A referendum will show that overwhelming majority will vote for a new IGP

When Tan Sri Musa Hassan’s extension of service for another year as Inspector-General of Police was announced on Sept. 3 last year, former Selangor Police Chief Datuk Yahaya Udin was quoted by the media as saying that the one-year extension should be sufficient for Musa to complete his “unfinished work”.

Now, it would appear that Musa has still got “unfinished work” and he is angling for another extension of service.

Let me reiterate what I had said last August, when opposing any extension of service for Musa as the No. 1 Policeman in the country.

I had said that I have no doubt that if the issue of whether the country needs a new IGP is put to a referendum in the country or the police force, the result will be an overwhelming “yes” for a new IGP.

Let me reiterate that I have no personal axe to grind against Musa and am purely taking a stand in the national interests, to roll back the tide of crime in the past six years as well as to inject the Malaysian police force with the adrenaline, dynamism and a reinvigorated sense of purpose that only a new police chief could evoke in another attempt to scale the goal to become an efficient, incorruptible, professional world-class police force respected internationally for its competence, ability and success to fulfil the three core police functions to keep crime low, eradicate corruption and protect human rights.

Malaysians as well as the 100,000-strong police force just cannot believe that the present batch of police leadership are so short of leadership material that the Prime Minister cannot find a single one from the topmost 100 Police officers of Deputy IGP, CPs, DCPs, SACs I and II to qualify to be the new IGP.

Is the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak prepared to put the issue to a referendum among the top 2,000 police officers from ASP upwards to enable a secret poll to get their true and authentic voice and vote of whether the overwhelming majority of the top police officers are in favour of a new IGP?

1. #1 by rahmanwang on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 3:23 pm

The problem is not the IGP.
    It’s the federal Government that we have to change.

2. #2 by Taxidriver on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 3:52 pm

Let me cast the first vote. My vote is YES for a new IGP

3. #3 by yhsiew on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 4:13 pm

Mu-sah is good at arresting Opposition MPs and supporters, and people taking part in ISA protest and anti price hike protest. That is why he is treasured by the Home Ministry.

4. #4 by Godfather on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 4:37 pm

No point calling for a change in IGP. Any new candidate will have the same loyalty as the current one to UMNO. I agree with rahmanwang – just change the government, and that’s the only chance we have to get a meritocratic IGP.

5. #5 by k1980 on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 4:42 pm

A referendum will show that overwhelming majority will vote for a new federal govt

6. #6 by limkamput on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 4:43 pm

Present MACC chief and former MACC chief, what is the difference? Present IGP and new (future) IGP, what will be the difference? Don’t waste your time, Sdr Lim.

7. #7 by Godfather on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 4:56 pm

Pssssst, did you hear of the recent UMNO prequalifications for the post of IGP ?

The first criterion is that you must pledge complete and undivided loyalty to UMNO. The second criterion is that you must have skeletons in your closet so that UMNO can hold you by your b@lls.

That’s the definition of a good IGP in Bolehland.

8. #8 by gofortruth on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 5:20 pm

Lets face it, they (Najib in particular???) have to keep Musa there as IGP for some ‘unfinished’ cover up. Until & unless they found a ‘trusted UMNO YES MAN’ substitude, Musa will be showing his faces around for awhile yet.

We are screaming out loud for change!

9. #9 by frankyapp on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 5:20 pm

Come on you guys,when you have a loyal good guard dog with you ,why would you want to trade for an un-tested one ? As outsiders we have no rights to asking the keeper to change his guard dog. The best solution is to change the house owner and the dog will automatically go with him. As simple as that.Just be patience.

10. #10 by Loh on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 5:44 pm

///Malaysians as well as the 100,000-strong police force just cannot believe that the present batch of police leadership are so short of leadership material that the Prime Minister cannot find a single one from the topmost 100 Police officers of Deputy IGP, CPs, DCPs, SACs I and II to qualify to be the new IGP.///

Since IGP is as good as any of the other 100 younger potential successors, Najib must have considered that the devil he knew is better than the angels he does not know. Besides they might have shared secrets which might be incontinent to tell the new comer. Or was the IGP so dedicated to Najib that he would prefer to die in his office than taking retirement benefit.

