Don’t use ISA against Nasir Safar – more important to flush out all the closet Nasir Safars holding influential positions in government

Recently, the Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein warned that there are forces bent on derailing the government’s 1Malaysia concept.

Hishammuddin was referring to the recent spate of arson and vandalism at places of worship but he failed to realize that the enemies of Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s 1Malaysia concept are to found closer home – in the very sanctum of the Najib premiership!

MIC leaders, from its President Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu, are baying for Nasir’s blood and even demanding that Nasir should be detained under the Internal Security Act (ISA).

This is the last thing that should be done, for it will only make Nasir a martyr. Furthermore, the ISA detention-without-trial law is so iniquitous, unjust and undemocratic a legislation that I will not want to wish it on my worst opponents as its only proper destination is the scrapyard.

The strongest and most severe action must be taken against Nasir for his offensive, seditious and anti-1Malaysia outburst, labelling Indians and Chinese as “pendatang”, alleging that “Indians came to Malaysia as beggars and Chinese especially the women came to sell their bodies (jual tubuh)” and threatening to revoke the citizenship of Indians vocal about the subject cap for SPM examination.

There must be a clear and unmistakable message that 52-years after nationhood, such rabid and racist attitudes are just not acceptable or tolerable, especially under the 1Malaysia slogan. In this context, the resignation of Nasir is just neither adequate nor commensurate to the offence caused and Malaysians are right to expect the severest action to be meted out.

However, it is more important to flush out all the closet Nasir Safars holding influential positions in government as the Nasir Safar outrage is likely to be mere tip of an iceberg.

This is why Nasir’s racist remarks received quick defence from extremist groups including the 1Malaysia Youth Graduates Club.

Nasir Safar is the natural product of decades of brain-washing by anti-1Malaysia outfits like the Biro Tata Negara (BTN) and unless brain-washing apparatus like BTN are dismantled, closet Nasir Safars will continue to occupy key positions in important ministries and agencies.

1. #1 by drago2008 on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 12:41 pm

It is becoming clearer that forces within the sanctum of the Najib admin, as pointed out by Kit Siang, are the ones behind recent tirades and nefarious activities.

The usual suspects are known to most people already but new ones are surfacing, probably they are motivated and embolden to expose themselves in public by their statements and action.

As for Nasir Safar, Kit is right not to use the ISA against him. Sedition laws should apply instead.

By now Najib should wake up and look within his ‘inner circle’ to know why his 1Malaysia concept has always been undermined and mocked by most people who can see that most instigations came from within the Umno coven in addition to the recent involvement of Ibrahim Ali’s Perkasa.

There is no need to follow Emperor Nero by playing the fiddle while Rome burns.

2. #2 by wanderer on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 12:52 pm

Yes, equally we have One among us in this blog Eunuch chengho, share completely the views of this racist Nasir Subpar moron from UMNO.
    Over to Eunuch, what is you say?

3. #3 by Dipoh Bous on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 12:55 pm

Many more will be exposed, I hope, and the approriate laws are used to deal with them especially now that the police force is given a huge pay adjustment. They ( our police force) should be more motivated to enforce the “law” regardless of who the breakers are…

4. #4 by frankyapp on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 12:56 pm

Well done, YB Lim Kit Siang,yeap no ISA for Nasir Safar.I must add that no ISA should ever be used against anyone from now.The evidence is clear from Nasir’s speech,the police should arrest him for further investigation. Moreover the public aslo has lodged dozens of police report against him. I ‘m pretty sure the country has more than enough other laws to deal with such anti-national . The police should arrest and prosecute him and send him to prison where I think he {Nasir} deserves it. I think Nasir Safar is just a tip of the ice-berg.

5. #5 by frankyapp on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 1:12 pm

Umno is in deep trouble now especially facing its own enemy within. Umno sow the BTN and now Umno reaps it.All these indicating the coming of an end to the prophetic word RAHMAN and the end of UMNO as well.

6. #6 by tzenmaster12 on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 1:14 pm

UNCLE LIM,
    AS ANUAR IS BUSY WITH HIS TRIAL, WHO WILL BE LEADING PR IN FUTURE? PLEASE CHOOSE ZAID IBRAHIM – AN HONORABLE EDUCATED MAN WITH NO SCANDALS!

