First time in 56-year MCA history – fresh party leadership elections decided by external remote control

Who was the mastermind of the decision yesterday to halt the 56th MCA Annual General Meeting to be held in less than 72 hours on Sunday, 7th March 2010?

Not MCA President Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat though he subsequently claimed that he was the first to call for fresh party polls.

His first comment that his supporters had “expected this long-anticipated development” is the most eloquent admission that he was completely taken by surprise by Chua’s announcement – which was why the Bernama report of Chua’s shock announcement was preceded less than two hours earlier by Ong’s special interview as MCA President on the occasion of Sunday’s 56th MCA AGM, which is as good as spiked!

Not the second MCA Three-Kingdom challenger, MCA Vice Chairman Liow Tiong Lai – though the Liow faction must be very relieved that finally MCA party leadership elections are being held.

If not Ong and Liow, was Chua the mastermind of the move?

Nobody believes that Chua would dare, or to use the Chinese description “have the leopard’s bile”, to abort the 56th MCA AGM to be officially opened by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak in less than 72 hours without any “green light” from above.

Malaysians are seeing history-in-the-making though not the most elevating one – as for the first time in the 56-year MCA history, fresh party leadership elections had been decided by external remote control!

But what does the new MCA leadership elections really mean to the Malaysian people, in particular the six million Malaysian Chinese?

There is minimal interest or concern among the Malaysian public, whether Chinese or other communities, for the MCA (or for that matter, the other Barisan Nasional component parties including Gerakan and MIC) has never been more irrelevant and inconsequential in Malaysian political history in the corridors of power to the extent that MCA leadership elections could be triggered by the pressing of an external remote-control button!

There is an article in the Chinese press today by a former Chinese journalist entitled “Talents and Serfs”, which captures powerfully the failures of MCA and other BN component parties in Malaysian politics – driving away Malaysian talents overseas to create a two-million strong Malaysian diaspora while leaving behind those in government positions whose first qualifications are to be servile and subservient to the powers-that-be.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Godfather on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 4:09 pm

UMNO could not afford to let the wounds in MCA fester. So they turned to the tainted MCA leader to lead the open rebellion against Ong Ta Kut. This tainted MCA leader doesn’t have a choice – he has to do UMNO’s bidding or UMNO will get the AG to throw the book at him.

That’s what I mean when we had some serious discussions on this blog as to whether or not this tainted leader should be allowed to return to politics, and there was a particular lawyer – a long-winded commentator here – who argued forcefully against my views. In the same vein, this lawyer argued in favour of a tainted lawyer being given the highest judiciary post in the land.

This is Bolehland – you need insurance policies at every corner, and UMNO only buys insurance policies that work for it, not for the rakyat.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 4:11 pm

///First time in 56-year MCA history – fresh party leadership elections decided by external remote control/// (Kit)

Oh my gosh!!

3. #3 by Godfather on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 4:12 pm

And this isn’t the first time in MCA’s history that it has to bow to the wishes of UMNO. Ask Ling Liong Sik and Ong Ka Ting.

4. #4 by Dap man on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 4:20 pm

MCA is today composed of prostitutes and gigolos. Perhaps Nasir Safar was referring to the MCA.

But today they sell even their souls to UMNO.
    Will the Chinese , aligned with the MCA, admit that they have no more dignity left. And that they are willing to forgo dignity in return for material perks (and crumbs) dished out by UMNO.

So, this MCA is going to be led by a porn star from Batu Pahat. Oh, what greatness MCA. You have brought the Chinese to heights of fortune and recognition.

5. #5 by dagen on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 4:25 pm

Sure wish I have a similar remote controller. Will use it to send them jokers to infinity and beyond.

6. #6 by dagen on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 4:30 pm

MCA to be led by porn star. Oh just think of that possibility. No wonder we were being treated as children of prostitutes by umnoputras.

7. #7 by Bunch of Suckers on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 4:57 pm

“First time in 56-year MCA history – fresh party leadership elections decided by external remote control”

Absolutely, that is the Best shot, LKS! I love to hear that…. Keep up….

