Fully support Teo’s apology to Selangor Sultan over Surau Al Huda controversy

I fully support DAP MP for Serdang Teo Nie Ching’s apology to the Sultan of Selangor for any unintended offence caused by her visit to the Surau Al Huda in her constituency in the course of her parliamentary duties to help her constituents.

Malaysians are shocked however at the intemperate language being used by some elements to foment disaffection.

I refer to the Malaysian Insider report today that Perkasa chief Datuk Ibrahim Ali is calling for “strong action” to be taken against Teo, saying that she must be charged for “desecrating” the Surau Al Huda.

Even more shocking, the Perkasa chief “attempted to draw an analogy between Nation of Islam preacher Malcom X, who was gunned down at Manhattan Audubon Ballroom by three Black Muslims in 1965 and Teo’s surau visit which has been highlighted by Umno-owned Utusan Malaysia last Friday”.

Ibrahim was quoted as having sent the following SMS to Malaysian Insider: “In America, Islamic preacher Malcom X, who preached to Christians and entered their churches was shot dead but in Selangor an ‘unclean DAP politician’ was dragged into the surau’s prayer room”.

Ibrahim accused “This is the work of Satan who has succeeded in confusing those who claim to be religious but does not follow Islam”.

Rational Malaysians must recoil at the intemperate language and irresponsible imagery used by the Perkasa chief. Is he suggesting that Teo should be killed like Malcolm X?

Up to now there is no consensus on who was responsible for the assassination of Malcolm X in Manhattan’s Auduborn Ballroom in New York on February 2, 1965 but why was Malcolm X’s assassination raised in this context?

The invoking of Malcolm X’s assassination by Ibrahim Ali must be condemned in the strongest possible terms, as it goes against all that Malaysians want of a peaceful and harmonious plural Malaysian society and Prime Minister’s Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s inclusive 1Malaysia where Malaysians accept and not just tolerate the nation’s richest asset – our ethnic, cultural and religious diversity.

The Perkasa chief’s invocation of violence by citing the assassination of Malcolm X must be condemned in the strongest possible terms by all Malaysians regardless of race or religion as it has gone beyond the pale of acceptable public discourse.

1. #1 by k1980 on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 1:41 pm

Perkosa’s Abraham Ali has started the nazification of bolehland

2. #2 by vsp on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 2:06 pm

Najib, where is your zero toleration of racism? Just coming out hot from the oven are the products of BTN manufacture: Perkasa and Utusan Melayu. Najib, what are you waiting for? Need to create a super task force to find out?

3. #3 by k1980 on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 2:30 pm

Jib: Ooops, I have been misquoted again. I never said ‘zero toleration of racism’. What I said was ‘zero toleration of opposition’. All those who oppose me will get the big stick when Ops Lallang II starts…..

4. #4 by boh-liao on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 3:01 pm

Perkosa IA n Utusan M r violent cancers out 2 destroy n kill
    If left uncontained, there will b metastasis of these cancers, causing chaos n destruction
    Must suppress n quarantine them b4 chaos n destruction occur

5. #5 by DAP man on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 3:12 pm

Each time Najib says something, he mean the exact opposite.
    What he says is what the people want to hear. He does not mean what he says.
    In unsaid words, he wants UMNO, Utusan and Perkasa to continue playing the race card.

The unsaid words are supposed to be like this,
    “I have already said I am against racism and my duty is done, so you guys carry on with the show.”

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 3:33 pm

Just what are Khun Iblaheemallee’s or MAIS’ concern all about?

1. Is it because Teo is a female? Rosmah has spoken at a surau as well.

2. Teo was invited into the mosque as she and the PR government had made a donation to the surau. She was invited to say a few words as a courtesy. No politicking there. Is this a ‘ceramah’ ? What’s the issue there?

What exactly did Rosmah say when she was at the surau and mosque?

3. Was Teo improbably dressed? What about Rosmah’s attire when she was at the surau? The internet today has a lot of pictures of her visits and you can see how she was attired.

Many PAS leaders have been invited to speak and to dialogue with Christians at their churches. They were welcomed. No problems there, no issues.

In fact in 2001, the Christian Pope prayed at the Umayyed mosque in Damascus when he visited Syria.

The Pope also prayed at a Jewish Synagogue in Rome as well.

And the current Pope prayed at Istanbul’s Blue Mosque when he visited Turkey in 2006. No problems there.

But it is a very big issue when a local non-Muslim politician Miss Teo was invited to say a few words at a surau when delivering aid to the surau. Did UMNO offer any aid to this surau?

