Najib Greases His Way To Washington D.C

By Tunku Abdul Aziz

And so it has finally happened. What a great honour for Malaysia. Najib, the Prime Minister of 1Malaysia fame was thrown a few crumbs, a few brief moment to savour, exchanging pleasantries with US President Obama on the sidelines of the Nuclear Security Summit. Naturally, it was not quite the same as being driven down Pennsylvania Avenue to be welcomed at the portal of the White House, but I am being churlish as usual where Najib is concerned. Najib did get to see Obama via the tradesman’s entrance.
What irks me about this non-event meeting is that we had to resort to employing a very expensive public relations firm, for which read grubby Washington lobbyists, for close to 25 million dollars, give or take a million dollars here and there. Small change I suppose when it is not your hard-earned money.

We maintain, for a small country, far too many embassies, all the result of Mahathir Mohamad’s megalomaniac years when he developed a special interest in trafficking with some of the vilest and most violent regimes particularly in North and Sub-Saharan Africa that others would not have touched with a long barge pole. For maverick Mahathir, that was his regular breakfast fare.

Maintaining diplomatic missions abroad requires a huge budget, and ours in Washington D.C must cost us an arm and a leg. So Malaysian tax payers have every right to expect to get value for money, especially when we were assured by Prime Minister Najib that his choice of our ambassador to the US was based on the gentleman’s credentials, whatever those might be.

One of his qualifications, so we were told, was that he had developed extensive networking, Washington D.C style, into a fine art, and could be reasonably expected to pave the way for getting Malaysia into the inside track. Our man in D.C. could not, on this occasion, even arrange a fleeting “hello and goodbye” meeting without resorting, in the time honoured Malaysian culture of corruption, to that offensive practice euphemistically referred to as “cheque book diplomacy.” The Prime Minister could not have picked a better candidate for the job, and I wonder if there would ever be an end to the perceived sleaziness, rightly or wrongly, that has come to be associated with Najib. For the all our sakes, the Prime Minister has to be a little more circumspect and open in his dealings.

What has this visit achieved for the money and time expended? A photo opportunity at most for Najib, but for Malaysia, toeing submissively the American/Israeli policy against Iran. We decried Junior Bush’s attack on Iraq because we were not convinced that the claimed weapons of mass destruction really existed. Why are we so quick of the mark this time to believe the Israeli-inspired conspiracy against Iran? Where is the incontrovertible evidence that Iran is building nuclear weapons? What have we done to urge the Americans to dismantle Israeli nuclear warheads? On this issue, there has to be a great deal of soul-searching to be done on our part if we are to remain true to our sense of justice and if we wish enhance our standing among the morally decent nations of the world. I am not suggesting that we should oppose every American policy that impacts on global peace and security. We have to resist the temptation, however, of living in each other’s pockets in our relations whether with mighty America or pinhead Singapore.

I am not against Israel, per se. I admire the energy of the country and its people many of whom are friends of mine. With one, I went on two holidays, shared kosher food and enjoyed many hilarious moments. They are as honest and decent as the rest of humanity, and they, like us want the best for their country and the Jewish people. That having been said, anyone familiar with the workings of the American system on the international policy level will realise that no matter how often you meet Obama, nothing will happen unless the very powerful pro-Jewish Congressional committees want it to happen.

Rather than swimming in circles in the murky Potomac inhabited by totally disreputable money-grabbing grey-suited lobbyists just to pay homage to the White House, it would be easier and a great deal less costly to recognise, yes, recognise Israel. It is there; it is not a mirage in the desert. All this pretence that it does not exist has to make way for a pragmatic new policy. We have to exorcise the ghost of Mahathir’s rabid anti-Jewish ghost or we will get nowhere. We are not helping the Palestinians if we do not talk and walk with the Israelis. That does not mean we agree with their inhumanity to the Palestinians.

We will get all the support and backing of the very influential American Jewish interests, and will be able to engage Israel on a number of critical international and humanitarian issues, including the Palestinian conundrum. I think we should give this serious consideration. The Jews are anxious to cultivate us.

I recall in 2006 while serving with the UN in New York I was invited to deliver a talk at a conference in Jerusalem. Despite attempts to deny that I was a Malaysian official, they saw me as such, and not as a special UN adviser who I really was. They were delighted that for the first time in history that they had a ranking “Malaysian official” addressing a public meeting in Israel. They were not particularly interested in what I had to say about good governance, and the vital importance of fighting corruption. They wanted to know why Malaysia did not recognise Israel and, yet at the same time our government leaders saw nothing wrong in depositing huge sums of money in Israeli banks. I had to tell them I could not answer their questions as I was not a member of the Government of Malaysia. Mahathir may care to comment when he chooses to remember this bizarre aspect of his glorious administration.

