Is NEM a pipe dream?

Breaking Views
August 15, 2010

AUG 15 — Tun Abdul Razak Hussein could never have imagined that his brainchild, the New Economic Policy (NEP), would ever split the country.

That it has 40 years after coming into being. Meant to eradicate poverty among all Malaysians and uplift the Bumiputeras who were economically backward then, it is now seen as the sacrosanct right of every Malay.

Especially the corporate ones who fear losing their tranche of Approved Permits (APs), shares and government contracts.

The NEP’s great defender today is Datuk Ibrahim Ali, the diminutive Perkasa chief with lofty ambitions of keeping privileges as Malay rights. With him, to a certain extent, is Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, who argues the policy is needed until the Malays reach their targets.

Left unsaid is that 22 years of the 40 years of the NEP, which officially ended in 1990, was under Dr Mahathir’s helm and shadow. He brought Malaysia, and Malaysians especially the Malays, kicking and screaming into the 21st century but that wasn’t enough to hit targets set under the NEP.

Except for a few tycoons and AP holders. And government-linked-companies (GLCs) that crowd out the small-time Bumiputera and other Malaysian entrepreneurs hoping to get a slice of the Malaysian economic pie.

Tun Abdul Razak’s banker son Datuk Seri Nazir has argued that the present-day NEP affirmative action policies are a bastardised version of his father’s vision for the country. His elder brother, Datuk Seri Najib, is currently the prime minister who has proposed the “promising” New Economic Model (NEM), as described by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in the past week.

But the NEM remains on paper, scraps of which announced but yet to be implemented. The IMF is hoping it will be executed soon for Malaysia needs the reforms. The MCA is asking for a swift implementation. The DAP is wondering whether it remains a “trial balloon” or will it actually ever be implemented?

These are questions only Najib can answer.

He has opened both the economic congresses organised by Ibrahim’s Perkasa, which is hell-bent opposed to parts of the NEM, and that by MCA, which wants the reforms to ensure equity for all Malaysians, particularly the non-Bumiputeras.

Ibrahim today criticised both Nazir and MCA for what came out of the Chinese Economic Congress a day earlier, which unfortunately was not read by the Bumiputera demographic because Umno-owned and controlled newspaper Mingguan Malaysia and Berita Minggu did not deem fit to publish it as news.

The Umno president does himself no credit if those who argue for his policies do not get airtime or space in the Umno-owned press. Only voices that defend the NEP get heard and that will reinforce the community’s view that the out-dated policy should remain in place.

Nazir is right, the NEP has been bastardised beyond recognition of its founder Abdul Razak. He never had a chance to see how the NEP ever turned out.

Najib has a choice of seeing through the NEM but only if he defends and nurtures it despite criticisms that it won’t benefit one community. Like the early days of the NEP, the NEM must be seen to benefit all Malaysians for all time.

Otherwise, Najib will share a worse fate than his father. The NEM will be stillborn. Because no one, not even the man who thought of it, defended it before it can be implemented.

Does Najib want the NEM to be a pipe dream? Only he can determine its future.

1. #1 by sanir6 on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 11:37 pm

Najib was my senior in school as is Hishammuddin.Najib was known as a follower and a coward.He will NOT change anything that he deems will jeapordise his so called stake.Playing psyhcological games on the masses who are basically naive is their way.What will happen is there will be talks…and postponements excuses of we are not ready and more studies to be done.let a couple of months go on…and everybody will forget.Easy.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 11:50 pm

I don’t think many non-Malays put their hope in the NEM knowing that it is a pipe dream. Instead, they put their trust in PR hoping that they will take over Putrajaya and replace the NEP with one which is based on needs rather than on race.

The NEM, at best, is only a bait to fish for non-Malay votes.

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 11:54 pm

Is NEM a pipe dream? Or is it a dream still in a pipe-line?

Did somebody say recently that NEM is still WIP – work-in-progress?

Will NEM finally come out as MEN, MNE, NME or even EMINEM?

It would appear that NEM is still some hazy concept / idea that no one seems to know what actually it is or will be.

Najib don’t seem to know either. Not even if he sets up another 100 expensive ‘laboratories’ and get feedback as to what it should be. And he must also take into consideration what Khun Iblaheemallee wants of him.

