I am Malaysian first

By Kee Thuan Chye

I am proud to call myself Malaysian first and Chinese second. And if I were to tell other Chinese Malaysians that, I don’t think they will shun me.

Even if they do, so be it. Let them. If they are so narrow-minded as not to see the beauty of calling oneself Malaysian first, I don’t want to have anything to do with them.

I have two children to whom I have given Malaysian names, i.e. Malay, Indian and Chinese names. It is my contribution to Bangsa Malaysia. Their identity cards bear their full names.

In both cases, their Malay name comes first. And that is the name my wife and I call them by. We call our daughter Soraya and our son Jebat. To us, Malay names are also Malaysian names, and our children are Malaysian. We have no hang-ups about it.

Now, why can’t this be the norm in this beautiful, rich, multi-racial nation – a nation that is beautiful and rich because of its many races and cultures? Why must we separate ourselves into divisive categories? Why can’t we take the inclusive approach, consider each of our fellow citizens as being part of a whole, as part of us instead of as the Other?

Why is it so hard for someone no less than the deputy prime minister of this country to acknowledge that he is Malaysian first and Malay second? Why does he give the excuse that if he were to do so, he would be shunned by the Malays? How does he know for sure? Why does he presume the negative? Why would they shun him?

He is a leader of the country. Should he not instead be leading by example? For all we know, if he were to actually declare himself Malaysian first and Malay second, he might find others doing the same – and they may well be not just Malays but people of other races as well. Why does he fear to lead and instead prefer to take the safe and untested route? Why does he even take the exclusive line and say, “I am a Malay first”?

The basic function of leadership is taking the first step before anyone else, isn’t it? Especially if it’s a step in the right direction, towards the noble purpose of bringing the people closer together. It may be a risky step to take but if it’s the right one, morally and logically, who can judge you harshly?

PM waffles in interview

Walk the talk, leaders. Do what’s right, not what’s politically expedient. Why does the prime minister defend the deputy prime minister for saying he is Malay first? Why does the prime minister himself not say he is Malaysian first and Malay second when the TV station Al Jazeera put the question to him?

Granted, the Al Jazeera interviewer didn’t pose the question sharply. Instead of saying to the PM, “Let me then just ask you, are you a Malay first and a Malaysian second?”, she should have asked, “Would you say you are a Malaysian first and a Malay second?” That would have been to-the-point.

He would not have been able to wriggle his way out by saying, “Well technically, if we talk about the Constitution, I am a Malay but I’m comfortable being a Malay in a Malaysian society …” He wasn’t actually answering the question. And the interviewer wasn’t on-the-ball enough to pin him down.

Perhaps someone else should now pose the proper question to the PM so we can see how he responds. I would be disappointed if he waffled again. He is, after all, the man with the 1Malaysia slogan, the one that aims to unite all Malaysians. If he can’t walk the talk, how much credibility can we give the 1Malaysia concept? In fact, if he can’t walk the talk, how much trust can we give the PM?

At the end of the day, will it only be left to ordinary citizens like me to declare ourselves Malaysian first and whatever our race is, second? I’m sure there are many others out there – ordinary citizens – who will make that declaration with readiness and sincerity. Perhaps if our leaders won’t take the lead, we ordinary citizens should do it, ironic as it may sound. Perhaps we should show our leaders how to walk the talk. Why not?

Let’s band together and exercise our right, our power, as the rakyat. Let’s show Malaysia – and the world – that if our leaders will not take the lead, we the people will take up that responsibility. We will not be doing anything wrong. In fact, we will be doing what is good for our country. We will be bringing about the real 1Malaysia.

How about it? I am a Malaysian first and a Chinese second. What about you?

1. #1 by k1980 on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 10:52 am

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/articles/25mas/Article/index_html

And some people claim that all pendatangs are rich and not worthy for affirmative action! Will these b#st#rds now step forward and apologize?

2. #2 by kpt99 on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 10:57 am

It is shame to PM AND DPM to call them as Malays PM and DPM not Malaysians PM and DPM.

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 11:12 am

While living overseas, I note that non-Malay Malaysians will always without fail, identify themselves as “Malaysians” first, not even Malaysian Chinese, Malaysian Indians or Malaysian Kadazan etc, when referring to who they are. Similarly, Singaporeans will always say they they are Singaporeans, not Chinese, Indian or Sikh Singaporeans.