Can anyone imagine, if Bodohland goes without any opposition parties, esp. DAP has been scrutinizing over decades? It might rot like sh*ts…. Opposition parties, DAP, PAS, PKR & etc, keep up. Doing your pricking and pinching to the corrupted, incompetent and racist BN/UMNO in the Bolenland….

8. #8 by mauriyaII on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 5:09 pm

Very well put Dap man! No wonder Nasir Safar, the right hand man of the 1Malaysia PM could brand the Chinese as prostitutes and the Indians as beggers.

The MCA lost all its intergrity and morality with Ling Leong Sik and Ng Ka Ting. The guys who took over are just emasculated and neutered dogs. What UMNO likes and promotes is corruption and porno actors whether the normal kind like Chua or the sodomy star like Sai full.

When MCA the once dominant coalition partner in the BN has been reduced to be puppets with their strings being pulled by UMNO, what can we say about the leadership qualities of the present crop of MCA leaders.

It is really disgusting to note that not only MCA but also GERAKAN is being remote controlled. This happens when the rakyat’s welfare is bartered for personal wealth and worthless titles. Almost all the veteran Opposition leaders are doing a fantastic service to their constituents all these years even though they are not Datuks, Tan Sris or whatever. These Opposition leaders do not even have the means to boast of luxurious mansions like the one built by Zakaria Derus or the Indon pirate, Botox Toyo.

Next move by UMNO would be to nominate their pet poodles in MCA to stand for elections where the UMNO machinery would be put to good use to make their pets run the future of the Chinese in Malaysia.

High time the Chinese see the type of leaders they have and throw them where they belong – the garbage bin. When the MCA AGM is held, make sure to vote only for those who are tainted by money politics and who have a track record of fighting for your rights. Unfortunately the MCA is devoid of such scrupulously clean and honourable leaders anymore.

The Chinese as a whole whether MCA, GERAKAN or DAP should only vote for the OPPOSITION to get rid of the racist and bigotted UMNO in the 13th GE and pave way for a new government in Putra Jaya..

9. #9 by mauriyaII on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 5:13 pm

Sorry for the errata in the 2nd last paragraph: …make sure to vote for those who are NOT tainted by …..

10. #10 by -ec- on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 5:16 pm

well, mca could still be relevant, as an opposition party after the next ge. there are a lot for them to lean from yb lks.

11. #11 by donplaypuks on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 5:18 pm

YB

It’s obvious PM Najib is pulling the strings with Soi Lek.

With Najib’s championing direct membership to BN, it’s really the announcement of the death of MCA, MIC, PPP and Gerakan. Bye bye Ong, Samy, Koh and Kayveas. Who loves ya, baby?

There is also a clear intention to consign the PKFZ to the dust bin for a massive cover up. Possibly 2 Indian clerks and 1 Punjabi jaga will eventually be convicted for pilfering PKFZ paper clips and that will be the end of that.

You and Pakatan must not allow the PKFZ scandal and fraud to be trivialised and covered up!! Stay on top of these real GE 2013 issues!

dpp
    We are all of 1 race, the Human Race

12. #12 by limkamput on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 5:24 pm

So what is the relevance of us continuing discussing what is happening in MCA? Does it matter who is likely to win and who is going to lose. Will it make a difference to PKFZ whether it is OTK, CSL, LTL? It is completely irrelevant, am i right?

I received an email from a friend on a piece written by William Leong, the PKR’s Treasurer. I think we should have more pieces like that.

13. #13 by dagen on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 5:46 pm

Why talk about MCA?

Yeah. Dat’s right.

Lets talk about something else.

Why is EPF bidding for MRCB?

What for?

14. #14 by Jeffrey on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 5:52 pm

This thing about “green light” from outside & above.