Poor Najib is really in a bind. Like 1Malaysia which Mahathir, Muhyiddin and a lot of people do not understand, NEM might not even see the light of day.

I hope all of Najib’s planners and thinkers are up to the mark to finally come out with something tangible.

Looking at the World University Rankings released today, August 15, by Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Malaysia’s universities have (NOT) done it again.

NONE were listed in the top 500 Universities.

See: http://www.arwu.org/

4. #4 by yhsiew on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 11:54 pm

This country will pay a heavy price for flip-flopping leadership!

5. #5 by Godfather on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 12:13 am

Najib is worried about Mamakthir, not Ibrahim Katak. Mamakthir’s agenda is to push his son up the UMNO ladder, and protect his legacy of big-spending megaprojects. Mamakthir will do whatever it takes to ensure that agenda is adhered to, and that’s what is worrying Najib.

6. #6 by Bunch of Suckers on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 12:19 am

Yes! It’s!

It is more than “Pipe Dream”!

It is beyond the “Rambutan Tree Economic Principle” formulated by bunch of suckers! Squatting and dreaming under the Trees without struggling and suffering, those suckers will be damn rich and wealthy!

For example, impositions of 30% Shares/Equities on every foreign investment will be illegally acquired and transfered accordingly! Why should they struggle and suffer?

This is how our Sucky BN/UMNO economic policies work!

7. #7 by 1problem on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 12:32 am

I don’t see NEM or NEP benefit me at all except to be a pair of shoes and shorts for my secondary school. So should i call that as NEP/NEM program?
    In terms of assistance NEM/NEP provides me:
    My Entries to Local Uni: NO
    Business Loan : NO
    Scholarship : NO
    Disaster reliefs : NO
    Buying Home/Car : NO
    Rebates in whatever : NO
    Help for my siblings
    /cousins/nieces &etc : NO
    Any Gov assistance
    from past 25 yrs :Yes [pair of shoes & short]

So….is That NEP/NEM?
    a pair or shoes & short for once only? Despite excel excellence in studies but there is no opportunities for me. So what i want to waste my time for this after all there’s no help from them when i needed the most.
    Sorry….my vote goes to DAP/PKR/PAS…….
    NEM is really nonsense & nuisance from the start .
    Is a tool to enrich the cronies. It never distributed to malaysian and that’s the fact.

8. #8 by frankyapp on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 12:40 am

I think Najib is a lame duck prime minister.I have this gut feeling he’s pretty soon a “Kervin Rudd ” of malaysia. Najib flips/flogs according to the tunes played by TDM. Ibrahim Ali aka perkasa is giving him insomnia endlessly.In addition his deputy has made his 1malaysia into a kind of 1racist malaysia.And last but not the least Rosma is so demanding for this and that,Najib has now become not just a lame duck but soon a death duck.

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 1:04 am

They are still Finding NEMo.

10. #10 by Taxidriver on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 1:20 am

Najib pleaded many times to Malaysians to be fair to him, to judge him by his works. But it’s been 2 years since he became PM and, except for visiting Batu Caves with Rosmah to pray together with the Indians and offering joss-sticks to Tua Pek Kong, he has done nothing else to give Malaysians a ray of hope. Time has run out for him. Malaysians will be fair to him by kicking him out in the next GE.

11. #11 by boh-liao on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 1:42 am

It has always been NEL (Never Endling Love) 4 NEM (Never Ending “Master-bed”tion) 4 UmnoB/BNputras’ self gratification
    Aaaaaah, shiok lah, IMF can certainly go fly kite

UmnoB now has more defending Rottweil butchers’ dogs: maha-Malay Perkasa n d shameless sell-out-ancestor more-Malay-then-Malays Tee (a creature of d 7th month or d Hungry Ghost Month; shld b watching d scintillating gyrations of scantily-clad getai or kotai singers, rather than barking ‘no like, go home’ in Utusan Mingguan)
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/utusan-columnist-tells-critics-to-go-home/
    What’s new? Nothing, unfortunately
    Dare voters, esp those in East M’sia, change d political scenario in d next GE?

12. #12 by johnnypok on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 2:48 am

Najib is not smart enough. His brother Nazir looks more intelligent and respectable.

Najib has created too many “scandals” to his credit, and risk being booted out prematurely.

