Has Hishammuddin changed his mind about having a new IGP when Musa Hassan’s twice-extended contract expires next month?

Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein said the government will announce the status of Tan Sri Musa Hassan’s contract as Inspector-General of Police (IGP) at an appropriate time.

He said:

“This is not the right time to talk about it.

“When the time comes, we will make the appropriate announcement.”

This has caught the whole country and entire police force by surprise, as it is in complete variance with the stand taken by Hishammuddin in Parliament five months ago on March 15, when had told the press that Musa would be replaced as IGP.

He said:

“It is not only specific to the IGP but four out of the seven division directors of PDRM. I already know who is going to replace the IGP. I already know who will replace the commercial crime investigation department director.

“I already know those who will take over, so there is no use speculating or reporting without basis.” (Sun March 16, 2010)

As a result of Hishammuddin’s statement in Parliament on March 15, the country had been waiting patiently for the announcement of the new IGP but now there seems to be a dramatic reversal of the situation as Musa seems to be very much in the running to be re-appointed as IGP.

What had happened to the new IGP-designate? Has he been found wanting in the qualifications and qualities needed to be the country’s IGP that the government has now to fall back on Musa Hassan to extend his tenure for another term?

It will be the most powerful evidence that despite all the sloganeering about reform and government overhaul, the Najib administration is just incapable of walking the talk if Musa is again appointed for another term of duty as IGP.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 10 August 2010 - 3:47 pm

Just let Najib’s administration dig its own grave!

2. #2 by Dap man on Tuesday, 10 August 2010 - 3:50 pm

1. UMNO has alot of unfinished business and ONLY Musa can be trusted to do them.

2. There are also “uncovered, concealed and hidden business” which only Musa can be trusted to keep them that way to protect his maters.

3. A new IGP may not be “UMNO friendly” and do UMNO’s dirty work.

4. In fact Musa himself might find himself in handcuffs if a new IGP takes his place. Frightening isn’t it?

3. #3 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 10 August 2010 - 3:52 pm

Yet another show of HP6 show … this is most ridiculous … and prove how stupid our leaders are … gaji buta.

4. #4 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 10 August 2010 - 4:07 pm

How 2 let musang go?
    HH 2 musang
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EpvCpxwMjSI&feature=related
    Pls, pls protect UmnoB/BN secrets

5. #5 by Godfather on Tuesday, 10 August 2010 - 4:36 pm

They haven’t found a loyal candidate yet. Give them more time.

6. #6 by the reds on Tuesday, 10 August 2010 - 4:47 pm

This is another “Malaysia Boleh” example! We are used to it…………

7. #7 by Thor on Tuesday, 10 August 2010 - 5:26 pm

Our Judiciary gaining world recognition.
    These Commonwealth and non-Commonwealth countries now want to come to Malaysia to study the mechanism, said Zaki Azmi.

Ha! Ha! Ha…….!
    This joker really makes me laugh until my belly pops out!

8. #8 by Loh on Tuesday, 10 August 2010 - 8:48 pm

///“It is not only specific to the IGP but four out of the seven division directors of PDRM. I already know who is going to replace the IGP. I already know who will replace the commercial crime investigation department director.
    “I already know those who will take over, so there is no use speculating or reporting without basis.” (Sun March 16, 2010)///– Hishamuddin

Hishamuddin knows now that the power of Home Minister is only in making announcements that he did not have to act on immediately. So the Home Minister only has power at home because he is not able to act out his announcement. Has he suddenly found that his boss does not allow him to act within his power as Home Minister? Or has he found out that others are more powerful than him, and they cannot be removed at no cost to him. We are witnessing interesting contest of power between the IGP and the Home Minister.

9. #9 by monsterball on Tuesday, 10 August 2010 - 10:02 pm

What he meant was…..he has no power and wait for his Boss further instructions.
    Such an important post…saying not the right time to announce such an important decision?
    And we went on to say….he knows who will take over.
    I guess….he is begging present IGP to stay on..not sure of the answer also?
    These are signs of an unstabled government…exposed by themselves.

10. #10 by cseng on Tuesday, 10 August 2010 - 11:37 pm

Does it really matter?

What different it makes if IGP Musa or IGP Mel_a_yu?

11. #11 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 11 August 2010 - 12:31 am

It is a well-known fact that IGP Musa Hassan is a thorn in Najib’s flesh, the latter being fully aware that Musa knows the ugly side of him. So, “when the appropriate comes” Hishamuddin will have to protect his cousin the PM. He will tunduk kepada kehendak IGP to renew his contract. Najib is wise in not wanting to offend the siow ren as he has to wait for the appropriate time to make his next move which is something he learnt well from somebody guru M

12. #12 by vsp on Wednesday, 11 August 2010 - 1:08 am

Najib has no more balls. They now belongs to Mamakutty, the Musang, the Singaporean and the French. That’s why he is dodging around with slogans, sandiwara and money to the top civil servants to clap their mouths shut.

Read Malaysia Today about the nexus between the Altantuya murder, Sodomy II and the relationships between the actors: Saiful and Khairil (Najib’s aide-de-camp) and Syed Rahman (the Mongolian Honorary Consul to Malaysia). I assure you it’s peppy hot which no Hollywood or Bollywood movies could rival in plot and execution.

Coming back to the subject: I will eat crows if the Musang is not back at the chicken coop.