The consequences of sleeping with the enemy

by Mariam Mokhtar

MCA president Dr Chua Soi Lek’s comments about both Umno and PAS using religion to dominate the Malays and influence their vote, is a bit too little, too late. For decades, he, like previous MCA leaders, pandered to the wishes of Umno. Now that PAS has teamed up with DAP and PKR to become a credible opposition party, it is Dr. Chua who must contemplate his standing in his community and evaluate the worth of his party’s friendship with Umno.

Dr. Chua’s hypocritical attack on PAS is ill-judged and offensive. PAS have always been consistent in its Islamic roots but when it morphed into a modern Islamist party, it created panic in Umno.

He should direct his vitriol at Umno only, for it jumped onto the religious bandwagon, to appear more conservative than PAS so as to lure Malay voters.

Perhaps it is Dr. Chua who has been caught on the hop, just as in his previous indiscretion?

Dr. Chua urged the Chinese community to think about the impact if PAS were to rule at the federal level. He said, “Do not be too optimistic that if PAS comes to power, the country will be free from corruption and other problems”.

This is a bit rich coming from him. Is this an attempt to suck up to Prime Minister Najib, to Umno or to his own party and community? Was he as voluble complaining about the excesses, in previous years?

Corruption is not a new phenomenon. Many people already hold Dr. Chua in increasing contempt, and know that leaders like him have only thought about their own personal interests and feathered their nest. For him to speak out against PAS like this is a cheap shot in the dark.

He also said, “Although Malaysia is also a Muslim-majority country, we are luckier because of the moderate and pragmatic policies implemented by the BN government.”

When will he be man-enough to admit that the policies of the BN government have made this country bankrupt and brought it to its knees?

Furthermore, his attempts at scaremongering by alluding to PAS as a doomed power have been ineffective. He described the hypothetical situation of rule under PAS and said we would ‘have less democracy because of the emphasis on religion’.

Is he unaware that Umno has already provided these – a lowering of democratic values and religious intolerance?

He also reportedly said that Muslim ruled countries placed their emphasis on religion rather than on education, that their illiteracy rates were very high, especially among women, that these countries have elections but also have councils of Muslim elders enjoying absolute power and that policies were not on par with global development.

Not content with deriding PAS, Dr. Chua feels the need at Islam-bashing.

He should realise that BN has managed to achieve all that he has just described. Our education system is botched and our children receive a substandard level of education, compared with earlier generations. Our choice of senior Muslim clerics make statements that make us look ridiculous – doing yoga is practising Hinduism, wearing football jerseys equates to devil-worship. Surprisingly, child marriages are positively encouraged. So how vocal has Dr. Chua been, to condemn these acts?

He continued his attack on PAS and said that people in Muslim-countries had low incomes, high unemployment rates and were racked by a lot of controversies based on the interpretation of law because their leaders were mostly fundamentalists.

But Umno has achieved all of these, with ease.

Given that Dr. Chua’s list covers corruption, abuses of power, racial and religious discrimination, repression and oppression, it would suggest that we need strong leaders who will fight for a Malaysian solution to these problems. Race-based politics are a thing of the past and have failed to attain unity of purpose.

The shocking decline in our country’s fortunes is because of the failure of BN. Both Umno and MCA have been complacent and allowed our country to slide into decline. Perhaps these parties have overstayed their welcome.

1. #1 by frankyapp on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 2:28 am

Poor CSL,as sleepy and confused as usual,now that he thinks he’s awake,he bites but bites his own sleeping partner. I think it’s a matter of time he will be chased out of the house .

2. #2 by Taxidriver on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 5:43 am

Goal! Drogbar Chua kicked the ball past the UNMOB goalkepper right into the net. The score: BN-0………PR-1

3. #3 by Taxidriver on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 5:57 am

”The consequences of sleepimg with emily”

We don’t need Mariam Mokhtar us all that. Which Malaysian doesn’t know Chua had been sleeping with Emily??

4. #4 by Taxidriver on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 6:04 am

“The consequences of sleeping with emily”

We don’t need Mariam Mokhtar to tell us all that. Who doesn’t know Chua had been sleeping with Emily??