13. #13 by johnnypok on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 3:34 am

Without the two fixed-deposits of Sabah and Sarawak, Malaysia would have long declared bankrupt … 2019 is a good bet for it to happen.

14. #14 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 7:30 am

When a few bumi sucked away all the wealth, how can the rest of bumi be given anything? Within the bumi, you have the royal family bumi and the peasant bumi. Majority of you are the peasants, of course. So just stay poor if you keep electing the royal family bumi.

In the Chinese community, what you have to do to become rich is to be as corrupted as the few rotten bumi. If you share with them your profit, you are sure to get what you want. Look at the tycoons in Sarawak. They became rich not because they are smart or they worked out. They simply are very corrupted. They showed you how to bribe those with power using their knowledge up to primary 6 standard.

The timber business has long being a corrupted business in Sarawak. Why the federal government are so blinded in getting these big fish? I think MACC is just an agency full of incapable people. Should they subcontract this ‘business’ to the foreign agency in order to improve their efficiency?

We should challenge the prime minister to appoint the capable ones to this Agency. If you dare to appoint more Chinese and non corrupted bumis to lead the police, the attorney general office and be the judges, I can guarantee that we will have a cleaner Malaysia.

15. #15 by Bigjoe on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 7:43 am

Mahathir himself said, under his administration, Najib ‘did not shine’.. Such mediocre talent is never destined to lead such a pivotal change as NEM is suppose to be. He spent a lifetime talking bigger than he delivered and that is never going to change. His personal success is largely a function of the forces not of his own. He did well purely because of not making mistakes or managing to cover it up and following tried and true ways.

No something like NEM cannot suceed because the person who coined it don’t deserve it.

16. #16 by Winston on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 8:49 am

NEP, NEM, KRA, KPI etc.
    What’s the difference?
    All cock & bull!
    Don’t waste any more time!
    Just give a chance to the PR to show its mettle!
    Let them take over Putrajaya in the next GE!

17. #17 by k1980 on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 8:54 am

Sibu to get new Chinese name?

How about Bandar Bintang Lucah Chua SL?

18. #18 by Godfather on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 9:04 am

The lack of meritocracy goes all the way to the top. The current PM and the previous PM were never elected by the people – they were put there by Mamakthir who obviously thought that he could continue to pull the strings of these rather incompetent people.

Najib is afraid of his own shadow, and he would never make a decision without consulting Rosie. She’s definitely better at chairing meetings compared to her hubby.

19. #19 by wanderer on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 9:18 am

Najib forget about all these bulls about NEP/NEM…..worry about your ass first lah, MAMAKkutty is after your back!
    This will probably be his last strike to claim the crown for his mamak jr before meeting his Creator…..

20. #20 by Thor on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 9:19 am

NEP or NEM are all a big bluff!
    NEP are created just to hoodwinked the poor and average malays as it benefits only those cronies from Umno.
    NEP also make most malay races lazy and “handicap” as well, for believers will be thinking that they need not have to work hard to succeed as the government are helping them financially.
    That’s why they’re not brave to accept any challenges or are willing to learn from other races and this will only made them a useless bred as seen in the eyes of others.
    As for NEM, it’s also created to hoodwink the chinese for their votes in the next GE and even if their intention are real, it’ll only serve the purpose for the MCA and others alike.
    Unlike malays, Chinese are not easily tempted or dupe the second time.
    As for the malays, I really hope they will wake up and shed of the “melayu muda lupa” attitude, a remark made by the “apa nama” many years back, if they need to survive, ‘cos our country’s resources are running low and someday, if our country were to go real bankrupt, your “allah” will not pity you even if you’re to cry loud in front of the megaphone the whole day.
    Time is changing as the world is competing to outdo each other, so be prepare for the worst to come as our nation will not always be as lucky forever.

21. #21 by dagen on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 9:19 am

Besides a short rounded stump is that much harder to fall in a rugby match, godfather, or as it were, when it matters.

Reforming our economy. Yes we do have something to learn from singapore. In particular on harvesting our own human resources and attracting new talents (not countrymen and women of toyo-the-indon pls).