7. #7 by boh-liao on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 1:45 pm

Ya loh, how could Nasir say Indians came to Malaysia as beggars
    Plz lah, hv some decent thought for MMK n don’t hurt his feelings
    “The Federal Constitution clearly stated that the non-Malays had rights to citizenship,” MMK said
    “It is a very bad statement to make. Even if it is true, we don’t say things like that. They are in fact the children of the people who came here. They have not just arrived,” said MMK
    “The Constitution provides that you cannot take away citizenships,” MMK added
    Pheeew, how lucky, otherwise MMK is not considered a citizen here

8. #8 by Motorist on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 2:27 pm

ISA detention without trial is the political tool used by the dictatorial ruling party.

Despite how much we all abhor what Nasir has said, using ISA on him is hypocritical to say the least. There are other existing laws that he can be charged with (eg. sedition) (note: I am not a lawyer, just average joe public).

However, dont hold your breath for him to be punished by the law.

UMNO loves his kind; those who are absolutely loyal to the UMNO concept of superior race, religion and their exclusive country. For UMNO lead government to punish someone who espouse the party’s true ideology is hypocritical. Such person will not only be promoted but given special mentioned by the party elite. The precedent has been set in Penang. Nasir will have a bright future in this political party.

9. #9 by Comrade on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 2:55 pm

The 1Malaysia concept will not go far
    And racial harmony may be marred
    By forces and leaders such as Nasir Safar
    Who for goodness sake must be barred

10. #10 by storm62 on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 3:03 pm

after RPK linked Nasir Siapa to the murder of Altantuya, the police immediately sprang to action to investigate him for sedition.

some higher hidden hand might want to shut his mouth off as like LKS says he has much skeleton hidden in his closet.

Nasi Siapa will be the next one on the missing list…..just wait and see.

11. #11 by Godfather on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 3:03 pm

wanderer:

The eunuch chengho says “muhibbah, muhibbah, pendatangs”. Kasim Amat, my former business partner says “if you question Malay rights, we will charge you with sedition, and we will ask you to leave the country.”

12. #12 by Godfather on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 3:06 pm

How can UMNO weed out all the Nasir Safars in its midst ? How can they throw out people like the Toyol, like Ali Rustam, like Moo-hee-din ? These people have their bases of support, and it is like asking UMNO to cut off one of its gangrenous limbs.

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 3:23 pm

Flush them out? How? These people have been practised in hiding their real self for decades. They are showing up simply because there is too many of them in high public offices.

The only way to flush them out is to kick our UMNO/BN and even THEN, as we have seen in Selangor, Perak, Penang, they continue to hide in between and it takes a long time and continue effort to keep them in check..

14. #14 by donplaypuks on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 4:06 pm

YB

Nasir Safar is more much than he appears to be. His closet should be completely flushed out!! Refer to blog at:

http://desiderata2000.blogspot.com/

“The Special Officer to Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak, Nasir Safar, has been asked to resign for calling the early Indian immigrants to Malaya beggars and the Chinese prostitutes. But that is not the icing on the cake. The icing on the cake is that Nasir Safar was the man mentioned in item 30 of PI Bala’s Statutory Declaration:

“Azilah asked me whether the woman was Aminah and I said ‘Yes’. He then walked off and made a few calls on his handphone. After 10 minutes another vehicle, a blue Proton Saga, driven by a Malay man, passed by slowly. The driver’s window had been wound down and the driver was looking at us.”

You can read the full text of Bala’s Statutory Declaration below.

Yes, that man in the blue Proton Saga was Nasir Safar. But the police, who took Bala’s statement, denied it and said that it was a resident from that area and not Nasir Safar. How did the police know this immediately without any further investigation and without taking Nasir Safar’s statement?

Now, why would the Prime Minister’s Special Officer be at the scene of the crime?…”

dpp
    We are all of 1 race, the Human Race

15. #15 by HARAPAN MALAYSIA on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 4:23 pm

1MALAYSIA hanya akan capai “Status Sebenar” apabila semua lapisan Ketua Pentadbiran Generasi Baru yang sebenar sejiwa sehati sehaluan selangkah tanpa prejudis.. menuju ke arah impian 1Malaysia…tanpa terindu ternostalgia terkenang terlindung terikat terhalang pada apa-apa …kerana ingin mencapai yang terunggul teragung terhebat..sehingga menarik hati insan sejagat di mata dunia…!

