The Battle for Putrajaya

By Thomas Lee

DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng has announced three promises that the Pakatan Rakyat would implement if the alternative coalition comes to power after the next general election.

The promises are (1) abolishing the controversial saman ekor (postal summons) scheme; (2) providing an annual ex-gratia of RM1,000 to each senior citizen aged 60 and above; and (3) providing free wi-fi or wireless broadband service throughout the country.

According to Guan Eng, the DAP central executive committee had agreed during its meeting on Thursday 12 August 2010 to issue a directive to all party leaders to publicise the three promises during all political functions.

He said the three promises proposed by the DAP had been accepted by its Pakatan Rakyat partners, and would duly be implemented should the alternative coalition win the Battle of Putrajaya at the next general election.

“These are the three policy initiatives that will bring benefit to the people that we are confident will be carried out by the Pakatan Rakyat should we win Putrajaya. We do not just want to harp on the corrupt practices of the Barisan Nasional, but also want to talk about what we can do for the people,” Lim told a press conference at the party headquarters in Petaling Jaya.

On the controversial saman ekor scheme, Guan Eng said that blacklisting vehicle owners was not only unfair but actually a violation of the principles of natural justice, and should be declared an illegal practice.

On the annual ex-gratia for senior citizens, Guan Eng said it would be a practical way of showing recognition and appreciation to them for their contribution to the country.

He said the exercise would merely cost the federal government RM2.1 billion annually, and “what is RM2.1 billion when the country squanders RM28 billion annually to corruption”.

Regarding the provision of free wi-fi service throughout the country, Guan Eng said the move is part of the impetus to take the nation to greater heights in the fast-changing world scenario.

“We must innovate and only when you do that, you are racing to the top. If not, you are racing to the bottom,” he said.

The three policy initiatives proposed by the DAP certainly deserve the support and endorsement of the people.

However, we should take an indepth look at each of these three promises and, perhaps, offer some inputs to augment and enhance their benefits and advantages.

First, the controversial saman ekor scheme. It is a blacklisting system which bars traffic offenders who fail to pay their summonses from renewing their licences and road tax.

Currently, more than 650,000 traffic offenders are being blacklisted, indicating the seriousness of the traffic situation in the country, especially that of speeding motorists.

This is reflected in the horror reports we often read in the newspapers and see in television, particularly during the festive balik kampung periods, of tragic road accidents when even whole families are wiped out, with many others suffering the loss of limbs.

No doubt, Guan Eng is right in saying that the saman ekor scheme is unfair and a violation of the rights of the vehicle owners, and should be done away with.

Nevertheless, the main issue is not simply the issuing of saman ekor per se, but the very critical matter of irresponsible speeding motorists who are often the cause of the loss of lives and limbs on the highways.

Abolishing the saman ekor scheme will protect the rights of drivers who should remain innocent until proven guilty, but how do we prevent motorists from speeding and driving recklessly? How do we curb those irresponsible lethal speeding drivers who are the cause of tragic fatal road crashes?

The saman ekor is meant to serve as a deterrent to deter and dissuade motorists from speeding, which is obviously a very critical problem on the Malaysian roads.

In abrogating the saman ekor scheme, the Pakatan Rakyat should come out with a feasible and viable option to resolve the sempiternal problem of thoughtless and foolhardy drivers on the Malaysian highways.

I have one suggestion which may sound bizarre, perhaps even weird and uncanny, but logically sensible and practical.

My outlandish suggestion is that to require all imported and locally-made vehicles to have engines which allow only a maximum speed of, say, 150kph.

I simply cannot comprehend why vehicles are built with speed limit of up to 250kph when they are not allow to travel beyond 120kph.

Making it mandatory to have vehicle engines capped at a speed limit of 150kph will resolve once and for all the perennial problem of speeding on the highways.

On the issue of an annual ex-gratia for senior citizens, instead of giving each RM1,000 a year, I want the Pakatan Rakyat to consider abolishing personal income for all senior citizens 60 and above, even if they are still in employ. Those earning less than RM36,000 a year should be given a cost-of-living allowance (COLA) of at least RM250 to RM500 a month. Senior citizens who have contributed to Sosco during their working life should be given free medical treatments, with Sosco footing the bills.

Senior citizens who have their own business or companies will not be qualified for these privileges.

Regarding the provision of free wi-fi service throughout the country, the Pakatan Rakyat should also consider abolishing tax on computers, especially laptops, and, perhaps, even offer financial subsidies for students from poor families to buy laptops.

If the Pakatan Rakyat is prepared to pledge that these people-friendly policies will be implemented if it takes over the federal government, then I am sure it will be able to mobilize massive support for the Battle of Putrajaya.

But, first it must get its acts together, and treat the invisible wounds from the civil war within the coalition, especially the PKR, with the same circumspect vigilance that is given to physical injuries displayed publicly, ala the knock out Khalid drama, the Tian Chua boycott Sin Chew fiasco, the Tee Boon Hock scandal, etc.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 6:42 am

Well done, Guan Eng!

2. #2 by yhsiew on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 7:10 am

Abolishing saman ekor or not abolishing saman ekor will not make any difference. Road accidents will continue to rise unless the government educate the drivers e.g. telling them on TV that they have a family to care for. If they perish in an accident, their family will be in hardship.

Abolishing personal income for all employed senior citizens 60 and above, and abolishing tax on computers and laptops are not impossible if PR, after taking over Putrajaya, accelerates the country’s economic development to make the nation an ULTRA high income country.

3. #3 by PoliticoKat on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 7:30 am

I am not sure these measures are good ideas. Does Malaysia have the money to do all these things?

If PR does win control of the nation, it is very likely that PR will suddenly discover how much in debt Malaysia really is.

Remember what happened in Selangor once BN lost, all the money allocated for the year was already gone, taken by BN politicians.

The same will happen on a large scale, once BN leaves. They’ll leave with the money.

4. #4 by Dap man on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 7:43 am

The writer should understand that speeding is NOT the main cause of accidents. It’s also road conditions, half-awake drivers, reckless overtaking, etc.
    What is speeding?
    I was fined for travelling at 121kph. Was I speeding? No, but I exceeded the speed limit.

And damn it. I am a very careful driver!

In some stretches of rural roads the speed limit is set at 30 kmp-40kmp. This is madness. Not a single car travels at this speed along these stretches.

Does the writer know that most of the speeding offenses are committed on tolled Highways? And this is where the least accidents occur in terms of percentage of traffic volume.
    I think 2-lane roads are the culprits e.g the Segamat-Kuantan road.

Once I received a summons with only the car number and place of alleged offense. Finally, after many wasted hours at the JPJ I was able to prove that the offense was committed by a car with a fake number plate.
    I challenged their photo with a photo of my car which was of a different colour.
    The ‘guilty’ has to prove his innocence.

5. #5 by Fatty Doc on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 8:15 am

@Dap man: I agree with you. In Germany there is no speed limit, in fact u have to travel at a MINIMAL speed limit of 80km/h, on the highways. In PLUS highways, most accidents occur either they drive illegally along the emergency lane, or dozed off ramming into the divider. Some irresponsible drivers driving at turtle speed on the right lane also cause unaware drivers ramming into them from behind.

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 8:40 am

Actually strategy wise, I was wondering about DAP. Hulu Selangor and Sibu showed that there is only a very small community left of the Chinese vote to win. While DAP cannot take the Chinese vote for granted, its clear it needs a larger strategy going into GE 13.

A bigger strategy for DAP is difficult because there are limits. It cannot step on PKR territory especially the non-Malays in PKR. It also cannot overeach into Malay territory less it be seen as caving in on its basic principles.

In my view, its time DAP expand its reach into Sarawak and Sabah in a big way – to Dayak country where multiculturalism and religious tolerance is still alive. But it important it reach beyond the urban areas where DAP is traditionally strong. DAP has never had a good rural strategy because of the marginal impact of its higher cerebral policies – this despite the fact its root is socialist. Limited resources also put constraint on a rural strategy. BUT DAP should have long recruited young educated non-Chinese East Malaysian who were concern for their community particular those that worked for NGO.

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 8:57 am

DAP should be courageous to articulate policies that while business-friendly is also about social equity especially to the rural area. More money for rural schools and higher pay for rural and better teachers. Not only more protection of NCR land, but also its development. More oil money for East Malaysia but mandate it so that it go to education and infrastructure especially road, rail, ports.