If green light endorses ‘fresh party polls’ ;

if fresh party polls and their anticipated results are expected to favour Chua Soi Lek and Liow Tiong Lai more than Ong Tee Keat;

if between Chua & Liow, it means Chua has the lead to be No. 1 in MCA;

if its further assumed that the No. 1 of MCA were ordinarily entitled as part of patronage system, to a cabinet post (though this is not necessarily always the case as its PM/UMNO President’s preogative to decide on cabinet minister;

what is the implication of 1 Malaysia Cabinet of an Islamic country accepting the MCA No. 1 as a minister in light of his earlier scandal???

Wouldn’t the “above” be embarrassed if the MCA No. 1 lobbies for a cabinet position after winning polls?

To say “no” is to go against tradition and facade of power sharing; to say “yes” is embarrassing, not to mention alot of NGOs including perkasa may protest.

So why does the above give the green light that may likely create a train of events leading to it being in a dilemma?

15. #15 by Jeffrey on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 6:12 pm

///This is Bolehland – you need insurance policies at every corner, and UMNO only buys insurance policies that work…///

If it were suggested/implied here that by reason of Chua having been tainted by scandal, he becomes an ideal candidate to be supported, to reap the benefit from the results of the poll and to lead MCA so that MCA may be “controlled” by UMNO – how does it reconcile with UMNO’s image of championing religion to have within fold of BN led by it, a leading party like MCA helmed by such a person with scandal?

They even whip women for illicit sex nowadays. How to reconcile that?

One does not need a person “tainted by scandal” for control.

Other previous MCA presidents not tainted by public sexual scandal – were they not equally controlled?

If so, why choose one (with scandal) amongst the other two, for this ‘insurance policy’ that will have drawback of potentially embarrassing oneself, given one’s claim to religiosity?

Therefore the argument the more tainted the better the insurance in post #1 does not sound plausible.

16. #16 by Jeffrey on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 6:19 pm

You can control someone – if he has a scandal not one knows, and you threaten to divulge or leak it if he does not toe the line!

You can’t control someone on a scandal that is already public knowledge and in spite of that got majority support in MCA!

The argument – that scandal enhances control and improve insurance to control – put forth just does not hold water when scandal is already known nationally & internationally!

The Russians wanted to blackmail Sukarno by having “a Russian swallow” to seduce Sukarno and the Russians told him that if he did not do their bidding they would expose him.

Sukarno was already well known amongst his countrymen for his voracious appetite for women.

He told the Russians – please make it public, at least my countrymen will now know that I even scored with your Russian women as well (added to the long list)!!

17. #17 by Jeffrey on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 6:24 pm

Who would be crazy enough to buy insurance on a man on a scandal that is already public and hence cannot be leveraged against him weighed against the fact that supporting him gets a boomerang effect of having one’s own religious credentials (that one is building up on the “Allah” issue/whipping issue) questioned/contradicted for supporting a tainted horse, so to speak?

The cost and benefit just don’t add up for the suggestion to make sense!

18. #18 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 6:38 pm

MCA is finished one way or the other. The only guy who seems to have a modicum of sense left is Ong Tee Keat.

The others will all be forgotten in the dustbins of MCA history. Win or lose, Ong Tee Keat must be courageous enuf to do some derring-do groundbreaking feat by pulling MCA out of BN and aligning with PR as independents.

How can anyone with any sense left in them even think of a marriage with BN, huh? Najib and Muhyiddin as bedfellow? huh? U wud be screwed left right, center, top, bottom and in an infinity of rotations to boot.

19. #19 by cintanegara on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 6:49 pm

Isn’t It Funny…despite all the internal problems faced by DAP …LKS still have leisure time to talk about ‘Other people matter’….Maybe it would be better….. if he could coach his son to be efficient at work….Someone can see a louse as far away as China but is not aware of an elephant on his nose…..

20. #20 by Godfather on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 7:01 pm

“Cost and benefit” has a very different meaning for UMNO and for the rest of us mortals. They can commence investigations on any aspect of the CSL scandal at any time – which includes sodomy or leakage of another video or even merely suggesting that such a possibility exists. If that happens, what is CSL going to do ?

