect the Rakyat and the nation from threats from outside or within, through land, sea, air or cyberspace.

“We have been exposed to examples of extremist behaviour, regionally and globally. I am glad that we have abstained from such acts, and instead displayed maturity as a people, as 1 Malaysia.

“I urge all Malaysians to be calm and rational in the face of such extremism. To respond like with like only serves to escalate tensions between our countries and becomes a hindrance to our own progress.

“Economies have faltered because of acts of extremism, and the road to recovery is often long and hard,” Najib added. — Bernama

1. #1 by negarawan on Wednesday, 15 September 2010 - 6:45 pm

Najib, you punya cakap tak serupa bikin. The more you lie, the more you loose your credibility.

2. #2 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 15 September 2010 - 7:07 pm

Its clear as daylight TDM & his Perkasa Ibrahim Ali are trying their mightiest to stir up a racial storm in the country & yet no action being taken against them. Our Home Minister is sleeping or what???? And all our PM Najib can say is he is sadden.
    With that kind of ‘talk only’ mentality, how can Malaysia progress????
    Malaysia needs a new Federal government to clean up the mess. period!

3. #3 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 15 September 2010 - 7:18 pm

Talk is cheap.

It is easy said than done.

4. #4 by Comrade on Wednesday, 15 September 2010 - 7:51 pm

As the saying goes “Actions speak louder than words”.
    Another way of putting it, “Thunder yes but where is the lightning?”

5. #5 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 15 September 2010 - 8:10 pm

najib, here’s some examples of extremism.

your cousin: we will bath the keris with chinese blood

your close aide nasir safar:chinese and indian grandmas are prostitutes and beggars

your 1malaysia principals: balik negara asal

your ahmad and ali: pendatangs

so najib, again, you want to talk about extremism? either u arrest them all under isa or go fly kite

6. #6 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 15 September 2010 - 9:52 pm

Typical UMNOB way of talking. Only sweet, sweet words but hollow in substance. Who is responding like with like when it is so clear who the provocateurs are and who are those reacting in protest. PM Najib should go after those who are throwing the punches if he is to be believed by what he says.

Go after, Mahathir, go after IA, ban Perkasa and suspend UM, otherwise your trip to East Malaysia is meaningless. You will only get lukewarm reception there.

7. #7 by asia on Wednesday, 15 September 2010 - 10:20 pm

A car owned by you but if you sold to someone it mean you are agreed to transfer ownership to him/her so it is stupid if you still talking to people like you still own the car after you transfer.

8. #8 by asia on Wednesday, 15 September 2010 - 10:34 pm

If those stupid head still don’t understand what is call independent.

Maybe we may consider we all play fair Ali go back to Sumatra, Ameng go back to China and Raj go back to India.

We all give back this land to actually owner ORANG ASLI.

Fair!

If those stupid head still don’t understand what is call independent and after independent formed by Malay, Chinese and Indian it become their homeland owned by them, please go back to school to learn what is call independent.

9. #9 by drngsc on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 12:29 am

All talk only, Najib. What action are you taking against those who openly oppose your 1Malaysia concept? They openly defy you, Najib, and you did nothing but talk and sloganise. Show us that you mean what you say. Take action ( not against young boy ) but against the bigmouths, like TDMM, IA, Perkasa, Utusan Melayu, racist headmistress, racist headmaster, Then we know that you mean what you say. Dont go and bully small boys. Walk your talk. We are watching and we can see, and we know what to do when the time comes.

10. #10 by johnnypok on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 4:18 am

Talk is cheap … he thinks people are stupid like him. He should wait until after GE13 before opening or sealing his mouth.

Vote for PR = Vote for FREEDOM, PEACE & HARMONY

11. #11 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 6:56 am

Words, not backed by deeds, are ineffectual.

What’s the point of being ‘saddened’ with actions of extremist groups or individuals without action to stop and neutralize them?

Who is not otherwise saddened? But who is saddened, has the power of office to confront the extremists but is not doing it?

At the very least, when using words, one can start by pointing the finger – at least give the right nuanced hint – as to who the extremists, that are undermining and opposing 1 Malaysia, really are.

But no that is not even done.

Instead, what we have, when it comes to pointing finger on extremist groups, mention was made only of “threats from outside or within, through land, sea, air or cyberspace” by “militant groups that have instigated conflicts and posed a genuine threat to national security” from which the government will continue to protect the rakyat!

Are we really talking of Jemaah Islamiyah or Al-Qaida here in the context of Malaysia Day message??

