Call for public inquiry into the two-and-a-half hour delay in announcing the results of the Sibu by-election last night

The Election Commission has blamed DAP for the delay in tallying the results of the postal voting in Sibu denying that it had wanted to manipulate the outcome in favour of the Barisan Nasional.

However, the Election Commission has not been able to give full and satisfactory explanation for the two-and-a-half hour delay in the announcement of the Sibu results which was the cause of a twitter offensive by me last night, viz:

#P212 #Sibu Told BN leaders left counting centre virtually admitting defeat. Some time b4 off results are known awaiting postal ballot.
05/16/2010 08:44 PM

#P212 #Sibu Majority prob v narrow but its Sibu Miracle if true. Will not update further as results incomplete. Keep fingers crossed n pray.
05/16/2010 08:48 PM

Going over 2Sanyan Bldg w Penang CM PR MPs 2find out from Election Comm what is holding up anncement of #Sibu #P212 results
05/16/2010 09:23 PM

#P212 #Sibu Postalballot counting started @530pm finished 830pm. Y more than hourlong delay holding up anncement of results? Up 2some trick?
05/16/2010 09:42 PM

#P212 Is there any attempt 2steal #Sibu byelection from great ppl of Sibu after a great campaign involving PM DPM n Swak CM?
05/16/2010 09:47 PM

#P212 Ppl of #SibuSwakMsia n world watching whether there is going 2b Election Commission scandal bcos Najib does not want 2admit defeat
05/16/2010 10:06 PM

#P212 Najib shld speak up whether he is party 2extraordinary delay on part of Election Commission 2announce #Sibu byelection result
05/16/2010 10:13 PM

#P212 Does Najib accept verdict of ppl #Sibu 2freely democratically elect WHL as new MP of Sibu?Najib’s credentials as a democrat on d line!
05/16/2010 10:18 PM

#P212 I call on all BN Ministers n parties 2take a stand whether they accept n respect verdict of ppl #Sibu n will not b party 2any fraud
05/16/2010 10:27 PM

#212 #Sibu Returning Officer finally announcing results WHL new MP Sibu w majority 398 – getting 18845 agnst BN 18447 There is Sibu Miracle
05/16/2010 10:56 PM

#212 Tribute 2great ppl of sibu – u have written history created #Sibu Miracle. Umno/BN have no more “fixed deposit” states in SS anymore
05/16/2010 11:42 PM

Beginning of historic political change in Swak/Msia begins w Sibu Hncfrth 516 joins 308 in Msian political lexicon symbolising People Power
05/16/2010 11:57 PM

At about 8.30 pm SUPP and BN leaders knew that from the counting of the votes, they had lost the Sibu parliamentary by-election and this was why SUPP and BN leaders left the Civic Centre Counting Centre – which I tweeted shortly after.

Why was the announcement of the Sibu by-election result held up for two-and-a-half hours, after the postal ballots had been counted from 5.30 pm to 8.30 pm?

Could the Election Commission blame anyone, including the increasing numbers of outraged Sibuans, for their concern and worry that some plans were afoot to disregard their choice of MP after an intensive by-election campaign?

When I went up to the 9th floor of Sanyan Bldg where the postal ballot counting was held, together with DAP Secretary-General Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng, Pakatan Rakyat MPs and State Assembly representatives, at about 9.35 pm to find out the cause of the unusual delay, the deadlock seemed unbreakable.

This was when I tweeted first with the query as to the reason for the delay in the announcement of the results and whether somebody was “Up 2some trick?”.

My second tweet five minutes later pointedly asked whether there was any attempt to “steal” the Sibu by-election from the people of Sibu.

It was very difficult to tweet from the 9th floor Sanyan Bldg and I decided to go down to the ground floor (for easier mobile Internet access) to tweet. It was then I found the Sanyan Bldg in darkness as there was a blackout of all times, and the counting centre was operating on standby generator!

In the next 21 minutes, I sent four tweets saying that Sibu, Sarawak, Malaysia and the world were watching whether there was going to be an Election Commission scandal because the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak did not want to admit defeat; asking Najib to speak up whether he was party to the “extraordinary delay” in the announcement; and asking Najib whether he accepted the verdict of the people of Sibu to freely and democratically elect Wong Ho Leng as the MP for Sibu.

