Why Muhyiddin go to UK to urge the return of the “best brains” while completely blind, unconcerned and insensitive to the loss of “best brains” to neighbouring Singapore or the 300,000 Malaysians who emigrated since last general election?

Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin went to London to urge the “best brains” working abroad to return home and drive the country’s new economic model, but he had been thunderously silent in the past five days at the news from across the causeway that two Malaysians topped the 2009 Singapore-Cambridge General Certificate of Education (Ordinary Level) Examination.

The question Muhyiddin must answer is why go all the way to the United Kingdom to urge the return of the “best brains” while he is completely blind, unconcerned and insensitive to the loss of the “best brains” to neighbouring Singapore or the 300,000 Malaysians who emigrated since last general election?

On Monday, it was reported in Singapore that Lai Kai Rou, 16, from Selangor, emerged tops in the island republic, scoring 10A1s. She studied at CHIJ St. Nicholas Girls’ School (SNGS) which also topped Singapore schools with 14 of the 42 island-republic’s best scorers being its students, scoring 9 A1s.

Lai’s success is all the more remarkable given that she was struggling with her studies just four years ago, when she first arrived in Singapore.

Her primary school was a Chinese school so she used to do maths and science in Chinese when she first arrived in Singapore. She admitted having a hard time adapting to the English standard.

Last year’s top 0-level student in Singapore, Haw Sue Hern, who scored 10 A1s, is also from Selangor.

Lai is a Singapore Education Ministry scholar. The question Muhyiddin, who is also Chairman of the Cabinet Committee on Human Resources, should address is why Malaysia continues to be helpless, unconcerned and even insensitive to the brain drain of the best and most talented young Malaysians to Singapore, right from the start of secondary education.

Is he aware that increasing incidents like the “Allah” controversy will only drive more Malaysian talents to other shores instead of returning or remaining home to drive the new economic model?

Can the Cabinet Committee on Human Resources headed by Muhyiddin come out with a masterplan to stop such a brain drain by not only ensuring that there is a quality education system in the country but that all talented Malaysians, regardless of race or religion, would be assured of equal opportunities both in education and employment as well as full respect of the constitutional right of all Malaysians?

Otherwise, the KPI and NKRA for education can only be one of failure.

Dare the KPI Minister, Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon fail the Deputy Education Minister-cum-Education Minister in his first KPI/NKRA for education? This will be Tsu Koon’s own KPI and NKRA.

1. #1 by StPeter on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 9:21 am

why? becoz M’din himself has no brain! he and entire P’jaya underestimated the best brain.

2. #2 by ablastine on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 9:27 am

Not only most of our best students are abroad, those who perform very well locally will be on their way too. Just see where the 5 top O level student will go when the result come out shortly.

3. #3 by negarawan on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 9:31 am

Friday January 15, 2010
    DPM: Greater understanding could have averted attacks on churches
    LONDON: Greater understanding and tolerance among people of various religions could have averted the arson attacks on churches.

This statement again shows the insincerity and deceitfulness of UMNO and Moohidin failed to mention the truth that all these problems have occurred due to the racist and religiously biased policies of UMNO!

4. #4 by vp74 on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 9:36 am

I lives in JB and my work alweays deal with Singapore companies. Lots of time i went to Singapore to meet customer and so on. Normally we chit chat before & after the formal meeting. During chit chat, I found that 2/3 of them are malaysian, from Perlis to Johor.

5. #5 by taiking on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 9:39 am

For a long long time, malaysia is a source of talents and brains for singapore. Of course umno more than welcome the drain to the south of JB and elsewhere. And they cover up their glad feeling by labelling those who left as unpatriotic.

6. #6 by vp74 on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 9:46 am

A true story from my secondary school classmate, Tan. Tan went to England study after SPM and get PhD in medical field . After that he worked in England for few years. Until 2006, he came back to Malaysia after call by government. Tan really wanted to come back to stay permanently in his homeland. After working for government for 2 years, the government system & coruption situation are too bad for him to stay on. The projects proposed by him can not carried on as per normal because he can’t get the budget although the budget is approved. Since he can’t perform and implement the project, he fed up and finally left Malaysia in early on 2009.

Now, Muhyiddin go to UK to urge the return of the “best brains”? Will my friend come back again if he seen DPM? 99.9% is NO.

7. #7 by Winston on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 10:24 am

This is just a show.
    He can also enjoy himself at the same time!!