If the finger dared not be pointed the way of the real culprits – then such policy statement will, far from affirming 1 malaysia, only seek to encourage the extremists, smelling the scent of political weakness, to re-double their efforts to challenge and undermine that concept and tear it further from its weak moorings!

That’s all I have got to comment about this.

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 8:28 am

The communal politics of the ruling coalition for last 50 years help develop and entrench collective identities among Malaysians polarized long the lines of ethnicity, race, religion. Malaysians then identify their interests with those of their own racial and religious group as against those in the opposing group.

The fact that the various groups lack shared norms, culture and values exacerbate the divisions. The competition for tangible resources such as money, shares, land, or better jobs, businesses and licences as well as intangible resources such as education, social status etc are negoitated, appropriated and fought out on group basis.

Contending sides usually regard cooperation and compromise with the other group implies a loss of one’s own group and everything is interpreted as a sum zero conflict of one group against the others with little prospects of win-win. If one value system is followed, then another cannot.. These conflicts are deeply embedded in collective psyche as they involve interests or values, the continuance and protection of which is regarded by the disputants as critical to their self esteem and survival. If there are plenty of resources available, as when the nation does economically well, then everyone simply takes what they need and the conflicts are ameliorated but where the economic goods are getting less and less whether due to global economic conditions or local depletion of resources, the conflicts are given a more poignant edge.

The patriots to party, based on race, become the traitors to the necessary end result : that of being patriot to country based on the concept of unity under plurality, blind to race religion and ethnicity, all working for the common good together based on more universal values of righteousness merit and fairness to scale the value added ladder necessary for survival in a globalised environment.

Communal parties are helmed by people/elites whose vested interests are identified with the above stated order of things. Those enjoying vested interests will defend their self interest and resist change, even if such change is initiated by their own political leader trying to save them as a class from being booted from political power in the next general election. They will obstruct if not remove him from position of leadership if he evinces (beyond sloganeering) a real will to reform. The fact that the leader is drawn and rose up from their same party ranks and have benefited from the same privileges under such an order make it that much doubly harder for them to accept his overtures to change. And he has neither will or power to take them on, when groups of them galvanise against him to openly deconstruct his platform of ‘1 Malaysia’ from its very moorings.

The talk against extremism, as such a term is used in reference to ideology, mindset and rhetoric based on race and religion, becomes empty when the talker himself ascended to leadership position by leveraging on the same rhetoric, ideology and mindset that he now (obliquely) labels ‘extremist’. There can not be an implementation of pluralistic policy when the political party in power avowing to implement such is itself, together with majority of its members forming its power base are themselves communal and racial based in ideology and appeal. It is a plain contradiction in terms.

No wonder the numero ono balked at pointing the finger at the relevant target – in fear of four fingers pointing back – and instead a refrence is made, at the end of message, to only militant groups, considered a threat to national security, which is (politically) safe, and the just about the only thing all Malaysians and groups could forge a consensus about.

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 8:52 am

“I want each one of you to feel that we belong to this country We can say thank you to our country There are 28 million ways to say thank you to Malaysia…If you are a teacher you educate if you are an artist you use colours to paint pictures of Malaysia if you are a government servant you work with full dedication.” – PM on Malaysia Day (Note: There is no mention that if one’s a politician you use talk to unite than divide!)

“These are some of the ways we can say thank you to Malaysia, ” PM Najib said at the launching of the Music Arts and Style International Festival MASiF at The Pavilion here last night.

“Without unity and diversity Malaysia might not have been able to achieve the kind of success enjoyed by today’s generation…With these two pillars unity and diversity and the 1 Malaysia spirit we will definitely achieve the nation’s goals by 2020 ” Najib added and praised the MASiF organisers for their inaugural event which was a special curtain raiser to the Malaysia Day celebrations.

“I am attracted to the concept of MASiF. Usually such ideas would come from the government but this time from Malaysians from the post-independence generation and I thank Tun Dr Mahathir for being the patron of this festival ”.

{Source of reference – TheMalaysianInsider Sep 16.}

Is this not ironical bordering on farcical, that the patron of Perkasa is also the patron of MASiF???

How can TDM be a patron to both when their agendas and messages conflict and are irreconcilable?

Or he is there because his bread shop the ‘Loaf’ is in Pavilion?

14. #14 by wanderer on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 8:59 am

Nutjib, UMNO PM, is infamously known for his talent in oozing out craps…just for his ignorant kampong folks! As for the city dwellers, his speeches are neither here nor there…a man without vision, relied heavily n his lucky star, son of a privileged political family.