8. #8 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 9:20 am

Also, how about more military installation in East Malaysia and recruiting more military, police personnel from East Malaysia?

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 9:31 am

///I have one suggestion which may sound bizarre, perhaps even weird and uncanny, but logically sensible and practical// – Thomas Lee.
    I agree with the first but not second part of your statement! DAP man rightly points out speeding is NOT the main cause of accidents. Sometimes one needs the extra surge of torque/power to overtake to avert an accident : imagine in the midst of overtaking – with oncoming cars from opposite side – your car suddenly could not move faster once150 Kph is reached. If Thomas’s suggestion were to be taken by PR – even if assuming that there is available technology here to have engines capped at 150kph – I think the workers in the car industry especially corporations holding franchise for high performance cars like BMW, Porsche will vote for BN: at least they won’t lose their jobs!
    Abolish personal income tax for senior citizens 60 and above, even if they are still in employ??? Hello some of these “senior citizens” above 60 still in employ whether in corporations or the professions likely earn high income due to their experience. All the bosses above 60 will get one or two of their trusted employee to “front” for them as employer and sign lucrative salary, bonus and profit sharing remuneration with them as “employee” on paper to avoid the tax!
    I’d be thankful if PR provides free wi-fi service throughout the country. Issues like whether to reduce further tax on computers, especially laptops etc depends on whether the incremental benefit of such move outweighs, on balance, the need to raise revenue. That’s always the balancing to be done when it comes to such questions.
    Which is why I have not until now raised one specific issue with Lim Guan Eng as Penang CM concerning Penang properties. (Reason: I know State govt is short of funding from Federal allocation and needed to raise money from lands that State has jurisdiction under our Federal Constitution).
    Notwithstanding it must be brought to the attention of the Penang State Government that this practice (since days immemorial of BN’s Gerakan administration) of your registry/land offices charging registration fees of all dealings (whether transfer, mortgages/charges or leases) based on market value of the property transaction or the property itself (ie “Ad Valorem Stamp Duty”) is in my view unfair/wrong and ought to be reviewed.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 9:34 am

Continuing from preceding post, my reasons are as follows: the parties are already charged by Federal Government Ad Valorem Stamp Duty on the instrument of dealing (transfer, mortgages/charges or leases) based on our Stamp Act. (Here government valuers assess the commercial market price and charge a percentage thereof that is paid by rakyat to Inland Revenue via Stamp Office).

That’s Round 1. Then comes Round 2 when these dealings (after Ad Valorem Stamp Duty has been paid on them to the Federal Govt) are taken for registration at Penang/Bukit Mertajam land registry/office.

Here these land offices impose registration fees (without clarifying transparently the criteria) but figuring importantly is the market value of the property as earlier assessed by government valuers based on which again the registration fee is not fixed and nominal like other states including Selangor (ie RM300) but computed by your Penang land registry/office on percentage of market value.

This means if I were a buyer of a Proiperty with title in Penang I am paying ad Valorem Stamp duty TWICE – once to Federal Govt under the Stamp Act and second time once again to Penang State Govt via Penang Land registry / office based on their internal administrative guidelines.

Apart from the effect of pushing up property transaction costs in Penang, what we must bear in mind is that this tantamount to taxing a citizen twice on same transaction – once to Federal Govt and second time to Penang state Govt- which is contrary to principles of no double or duplicate taxation in any common law jurisdiction.

LGE must remember this is not case in other states of Malaysia.

It is unavoidable that one has to pay Stamp Duty on the instrument itself to Federal Govt through the Collector by reason of legislation – the Stamp Act – but paying the Penang state Govt ad valorem stamp duty is not mandated by any legislation.

I know registration fee is important source of revenue but surely PR state govt sensitive to people’s pockets as well as principles of right and wrong should know its wrong to have a citizen taxed twice over same matter.

I believe the imposition of registration fee
    calculated as % of property value is arbitrary and, as I said, contrary to general law against double taxation.

11. #11 by dagen on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 9:38 am

“I have one suggestion which may sound bizarre, perhaps even weird and uncanny …” said the author above.

But didnt einstein say that if an idea does not seem crazy or ridiculous at first it is not a good idea (something like that).

12. #12 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 9:49 am

One major change I would propose to make Malaysia a stronger federation of states is to return back to the states say 10% to 15% of all taxes collected back to the states so that each state, whether opposition or not can manage its own programs on poverty reduction and other projects.
    We need to get rid of the monster government in Putrajaya and give more financial freedom to each of the states that make up Malaysia.

13. #13 by Thor on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 10:28 am

For PR to win its way to Putrajaya is not a real easy task as there are still many unresolved issues to be done.
    We’ve known all the way that for PR to win in one constituency, they have to win quite a massive margin of votes as to offset those hanky panky ones from BN.
    We already knew all the way that BN is good at playing dirty and fraud in every election and we even knew very well that the EC (the main culprit) as well as the police are on hand to assist them.
    What about phantom, postal and even foreigners who are given access to vote on their behalf.
    Plus the corrupted promises, votes buying and other tactics that are not reported yet.
    Remember about Rembau polls where Khairy was on the losing end when suddenly, thousands of votes materialize from thin air to save him the day?
    I do believe that if not because of all the dirty tactics used above, BN would have lost its rule many election’s ago.
    I do believed that if not because of those tactics, Kamalanathan would not have been so cocky by now.
    I also believed that PR would have won a bigger majority in Sibu if every votes counted are for real.
    Many complaints have been brought up and court cases have also been heard but to no avail.
    Mother of election is coming anytime from now and if PR is really keen in looking forward to Putrajaya, then they’ll have find a real solution to stop BN’s dirty act.
    Please remember PR!!!
    Our votes to you are not a guarantee and if nothing is done to tackle the above, it will only be a dream to each and everyone of us.

14. #14 by cseng on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 10:57 am

Why a society, which in the course as developed nation by 2020 has 650,000 black-listed car owner? Why people don’t pay their ‘saman’?

Why keep increasing the price of ‘saman’ but not the value of doing it, why don’t just hang those traffic offender by the road-side? It is the higher penalty could be.

why minister say ‘must reduce the interaction of police and offender, a way to reduce possibility of bribery”,

Why so many did not pay ‘saman’? why ‘saman’ only the motorist? Don’t you think the police hidden in the bushes, those police that block with a “smile on their face” are part of the problem? Speedy motorist could be a problem to our accident rate, but is hiding in the bushes to take photos the solution?

‘you help me, I help you’ – nothing wrong!. Depend which judge define bribe, as for HS election petition, if it does not have a direct benefit on the receiver and you can’t prove (because of the bribe) it changes the outcome/decision. It is not bribe, maybe just ‘angpow’ or ‘duti raya’.

All in all, it exposure the deeper social problem of PDRM, the society attitude toward them, ‘social responsibility’, ‘society education’, all has fail and rot to the core!. We are moving toward once civilized and moralized country, soon our pm need another slogan like “ 1 civilized Malaysia”.

15. #15 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 11:14 am

The 3 promises by Lim Guan Eng isn’t enticing enough for me. Free WiFi? That is not what I want.

There is only 1 things I want to see in New Malaysia – make major changes to our constitution. Our constitution needs to be rewritten so that it can guarantee all of us:

(1) FREEDOM OF RELIGION TO ALL. THERE WILL BE NO OFFICIAL RELIGION IN MALAYSIA AS UNDER SECULAR MALAYSIA ALL RELIGIONS WILL BE TREATED EQUALLY IN THE EYES OF THE LAW. That means people like Lina Joy, Ayah Pin, Shiites, Al Arqam will be granted freedom of religion.

(2) FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION & FREEDOM TO DIFFERENT OPINIONS – RIGHTS TO FREEDOM OF SPEECH, PRESS, ASSEMBLY, & TO PETITION THE GOVERNMENT FOR A REDRESS OF GRIEVANCES.

(3) NO MORE DISCRIMINATION BASED ON RACE, RELIGION, SEX OR AGE. ALL MEN WILL BE TREATED EQUALLY IN THE EYES OF THE LAW.

Whether you are born in a palace or born in prison, you’re equal in the eyes of the law.

That means if the Malays can get discount when buying a house, the non-Malays will get the same amount of discount as the Malays.

