IGP and Home Ministry – A castle very divided

Home ministry denies Musa’s ‘interference’ claim
By Yow Hong Chieh | Malaysian Insider

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 8 — The home ministry today denied it had meddled in police matters, as claimed by outgoing Inspector-General of Police (IGP) Tan Sri Musa Hassan yesterday.

Home ministry secretary-general Datuk Seri Mahmood Adam explained that the ministry’s involvement in weekly meetings with the police to discuss resource allocations and review case files might have given rise to such a perception.

“Sometimes the recommendations… of the Royal Malaysian Police cannot be considered by the home ministry so we are seen as interfering,” Mahmood said after witnessing Musa hand over control of the police force to Tan Sri Ismail Omar at Bukit Aman Police Headquarters here today.

Yesterday, Musa spoke out against what he saw as excessive interference by “third parties” in police business, naming the home ministry among others.

“All kinds of people interfere. People from the ministry itself, outsiders, people with vested interests like those who want to do things that are not right — they will try to interfere,” he had said.

However, he refused to comment on whether Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein, with whom he is rumoured to have a strained relationship, was the person responsible for the meddling.

Following this revelation, Pakatan Rakyat lawmakers urged the top cop to lodge reports with an ombudsman, the Public Complaints Bureau and the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) to eradicate such problems from the police force.

Musa today appeared to have taken the suggestion to heart, maintaining that he will consider pursuing further action regarding the alleged third-party interference.

“I’ll have a look,” he said simply when asked by reporters.

However, he declined to identify individuals who may have interfered in police affairs or comment further on Mahmood’s statement.

Musa’s allegations yesterday appeared to be a repeat of comments he made about an interfering “third force” in a March interview with Mingguan Malaysia.

In it, he claimed that politicians and “certain individuals” had issued orders directly to his subordinates in contravention of Section 4 of the Police Act 1957, which states that all actions and supervision falls under the IGP.

Around the same time, reports surfaced that Musa had tendered his resignation due to differences with Hishammuddin. Musa, however, denied that he had given notice, and instead accused “some quarters” of wanting to remove him from his post.

Hishammuddin invariably gave fodder to the rumour mill when he said over a week later that he knew who would replace Musa, despite keeping mum on whether or not Musa’s contract would be extended.

The home minister finally ended speculation when he announced last Wednesday that Deputy IGP Ismail would replace Musa as the country’s new IGP come September 13. Hishammuddin added that Internal Security and Public Order Director Commissioner Datuk Hussin Ismail would be the new deputy IGP.

Mahmood today also denied that the home ministry had not informed Musa that his contract would not be renewed a third time.

He stressed that he had informed Musa verbally that his contact would not be extended a week before Hishammuddin announced the new IGP, and again on the day of the announcement itself.

Mahmood added that a formal letter of termination will be issued to Musa once the prime minister presents his recommendation to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, in accordance with the requirements of the Federal Constitution.

——-

Musa tells police force: Don’t be ‘yes men’
By Regina Lee | Malaysiakini

Even in his last outgoing speech as the Inspector-General of Police Musa Hassan fired a thinly veiled attack at the Home Ministry.

Not wanting to go down without a fight, Musa reminded his officers and men to remain steadfast despite “pressure from above and outside”.

“You must not act as ‘yes men’. Don’t be servants. If the police are made up of yes men, the entire force would rot and collapse,” he said during the handing over ceremony to the new IGP, his former deputy Ismail Omar.

“Don’t be lenient or compromise,” he said.

It is no secret that Musa has regarded the Home Ministry to be “interfering” with police work.

In his rare outburst at his final Press conference on Monday, he had named the home ministry as one of the “third parties” causing excessive interference in the police force.

“All kinds of people interfere. People from the ministry itself, outsiders and people with vested interests who want to do things that are not right,” he was reported to have said.

Don’t work in cliques

In his speech, Musa also reminded his officers not to work in cliques.

“During my time, no one knew which officers who were close to me. I never called officers to my house, nor did I go out to restaurants and dine with them.

“It made my work a lot easier this way, since I don’t have officers currying favours from me,” he said.

Earlier, he also tipped his hat to Ismail, saying that he has full trust in him.

