The Prime Minister and the Cabinet tomorrow must censure Nik Ali for crossing the line as a model civil servant in calling Penang Chief Minister “biadap” at an Umno press conference

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak and the Cabinet at their meeting tomorrow must censure the Penang State Development Officer of the Federal Government, Nik Ali Mat Yunus for crossing the line as a model civil servant in calling the Penang Chief Minister, Lim Guan Eng as “biadap” at an Umno press conference in Penang yesterday.

In disregarding the vital distinctions between party and state, and hitting out at the Penang Chief Minister at a Penang Umno press conference, Nik Ali was acting as if he was an Umno operative if not the Chief Umno Plenipotentiary in Penang, forgetting that he is first and foremost a civil servant albeit the top Federal government officer in the state who must fully co-operate with the State Government for the welfare of the state and its people.

In showing disrespect for the Penang Chief Minister, Nik Ali is showing utter contempt for the democratic process, right and decision of the people of Penang to elect the government and Chief Minister of their choice.

Ali’s contention that he is only accountable to his bosses in the Federal Government and to no one else harks back to an era where accountability, transparency and good governance are alien terms and which is completely at variance with the “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” policy enunciated by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

In fact, Nik Ali is one of the Little Napoleons who have not understood or digested one of Najib’s first statements as Prime Minister that “The era that the government knows best is over”.

Little Napoleons wherever they appear in the public service – Federal, State or Local Government – must be smacked down hard, and the Cabinet cannot do no less in the case of Nik Ali.

The Federal State Development Officer should act as a bridge between the Federal and State Governments, particularly when they come from different political parties, instead of trying to act as the principal saboteur of the political party forming the Federal Government to work at cross purposes with the policies and programmes of the State Government.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 3:25 pm

‘Biadap’?? How about just plain stupid? The man should be moved just for that.

To do it at an UMNO press conference? How dumb is that? If you are going to pretend, pretend all the way. Do it this way, its just show sheer arrogance and stupidity. Or is it worst? Is it perversion? Has the man just simply lost his mind drinking from UMNO mental poison?

Regardless, this guy has to go..

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 3:30 pm

Nik ‘Napoleon’ Ali orang Kelate ke?

He seems to feel he is more ‘senior’ than the Chief Minister as he answers to the bloated PM’s department.

We are a Federation but we seem to have two parallel government administrations which may at times be at odds. This won’t do.

But are the Feds concerned or worried?

Let us wait for the responses from the usual suspects – Nazri, Hisham, Rais, Koh, Mooheedeen and Khun Eblaheemallee.

3. #3 by somaris on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 4:03 pm

To NIK ALI,
    If u cant work well for the people . PLEASE PLEASE LEAVE . Do not waste the people money.There s many good people can work better for the Penang People.
    YB LGE,
    You are the best CM of Penang. Keep the good work .
    GOD BLESS

4. #4 by Dap man on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 4:25 pm

This NIK is kurang ajar and biadap. He never learned manners in school or in his family.
    His behaviour only reflects on the entire civil service which is irresponsible.
    He does not know if he is working for UMNO or the people.
    If such idiots are made civil servants what we get is shoddy performance and neglect of the people.
    He must be sacked but as always UMNO ill reward him.

5. #5 by penang lim on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 4:27 pm

YB LIM GUAN ENG has done wonders for Penang thus far – he knows what he is doing
    he is the best CM of Penang – fighting the evils for a better Malaysia – he will have the support of the people of Penang during the next GE – CONGRATS

6. #6 by habis on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 4:35 pm

That Mudhead is not Fit to be a Civil Servant.The proper designation for him is PENYAPU LORONG.Please for heaven sake YOU are a Civil Servant and not a lackey of UMNO so earn your Salary befitting a Good civil servant and serve the Rakyat not UMNO you Idiot.If You cant perform what is expected of you and that is to Serve the Rakyat then PLEASE resign and go and work in an UMNO organisation you FOOL and your Prospect of Climbing to join one of those RICH UMNOPUTRAS is Guarantee.