Semoga impian 1Malaysia terus menuju ke jalan yang benar…Rakyat didahulukan..Pencapaian diutamakan..!Insyaallah

16. #16 by monsterball on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 4:37 pm

UMNO BARU has reached its lowest ebb in politics.
    Malaysians cannot believe how those UMNO ministers can talk kok and bull…all night long.
    I guess..with Anwar in court for Sodomy 2….LGE being judged by fellowmen….burning churches…boar heads at mosques…all are current events.
    Port Klang Free Zone RM12.4 billion…Barry Wain’s book….Teoh Beng Hock…Mongolian murder case…..all not important……..OR…..are so important…cornering UMNO/BN …making them…look real crooks with stupid remarks…edging nearer to catch the big fishes…out come race tensions….and now…religion applied on Anwar.
    Yes…Malaysia is governed by such holy holy UMNO politicians…and world legendary leaders cannot be President..Chairman….PM in Malaysia at all.
    All must avoid backside…or else…
    C4..stealing…and robbing….OK..no sodomy.

17. #17 by wanderer on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 4:51 pm

Godfather

T Mamak just confirmed I am protected by the Federal Constitutions…UMNO goons cannot revokemy citizenship.
    ISA, yes, I say retain it… if PR came into power…I like to see these corrupted umnpputras receiving the same treatment…like muslims believe, “An eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth”

18. #18 by wanderer on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 5:04 pm

Has anyone given a thought that the remarks made by Nasir Sofart were intentional. This bloke got his filthy a## full and may not be able to take the heat any longer…so taking advantage of his self-inflicted stupidity comments… a good reason to leave the political scene. By next GE,
    he will be forgetten and left alone to enjoy his ‘ill-gotten wares’!!!

19. #19 by boh-liao on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 6:00 pm

This is classic Umno B’s act, someone said something nice 2 all, another said something extreme 4 d ears of Malays, acting lah 2 tell Malays, no worry, Umno B is here 4 u
    Taking action on Nasir, really? Anyone who believes it will believe dat pigs can fly
    Ppl like NR n HH frothed seditious war cries, with upheld keris; any action taken?
    Oredi 1 believer of pigs can fly, SV said dat MIC will stand by NR n support NR all d way
    So so charming

20. #20 by dagen on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 6:08 pm

Lembudin bin kerismudin, if you believe in 1malaysia you should really retract the keris raising incidents and apologise to the nation for doing it. Only then will your call for 1malaysia be more credible.

Umno’s strength is also umno’s weakness. Umno is strong because all of them are corrupt and are hiding tons of skeletons in their closets. That means they must co-operate and work together for the common goal of ensuring that none of their skeletons is ever found. Of course the whole situation started with “you scratch my back I scratch yours”. And now it has become “you hold my balls and I hold yours”. The whole party is bogged down by only one objective – i.e. cover-up.

You cant wrap fire with paper. The truth will emerge. In fact they are already emerging. The guy who killed beng hock is one important point to start the balls squeezing domino in umno. Anwar’s complainant, that wtf saiful too is another good point to start the domino action. There are many many more. Keep pressing them.

21. #21 by yhsiew on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 6:13 pm

However, it is more important to flush out all the closet Nasir Safars holding influential positions in government as the Nasir Safar outrage is likely to be mere tip of an iceberg. (Kit).
    =========================================================

Flushing out all the closet Nasir Safars holding influential positions in government is not enough; his MENTOR must also be flushed out.

Nasir Safar cannot be what he is today without an errant MENTOR. It is therefore important to tackle the root of the problem rather than the symptoms.

22. #22 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 6:34 pm

Can PM Najib flush out the closet Nasir Safars holding influential positions in government or is it the other way around, they’ll try flush him out instead???? That’s the question!

Najib knows, after last GE, that UMNO must reform/reinvent or perish. Al least that’s what his expert advisers/consultants probably advised him. Foremost in this direction is to bring about greater transparency and accountability in governance and to ameliorate rampant corruption. This is what many Malaysians, particularly the young (including a growing segment of Malaysian Malays) want. They want an end to the inexplicable custodial deaths and numerous corruption scandals. They are the vote bank of the future. One can’t keep on disenfranchising them.

The right wing ethno-nationalist conservatives forces within govt/inner sanctum of administration (the Nasir Safars, so to speak) are showing signs of coalescing against the PM and his ‘1 Malaysia’. They rally around their usual clarion call for Malay Supremacy (Ketuanan). There is a reason for this. Ketuanan and Malay power is inextricably linked to patronage and distribution of contracts/licences and other largesse. It is the money issue. It allows big preferential carve outs of the national cake to a select few under the justification of NEP/Ketuanan. Transparency and accountability are an anathema to these traditional way of getting more share of the pie by NEP and Ketuanan, each justifying the other!

Najib’s tentative steps to remove the 30 per cent bumiputra equity requirement for 27 services sub-sectors – such as health and social services, tourism, transport, business, computer and related services – scare the hell out of these people! What happens to their main share in the pie if there were further recoiling of the NEP?