But Malays, especially the many students, will more likely than not identify themselves as Malays first, and then Malaysian.

By the way, have you heard about the enterprising mamak stall holder who prepares his 1Malaysia tek tarik? He uses brownish tea leaves, creamy milk and white sugar to ‘tarik’ the final product, that blended, brownish looking, sweet and piping hot teh that his customers enjoy?

4. #4 by jus legitimum on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 11:16 am

Our so called leaders are hypocrites and opportunists.The rakyat should now use their voting power to throw them out asap for the sake of ensuring a better and brighter Malaysia.

5. #5 by k1980 on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 11:38 am

Affirmative action needs to be applied from the bottom up, and not the other way around. Aid must be given to all those earning the least, and then only proceed to the less unfortunate ones AFTER all the unfortunates have received their dues.

For the past 40 years, monetary aid has been given to those who do not need them in the first place. And there are fools who still vote for these bloodsuckers in every election!

6. #6 by tak tahan on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 11:39 am

It’s unbelieable,unthinkable any part of this world he or she would declare race first before nation unlike TDM.Even ordinary citizens of any countries will say which nationality he or she belongs to, needless to judge what TDM’s unintelligent and selfish statement-“I am malay first,malaysian second”.
    When these ministers conduct business outside malaysia,i hope foreigners will ask them”Are you into this business for malay first or malaysia?”

7. #7 by johnnypok on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 11:41 am

As long as equal opportunities are given to each and every citizen, with absolute fairness, no more NEP, NEM, etc, it does not matter what you call yourself.
    Bodoland is a unique country where and Indian can transform himself into a Malay and become the PM.

8. #8 by Ridzuan Aziz on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 11:50 am

..a better and brighter malaysia can only be realized if all are united.

We need to have a spirit of 1 Malaysia and though, i have to agree that 1 malaysia is far from being internalized by all, the concept holds a promise and is a good start. Aristotle in his nichomachean ethics, had managed to articulate the concept of morality by distinguishing between moral and intellectual virtues.. In it, he says, moral virtues are learnt, not innate. Therefore, everyone can learn to be moral. In 1M concept, it must be learnt and internalized by all. To do this, we need time, and commitment.

In the simplest explanation, the concept of 1 Malaysia refers not only to an identity that one should uphold but also the way that every employee must follow-its all about excellence. As impossible as it may seem, 1 Malaysia is achievable.

Being a Malaysian, and accepting that we are made up of different races and religions, respect and tolerance of each other is key to unity among all. But to do this, the leaders should show and not merely talk.

9. #9 by frankyapp on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 11:50 am

Before Sabah joining Malaysia, the multi racial people of Sabah normally or even proudly calling themselves as “orang Sabah ” or “saya orang diri Sabah ” and until today pretty lots of us still calling ourselves “orang Sabah” However,we normally call ourselves “malaysian” while outside the country.I see no reason why west malaysians especially the PM and his deputy would find it more comfortable calling themselves malays first and malaysian second. To building a united country especially a multi racial one,like malaysia, it’s vital important ,starting from the top ie the PM n the DPM must lead by example by calling themselves malaysian first and leave detials such as race and religion to the least important. Take for example,China,how offen do we hear people we meet telling us he or she is hainanese,or shanghaiese,hardly none,they sort of automatically say I’m a chinese.Why can’t all the multi races in mlaysia especially the PM & DPM starting now calling ourselves “MALAYSIAN”

10. #11 by Jeffrey on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 12:06 pm

The gist of Muhyiddin’s defence of his “I am Malay first” statement is that “when a leader talks about the interest of his own race, it does not mean he doesn’t support 1Malaysia. 1Malaysia is based on the constitution.”

However the thrust of 1 Malaysia GTP Roadmap’s is ‘Malaysian first and Race second’, and not the opposite.

