MIRI: The lack of gratitude shown by some urban voters in Sarawak towards the ruling government worries the Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP).
SUPP organising secretary Datuk Seri Peter Chin said there were people who had forgotten what the Government had done for them and now they wanted to bring it down.
“Who gave them jobs? It was the Government. Who provided hundreds of millions of ringgit every year to build roads, houses, schools, health facilities, basic amenities like water and electricity for them?
“Was it the Opposition parties who did all these? Of course not. It was the ruling Government.
“SUPP feels very sad that these forgetful and ungrateful people do not look at the good things we have done for them,” he said at a Gawai Dayak gathering here on Saturday night.
Chin, who is Miri MP and Minister for Energy, Green Technology and Water, said the ‘’ungrateful people’’ blindly believed and supported the propaganda of Opposition parties.
He said he wanted the urban people of Sarawak to ask themselves what they could gain by bringing down the Government.
“The Opposition parties blame the Government for everything. They are always negative.
“They find fault all the time. They find issues to play up to fire up anti-Government sentiments among the people.
“They deride government leaders, criticise every decision we make no matter how much benefit we bring to the state and country.
“They run down the ruling government at every given opportunity but they never stop and think about the peace and stability we are enjoying and who was responsible for keeping this country safe,” he said.
Chin said it was high time that the urban people change their anti-establishment attitude, recognise the good the Government had done for them and show their gratitude during election time.

#1 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Wednesday, 9 June 2010 - 1:12 pm
To ALL readers & commentators : Complained and whinned ALL you want,there is NOTHING,absolutely NOTHING you ALL can do. However there is one and ONLY one thing which we ALL can and SHOULD do viz is start your own “VOTER-get-VOTERS” campaign for PR. Do it not tommorrow but NOW cos GE13 is just around the corner..closer than you think. Start this ” VOTER-get-VOTERS 4 PR” campaign NOW by chain emails,sms,words of mouth to everyone….for a BETTER Malaysia..Join us at “VOTER-get-VOTERS for a Better Malaysia ” in facebook
#2 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 9 June 2010 - 10:13 pm
The Star should write a politically correct piece of news. Anyway, good questions are asked. Why are the urban people in Serahawakians having second thoughts ? Urban people, mind you. What about all the folks in some God forgotten areas; the Punans, the Penans and others whom we the Malaysians have not heard of even ? News reporters should go to these forgotten people and ask their views. Please record all interviews in audio and visual form.
#3 by harwin on Thursday, 10 June 2010 - 5:52 pm
T’is dumbo for sure has hit the over-the-hill or past the use-by date. Otherwise, how on earth could he indulged himself in ‘gratitude’ talk as if he were still living in the feudal age?
In case he ain’t completely beyond redemption & still could be enlightened, let him be ‘educated’ that it represents the duty & responsibility of the incumbent government to do a host of needy for it to remain relevant & legitimate in the eyes of the general electorate.
Job creation amid promoting sustainable economic growth & equitable wealth creation for all is just one of the many major responsiblities entails in the job of the government of the day.
The cold reality, the dumbo Sarawak BN gov’t had failed miserably on the sole count of job creation. If not, why on earth hundreds & thousands of Sarawakians have to leave its home soil to toil in various corners of Peninsula M’sia?
I bet that bloody Miri-dumbo doesn’t know how many Ibans, Bidayuhs, Kenyahs, Kayans, Melanaus, etc… or Kuchingites, Sibuans, Songans, Kapitans, Lawasians… are scattered all over W. M’sia, does he?
Does he know there are Sarawak gettos in Johore (e.g. Skudai, J.B.), Penang, Selangor & above all Singapura?!
What & how much more gratitude he or BN deserves? No more, not a tad anymore!!!
Not for the stinkingly self over-rated Barsian Najis Sarawak, plz!