With NEP, appointment of important position is based on connection and not on rules respecting career advancement of officers. So the 100 plus officers might have enjoyed the advantage of NEP that put them in their position now, but will go no further. But then there might be officers who could have been there among the 100 who got in without NEP influence. For them it is the curse of NEP that prevents them a chance to serve as IGP, even they have been born to the right race. NEP works in more way to stop them going further because IGP Musa became indispensable when NEP dismantles rule of law in the country.

11. #11 by monsterball on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 8:25 pm

There are great differences between the present and past IGP….and it takes who have migrated to teach LKS.

12. #12 by undertaker888 on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 8:44 pm

Woof, woof, woof. Sit musa, sit! good dog.

13. #13 by negarawan on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 8:53 pm

What difference is it going to make with a “new” IGP? This new IGP will continue to be a running dog for UMNO. What we need is to remove UMNO from power. Same thing with the judiciary and the MACC.

14. #14 by monsterball on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 9:02 pm

There is no differences when you talk of UMNO B puppets to PMs.
    But great differences for job assignments and their mentalities.

15. #15 by sheriff singh on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 10:35 pm

Maybe he’s got Hishamuddin by the Bols.

16. #16 by cseng on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 11:06 pm

Do you think Umno has any problem to get Musa Jr to be IGP? Many are begging to be given a chance to carry the ‘stinky mattress’ like what Musa did.

Umno can live without Musa being the IGP, maybe Musa cannot live without being the IGP. It is a deadlock, you hold my throat, I press you ball. Maybe he is looking at package somewhat like HP’s CEO (the CEO was paid 28millions to go), after what he did, and what he knows. He is a police, he deal with thug, he knows how to deal with you.

17. #17 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 12:16 am

monsterball :There is no differences when you talk of UMNO B puppets to PMs.But great differences for job assignments and their mentalities.

huh? you kong hami lan?

18. #18 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 12:53 am

IGP Musa wants another extension
    And gives everyone a lot of apprehension.
    Hishamuddin reconsiders
    And gives everyone the shivers.
    But really, has he any other option?

19. #19 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 3:15 am

Limkamput loves to insult and get my attention.
    Job assignments changes….you dumb head.
    Then check up the qualifications of both IGPs.

20. #20 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 3:24 am

Yip!! sheriff sign….”OPTION” is the word that one braggart can never understand.
    I guess no options ..as UMNO B have used up all their special chosen few…where real qualified ones are not chosen…for once chosen..the Police Force will act against Najib.
    I will give a hint to that dumb ass.
    One was a gangster….the other a lawyer.
    One apply brutal force. The other think and plan with better results for Najib…yet…cannot get Malaysians fall into their traps.
    Useless to respond to a scumbag….who keep on wanting to talk to me…through his insults to me..and when he is cornered….wait for my English lessons.

21. #21 by dagen on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 9:26 am

A referendum of top 2000 police officers to determine the issue? Oh pls. That will surely start off months of dinner, gifts giving, campaigning, votes buying and all the rest of the umno works.

Me? Of course our igp is useless and should have been replaced 10yrs ago. And jib too. And sleepy head and and and dr mamak. Oh the entire umno must go.

22. #22 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 9:57 am

If Najib do not change the IGP, he is either a freaking idiot, pathetic or both.

He got to replace the IGP just to maintain a modicum of credibility of reform. If he does not change him, his supposed ‘transformation’ which is already a joke become just more pathetic than Badawi last days or Mahathir now believing he is respected by anyone else other than boobs..

23. #23 by 9to5 on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 12:36 pm

I’d suggest we should support Musa Hassan to extend his service to the next General Election. It will provide PR more ammunition to win the next GE and more satisfaction for sacking him at PR’s own hands!