It means1 Malaysia GTP Roadmap intends to water-down and de-emphasize the sense of race differences and to inculcate in its stead a sense of national affinity and shared destiny and common interest. Although one can be both a Malaysian and a Malay (as constitution provides) but in terms of weightage/priority, one is able to see himself as always Malaysian first and race second in the sense of placing interest/welfare of Malaysians as a group and the nation as a whole as first consideration more important than parochial interest of one’s own race and community especially in difficult competing situations where they collide and conflict that requires a position to be taken to which side of the fence (Malaysians’ interest or racial interest) shall be attached importance!

There is no wiggling out that whichever way one slices it, the statement “I am Malay first and Malaysian second” directly conflicts with and is opposed to the spirit of means1 Malaysia GTP Roadmap! The reference to the Constitution is a red herring, irrelevant to the issue. Reference to race in the Constitution is neutral to and has nothing to do with whether one sees himself as Malaysian first or Race second. To argue that it contradicts the Constitution is to imply 1 Malaysia GTP Roadmap’s aspiration is contrary to constitution and hence unconstitutional! So why does, as Kee Thuan Chye asks, “the prime minister defend the deputy prime minister” on an indefensible statement that contradicts the essence of former’s own platform?

The only answer is that political influence of the DPM and those who share his position against change is strong, and the PM is not strong enough to tell the rest, who seek to twist the1 Malaysia GTP Roadmap to adapt to their agenda, that they are wrong.

The heart of it is leadership. Kee Thuan Chye further says that “the basic function of leadership is taking the first step before anyone else, isn’t it?” However can first step be taken if followers within UMNO refuse to budge? Is he strong enough to push them in right direction without being pushed down instead by them for taking them in a direction they do not want?

The1 Malaysia GTP Roadmap cannot be taken when the leadership just does not evince that it is strong enough to override resistance to launch it much less see it through. Nothing will change then in terms of mindset.

11. #12 by limaho on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 12:06 pm

I’m Malaysian first even though I’ve been living in Australia for many years. If anyone asks me where I’m from I always say Malaysia – it comes so naturally. My name is unmistakably Chinese but I call myself Malaysian. So I cannot understand why any Malay would shun DPM if he says he is Malaysian first. Using his logic, Kit Siang would be more Malaysian than him.

12. #13 by bennylohstocks on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 12:38 pm

13. #14 by johnnypok on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 12:39 pm

Geographically, there are 3 distintive categories of people in Malaysia:

1. Sabahan

2. Sarawakian

3. West Malaysian

The west Malaysians are called “Sai Mah” and the east Malaysians are referred as “See Mah”

We are further divided into “Orang KL”, ” Orang Sabah” and “Orang Sarawak”

“Orang KL” is largely Malay first, and others second, depending on the type of situation you are in.

Some hardcore politicians like Bak Kut Teh would prefer to have a single race call “Malay”. Of course it is not possible, because the people of North Borneo prefer to be independent, after being sodomised for 50 years.

14. #15 by cseng on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 12:41 pm

I wanted (whole heartedly) to be a Malaysian First and Chinese Second. I wanted (whole heartedly) to lead the way for the current regime to follow. The rakyat (like Mr Kee) are ready to point the right direction for the current regime and leader (people like Koh Tsu Khoon), that Nationhood is not pride of ethinicity nor religion but nationality. A country withiout nationhood need a fantacy of “1 malaysia’ slogan. This is a country without soul, a country withiout nationhood. Because, we confuuse what is nationhood, we conffuse what is “1 malaysia”, it is apple? it is pear? It is a MALAY + SIA (Siangopre Air Lines)?

A leader who can not lead on the right direction, who has not guts/balls to speak up the right and always belittle to the majorities’s greed/needs is a real traitor to nation. The title such as Tan Sri or accedemia of Phd could not cover your cowerness, narrow-mind, the excuse of fight inside the establishement is a big lie to fool your self but not other. At the end of the day, try to tell your grandchildren you are part of BN (a Minister, never mind backdoor or front door) but your are there to correct the wrong of BN and you are not part of the problem.

The DPM says malay first then malaysian, we say malaysian first then chinese/indian/kandazan/lain-lain… Underlaid this sharp contrast of though are the deacdes long of inequality/mistreatment among these ethnicities. You can deny, you can argue but that is the perception/sentiment. And the way out of this, is get a nationhood into the country.