I stressed that Najib’s “credentials as a democrat” was on the line. I also asked all Barisan Nasional Ministers and parties to take a stand whether they accept and respect the verdict of the people of Sibu and would not be a party to any fraud.

It was after this tweet offensive that things moved with speed although it was close to 11 pm when the Returning Officer finally announced that Ho Leng had been elected with a majority of 398 votes.

I do not believe that Najib was involved in any attempt to manipulate the Sibu by-election results but he is responsible as Prime Minister and Barisan Nasional Chairman to ensure that his subordinates in SUPP and Sarawak BN do not conduct themselves in any fashion giving rise to such suspicions.

The two-and-a-half hour delay in the announcement of the by-election results should never have happened. I call on the Cabinet on Wednesday to hold a public inquiry on the causes of the two-and-a-half hour delay in announcing the results of the Sibu by-election last night.

1. #1 by buy election on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 4:21 pm

Election Commission should just admit that: yes, they played tricks. Even that, they could not win.
    http://veryfatlady.blogspot.com/

By the way, Karpal Singh mentioned about Najib 5 million deal. The speech is available on youtube. The evidence is there. I afraid it may be removed anytime
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gQZ_2canK_0

2. #2 by buy election on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 4:22 pm

Election Commission should just admit that: yes, they played tricks. Even that, they could not win.
    veryfatlady.blogspot.com/

By the way, Karpal Singh mentioned about Najis 5 million deal. The speech is available on youtube. The evidence is there. I afraid it may be removed anytime
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gQZ_2canK_0

3. #3 by Godfather on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 4:27 pm

Of course they will try to steal the by-election. After all, they have stolen everything else.

4. #4 by frankyapp on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 4:34 pm

The answer is simple,the delaying tactic is to give them ( EC and BN) time to find ways and means to manipulate and exploit the postal voters in order to have an excuse to reverse the final count infavour of the opposition candidate.

5. #5 by frankyapp on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 4:35 pm

sorry should read postal votes.

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 4:35 pm

An investigation should be open on NAJIB’s BRAIN! He broke the election law in Sibu AND has the gall to say BN machinery NOT creative enough?

If they are anymore creative. DIE LAH..

7. #7 by k1980 on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 4:39 pm

//the Sanyan Bldg in darkness as there was a blackout of all times, and the counting centre was operating on standby generator!//

Luckily candles were not used, or else ballots for the DAP would be “accidentally” burned and then counted as spoilt ballots

8. #8 by Godfather on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 4:43 pm

Psssst….can we do something about the postal votes ? Not enough votes ? Can we plant two boxes of additional votes ? No time ? Won’t reconcile with the number of postal voters ? Gee, why wasn’t this planned from the beginning ? Oh, SUPP misled us into thinking that this would be a piece of cake ?

How about us being more creative ? Engineer a blackout, then burn the DAP votes. What, DAP only had 70 votes ? Not worth the risk.

No more ideas ? Kit snooping around the corner ? OK, let’s admit defeat but plan properly next time. Let’s get APCO to do some damage control for Najib.

9. #9 by SocratesPlato on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 4:49 pm

It is well known in Sibu that electricity will fail during counting. It has happened before in the past. The only difference this time is that we have heavyweights monitoring the situation so it is harder to do the MAGIC trick. Last night, everyone has been giving warning to DAP to have a lot of torch lights ready, even for the ballot counting in Dewan Suarah. Power just so often fail at this moment of the year, really strange…

10. #10 by buy election on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 4:50 pm

It was really fishy when the election commission chief modified the percentage of turn out. Why was there such a big difference of 10+%? No doubt something was hiding there so that they could inject in more votes for BN.

I am sorry for the election commission chief. He may now lose the job because he did not ‘satisfy’ the boss.

11. #11 by monsterball on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 4:56 pm

The fact is the EC dare not announce the bad news….delay and delay as long as he can….waiting for further instructions from Najib.
    Lim Guan Eng was watching him like a hawk…no more tricks.

