What’s next for Malaysia?

By Karim Raslan
The Star
Tuesday August 24, 2010

All societies need change and countries that don’t change or can’t change remain ossified and stagnant.

A few weeks ago, I hosted a lunch for a Malaysian politician and an Indonesian businessman.

The politician and I were struck by the tycoon’s steadfast support of his nation’s democratic traditions.

He stressed that he would not be where he was now had it not been for Reformasi and the turbulence of 1998.

Indeed he made a powerful argument that his country wouldn’t be powering ahead were it not for the transformation that took place after Soeharto’s ouster.

Interestingly, I think most Malaysian businessmen, including those dependent on government contracts, would agree with my Indonesian friend.

All societies need change and countries that don’t change or can’t change remain ossified and stagnant.

Malaysia is in danger of experiencing a “lost decade” like Japan – stuck in an unproductive, even destructive, socio-economic and political model.

In the past, I used to praise Malaysia’s slow but steady pace of change. The events of the last decade have changed my mind.

I now see that our evolutionary (as opposed to revolutionary) political process is a formidable barrier to our future growth.

Politics is holding us back and until we resolve two core political challenges, we will remain in limbo.

The first is the role of ethnicity and the second is the civil liberties agenda.

Economic reform cannot happen when race still governs our public life, and where our citizens are not allowed to think and speak independently.

We remain a top-down, illiberal and limited democracy.

We have leaders who do not trust the rakyat.

The rakyat, conversely are increasingly frustrated with what is going on.

They clearly see that in order to maintain the status quo, there is a cynical fanning of racial and religious sentiment that only pushes us closer to some kind of political Armageddon.

So, as Malaysia readies itself for the 13th general election, I have a few points to stress, reflecting some of the developments over the past two years:

1) Public scepticism and distrust is peaking.

Public distrust has risen. We are face to face with too many scandals and legal travesties – ranging from the Teoh Beng Hock inquest to the second Anwar Ibrahim trial.

These unresolved (and unresolvable) cases gnaw away at public confidence.

They impact the entire system.

As a result, there’s less and less confidence in public institutions.

2) We are experiencing a breakdown of the culture of deference in the Malay society.

Malay society has been highly disciplined and hierarchical for many decades.

However, Tun Dr Mahathir’s “Melayu baru” rhetoric has taken root.

Like it or not, the vast expansion of the Malay middle class has changed the dynamics between the ruled and the rulers.

The Malay community is no longer respectful of entrenched authority.

Instead they are critical and asking questions.

Indeed, younger Malaysians of all races are more “transactional” in their approach to politics.

They ask, “What’s in it for me?” Elected officials have to be more humble and service-orientated. MP’s and ministers can no longer expect to command respect.

They have to earn it, step-by-step. The best way to do this is by being honest and humble.

3) Not all political warhorses will deliver the goods.

Sarawak’s Tan Sri Taib Mahmud has been in office for well over 30 years.

Is he liked or disliked by the rakyat?

Can he deliver his state once again into the hands of Barisan Nasional?

Past success is no guarantee for future delivery.

The next state election in Sarawak will be eagerly contested and wat-ched.

4) The role of the media.

What is the truth? The continuing restrictions on Malaysia’s media have proven to be a disaster for Barisan.

On the other hand, certain conservative papers appear to have been given a free hand to engage in race-baiting.

Not only have these double-standards not boosted public sentiment, it robs the Government of a very effective method of understanding what’s happening on the ground.

Without the freedom of expression, journalists can only write what the leaders want to read, not what they need to.

As a result, Malaysia’s elite have become insulated from the rakyat, something the former can ill-afford at this juncture.

5) The age of coalitions is upon us.

The results of the UK and Australian elections show that the Westminster system of democracy, which we practise, tends to produce hung legislatures when voter dissatisfaction is great.

The question then arises: who, Barisan or Pakatan Rakyat, has a sounder alliance?

Who can better bring together our fragmented socio-political sphere?

These factors will become apparent in the upcoming power plays.

Whatever happens, there’s no turning back and Malaysia will never be the same again.

1. #1 by dcasey on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 7:49 pm

Malaysia is in danger of experiencing a “lost decade” like Japan – Karim Raslan

No, Malaysia has already lost a decade and we are heading into losing another decade till we reached 2019 (when Malaysia is bankrupted). I agree with your Indonesian friend, if you don’t change, you are doomed. Japan is different, although they lost a decade but they have already made it to be a developed nation and is already a high income nation. But Malaysia cannot afford to lose even five years (ie 10th MP) let alone a decade. So Malaysians of all races, there is no time left to kid around. Vote for CHANGE. VOTE FOR PR.