5. #5 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 6:59 am

Looking at the situation CSL is actually describing the CURRENT SCENARIO in this country in which MCA has colloborated to build over the last 30 years [ I prefer to take away those pre- mamak years]. Of the REAL truth is somewhere in between and it is sad that CSL took so long to be awaken. Who can blame him, as he has spent most of his free time in bed all these years??.

6. #6 by HARGA diri on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 7:25 am

Beruni was a Persian mathematician, physicist, encyclopedist, philosopher, astronomer, historian, pharmacist and teacher and contributed greatly to the fields of mathematics. A crator on our moon is named Al-Biruni. So, what happened ? Many intelligent Middle Eastern people have moved away from their homeland because they too want a future. Look at the map and see the areas that are poor, backward and corrupt. Women in uniform and are told to shut up. A scheduled lifestyle. We do not have to look that far to see the same condition in our neighbours. How will Malaysia travel on this bumpy road ?

7. #7 by limkamput on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 8:34 am

Granted MCA has done wrong when dealing with BN/UMNO. Now we want to know how we deal with this archaic religious trend as a nation. No political party, whether PR or BN, has said anything on the child marriage in Melaka. Why? Tell me Mariam Mokhtar. It is that sensitive religious thing, am I right?

Yes CSL is pandering to UMNO but the whole nation is pandering to these group of holier than thou asses. They do not even constitute 10% of the population, but control 100% of the national agenda by hiding behind religion. Go fly kite you fellows.

8. #8 by k1980 on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 9:28 am

Does Chua SL support the 7% discount for rich bumis when they purchase luxury property?

Answer: He will say ‘No” to his Chinese audience, but “YES” to umno. A forked-tongued snake

9. #9 by Loh on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 9:56 am

///He {CSL} also said, “Although Malaysia is also a Muslim-majority country, we are luckier because of the moderate and pragmatic policies implemented by the BN government.”///

CSL does not recognize Malaysia as a secular country. If he did, the issue of Muslims as a majority in the country would not have arisen.

The argument advanced by CSL shows that he had accepted that BN runs an Islamic state, and he is praising BN for being different from other Islamic states. Of course leaders of Islamic states around the world try their best to serve the God they know, UMNO leaders in Malaysia serve their personal interest while invoking the name of Allah to the extent that the term Allah cannot be shared with non-Muslims.

CSL has given up on the fact that Malaysia is created as a secular state, and over the years MCA stood by doing nothing when it was turn into an Islamic state. Now CSL has tacitly accepted that Malaysia is an Islamic state.

PAS says that it has not given up on the creation of an Islamic state in the country. UMNO has made the necessary arrangements through its Project M in getting Muslims around the world to become Bumiputras, and sending non-Malays to emigrate through NEP. The difference between PAS and UMNO leaders are that the former try to serve Allah that they claim to know whereas UMNO leaders want to continue with the corrupt practice while pretending to be religious. Religious persons cannot be too dangerous as they do reflect on their religious teaching from time to time. So PAS is preferred. But UMNO have changed the mindsets of Malays in the country. We do wonder how pure would PAS be when opportunists in UMNO carry over their corrupt mindset to be PAS members. We see the results of PKR members becoming toads at the slightest opportunity.

UMNO is still the worst sinner that kills this country.

10. #10 by Thor on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 10:09 am

Mr Chua!
    There’s no need for you or for anyone in your party to speak up anymore ‘cos MCA is already doggone.
    Go disguise yourself and ask around if you don’t believe me.
    The next GE will only bring more loss and shame unto you and to your party and just because of all those wrongdoings of your master Umno, you’ve to pay the price as well.
    Go join PKR if you wanna survive in politics!

11. #11 by ktteokt on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 10:20 am

Not only did MCA sleep with the enemy, it has committed POLITICAL ADULTERY with its bedmate, UMNO!

12. #12 by yhsiew on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 10:22 am

///He described the hypothetical situation of rule under PAS and said we would ‘have less democracy because of the emphasis on religion’.///

Between BN and PAS, I will definitely choose PAS because compared with BN, PAS has less corruption, more likely to uphold justice and allows more democratic freedom (proven in the “Allah” issue).

True, no political party is perfect but it is wise to choose the one which is the lesser of two evils!