8. #8 by monsterball on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 10:29 am

The fact is…UMNO cannot afford to have too smart Malaysians Chinese.
    They come back..UMNO malays ..no top post job…or still filling the top posts..to clearly expose…UMNO is favoring one race in everything…a liar and hypocrite…resulting all slogans …no meaning at all.
    The more other races go elsewhere…the better for UMNO.
    UMNO is a true blue racist party.. .under constant various disguises.
    UMNO only know how to belittle and insult S’pore.
    I guess smart Malaysians Chinese.. in London..far far away…easier to convince to come back..then from S’pore?
    You want to think like an UMNO PM or like his deputy…you need to have a real onion face and a blockhead.
    When have anyone ever seen UMNO do anything straight to the point and by the easy way first?
    It is always…going round instead from a straight point..to complicate things and can never produce any true sincere results.
    The may buy one or two to return and make headline news..how successful the are.
    That has always been their ways…catch small fishes in corruptions…and not one big fish ever got caught or arrested or gone to jail at all.
    They are so crooked…I suspect they have lost the art to do things straight and fast now….or purposely make it difficult…to buy time…and hope majority Malaysians will forget.. with the usual no result efforts….only for show.. and move on.
    All their actions are dressed up …acting..to keep fooling Malaysians…and MCA president or politicians ..all dare not utter a word..why their master is acting so stupid.

9. #9 by changeforum on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 10:45 am

Every few days I’m contemplating the possibility of draining my brain away from Malaysia. And it is getting harder to find reasons to stay.

10. #10 by monsterball on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 10:53 am

Stay put and rough it out….changeforum.
    We need to fight the dirty system together and not giving up…so easily.
    Think of country and Malaysians.
    We are actually at war with UMNO BARU..and we need to be mighty with People Power…with mighty votes.
    Traders like me for 37 years…have never suffered so much too.
    I am working with no salaries for past few months..to see no retrenchment needed……..and is pouring in money to withstand loses.

11. #11 by wanderer on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 11:04 am

The lesser talented brains in UK are still way better than what we have here…p## brains!!!
    Mr DPM, no need to go so far, be fairer and remove institutional discrimination against other races in Bolehland, you find a lot of local talents surfacing……

12. #12 by rahmanwang on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 11:10 am

First of all a no brain trying to ask those with brains to come back to Malaysia.Ha Ha!!!!Why not stop those with potential from leaving.BN is really stupid.Government spend so much $$ educating Malaysian students putting them through 6 years of primary then 5 years of secondary education.Then Singaporean government advertise on the weekend newspaper at the end of the year and then draw all the talented and high scorers to study in Singapore and offering them scholorship and PR and most of all reconising them for their contribution.Malaysian government are like an idiot.

13. #13 by Suckkars on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 11:12 am

Not only corruptions, dirty politics and disgusting working environments that drive many professional away or from returning back to Bolehland, the Education Systems are the worst under UMNO rules over 50 years!

Who want their kids to study a language that is not internationally used? Who want their children with excellent results discriminatory refuses or rejections for admission to local Universities? Who want to live under the dictatorship of UMNO rules where certain words are reserved only for certain race? Who want their love one murdered in the Lockups or during interrogations without justices being served? Who want their tax-paying revenues to subsidize certain race benefits or end up a few cronies pockets? The endless list….

14. #14 by ktteokt on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 11:34 am

Carry on with this BUMI/NON BUMI differentiation and the KETUANAN MELAYU stuff and see how many “BRAINS” want to remain behind to serve this group of RACISTS!

15. #15 by wanderer on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 11:35 am

The Australian govt and many other govts in this world, are grateful to the Malaysian people and taxpayers, for annually supplying them with talented graduates…especially, the Australian govt without footing a cent to get young PRs into their under populated country.
    Bodoh Malaysia or Sucker Malaysia?

16. #16 by passerby on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 11:36 am

Who want to come back. Coming back for what? To be under some brainless head of department who is not even qualified to sit in that chair. These are the best of the best in the country and you umno purposely drove them out and now you want them to come back. Don’t show your stupidity. No one is interested in coming back.

17. #17 by Bigjoe on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 11:36 am

Come back? Even as I tell my family we don’t have to leave yet, I have been telling people who insist they don’t have to leave they are wrong.. Some people are going to die, how can I not warn them when they are in harm’s way? I will not do that to any human being even the worst kinds..

18. #18 by Jeffrey on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 11:42 am

///Is he aware that increasing incidents like the “Allah” controversy will only drive more Malaysian talents to other shores instead of returning or remaining home to drive the new economic model?/// – YB Kit.