15. #15 by Ray on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 12:43 pm

Jeffrey ,certain appreciate all yr intutive comments ..After 53 yrs ,Malaysia Today still very much lagging behind n race polarised due to the Lawless Misdeeds of BN Corrupted Idiotic Lawmakers .Rich becoming richer ,poor >poorer.
    We can feel it when we visit Johor royal family Adil -fitri open house recently at the Istana with their extravagant sumptious treats.
    Whereas the rural poor folks in Malaysia still Cannot find their basic 3 meals.
    We love to visit Malaysia BUT obviously CANNOT stand to see these marginalised rural poor folks living condition, livelihoods as if their lives were too miserably meaningless hopeless and full of unsustainable hardships , pains us certainly .In actual fact Malaysia is a very resources country just that DID NOT managed effectively with their svereign wealths.
    Obviously n definitely these disparities were created or evolved over during those 53 yrs of nationhood of British Independent.
    In this globalised reality ,no matter what Malaysia Today still indeed need Meritocracy and Fair-Equal Leaderships with strong political will to move stay ahead globally and competitively.
    UMNO Putras pls wake up as the whole world watchs >>Just look at your Ringgit strength /rates is all sufficient to conclude what Malay Leaderships stand for and up today? definitely had cursed this natural resources rich Failing Malaysia.
    Certainly will not surprised to see BN UMNO diminishes in the next13 GE if there is No Real Reform( Not just simply blow trumpets but must be serious and realistic political ground works)>Reform and Uphold the Constitutional without fear prejudices and seriously punish all these Abusive ,Corruption BN Lawmakers present and past .Rebuild all Govt Institutions whatsoever TDMathadrism had damaged with High Integrity and democractic Convictions …. Sincerely would liked to paint a real memory of Mamak>>Looking back at Mamak 22 yrs tenure history of Mamak’s Evidence how many countless alleged backdoor mega political license link-business Govt dealings; has now surfaced and hence TDMathadir ‘s desperation and his irrational outburst with the dammed evil Ketuanan Perkasa Malaysia Bangkit ISA Lockups of Opposition leaders which took him that many secretive dictatorship years for him to illegally build up a vast financial empire locally and overseas for his own family and hence dont expect TDMamak to accept his own destruction gracefully before he bring down the whole country.
    To all BN Lawmakers its High Time to return All the Soveriegn $$$$ to Bank Negara and Pls Eat the Humble Pie.(indeed sorry to criticise Mamak).
    PR msut govern yr states and nation as a whole entity with integrity,conviction and must be regardless of Race Creed and Religion.

For eveyone ..””You dont need to be millioaires to live on earth””.All you may wish is a simple good Human impression or legacy thereafter .

Remember “”AlLAH the Creator created all men born equal””
    Bye ,hope to see you again.

16. #16 by k1980 on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 1:19 pm

“It saddens me that despite living in an independent multi-cultural nation for over 50 years, there are still those among us who cannot tolerate, much less accept the benefits of a [peaceful] society,” JIbby said.

So Jibby, stop wringing your hands. Pick up the phone and order the police to get those thugs. Start by arresting the lout who ordered the coup d’etat in Perak. His name begins with ‘N’ ans he uses a lot of botox

17. #17 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 6:17 pm

If ours was a funtioning govt. like the one under PAP in the Red Dot, we would not be in this mess. Mahathir and Ibrahim Ali would be arrested, charged, convicted and put behind bars. Down there they play by the rules. Tak kiralah you siapa. Here we have only UMNOB Laws and UMNOB Constitutions.

Therein, lies the difference. Their citizens are equal whereas the Chinese and Indians are “pendatangs” in Malaysia.

Amboiboi….UMNOB bila boleh berubah?

18. #18 by bennylohstocks on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 7:21 pm

19. #19 by lopez on Thursday, 16 September 2010 - 11:33 pm

who dont know every mother is a women.

….independence for idiots
    gomen of the british empire informs and will give consideration to self rule to the people of malaya in their nation provided all residents of the potatoland are represented….i,e the majority races found are represented.
    so three GENTLEMEN gather together and declare themselves representatives of the respective races found among the residents of malaya at that point of time…went England and seek to apply for independence.
    We can see it is conditional…so does it mean if the nation do not have the said representation, the status of independence will becomes void and null with immediate effect.
    anybody has any idea at all….in these times and our education system really f*ck up the interpretation and reasoning