Neighbours’ anger over trigger-happy cops

By Neville Spykerman

SHAH ALAM, April 28 — Neighbours who knew Aminulrasyid Amzah today could not contain their emotions as they expressed outrage over his shooting by police.

The Form Three student was driving his sister’s Proton Iswara and is alleged to have attempted to ram a police road-block in Section 11 here, before the fatal shooting occurred early Monday morning.

“This is not Manchester or Los Angeles, this is bloody Malaysia,” said Nadzimuddin Pip, who added the police should have been better trained to differentiate between criminals and boys.

The retiree, along with businessman Wan Rahim Tajuddin, whose house in Section 11 is exactly at the spot where the Proton Iswara eventually crashed, said they had initially assumed police has scored a major success against a criminal.

“His body was lying face down in the car and surrounded by police. We didn’t realise it was Aminul until the next day,” said Wan Rahim, who broke down as he spoke.

He said Aminul was a close friend of his son, and expressed regret they did not have a chance to see the dead teenager’s face.

The men were relating the incident to MPs Lim Guan Eng, Lim Kit Siang and Dr Lo’Lo’ Mohd Ghazali at the scene of the incident in Section 12 this afternoon.

Kit Siang earlier led a delegation of Pakatan Rakyat (PR) lawmakers to Aminulrasyid’s home where they spoke and expressed their condolences to his mother Norsiah Mohamad, 60.

Norsiah said contrary to press reports, her son was only 14 and not 15-years-old.

She also lamented how he had been labelled a criminal.

“I don’t want this to be sensationalised but I want the good name of my son and family to be restored.”

Guan Eng said he was shocked when he first heard about the shooting of the youth and criticised the way the victim was made out to be a criminal.

According to his mother, there was no parang in the car as reported, only shoes.

“How can shoes magically turn into a parang.”

He described the incident as a “cruel act” which occurs in places like Israel and should not have happened here.

“We are not anti-police but are against those responsible.”

He repeated the call for an independent investigation to be carried out, so public confidence in the police can be restored.

Kit Siang called on both the Home Minister and Prime Minster to visit the home of the victim and experience the anguish of his family.

“The whole nation condemns this act.” he said.

He also called on Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein to issue a guarantee to all Malaysians that this incident will not happen again.

Meanwhile the Selangor government today announced the family would receive RM10,000 from the state to help ease the burden of their loss.

Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim is scheduled to visit the family this evening.

1. #1 by c730427 on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 7:48 am

My sincere condolence to the family of Aminulrasyid.

This is a very sad day for Malaysia.

2. #2 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 8:03 am

in the cowboyland of bn retards, shoot to kill is standard operating procedure. If people can get easily C4-ed, shooting is just a norm. Who are the greatest extortionist and murderers in this country? It is those in uniforms and those sitting on the pedestal surrounded by heinous hyenas.

We will see how the police and useless home minister wiggle out of this. More $$$ and lies I supposed. Standard operating procedure.

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 8:04 am

I have already said my condolence.

I don’t want to be crude but the fact of the matter is the problem begin with the fact that Hulu Selangor voters did not vote for Zaid Ibrahim. These incidents will continue and will not dramatically change until BN is removed. The police abuse their power because BN abused their power.

4. #4 by monsterball on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 8:48 am

I wonder can Najib really feel the pains of the parents and see real justices done…for once…without politics involved.
    Leave it to the Home Minister…gone case. Twist and turn …talk alot…nothing done. He dare not commit in anything…like Pak Lah.
    Najib….ignore this…then his “People First. Performance Now”….clearly have double standards…not forgetting ..making his “1Malaysia” totally nonsense.

5. #5 by ktteokt on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 8:54 am

And just what is the Home Minister who is in charge of the police going to do about this? Of late, the Home Minister does not seem to be “at home”!

6. #6 by k1980 on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 9:43 am

The police will have the wholehearted support of the public if they shoot on the spot express bus drivers who had caused the deaths of their passengers through reckless driving. Not to mention the numerous directors of PKFZ who siphoned off RM12,500,000,000 of public money.

7. #7 by baochingtian on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 9:53 am

The enforcement team is getting daring by the day. Arrest to jail, shoot to kill. Whose action and hence the reaction? But sorry to say that it’s been on the wrong side, arresting decent outspoken rakyat to jail and shooting the ones not supposed to be shot.