By all means get close to Washington, Najib, but not at any cost.

1. #1 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 17 April 2010 - 8:20 am

///”I am not against Israel, per se. I admire the energy of the country and its people many of whom are friends of mine. With one, I went on two holidays, shared kosher food and enjoyed many hilarious moments. They are as honest and decent as the rest of humanity, and they, like us want the best for their country and the Jewish people./// -Tunku Abdul Aziz

Tunku Abdul Aziz, be careful, you’re a great man and represent the very best of Malaysians, which by definition the best are very few and a minority.

There are however more “ethno-supremacists/Islamists” (to borrow Clive Kessler’s term in preceding thread) in our midst. To these, Jews or Israel or their supporters, are the bogeyman targetted.

Your statement will be used by them to show proof that you & DAP are pro – Israel/Jews.

Anwar attacking APCO links with Jews will be challenged by ethno-supremacists/Islamists why he has no problem in having within the Opposition the DAP whose vice-chairman is Ok with Jews.

2. #2 by chengho on Saturday, 17 April 2010 - 8:42 am

Tunku Aziz,
    old man you contradicted yourself ,read again your article before you post it .
    Alkamen , a Washington columnist , called Najib ‘one of the heroes’ for having been invited for the private meeting with Obama .

3. #3 by donplaypuks on Saturday, 17 April 2010 - 8:52 am

YB

DAP & Pakatan should demand the PAC investigate this outrageous US$$24.2 (RM77 million) waste of public funds and reveal the detailed itemised billing, including some US$4.58 million (RM15 million) other costs/disbursements billed by APCO!

Were bribes paid to lobbyists or secret illegal donations to the Democratic Party in contravention of USA law?

You should also demand an explanation why when we’ve had an Embassy in Washington DC for years that “costs an arm and a leg”, we needed to tap into this shadowy, greasy, grubby, slimy lobbyist route!!

dpp
    We are all of 1 race, the Human Race

4. #4 by PRU13 @ pollkad.com on Saturday, 17 April 2010 - 10:22 am

“cheque book diplomacy” – shame to malaysia.

support donplaypuks’ opinion.

Another case like Malaysia’s submarine scandal erupts in France?

5. #5 by Thor on Saturday, 17 April 2010 - 10:35 am

This “pink lip” guy is trying to polish Obama’s shoes in order to gain more support from us Malaysian for the next GE.
    As usual, he’s trying to con Obama into thinking that he’s the man with principles, just like what he did to us.
    Promise one thing and doing it reverse!
    Think he’s kinda smart but never notice that he’s “half baked”.
    Being good or bad, it does not count, because he believes that money can buy up the whole world and even god as well.
    With this kind of fella throwing millions and billions around, it won’t be long that our country goes bankrupt.
    Whether we want it to happen, it’s up to the majority of us to decide.

6. #6 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 17 April 2010 - 11:24 am

My friend told me you can take a photo with Hilary Clinton or Barack Obama in the campaign event by donating a few thousand dollars. There is no need to take 76 million ringgit for this purpose.

7. #7 by dagen on Saturday, 17 April 2010 - 11:50 am

“We decried Junior Bush’s attack on Iraq because we were not convinced that the claimed weapons of mass destruction really existed. Why are we so quick of the mark this time to believe the Israeli-inspired conspiracy against Iran?” Tunku asked.

Hmmmm. Just wondering. The police IT project given out to shin bet people, well ex-shin bet people. Any relevance there? Any critical info on jib and administration has fallen into their hands and they are now using those info to hold jib’s guli2.

76million to meet obama? What would obama think of the need for such payment?

And yes the hugh sums deposited in israeli banks by our umno gobermen leaders. How much and who are they?