You highlight about the incongruence of UMNO’s stand on religion vs its suport of the porn star. In 30 years, UMNO has always twisted the facts to suit its purpose. How do you explain the fact that corrupt people still hold senior positions in the party ?

21. #21 by Godfather on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 7:10 pm

Cakap tak serupa bikin is the motto of UMNO – and that includes their stand on religion, corruption, transparency, fairness. The latest thread in this blog attests to the UMNO appointed AG’s hypocrisy. It is all in their blood.

22. #22 by Godfather on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 7:34 pm

“Other previous MCA presidents not tainted by public sexual scandal – were they not equally controlled?”

Did anyone suggest that the taint needs to be sexual to be controlled by UMNO ?

23. #23 by sheriff singh on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 7:35 pm

MCA is asked to sort out its internal mess by this “outsider” through holding fresh elections to ascertain a new, rightful and lawful leadership.

Will this powerful “outsider” do the same and direct that Perak sort itself out through the same means i.e. by holding fresh elections for a new lawful and legal government?

But no! We are Double standards country.

24. #24 by Loh on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 7:42 pm

The remaining members of MCA central committee decided that the AGM scheduled for 7 March would carry on as planned. Indeed, they did not have the mandate to change the date of the AGM which had been decided by the central committee previously. Since the meeting of MCA Youth and Wanita is linked to the AGM curiously the Chiefs of these two wings usurped power in declaring postponement of their respective AGM. They must have thought that MCA exists only for the elected officials numbering a few dozens. If that was so why do they claim to have million strong membership?

The problems in MCA might not be resolved with a new election which was brought about by infighting of elected officials. They have succeeded in treating MCA as an conduit for making personal gains, and differences among elected officials centre only around position and influence rather than approaches on how to ensure that MCA carry out the duties of why the association was formed in the first place.

Officials elected from the fresh election should have the right to serve out a three-year term, based on MCA constitution. But because of the refusal of the chiefs of Youth and Wanita to face election at the same time, elected central committee members will have their term terminated at the same time as that of the Youth and Wanita. If the new central committee members choose to stay for three years then the two branches’ chiefs will stay on for four and half. Otherwise, the new 32 central committee members can serve only for one and a half year. This is an example of how a minority of two persons decide the fate of 32 new Central Committee members. It is just an extension of how the same two persons decide that the central delegates of the Youth ad Wanita wings of MCA do not have a chance to meet on the schedule date. That reflects democracy at work in MCA.

25. #25 by k1980 on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 7:58 pm

Riduan Tee Abdollah may be appointed a senator and then installed as the new mca president

26. #26 by limkamput on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 8:00 pm

To all the intelligent asses out there. MCA is controlled even none of its leaders has any scandal. MCA has existed for a wrong reason. IF we all know UMNO is about race supremacy and keeping all the goodies to itself, why do you think UMNO would want MCA, MIC and Gerakan? It is a misnomer if we say UMNO needs true partners. No, UMNO needs no partners. UMNO only need stupid, greedy and corrupted leaders from among the non Malays to give them the multiracial and cosmopolitan image to the world. Intelligent ass, got it?

27. #27 by Jeffrey on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 8:07 pm

///Did anyone suggest that the taint needs to be sexual to be controlled by UMNO ?///- Godfather

It need not be a taint to be controlled : greed for positions, crumbs in gravy train suffice.

Which is why Lim Kam Put makes the rebuttal – “MCA is controlled even none of its leaders has any scandal.”

28. #28 by k1980 on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 8:08 pm

//Intelligent ass, got it?//

We all knew that since we were 2 years old.

The best way to stop Viagra Chua from usurping the mca (as intended by Jibby) is to get his ex-mistress Angela Yam to reveal everything about that old buffalo’s misdeeds, warts and all.