The big question is this, we wanted to be national first, etchnicity second. We wanted to show the government direction to go forward. Are you ready? Mr government and TSK.

15. #16 by frankyapp on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 12:43 pm

To inculcate the idea of race first such as malays first by both the PM and the DPM,then it follows by chinese first,indian first,kadazan first and iban first,I think is pretty dangerous in a multi racial and religious country liken malaysia. I think both PM & DPM would lead Malaysia into a pretty chaotic situation where all the respective races would care only for themselves first. And say an natural disaster struck the country,would it be vitally chaotic if the mainly government malays personnels and officers rescued and aid the malays first and leave the other races second.I think before the race first mind set is being grown into every races in the country,it’s best the PM and the DPM put a STOP to it right now ,And what a pretty good example if both of them start right away by calling themselves as MALAYSIAN.

16. #17 by Lrong on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 1:16 pm

Have always enjoyed reading articles by Kee Thuan Chye…
    In my case, I cherish calling myself a ‘Kedahan-Malaysian’ and not get stuck within the constraints of race…

17. #18 by sotong on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 1:18 pm

” Malaysian ” is a dirty word….our so-called ” leaders ” tripped over each other to distance themselves from it.

If you call yourself Malaysian, some people could be offended or claimed you are taking away their rights and entitlements.

18. #19 by chinkimwah on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 1:20 pm

How do you respect your country;s leaders like our PM and DPM who cannot say that they are Malaysians first and a Malay second. I am proud to declare myself as Malaysian first and Chinese second and my family members all say the same – Malaysian firs,

Shame on the PM and DPM for not walking the talk. Come the next GE 13 let us have Malaysians leading and running our beloved Malaysia!!!

19. #20 by johnnypok on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 2:01 pm

Presently, there is nothing to be proud of as a Malaysian, unless you are genuinely successful through hard-work and your own effort.
    Basically, we are a handicapped society, because we still demand for NEP, NEM, etc.
    Our leaders are extremely corrupt
    We have record number of unemployable graduates
    We are either Sabahans, Sarawakians or West Malaysian.

20. #21 by k1980 on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 2:09 pm

Suggested slogan for PR in Hulu Selangor–

Malaysia 2.0
    BN Thieves First
    Get ’em Now!

21. #22 by Godfather on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 3:23 pm

“Why is it so hard for Najib to acknowledge that he is Malaysian first ?”

The answer is very simple. The minute he does that, his stance will be exploited by Moo Hee Din and Ibrahim Katak, and he will be history. The reason for UMNO’s existence will disappear, and hence these guys will cling to their Malay first position, come what may….

22. #23 by Godfather on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 3:28 pm

RM 6.47 billion supply contract to the Ministry of Defence to one bumiputra firm ? Hey Chengo, were you disqualified for having the Chinese name ?

23. #24 by Godfather on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 3:29 pm

Not chengo, but the eunuch Chengho….

24. #25 by chengho on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 4:44 pm

Now, let us reverse the role and ask the Chinese ( or the Indians) , Lim Kit Siang himself. “Are you a Malaysian first or a Chinese first ?” Let him answer that in the truest of fashions. We all know what answers or excuses he’ll give. Then why not drop him a bombshell when he starts to hit back and simply suggests,” Let’s close all vernacular schools and start being Malaysians from the primary school!”

All talk and nothing else. What is good for the goose must surely be good for the gander ! We talk about racism ; we deliberate on polarisation. All bullshit, when hypocrites take the podium and do the impressionist bit !

Perhaps those that created the Dong Ziong or Siqiu OR even the Hindraf guys,were less hypocritical when they, though playing coy as not to offend, fought for their race OPENLY; of course they were offensive, challenging and demanding ; sometimes abusive !

Now, what’s wrong if the Malays adopt a similar approach ? Would you call them racists when you yourself propogated such a devious scheme of non-tolerence, challenge-oriented and unreasonable-demands, forsaking all rules of dignity, respect and common understanding as established and accepted in the Federal Constitution ? Now, what is wrong if the Malays similarly react via their NGOs ? Would you blame if PERKASA, for an example, appears to take up the challenge and just want to defend the rights of the Malays, again as lawfully prescribed in the Constitution ? Remember, if we all want to be Malaysians first, then act like one ! Stop being a racial bigot !