8. #8 by boh-liao on Saturday, 17 April 2010 - 11:51 am

Najib Greases His Way To Washington DC
    Any surprise? Dis is d only way he knew 4 he n Umnoputras grew up in n practised corruption
    To Umnoputras, anything n everything can b bot @ d right price
    In 1M’sia, anyone who wants 2 meet PM n DPM must also pay someone big $$ 2 arrange 4 d meeting (wonder how d so-proud-2-hv-been-poked ful of sh!t did it)
    Leadership by example – we r a nation steeped in corrupt practices

9. #9 by frankyapp on Saturday, 17 April 2010 - 12:34 pm

I think no amount of grease and lobbying by NR and gang would help Malaysia gains favour from president Barack Obama and the American people in general for as long as Umno/Bn regime is anti-jews or anti-Israeli.American jews are among most of the top 100 richest men/women in the world.President Obama dependent on them is un-questionable and so is whoever wants to be elected the president of the united states of america.Frankly speaking,NR trip to meeting president Obama was a waste of public fund,no matter what motives he has.

10. #10 by boh-liao on Saturday, 17 April 2010 - 4:23 pm

Najib Greases His Way To Washington DC
    N he told BO “You’re The One That I Want” – uh uh uuh
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a_864Y7G4tk

11. #11 by monsterball on Saturday, 17 April 2010 - 6:00 pm

Chengho seems to think he is smarter that all PR legendary politicians….when all know…he is a running dog and Najib’s balls licker.
    Yes…this dog is having layers of skins…covered with ticks” and “sh..t”….hahahahahahahaha
    Aziz message is an eye opening for the past present and future.

12. #12 by monsterball on Saturday, 17 April 2010 - 6:17 pm

That was the most insignificant visit by any Malaysian PM to USA.
    No one cares . No one interested to meet him seriously.
    Yes…Americans can be anything but being fools to Najib’s nonsense.
    Millions tax payers money ..spent for what results?…..NIL!!
    He has mastered the art to be calm and easy…over all things against him.
    He must feel very comfortable…that he can get away with murder..so corruptions and being ignored in USA by important people..he feels n shame at all.
    Yes…that “I forgot” in Lingam case godfather of his…and Najib can go hand in hand as the worst PM we can ever hope to get.
    However his godfather’s time and now are totally different…..yet Najib tries so hard to keep fooling Malaysians ….like his godfather.
    One put a man in jail..for 6 years…..to shut his mouth.
    Najib trying to repeat what his godfather did…to shut off same “enemy”….without realizing..the Mongolian model case…and the Russian submarines..RM500 million commission will bury him alive in 13th GE…no matter how hard hew trues to twist and turn…this great hypocritical corrupted crook that can murder one…have too many evil reputations…hanging over his head.
    That’s why his godfather love him so much…proving to be the real devil reincarnated substitute ans spokesman.
    Yes…the Devil is still government Malaysia.

13. #13 by tanjong8 on Saturday, 17 April 2010 - 6:30 pm

Remember Chengho was eunuch in ancient china.

He has bad breath and must be told to brush up

14. #14 by cseng on Saturday, 17 April 2010 - 10:25 pm

Chengho, maybe you can ask najib if he is going paris soon? If he could make some freetime to paris, he has chance to get the international attention and publication too, this round is FOC, no need to pay Apco. Did Mahathis also damage the tie with France that need Najib to re-built?

The suaram rep representing Malaysian is waiting at the French court, at least the ‘proud of it’ baginda fella should go, since he is so “proud of it” anyway.

If the 500M commission is not an issue. Then how about the way altantuya’s death? If that also non-issue. How about the trial that 2 persons on death sentence and we don’t know “the motive” behind? If that also non-issue. How about the case has to reach French’s court after ours?

Raise more money for Apco, to build the image for our next PM, if you BN still govern. We are worried about the cost for next meeting with the president?

Chengho, I pay tax, do you? or Tax pay to you!. then I am your boss and you are my kuli….

15. #15 by monsterball on Saturday, 17 April 2010 - 11:15 pm

Now that Hulu Selangor candidate is settled…with all Malaysians approving Zaid Ibrahim…lets find all those smart asses…like Chengho to F him proper and good.
    One that can twist and turn that can actually suck his own ass…leave him to me.
    Give you one guess who I am talking about.
    Don’t know…wait awhile…that self ass sucker will reveal himself soon.
    He simply cannot stand being exposed…now that his ass sucking have made him ..a confirmed bachelor.
    Only another ass sucker will marry him..and looks like…the only one qualified is Chengho.
    As both are pondans..we can safely say…they will make a great gay marriage couple in Malaysia..with MCA Dr. Sex president…as their best man…
    Throwing a big party…to shame Najib…using sex to bring down Anwar….just because Najib knows….all Muslims cannot object ..due to their religion..will be one way…Dr. Sex hope to get Chinese votes back to support MCA…and show how hypocritical Najib is…using religion to bring down his opponent.
    He thinks…what a great idea he got..copying Mahathir.. wholesale.
    Yes twist all night long…to fight UMNO snakes and weird creatures…supporting Najib and MCA.
    Do not be like them…telling all…”vote is secret”
    Nonsense!!..vote..comment and behave against BN…loud and clear…….not like those smart asses…so call nice guys…carrying bosses balls for a living…instead of getting recognized from their productive good work.
    Do not be balls carriers.
    You will have no dignity nor principles in life.
    Work hard and smart…not brag with a big mouth…small brain…useless cock sucking profession.
    But in Malaysia..under UMNO BARU…and Najib..that seems to be quite normal and accepted.