As I see it, a peaceful visit with good intentions and to foster good relations with our Muslim brethren has been turned into something heinous with the possibility of causing rifts between the various communities.

At this rate, there will never be any room and opportunity for dialogue and interaction between the various communities as there will continuously be fear and distrust.

Did MAIS have full facts before it acted as it did? Or did they react based on ‘information’ gleaned from that notorious newspaper Utusan Melayu? MAIS will do well to review its actions lest it causes further tensions and problems that are of no benefit to the communities.

Whatever it is, harmonious relations between the communities has suffered a major setback with this incident.

7. #7 by DAP man on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 3:57 pm

I presume sheriff singh is referring to the pictures on this blog.

http://darisungaiderhaka.blogspot.com/2010/08/antara-teo-nie-ching-rosmah-mansor-dan.html

You can Muslim women exposing their hair in the suraus.
    Perhaps UMNO women are exempted from this law.

8. #8 by frankyapp on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 4:04 pm

Come on Ibrahim Ali,we all know you make mountain out of mole hill especially against chinese and indian in the country. Mosque,church and temple are house of GOD/ALLAH,hence everyone is welcome to enter it. If for certain section,the keeper feels should be prohibited for non members he should put an “no entry” sign. Why make a fuss and make your creator angry,not against Teo but yourself(IAli) I think you are hypocrite. I’m of the opinion that Perkasa is using race,religion and raja to create communal civil unrest simply to helping Najib/Umno/Bn to stay in power forever minus any general election. It’s pretty clear that there’s a kind of conspiracy between them otherwise how to explain why Najib remains mum despite his “zero tolerance” against racist’s remark.How come he didn’t take any action against him/perkasa ?

9. #9 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 4:07 pm

Its pushing the buttons of xenophobia is what it is. Can you imagine if Chinese were invited to show up just talk about everything else other than politics and religion in suraus and mosque all the time? It would be Ibrahim Ali’s nightmare not to be able to scare his followers with ‘them evil Chinese’

10. #10 by yhsiew on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 4:23 pm

Isn’t it clear that

Perkasa = UMNO
    UMNO = Perkasa ?

11. #11 by boh-liao on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 5:02 pm

Well, IA is way way above d law as he could openly mention assassination n was not invited by polis 2 hv a chat on his evil motive

Can U imagine d response of PDRM if any PR kaki openly mentions assassination?
    B4 d PR kaki finishes mentioning d two ‘ass‘es, his/her ass would be kicked oredi

B very careful, 4 what IA suggested n incited, a zealous kaki (d 1 dat has been vehemently spitting racial poison n cursing one’s own ancestors) may b inspired 2 act foolishly

12. #12 by Thor on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 5:39 pm

Ibrahim accused “This is the work of Satan who has succeeded in confusing those who claim to be religious but does not follow Islam”.

Hey, [deleted] fella!
    Please face the mirror and look at yourself.
    That’s the “Satan” which you’re referring to, if you’re not really sure what satan looks like!

13. #13 by gofortruth on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 6:09 pm

Imagine a trivial matter like this can be blown into such an ugly proportion by BN’s (TDM)tool -Perkasa. Their ill intention is clear – to create a chaotic situation so that BN can legitimately invoke ISA & render the nation under emergency rule & avoid a sure lose General Election.
    Najib is sick in the head to allow this to happen. This will surely further hinder FDI to come in.

14. #14 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 7:31 pm

If you were to adhere to the spirit of ‘hudud law’ then this MP will have to be flogged in public for showing disrespect to Islam. Maybe even stone to death.

15. #15 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 8:59 pm

The xenophobes are taking every chance they can to push things to the edge.

Who are we kidding, their reasons are bumkum. its all about politics.

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 9:20 pm

Islamophobes now finally have a right to be Islamophobic.

17. #17 by Walinong Sari on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 9:55 pm

I fully support her ‘ mengadap Sultan ‘

18. #18 by undertaker888 on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 10:07 pm

if ibrahim is so holy, why is he a director of a chinese company?

know nuts about malcolm x history, yet tried to be clever. go and eat sh!t lah .

19. #19 by vsp on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 10:23 pm

Wow, wow nowadays it’s Perkasa and Utusan Melayu that is making policy statements, and their echoes are sending shivers down the PM, Najib’s spine.