“Ismail will work well. But he needs the support of all. I hope that after I retire, he will improve the force, and to see to the end of every plan and strategy,” he said.

“I’ve had a lot of public complaints against myself and the force because we are seen to not give th best service, or that we are untrustworthy or corrupt. But I hope that after I was appointed, we have made some improvements to the force.

“And now, I will sit outside as an observer. I used to be scrutinised and now it is Ismail’s turn.

“Don’t be involved in abuse of power, and make sure that you bathe in blood to protect this country,” he said.

Musa, 58, was a career policeman for 41 years. His contract was extended twice after he had reached retirement age, and his contract officially expires on Sept 12.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 8 September 2010 - 5:32 pm

Ha, ha, lots of wayang
    Don’t forget, when U point a finger at a person, three fingers point back at U
    Don’t worry, musang will b a toon soon n b appointed as company directors here n there

2. #2 by tunglang on Wednesday, 8 September 2010 - 6:43 pm

Dunloppeelow,
    why not engage a famous mattress carrier as brand icon? Good for sales, already internationally recognised icon!
    Dirty mattresses or super clean ones doesn’t matter, as this icon has good exhibit exposure and demo experience.

3. #3 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 8 September 2010 - 7:31 pm

I suggest when a new government takes over in Putrajaya, we need to set up an official inquiry into this very serious allegation of meddling.
    Something is not definitely quite right here.

First of all, if any civilian meddles and frustrates the functioning of the police force, the officers should make a complaint to their superiors who can take any necessary actions.

http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2010/09/igps-startling-confession.html

4. #4 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 8 September 2010 - 7:43 pm

“Sometimes the recommendations… of the Royal Malaysian Police cannot be considered by the home ministry so we are seen as interfering,” -Home ministry secretary-general Datuk Seri Mahmood Adam
    —————–
    What does that tell us? MUSA recommended someone (Musa’s yes man) for he wants to make sure that no one will come after his back but Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein said no, he wants another person (Hisham’s yes man). Sure if Hisham thinks he is going to be the next Prime Minister in line he will definitely by hook or by crook put his own yes man there. He doesn’t want to end up like Anwar right?
    Aiya all these dirty fellas are sickening la…
    We need a clean change of the federal government!!!

5. #5 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 8 September 2010 - 8:30 pm

“All kinds of people interfere. People from the ministry itself, outsiders, people with vested interests like those who want to do things that are not right — they will try to interfere,” he had said.

What is right and what is not right according to UMNO and PDRM? It’s either skeleton in the closet or a can of worms! We will bear with you this sandiwara while BN rule with the remnant of its past glory.

6. #6 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 8 September 2010 - 8:38 pm

“You must not act as ‘yes men’. Don’t be servants. If the police are made up of yes men, the entire force would rot and collapse,” he said during the handing over ceremony to the new IGP, his former deputy Ismail Omar.

Nobody can be that stupid to believe what he said.

7. #7 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 8 September 2010 - 8:38 pm

it’s itchy and scratchy show….fight fight fight, bite bite bite…

8. #8 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 8 September 2010 - 9:11 pm

Maybe in the coming days and weeks, we might find some juicy information suddenly and mysteriously coming into the open to entertain the public.

9. #9 by DAP man on Wednesday, 8 September 2010 - 9:26 pm

Our country is now standing on its head. Everything is upside down.
    Its complete madness. God help us!!!

10. #10 by JJx on Wednesday, 8 September 2010 - 9:48 pm

Kit Siang,

I beg to differ.

Sorry, I feel Malaysians are doomed. With BN, we know how they operate.

As for PR, PKR is proving that it is just another UMNO. Plus with many of its members from MCA & MIC, one can see PKR is actually BN. It is no wonder they are tearing themselves apart these days, fighting and back stabbing each other ala UMNO style.

DAP … I am sorry to say have lost its moral standing after the Ronnie Liu & that councillor Tee issue. By not sacking Ronnie, DAP showed that it practices double standards. And I understand tomorrow The Star will highlight another DAP member/councillor, Lee Kee Hiong who dished out contracts to her uncle. If true, this is very sad and disappointing for DAP.

I feel the only way out for Malaysians is to emigrate. BN or PR … they are all the same.