25. #26 by pwcheng on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 5:33 pm

Moohideen is too engrossed with the 1Malay policy to advance his career that he is oblivious to the 1Malaysia slogan. He thinks of nothing except his vision of landing himself the plump job of the CEO of Malaysia. He eats and breath on the issue of Malay Malay Malay rights rights rights and turns himself into a racial demon. The fact that he changed English teaching of science and maths into Malay again at the expense of the advancement of the country because he only hears the Malay voice and no other voices.You can be certain that it is this type of leaders that will kill the country. To them it’s the devil may care, but I do not care. I need the Malay and it is only the Malay can can help him to ascend the final rung of the ladder. That is the irony of our Preposterous political system.

A slogan will always remain as a slogan except TDM’s slogan of “Leadership by Example”. Every civil servants and the mass of the public became corrupted by following example of TDM and his henchmen.

26. #27 by Winston on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 6:03 pm

All the talk of 1 this and 1 that are all cock and bull!
    The root cause of our problems, for decades, is the couldn’t care less and self-serving UMNO/BN government!
    If you want a better future, just dump them!

27. #28 by limkamput on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 6:28 pm

See the irony; today even if you are genuine and sincere, you still cannot be a Malaysian because the racists in Perkasa will bury you. So much of 50 years of nation building! Instead of moving forward, we are perpetually being trapped in endless ketuanan and bigotry. We don’t have to discuss long and wide. United MALAYS National Organisation is inimical to 1Malaysia. We don’t have to argue and debate what is stated in the Fed Constitution or trying to make sense of what DPM and now PM have said about those strange things. How do we expect things to change? The milking must go on. So, they are just waiting for the storm to be over. It is not about Malay rights as stated in the Constitution. The gradual demise of this great country is not because of Malay rights; it is about milking brought about by mega corruption, laziness and incompetency among the ruling elites perpetuated by a system of racism and patronage. If the majority of the Malays can’t see it, this country has no hope.

28. #29 by monsterball on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 6:32 pm

Kee Thuan Chye is not only a Malaysian,,,,but a passionate one to have children with names from each race.
    What a joy to read and know..there is such a Malaysian.
    No matter how hard Najib try to hide…he has to be a racist to be UMNO BARU president.
    What is happening now are nothing but shows and acts..with slogans and mind poisoning…to fool Malaysians by him.
    Recall the double standards by police and lawyers appointed by him…and you can see he SUPPORTS double standards…which makes his “1Malaysia” …totally nonsense.
    He does not mean what he promised and these UMNO buggers will always find the art to make all sorts of excuses…to twist and turn..when they feel the con job favours them….with voters on their side.
    Do not fall into UMNO BARU’s traps…like fools.

29. #30 by steven chan on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 6:52 pm

Those umnoputras who dared not call themselves as malaysians first as they are not proud of their country because they had made an ass of the country for many decades. Yet they have the irony to claim for special privileges. The country is moving backwards while lesser countries have been surging forward. What a shame!

30. #31 by donplaypuks on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 7:01 pm

YB

I have not the slightest doubt.

I am Malaysian first, middle, last and anywhere else. Whether here or abroad, I am Malaysian as is the case for our King, PM, DPM, Ministers, MP’s Aduns and all. The hold positions in Govt for all Malaysians as unequivocally set out in our Constitution.

Any other prevarification or qualification is Unconstitutional, racist and a clear cop out. DPM Muhy should resign forthwith if he thinks he is DPM of the Malays first!! So, too PM Najib for incredibly defending him!

dpp
    We are all of 1 race, the Human Race

31. #32 by Loh on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 7:05 pm

If Malaysians follow the aspiration of Article 8 of the constitution which states that all persons are equal before the law, and entitled to the equal protection of the law, then it makes no difference whether one considers himself Malay first or Malaysian first. But the country has not been run based on rule of law, where NEP which is against the constitution was allowed to be in force for 40 years. Thus those who considered themselves Malay first want NEP to continue forever.

Article 153 provides for the reservation of a reasonable porportion of opportunities for Malays and the natives of Sabah and Sarawak. Under NEP, the reasonable proportion was taken to mean 100%, and Malays were preferred over the natives of Sabah and Sarawak.