13. #13 by Thor on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 10:35 am

Even if Pas were to rule, there’s nothing to fear of.
    Just look at Kelantan and see for yourself.
    The Chinese, Malays, Indians and even the Thais are living happily there and that’s what I call multi racial.
    Pas never call other races “pendatang”.
    Unlike Umno B, who think the whole country was inherited to them and that’s why they’re arrogant.
    Just because of one mamak who “hijacked” Umno and use it as a platform to enrich himself!

14. #14 by Jong on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 10:54 am

# Perhaps it is Dr. Chua who has been caught on the hop, just as in his previous indiscretion? #

– HahaHHa, this is sharp, good aim Mariam! In case CSL did not realise no one in the opposition PAS or for that matter Pakatan Rakyat attacked him for his previous indiscretion, his own MCA and UMNO did.

15. #15 by Thor on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 11:16 am

I’m sure many of you from MCA knew that Umno is filthy but chose to remain, not because of loyalty but because of repression.
    Unlike Chua Jui Meng, most dare not oppose or pull themselves out just because they’re afraid that MACC will come after them.
    These fellas are all “tied up” and are ready to “sink” with Umno even if they’re not willing.

16. #16 by boh-liao on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 11:32 am

CSL n Melaka CM both like SEX thingy
    CSL made no comments on Melaka CM’s support n promotion of unbridled sex among pre-teen Muslim boys n girls through pre-teen marriage
    Have a great Sunday read http://www.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,2007238,00.html
    Expect a new form of teens running around in Melaka soon

17. #17 by digard on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 12:04 pm

Mariam Mokhtar is – as usual – spot on. Her writing style is without any criticism. Hats off!

What actually makes me smile on an otherwise gray Sunday morning are the not-so-open implications of the last week’s performance of MCA. Sociologically and psychologically highly interesting indeed.
    MCA used to successfully con the Malaysian Chinese for decades into the impression that it was the shelter of the interests of the Malaysian Chinese, who would otherwise be overrun by the demands of the ‘Malays’. Especially after 1969.
    And when we attended any of their public events of all sorts, this is what they would pride themselves for. And the Malaysian Chinese fell for this, hook, line and sinker. Okay, there was always DAP, but always in the opposition and therefore seemingly unable to protect them; even less their business interests, which tends to be much more relevant for them, in their majority.
    And then the ‘Allah-Issue’ came along. MCA was – and is – seemingly powerless to hold its protective hands above the affected part of the population. And those in command in the MCA know this, and they also know why. Because they have opened themselves up over the last decade to be jailed for all sorts of illegal activities; with pr0n being the least. Naturally, PAS waltzing in to stand by the side of those adversely affected by the ban of those words, was a big thorn in the side of MCA. The recent election results, starting from 0803 to the “I-help-you-you-help-me” disaster are valid proof that the majority of the Malaysian Chinese trust the ‘Islamic’ party more at protecting the interests of the local Chinese than their own MCA.
    Which tolls the bell for MCA. Then, that awesome bandwagon came along with Hishamuddin kind of self-critical on the ban; and MCA hops aboard like there was no tomorrow, sure to quickly redeem themselves in the eyes of their people. A little remark from the DPM, and the carpet is pulled from under their feet. In this case from underneath CSL’s courage.
    His reaction was rather panicky, shortsighted, and giving up the advantage MCA had on its side. He gambled unnecessarily and lost totally. When he found out a few hours later, how he was conned, his frustration ran high, and he went overboard.

To me all this is just so funny. Oh, except that I now seriously pity everyone who depends on MCA for keeping up their rights. Because the credibility and respect of this organisation with BN is by now exactly zero. And likewise with all of their members who are only keen enough to follow the developments.

18. #18 by limkamput on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 12:53 pm

Even if Pas were to rule, there’s nothing to fear of.
    Just look at Kelantan and see for yourself.
    The Chinese, Malays, Indians and even the Thais are living happily there and that’s what I call multi racial. Pas never call other races “pendatang”. //Thor

Really? Now let’s us look at all these objectively. Yes, the tension in Kelantan is less, but is this because the government is more benevolent and inclusive? Or is it because the non Malays and non Muslims are hardly in existence and hence the problem could be dealt with more easily?