If our constitution can guarantee us that 3 things, then I’ll love Malaysia and be patriotic. Currently, I am not proud of being a Malaysian as this country is hopeless. I am not a big fan of porn actor Chua Soi Lek but I believe he was right when he quoted Syed Akbar Ali. Regarding this matter, Lim Guan Eng should not have refuted Chua Soi Lek as you will be losing support from guys like me who believe that Malaysia needs to be a secular state. Isn’t that what DAP is supposed to be fighting for? I hope DAP will not lose its vision & become like lame MCA once it comes to power.

16. #16 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 11:20 am

Liberté, égalité, fraternité.

These should be the cornerstones, the pillars, from which a bright new era should emerge.

1Malaysia fails because it lack these vital ingredients.

17. #17 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 11:29 am

Opinion polls show 72% loves Najib.

But now 58% do not trust the mainstream media that report Najib and geng’s daily activities.

Which I would interpret to mean that only 14% love and trust him.

The other 58% don’t trust him but loves him anyway for whatever reason. Well people do love clowns but do they trust clowns?

18. #18 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 11:55 am

sheriff singh
    I took maths eons ago – maybe you care to explain you got the 58% don’t trust him but still love him?

If 72% of opinion polls love him but 58% don’t trust the polls,
    the reliability of the opinion poll is .72 times .58 or only about 42% love him

19. #19 by Dipoh Bous on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 11:57 am

hello3….

…any comment on what the UPKO president said in the Borneo Post yesterday?

…i hate to admit it but what he said should be a reality check for pr.

…it’s ok to dream but without winnng the voters ( from sabah & sarawak ) that dream of putra jaya is nothing but a dream.

…time is running out yet i m still unaware of the influence of pr in the rural areas of the two states.

…btw, using ******* language in this blog won’t help pr either. so guys, try to refrain from using ****** in this blog.

20. #20 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 12:00 pm

For me, Islam can remain the official religion but no one should be compelled to remain in whatever religion – ie we move towards a more moderate stance like Indonesia where people can easily change religions.
    In fact the police there do not enforce the fasting laws and Muslims can eat as shops provide a screened area so they are not seen by fasting Muslims.It is more for respect than as if eating is an offence.

21. #21 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 12:11 pm

Take another two cups of Java, kow-kow.

Base sample size @ 100%. No need for technicalities.

But reeeeelax. Its also Saturday here already. Its cold but nice.

22. #22 by Winston on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 12:18 pm

Saman ekor or whatever summon system in this country, as practiced by the BN, is completely ineffective. Thousands, if not millions, of such summons are completely ignored by the offenders.
    Instead, a more effective way must be found to alter the driving pattern of our drivers.
    As for giving senior citizens, aged 60 and above, RM1,000 yearly, it’s a good and practical idea and should be adopted.
    But the author’s suggestion of abolishing income tax for senior citizens who work, instead of giving them the RM1000 yearly, is not really as beneficial to them as the flat rate suggested by LGE.
    The reason for this is that many senior citizens are unable to find any employment. It’s not that they don’t try but we all know the mentality of our employers. Even those who are in their forties, who are looking for employment, may not find anyone willing to accept them. Such is the bias shown by employers who are spoilt for choice with thousands of new graduates seeking work every year.
    As for free Wi-Fi, that’s an excellent idea! So far, subscribers to the ISPs have been paying through the nose for slow and completely unreliable services.
    LGE, the PR is assured of my vote!
    And the earlier the PR is in Putrajaya, the better it is for this country!!

23. #23 by 9to5 on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 12:21 pm

These are small monetary inducements but nevertheless it is a good start. Other than this non-monetary inducements such as below are even more important and more powerful to enable PR to march to Putrajaya:

1. Promise to the citizens upon gaining Putrajaya to eradicate corruption and go after corruption monies and recover them back for the citizens

2. Promise to the citizens to have a more transparent Government and it is a Government for the people unlike the previous regime

3. Promise to the citizens for freedom to practice their own religions and voicing their unhappiness.

4. Promise to the citizens to abolish repressive laws such as the ISA, Official Secrecy Act and institute press freedom and information.

5. Promise to restore the rot of the judiciary, PDRM, civil service, etc

All of the above appeal to all hierarchy/strata of citizens without consideration what race they belong to; it transcends all the races in Malaysia. It doesn’t involve any cost or expenditure but it has a powerful psychological appeal of the desire for equality in every human mind.

The citizens can easily understand that the eradication of corruption and the recovery of these corruption monies can improve the economy as well as appease their anger that they have worked so hard only to have their earnings leaked out big time through corruption.

In the meantime, avoid making promises which can be twisted by UMNO into racial connotations.

These promises must not only come from DAP but from all the component parties in Pakatan Rakyat and the citizens know that DAP alone cannot capture Putrajaya and form the Federal Government. It is advisable for the component parties to sit together and come out with a common manifesto and communicate it to the public. Since the Selangor Government has allotted Ringgit 15 million for communication with the citizens, this manifesto could well be included in the campaign with little additional cost. Might as well make the most use of this money allocated for information.

24. #24 by frustrated doctor on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 12:28 pm

I think I prefer the views expressed by ‘BoycottLocalPapers’ but expressing this will cause a sedition case to be filed against me. Thus, a more moderate view by ‘HJ Angus’ will be preferable. Anyway, I’m not at all proud to be a Malaysian. Only those who have not travelled out – Katak bawah tempurung, can be proud in this country filled with double talk.

The problem with saman ekor is that people are not proven their wrong doing with photographic evidence. Upload all the pictures in MYEG.com.my and let people access it and print it according to their car numbers. If they are not happy, they can approach JPJ and if still not satisfied, let them contest it in court but let it be an early court date. Blocking their road tax renewal is akin to hitting the balls below the belt and should not be allowed.

In fact, have an electronic system in place that digitally emits electro frequency waves to a device on the car dash board that shows the speed limit. When there is a change in the speed, let it beep to make the motorist aware. Most of the summons are due to there being no road signs and the police hiding behind the bush trying to capitalise on it. Capping the speed is not going to solve things. In fact, most accidents are on trunk roads where people are forced to overtake slow vehicles. If all trunk roads were dual carriage or at least have significant overtaking lanes, this can be solved. In fact, the motorcyclists are the most killed road user in statistics. Go through any kampung area and you’ll see young kids without licence, without helmets, without lights riding on the wrong side of the lane. Why are no summons issued to them? Is it because they are mostly of the majority race?

DAP should stop playing populist politics. Free WIFI etc and 1K for senior citizens are all bonuses but will not ensure you get to Putrajaya. Keep making the BN govt answerable for all misdeeds and give proper solutions and not piece-meal solutions like giving zakat to the poor during ramadan. Aren’t the poor with us at other months!

25. #25 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 12:29 pm

Vincent desperately wanted sports betting
    But his plans were quickly found floundering.

LGE wants to absolve saman-ekor,
    Will he also abolish Empat nombor ekor?

26. #26 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 12:37 pm

LGE wants to give every one wi-fi
    Does it come with free registration for hi-5?

LGE wants to give seniors one thousand ringgit
    Will Shahrizat be even more hangat and hangit?

27. #27 by k1980 on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 12:49 pm

Opinion polls show 72% loves Najib.

Out of that 72%, all are umno members. The other 28% polled were from PR. Had the pollster surveyed umno members only, Jib would had received 100%

(2) providing an annual ex-gratia of RM1,000 to each senior citizen aged 60 and above

Hate to say this, but KU Li promised something like the above when Gagasan Rakyat was contesting the 1990 GE, and yet umno swept the polls

28. #28 by cseng on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 12:54 pm

Fruss doctor, I totaly agree with you.

I have 4 ‘saman ekor’, I seldom go above 110kph. Not to mention, few on the spot settlements.

All 4 ‘saman ekor’ are for speeding at below 90kph limit, the last one cost me RM300. I was shot by the those hidden in the bush, for a stretch of trunk road with limit varies from 60kph to 90kph. Feel more like being hunted than just traffic offence.

I am a ‘pokai’ and hopefull for amnesty to null and void the ‘saman’ from new gov..

What a sick society!, no wonder so many wanted to be doctor.

29. #29 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 12:56 pm

Thomas, what if I say that some of these saman “ekors” are fraudulently issued. Many of these summonses are issued without proper safeguards knowing that eventually most owners have to face them when coming to renewing road tax or driving licences. I have personally encountered one case where the registration number is mine but the type of vehicle recorded was completely different from mine. In addition to that, the offence was alleged to have committed at a place that I could conclusively prove that I was not there. But when you are barred from renewing your tax, what choice do you have than to admit guilty and pay up the fine. Yes we all want fairness and justice; I wish you can tell that to the police and our justice system. I only know that I can not drive my car when I refuse to pay up the summon.