Article 153 does not confer Malays special right, though the rulers are Malays who have special rights as rulers. The quota of reasonable proportion to be reserved for Malays and natives of Sabah and Sarawak was for the purpose of helping them to be competitive, in time. Indeed they cannot be weak forever.

The natives of Sabah and Sarawak do not claim special rights when they were the protected spieces. Similarly Malays do not have special rights under the constitution. The hereditary rulers are Malay but not all Malays or the natives of Sabah and Sarawak are rulers.

Najib has not internalised the concept of 1Malaysia since he claimed that Malay rights will remain. The Malay rights along with the rights of Sabah and Sarawak which are the same. They were included in the constitution to make the beneficiaries catch up with other races. Najib claims that the lowest 40% income class of all races will receive government assistance under NEM. Najib could be thinking that Malay of all income class above the 40% will continue to derive unfair advantage over other races since he has not delared the end of NEP.

NEP should be abolished when NEM is introduced. Otherwsie the government would continue to enrich the Malays in addition to getting the votes of the lowest income class. That must be in Mooyiddin’s mind when he declared that he was Malay first, and he most probably did not even accept himself as Malaysian.

Unless Najib is willing to declare that all the perverted government regulations introduced after NEP with race as the criterion are abolished, his NEM would mean never ending misery for low income Malaysians.

32. #33 by johnnypok on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 7:39 pm

After Malaya is colonised by Indonesia, the monster with no balls will say “I am an Indon first”

33. #34 by drago2008 on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 8:07 pm

Would Barrack Obama declare himself African first, American second?

34. #35 by c730427 on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 8:44 pm

Muhiddin was a correct answer. He is a Malay but absolutely a stupid one.

His answer is all for himself and without wisdom, he actually don’t know how to deal with challenging issues related to social diversity and integration. If he is a true Islamic follower, he’d answer differently such as

1, I am a common human being, same blood like all others.

2, I was born as Malay and practices Islam. Islam makes me a greater person, a father to my family and friends of the world. I enjoy sharing Islamic teachings and having dialogue with non-Muslims so that we could grow together.

3, Therefore, your question of am I Malay first or Malaysian first is question my selfishness. If I say I am Malay first, then what sort of leader I am? As a DPM, I can’t allow the multi-racial society having doubts about our government stand on the issue of equality. Malay race needs to be educated, not spoon feed for life!

4. Therefore, I am a Malaysian 1st because I am an elected leader by Malaysian of all races. I have to lead my cabinet members by example. All these teachings are also following the guidance of the Al-Quaran.

5. Finally, Mr. Lim Kit Siang, can you please stop challenging me on petty issues and let’s work together to build this nation to become a high income nation! I want you to be our most resourceful check and balance instrument for our nation.

35. #36 by wanderer on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 9:09 pm

WITH ALL THE GENEROUS CONTRACTS, EASILY AVAILABLE HANDOUTS FLOATING ALL OVER THE PLACES, WOULD YOU THINK THESE UMNO GOONS
    WILL LET THESE OPPORTUNITIES PASS?

OBVIOUSLY, MELAYU FIRST! …..ARE’NT THEY
    UMNO CHOSEN PM AND DPM?

1MALAYSIA..ISRAELI ZOINISTS MADE!!!

36. #37 by Loh on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 9:26 pm

drago2008 :Would Barrack Obama declare himself African first, American second?

In the population census now carried out in USA, Barack Obama listed himself as black, among the three choices, namely, while, mixed white and black, and black. Wonder what Mamakthir would tick, he would certainly tick white, just like he claims that he is Malay following the race of the mother. But in Islamic culture the race of the father decides the chiled’s race. Obviously Mamakthir does not practise Islamic culture, and since Malay practises Islamic culture, Mamakthir does not practise Malay culture. He should not be classified as Malay according to article 160 of Malaysians constitution. But his son enjoy NEP and he pretends to be Malay and accepted as UMNO members and worse he killed the original UMNO and made himself PM with the support of other UMNO members who cared only for themselves. Consequently NEWMalays control everything and if Malays are not careful, they would soon not be Malay according to the new norm where the ancestors had to be from India.