20. #20 by kpt99 on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 10:38 pm

2 non-muslim YBs Larry Sng and Alexander Linngi attended the same function as YB Teo Nie Ching did. The difference is that the mosque is in Kapit,Sarawak.All the muslims welcomed them with open hearts and the news was published in Sarawak major newspaper with photos.No complaint whatsoever by the muslims from other divisions or parts of sarawak.These 2 ybs jointly donated RM 5000 for the mosque activity during the function.Are moques in Malaysia not the same ?.

21. #21 by boh-liao on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 10:41 pm

While NR bluffed his way, NATO, & racists bitched abt molehills, Malaysians shld read d National Day Rally Speech (English) of LHL 4 comparison
    http://www.pmo.gov.sg/News/Speeches/Prime+Minister/National+Day+Rally+2010+Speech+%28English%29+by+PM+Lee+at+University+Cultural+Centre+NUS.htm

22. #22 by boh-liao on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 11:07 pm

LHL said:
    Bill Gates told him dat globally, 1/3 of Microsoft researchers r Chinese n 1/3 r Indian

D architects who built d Pinnacle: Husband and wife team; Mr Khoo Peng Beng is fr Ipoh, now a Singapore PR; Belinda Huang is fr Selangor, now a Singapore Citizen; they won a design competition; Result: one of d most sought after HDB projects

We ourselves r all descendants of immigrants

Education is 1 of our most important priorities 2 give our young d best chance in life

D Singa­pore spirit is not based on a common race, language or religion

D founding fathers had experienced n fought racial politics n racial policies while in Malaysia; they were determined to make Singa­pore different; they conceived of n championed a Malayan identity, n later a Singa­porean identity

23. #23 by vsp on Sunday, 29 August 2010 - 11:31 pm

Rasputin Ibrahim Ali is the mad mullah to the Najib throne. He has complete control over an ineffective czar who quakes every time this mad mullah threatens to assassinate his political carreer in the coming general election. This Bolehland Rasputin has powerful allies in the former mad maharajah of Bolehland and the Utusan Melayu nazi storm troopers. Najib is the weakling czar, whose peccadilloes has rendered him impotent in running the country. His “1Malaysia” fantasy which has cost the country millions of ringgit has been turned topsy turvy and become a mere experiment under the constant barrage of Rasputin Ibrahim Ali. The indomitable Rosmah, it seems has become the pussycat to this mad mullah.

24. #24 by wanderer on Monday, 30 August 2010 - 12:18 am

Ibrahim Ali, if you are such a staunch muslim you will not get the 72 virgins as promised after death but, because you talk kok all the time, embarrassing your religion, you may still stand a chance….but please get a face transplant first la.

25. #25 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 30 August 2010 - 12:28 am

WHEN I TOOK VISITORS FROM OVERSEAS TO VISIT PUTRA JAYA, THEY WERE ALWAYS DISAPPOINTED AND MAD WHEN BANNED FROM ENTERING THE MOSQUE

26. #26 by boh-liao on Monday, 30 August 2010 - 2:08 am

An unintentional mistake was made n an apology was tendered
    True Muslims would hv graciously accepted d apology
    Now Selangor Umno Youth leader Mohd Razlan Muhammad Rafii, jumping up n down like IA, declared dat saying sorry is not good enough
    He even said d classic: Please leave M’sia if U don’t want 2 learn d customs of Muslims
    Waow!
    He shld hv quoted d famous classic: Love means never having to say you’re sorry
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2kmrb1LNjeE

27. #27 by boh-liao on Monday, 30 August 2010 - 2:19 am

Surely dis is not d end of blood thirsty protests/demands
    Has d lupa akar tea chap spoken?

28. #28 by yhsiew on Monday, 30 August 2010 - 3:43 am

MCA and MIC are the big losers in the Surau incident.

The incident has undoubtedly caused many non-Muslims in both East and West Malaysia to shun BN for PR in the 13th GE.

29. #29 by passerby on Monday, 30 August 2010 - 6:01 am

The muslims said Ms. Teo Nie Ching, being a non-muslim, is not clean to be in the surau. How come these hypocrites have no problem receiving the money from the the non-muslims?

To say that the muslims will be confused if they allowed a non-muslim to speak in the surau, must be a big joke. Did the people who slammed the 3 air-planes into the WTO also confused? I don’t think they were confused. They were extremists just like the morons of Perkasa full of religious hatred for the non-muslims.

30. #30 by yhsiew on Monday, 30 August 2010 - 8:55 am

Teo Nie Ching made a second visit to a surau (Al-Muhajirin Surau at Bukit Mahkota) at 6.30pm yesterday to hand over a RM500 donation to the Rela Corp there. This time she wore a headscarf but was not invited to enter the surau. She stayed at the place for one and a half hours and gave out green packets to single-mother children. The Malays there were very friendly to her and “buka puasa” with her before she left.