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 4:41 pm

Everytime one of these happen, I am reminded of what Zaid Ibrahim said in London launching of Friends of Pakatan Rakyat.

“If you don’t upheld the values of the Malayness…… What do you give the Malays?”

8. #8 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 5:36 pm

How many Chief Ministers does Penang have?

First we have the properly elected one.

Then we have that biawak Napoleon who sees himself as the Chief Minister.

And according to the birthday Singh, we have a de facto Chief Minister.

Anybody else? Oh, there’s that ‘Homer Simpson’ Koh who wish he’s still the Chief Minister but no, he’s only in-charge of KoPIs at some Ministry or another.

Penang is so lucky with so many Chief Ministers.

9. #9 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 5:47 pm

AS usual the PM and cabinet will side him (Nik Ali) as he’s umno’s mouth piece. Frankly say a non malays top civil servant standing up in a MCA or MIC press conference saying say the Malacca CM is Biadap,I think he/she will be reprimanded immediately or Umno and cronies will hold anti MCA.MIC demonstration. I think Umno is a great bully as liken bully it expected all non malays to yield to them and in return they can do and say anything such as calling the people’s CM in Penang “diadap” ,chinese women prostitutes and Indians pandatang etc and still get away scot-free. Don’t Umnoputras and warlords have any conscience and top civil servant like Nik Ali and Ibrahim Ali of Perkasa ? Don’t they know the common morality ie do unto others what you like others do unto you.

10. #10 by monsterball on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 5:54 pm

What to you expect from a small fut from UMNO B?

11. #11 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 6:34 pm

An arrogant Nik Ali is trying to get promotion from his BN boss!

12. #12 by Godfather on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 6:44 pm

90 pct of civil servants are loyal to BN. Why do you think they keep increasing the headcount in the civil service ? The latest is that the PM’s department headcount has more than doubled with an annual budget of RM 4 billion. That’s our money to feed the useless and the brainless.

Satu lagi projek Barisan Nasional.

13. #13 by limkamput on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 7:13 pm

High hope Sdr Lim, there will not be a whimper from any federal leader. If they ever make any comment, it will be would LGE’s fault. You know, we shouldn’t disparage a public servant; all must work together to serve the people; civil servants practise neutrality; they are non partisan; let them do their work; don’t drag them into controversy; it is not healthy; under BN, there was no problem; the former CM worked very well with all the federal officers from state secretary, state financial officer, state legal officer to State Development officer. Why now, LGE, you simply don’t know how to be CM la.

14. #14 by limkamput on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 7:35 pm

sorry repost, mistakes:

I tell you I have a tourism idea that Yen Yen should take cognizance. Why don’t we promote Malaysia as the land of scr*w-up? Don’t tear down the arches. We can promote the tilted arches, just like the leaning tower of Pisa (of course with no safety guarantee or letter of support from tourism ministry, ok. You mati you punya pasal). We should also work on the collapsed stadium to make it looks like the ruin Coliseum of Rome. See, I told you, we can convert adversities into opportunities; they taught me in business school. I am just trying to help, Yen Yen.

15. #15 by Thor on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 8:03 pm

You want that nuthead to censure that rascal?
    Well, you’ve to wait till his pink lip turns blue.
    And when will it be?
    After the 13th GE!!!

16. #16 by baochingtian on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 8:31 pm

When a person is seconded to a company for the intended service, he is a supplier to the company. With an MBA from England, he still failed to see his role and thought he is the client. Lame!

17. #17 by rahmanwang on Tuesday, 20 July 2010 - 10:34 pm

For me it’s very simple.Who is paying Nik Ali’s salary?Federal government.
    Of course Nik sings the tune of Federal government.
    If the state pays his salary and he does not look after the well being of the state,Nik should be Fired!Simple.