29. #29 by Jeffrey on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 8:11 pm

///To all the intelligent asses out there. MCA is controlled even none of its leaders has any scandal……….Intelligent ass, got it?/// (post #25) – Lim Kam Put

Now, Lim Kam Put, don’t insult Godfather (for arguing that it needs taint of sexual nature as well as other forms of taint) to be controlled by UMNO)! At least he reasons acceptably.

30. #30 by Bigjoe on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 8:15 pm

Its all over town among Chinese community leaders that even Rosmah had input on what is going on. The Chinese community are sheething, calling MCA leaders pai-kah chai (prodigal children) which in Confucionist chinese, which many Malaysian still are, is the lowest form of life – worst than prostitutes, eunuchs, traitors.

Najib does all these scheming but it comes out nevertheless. Its seriously pathetic that he and his wife still deluded in thinking of him as even competent much less deserving of the job that he has. People who get lucky but don’t know it deserve to have their teeth kicked in. If they continue to insist on their delusion after being kicked, when they fall, they deserved to be stepped on and runned over.. Both of them are like Marcos-Imelda at the end of their tenure. The difference is we are not going to let them leave when it all comes down. We are going to sent both of them into the lockup and take everything away…

31. #31 by limkamput on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 8:42 pm

NO, Jeffrey, i am not insulting Godfather, i am insulting you. You got it all wrong.

32. #32 by k1980 on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 8:58 pm

Give a pistol to each and every white-eyed pea of the mca and let them finish each other off. The country would be a much happier place without these buggers.

Hope Ong, Chua and Liow are reading this advice

33. #33 by wanderer on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 9:04 pm

MCA from a beggar political party turned Porn theater…with strong Mongolian interests!
    MCA is only in name, it really is “Melayu Captured Association!”

34. #34 by Jeffrey on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 9:14 pm

///NO, Jeffrey, i am not insulting Godfather, i am insulting you. You got it all wrong.///

However it was never my position that the MCA’s man with a scandal (esp when publicly known) could by that fact of the scandal already known be controlled by UMNO. This is where I disagreed with Godfather’s interpretation – that it would.

I also said “it need not be a taint to be controlled : greed for positions, crumbs in gravy train suffice” – which is in line/parallel with what you said about “To all the intelligent asses out there. MCA is controlled EVEN NONE of its leaders has any scandal…UMNO only need stupid, greedy and corrupted leaders from among the non Malays to give them the multiracial and cosmopolitan image to the world……….Intelligent ass, got it?”.

So who is the ass whose understanding of the issue is to insult me on a position put forward by another (ie Godfather), and then turn around to say you are insulting me (when my position is parallel with yours)based on a lack of understanding of what as being exchanged/discussed/argued earlier between Godfather and me ?

You are too quick to use the word “ass” on others even before you understood the exchange. Thats the problem of puting your own head far up your ass for too long that you keep uttering that word!

35. #35 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 10:33 pm

OK, Ong Tee Keat, u just have to be man enuf to do the right thing. Principles first, right?

Whether u win or lose, principles first, ok. Get the heck out of BN before u drag all d Chinese to hell with BN, ok?

If Chua wins, then all hell breaks lose when MCA is turned into a harem of prostitutes. If Liow wins, then MCA will be a bunch of kittens in this year of the tiger. So u must win, ok? Then, do what u must do as a matter of principle, ok. How can u share the same bed with such bedfellows as najib and Muhyiddin, c’mon man? Ok, u don’t need anyone of us to teach u basic maths functions but u know function of a function is all about composite functions – u can never be independent. Simple maths. U can’t bed with immoral, lawless, unscrupulous hunks and rambos. Period.

36. #36 by cseng on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 10:45 pm

Who cares what is going to happen to MCA except some greedy leader s of theirs. MCA will soon out of business! when MCA can’t contribute Chinese votes to Umno’s BN. Umno has to think a way to manage the Chinese voters themselves rather than depending on unreliable MCA. If Umno can outsource his life line of Malay Supremacy to Perkasa, what make MCA think they are not replaceable?