I have the opportunity to travel extensively in Russia recently. It is a vast country but I can assure you that there was a police car at every 30 to 50 kilometres apart along the highways or expressways. Inevitably it slowed down vehicles and most of the drivers were compelled to behave. I think for Malaysia at this stage of our development, enforcement is the key. We can’t expect Malaysian drivers to behave; most of us are selfish bast*rds and think we are the only one who is in the hurry or has the right of way. I want the police and JPJ to enforce the law vigorously; after all we have so many of them around. They can’t be sitting around laying eggs. Send them out and ask them to enforce the law rain or shine. I can wager with anyone, put a police/JPJ car (with just a single policeman/JPJ officer will do) at every 50 km apart along our highways and expressway, the accident will drop by half.

30. #30 by cseng on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 12:58 pm

72% loves Najib, ‘sap-sap soi’ if you compare that to Saddam Hussein. His range is like >95%!.

Do you ever get to hear this:

Too good to be true, and too bad is false!

31. #31 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 1:11 pm

Even if you have traveled to the whole world like I do …..you can never get it right..unless you know Malaysia is a blessed country amongst few in the world…F’ed up robbers and thieves…and Russia is a horrible example to open your minds to understand TRUTHS.
    And you need not travel at all and stay in Malaysia to understand it is the ONLY country with Malaysian Chinese making it the second largest race.
    To cut it short….it was the race and religion politic that divided all and it was the PR formation that gives us hope for a better government.

32. #32 by undertaker888 on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 1:12 pm

just one promise is enough. get rid of umno and bn.

33. #33 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 1:17 pm

This is in reference to LGE’s announcement that PR promises “providing an annual ex-gratia of RM1,000 to each senior citizen aged 60 and above”.

With this promise I suppose DAP or PR could no longer sustain its accusation that Najib’s promise of RM5 million to Sibu’s voters during Sibu by-election for their drainage/flood problems constitutes corrupt attempt to bribe voters within meaning of our Elections Offences Act.

After all whats the difference between the two promises of monetary funds in exchange for votes?

Indeed although commenter 9to5 in preceding post #23 described these as “small monetary inducements but nevertheless it is a good start”, surely we must realise that RM1000 every senior citizen in the country will probably work out in aggregate much more than RM5,000,000 promised by Najib to Sibuyans to resolve their drainage/flood problems and hence would be, in amount, a bigger “bribe” if Najib’s promise of RM5 million were argued to be a bribe and an offence under Election Offences Act, as many in Opposition have alleged in the wake of Najib’s “you know what I want” promise.

PR should be aware of the logical implication that its promise of RM1000 to class of voters like senior citizens will exculpate BN from any further accusation by PR’s politicians of BN’s alleged moral or legal corruption when it offers money to whatever other classes of people – whether Orang Asli, farmers, fishermen, FELDA settlers etc in exchange for their votes in the future by-elections or General Elections.

Of course the non monetary promises of constitutional safeguards of minority position highlighted in posting #15 by BoycottLocalPapers are ideal to show the measuring cast of difference between Pakatan’s New Politics and BN’s Money Politics but we also all know that DAP’s partners PKR and PAS will never agree to them (upon terms stated by BoycottLocalPapers).

Indeed the line of difference gets blurrer as the scent of power in Putrajaya grows stronger and realpolitik considerations become more pronounced, with LGE even declaring that he would govern like one enlightened Caliph during some long ago enlightened era of Islamic Civilisation and refuting CSL’s statement that contemporary muslim states were generally backward.

34. #34 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 1:23 pm

In addition to the three promises mentioned by LGE, I want to suggest one more. This is in regard our hygiene and cleanliness standard. This country is fast becoming tong sampah country. Just look around us – clogged drains, uncollected garbage, unsightly eateries and hawker centres, primitive food handling, abandoned cats, filthy rats and cockroaches running around, stinking stenches everywhere while we eat.

Let me relate to you how far our standard has deteriorated. Recently I heard over the TV our moronic Health Minister who warned us to be careful when there are rats running around in places where we eat (this is in regard to Leptospirosis outbreak recently). What farting advice is that? To be careful? To be careful over what? He should have told us not to eat at all in places where there are rats running around. But I guess our hygiene standard is so low now. While we eat, the rats and the cats should eat with us. Of course to that moronic odd ball he will ask: huh du kong hami lan, gua bek understand lah. Gua eat with rats and cats all the time lah.

Unlike the three promises announced by LGE, this suggestion is probably not popular among the people. But leadership and good government is also about changing the way we live. We are not just a corrupted country. We are a filthy garbage country.

35. #35 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 1:32 pm

I have no doubt that LGE cares for the poor and old folks in Penang sinmcerly.
    The RM100 maybe small…but it was done for the first time by a State leader.
    It is to also show DAP do care..and it can be taken as a political publicity and why not? It does EXPOSE UMNO B are hypocrites.
    How many publicity stunts have Najib applied that increases his ratings….trusted more by Malaysians? It is getting worst and worst and that’s why…more race and religion stunts can be expected….where loyalty to the country but with disobedient to the government will be applied …until 13th GE.

36. #36 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 1:36 pm

Jeffrey, I agree with your observation that there is no contemporary successful Islamic state, but you have to be more careful to equate RM1,000 ex-gratia payment to senior citizens as similar to monetary promises proposed by BN. LGE proposal is universal, without discrimination, without specific targets based on region, race, gender or income, although I would suggest that those with substantial means should volunteer to refuse the payment.

37. #37 by raven77 on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 1:39 pm

1. It is not speed driving that kills or maims but RECKLESS driving. But we cannot expect our low IQ transport ministry fellas or PDRM to understand that. Catch all those drivers who zigzag on highways and all those motorists who just about do all sorts of acrobatics on the road and out road deaths will be halved..

2. Is PR prepared up to face up to a completely bankrupted nation when they arrive at Putrajaya. If not..prepare your economic policies NOW!

3. And is the PR prepared for widespread cheating in 2013 or an army coup in 2013..if not…strategise and prepare NOW!!!

PR has hardly two years left…and two years will zip past. Anwar, LKS, Nizk Aziz must be prepared NOW…dont get caught with your pants down!!!!!!!

38. #38 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 1:42 pm

We have yet to know Bakun Dam is even worst than PKFZ RM12.5 billion ripped off.
    Remember all are tax and oil money belonging to all Malaysians.
    And now…Washington USA want Najib to explain few things. The world power will not interfere if UMNO B is so truthful.
    Yes Malaysia fall.whole of SEA will be effected or encouraged to have corrupted governments like UMNO B …feeling no fear to rob and steal.
    World Policemen….USA and France are not two countries to fool around.
    UMNO B and Najib never had it so good….feeling no shame at all.
    Indirectly…it boils down to Mahathir’s 22 years ..his UMNO B and on going.

39. #39 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 1:45 pm

Ya, the common argument is speed driving does not kill, it is reckless driving. But do you fellows know speed driving is reckless driving? Most of us “think” we can handle speed. But the reality is most of us can’t handle speed in an unexpected/emergency situation. So please don’t give excuses for speeding. Enforcement and on the spot issuance of summonses is the key to reduce accident.

40. #40 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 2:08 pm

Suddenly…a brain can go out of point…just like Najib…making deals..as if the money belongs to his grandfather…to do as he likes.

41. #41 by dagen on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 2:11 pm

Good policies alone will not get pakatan to putrajaya. The way there is through politics first and good policies a very close second.

Saman ekor affects 650,000 people. Some of us here may not be one of amongst that number the fact remains that pakatan clearly have 650,000 voters’ support to tap. The same goes for the wifi thingy. This would appeal directly to young and first time voters. Free wifi access is going to be a real wow factor to them. The 1000$ to senior citizens however is a different story. The move shows people that pakatan is going to be a caring government in contrast to umno, the corrupted devil. All senior citizens in HK too receive similar handout (locally known as “money for fruits”).

In any event the objective for having saman ekor could also be achieved by other means. Besides saman ekor is inherently unfair for one can never tell after many many months whether one has really breached the law on a certain day at a certain time and location.