12. #12 by gofortruth on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 4:58 pm

I’m shocked to watch the Najib’s ‘you help me I help you’ on youtube:-
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LwNLT428PqU&feature=player_embedded
    ———–
    Here we have a year 2010 Prime Minister using old 1960’s vote buying gimmick to bribe for votes. How backward & low can Malaysia go???

If He made deal with Hulu Selangor & if he made deal with Rajang Park,Sibu, one naturally wonders if he hadn’t also made deal with Baginda Razak, his 2 convicted bodyguards, PI Bala, ‘sodomised’ Saiful etc etc….. Sigh

13. #13 by SocratesPlato on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 4:59 pm

From the betting ring in Sibu, the odds was BN to win by 2000 votes last night. The low turnout was attributed to many people who are against BN but do not dare to vote against them in fear of their identity revealed and losing their jobs. There were also others in Sibu who are not able to cast vote in the P212 as they are from neighbouring constituencies like Lanang to be paid RM50 each for ‘surrendering’ their identity cards. These people automatically became phantom voters for P212. There were also alleged BN calling each home to come out to vote for RM300 (not confirmed). Others are paid an equivalent sum to return to Sibu to vote by BN. You see, apart from the gifts officially known to be given by BN and Najib, there are many other hidden gifts here and there in the entire town itself. Therefore, this win of just a majority of 398 is actually many times higher. Just think of the odds.

14. #14 by Yee Siew Wah on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 4:59 pm

I have never ever trusted these guys running the EC. They are one and the same. No matter how hard and dirty they tried, the rakyat is not going to be fooled by them this time, just to please the BN/UMNO masters. PKR and the rakyat must , i repeat must, find ways to tackle these dirty, underhand tactics in future elections.
    A good write-up from one blogger:-
    “As for that dickhead Ib Ali and half dead mamak kutty, please OPEN YOUR BIG MOUTHS now and state that the Sarawakians are ungrateful and Sarawak should get out of Malaysia, let this be seconded by that racialistic and corrupted mamak kutty. With Perkasa’s panel of brilliant economic and financial strategists, coupled with Mamak kutty’s know-how, we do not need Sarawak’s petrol money.
    Next is that SUPP candidate Robert Lau. He is upset at Malaysiakini for not “writing good articles about (him)” and then accusing Malaysiakini of being “extreme left”? Hello, Roberto, just because you and your pals are used to the mainstream media’s pandering to your needs and obvious biases toward the BN/UMNO because of oppressive media laws, and the fact that your buddies own the mainstream media, doesn’t mean everyone is like them. Dont be a sore loser. MCA/MIC/GERAKAN/PPP and now SUPP are irrelevant to the rakyat as long as they are in BN/UMNO. Come on, Roberto, leave BN and join PKR before you fade into oblivion. NOW!!!!!!!!

15. #15 by monsterball on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 5:03 pm

Yea…they depend on the 2500 postal votes to perform their magic show. In that past 18 years….worked well…..but this time with more than 3500 majority to DAP….habis wayang…especially with Lim Guan Eng watching him ..like a hawk…telling him,..don’t delay…and give all postal votes to SUPP…and be done with it.
    His balls shrunk…and started to count..the failed planned magic show.

16. #16 by Godfather on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 5:05 pm

Siew Wah:

Don’t ask anyone from SUPP to join PKR. We have enough problems of our own trying to figure out the trojan horses in our midst. Just tell them to go to a corner and die quietly.

17. #17 by gabelim on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 5:13 pm

LKS – I am really impressed that you work very hard on this SPR issue. This is really encouraging to see DAP sees issue like this need to resolve asap. Despite this, I learn from your twitter that you only had 4 hours rest. Do take care of your health too!

18. #18 by limkamput on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 5:17 pm

When I went up to the 9th floor of Sanyan Bldg where the postal ballot counting was held, together with DAP Secretary-General Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng, Pakatan Rakyat MPs and State Assembly representatives, at about 9.35 pm to find out the cause of the unusual delay, the deadlock seemed unbreakable.// Lim Kit Siang

Sdr Lim, Till now I am still not sure why there was a delay and your write-up here did not provide any further insight. EC has accused the DAP for the delay. Why don’t you answer those charges point by point – either to confirm or deny. You are not giving anything new to what was said last night in the twitter.