Well he showed some “awareness” by saying “he would not allow the issue of using the word “Allah” by non-Muslims in Malaysia to recur in the future.” He did not say specifically how he was going to do that. However he did say (former prime minister) Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad mentioned that the legal process was not the best solution to a problem, and there could be other avenues and “I agree to a certain extent….What is important is to handle the situation wisely”.

What is that extent and how to handle the situation wisely was not explained except we know the government has appealed against High court (Justice Lau Bee Lan)’s decision and Muhyiddin gave an “insight” that he had been receiving quite a number of messages from non-Muslim friends in Sabah and Sarawak who said there were Christians who felt that things would not have happened in the first place “if we, the Christians, would just not use the word ‘Allah’.

“This is because in Malaysia and in many parts of the world and in all Muslim countries, Allah is the only God for Muslims. We cannot equate Allah to god in the other religions and even in Christianity, which believes in the concept of the Trinity. There are differences; I don’t want to go deep into that issue. I think we have to manage issues at home our own way because we have our own way of life, culture, traditions and respect for one another which are our strengths…”, he added.

[The quotations of Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin in Oxford are taken from The MalaysianInsider Friday 15th Jan].

Now back to Kit’s question.

Muhyiddin’s call for ‘the “best brains” working abroad to return home and drive the country’s new economic model’ ought, in my view, deserve – in terms of specificity over generalities, substance over platitudes, sincerity versus equivocation – just that much time/attention we would, in our respective judgment and evaluation, accord to his take on the “Allah” controversy (bearing on the first mentioned question).

19. #19 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 11:55 am

> Lim said the government appeared to be insensitive over the report on the success of Malaysian Lai Kai Rou, 16, who emerged tops in the island republic, scoring 10 A1s in the recent O-Level examinations.

how many 10As does Singapore have?
    I think we have many many more 10As.
    The government will tell us don’t compare our oranges with Singaporean apples.

20. #20 by frankyapp on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 12:22 pm

First Umno chased the best brains away and now wanted them to come back. I think DPM going to London is wasteful and stupid. Most likely none of the best brains over there would not want to waste their time meeting him. Presently malaysia especially in the private sector has pretty lots of good brains especially chinese and indian malaysians and perhaps also availabe are some kadazan/ dusun and dayak/iban malaysians and if NR and MM are sincere,why not hunt some of these,instead of going to London.The government could not make any excuses for not attracting them to serve the nation.The main reasons are racial and religious descrimination.Just do away with these,many would be too willing to serve the government. People with bright brain would only serve the government well when no stupid politicians interfere and hinder their job and responsibility with racist’s policy.

21. #21 by Ah Pek on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 12:25 pm

Aiyo! Hopeless la these guys, Let’s see how many of them will actually come back.

22. #22 by yhsiew on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 12:28 pm

Malaysian government are like an idiot. (#11 by rahmanwang)
    ==================================================

This is the price the government has to pay for promoting mono-racialism, mono-culturalism and religious domination. Advanced countries such as US and UK steer clear of such practices for they know such practices stifle national progress and development.

Of course a smart Lee Kuan Yew is not slow to jack up Sing dollar vs ringgit exchange rates to lure Malaysia’s best brains to his country.

To sum it up, Malaysia remains a training ground for professionals and specialists for other countries.

23. #23 by Godfather on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 12:31 pm

Aiya, best student in O levels in S’pore only has 10A1s. In Bolehland, we have students who obtain 17A1s. So what was your question again?

24. #24 by cheras rocket on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 12:34 pm

hi guys how r u doing?

i dont mean to hurt anyone feeling but i think many of the comments is not main reason why we have brain drain problem.

the fact is the real problem is CURRENCY. Many have migrated to Singapore not because its a better country nor WE Malaysians want to leave our beloved family here. According to YB Lim Kit Siang as much as 300,000 left M’sia for other countries. The root of the problem is our LOW WAGE JOB and VERY WEAK CURRENCY. Government claim our currency are improving to USD but im sure you guys know its not that we had improved but just that USD had weaken. Have doubt, please compare with SGD.

Im sorry to say that most people work day and night to strive for a better pay and job but at the end of the day, im here to tell you that you have wasted your effort because the promotion and the increment that you have is just enough to cover the country inflation as most of our essential goods are important whether you like it or not eg rice and wheat.