11. #11 by vsp on Wednesday, 8 September 2010 - 10:15 pm

The ultimate “yes man” is becoming the tormentor of his puppet masters. Will we be expecting exciting times as juicy bits of the scandal salad start to hit the gossip mill?

12. #12 by ktteokt on Thursday, 9 September 2010 - 12:27 am

These two entities are supposed to be the “right hand” and the “left hand” but it seems like the right hand does not know or agree with what the left hand is doing!!!!!!

13. #13 by yhsiew on Thursday, 9 September 2010 - 12:44 am

Musa’s admission confirmed the Opposition’s long suspicion that the PDRM does not operate as an independent entity. However, Musa did not give the reason why the Home Ministry had to interfere in police business. That makes one wonder whether the Home Ministry was doing the right thing or wrong thing. For example, if there is rampant corruption or infighting (for positions) in PDRM and nobody there (not even the head) bothers to take action, then there is every reason for somebody higher up (Home Ministry) to step in to give a warning or get the problem solved. In this case, one cannot blame the Home Ministry for interfering.

From Musa’s admission, it is difficult to conclude whether the Home Ministry was wrong to interfere in police business.

14. #14 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 9 September 2010 - 12:45 am

” There is no problem too big that we cannot solve. Umno have more than 50 years experience in solving problems. If you Tan Sri keep quiet I will make sure you get something good good leh. You baik, I baik and semua orang pun baik. I janji Tan Sri I personally work something for you, ok”? -Najib

15. #15 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 9 September 2010 - 12:48 am

correction: ”I janji Tan Sri I personally work out something for you, ok”? -Najib

16. #16 by boh-liao on Thursday, 9 September 2010 - 1:15 am

Carry dis mattress n parade it up n down d court several times each day
    Yes, sir, will do, no problemo, lift it up, left right left right left right ……..
    Is dis meddling in police matters?

17. #17 by Loh on Thursday, 9 September 2010 - 7:11 am

///“Sometimes the recommendations… of the Royal Malaysian Police cannot be considered by the home ministry so we are seen as interfering,” Mahmood said after witnessing Musa hand over control of the police force to Tan Sri Ismail Omar at Bukit Aman Police Headquarters here today.///

If the IGP does not know that recommendation of the Police was just recommendation rather than advice of the Prime Minister to the King, then he cannot be viewed as a qualified IGP. If the IGP was not qualified based on the statement of the SG of Home Ministry, why then was Musa extended twice beyond his retirement age? So the Home Ministry has either to explain why it extended a unqualified IGP for two terms, or that there were actual interference in the performance of police work, and that the IGP did understand exactly its responsibilities.

18. #18 by wanderer on Thursday, 9 September 2010 - 8:09 am

The deranged “Two Cousins” have everyone in UMNO/BN by the balls!…it is an open secret…even, Fat Mama have joined in the wagon of shame!!

19. #19 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 9 September 2010 - 8:41 am

What is disconcerting to me is that our outgoing IGP’s allegations have attracted little attention much less support (beyond raising a few eye brows) from the Opposition and the other stakeholders of public interest.

In part it is due to outgoing IGP being not that well regarded – an understatement! DAP & Kit have on record lobbied for the termination of his tenure as police chief based on his alleged failure to meet PM’s KPIs, and that’s what Home Ministry has now done. What comes more to detractors’ minds, besides soaring crime rate, is police harassment or selective investigation of Opposition politicians, the crack down on peaceful demonstrators in Perak assembly’s imbroglio, inexplicable high profile custodial deaths (Kugan & TBH). Worse still, he lugs along the baggage of carrying stained mattress in Sodomy 1 trial of the Opposition Head!

All these make detractors think he is crying sour grapes when his contract is not renewed. People ask why complain, it has already a long tenure of 3 extensions, and renewal or extension is Home Ministry’s prerogative! Besides it is strange, for someone to complain of political interference when his appointment itself is political and some of police actions are perceived doing political bidding, making the complaint sounds self serving to vindicate record at time of leaving.

In spite of all these caveats, I think the issue is NOT whether outgoing IGP has moral standpoint to selectively complain of political interference when his contract is terminated and not before. The separate and more important issue -aside from moral standing of complainant – that we should not lose sight of is whether there is any truth in his allegation of political interference – which implies not just benign and usual interference but inappropriate interference!