You said you went up to the 9th floor and found the “deadlock seemed unbreakable”. What precisely is that deadlock and what precisely caused that deadlock. You have said nothing of that. You should tell us exactly what happened even though it is your version, please. Until this is done, how do we know who to blame.

19. #19 by slashed on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 5:19 pm

Dear Uncle Kit,

I am alarmed at the new trend of BN politics recently. Covert vote buying is an issue we are all well aware of. But the proof is often difficult to establish. However, BN appears to have acquired some strange confidence to attempt vote buying publicly. In the alternative, their actions amount to political blackmail.

So what is it that I am talking about? It is the guts shown by Najib to declare that “(i)f Robert Lau becomes MP on Sunday, on Monday I will ask the cheque to be prepared.” Moreover, he had stated openly to the audience “I want to make a deal with you. Can we have an understanding or not? The understanding is quite simple. I help you, you help me. do we have a deal or not? We do! You want the RM5 million, I want Robert Lau to win”. These quotes are lifted directly off the Sarawak state sanctioned newspaper The Sunday Eastern Times (dated May 16 2010).

These statements are not mere election promises. An election promise, within acceptable ethical limits, should be one which you would like to fulfill IF you have the chance to do so. The assumption is that you do not have the ability to do so now. It can be further argued that you may not be able to fulfill it even if you do win but at least you will try.

On the other hand, Najib has openly declared that he HAS the money NOW. And that money will be there if his man wins. The fact that his man wins or loses does not logically affect the availability of the money. It only affects whether or not he will hand it over. To be more precise, Najib has openly misused public funds for his own parties’ benefit. He’s basically saying that he will provide the funds (which ARE available) ONLY if their own self interest is fulfilled first. When did the interest of the rakyat become secondary to BN? When did public funds become BN funds? This is a blatant CONFLICT OF INTEREST scenario. Najib is acting contrary to his duties as Prime Minister.

Therefore, kindly raise this matter in Parliament. There should be limits to what kind of promises can be made. This is too much.

20. #20 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 5:20 pm

Postal ballots are always the biggest problem for Pakatan Rakyat coalition during the general election. This is because postal ballots are subject to the high risk of being manipulated by a Pro-BN EC officer through fraud. While in a by-election, Pakatan Rakyat can deploy adequate of competent and knowledgeable inspecting workers to do some checks on the vote counting procedure, it is quite difficult for Pakatan Rakyat to find adequate of capable inspecting workers in the vote counting process during a nationwide general election. Therefore, it is advisable for Pakatan Rakyat to keep putting pressure on EC in order to cause EC to do some improved amendment in the vote counting procedure for postal ballots. Procedural control may be a much more effective way to prevent fraud and manipulation during vote counting process.

21. #21 by buy election on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 5:24 pm

indeed ‘you help me, i help you’ by TV.kini is a more completed version. He started by telling his successful deal with Ulu Selangor

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LwNLT428PqU

22. #22 by HJ Angus on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 5:25 pm

This is what happens when we have people without honour and integrity in charge of vital government institutions.
    Looks like they could not be successful in the “buy election” so they tried to steal the election!
    To me the postal votes should be counted first as the voting was completed way in advance.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2010/05/malaysiakini-and-mystery-of-postal.html

23. #23 by monsterball on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 5:44 pm

Najib said….’You help me…I help you”
    Anwar said….”Malai ren…Wa ren…Indu ren…Iban ren….too se it char ren”
    Kit Siand said…”It is a Sibu miracle”
    Karpal said..”Sue him. Najib offered bribes in Sibu.”
    Guan Eng said…”Now look here….don’t play delaying games.Go give all postal votes to Najib and announce the result fast”

24. #24 by isahbiazhar on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 5:44 pm

Election fraud is becoming a norm.Everybody must accept the results.Manipulating does not do away the wrongdoings.The ruling government must be aware that the present trouble in Thailand is due to manipulation.People will rise to the situation to correct the wrong.It It incurs sacrifice but the people are willing.We want everyone to accept election results with no qualms.If the ruling government think they can win all the time they must be crazy or the people made crazy.The delay in announcing the results questions the motive of the election commission and the ruling government.We have become more matured .It is not easy to buy the voters.

