Last Cabinet meeting before National Day on August 31…

Tomorrow’s Cabinet meeting is the last before National Day on August 31 and its greatest challenge is to demonstrate it has the “political will and leadership to break the logjam of resistance by vested interest groups” to kickstart and stay the course of the NEM (New Economic Model) transformation process.

There can be no more useful thing for the Cabinet Ministers to do tomorrow than to revisit the New Economic Model unveiled by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak on March 30 and the dire warnings that Malaysia is “on a burning platform” and that “the status quo is not an option” as it will only put Malaysia at risk of being overtaken by other countries, just as we had overtaken others in the past.

The Cabinet should in particular revisit the frank and brutal admission by the NEM of the crucial and critical role of “unwavering political will and leadership” to break the logjam of resistance by vested interest groups and short-sighted factions and to “stay the course” when resistance is encountered.

Is the Cabinet tomorrow prepared to demonstrate “political will, commitment and leadership” to give full endorsement and support for a “big push” for the vision and agenda of the NEM transformation process –which it had cowardly abstained from doing for the last five months?

Is the Cabinet prepared to come upfront and belatedly declare support for the eight Strategic Reform Initiatives (SRIs) of the NEM, in particular SRI 5 on “Transparent and market-friendly affirmative action” for a new affirmative policy which is market-friendly and market-based predicated on needs and merits, eliminates rent-seeking and market-distorting features and “will consider all ethnic groups fairly and equally as long as they are in the low income 40% of the households”?

The NEM has described Malaysia as reaching “a defining moment in its development path” with the Najib premiership crafting a blueprint to move the country towards the next stage of development towards a developed high income nation with inclusivity and sustainability.

Where is this “defining moment” when the Cabinet is not even brave enough to give full public support and endorsement to the NEM?

1. #1 by dcasey on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 1:54 pm

Singapore is one of the best places in the world for migration. No wonder the Singaporean Malays are sticking their middle finger to the old sh*tbag Mahakutty and their counterpart across the causeway.

2. #2 by lorry_driver_malaysia on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 2:33 pm

The UMNO ministers will proudly tell you that Malaysia is one of the best countries in South East Asia for attracting immigrants.

3. #3 by dagen on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 3:21 pm

Attracting immigrants? Yesterday’s Star paper reported that malaysia is heaven to foreign beggers. And we also attracted a lot of nigerian crooks, fraudsters and criminals. And not to mention those country men and women of toyo-the-indon.

On another issue. Lets talk about film production. A movie which is produced and directed by malaysian, set wholly in malaysia using only malaysians as cast members. Is this a local production? No unless the movie contains a certain amount of umnoputra content. So what movie is that? Yup. Its a foreign movie. No wonder Ah Niu is fuming mad. His foreign friends were bewildered and were pretty amuzed by our jibbyland’s umnoputra policies. Yes. yes. I know. They can go home to where they come from if they cannot accept this. But its just so funny. And stupid and and ridiculous. So those of you who are in the habit of dressing in imported designers stuff from head to toe beware, you are not malaysian and therefore a foreigner!

Now it all makes so much sense to me why indons can easily qualify as malaysians.

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 3:32 pm

Singapore only has 2-3mil immigrant. OUR illegal ones already 2-3million. We also have some 7million hookers and beggars who apparently should go back.. So what is so great about Singapore?

5. #5 by k1980 on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 4:15 pm

Those found guilty of vandalising the surau in Negri Sembilan should have their citizenship revoked, said the MCA in calling for serious condemnation of yesterday’s incident.

Yeah, but what about those burning churches? Why no revocation of citizenship for them?

As for those Indons burning Malaysian flags in front of the Jakarta embassy, we should send in our F16s and bomb them back to the Stone Age.( Of course they can also bomb us back to the Stone Age and beyond)

6. #6 by lorry_driver_malaysia on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 4:51 pm

Singapore is attracting all the best immigrants around the world to boost its economy. UMNO ministers are rejecting best immigrants and local talents to make Malaysia a heaven for UMNO.

7. #7 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 4:53 pm

We employ very good speech and report writers with good imagination. They can come up with all kinds of wonderful phrases, terms and slogans but these are mostly empty, devoid of substance and generally meaningless.

On another note, the Malays in Indonesia just stomped on our national flag and threw faeces at our embassy in Jakarta yesterday. We can only remain silent at this insult ahead of our national day.

Instead, our Ministers target Nurul Izzah calling her a ‘traitor’ for giving factual comments to an Indonesian magazine e.g. why our submarine cannot dive but can only float like a sitting duck.

Defining moment? What defining moment? Was there ever one? Will there ever be one?

We lost the plot and the opportunity long, long ago.

8. #8 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 5:02 pm

///There can be no more useful thing for the Cabinet Ministers to do tomorrow than to revisit the New Economic Model…../// – Kit

I agree.

Najib and his Cabinet must treat the NEM seriously in order to restore foreign investors’ confidence in the national economy and to stop outflow of Malaysian talent to other countries.

9. #9 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 6:23 pm

lorry driver, you not patriotic….bad-mouth Umno gamen…..wait license cannot renew leh. You not scared meh?

10. #10 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 6:33 pm

Someone created a facebook page to support Cikgu Puan Hajah Siti, the principal who reportedly made the racist remark.

BUT, most of the posting DO NOT SUPPORT HER. Ordinary Malaysian are standing up to be counted against the zealots who have no clue they are a minority and live in their own little world and that include most UMNO leaders including Najib.

11. #11 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 7:08 pm

D nation is rolling down d slippery slope n falling into pieces
    N we want 2 celebrate Malaya’s independence, dat’s really funny!
    2 save d nation, time 2 get rid of BN, made up of racist political parties
    D sooner d better!

12. #12 by lorry_driver_malaysia on Tuesday, 24 August 2010 - 7:41 pm

Taxi driver, no worries… if i cannot renew my lorry license, i can always BUY a new lorry license. What i scared the most is no money. With money, semua boleh, Malaysia Boleh la.