Challenge to all the other 17 UMNO Ministers and other BN Ministers to stand up and be counted to declare whether they are Malaysians first and Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazans or Ibans second or the reverse

In response to my challenge on the four acid tests of whether he really supports Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s 1Malaysia concept, Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin declared he is “Malay first” and then only a Malaysian.

He said: “I am Malay first! But being Malay does not mean you are not Malaysian. It is not a race issue.”

Again accusing me of trying to drive a wedge between him and Najib, he said:

“The question of 1 Malaysia should not be brought up. When a leader talks about the interest of his own race, it does not mean he doesn’t support 1 Malaysia. 1 Malaysia is based on the Constitution.

“How can I say I’m Malaysian first and Malay second? All the Malays will shun me and say that it is not proper.

“There is nothing wrong in leaders fighting for their own race. Don’t tell me Kit Siang does not fight for the Chinese?”

He even challenged me to declare that I am Malaysian first and Chinese second, until he was told by reporters that I had already made such a declaration – in Parliament during the debate on the Royal Address on 18th March.

I feel very sorry for the Prime Minister that his signature concept of 1Malaysia as the sixth Prime Minister of Malaysia has been torn into smithereens by his deputy just on the eve of his first anniversary as Prime Minister on Saturday on 3rd April.

In fact, thanks to Muhyiddin, Najib’s 1Malaysia concept has been turned nationwide into an April Fool’s joke, as today is April 1.

I never said that a person who regards himself as a Malay first and Malaysian second is not a Malaysian – but clearly he does not qualify to become a “1Malaysian”.

Who is a “1Malaysian”?

This is clearly spelt out in the 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme Roadmap launched by the Prime Minister at the end of January, which declared that the goal of 1Malaysia is “to make Malaysia ….a greater nation: a nation where, it is hoped, every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first, and by race, religion, geographical region or socio-economic background second and where the principles of 1Malaysia are woven into the economic, political and social fabric of society”.

I had said in my speech in Parliament on March 18 that the the biggest enemy of 1Malaysia is not from outside Barisan Nasional but from inside Umno and Muhyiddin has proved me right.

I had wondered during my speech how many Cabinet Ministers and Barisan Nasional leaders have the 1Malaysia DNA as to be able to pass the four simple 1Malaysia tests I had formulated.

During my speech in Parliament on March 18, when I put forward the four 1Malaysia acid tests, UMNO MPs including the UMNO Youth leader Khairy Jamaluddin ran for cover and dared not give a straightforward answer.

Let me challenge all the other 17 UMNO Ministers and other BN Ministers to stand up and be counted to declare whether they are Malaysians first and Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazans or Ibans second or the reverse.

In fact, I want to ask the Minister responsible for the 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme Roadmap, Senator Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon whether it is tenable for him to continue as Cabinet Minister when the very rationale of his portfolio – 1Malaysia GTP – had collapsed and destroyed by none other than the Deputy Prime Minister?

1. #1 by k1980 on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 12:31 pm

Actually they dare not admit it, but they are blood-suckers first and Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazans or Ibans second. And they thrust upwards their middle fingers when showing the 1malaysia sign

2. #2 by yhsiew on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 12:47 pm

///“How can I say I’m Malaysian first and Malay second? All the Malays will shun me and say that it is not proper.///

In reality, many non-Malays shun Muhyiddin because he says he is Malay first and Malaysian second.

3. #3 by johnnypok on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 12:58 pm

Since he is a hard-core addict of NEP drug, surely he has to continue defend his identity, for fear of losing his priviledge to be spoon-fed forever. This is the greatest fear of the Malays.

4. #4 by dagen on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 1:01 pm

Those fools tied themselves up unnecessarily with religious issues (by turning them into sensitive issues) and racial issues. And some are even worse than that. They openly associated themselves with perkasa – tying yet another loop around their hands and legs.

Now that it is obvious to all that perkasa is after all not quite likely to snowball, that silly pendatang guy up north decided that the time for him to do something has come. Ismail ahmad believes that he could do a better job than ibrahim ali.

Dont ever try, fellow pendatang. Dont even think about it. On second thought it would be good for pakatan if you do. For then umno will be in pieces – (1) umno jenis jib; (2) umno jenis din; (3) umno jenis kuli; (4) umno jenis mamak; (5) umno jenis perkasa; (6) umno jenis ahmad the pendatang; (7) umno jenis hairy and some others.

5. #5 by DCLXVI on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 1:01 pm

The DPM has to consider himself to be a Malay first because he is a leader and a member in the United Malay National Organisation, not the United Malaysian National Organisation, and he also has to ensure support from within his party, and obtain votes from his constituents.