25. #25 by frankyapp on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 6:04 pm

Well guys look at it this way . Whenever there is a delayed in announcing the result in a by election or general election in future,you guys can be rest assured that BN has lost. In HS, an sms came at 9,pm well before I finished my dinner in a hotel but yesterday I finished my dinner at 10pm,reached home at 10.30 pm and still no news of the result,I already knew that DAP has won the Bandar Sibu by election.

s

26. #26 by monsterball on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 6:34 pm

You can sense DAP won when TV2 English news at 7pm…never spoke about the election.
    The more UMNO B control news…the more reasons why we must change the government.
    Malaysians are being programmed by UMNO B devils.

27. #27 by ktteokt on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 6:48 pm

What other “creativity” does BN have other than all its dirty tricks? Anything more creative than this and the by-election in Hulu Selangor would mean the outright elimination of the opponent’s candidate, just like Amirul!

28. #28 by yhsiew on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 6:51 pm

The number of postal votes was not even 3,000. A standard six pupil would probably get the votes sorted out within half an hour. Don’t tell me that a big group of adults needed two and a half hours to sort out the mere 2,800 odd postal votes.

Something fishy must have been going on in the poorly illuminated Sanyan Building. BN probably gave up plans to temper with the postal votes under intense public pressure to have the winner’s name announced.

29. #29 by Loh on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 7:02 pm

///It was then I found the Sanyan Bldg in darkness as there was a blackout of all times, and the counting centre was operating on standby generator!///–Kit

The same old trick was being used. In the 1987 UMNO party election, there was also a blackout during vote counting and KuLi lost by 43 votes when he should have won by 50 plus votes. The same trick narrowed the defeat rather than overturned the results.

30. #30 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 7:14 pm

Sanyan Building (tallest in Sarawak) is owned by Taib’s brother. Because of that Sibu Municipal Council moved into the building. No one knows what is the rent (guaranteed fee to the family corporation). This location was once the location for the sports ground, and suddenly it turned into a piece of land for the private building. Nothing was transparent since under Taib Mahmud’s control.

The tallest building in Sarawak can turn dark so easily? It must be the spirit of Robert Lau Hoi Chew that switched off the electric power supply….

31. #31 by Loh on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 7:22 pm

It seems that corruption is defined as action which would provide benefit personally to the perpetrater. In a by-election, the candidate could be charged for corruption if he made the same statement uttered by Najib. In a general election Najib could be charged for corruption for making those statement since it would influence the election results in the consitutency concerned and elsewhere; the results would benefit Najib personally in his appointment as PM.

Action which brought about unfair advantage to the persons concern should be considered corruption whether or not the perpetrators derived direct personal benefit, or indirectly. That would put those who appeal to racial groups at risk of being charged for corruption, and race-based parties would be out-lawed. The sooner the race-based parties are dissolved the earlier there would be reform in the country.

32. #32 by Dipoh Bous on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 7:25 pm

…hmmm

I am sure the sate election ( Sarawak) is nowhere near now.

This is the opportune time for PR so continue to penetrate the interior of Sabah/Sarawak.

What seems almost impossible just before ‘Sibu Miracle’ looks very promising now.

Hope to hear more of such ‘miracles’ in the near future.

33. #33 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 7:40 pm

The people of Sibu can approach Lim Guan Eng so easily and he could be so close to the people. He is a Chief Minister!

I think Taib Mahmud has no comparison with LGE. Why SUPP is worshiping Taib as God? We should be aware of the low quality Chief Minister in Sarawak

34. #34 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 7:44 pm

The votes suddenly increased from 60 to 70% means there was 10% inside job

35. #35 by sheriff singh on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 7:47 pm

You still haven’t answered my question posed yesterday:

“How many of the state seats did you “win” ?

As for the 2 1/2 hours delay, they ran out of blanco and rubber I hear and they didn’t know what to do when they found out they were ‘short’.

Why do the 2,500 to 2,800 army and police postal voters have to vote early? Police I can understand.