42. #42 by k1980 on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 2:19 pm

Perkasa will lodge police reports against the dap for bribing senior voters with RM1,000 a year. And Shahrizat will complain that she being a pendatang haram, is not eligible for that RM1,000

43. #43 by dcasey on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 2:21 pm

When we talk about our Malaysian road system, the usual blame that’s singled out is speeding, when actual fact it’s not. The truth of the matter is, for 30 years since the old mamak’s time, our government was & still is race based. Like a boomerang, it comes back to hit them, whether be it the economy, the tragic road accidents, or even the failures of the GLCs and govt institutions. The crux is it filters down and rots all institutional and enforcement agencies including the JPJ, PDRM etc. When the PDRM closes an eye and allows its own people to get away with laws that is design to protect them in the 1st place, e.g. road traffic regulations such as use of helmet & seat belt, etc the general mentality of their people is that they will get away of any offence with just a warning and a pat on the back. After a prolong period of such treatment, their mind set will be one that’s “tidak apa” and “no harm done if I use the emergency lane or overtake on double line or cross when the red light is on… so what when I can get away with it if I’m caught”. Same thing happens with the govt’s incessant backing of Proton and others when everyone knows that they are churning out inferior quality cars with no compulsory fitting of ABS, airbags and other safety features. Who then gets the receiving end of all these so called “ketuanan” policies?

44. #44 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 2:22 pm

Lim Kam Put, although giving money ‘universally’ to all senior citizens may be argued to be meritorious than (say) BN’s giving of money to (say) only FELDA settlers, however the allegation of BN being corrupt in relation to the Elections Offence Act is more on its promise of money in exchange of votes per se as distinct from the separate issue of the merits of the class of people promised (whether that class is Sibu residents, or senior citizens, Orang Asli) in terms of whether they deserve financial assistance.

I am addressing the first part. On issues of merit, it depends on case by case but what I wish to underline is the fact that it would be that much harder for PR to accuse BN’s promise of money (esp development funds) to a class of voters to get votes as corrupt and an electoral offence when PR makes same promise of money in exchange for votes and have to rely on nuanced differences of the class of people so promised financial assistance as the differentiating criteria, something opened to arguments and differences of opinion.

I am not saying all all that what PR promises is (legally or morally) wrong – I am merely saying that it makes it that much harder for PR to fault BN’s customary use of money politics (that it has comparative big advantage as incumbent having custodian of national coffers) by its usual “we give your class of people funds and money, and you know what we want!)

t as long as its not personal money and its promised to a class of voters (whatever the merits on whether they deserve it or otherwise) it was settled law that it was not an offence under Election Offences Act though many have accused Najib to have committed such an offence.

It is therefore not “corrupt” in legal sense

45. #45 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 2:23 pm

What we are seeing after 12th GE…is that.. Najib will indirectly..ushering PR to Putrajaya.
    More and more UMNO B will automatically support PR…as they are quite clear..they are being made suckers by a band of thieves and robbers.
    They do value dignities and can see how dirty Najib and Mahathir be…ignoring the few parrots and robots.

46. #46 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 2:30 pm

Correction by re-statement of last 2 paras –

It may reinforce BN’s argument against detractors that promising money in exchange for votes is not corrupt or illegal by electoral laws as long as “its not personal money and its promised to a class of voters (whatever the merits on whether they deserve it or otherwise) and it was settled law that it was not an offence under Election Offences Act though many have accused Najib to have committed such an offence.

It is therefore not “corrupt” in legal sense though different people might argue one way or the other on moral grounds looking at the class of people promised.

47. #47 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 2:38 pm

Jeffery…laws can be argued or else there will never be lawful arguments in court.
    Concerning Najib’s speech in Rajang Park…any other country will find him corrupting voters.
    You must always remember…he cannot do as he likes with our money.
    He is infact answerable to all Malaysian voters…..and any fool can tell you..offering RM5 billion saying “I help you. You help me” is the condition leading to a bribe.
    What is the differences between a silent giver and taker with money for something to be done?
    Is that not a bribe?
    And Najib does benefit from that ..is Sibuans are weak and undignified Malaysians.
    Corruptions in Malaysia have been twisted by UMNO B with so many nonsensical unlawful reasons.. that are sickening..but whatever the say…it is law and order.
    Anwar have said many times…on this twisted laws always favoring UMNO B.
    Don’t talk about laws under UMNO B and Najib.
    They are out to fool all Malaysians and that’s the truth..and truth is the most powerful of all laws.

48. #48 by frankyapp on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 2:39 pm

Yea promising some goodies to the people and bonus for senior citizens are good but not pretty good enough to get PR to Putra Jaya. I think in general term it’s best for PR to present to the rakyat its own alternate version of policy/master plan,a kind of policy which is practical and far more superior than the BN’s one in the over-all interest of our multi racial society.PR too must be able to protray honestly that it has all the reliable and capable people/leaders,the resources,the delivery system and the political will to do the job in a fair and square manner to all the races if elected to Putera Jaya. It’s winning the hearts and minds of the people/voters that are more important,not shouting corruption.scandals and racial rhetoric against the BN and its leaders.

49. #49 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 2:41 pm

I mean RM 5 million…not 5 billion.
    They cheat by the billions…it is natural for me to think like that.

50. #50 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 2:48 pm

You cannot win hearts and voters WITHOUT exposing corruptions…scandals and their dirty race and religion politics…and their hypocritical slogans.
    Just look at Lim Kit Siang daily exposing all that for 35 years and we must follow same without fear.
    We are not here to win hearts but put out accusations….that UMNO B never dare to respond at all.
    Again..lets recall “Clean Efficient Trustworthy” slogan by Mahathir.
    If we do not expose..how do we know he is the biggest liar?
    And what is he now?…NOTHING to Malaysians.

51. #51 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 2:51 pm

Jeffrey, Whether DAP promises anything or not, BN has already done so blatantly and shamelessly with total disregard for fairness, prudence and equity. At least what DAP promises is more inclusive, egalitarian, logical and universal. While there are similarities, there are also differences. Both offer money, but you know which one is wasteful, discriminative and benefiting cronies. BN can promise lots of money, but many also know that the money so eloquently promised have rarely reached them (the real beneficiaries). That is why they are no longer effective.

52. #52 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 3:03 pm

It is CORRUPTION…SCANDALS AND RACE POLITICS we must expose to let all Malaysians know what UMNO B is.
    Using ISA and not arrest to put accusers in court for a fair trial …making some run away for their lives..are clean signs.TRUTH have been sub-pressed by all means from robbers and thieves government.
    One may as well say walking the talks will not help….but walking the talks by the hundreds are these few hundreds taking to the streets to show People’s Power is real and growing.
    That is why…Mahathir is afraid of University students…for these re well educated youngsters that can think fast …who is he and UMNO B.
    Look at Phillippines and Indonesia…where People Power are largely University students that dare to give their lives to the country and people.
    Once you get rich or secured.you turn selfish..and that’s why UMNO apply fear factors.
    Another less educated group…offer jobs that need not much work to do…easy life…and all are chosen to be loyal to UMNO B or else.
    Can you see all that happening?
    How to win hearts without exposing so many evil deeds done…….to make Malaysians have difficult lives and bleak futures?

53. #53 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 3:16 pm

What do you know loose cannon ball? You can’t even differentiate Washington based IMF and US government based in Washington. What are you good for, loose ball?

54. #54 by 9to5 on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 3:18 pm

(1) abolishing the controversial saman ekor (postal summons) scheme – bad idea because you are segregating the citizens into two – good drivers and bad drivers. Just look at the arguments here to realise why it is a good idea to segregate malaysians

(2) providing an annual ex-gratia of RM1,000 to each senior citizen aged 60 and above – good idea as it transends all races

(3) providing free wi-fi or wireless broadband service throughout the country – good idea as it also transcends all races. Although the monetary value is small, it provides a medium of conveying the ideas and message across to the rural area where they have no access to the internet or afford the charges.

As I have said earlier, lets not forget the bigger non-monetary items like corruption, suppression of the citizens and information, inequality, etc. They are THE BIGGEST weapons against this present regime and you are only using water pistols to confront this hydra-monster?

55. #55 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 3:22 pm

What do you know about driving skills…nuthead?
    Trying to teach others how to drive safely?