However, the DPM also has to be a Malaysian at heart because he still needs to get his income from being an MP in the Malaysian Parliament, and from being a minister in the Malaysian federal government.

But we mortals do not know what is really in the hearts of others, do we?

6. #6 by Raitman on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 1:02 pm

Again accusing me of trying to drive a wedge between him and Najib, he said:

“The question of 1Malaysia should not be brought up. When a leader talks about the interest of his own race, it does not mean he doesn’t support 1 Malaysia. 1Malaysia is based on the Constitution…

—————————————–

It’s like saying…

Husband to wife: Darling, I love you and the kids so much, how could you say I’m with other woman? I do not love her. A kiss is only a kiss, nothing more. The woman you saw kissing me is only interested in my money. Don’t worry, I’ll tell her off to stop seeing me again. I’ll even go to the police for harassing me if she does not.

Husband to mistress: Darling, I do not love my wife. I only love you. You know that. Why do you said I do not love you and thus leaving my wife and kids? Just give me some time. I will sort things out, I promise. After leaving my wife and kids, I’ll marry you. I promise.

7. #7 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 1:13 pm

We should stop this stupid 1malaysia slogan. Perhaps we should ask Hitler to come and to mix all the races, enforcing inter-racial marriage, in order to produce a new Malaysia race.

What is a Malay? It is a mixture of Arabs or the sub-continent people with the local orang asli? or immigrants from Indonesia? …. It can also be the pure Indian blood but with only a different religious belief (and then you deny your own race and call yourself Malay).

There is no such country with a single race, and there is no need to make the racial issue the trademark of the national politics. Only the third-world countries, like us, do that.

8. #8 by KeenWatcher_01 on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 1:24 pm

This issue reminds me of my first song taught at kindergarden.

1 Little 2 Little 3 Little Malays……

………….Millions Little Malay Boys.

9. #9 by johnnypok on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 1:29 pm

It shows that DPM is mentally weak, and unable to face psychological challenges. If he becomes the PM, the country will die very fast. No hope. The best choice is for PR to take over.

10. #10 by Godfather on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 1:36 pm

UMNO is in a quandary. Many of the UMNO top brass project their racial stance with support from the ultras and they can’t say anything otherwise. Even Mamakthir will proclaim he is Malay first and Malaysian second, despite everyone knowing that he is truly Mamak. If he doesn’t support this, then he could be cast out by the likes of Perkasa, MFM, etc.

11. #11 by Godfather on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 1:47 pm

All the non-UMNO ministers can put their hands on their hearts and say that they are Malaysian first, and their race second. UMNO ministers can’t do that. If they stop projecting that their fight is for the Malays, then their base will crumble, and Ibrahim Katak will pick up the pieces.

12. #12 by yhsiew on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 1:50 pm

It is difficult for people like Muhyiddin and Ibrahim Ali to make a U-turn because their minds have already been “poisoned” by BTN courses.

13. #13 by isahbiazhar on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 1:54 pm

We have come to a stage where if we do not call ourselves as Malaysians we will be defeating the very idea Najib has propounded.The Americans do not call themselves as Malays , Chinese. Irish, Indians. Cubans etc.They are Americans.If we want to call ourselves as Malays, then we have to create a special country out of Malaysia.These people can call themselves as Malays though now it is genetically proven that Malays and Indonesianas had come from India! To solve all these petty squabbles. it is proper that the term” race” is to be wiped out from all our documents.

14. #14 by singa pura pura on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 2:00 pm

I am a mere ‘rakyat biasa’ and I can say with conviction and peace that I am a Malaysian first and a Chinese second. You are my ‘pemimpin’ and yet you declare that you are a Malay first and a Malaysian second? 1Malay, 2Malaysia? For as long as I have breathed, I have not heard of an utterance by any political leader in this country that is more shameful and disappointing and crushing than what you have just said…. I now understand why Kassim Selamat (P. Ramlee) said unto his ‘ibu mertua’ Nyonya Mansor: “… kenapa engkau dijadikan di mukabumi ini sebagai manusia … bukankah baik dijadikan haiwan.”

15. #15 by lkt-56 on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 2:06 pm

Our PM has said it:
    It is okay to be Malay First, Malaysian Second.

I think we all know how the BN ministers will respond to Kit’s challenge. ;)

Mahathir has gone full circle because he is trying to help his son rise to the top echelon of UMNO leadership. He rose to power with ‘ultra’ label and he thinks it will also help his son to associate with Ibrahim Ali and friends. My gut feeling tells me he is wrong this time.