I say we do. No one who claims to fight for public interest, police reforms, democratic and neutral professional policing, ought to ignore the highest ranking police officer’s public complaint of inappropriate political interference in his job, which is a very serious matter. I argue that the fact that he could not garner sympathy and support for his complaints due to some quarters’ perception of lack of moral standing to complain does not affect an iota the importance for the public to ferret out whether what he complains is true, and the fact that the complaints were made belatedly does not affect again an iota of their relevance and importance from standpoint of what is the truth about these matters that we all have a stake in!

We all have a stake to probe further what interference that may be: resource allocations and budget for personnel and work equipment, hiring and firing policies of PDRM or law enforcement? Home Ministry’s officials may want to make public think its misunderstanding over the first but what if it’s otherwise the last (law enforcement) instead? For example what if it’s a case of police investigating several political cronies and Upstairs interfered and directed investigation to be dropped or instead redirected against political rivals? This constitutes a contravention of Section 4 of the Police Act, an offence!

Doesn’t the Opposition want to know about this? I think Opposition should demand Home Ministry’s accounting in Parliament of what the IGP said since such accounting pertains to Najib’s KPIs, and if there’s any basis to probe further to call for a Royal Commission on this issue of interference, never mind whether the govt accedes to it. It represents an opportunity presented to both Opposition and Civil society precisely when the “Castles” of Establishment are divided!

20. #20 by boh-liao on Thursday, 9 September 2010 - 8:50 am

Sand castle or castle in the air?
    Who lives inside the castle? A powerful n corrupt politician? A big fat witch?

21. #21 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 9 September 2010 - 8:56 am

Isn’t this a fit and proper issue for the Parliamentary Select Committee on Integrity to enquire, calling secretary-general and Minister of Home Ministry and IGP and significant others as witnesses to help the enquiry??? I think it is.

22. #22 by dagen on Thursday, 9 September 2010 - 9:03 am

“Sometimes the recommendations… of the Royal Malaysian Police cannot be considered by the home ministry so we are seen as interfering”

… haunting thoughts of the home minister.

23. #23 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 9 September 2010 - 9:22 am

Many of us may withhold our support for the outgoing IGP’s allegations simply because we have many reasons to want him to go and think the Home Ministry’s non renewal of his contract is a blessing, assuming naturally that the non renewal is based on all the reasons we think he should high time go.

This is a fallacious assumption because some of the reasons why we think he should go may well be the very same reasons why his political bosses will want him to stay.

So there’s more to meet the eye here and the IGP’s allegations merit attention and support for public enquiry.

One cannot ferret out the truth when the castle is united, the opportunity is when it is divided. At the very least the IGP deserves the right to be heard. Every one does. Judging his record is a different issue from judging the merits of what he has to say. Keep the first separate from the second.

24. #24 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 9 September 2010 - 9:24 am

a conversation somewhere…:

H: Are you involved with this underworld Moo guy?
    M: Dont interfere…
    H: Are you on the take?
    M: Please, stop interfering…
    H: Why crime rate is escalating?
    M: I say stop interfering.
    H: What happen to Amirul?
    M: May I say dont interfere.
    H: Is it true about Kugan?
    M: How many times do i have to dont interfere!!!…
    H: Is it true what they say you are the king pin of the underworld?
    M: I say man…STOP INTERFERING!!!!!!!
    H: (to the public)…Omar will be the next IGP.
    M: (to Omar and police force)…Do not let anyone interfere with our job…

such lunacy…

25. #25 by k1980 on Thursday, 9 September 2010 - 9:30 am

Musa as a baby must had drunk his boss’s urine to make him very obedient

http://www.sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=51614

26. #26 by HJ Angus on Friday, 10 September 2010 - 12:08 am

I concur with Jeffrey’s views.
    We need to put both the IGP and the Home Ministry officals or others under a public spotlight.
    It seems the Home Ministry is afraid to take disciplinary action against the IGP for this outburst; so what are they hiding?
    In fact a few weeks back when the IGP threatened to take cops off the streets, I thought the Home Ministry did not do the proper thing by not taking action against him then.