37. #38 by undertaker888 on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 9:39 pm

muyiddin is a dog first then a cow second. disgrace, disgrace dpm. he is not worthy of this title. he is more suitable to be the dpm of ku klux klan type of organisation.

he should resign from his post and form mu mlux mlan. see if we care.

38. #39 by -ec- on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 10:29 pm

probably the origin of the problem started by naming the country to ‘malay’-a and ‘malay’-sia which make certain people think that they own the country. why nobody objected to these names then and now?

i personally prefer the name bolehland.

39. #40 by kpt99 on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 11:02 pm

1500 JPA SCHOLARSHIPS FOR TOP SPM LEAVERS divided into 4 categories namely (1) population-60 %,( 2) academic excellence – 20 %. (3) bumiputras Sabah and Sarawak-10 %.( 4). Socially disadvantaged.Why is it not a category for rural schools?. Criteria of awarding top 30 national scholarships is not transparent enough as announced by KPM.There are 255 students scored all A+ in all subjects they took,why only 30 are top ?. KPM may need to explain in better details on that.

40. #41 by tak tahan on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 11:24 pm

If only we were ruled by any other than um.no.way’s sickening,uncivilised,unproductive,much behind short sighted views n the worst selfish mentality,i find no other way bolehland can be proud of.How can we by any means to convince majority of true patriotic malaysian to achive malaysian’goal as advanced nation after 5 decades? Go down to basic education;-
    (1)Bapa to anak:Bersungguh sungguh kerja untuk dapat hasil
    (2)Bapa to anak:Bila dah pandai,berjaya,tolonglah orang yang susah
    (3)Bapa to anak:Biar putih tulang jangan putih mata(leave a good legacy for next generation to follow instead..).Selalu ingat jahat dan bohong membawa hakikatnya macam pandai2 tupai melompat akhirnya jatuh ke atas tanah.Rakyat malaysia rakyat malaysia,rakyat amerika rakyat amerika dan seterusnya rakyat mana negara pun rakyat negaranya dahulu .Itu tulah kesimpulannya.

41. #42 by johnnypok on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 11:32 pm

If Bodohland becomes a colony of Singapore, the monster will feel proud to be a Singaporean First.
    Unfortunately, Singapore is not interested to adopt a sick and handicapped country like Bodohland.

42. #43 by tak tahan on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 11:47 pm

I suggest both of you to pit each other at other column or email account.Sorry to say even i dont’ know you but why choose this blog.Fight out since you are not race first.Nobody will care.

43. #44 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 12:06 am

Sooner or later Malaysia will break up into pieces, once Sabah and Sarawak pull out of the federation.
    So it does not matter at all, being Malaysian first or second.

44. #45 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 1:07 am

Any body wants to leave,follow jonnypok now or else i’m afraid he can’t be able to leave wth you and keep on harping on this n that issue for ever.

45. #46 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 1:22 am

Of cos, UmnoB Malays want 2 b known as Malays first
    Otherwise how 2 enjoy all d easy $$$, contracts, APs, discounts, residential schools, scholarships, SLAB, etc
    Stupid not 2 b Malays first, even Indians n others want 2 change 2 become Malays
    MMK will tell us he is Malay first, no, in fact a racist Malay first 2 protect his loots
    So too NR, MY, HH, etc

46. #47 by monsterball on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 1:47 am

Johnnypok talk ..like a half drunk crazy idiot…poking here ..poking there…with no logic nor substances.
    He likes to pok pok pok …two legged chicken with his small johnny….and pea nut balls.
    All the sweet young things keep far far away from a cracko like him.
    Go read his comments…and you can clearly visualize how sick his mind is.

47. #48 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 4:18 am

If I am the DPM, naturally, I would have said that I am a Malay, because I am proud that I am a “real” Malay.

What is the big deal for NOT saying that I am a Malaysian first?

My status as a Malaysian is not affected by making a true statement.

Please therefore use your time and energy to do something useful for the country, while I continue with my work as DPM.

I take this opportunity to thank you all Malaysians.

48. #49 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 5:40 am

Dear Mr. Monsterball, please help me to edit my postings and poor knowledge of writing, so that you will not feel more uncomfortable. I agree with you that I am a crack pot and don’t know how to talk properly. Please forgive me and teach me how to do it. I wish I am clever like you.