16. #16 by johnnypok on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 2:07 pm

If Malays = Indians, then Malaysia should be renamed INDIASIAN, and only the Indians are entitle to NEP

17. #17 by Godfather on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 2:31 pm

The minority component parties of BN all know of this hypocrisy, but they are powerless to do anything about it, especially since they have conceded that whatever UMNO wants, UMNO gets.

The 1Malaysia concept was to rope in all the non-Malay parties so that they stop fighting in the name of their race. UMNO is exempted.

18. #18 by rahmanwang on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 2:35 pm

I met an Indian man while travelling overseas and asked about his nationality.He replied he is a Singaporean.Then I asked isn’t he Singaporean Indian?He replied proudly No!He is Singaporean.Just that.You see these people are proud of their nationality.Why can’t the Chinese,Indians and Ceylonese proudly call themselves Malaysian.Is it because the Malaysian government do not recognise them as Malaysian?Don’t these second or third or more generation born in Malaysia feel like Malaysian?Why?
    The answer lies at the politician.
    These politician themselves do not belive they are Malaysian, therefore how can one expect the others to believe they belong to this country?Every now and then we call these people “pendatang” and expect them to feel belonged.Just keep dreaming.
    We must change the ruling government and then change the mindset of the people.53 years of UMNO rule has brought us to this situation.I hope it does not take another 53 years to undo these mistake.

19. #19 by johnnypok on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 2:39 pm

Why not ban all the other component parties except UMNO (United Malaysian National Organaisation) and transfer the membership of MIC, MCA, Gerakan, etc automatically to UMNO?
    Or, form a new political party and name it “Party One Malaysia” …POM

20. #20 by tak tahan on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 2:41 pm

lkt-56,
    before pr take over with transparency,acountability n integrity,he’ll tell his son”CEPAT KAU.. pergi sapu apa yg kau mampu selagi duit rakyat masih boleh disapu,besok gua dan gang ibrahim sudah kautim projects,lu perlahan lahan sapu lagi 50 tahun.ha..ha..ha…tak tau gua ada lagi kah(the old man thinking..oops”

21. #21 by tokpawi on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 3:00 pm

Malays can’t be Malay first. So are Chinese, so are Indians. Let us be truly 1Malaysia. I urge for Malaysian schools with Malaysian language first and Malaysian language be used in all conversations and correspondences. Can LKS, the “Malaysian first”, honestly give up his Chinese agendas?

22. #22 by gofortruth on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 3:01 pm

“Responding to a challenge from DAP’s Lim Kit Siang, Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin yesterday (Najib) said that it was not proper for him to identify himself as Malaysian first and Malay second.”
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/58266-nothing-wrong-with-being-a-malay-first-says-pm
    ——————-
    Najib has no guts like his deputy to make a stand. Imagine having a “floating” PM???? How can his 1 Malaysia sticks?????

23. #23 by gofortruth on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 3:14 pm

Well by our country’s top leaders’ remarks, it’s confirmed that 1Malaysia & NEM & GTP roadmap are nothing but just some paid (by taxpayers) “sloganeering” propaganda to fool all Malaysians!

24. #24 by limkamput on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 3:19 pm

It was said Mamaktahi has gone one full circle. Here we have NaJ!b who thinks in circle!!! Effectively is he saying 1Malaysia is the objective, but it is ok if we are 1Malays, 1Chinese, 1Indians etc. You see, that is the problem of sloganing too much. They will return to haunt you because you really don’t mean what you say.

Talking about slogans. What difference – mamaktahi have the shattered vision 2020, Paklah has all the empty corridors (ask him how much we have spent on consultancy alone) and now we have NaJ!b’s 1Malaysia and NEM. Seriously, that NEM framework could have been written in one afternoon. But please ask EPU/NEAC how much they have spent engaging all the half baked vested interest “experts” there. I hope PR will learn a lesson from here – never ever engage the insiders, the so-called captains of industries or well-connected businessmen when you want to formulate new policies. They will recommend whatever to protect their current interests first and recommend new policies to siphon further whatever they are not getting now! The problem with Malaysia is we almost farm out or outsource everything to these “experts”.

25. #25 by homeblogger on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 3:20 pm

After 51 years, we have a stupid DPM (Dumb Punya Moron) because the pool of candidates who qualify is confined only to a select few idiots in umNO.

I quote the idiot “There is nothing wrong in leaders fighting for their own race.”

We should be “fighting” for ALL Malaysians after 51 years of blood, sweat and tears working, living and sacrificing for Malaysia.

Every now and then, my neighbour (Malay) gets her communication with her daughters scrambled and they end up coming home from school with no one at home to open the door for them. When this happens, the girls stay with us for a few hours waiting for the mother to come home. Am I to follow what this idiotic DPM says and think skin color first before I help someone?