56. #56 by frankyapp on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 3:27 pm

You cannot win hearts and voters WITHOUT exposing corruptions…scandals and their dirty race and religion politics…and their hypocritical slogans///monsterball
    It’s true but it must not reach to a degree when it becomes pale. However PR must know too,it is not as white as it is trying to protraying itself when it endlessly accusing BN as the dark knight. Remember monsterball that both are living in glass houses,though PR’s glass house is far much more smaller.But again,remember,two wrongs will not make one right. I would agree with you to relenlessly using corruption and scandal as tool to attach BN if PR is absolutely clean.Remember a couple or even a few dozens of clean toilets in KLIA do not mean that all toilets in malaysia are clean. Hence offering a better allernative doable policy master plan to helping the growth of the people and country is I think the best solution of change.

57. #57 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 3:43 pm

hi Limkamput..nuthead….IMF is International Monetary Fund and “Washington based”.. ..means the head office guy from Washington ..is talking to Najib.
    Even if I am wrong…what is so big deal about that?
    But I am right..and it is really sickening to talk to a nuthead like you.
    IMF is controlled by US government…which I will not go further…than that.
    Have you been to USA?
    Have you done any business with them? I have for more than 15 years.
    You scumbag knows how to read and brag and know next to nothing about real life experiences in politics.
    Above all…you know next to nothing about business….and always writing based on book knowledge.
    You think you are so smart?
    All know you are bragging…and nothing to brag…start to teach others how to drive safely.
    You must really need alot of attentions…don’t you..and who is better than to irritate me…for responds…as you think know my character too well?
    No one wants to talk to you…unless to point out how stupid you are.
    I have years of reputations with my comments that all can know who is the fool between us.
    When a smart ass start talking about my English …is the first sign of a useless big mouth..with nothing else to criticized.
    What a low class worm you are.

58. #58 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 3:55 pm

frankyapp….Agree with your thoughts..but I think PR have offered their master plan in a big book…long ago….and it is up to us to vote and give them a chance to govern.
    We have reached the stage where…so call discussions..debates are totally out..when guys are killed…chased out or arrested under ISA.
    Where FEARS and PROVOCATIONS are also daily tested.
    I say…discussions is over.
    We give them our finest insults and exposed them…to let Najib know..today’s Malaysians are simply fed up with the elected government doing nothing but spending 90% talking politics and wasting millions tax payers money..every month.
    They don’t care…for these are gone case corrupted worms that cheat for decades and have mentalities and personalities like they own all Malaysians as slaves to kowtow to them..or else.
    Enough for now.

59. #59 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 4:02 pm

As usual, the senile old fart is polluting the blog all over.

60. #60 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 4:04 pm

And please do not forget we want to vote then out to stop CORRUPTIONS by the hundreds of billions stolen from us.
    Feel for the poor and helpless..their pains and sorrows…whenever you read about floods and living in conditions worst than stray dogs.
    Crime rates partly increases also due to being poor and out of no choice but to rob and steal…to feed a family.
    Drugs addicts are due to mainly weak minds…and many are from rich families.
    One are by all poor Malaysians and another strangely from one race…that UMNO B championed to defend and help.
    OK…that’s enough.

61. #61 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 4:05 pm

Under close scrutiny, I am very sad to discover that PR is actually fighting for Anwar Ibrahim to be the next PM of Malaysia instead of fighting for JUSTICE FOR ALL. FOR ALL MEANS FOR ALL. WHETHER YOU ARE A MALAY OR NON-MALAY, A MUSLIM OR NON-MUSLIM, JUSTICE IS FOR ALL OF YOU. THERE IS NO DISCRIMINATION!

If the sole purpose of dethroning UMNO is to place Anwar in power, then all of your talks about fighting corruptions & injustice are just empty promises made to get votes.

I think Najib can offer better promises than the 3 promises made by Lim Guan Eng if he wanted to.

As stated by Jeffrey, I cannot understand why PKR and PAS will never agree to the terms stated by me earlier i.e JUSTICE & EQUALITY FOR ALL.

Is the concept of KEADILAN UNTUK SEMUA (TIDAK MENGIRA KAUM ATAU AGAMA ATAU JANTINA ATAU UMUR ATAU DARJAT KETURUNAN) a concept too difficult for PKR & PAS to grasp?

Dear Anwar & Hadi,

If you’re reading this blog, can you hear me? Can you hear my cry for justice?

If PKR can’t promise KEADILAN UNTUK SEMUA, then what is the point of calling your party KEADILAN? Is the party seeking KEADILAN for Anwar Ibrahim only? What about KEADILAN untuk semua???

After Anwar Ibrahim is gone, then what is next?

Will PAS & DAP be able to continue to co-operate? I’m afraid by voting UMNO out, we are actually replacing RACE SUPREMACY with RELIGIOUS SUPREMACY which is far worse than apartheid as you can see for yourselves in countries mentioned by Malaysia’s best porn actor, Chua Soi Lek.

As long as we do not make radical changes to our constitution, this country shall continue to be divided as some people will continue to be brought up indoctrinated with the lies that their race and religion are the most supreme in this country.

Aren’t there any Pakatan Rakyat leaders sharing the same dream?

We need a great reformer like Martin Luther King to lead & unite all of us. Unfortunately, Anwar Ibrahim is not the one great reformer all of us are expecting as the concept of JUSTICE FOR ALL is too difficult for him to understand.

As a Malaysian who had suffered great injustice under UMNO regime, my dream is to see this nation to rise up and hold on to the truth that all men are created equal.

I have a dream that my children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin or their religion, but by the content of their character.

Let freedom ring. And when this happens, and when we allow freedom ring—when we let it ring from every kampung and every pekan, from every negeri and every kota, we will be able to speed up that day when all of Malaysians — Malay men and China men, Jews and Muslims, Buddhists and Christians and Hindus — will be able to join hands and sing in the words of our national anthem: “NEGARAKU…TANAH TUMPAHNYA DARAHKU….RAKYAT HIDUP BERSATU DAN MAJU….RAHMAT BAHGIA TUHAN KURNIAKAN…”

62. #62 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 4:09 pm

Yea….that’s the sign of Limkamput talking ..out of point when he cannot prove I am wrong.
    When he insults…I am happy.
    It is whether I am in the mood to teach him more.
    What do you expect from a scum that is born without a father..keep insulting old folks?
    Get away from scumbag is the best.

63. #63 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 4:22 pm

BoycottLocalPapers…..Politics is made so dirty by UMNO B who hold all the aces and create more out of nothing…is not so easy for PR to confront such unfair and unjust politicians that is still controlling the country.
    Twists and turn…UMNO B are masters…and ‘justice for all”..nice words.
    How do you know…PAS and PKR will never agree? Did they tell you that?
    You mean to say you rad lots of arguments…especially by Karpal with PAS…to come to that conclusion?
    Well…my friend…lets say..between the two devils…vast Malaysians have decided to vote out CORRUPTIONS. Any problem with that?
    And since there are so many half past sixes and religious fanatics created by Mahathir for 22 years…you need to also win their votes..and for that Hadi Awang is doing a fine job…that got DAP and keDAILan and PAS all agree to stay together as PR. You mean you did not read that too?
    Yes…I like PR’s present art and craft to twist and turns and do expose themselves as devilish too.
    Only idiots want a party to govern them forever.

64. #64 by k1980 on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 4:32 pm

65. #65 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 4:32 pm

BoycottLocalPapers…remember..we vote change of government and if PR prove to be no better….we can vote PR out in 14th GE.
    If you know how powerful your vote is…you will never be too upset with promises broken.’
    The fact is UMNO B ..have governed fare too long and Malaysians have no choice..until 12th GE.
    Why not help to vote change of government and leave all negative thoughts aside.
    First thing first…not muddle up all and get confused.

66. #66 by frankyapp on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 4:42 pm

Hi guys here is a suggestion to give all malaysians under the sun a fair and informative deal,lets request Pm Najib and Anwar to a public debate on who can lead a better and prosperous malaysia in the 21st century. And follow up by debate No 2 beteen Lim Kit Siang and DPM MY on such topic as ” Malaysian first or race first “. Monstarball,Limkamput ,melayu or KJ ,can any of you guys organise it ASAP. The rule should be a kind like what’s happened in the US,UK and now in Australia.

67. #67 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 5:00 pm

frankyapp, you can dream on for that debate to take place.

68. #68 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 5:01 pm

As for BoycottLocalPaper, I think he is the victim of BN’s indoctrination. Who say BN propaganda machine is not working. Even a well educated, politically aware individual is also talking about Keadilan’s sole objective is to make Anwar PM of Malayisa. Hmmm, let me see, who actually were saying this all the time. You know the greatest tragedy is we have nincompoop citizens, not just nincompoop leadership. Look like we are both.