The MCA blames the lost of support of Chinese due to Umno’s policies, and MCA is powerless by Umno in BN. But, Umno blames it to the internal power strangle culture of MCA and powerless by their greed of power and needed to be replaced or tightly controlled. Either MCA to be replaced or tightly controlled puppet, the destiny is doom. In the law of nature: Born, grow, rotten and finally died, so it is at stage 3.5 into 4 now.

37. #37 by Loh on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 11:10 pm

///Mar 5, 10 10:47PM
    BREAKING NEWS Prime Minister Najib Razak will not be attending the disputed MCA annual general meeting this Sunday.///– Malaysiakini

Najib has the right not to attend, and with that decision he tells MCA central delegates who are the lapdogs he would prefer. The election to be held on 28 March is a chance for the central delegates to tell Najib whether they want Najib to have his lapdogs to represent MCA, or those who will serve MCA interest. MCA central delegates now have a clear signal to make their choice. With that the Chinese will also know how to vote in the coming GE.

38. #38 by frankyapp on Friday, 5 March 2010 - 11:38 pm

I think MCA members should leave the party and join DAP. I mean it’s no point staying in a party which is liken to a fly without a head flying around aimlessly.

39. #39 by johnnypok on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 2:20 am

MCA has no balls to leave BN, unless Gerakan and MIC take the lead to do so.
    Stay of not, most of the MCA candidates will lose their deposits during the next GE.

40. #40 by dawsheng on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 4:11 am

I think MCA members should leave the party and join DAP. – frankyapp

Indecent proposal.

41. #41 by Loh on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 4:20 am

The AGM scheduled for 7 March remains valid whether or not some members of the Central Committee resigned their posts. As members of the party, the ex-CM members are free to participate in the AGM or not. Indeed, the remaining members of the Central Committee are duty bound to carry out the AGM as scheduled. But Najib’s action shows that he wants the rebels in MCA be indebted to him. One wonders too whether his action has any thing to do with PKFZ affairs.

Though Najib has the right to stay away from the AGM, he has negated on his obligation after having agreed to attend. Surely the status of the AGM is not in dispute. In staying way, Najib only creates the impression that the Youth and Wanita branches of MCA have his support. Najib is taking side in the internal power struggle within MCA.

The heads of other BN component parties have surely been invited to the opening of MCA AGM. The absence of other party leaders will tell us they they have their balls deposited with Najib.

42. #42 by monsterball on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 5:41 am

Majority Malaysian Chinese could not care less about MCA.
    Voted out in 12th GE..and that will alawys be in the voters minds…to teach Najib….not to fool with voters anymore.
    MCA is a disgrace to the Chinese community….since Ling Liong Sik took over.
    As usual…asking Malaysians to forget the past and look forward is a joke.
    MCA will be buried in 13th GE….by voters..and will teach Najib…who are the bosses in the country.
    Najib want to play race and religion politics…divide and rule..and MCA is just a puppet to Najib.
    How low can you go….declaring so call….representing the Chinese race.
    MIC is finished by the Indians.
    Mark my word…Malaysians Chinese will finish MCA again…to shame Najib…keep disrespecting Malaysians…as if UMNO BARU own the country and people…to do as they like.
    We have experienced all sorts of “stunts”….low class promotional campaign.
    We will tolerate with disobedience…with no violence..giving Najib..no reasons..to find ways and means..not to have 13th GE…as scheduled.
    He can smile and act as much as he like…but deep inside…vast majority Malaysians know..how worried Najib is…which includes MCA and Gerakan.
    Najib have so many unanswered accusations hanging in his head….and he can talk till all the cows come back…People’s Power is waiting to show…who really holds the power for the country.

43. #43 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 5:59 am

It is well and good for MCA members to abandon ship and join DAP en bloc or in large numbers. But DAP has to be careful becos some Chinese are willing to lend themelves to be Trojan horses and to come in and destroy DAP from the inside just like what UMNO is doing by infiltrating PKR and starting the bonfire. DAP will have to vet them before selecting those bona fide for key positons.