Moo-hee-din, you are the personification of all the bad qualities a “leader” should have.

Are you really as stupid as you look and sound?

26. #26 by limkamput on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 3:21 pm

The tribal mentality is glowing brilliantly. How can they ever provide the leadership for 1Malaysia when such mentality is so deeply rooted in their mind? But I believe, given time, the majority of Malays will be Malaysians in outlook. That is why, no matter what UMNO hardliners do, they will be cast into oblivion. These hardliners within UMNO and those in Perkasa are the ones who spit rancour each day to keep Malaysians apart. But their days are numbered – like dying men taking the last grasp of air before they go. They will die grudgingly not because the Malays rights are taken away. They will die grudgingly because their good life (and that of their children’s and grandchildren’s) – perks, big fat salary and pension, directorship, all the discount and subsidies, special share allocations, APs, permits, and crony projects are taken away. The good must triumph over evil. So don’t worry about the temporary setbacks. Good men with right policies, implement fairly and objectively must win. Never waver, Penang, Selangor, Kedah and Kelantan. You have limited platform to show to the rakyat you people can make the difference to the way we govern this beautiful country. This country deserves better governance, better management and better leadership. It has suffered enough of bigotry, narrow-mindedness, corruption and cronyism championed by none other than mamakthir.

27. #27 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 3:48 pm

If you analyse the “pendatang” who have become Malays after conversion to Islam, you cannot help but realise that this is probably one reason why Malaysia is in such a mess.
    So many outsiders have become so-called Malays that society really cannot afford such generosity via the NEP programs. The last time it was reported, many Orang Asli still lack basic facilities and the government even discriminates against the OA who are not Muslims.
    We should never have allowed landed migrants like those from Indonesia to become Malays but their nationality could be Malaysians and the same goes for the Muslims from India.
    That is why Malaysia faces such a problem about being Malay first and Malaysian second. The first is the gateway to all the perks for the Never Ending Parasites.

28. #28 by Loh on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 4:05 pm

///…1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme Roadmap launched by the Prime Minister at the end of January, which declared that the goal of 1Malaysia is “to make Malaysia ….a greater nation: a nation where, it is hoped, every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first, and by race, religion, geographical region or socio-economic background second ..///–Najib

///“How can I say I’m Malaysian first and Malay second? All the Malays will shun me and say that it is not proper.///–Mooyiddin

So to DPM Mooyiddin Najib was wrong to even declare 1Malaysia under which Malaysian will be expected to be Malaysian first and others second, be it mamak, orang asli or Malay or NEWMalay. Mooyiddin’s declaration implies that Malays will shun Najib for keeping to his 1Malaysia concept, and hence Najib does not enjoy the support of Malays.

Najib said after Mooyiddin made his stand that “It is okay to be Malay First, Malaysian Second.” Was najib worried that he no longer enjoy the support of Malays and is now having second thought on promoting 1Malaysia?

After having the second thought has Najib given up the 1Malaysia policy? If he had not, can he trust somebody a heartbeat away who does not accept 1Malaysia by his declaration that he is Malay first as opposed to 1Malaysia requisite of Malaysian first, and everything else second and thereafter.

We have to take it that the sponsor of 1Malaysia would himself follow what he preaches. So Najib has to be Malaysian first and Bugis second and Malay third or Bugis third and Malay second. Would Malays prefer person who called himself Malays first as PM? So, though UMNO election is yet years away, Najib has a deputy who wants to be President of the party.

Obviously Najib cannot force Mooyiddin to be Malayian first, and he cannot force Mamakthir to be Malaysian first. He can however choose not to include those who does not belief in 1Malaysia in his cabinet. To make it happen Najib should declare all positions in UMNO open to contest, and that as a Deputy who is in line for succession to be leader for all Malaysians, the successor better be persons who would stop playing race cards which have proven to be detrimental to the future of the nation. Indeed Najib should announce UMNO open to all coalition parties’ members as direct members, and dissolve what remainof their parties. That should move Muhyiddin to declare Bugis second and Malaysian first.

29. #29 by Loh on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 4:22 pm

///it is proper that the term” race” is to be wiped out from all our documents.///

Mamakthir suggested that but he still haunta Najib for making need-based affirmative policy. So Mamak wants NEP to offer the convenience for his son to use race, and to allow others who do not sound Chinese or Indian to enjoy the advantage of NEP without having to prove it on paper. When race is no longer thecriterion, it does not matter whether race is on official form or not.