49. #50 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 6:20 am

Kesetiaan kepada… negara. You identify yourself by your citizenship. If you are a Malay Muslim having a British citizenship, you call yourself Brit first, Malay second, Muslim third. Because if you call yourself a Malay per se, you can be a Malay from Timbuktu and people will not know where you are from actually. If you are a Timbuktu Malay Muslim, would you like to be known as a Malaysian Malay Muslim ? Similarly. Call yourself a Chinese and people will start identifying you as from China. Or just an Indian from India. And so on and so forth. Unless you are citizenless. A citizenship is legal, formal and serious.

50. #51 by baochingtian on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 8:25 am

The pm preaches acceptance and tolerance. Unfortunately he endorses race before the country. Under such leadership, the rakyat should shun away from him as there will never be peace in the country, one race is always treated above the other, even above laws of the country itself. How then would there be acceptance and tolerance among the different races in the country?
    Both PM and DPM are malay first, satu malaysia second; who are the ones in satu malaysia then? So satu malaysia consists of only the non-malays and the orang asli? Or they have also lined up numbers for the non-malays as well?

51. #52 by syc on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 9:23 am

I am Malaysian First. Enough said

52. #53 by kpt99 on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 9:39 am

Bolehland is always bolehland. Regarding awarding the top 30 spm last year,KPM only explains the system of averaging being used to the public after complaints arise.

53. #54 by Motorist on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 10:56 am

UMNO must probaly have a special IC & passport which doesnt bear the flag of M’sia (like IC) or the crest of M’sia Gov (like passport).

The special IC probaly bears the flag of UMNO & states at the top Kad Pengenalan Melayu.

Passport probably bears the kris of UMNO & states at the top Pasport Melayu.

54. #55 by Godfather on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 12:09 pm

We must analyze the latest JPA scholarship awards announced by Moo Hee Din. I think the first criterion is race, and that accounts for 60 pct of scholarships awarded. That’s the definition of 1Malaysia ? I’m surprised that Ibrahim Katak hasn’t made any noise. He should be asking for 70 pct for the dominant race.

55. #56 by SENGLANG on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 12:30 pm

Absolutely i have not doubt about that I am Malaysian First then I am remain a Malaysian second but with not choice I you ask further than I will say I am of Chinese decedent, and I am not Chinese in the true sense mean people born in China and in a Family of Han descendant.

I might say I am Malaysian of Han Decedent but am very sure I am not a Chinese which mean a China National born in China.

So all other also call Malaysian than if you wish to insist further differentiation only than you identify yourself what decedent you are from but at the end of it you are remain Malaysian first.

56. #57 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 5:02 pm

umno style
    1malaysia
    umnoputra didahulukan
    pencapaian wang ringgit diutamakan
    the star monday 5 april 2010
    Kota Kinabalu; Burglars escaped with a pistol and bullets whenthey broke into the house of a state assemblyman in Luyang here. The burglars also escaped with about RM40000 cash, jewellery, a watch and keys to the Mercedes belonging to the assemblyman in the 4am break in yesterday. The Umno assemblyman…….. alahai ahli umno rupanya. kepada perompak perompak yang arif rompaklah rumah ahli ahli umno yang penuh dengan cash di rumah mereka, janganlah merompak rumah rakyat jelata yang biasa biasa…

57. #58 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 10:04 pm

Well guys,Hulu Selangor voters will have the chance through the by election to give the seat back to PR. This is the best way to telling NR that his 1malaysia and NEM would not be acceptable by the people.

58. #59 by chan2523 on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 11:15 pm

no problem to say that I’m a Malaysian 1st.
    For somebody who fear to say it out, pls change ur nationality ASAP!! Every Malaysian should be proud to say that they are Malaysian 1st but not race!

59. #60 by Bunch of Suckers on Wednesday, 7 April 2010 - 5:08 am

Hanjin Chengho would say he is a Chinese first and Malaysian second so that he can pocket more,,,

In fact, Hanjin Chengho is no longer a Chinese! He is a Hanjin or Running dog! Time comes to see he will be skinned off….