@@http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/141426

31. #31 by dagen on Monday, 30 August 2010 - 9:11 am

Perkasa claimed large followings. But the first agm and the so called may-13 gathering failed to garner the anticipated large number of participants.

Toyo-the-indon’s effort to “selamatkan selangor” according to report too does not appear to have been well received by the people.

The church burning attempts to cause riot by umno also fail to incinerate and burn although lit. That “nama guan eng gantikan sultan” issue backfired on them. The “fist fight” invitation by an umnoputra (he claimed he is not a member of any political party in which case he is a crony of umnoputras – my guess) makes umno look really stupid, juvenile, crude and lawless.

BTW, kassim and mel_a_yu, if either of you have taken cintanegara’s rambutan by mistake pls return it to him immediately. I dont want cintanegara to challenge me to a fist fight. I am no fist-fighter and I wont last 30secs ok.

32. #32 by undertaker888 on Monday, 30 August 2010 - 9:12 am

are saiful and his ac-dc friends clean enough to enter a surau? i am sure mr. clean ibrahim would say they are. of course, the same kind of clean.

33. #33 by burn on Monday, 30 August 2010 - 9:26 am

i have slept inside the mosque’s and surau’s many times in different towns and kampongs. at first i was reluctant, but since muslim friends and the pakciks i have met in those places says, it is okie, i sleep and also have shower there too! why other muslims i know and met have no qualms over this issue? why bn umno always like to create provoking issues! anyway, i’m a chinese. 99.9% of my friends are muslim!

34. #34 by c730427 on Monday, 30 August 2010 - 9:46 am

Ibrahim Ali talks about threats of death because it is his job to bark like a dog to any non-Muslims who could do a better job than Umno and Perkasa themselves.

Based on Ibrahim Ali’s statement, does it mean that non-Muslim must not help the Muslims? If this is the case, why Perkasa is forcing the Chinese, Indians and others subsidiarity food, education, housing and many others for the Malays?

35. #35 by frankyapp on Monday, 30 August 2010 - 12:53 pm

The muslims said Ms. Teo Nie Ching, being a non-muslim, is not clean to be in the surau. How come these hypocrites have no problem receiving the money from the the non-muslims/// by passerby
    I think muslims if they wanted others to respect them should not simply discriminate others as un clean. Tell me how do you define a person as clean or un-clean ? Is a corrupted muslim a clean person ? I know of many muslims who are corrupted to the core but are free to move in and out of not only suraus but mosques too. As far as ms Teo case is concern,wasn’t she being invited to enter the surau ? If yes,I think the keepers of the surau should apolozise to her for inviting her knowing pretty well in Islam she’s unclean. Instead she was made to apologise.How come the people incharged of this surau didn’t come all out to defend her ? My suggestion is that malays/muslims should promote inter race relationship with others and not use race,religion and raja raja as some kind of excuse to conderm others especially non malays who have equal rights and freedom too to live in malaysia a place we call home.
    Well tomorrow is our “National Day” and I would like to wish all malaysians ” A happy,peacefeul and properous Malaysia”.

36. #36 by k1980 on Monday, 30 August 2010 - 3:03 pm

Saiful did not wash his bung hole for 2 whole days….clean or un-clean?

Saiful and the female DPP….clean or un-clean?

clean or un-clean…Did Ms. Teo Nie Ching dump any babies in the garbage dump?

37. #37 by asia on Monday, 30 August 2010 - 3:41 pm

During Puasa Mulism should not be aggressive but kindness and forgiveness.

Else they are doubtful Muslim.

38. #38 by dcasey on Monday, 30 August 2010 - 4:59 pm

Aiyahhh…you all dun unerstand lah, can’t you all see lah, this Idiot-Blardy-Him@AhLee is jealous, very jealous that not only an opposition DAP but also a girl some more lah can go that extra mile to plant the seeds of harmony with brothers of his kind and what more, she got good thumbs up from the muslims in that area. My oh my this Blardy-Him can only see his role and purpose in this life being overtaken by this rather unknown girl called Teo-apa-nama and the joke is that he tried so hard all this while to patent, trademark and copy-right everything that has to do with Islam, Muslim and even his Malay race so that all nons called pendatangs or penumpangs cannot be seen to associate with it. He now dreads the thought that there will be more girls like Teo coming forward to occupy his turf. Trust me, his ugly mouth will be spewing more filth from now onwards.