When Najib rolls out the Government Transformation Programme (GTP) roadmap, with all its KPIs, these people with vested interests in the system get even more alarmed: what’s meaning of all these when all along rewards, especially financial are distributed to those whose main KPI is connections and political loyalty – far remote from competence or merits!

So naturally they won’t be happy. We are not surprised then at the orchestrated attacks on places of worship to ferment tension and discredit 1 Malaysia using “Allah” issue as excuse. The segment bent on preserving status quo/ Mahathir’s Legacy would naturally rally around main architect of Ketuanan/NEP, the former premier with his influential words expressed in the Che Det Blog. A breaking of rank is seen in the PM’s own aide (Nasir Safar), supported by1Malaysia Youth Graduates Club and perhaps also other influential Malay based NGOs like Perkasa etc. Even some of the bolder civil servants in the Jakim forum, made speeches in favour of traditional Ketuanan against 1 Malaysia.

This means the PM is not in an enviable position. His 1 Malaysia is disbelieved by the rest of Malaysia disenchanted by BN that seizes on every contradiction available to attack his motto. Within his own party ranks and bureaucracy, they also seek to derail his 1 Malaysia by words and deeds. He is wedged between 2 opposing sides out to discredit 1 Malaysia for different reasons. Then he has created a further problem of the Anwar’s sodomy trial that promises to protract as long as it would take for the next election to be called. The fall out from that trial is not necessarily in favour of the ruling coalition.

23. #23 by limkamput on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 8:18 pm

How can UMNO weed out all the Nasir Safars in its midst ? How can they throw out people like the Toyol, like Ali Rustam, like Moo-hee-din ? //godfather

What about Awang Tak Selamat, Mamtail and Utusan. Are they not also UMNO outfit?

It is that simple – getting rid of racism in this country must start and end with UMNO. It is not about other races or vernacular education. Prof Khoo can go fly kite. Unlike him, I do not need to study history in a university to know history. A phua tang sai professor emeritus.

24. #24 by limkamput on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 8:32 pm

Why the government is closing both eyes to Perkasa’s increasing rightist and extreme demands? By not saying anything, is BN-UMNO government condoning it? Is BN-UMNO adopting a “dual-tracks” strategy catering to mainstream Malaysians as well as appealing to its traditional parochial supports.

Would the government allow Chinese, Indians and Kadazans to form organisations similar to Perkasa and start making nonsensical demands for their respective community?

25. #25 by ekompute on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 8:44 pm

“Recently, the Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein warned that there are forces bent on derailing the government’s 1Malaysia concept.”

My, my, am I confused! Which Hishammuddin is that? Is that the one waving the keris?

26. #26 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 8:46 pm

despite all what he has said, he apologised. I think he is still a good man. He should not be fired if we did not fire that umno penang person. let’s start people on how to apologise after saying something racist

27. #27 by kpt99 on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 10:21 pm

The game of racism will never end in Malaysia as long as the 2 words BUMI and NON-BUMI still exist among all Malaysian. 1 Malaysia will just be an empty slogan if there are no equal and fair opportuities for all.

28. #28 by DCLXVI on Friday, 5 February 2010 - 1:36 am

LKS: “This is why Nasir’s racist remarks received quick defence from extremist groups including the 1Malaysia Youth Graduates Club.”

How is it that such an extremist group can have ‘1 Malaysia’ in its name?
    It’s like Hitler’s Youth fighting against the persecution of Jews & what the Nazis regarded as ‘non-Aryan’ races… An oxymoron…

pulau sibu: “despite all what he has said, he apologised. I think he is still a good man. He should not be fired if we did not fire that umno penang person. let’s start people on how to apologise after saying something racist.”

Nasir Safar may have apologised & explained it as a slip of the tongue, but given that he was a special officer to the prime minister, he should have known very well in the first place the repercussions of saying such racist remarks while still being a representative of the PM’s office. Therefore, it is no surprise if Nasir’s apology & explanation have been greeted with much skepticism.
    The so-called punishment for Ahmad Ismail is a joke. That 3 year suspension was reduced to just a year. Expect a similar ‘punishment’ for Nasir. After all, it’s all decided by UMNO.

29. #29 by frankyapp on Friday, 5 February 2010 - 1:47 am

1Malaysia is NR’s face make-up.The people especially the non-malays know that underneath his make-up,they are seeing pretty lots of anti-chinese,anti-indian,anti-kadazan and anti-iban elements.They have now seen enough through NR’s agenda which is wanting malays supremacy or ‘ Ketuanan melayu “. However I’m pondering what sinister game he is playing as on one hand he talked about national unity and on the other hand his “machai” have chanted out anti-non-malays nationals slogans.I think NR is playing one too many dangerous games at the same time and once it gets out of his hands,the nation would become disastrous. Is this’s what NR’s agenda to prevent general election/stopping PR to take over putrajaya ,so that Umno/Bn can continue to rule under a military coup or under a emergencey order by the king ?