8. #8 by Thinking Two on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 10:21 am

Nobody is to be blamed but ourself for voting UMNO.

But don’t worry.

The end is about to begin.

9. #9 by boh-liao on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 10:53 am

Polis will say how come a 14 year old boy was driving a car at night, mat rempit ah
    What good name d family n son hv when they knowingly broke d law
    What if d boy’s car killed some pedestrians, bicyclists n motorists

10. #10 by homeblogger on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 11:26 am

There are hundreds, if not thousands, of teens driving and riding without licenses. It’s the norm these day – this “In your face” attitude. It’s on the roads, in schools, in our neighbourhoods. Youngsters see their elders and leaders proudly breaking the law and saying “IN YOUR FACE”… how can they NOT pick up the bad habits?

11. #11 by Ridzuan Aziz on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 11:45 am

there seems to be various versions to this incident. While my sympathy goes to the family and aminul’s close friend, I am hoping that the police and whoever is responsible, to investigate this thoroughly and transparently.

It is indeed a tragedy but, it is obvious that many quarters are manipulating this. Things that happen in our country are our responsibilities. It may not be comprehensible to one’s mind and eyes to accept that this young boy would have commit a crime.

But again, nothing is impossible. If 15-20 years ago, it was unheard of that a 10 year old would be having a girlfriend or is already capable of talking about sex. and it was absurd too, that a young man of 20 would have committed rape and murder. But, nowadays, we are bombarded with so many social problems-as much as we are in denial of our failure to be united-as a neighbour, family members, or even friends, all of us are responsible for things that go wrong in our society.

Solely blaming the police here, is not gonna solve this problem. But of course, I believe that this incident will be a beginning to focus on the police activity in our country.

12. #12 by boh-liao on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 12:24 pm

Recently we got a spate of news of youngsters (secondary school kids) raping or gang raping their school mates inside d school compound
    In Penang, a young boy (15 years old?), with d assistance of friends including a girl, even went inside a public female toilet 2 rape an older woman (luckily, he was not successful n was caught)
    Do we still hv ‘young n innocent’ boys n girls?
    Who is our Education Minister? Is he a person of good moral standing? Moooooooooo

13. #13 by Chengho on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 12:49 pm

Bring back our cops to carry batons/sticks instead of revolvers. This will curb from further abuses. BN/UMNO seems nutty all times…

14. #14 by frankyapp on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:03 pm

Hi Ridzuan,people are not blaming the police in general but in particular in this case are wondering how on earth the police officer could shoot and kill a 14 year old student with haste. Ok even though as claimed that the boy rammed his car into the police car,still was it neccessary for the police officer to kill the victim ? After all,the inexperienced driver/victim was unarmed.Think about it,under such circumstances,any reasonable trained and experienced cop would not shoot to kill,If you were a trained cop,would you do that ?

15. #15 by k1980 on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:13 pm

In the good old days a few decades ago, any schoolkid who failed his/her Primary 6 or Secondary 3 public exam would be barred from entering the school (or any other school in the country) ever again. That was why we rarely hear of any case of school indiscipline then because all potential troublemakers (who are also academic failures) had been given the boot.

However, with today’s policy of education for all, all those troublemakers are back having a jolly good time in school, with the result that education standards are falling behind because the syllabi have to be watered down to cater for the weak mentality of the above kids. At the same time social problems escalate because these problem kids seek psychological release from their shortcomings such as not making the grade in class.

16. #16 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 5:01 pm

Albert Einstein ……” the world is a dangerous place NOT because of the evils that these people do but because of the other good people who just LOOK ON and does NOTHING ”
    ” Malaysia is in such a deplorable place NOT because of EVIL umNO / BN but because you and I the eligible voters did not cast your votes “. Now by just mere casting your vote is NOT ( NEVER ) enough.We need more new VOTERS
    Its we the commentators and readers of MT who are to blame if we dun do anything about it except to complained at best.
    For FREE ” VOTER-get-VOTERS ” stickers, email me your postal address to voter-get-voters @ hotmail. com or sms 017-3740176. or collect from me at Low Yat Plaza, Lot10,Times Sq any monday to thurs betw 12 to 7PM