2. #2 by lorry_driver_malaysia on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 7:59 pm

i wish to see more rockets flying up to the sky of Sarawak. Sarawakians, please stay united and vote for change. Thank you.

3. #3 by digard on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 8:21 pm

Ibrahim Ali! – Where are you when you are most needed?
    Pleeeze, don’t disappoint us. We are all waiting eagerly for you to appear.
    In case you forgot:
    1. The Star must have its printing permit withdrawn immediately.
    2. Karim Raslan and the Editor in Chief must be charged with sedition and arrested.

4. #4 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 9:00 pm

Certainly we r in this phase: All power tends 2 corrupt; absolute power corrupts absolutely
    Umno/BN in power 4 far far too long
    We r flogging a dead horse n expecting unreasonable results fr Umno/BN
    We must admit dat Umno/BN r CORRUPT 2 d core n RACISTS, divide n rule 2 enrich Umno/BNputras n their cronies
    CHANGE we must 2 survive n start anew
    We must also kick out PR politicians who behaved like self-enriching Umno/BNputras

5. #5 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 9:19 pm

Karim Raslan is going to get a bullet in the mail.

6. #6 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 9:54 pm

///All societies need change and countries that don’t change or can’t change remain ossified and stagnant./// – Karim Raslan

Yes, change is good. But there is always a price to pay for making change (e.g. giving up position, power, perks and kickbacks). Are our leaders ready to pay the price? Are they willing to put the country’s well-being above self interest in making the change?

7. #7 by katdog on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 10:16 pm

Ha ha. Malaysia already lost more than a decade! Since the Asian economic crisis of 1997 Malaysia has stagnated economically with no progress at all. Our economy instead went backwards with the country becoming more reliant on commodities like petroleum, palm oil and timber.

Socially our society is practically on the brink. With 300 000 Malaysians leaving our shores in a single year, our society has been forced to import millions of immigrants in order to keep our industries running. This trend is unsustainable in the long term and in the very near future i foresee that Malaysian society will cease to be able to function anymore.

8. #8 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 25 August 2010 - 4:42 am

By end of December 2010 – More nonsense, more out-flow of money, more brain-drain, more unemployable graduates

2011 – Composite Index drop below 1000 point

2012 – Ringgit no more value

2013 – Sabah and Sarawak pull out

9. #9 by k1980 on Wednesday, 25 August 2010 - 8:35 am

More likely the Indons, with American support, would invade Sabah and Sarawak, as it did over Irianjaya in 1960 and East Timur in 1974.

10. #10 by dagen on Wednesday, 25 August 2010 - 8:59 am

After 30 yrs of exporting cheap labourers and domestic maids to the region, Indonesia could now look up to have a good view of the way ahead for the country. A lot of them are leaving malaysia to return to their hometown in indonesia. And the reason almost always is that they could now find employment back home in the not unfamiliar form i.e. construction sites and factories. They may not be paid as highly as they were here but hey the attraction and benefit of being home are worthwhile trade offs, anytime.

When they were present here in large numbers, the indons did help to drive our economy on the demand side. Small businesses and petty traders who in the past relied on them are now suffering. FDIs are not coming. Our moneys are leaving, legitly or not. Corruption esp of the mega sort is draining the country needlessly. And the umno gobermen is not doing anything positive to grow the economy. Talents and brains are leaving. Where are we heading then?

Change? Oh yes perkasa is asking for a change too – from 30% to 60%.

11. #11 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 25 August 2010 - 9:08 am

dcasey :
    Malaysia is in danger of experiencing a “lost decade” like Japan – Karim Raslan
    No, Malaysia has already lost a decade and we are heading into losing another decade till we reached 2019 (when Malaysia is bankrupted). I agree with your Indonesian friend, if you don’t change, you are doomed. Japan is different, although they lost a decade but they have already made it to be a developed nation and is already a high income nation. But Malaysia cannot afford to lose even five years (ie 10th MP) let alone a decade. So Malaysians of all races, there is no time left to kid around. Vote for CHANGE. VOTE FOR PR.

Not just a decade lost – more like a generation lost.

The switch in teaching medium from English to Malay was a lost generation.

The 22-year reign by the Malaysian Maverick was a lost generation.