69. #69 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 5:06 pm

frankyapp..nice idea but you should direct this to CNN or from an unbias multimillionaire respected by both sides to organize.
    And why should there be a debate…”Who can lead a better and prosperous Malaysia?” with UMNO B crooks?
    Have US UK and Australia any ONE party that governs more than 55 years?
    Like I said..it if FOR or AGAINST in Malaysia.
    Nice to keep pouring out ideas or suggestions to prove your how knowlegable you are.
    But we are dealing with lives and the future of our people…and all the events after 12th GE…does not show Najib is stamping out CORRUPTIONS…and we know why,….don’t we?
    Perak was seized with Lim Guan Eng and Khalid jobs made difficult…purposely.
    Why debate with crooks?

70. #70 by frankyapp on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 5:10 pm

Limkamput,you know PM Najib loves to make deal ,so why not suggest this debate deal to him .Don’t you think he has more to gain after such debate ? Dream or reality,it’s a matter of personal choice.

71. #71 by frankyapp on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 5:22 pm

we are dealing with lives and the future of our people/// monstarball
    Absolutely true,hence the urgency to have such debate between the current prime minister and the leader of the main opposition to finding out by the listeners/public as to who can offer a better and prosperous lives and better future for all malaysians.

72. #72 by frankyapp on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 5:28 pm

It’s a kind of a two party system we all are hopping to have in our country so in future we can pick and choose the best of the two.right ! Such debate will enable the voters a choice after listening what the two have in their respective pocket.Righ now I think it’s about rhetoric.

73. #73 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 5:34 pm

Dear limkamput & monsterball,

Sorry that you both have misunderstood me. I do not support UMNO as I hate racist UMNO regime very very much.

We should accept the fact that Pakatan Rakyat leaders are not beyond reproach. Pakatan Rakyat leaders should accept criticism. They should not be like UMNO leaders. Criticisms towards Pakatan Rakyat leaders should not be construed as supporting UMNO.

I am hoping for Pakatan Rakyat to make radical changes to the constitution once they are in power.

Unfortunately, demanding for justice and equality for all regardless of race and religion is something too much to expect from our Pakatan Rakyat leaders.

As long as one race and one religion is regarded as the supreme race and supreme religion in this country, this country shall continue to be divided by race and religion and people shall continue to be discriminated based on their race & religion. We need a brave leader who shall end all of this nonsense created by UMNO. Unfortunately, Anwar Ibrahim is not brave enough to make these changes.

That is why we need a third force that will bring radical changes to this hopeless country.

74. #74 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 5:50 pm

frankyapp…glad you agree and for that…Malaysian lives are made miserable by UMNO B who have divide and rile for decades and steal at random.
    I think you got it wrong.
    Anwar will love to debate with Najib…but not on who is better PM or government.
    In anycase….I do not think Najib dares to make deals in an debate nor will he dare to take on Anwar.
    The urgency as I see it…is the 13th GE to settle things once and for all.
    The fact that Najib choose to be nominated UMNO B PM…for more than a year speaks for itself….that UMNO B crooks do not care for the urgency for the god of all Malaysians.
    Therefore my friend…commentators FOR or AGAINST have been debating…for months…and LKS and Anwar are speaking out with no response from Najib…..except keep telling Malaysians.do not listen to lies from PR.
    The debate have been always on.
    And although I agree it is a personal choice…nevertheless…I hope Malaysians put personal benefits aside and speak for all Malaysians and country.
    And since you agree lives and future of Malaysians are at stake….I take it that you will vote against BN and can hold your head high knowing you have done your duty unselfishly.
    Like I said….frankyapp…PRK and Balan chased out.
    Strange deaths happened.
    Muslim religious fanatics let loose and Malay PERKASA supported by Mahathir.
    Malaysians need no debates to make up their minds now.
    To me…Najib will never be an elected PM…and I am waiting for 13th GE…to prove me wrong.
    If it makes you happy….I will do my part to sponsor you with a minimum RM1000 donation..or pay for the rent of the hall….and you take up the task to be the Organizer.
    I can arrange all TV stations and lots of journalists… to be present.
    All you need is to get Najib and Anwar agree.

75. #75 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 5:54 pm

And the Third Force holds all the power.
    Is that it…BoycottLocalPapers writer?
    This was Gerakan way of talking.

76. #76 by JJx on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 9:10 pm

I fed up of all these promises whether it is from BN or PR or DAP or whatever.

If DAP is serious about change, it must WALK THE TALK. Dont just talk only about integrity, corruption free, transparency etc etc, but when its elected reps are in power, they are acting no different than BN.

Perak was a good example. The Tee BH & that Ronnie chap is another. Utter disgrace. Ronnie should be sacked as well, if DAP is serious about integrity.

LIm Guan Eng should not make promises. He MUST put forward candidates or leaders with integrity not the wishy washy kinds like Tee BH or Ronnie Liu or that Perak lady etc.

Honestly, dont take us the voters for granted. We want … we demand quality leaders/candidates, period.

77. #77 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 10:52 pm

It looks like some do not understand or pretend to don’t know.
    hi JJx….DAP is not in control of the country.
    Be reasonable and logical.
    Yes…you are right..DAP does have bad apples …but what big harm have they done to Malaysians? Have anyone stole hundreds of billions?
    I have a strange feeling you are a Gerakan member…correct?.

78. #78 by JJx on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 11:34 pm

Dear monsterball,

Just because I say something that you dont agree, I am a Gerakan member??!!

Please dont be childish. Just because I whack DAP, you assumed I am a member of another political party.

Please grow up.

My opinion is that DAP preaches corruption free, justice, transparency and all. However, its elected reps are conducting business no different than BN. Promises made must be fulfilled, this is not being unreasonable or illogical.

What big harm have they done so far??? Hello, we lost Perak because one of DAP reps jumped ship. Maybe losing Perak and the trust of Perakians are no big deal in your books.

Have they stole hundred of billions??? Well, looking at em’ support letters dished out by Tee BH and Ronnie, I must say they are learning the tricks of the trade pretty well, dont you think so?

Promises aint gonna get us to Putrajaya. DAP need to put forward credible leaders with integrity for a start, and be CONSISTENT with its policies/stand.

And lastly monsterball, if you dont agree with what I wrote, lets just agree to disagree. Dont make assumptions. This way you dont end up looking like some 2 yr old.

79. #79 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 11:57 pm

Whether 10 sen or 1 billion ringgit, stealing is stealing. You don’t need to steal 1 billion to be called a stealer/thief/crook.

The changes promised by Pakatan Rakyat is not enough to convince me that Malaysia is a country that I should call home.

What I wanted to see is changes made in our constitution that will guarantee all of us equality. Discrimination based on race & religion need to be stopped. As long as Pakatan Rakyat is afraid to tackle this problem, nothing will be changed except the leaders.

80. #80 by ablastine on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 12:04 am

Abolish postal summon? I really do not understand why Mr Lim GE wanted to put this issue on the high priority list. Surely, the traffic summons are there for a reason and abolishing it will be like having no laws on the road. Not a good idea at all. I have lost all sympathies for Malaysian drivers after being on the road for so long and this is when traffic rules were still being enforced. I really cannot imagine what our roads will be like with no punitive summons to deter road havocs or bullies.

$1000 for each senior citizen above 60 years of age? By the way not every senior citizen in the country is poor and requires the handout. I would rather, the Government of the day spend money to see how these 60 years old and above can continue to lead active lives and continue to contribute significantly to the country. Remember live expectancy is increasing and 60 years of age now is relatively young. Try to understand how the government of Singapore uses their money for the aged more effectively than direct handouts. Worth studying.

Is it really necessary to have Wi-Fi for the entire country? This smells like another mega project and I have a feeling the country is getting allergic reactions just the mention of mega projects. It is likely that even before the entire country is made wi-fi capable, technology would have changed and made this redundant or obselete. Also is it prudent to spend billions of dollars having Wi-Fi in rural areas or jungle where very few uses the computer. Such a waste. Land lines here are infinitely cheaper. Hope the future government takes a more careful approach to spending money like this.

As far as megaproject is concern what I think really worth doing is MRT in the federal territory because of the large urban population and congested roads. I agree with Nazir Razak completely on this. But this cannot be done by the UMNO government because it will just become another scandal with grosteque cost overrun in the end because of the endemic corruption and siphoning to cronies. They are beyond change.