30. #30 by chengho on Friday, 5 February 2010 - 3:18 am

It looks so easy for the Malays to hit the emotions of the Chinese and Indians!
    Strength is not in emotional outrage but in intellectual strategy. True, our
    fore-fathers came from far away territories but that was then. We are born and
    bred in this country.
    So, whats the big deal with the word ‘pendatang ‘! we are not coming here after Independence .
    Facts are facts;
    If we care for the well being of this country, we should tackle this
    intellectually. Move on. Not brooding over where our ancestors came from! Look
    at those in the US and Europe. They are called immigrants, from Mexico, Cuba,
    China, India, Africa and so on. Do they go to racial outrage for that fact ?
    There’s of course discrimination on the minority. BUT, they live on in the US
    or Europe, breed and improve their social standing. The Africans were brought
    into USA as slaves. Now, a black man from discriminated community is the President of USA .
    So, what’s the big deal!

31. #31 by boh-liao on Friday, 5 February 2010 - 4:08 am

No big deal, Umno B has a pipeline of racists who will pop out, 1 after another, not 2 say cuckoo but pendatang, don’t like it here go home, this land is my land, stuff
    We can count d bodies, MMK, NR, HH, Ahmad Said (remember dis guy, ‘punished’ – membership suspended 4 3 years but was cut short n he is active again, no legal action taken against him; wow such severe action taken against him loh), n now Nasir, who will surely not be d last

32. #32 by boh-liao on Friday, 5 February 2010 - 4:17 am

But then, DAP, PAS, n PKR too hv useless ppl, who may not b racists
    Just look at d disgusting in-fighting of DAP politicians in Selangor
    N d way some of them spent our public money
    Any difference fr Umno B/BN ppl
    Don’t try 2 hide or delete these facts on this blog, as they r well known facts

33. #33 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 5 February 2010 - 7:05 am

chengho, the solution is simple enough, EVERYONE is permitted his piece of opinion, here is is definitely one-sided. To many of us, it is a self-created mental seizure with an objective of creating fears to the less informed. Of course, we know it will be self defeating at th end; as the people including Bumis will learn the REAL truth eventually. But such”stupid behaviours” have immediate dire consequences to the well being of the nation. Others around us are moving ahead and we have nimcompoops without such low grey matter trying to preserve their nest at the expense of the interests of the nation. You get IT?? Based on your remarks, I just wonder if you will ever get this !!

34. #34 by Bigjoe on Friday, 5 February 2010 - 8:51 am

World War II was fought to get rid of people like these and even after Germany banned the Nazi party, they continue to exist for decades and even today while they don’t call by the same name, the same kind of people still exist.

Flushing them out? It must begin with end of UMNO/BN govt and then still more work to be done after that…

35. #35 by jus legitimum on Friday, 5 February 2010 - 9:52 am

That look of Datuk Nasir ‘Sifar’ reminds me of a kampung durian seller.Many people are wondering why people of such low class can be appointed as a PM’s special aide and some more a datukship holder.He could even use his filthy and dirty mouth to say that our grandmothers came here to work as prostitutes.I think our system from the very top is already rotting.

36. #36 by jus legitimum on Saturday, 6 February 2010 - 1:42 pm

The six million chinese in Malaysia are still awaiting a sincere public apology from that bast..d for the insulting statement he made.When will he be arrested under sedition act or not at all? We will watch and see and will always remember it.

37. #37 by loz on Tuesday, 9 February 2010 - 7:01 pm

The sad thing is that this isn’t an isolated event – I’ve lost count of how many times recently we’ve seen so-called ‘leaders’ bullying and threatening other people. Malays are told that the Chinese want to take everything away from them, and Indians and Chinese are threatened with expulsion or violence if they don’t keep quiet.
    Upholding the rights of Malays and Moslems should not mean taking away everyone else’s rights, but UMNO relies on the Malay majority for power, so they’re too scared to allow non-racial politics to take hold.
    In a more mature democracy, we wouldn’t need to talk about police reports or sedition – people could say whatever nonsense they want (as long as it doesn’t incite violence), but society as a whole would reject the racist idiots and they’d have to crawl back to their holes. They certainly wouldn’t occupy senior positions in government, so I think 1Malaysia is still a long way off.