But were the 2,000 over soldiers on duty yesterday? Why can’t they vote on polling day like everybody else?

And were the opposition parties given a chance to witness the postal voting process? Why then the discrepancies about the witnesses and voters’ signatures etc? So very fishy.

And why did the EC chairman say ‘low turnout’ of below 60% when the turnout was actually above 70%, even more than the turnout at the 12th GE? Was he ‘keeping’ 10% in reserve for monkey business?

If he can’t get proper, reliable figures from his staff, he should not tokkok.

36. #36 by Tonberry on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 7:51 pm

Postal voting must go. There are too much discrepancies and fraud in it. Even in some African countries, postal voting is not allowed. In Nepal, indelible ink is used. Are we Bolehland worse than them?

According to a PKR election agent, more than 700 postal votes were considered void and should not have been tallied..

PKR election agent claims DAP’s majority could have been more

37. #37 by sheriff singh on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 8:07 pm

‘You help me, I help you’ NR.

Maybe he was misquoted. Look carefully at his lips. He was saying:

“Please help me, I need you”. Or maybe: ” You Foock me, I foock you”.

I am not a lip reader. Can somebody help?

But if what he said is true: “You help me, I help you”, this clip is worth RM millions.

I am sure our creative movie makers can do wonders with it. Let it be screened in the US Congress, the UN and other Parliament houses.

Evidence against a soon-to-be ex-PM. Let the whole world see what our 1Malaysia PM is like. How his government implements transparency, integrity and good governance. Why the BN government is a banana government.

Why Koh Tsu Koon and Idris Jala is taking leadership from this crap I don’t know.

But I hear a lot of knives have been drawn. His downfall is now imminent from within. He is suddenly very, very vulnerable.

38. #38 by sheriff singh on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 8:22 pm

“It was then I found the Sanyan Bldg in darkness as there was a blackout of all times, and the counting centre was operating on standby generator!”

It happens all the time in East Malaysia, 47 years after Independence. In the two richest states of the Federation but which are inexplicably poor and backward.

Why do they still tolerating this nonsense?

Why don’t they “early withdraw” their “fixed deposits”?

39. #39 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 8:40 pm

The votes suddenly increased from 60 to 70% means there was 10% inside job. – Pulau_Sibu

And still lose the buy-election. Time to change the EC Chief Najib!

40. #40 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 8:43 pm

I do not believe that Najib was involved in any attempt to manipulate the Sibu by-election results but he is responsible as Prime Minister and Barisan Nasional Chairman to ensure that his subordinates in SUPP and Sarawak BN do not conduct themselves in any fashion giving rise to such suspicions. – LKS

I believe you are not speaking from the bottom of your heart.

41. #41 by k1980 on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 8:51 pm

Introducing the mightest umno division— the EC!

http://rights2write.wordpress.com/2010/05/17/sibu-is-ec-really-neutral/

42. #42 by boh-liao on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 9:06 pm

NR: ‘You help me, I help you’ – this was also directed 2 EC chief n officers
    D Sanyan Bldg was supposed 2 suddenly go in2 darkness n new boxes of ballot papers (with X against SUPP) swapped with some boxes of ballot papers (majority with X against DAP)
    Then d EC chief would announce: O sorry ah, actually d voting % was good, as expected 80%; earlier, we got confused by bludi DAP n PR agents, tot it was <60%, sorry, sorry
    Things could hv been very different! SUPP won, DAP lost
    Next time, EC smarter, will hire David Copperfield n David Blaine as EC officers
    Lesson learnt how 2 effectively help NR

Folks, don't underestimate UmnoB/BN n don't take 4 granted dat they r down n out
    Don't gloat! They will do all things possible, legal n illegal, 2 eliminate all loopholes n obstacles 2 guarantee their victory in d next buy election n GE
    Don't forget, UmnoB/BN control all gomen agencies n instruments, they hv no qualms abt manipulating all systems n rules 2 crush any opposition – B alert n careful

43. #43 by limkamput on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 9:23 pm

In all fairness, the EC has said something specific as stated below. I think it is important for DAP to confirm or deny all these first before we make further accusations. Whether postal votes are fair or unfair is a separate issue. We are talking about delay here. What has caused it, and who were the main culprits? Let’s hear it. We want to support good governance, transparency and honesty, this is all about.