Anyway, expect MCA to implode. All the bridges have been detonated. The last bridge will go under when the ‘prostitutes’ or the ‘kittens’ have crossed.

44. #44 by monsterball on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 6:05 am

Cintanegara…DAP is calm and riding high…very popular with Malaysians….and LKS is famous to expose all sorts of things…to get DAP there.
    LKS is so successful…and it takes an idiot like you…to teach him how to manage his life?
    It is your mind that play tricks with you…reading too much one sided news from papers.
    Please stop making a fool of yourself.
    But then…you need to talk like that…to carry Najib balls…correct?

45. #45 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 8:18 am

Najib is not attending Sunday’s AGM – probably more for his own sake of not being embarrassed. It’s a disputed EGM. MCA Central committee of course wants it to proceed and has directed Youth and Wanita to attend. Legally the AGM could of course still convene (requiring a quorum of only 200 delegates) : however what’s the point if this Central Committee pushing for AGM is only 1/3 in original strength after Chua & his cohorts withdraw their support for Ong and resigned from Central Committee; or if more than half the MCA delegates decide not to show up for the AGM following the resignations of their leaders? Will this not only embarrass Ong but also the PM as guest to attend more than ½ empty AGM?

Of course one could read into it that the PM’s cancellation of attendance is a sign of supporting Chua/Liow camp in favour of fresh polls and boycotting AGM favoured by Ong. (However if he attends under such disputed circumstances he would also be seen supporting Ong against the other two in majority – either way he is seen taking sides and interfering in MCA politics)! I rather think its just to save himself from personal embarrassment from having to go through a charade of an AGM pushed for by a president who lost support of majority of delegates. If one does not get his own house tidied up, how to invite VIP guest over????

Somehow Ong’s initial outspokenness on PKFZ issue makes some of us romanticize the notion that he’s a better MCA leader to stand up against Big brother UMNO, and that UMNO would prefer others like “Viagra” Chua, compromised by scandal.
    I doubt that UMNO leadership has any particular preference for any faction, especially Chua whose scandal embarrasses UMNO – because whosoever (scandal or no scandal) leads, the MCA leaders know who butters their bread; their positions are beholden to UMNO; MCA is controlled by “external remote control” for decades, and recent turmoil and power struggle is unlikely to change this unequal power relations.

46. #46 by Black Arrow on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 8:27 am

MCA is finished, one way or other. Implosion, explosion, they are already doomed. MCA has no more respect. This is really shameful.

The Chinese must abandon MCA and vote only for Pakatan Rakyat.

47. #47 by lopez on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 8:36 am

This asshole association do not represent the people they claimed to represent…ROC please instruct them to change the name or just close it up.

It has insulted the very people they claimed to represent….chinese people already got so much trouble directed at them , including these fellas who added salt to their wounds…
    luckily CHINA gave them some pride back.

48. #48 by dawsheng on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 9:10 am

Majority Malaysian Chinese could not care less about MCA. – monsterball

That is where the problem lies, we couldn’t care less. We had a minority of crooked business politicians sitting on billions of ringgit of assets accumulated over 50 years do nothing but plunder, all this in the name of representing the Chinese. If you are a Malaysian Chinese, you are entitled to that assets because it is partly yours, every one of us has the right to claim it from MCA, and the sooner we do this, the better for all of us. Remember, politics is not just about vote!

49. #49 by Winston on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 9:11 am

You can’t control someone on a scandal that is already public knowledge and in spite of that got majority support in MCA!

The argument – that scandal enhances control and improve insurance to control – put forth just does not hold water when scandal is already known nationally & internationally! – Jeffrey

What is left out is that oral sex is involved and that is punisable by, I think, jail and caning!
    So far, nothing in this direction has been carried out – yet!
    So, Jeffrey, ponder on that!

50. #50 by lopez on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 9:12 am

What the ….no need to physically attend…read the meaning not the sentence.

These e- societies you cant be too carefool , have hand phone will travel