18. #18 by raven77 on Wednesday, 21 July 2010 - 12:33 am

Actually Najib and co dont realize it ..nor do most Malaysians…

The real power behind the throne are these pesky little Napoleans like Nik Ali…. Najib, UMNO, MCA, etc can do all they want…but right from their parliamentary assistants to DOs. ADOs, right to that little parking assistant out there..it’s the Little Napoleans who control them. A simple issue are scholarships. Najib says one thing but in reality the reverse happens

Little Napoleans are not afraid of anything. They steal, plunder, approve, or slow down a project or sign off millions in allowances…they are here, there, everywhere. Politicians in this country are really nothing and quite insignificant. Some cabinet ministers just throw up their hands in despair and just let them run the Ministry..which is why Malaysia is in a deep deep rut.

Poor sleepy Badawi tried to improve this by his “modal insan” strategy but , these Little Napoleans also sabotaged him. They are generally poorly educated fellas who got elevated because of the Ketuanan policy.

The point is..if the Pakatan Rakyat is to succeed, it must not hesitate but move ruthlessly against these devils

To LGE…you are on the right track. If you want to save Penang and make it progress….you have to rid the state off people like Nik Ali..the Little Napolean who will always thumb the noses of their bosses and say” Ha! Mari sekarang kita tengok siapa boss…saya boss ka lu boss”

LGE…dont waste time..just haul up all these nutcases,call for a DI (Disciplinary Inquiry) and get rid of them quickly…In fact LKY in Singapore wont even call for a DI. He may call his jolly hangman Darshan Singh to hang all of them in public….

19. #19 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 21 July 2010 - 3:09 am

In some countries, d makan-angin, incompetent n not working Little Napoleons r lined up 2 face d firing squad – BANG!
    PR must win at both fed n state elections

20. #20 by ringthetill on Wednesday, 21 July 2010 - 3:48 am

Every aspects of governance is topsy turvy. Perhaps Nik need a refresher course and be reminded on the expectations and responsibilities of a civil servant (kakitangan kerajaan), for that is essentially what his role & position is.

21. #21 by limkamput on Wednesday, 21 July 2010 - 9:07 am

See, I told you so:

Umno has come to the defence of State Development Officer Nik Ali Nik Yunus who is embroiled in a war of words with Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng.

State Umno deputy chairman Datuk Zainal Abidin Osman said Nik Ali was a dedicated officer who works seven days a week including on weekends.

22. #22 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 21 July 2010 - 9:28 am

Nik Ali is a rude Napoleon now and a Prime Minister-in-waiting.

UMNO crooks are all like that, the more ruffian they are, the faster they ascend the echelons of power. U have to b rough and ugly to be noticed in UMNO. Or b like Mahathir, ultra with ulterior motives.

23. #23 by Peace88 on Wednesday, 21 July 2010 - 9:36 am

Nik Ali should go. i bet UMNO give him a desk job in some outer region of their constituancies or pay for him to go “on long leave”. Mind you, he s=doesnt work for UMNO does he? He is a servant of the State Government and His Majesty! Can he be sacked by LGE? He should be!
    I think the State Government need to set up a class for all Penang civil servants to remind them of their duties to the state and not UMNO. Make it clear that if they cannot abide by the rules then get out! Fill the places with people who can perform.

24. #24 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 21 July 2010 - 10:12 am

ya..guan eng biadap. ..dia biadap. panggil saya kerja. saya sudah lama mari office tak kerja tapi ambil gaji saja…itu HAK saya. HAK!!!

ya..dia tu biadap. …tak tolong buminoputera macam saya.

kalau nik marah, guan eng menanglah. kalau guan eng menang, orang penang dan rakyat menanglah.

25. #25 by loveandgratitude on Wednesday, 21 July 2010 - 11:33 am

Have DAP gather some sympathetic Constitutional Lawyers to find ways to get rid of these pest of a civil servant legally?

26. #26 by frankyapp on Thursday, 22 July 2010 - 1:51 pm

Is Nik Ali another new product of BTN ?

27. #27 by lopez on Thursday, 22 July 2010 - 9:27 pm

every one not culture except nik ali and ppl like him, so nik ali can tell his fellow cs not serve the people.
    so he work 7 days , some supporter said so,.. doesnt every body else.

only nik ali works like 711 then wait no further promote him to be PM….first becoem senator first and be elected by ppl , well he can always get supporters to get there
    then i support him but first he apologise to YB EG LIM.