The persons who are in government service joined when NEP has been in place. After four decades, cane they ever process and implement government policies without regard to race, but to base it on need-based criteria. The little napoleons will ensure that 1Malaysia would not progress, especially when they have the tacit support of Muhyiddin who stands ready to sabotage Najib’s efforts at reform. He will not have a chance to rise to PM if Najib’s is allowed to carry out his new policies.

30. #30 by Thinking Two on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 4:34 pm

I also can said that “I’m committed to 1Malaysia” and not voting BN is not contradiction. Sound familiar!!!!!!

Sound like it, Seemed like it but not meant to be!!!!!!!

31. #31 by Thinking Two on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 4:39 pm

The greater fears of UMNO is losing the spoon-fed priviledge.

Thank you to Mr. Moo for irritating your master!!!!!!

32. #32 by Thinking Two on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 4:41 pm

Before Mamathir became the PM, he was the one who proposed that LION DANCE to be banned……………………

But when he became PM, he mentioned nothing about it……..

33. #33 by limkamput on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 4:53 pm

The DAP’s Tony Pua urged the Najib administration today not to misuse the Employees Provident Fund (EPF) and make it the government’s “cash cow.”

The fund in the EPF is NOT a government fund. These are contributions by all employees (and their respective employers) for their pension and retirement needs. Technically the government should not have the sole and final say in ways EPF monies are invested. Look at who are members of EPF board. More importantly, look at who are the members of the investment committee of EPF. Who really have oversight responsibility over them? Ministry of Finance? EPF could be more powerful than the ministry you know. Can we not have a multi-parties parliamentary committee to monitor the performance and investment of EPF? Of course the members of this committee must come from MPs with some standards lah, not like Ibrahim or some other garbage.

34. #34 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 5:10 pm

Racist will show their ugly heads and tails when real acid test is being used!!! They can run but they cant hide!!!
    LKS should put forward more questions for these good for nothing BN goons to surface their urgly heads and let the Rakyat see their true colours during reelection or before the next GE!!!

35. #35 by dawsheng on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 5:44 pm

Don’t we all know what BN stands for? It is pointless for PR and in this case LKS to challenge BN politicians to state their stands, the answers will always be either ” I am Malay first but..” or I am Malaysian first but..”.

Needless to say, majority of Malaysians don’t give two hoots about what politicians in this country are first, they don’t care whether there’s a 1Malaysia or middle Malaysia, for it is bread and butter first.

PR cannot continue to engage BN in this manner.

36. #36 by albert308 on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 6:18 pm

Monyetdeen’s Melayu first is a shame statement to 1Malaysia by Najib. The conflicts between them is obvious as the DPM seem to be dreaming of PM post after stabbing Pak Lah. One play the moderate 1Malaysia tune but the other follow the Perkasa’s extreme ‘Sh**t”.
    Very good skills of YB LKS!

37. #37 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 6:30 pm

Its boggles the mind Muhiyiddin is completely confused. Being Malaysian first does not mean you cannot fight for Malays but being Malay first do mean NOT being the Malaysian at least the original idea and also 1Malaysia.

This guy is the Education Minister and he can’t understand basic permutation and definitions. He is a freaking bumpkin! Jaguh Kampung at its very best..

38. #38 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 6:41 pm

Aiyah, why doesn’t the PM call it 1MalayMalaysia then?

39. #39 by sotong on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 6:49 pm

Placing race, religion and party interests before the best interest of the country and her ordinary people……no wonder our country is in a mess!

These so called ” leaders ” are creating a lot of problems with permanent and far reaching consequences for future generations.

40. #40 by sotong on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 6:57 pm

Some ” leaders ” are uncomfortable being called Malaysian for fear of losing support from racists and bigots with power and influence.

Malaysian must be a dirty word

41. #41 by boh-liao on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 7:26 pm

Moo, moo, I’m a cow first n then a human, a Malay
    Ha, ha, such a wonderful logic
    In this land, ppl can’t even b Malay or Chinese or Indian M’sians, but hv 2 be referred 2 as M’sian Malays, Chinese, Indians, etc
    Frankly we r a pariah nation pretending 2 b a wannabe developed nation
    In developed nations, ppl r not supposed 2 b asked abt their ethnicity and gender and age
    Here our ministers proudly hang on 2 their Malay identity or even change their original ethnic group 2 Malay in order 2 exploit d wealth n easy opportunities given 2 politically connected Malays, mooooooooooooo

42. #42 by frankyapp on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 7:31 pm