What the EC said:
    “They were wild accusations, completely unfounded,” said Wan Ahmad, the EC’s deputy chairman, who was forced to rush to the counting centre for postal votes last night.

“When I was informed of the problem, I was forced to leave the returning officer’s operation centre to head for the counting room,” he said.

Wan Ahmad explained that the tallying of postal votes began as soon as the polls were closed at 5pm yesterday.

“We had begun counting around 5.10pm.

“I was notified that the candidate and his agents had wanted to inspect every postal ballot and they had disputed too many items, down to the serial numbers, signatures, and more,” said Wan Ahmad.

“They combed through every envelope, over 2,000 of these… when they raise too many objections, it will take a lot longer to finish the count,” he said.

Postal votes are returned in the Form 2.

Based on past experience, said Wan Ahmad, the counting process normally took two hours.

“But here (Sibu), it stretched on until 9pm and then the candidate’s agents refused to sign the Form 15,” continued Wan Ahmad.

The acknowledgment of the Form 15 is necessary for the acceptance of the count.

“We told them the returning officer and his assistants were entitled to move the votes to the counting centre even if they (the agents) declined to sign the Form 15.

“Their agents then prevented the election workers from leaving the postal vote counting centre for the central counting hall, they blocked us from leaving the centre.

“By right, they cannot do that… I have never seen anything like this,” he said.

The EC added that besides making claims of fraud, the agents had also demanded a recount of the postal votes.

“The commission had declared that a recount was not necessary as the margin was quite large, too large,” said Wan Ahmad, who added that they had to call in the police in order for the results to finally be brought to the tallying centre.

“So I want to say the delays were not due to the EC… this is a malicious preconception, DAP’s people had prevented the EC from conducting its duties smoothly,” Wan Ahmad said.

Meanwhile, Abdul Aziz said there would be an analysis of yesterday’s incident so that a repeat will not occur during future elections.

“We want to see how we can avoid this from happening again,” he said.

44. #44 by vsp on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 9:25 pm

It was a long night indeed. When the majority for the DAP was at 2590, the EC began to play voodoo with the postal votes. Figures began to change by the minute and the EC refused to announce the result. But the DAP majority was unassailable, the EC realized they couldn’t cook the result properly, they had no choice but to resign to the inevitable. Bravo, DAP you have fought the good fight despite the blatant bargaining of vote-buying by Najib.

As I have suggested yesterday, win or lose, the Pakatan should take legal action against Najib for breaching election rules, and the EC and MACC for dereliction of duty. These criminals should be taught a lesson lest the country become another Greece. Let the people donate generously for the cause to save Malaysia from perdition.

45. #45 by cseng on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 9:32 pm

Unlce kit said ..
    “I do not believe that Najib was involved in any attempt to manipulate the Sibu by-election results ……”

Are you sure? Maybe you should plant a world like ‘want to’ after “do not”. A guy who hold RM5M cheque on hand and say “you help me, I help you!” and a so called EC (Erection Commission) who turn pair of blind eyes, pair of deaf ears on this., don’t doubt on their corruptibility. Nevertheless I believe the black-out just a coincident, as they do not darkness to steal nowadays.

46. #46 by Loh on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 9:42 pm

///“The commission had declared that a recount was not necessary as the margin was quite large, too large,” said Wan Ahmad, who added that they had to call in the police in order for the results to finally be brought to the tallying centre.///

The margin was large in the postal votes, but since the margin was not large in the normal votes, the postal votes could change the outcome and should therefore be as accurate as possible. Wan Ahmad should have allowed recount of the postal votes after having spent inordinate time verifying them. How long does it take to count 2500 pieces of paper?

The EC official does not realise that he should be fair to both parties, and be seen to be so. Unfortunately subsconsciously EC officials think like UMNO members and take side in carrying out their job.

47. #47 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 9:42 pm

Glory, glory, hallelujah!

Sibu belongs to Sibuan heroes and heroines. Despite all the scandalous manipulations, truth has prevailed; the people’s will has prevailed; Malaysian Malaysia has prevailed.