22. #22 by boh-liao on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 9:20 am

Najib is afraid of his own shadow, betul ke?
    Look carefully @ his shadow n we might C a female shadow there, d 1 C4ed
    Itu yang dia takut lah

23. #23 by JJx on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 9:43 am

I agree, NEM is just another gimmick. Having said that, I must also say that Guan Eng’s promises of RM1k for sebior citizens, cancellation of saman ekor and free Wi-Fi is not tangible enough, especially when it comes to taking Putrajaya.

As a voter, I am looking for something more than Free Wi-Fi etc. I want my full democratic rights protected, reforms in all our public institutions, proper separation of power to effect check and balance.

Rather than promising on acting against saman ekor, I want reforms in our education to arrest our slide.

All these promises of NEM, RM1k to senior citizens, no more saman ekor are in my opinion just superficial. We want something solid. Not mere promises.

24. #24 by yhsiew on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 10:14 am

Even foreign investors would not believe the NEM would be implemented. How can Najib convince Malaysians that the NEM is a reality?

25. #25 by ktteokt on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 10:16 am

Be it NEP, NEM, Wawasan 2020, or 1 Malaysia, all these are but dream and mirages which are not within reach for UMNO! These are smoke screens to fool everyone of the rakyat of Malaysia, whether bumiputra or non bumiputra!

26. #26 by cseng on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 10:44 am

His brother said “NEP is bas-tardised” . So, NEP is not the bas-tard after all, bas-tardisation is the culprit not NEP.

Just like drug and opium, they are not the problem, but bas-tardisation of drug and opium are. But those are bad b’coz they lead people into bas-tard. So, does NEP, it lead them into bas-tard.

Keep piping the opium! Siok! Keep share with us you pipe dreams, siok! too… this is a siok country, why don’t m’sian happy?

27. #27 by cseng on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 10:52 am

If NEP can be bas-tardised, don’t know what make NEM so much different?

Maybe NEM is our pipe dream! they are in standby to bas-tardised anything come by!

His brother was right? nothing to do with the policies, get rid of the bas-tard! get rid of the bas-tardisation values!

28. #28 by Godfather on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 10:57 am

dagen:

By insider accounts, when Najis met Rosie, it was like an irresistible force meeting an immovable object. I guess we all know which one is the immovable object….and why the country is still stuck after all these years.

29. #29 by Bigjoe on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 11:04 am

It may look like there are conflicts within UMNO/BN but in all honesty, its really about stalemate. Both side in conflict is pretty aware that if they fight, all will be lost. Its not even a game of who has the bigger muscle will win, its really a game of chicken – who will blink first to trigger the downfall for Najib?

30. #30 by dagen on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 11:33 am

NEM a pipe dream?

Ask him. Yes ask ibrahim bin perkasa aka the angry man.

31. #31 by yhsiew on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 12:22 pm

///“The time has come for us to no longer be a caged tiger but a nation that is competitive on the international stage.”/// – President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono of Indonesia

The above quote by President Susilo Bambang is a timely reminder for Najib and his cabinet.

32. #32 by dcasey on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 12:28 pm

One morning Jibby was trying to conceive a brainchild with Rosie over breakfast.

Jibby: mama rose I want to conceive 1Malaysia for the country.

Rosie: abang, you so egoistic lah!

Jibby: yeah, why didn’t I think of that too. I should conceive one as well.

Rosie: How? And what are you going to call it?

Jibby: Ummm… oh I got it…I just call it Najis’ Egonomic Monument or in short the NEM

Rosie: Abang…no me-layu will buy it…

Jibby: not if I put it in my dream pipe and start blowing hard. Mama you should contribute and do your part too and give a blow job as hard as you can.

33. #33 by jontye on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 7:05 pm

To implement NEM, is like removing a bowl (NEP) from a food aggressive dog (PERKASA). Look closely at Ali’s face – big, fat with a pea-brain. U think it is easy to gain size like this? It’s thru years of overeating & sensual indulgence,…Ali and the likes will not let go, unless they were smitten to repentant. Pea-brain Ali is not smart enough to put up a good arguments against NEM,..yes TDM and like minded robbers are behind,..unless this group of society parasites removed, NEM remains a pipe dream.

34. #34 by johnnypok on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 11:29 pm

E-Ali bin Porkasa is not a human … it has no brain. It is a wild creature from outer-space, and it is a very dangerous thing.