How can I say I’m Malaysian first and Malay second? All the Malays will shun me and say that it is not proper… well guys I think not only malaysians but foreigners too are laughing out loud (LOL) upon hearing the DPM making such an un-characteristic statement upon himself. Either he is confused or a stupid. Imagine when malaysia is at war, Moohidin making press statement saying he will defend malays first,what would non-malays and foreigners think of him and how a multi racial malaysia going to do ? The DPM should retract his statement, and apologise to all malaysians,especially to the non-malays.Failing which non-malays would find it pretty tough or may even find it impossible to support him. In American for example,everyone would say I’m an american,you never hear such thing as I’m white,I’m black or I’m hipanic. Even in Indonisia, they call himselves as Indo,not javaese or bugis.So if malaysia genuinely wanted a united malaysia,what’s wrong when we call ourselves first as malaysian ? Don’t the DPM understand the term “malaysian” which signifying all the citizens of malaysia. Hence as malaysian we represented malaysia,not malays,chinese,indians,kadazan ,murut,dayak and iban. It’s a great Moohidin as DPM has failed to grasp it

43. #43 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 7:32 pm

If all the other BN components had a back-bone, they should demand the post of DPM be given to Sabah or Sarawak for being the so-called “safe deposit” – maybe that will happen after the next GE is the BN is not defeated.
    But this small step in nation-building is in the right direction and should be encouraged.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2010/04/who-says-malays-cannot-compete.html

44. #44 by frankyapp on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 7:33 pm

sorry guys, a word is missing it should read it’s a great pity Moohidin as DPM has failed to grasp it.

45. #45 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 7:34 pm

I suggest the “safe deposit” states should demand the position of the DPM for 1Malaysia if the BN does not lose in the next elections.
    Why should it forever go to UMNO?
    On a more positive note, this is a small step in the right direction and should be encouraged.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2010/04/who-says-malays-cannot-compete.html

46. #46 by Loh on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 7:47 pm

///“How can I say I’m Malaysian first and Malay second? All the Malays will shun me and say that it is not proper.///–Muhyiddin

Muhyiddin declares that he is a follower of Malays rather than a leader. As the Malays have been led by NEWMalay Mamakthir to be racist, Muhyiddin has also become a racist. Muhyiddin only wants to be elected as UMNO leaders, and he has no sense of right or wrong. He bends with the wind, and that was why when Mamakthir went against AAB, and when AAB appeared to lose support, Muhyiddin immediately joined Mamakthir, hoping that Mamakthir would help him to fight with Najib.

When Mamakthir declared that he supported Perkasa against 1Malaysia, Muhyiddin responded by saying that he is Malay first, against Najib’s declaration that in 1Malaysia, Malaysians would consider nationality first and race later.

Muhyiddin would be irrelevant when race-based political parties are outlawed in the country.

47. #47 by Justitia on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 9:11 pm

LKS, absolute brilliant the question you posed that elicited this asinine answer. Another question to pose to the DPM would be:
    Is he the DPM of Malaysians first or Malay first?

48. #48 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 9:36 pm

The PM’s defence of his Deputy: “He also said he is committed to 1 Malaysia, so I don’t see that as a contradiction. Being a Malay doesn’t mean you are against 1 Malaysia, similarly if you are a Malaysian Chinese, doesn’t mean you don’t think like a Malaysian or subscribe to 1 Malaysia,” he added.

Well its true being a Malay or Chinese does not mean one is against 1 Malaysia.

What is against 1 Malaysia is being a Malay or Chinese first and a Malaysian second (which was what DPM said) when the 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme Roadmap clearly stated that the order of priority (in terms of sense of identity) should be the opposite.

The defence is therefore not plausible. defence.

49. #49 by tak tahan on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 9:49 pm

why am i always thought i’ve finally seen through their(um.no.way,mamakteh or bakuteh,fat ass i.wear..bra him) true colours?But no ever ending bad tricks from them to stop me and sensible citizens to cease thinking of their habitual liars.How many more true colours they have?when would be the last time we can see them repent and finally do some good deeds to really 1MALAYSIA for god damme sake?

50. #50 by ktteokt on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 9:56 pm

Of course Kit Siang has to fight for the Chinese and he is entitled and it is his duty to do so! Much unlike MCA which keeps on screaming “fight for the Chinese”! Why should MCA “fight for the Chinese” anyway? Please, leave the fighting to the opposition, MCA is part of BN which is the ruling party in Malaysia. If MCA too had to “fight for the Chinese”, then it is indirectly admitting that it is “the opposition within the ruling coalition” which in such case, it might as well get out of BN and fight like an opposition party wholeheartedly!!!!!!