16. #16 by frankyapp on Sunday, 18 April 2010 - 12:16 am

TV7 poll showed Zaid Ibrahim received 94% of winning the Hulu Selangor by election. It indicated pretty good chance for PR to retain its seat.However I think PR still need to work hard to beat Umno/Bn .Don’t leave any thing un-turned.

17. #17 by johnnypok on Sunday, 18 April 2010 - 4:03 am

He should also grease his way into Mongolia and become a Mongolian citizen, while Rossy can become a Bollywood film-star co-starring with Khan.

18. #18 by boh-liao on Sunday, 18 April 2010 - 9:24 am

Waaaaaoh, NR d naked greasy orang minyak ke?
    Urban n rural women, incl mama rosa, r trembling wildly waiting with uncontrolled joy 4 d nocturnal visit of orang minyak

19. #19 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 18 April 2010 - 9:48 am

To be fair to Najib, getting closer to Washington, cutting of fuel supplies to Iran, getting rid of Samy Vellu – these ARE major decision. What is the problem? They are things that should have been long time ago. They are correction of things gone wrong long time ago. Its like moving some trash when there is a mountain in front of it, just so that one can move.

The problem is Najib think its not fair to ask him to move the mountain of trash in front of us. The problem is he goes around making people think he WILL move the moutain of trash. IS THAT FAIR? its entitlement. If Najib can’t rid this kind of entitlement on his and his colleague part, he can forget removing entitlement in anyone else part.

20. #20 by kpt99 on Sunday, 18 April 2010 - 2:42 pm

Today we look east,tomorrow we look west,day after tomorrow we look south.This has been the ways how our country being run by these bunch of pathetic leaders.Don’t compare to Japan and US just the little red spot of the south,Singapore where are we compare to them ? If all the stone age policies are there, forever this Bolehland will never progress far.

21. #21 by lopez on Sunday, 18 April 2010 - 5:14 pm

mata terowong , otak katak,

bee end the end…now trying to change but never seen any sigh of remorse what they had done to our nation and the younger generation.
    only daily cloud the nation with bombastics rhetorics about economics, competitiveness, transparensee, how unbias are their policies and even bold statements on global warming and WORLD PEACE but cannot even solve everyday traffic jams from our daily lives and dengue fever to our young generations.

22. #22 by monsterball on Sunday, 18 April 2010 - 6:03 pm

Malaysians have awakened with no fear over con men .. scumbags.. .. from corrupted UMNO BARU devils….applying double standards….and dividing Malaysians with their twisted and half truths.
    Yes…faark them proper and good.
    13th GE is near and faark them non stop…till Judgement Day comes…with all feeling great on a job well done….supporting PR and throw all those corrupted UMNO BARU scumbags away for good.

23. #23 by DCLXVI on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 1:19 am

chengho :
    Tunku Aziz,
    old man you contradicted yourself ,read again your article before you post it .
    Alkamen , a Washington columnist , called Najib ‘one of the heroes’ for having been invited for the private meeting with Obama .

Why did Najib suddenly become ‘1 of the heroes’ in the eyes of an American?
    Because the outcome of that meeting became obvious when the Malaysian government cut off fuel supplies to Iranians as a ‘persuasion’ to halt their nuclear power program.
    Will the Iranians understand the Malaysian government’s action came about because Najib’s personal need to look good for public relations sake by gaining the acceptance of U.S. president Barack Obama (especially when the Hulu Selangor by-election is close by)?

24. #24 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 5:29 am

Najib feels so proud until his nose is swollen, but the siok-feeling will not last long, because he has made a costly mistake, or was he trapped into blindly supporting the US over the Iran issue? Being too young and low IQ will see him topple by veterans. Toon Mamak and Cow Ding are rock-and-roll dancing and twisting, and cooking sodo-mee with Altantuya sauce.