The other very important infrastructure will be the bullet trains or Maglev rails connecting Singapore to major Malaysian cities all the way to the northern States. We need to double this up with the north south highway and piggy back or infuse into the Singapore Economy with our own to catapult us back up to prominence in a short time.

I think Mr Lim GE should re consider the three promises he has made. There are more important things to do or promise.

81. #81 by monsterball on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 12:09 am

JJK..My english may be not good..but you seem to jump to conclusions that I did not conclude like that.. at all.
    Do you understand….””I have a strange feeling you are a Gerakan member…correct?”
    Say so…you are not and be done with it or demand an apology.
    Why insult and prove what a jerk you can be…although you maybe smarter than me to learn the art how to survive by carrying balls.
    Again…read it carefully….and note the word…”maybe”.
    So far..I feel blessed….and scumbags or one like you considering me 2 year old…does not bother me.
    Lets hope you are 10 years older and much smarter living with dignities and great principles in life.
    Cheers!

82. #82 by cintanegara on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 12:21 am

LGE? What has he done that is so remarkable for the people? Penang problems proves LGE’s weak administration. Three promises? Only three? Let me repeat, THREE????
    The best they can do is make unconvincing promises and put our future at risk

Sometimes one likes foolish people for their folly. But it doesn’t work that way. Malaysians are very smart and they are not attracted to empty promises. Putrajaya? Angan-angan kosong sahaja..A Dream That Will Not Come True

83. #83 by JJx on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 12:23 am

Dear monsterball,

I guess you are now acting like a child throwing all your toys out of your lil’ pram.

I regret you are either unable or worst still, refused to see that you jumped the gun and made a wrong conclusion that I am a Gerakan member.

Anyway, a word of advise , if in the future you come across any opinions that differs from yours or that you donr agree with, just agree to disagree. Dont make baseless assumptions.

In summary, dont be an idiot.

84. #84 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 12:27 am

What I wanted to see is changes made in our constitution that will guarantee all of us equality. Discrimination based on race & religion need to be stopped. As long as Pakatan Rakyat is afraid to tackle this problem, nothing will be changed except the leaders.//

The constitution can guarantee all kinds of things but if the government of the day has no respect for it, then all the beautiful words written in it are just good to use as the toilet paper (may be that also may not be suitable because the paper used may be too glossy).

So you want the constitution amended but then PR is not in control of the federal government yet. Let me tell you this; even if the PR comes into power, there is no certainty the constitution will be changed overnight. Now even assuming that the constitution is changed to cater to your wish, there is still no guarantee that the PR government and future governments will respect what is stated in the constitution. Adherence to constitution is the interplay of political power of the day. Just look the present Malaysian constitution. First it was amended beyond recognition. Second, the interpretation, given our subservient judiciary, has been subjected to wild interpretation. You are too one-dimensional in looking at issue at hand. Naivety is the word.

85. #85 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 12:33 am

Malaysians are very smart and they are not attracted to empty promises.// cinta my ass

Really? I don’t think so. Majority of Malaysians are stupid becuase they still help – help to buy house, help to go universities, help to get license and permit, help to do businesses, help to get jobs, help to get promoted, and soon, like this cinta my ass, they need help to find them women to get married.

86. #86 by BoycottLocalPapers on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 12:58 am

So limkamput, in your opinion, we don’t need to demand the government of the day to stop all this discriminatory policies based on race & religion?

There is no need for us to demand for justice as it will be abused and changed later, eh?

Just sit down and be quiet & accept what the government of the day offer us?

That is why I always like to say that Malaysia is a very hopeless country.

87. #87 by monsterball on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 1:10 am

Likewise…JJx…don’t act smart when you are not.
    Malaysia have tons of so call baseless assumptions thrown to BN parties and their members…to sway and move where the wind blows to their personal benefits.
    One false move I read..I am entitled to my assumptions….and only a fool call that childish.
    You maybe a die hard supporter of change in government.
    So am I….and I can read between the lines…can you?
    So lets say we will disagree.
    I the smart ass.and you the wise one…no problem…..but end of the day…it is not for you or me to say who we are.
    It’s how people treat and respect you…sincerely…with no balls carrying art.
    Good night…JJx..another wise one.

88. #88 by monsterball on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 1:17 am

That bloody cintanegara is back when some are disagreeing with each other…thinking he has some support now.
    And JJx..do you really understand the word “maybe”?
    You are the childish one…making a mountain out of nothing..or are you feeling guilty for something?
    You also want to teach grangfathers how to suck eggs?
    Good night again JJx……and cintanegara …as usual…can go to hell.

89. #89 by JJx on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 1:17 am

Dear monsterball,

What are you talking about? You are going in circles.

Rather than engaging me in a civil manner when you find my opinions not to your liking, you accused me of being a Gerakan member without checking. And when you find out how silly you are, you try to back track. In the process you make yourself look like a gimp while you attempt to take the high moral ground.

Do yourself a favour, give it a rest dude.

90. #90 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 1:26 am

In your opinion, boycottlocalpaers, is DAP demanding equality and fighting against discrimination? Before 1Malaysia, I am sure you must heard of Malaysian Malaysia and Malaysian First. Frankly I don’t know where are you coming from and why are you so agitated?

Who is sitting down be quiet. I am referring to your stupid obsession over constitutional provisions guaranteeing equality and equal protection. Did DAP or PR say they are not going to guarantee that when they come into power? How many times do you want them to declare that they are for equality and against discrimination based on race, gender and religion? What I said was constitutional guarantee is one thing, adhering to provisions is another. Often, respect for constitution is the interplay of political power and personalities in power. Ultimately it is a political process, not a dry legal or constitutional one. Malaysia is a hopeless country because many of you trying to act too smart. You are bringing up a non issue.

91. #91 by JJx on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 1:28 am

monsterball,

Do you understand what is ‘good manners’? Dont make baseless accusations. If you are unable to agree with someone’s else opinions or ideas, just respect the person. Dont be a rude sod and make baseless accusations.

So, you are a grandfather?? Then shame on you. You should set a good example for your grandkids instead.

92. #92 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 15 August 2010 - 6:17 am

“Malaysia is a hopeless country because many of you trying to act too smart.” limkaput

Limkaput is the only smart person here. Everybody else is stupid. So smart that he had to push pen to paper for all his working years behind a desk made available to him by the UMNO government. Finally what did he get in return? A long service medal. Today he’s just re-cycled paper everybody wants to wipe his ass with.

93. #93 by slashed on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 11:01 am

Ex-gratia payments to people over 60 as an appreciation of what they have contributed? Are you joking? How is this expenditure necessary? How is this good for the country? How is this sustainable in the long run?

If money is to be given, it is for welfare, not as a ‘thank you’. If money is given for welfare, it should be given discriminately – i.e. only for those who meet a certain income/health criteria.

But forget giving money. If you want to throw money around, I would rather see all the money pooled together and used to spend on social workers who can visit the homes of poor elderly people daily to give food and attention for a few minutes/hours a day depending on the person being cared for as they do in some countries.

That is how you show your appreciation.

You do not give money to people. Especially those who may not have control over their own expenses. Please try again.

94. #94 by Taxidriver on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 11:48 am

The 3 promises – 1) abolishment of controversial saman ekor, 2) annual ex-gratia of $1,000 for senior citizens age 60 and above and, 3) providing free Wi-Fi throughout the country-as announced by PR through CM LGE, to wrest control of Putrajaya is a brilliant political manoeuvre. A master stroke!

There are sure to be views or even criticisms, be they constructive or with bad motives when implementing them, PR should consider all views and to adress the glitches may come along the way. Sure, those 3 promises are not enough to take PR to Putrajaya as they have to work much, much harder and much, much more. Nevertheless, the 3 promises is a goal scored in soccer terms.

For one, it puts the UMNO-led government on the defensive. The rakyat now can see between a caring-action -government and a talking-no action-corrupt government. It has created awareness how the present government is so corrupt and that the billions stolen by them could have been put to better use to uplift the living standard of all Malaysians. If the UMNO-led government had governed like PAP across the Causeway, today Malaysians could be living comfortably in at least 3- room homes and enjoying high income.

Kudos, PR! Keep on the heat.

95. #95 by Taxidriver on Monday, 16 August 2010 - 11:56 am

Correction: Kudos, PR! keep up the heat.me