51. #51 by tak tahan on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 10:05 pm

///“How can I say I’m Malaysian first and Malay second? All the Malays will shun me and say that it is not proper.///–Mooyiddin
    “He works 4 malays or one malaysian”-equivalent- “Satu vs dua tiga empat…(chinese,indian orang asli.ect..ect..) malaysian OR satu no versus any ethnic malaysian”???BEH TAHAN,BEH TAHAN!Somebody pls reply

52. #52 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 10:12 pm

When narrator in Al Jazeera interview commented in the two-minute clip that the NEP was racist Perkasa’s chief spokesman (Ibrahim Ali) blew up and said heatedly; “If these people say that they are second-class citizens, don’t talk shit! Don’t talk shit! I repeat three times, don’t talk shit!”

We have here an ‘eloquent’ spokesman for 1 Malaysia.

One recalls 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme Roadmap said that the goal is for every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first, and by race, religion, geographical region or socio-economic background second. Any person who subscribes for 1Malaysia then has a duty to consider himself or herself as Malaysian first – hence no such thing as first or second class citizen.

Hence those who regard themselves as “second class citizens” are rightly chastised by that eloquent spokesman as “talk shit”!

53. #53 by Jeffrey on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 12:00 am

What exactly does being ‘Malaysian first, and Malay, Chinese or Indian (race) second’ in context of 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme Roadmap (“GTP”) mean?

One guess: It means the following (overlapping) principles:

1. one prioritizes (1) interest/welfare of Malaysians as a whole, as first consideration, over (2) interest of one’s race (taking the second place) in every situation where (1) and (2) happen to conflict or collide;

2. one appreciates diversity as a unifying factor than a divisive one;

3. when looking at economic, political and social issues and problems and finding a solution to resolve these, one takes the national approach instead of communal/race based approach in line per what GTP said about “the principles of 1Malaysia (as stated in 1. and 2. above) are woven into the economic, political and social fabric of society”.

IF the above holds true and correct, would not it be also correct to say that:-

A. BN’s communal parties (UMNO, MCA and MIC) and their respective politics; and

B. the ideology of “Ketuanan”

are diametrically opposed and in conflict with 1 Malaysia’s and GTP’s principles?

Besides challenging all the other 17 BN’s ministers to declare “whether they are Malaysians first and Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazans or Ibans second or the reverse” are you going to challenge them further to declare whether, in their opinion and infinite wisdom, A. And B. are in conflict or in tandem with 1 Malaysia’s and GTP’s principles stated in 1., 2. and 3.?????

54. #54 by boh-liao on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 12:15 am

Mooo’s confession just shows how fcuked up our nation is
    DPM n PM both agreed with d Malay first, M’sian second stand, nothing wrong
    The Y d hell r we spending tons of $$ on national service, purported 2 make young ppl think as M’sians ‘1 4 all n all 4 1’
    But now our 2 fcuked up top dogs said Malay first, M’sian second, utter rubbish n wasting $$ on national service
    As usual, total meek silence fr MCA, MIC, Gerakan, etc.

55. #55 by boh-liao on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 12:24 am

It also means Umnoputras like NR n MY will work with n trust Malays fr Zimbabwe or Timbuktu rather than with nonMalay Malaysians

56. #56 by tak tahan on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 12:30 am

Thank you Jeffry,i just beh tahan why those unscrewable nuts(useless of the smallest,meanest spare parts) can’t understand simple 1MALAYSIA.Are they really educated graduates or just “SIMPLY” a selfish,narrow-minded,uncivilised character without self-consciense or dignity???If this is the case going to be for malaysia,i rather trust israel than them.

57. #57 by mybangsamalaysia on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 12:37 am

Hypothesis or Reality

1. A malay male married a chinese/indian female, their offsprings are Malay?

2. A chinese/indian male married a malay female, their offsprings are Malay?

3. An anglo-american male married a malay female, their offprings are Malay?

4. A chinese male married an indian female, their offspirngs are Malaysian?

58. #58 by frankyapp on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 1:02 am

The Negara Ku & the Rukan Negara say something like “untuk negara dan bangsa” Now I think the word “negara” means Malaysia and the word “bangsa” means bangsa malaysia or the malaysian race. It’s definitely not meant bangsa melayu,right ? If it’s correct,NR should not defend his deputy,instead he should reprimand him.