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 25 August 2010 - 9:40 am

///Indeed he (the Indonesian Tycoon) made a powerful argument that his country wouldn’t be powering ahead were it not for the transformation that took place after Soeharto’s ouster./// – Karim Raslan

Indonesia could get past Soeharto but at this moment could we, Tun Dr Mahathir????

There are salient differences between the two political patriarchs and their legacies: Soeharto himself was ousted from power due to street reformasi demonstrations. His departure coincided exit of his once mighty political party, Golkar, and even his institution, the military, no longer enjoys a vise lock on politics Also Soeharto was forced to retire in disgrace or bore the same legacy of graft (thought in Suharto’s case to total an estimated $15 billion to $35 billion). The current president, Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono, has made serious efforts to combat Soeharto’s legacy of corruption by a comparatively tough anti corruption agency (KPK). The KPK successfully prosecuted more than eighty cases, including several high profile ones involving legislators, well-connected businessmen, governors, and bankers. The KPK even prosecuted Yudhoyono’s son’s father-in-law during an election season!

Our country has not taken the same transformation trajectory. There are some major differences between Soeharto’s and Tun dr Mahathir (TDM)’s case here.

In the first place, TDM was never ousted. He resigned on his own accord and thereafter played a significant role as king maker to two subsequent prime ministers who would not act against their patron no matter how critical he is of their administrations and how much racial and divisive poison he spews in defence of the continuance of his legacy (against transformation)!

One of the main backbone of TDM’s legacy is the race based patronage machinery, bureaucracy and mindset revolving around our controversial affirmative-action program the NEP. The first PM after TDM (Pak Lah) already described it as helping first world’s infrastructure and third world mindset. The next PM talks about ‘1 Malaysia’ to try mend the racially divisive legacy of TDM and also NEM, trying to liberalise and bring back a semblance of meritocracy to break our middle income trap.

This has however not served as catalyst for change – indeed it has only served to provide the Opposition with more fodder to ridicule the ruling party based on disjunct between “walk” and “talk” – because our patriach TDM here is given a free hand to discredit these platforms perceived by him to be inimical to his legacy. Not only is he given leeway to extend patronage to Malay based NGO groups to defend his legacy, indeed these groups are given the same immunity as their patron to say whatever they deem expedient to anyone including the administration. The patron himself is given a freehand to distort whatever he likes in the public space and to influence and support some cabinet ministers against the others so that we end up having a divided cabinet.

The latest from TDM is reported under titles “Unite or lose country, Dr M tells Malays” and “Dr M says Meritocrats are racists too” that can be read in TheMalaysianInsider.

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 25 August 2010 - 9:47 am

(Continuation from preceding post)

So what’s next for Malaysia?

Nothing much: for anything positive on the ruling coalition’s side and for PM Najib to turn his vision of 1 Malaysia & NEM into some reality, he must first counter and deal firmly with the reactionary and extremist forces rallying around TDM – and get past this TDM and his legacy problem.

[When Karim Raslan says that “Malaysia is in danger of experiencing a “lost decade” like Japan – stuck in an unproductive, even destructive, socio-economic and political model – it must be recollected in TDM’s favour that it is in accord with his “Look East” policy platform when he first came to power, and that his legacy is very much alive and kicking!]

So far the present PM has not evinced the political will to address TDM and his legacy problem frontally.

Neither could Najib leverage on institutions to help his cause, which in the case of (say) MACC, this institution has so far been discredited by TBH’s case that it has so far unable to dispel the negative public perception, and in the case of Judiciary, since the 1988 judicial crisis brought about by TDM’s sacking of Lord President and five other Federal Court judges, recently brought to public limelight by Lingam’s Royal Commission’s enquiry and conclusions.

In the absence of firm political leadership to neutralize TDM’s legacy and without help of a credible institutional system and bureaucracy – already infected and degraded extensively by TDM’s legacy and its patronage and racist values – the ruling coalition’s chances of making the transformation for the nation are, at this moment, zilch! Many (even the writer, Karim Raslan expressing his thoughts ‘carefully’ in a pro-establishment paper here appears already shifting his hopes for the country’s transformation to the Opposition, though he does not say it in so many words).

14. #14 by wanderer on Wednesday, 25 August 2010 - 10:45 am

It was an opened secret Malaysia was ruled by the last 23 years of her half century of MERDEKA by a gang of corrupts led by a slimy dog of the lowest of low!
    If we hope changes for Malaysia, we too have to change the tainted mindset of cherry pickers first…..