BN/UMNO/SUPP can now close shop and retire.

48. #48 by boh-liao on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 9:47 pm

516 398 18845 all lucky numbers!
    Know what 2 do with these numbers?!

SUPP Georgie boy still didn’t know n understand what Sibuans, esp Chinese there, want – oredi so much ang pau given by NR

Ha, ha – keep figuring it out, Georgie boy
    Till perhaps u become Georgy girl
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c-GApOqzgWM&feature=related

49. #49 by boh-liao on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 9:58 pm

In some countries NR n EC guys will b charged 4 blatant naked corruption n abuse of public offices of d highest order, found guilty, n executed b a firing squad – boom, boom

Someone plz arrange NR’s ‘U help me, I help U’ Youtube with a school boy pledging Rukun Negara – dat will b funny n sensational

50. #50 by Dap man on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 10:06 pm

” do not believe that Najib was involved in any attempt to manipulate the Sibu by-election results…” Kit

Sir,
    You are very wrong. Najib is a scoundrel and a scum. Both in one. He is capable of anything and he does it with impunity. See how he bribed the voters with ill regard to election laws?
    I was as anxious as all DAP leaders last night and worried that they would ‘steal’ our victory.
    The black out is an old trick done hundreds of times even during BN party elections.
    Fortunately, DAP had a handsome margin that postal votes couldn’t surmount.
    I am sure EC had some pre-marked ballots somewhere and was ready swap with the real one.
    I don’t trust the EC one sen!
    BN leaders left early because the EC has revealed the results to them.

51. #51 by rahmanwang on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 10:11 pm

What is there to inquire.EC was just thinking all the ways and means to change the ballot papers.Simple.In fact the actual majority is much more than that.EC go eat shit.

52. #52 by negarawan on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 10:39 pm

Najib says UMNO lacks creativity.

From the UMNOpedia:

creativity = telling lies about the country’s progress, bribing for votes with taxpayers money, cheating at the ballot with phantom voters, manipulating the EC and police, causing a blackout to plant or destroy votes, putting opposition leaders to jail via kangaroo courts, and if all fails C4 the enemy and erase immigration records.

53. #53 by ALtPJK on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 10:52 pm

Can’t agree more with Loh’s comments #44.

Not only is Wan Ahmad unconsciously showing his partisan leanings, it is also very unbecoming of a deputy chairman of the EC to display his utter ignorance of (a) the difference between the margin in the postal votes and the ultimate margin and (b) the potential consequence of even ONE vote to the overall result.
    I guess, after decades of callous behaviour, it is hard to get into their heads the utmost important principle of ‘must not only act fair but also be seen to be fair’.

54. #54 by negarawan on Monday, 17 May 2010 - 11:09 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LwNLT428PqU&feature=player_embedded

The world must see how corrupt UMNO is. This persons mouth and heart is dirtier than Saiful’s anus. If he is sincere about helping Sibu and other towns in Malaysia, he could have done it long time ago, why wait for an election. Sibuans who voted for UMNO, you have betrayed yourself and your children’s future.

55. #55 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 3:33 am

First it was “Correct, correct, correct”.

Then ” It looks like me, sounds like me, but is it me”?

Now “You help me, I help you”.

Quick, somebody make a movie or a song out of all these. Namewee?

56. #56 by writecom on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 3:51 am

They dominate everything from SPR to MACC, so let’s not waste or productive time. None of them will act even if evidence are provided. Main things is we won the game, let prepare another battle plan for the State election and show our voices in parliament.

57. #57 by Winston on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 8:34 am

I think that PR should not let up the momentum now that it manages to sway the Sibu voters to vote for a better tomorrow.
    It should go all out to attract more voters to its cause.
    Let them know that their lives are not dependent on occasional handouts, during elections, from the Federal government, but that the wealth of the their region and the country should be share by all and not be used to profit the few in the Federal government.
    In fact, all the convincing arguments are in your favour.

58. #58 by dylsee on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 5:59 pm

‘You don’t jump, I jump!’ That is the message of Sibuan. They are wise enough not to accept the deal of ‘you help me, I will then help you’.