The reality is in Kelantan non Malays could not own land. The reality is that in Kelantan, the system of administration is equally inefficient and archaic. May be they have less corruption, but I urge you to look at Kota Bahru. It is as filthy and disorderly as any town in Malaysia. Why an “Islamic city” could not somehow shows some difference if indeed Islamic administration is such a fantastic thing.

Then you look at the civil service of Kelantan. If you can find one non Malays officer, I shall quit writing here. But nobody is making an issue here because it has not caught our attention. What about state aids, scholarships and contracts? If you find any non Malays or non Muslim recipients, let me know. Of course some of you would say non Malays do not need it. But I have seem non Malays (in fact Chinese) padi farmers as poor as rats and their children equally uneducated. Who take care of these people?

What about the people? Do you find them different other than they voted for PAS year in and year out. Are the people more enlightened? Do we inadvertently equate knowledge with religiosity; reasons with blind obedience?

Of yes, some of you would say Kelantan has no money. The federal government has stifled them of the financial resources. Yes, may be, but I still feel that they can do better with whatever they have. In KB, I see parking meters everywhere but the services they provided are sh!tty just like any BN administered states.

19. #19 by vsp on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 1:43 pm

Merdeka Day is around the corner and the BN will, as usual, use this occasion to feather their nest with multimillion projects. But remember what Muyiddin had said: “I am a Malay first and a Malaysian second”; and he had not been silenced by UMNO, MCA or the other BN parties. Come Merdeka Day, train our guns on these traitors and remind them of the unpatriotic words that they had uttered.

20. #20 by undertaker888 on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 4:05 pm

21. #21 by Dap man on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 4:36 pm

Where was MCA when UMNO banned the Bible in Bahasa, banned the use of Allah, destroyed Hindu temples, enacted a number of amendments to the Islamic Amendments in several states (e.g. parents losing their children when one spouse converts to Islam).
    MCA supported all these amendments in the state assemblies.
    Where was MCA when Mahathir said Malaysia is an Islamic state?
    Where was MCA when Muslims from neighbouring countries were allowed into the country with Mykads as gifts to dilute the non-Muslim population is Sabah.
    MCA allowed UMNO to become a fake religious Frankenstein.
    Now its crying wolf!!

22. #22 by Dap man on Sunday, 8 August 2010 - 4:38 pm

Christians and Buddhists are happier in PAS ruled Kelantan.
    What has MCA to say about that.

23. #23 by dagen on Monday, 9 August 2010 - 8:58 am

“He continued his attack on PAS and said that people in Muslim-countries had low incomes, high unemployment rates and were racked by a lot of controversies based on the interpretation of law because their leaders were mostly fundamentalists.

But Umno has achieved all of these, with ease.” – author.

And didnt dr mamak once declare unilaterally that malaysia is a muslim country?

I am certainly more comfortable with pas-the-religious party then I am with umno-the-more-hypocritically-religious-party.

24. #24 by k1980 on Monday, 9 August 2010 - 9:46 am

CSL can never turn against his umno bosses because they need only produce a copy of his DVD “The Last Tango in Muar” and threaten to lodge a police report against him.

25. #25 by Bigjoe on Monday, 9 August 2010 - 3:38 pm

Lets us take a moment to appreciate the way PAS has reacted to CSL bait. It shows sophistication and should be respected regardless. CSL betray his crude intellect by underestimating their abilities – the same underestimation that caused them to lose power in 1969 with their infighting and progressive dependency to UMNO since then.

26. #26 by Bigjoe on Monday, 9 August 2010 - 6:17 pm

CSL and Fong Chan Onn claiming their speech is taken out of context is PATHETIC. They behaved like bad boys and now want to complain like a girl? If they want to cry, they should just go back to their pathetic wifes, mistresses and mommies.

27. #27 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 10 August 2010 - 6:10 am

Bigjoe,

You know what is ‘kong chiaw wa (bird-talk)? They were just being straight-forward when they claimed that their speeches were taken out of their koteks. UNMO/BN are bird-people. they everytime kong chiaw wa, nothing wrong what.

28. #28 by Mel_a_yu on Tuesday, 10 August 2010 - 5:56 pm

All the same la.. DAP and MCA and Gerakan. All Kiasu. When they benefit and gain they praise…praise themselves. When they lose they pretend to bite one another.