59. #59 by monsterball on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 1:21 am

The ever famous UMNO BARU tongue twisters and cunning politicians are at their idiotic best.
    The mighty UMNO BARU government….simply love to find faults with LKS with no shame at all.
    I am very happy…from the horse mouth..comes the truth that UMNO BARU is a racist party and no way…Malaysians can be united.
    Saying DAP or LKS is fighting for Chinese race is a typical half truths by UMNO scumbags……which is totally not true.
    Anyway…if they can think of words like…”commission” and legally approved unbelieveable overpriced tenders…all to one race…the Malays…these are the corruptions….so well planned …then you know…what kind of mentalities and behaviors we are dealing with UMNO politicians.
    They are saying Malays own Malaysia and UMNO is the King of the jungle people…where other races are aliens or second class citizens.
    The worst kind of Chinese are in MCA and Gerakan….also keep fooling their own race.
    Yes…DPM is showing….how dirty politics is in Malaysia to day….by themselves…blaming everyone else..as shown the art…..how to talk like that…. by their devilish master…….Mahathir.

60. #60 by boh-liao on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 4:38 am

With 3 major racist political parties anchoring BN, what else can we expect?
    Nothing, except race comes first – basic tribal instinct, moo moo here n oink oink there

61. #61 by kpt99 on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 7:44 am

Do we call ourselves Malaysian Malays,Chinese or Indian OR Malays Malaysian,Chinese Malaysian and Indian Malaysian while you are overseas ? If all races in Malaysia are race first and Malaysian second,then what is the meaning of 1 Malaysia ?

62. #62 by dagen on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 8:32 am

“Wow wow wow woooow wow wooooooow o o o woow.”
    “Woooow woo oo wo.”

Ji Ji the chi hua hua telling her neighbour di di the bulldog that she is a malaysian first and chi hua hua second and dog third. “Me same” was the bulldog’s response.

63. #63 by Comrade on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 9:15 am

The top two have let the cat out of the bag
    Showing their “Ketuanan Melayu” tag
    Malay support to them is now of greatest note
    1Malaysia is just a slogan to fish for non-malay votes

64. #64 by chengho on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 12:09 pm

to be Malaysia 1st , can we close chinese vernacular school and tamil vernacular school , every one go to the national school?

65. #65 by johnnypok on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 1:12 pm

Chinese first

Indian Second

Malay Third

66. #66 by DCLXVI on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 1:12 pm

frankyapp :The Negara Ku & the Rukan Negara say something like “untuk negara dan bangsa” Now I think the word “negara” means Malaysia and the word “bangsa” means bangsa malaysia or the malaysian race. It’s definitely not meant bangsa melayu,right ? If it’s correct,NR should not defend his deputy,instead he should reprimand him.

Please recheck the lyrics of our national anthem ‘Negaraku’, and the Rukunegara.
    They do contain the word ‘negara’ but not the word ‘bangsa’.

67. #67 by DCLXVI on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 1:32 pm

chengho :to be Malaysia 1st , can we close chinese vernacular school and tamil vernacular school , every one go to the national school?

There is no need to close any school if there can first be a common syllabus/curriculum for all Malaysian schools nationwide which is acceptable and agreeable to all Malaysians everywhere.
    But will the education ministry (especially the education minister himself who also happens to be the DPM) of the Umno-BN controlled federal government allow this to occur?

68. #68 by DCLXVI on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 1:36 pm

johnnypok :Chinese first
    Indian Second
    Malay Third

For the sake of unity, it should be Malaysian first.

69. #69 by Orangutan on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 7:54 pm

Najib should ask all BN MPs to sign a pledge that they will all uphold 1Malaysia – first, Zero Corruption – second, Protect the Environment – third, etc. Race should not even appear on that list at all…..

70. #70 by rockdaboat on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 9:46 pm

“How can I say I’m Malaysian first and Malay second? All the Malays will shun me and say that it is not proper.”

Obviously, The so-called DPM does not belong to the same class as Nizar Jamaluddin, Nik Aziz, Zaid Ibrahim and etc, who are well-liked and respected by ALL races!

71. #71 by c730427 on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 11:09 pm

(Without prejudice)

Malay first in kampong only,
    Last in the world for many reasons,
    Pride of Kampong,
    Shame to the rest,
    Only the few knew,
    I feel sorry for 1Malay,
    Not Malaysia.

72. #72 by monsterball on Saturday, 3 April 2010 - 2:22 am

DCLXVI…Great advice to Johnnypok…..but I suspect…he does not understand unity.
    Go and read all his messages.

73. #73 by darrenwckam on Saturday, 3 April 2010 - 10:35 am

A very clear racist remark by our DPM. How can we achieve 1Malaysia status with racism in our leaders?

To be achieve 1Malaysia, we should be Malaysian first.

74. #74 by johnnypok on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 6:52 am

No no no … It should be Sabah first, Sarawak second, and Malaya last.
    When the monster wakes up the next morning, he will find his balls missing.
    Sabah is no longer a fixed-deposit, but an independent nation, while Malaya will soon become a colony of either Indon or Singapore, and the monster will lose his balls.