All this require USD and other major currencies to import. The fact that your hardwork fail to elevate you guys to a better living style despite your so call increment. Agree with me your lifestyle hardly change from what your are 3 years ago. JUST TO MAKE EVERY FEEL EVEN BETTER, WE HAVE TO SUBSIDIZE RICH BILLIONAIRE ON THIER VERY OWN INDEPENDENT POWER PRODUCER PLANT. Like what we Chinese says these rich BILLIONAIRE ARE STEALING RICE FROM THE BEGGAR’s BOWL.

Therefore many have leave to Singapore. The main attraction is its currency SGD is very stable and high in value. Thus there are not much inflation in S’pore. This sounds to be very attractive to M’sian. What you earn is what you get. Better pay in S’pore means better buying power.

What had happen, happen. A one day trip to LONDON or Singapore by a DPM or even the ENTIRE CABINET MINISTERS or all 222 Member of Parliament cannot save the problem. SGD 3,000 is RM 7,500. As such, words from mouth will not convince people.

It is we must ensure that we have a structural reform. Among others:

1. Immediate abolishment of FOREIGN INVESTMENT COMMITTEE to attract investment

2. Implement merit system for entrance to local university so that we can counter the “SEDUCE SYSTEM BY OUR GOOD NEIGHBOURING COUNTRY”

3. Torn down all trade barriers BY (100%) eg excise duty on vehicles and AP system

4. Revoke the lucrative subsidy given to Independent Power Producer own by BILLIONAIRE and to use the money to finance MEGA infrstructure project to increase GDP such as comprehensive LRT project, up to date internet network, low cost houses for the poor, finance poor student to study at local university, build more hospital for the poor, subsidize more poor farmers with new technique and equipment to boost harvest, and a bullet train that link with S’pore to boost investment.

5. Immediate implementation of open tender to save government cost as a lower budget deficit will improve currency level.

If all this can be implement we can expect a good currency value. Thus we dont have to waste time to beg (former) MALAYSIAN to come back, but instead they will come back willingly and proud to tell every one that he/she is going back HOME, OUR VERY LOVELY MALAYSIA.

In fact Malaysia is the most fantastic country in the world with vast natural resources, great human capital, strategically located BUT with a rotten system and weak currently

25. #25 by Cinapek on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 12:38 pm

“..Can the Cabinet Committee on Human Resources headed by Muhyiddin come out with a masterplan to stop such a brain drain by not only ensuring that there is a quality education system in the country but that all talented Malaysians, regardless of race or religion, would be assured of equal opportunities both in education and employment as well as full respect of the constitutional right of all Malaysians….?”

Yes, it is not only the quality of the education but the whole package of quality of life that will resolve this problem. As long as you do not make a person feel wanted, he will not want to come back. Even if he/she did, they will not stay long once they are confronted with problems of Little Napoleons, discriminations at work based on race, top political leaders showing them the keris, massive protected corruptions at all levels, incompetent enforcement institutions that breeds rising crime, Judiciary subservient to the Executive, abuse of power by law enforcement agencies, selective prosecutions, racist elements inciting racial troubles by dragging cow’s heads and calling others “pendatangs”, intolerant religious fanatics who are unable to sit down to rational discussions but instead chose violent acts to intimidate and threaten.

26. #26 by Cinapek on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 12:44 pm

It is actually so simple. As Asians, most of us are naturally inclined to be near family and friends. For those with aged parents, they would prefer to be near them so that they can take care of infirm and old parents. Yet why did they choose to stay thousands of miles away and constantly worry about their loved ones? It takes a lot of soul searching to come to such decisions to live and work in another country.

Muhyuddin, given half the chance they will come back. So if they do not it is clear this country is not even giving them that half a chance. So it is a waste of your time to try appeals and silly offers like tax exemption on cars etc, to persuade them to return.

27. #27 by cintanegara on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 12:48 pm

Maybe they enjoy staying in high-rise apartment building….cant even afford to buy grounded properties…Have to come home for the holidays coz there is nothing left there…Anyone can just go for a quick dip at artificial beach and though its not comparable to a natural beach….

28. #28 by superstar48 on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 1:22 pm

Dear bro LKS, this muyidin guy is going to Europe,not to bring our brains back,it is his turn now to do shopping.His PM abang and wife have spent almost a million in their last trip,and so now it is his.This guys are worse that the Klang prostitutes,they will sell everyting around them to be famous and rich.The same went to Apanama,Zzzzzzzz,and so on.

29. #29 by -ec- on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 1:27 pm

the question we should also ask is why the dpm went to london in the midst of the Allah controversy? we all learned from our history that this sensitive issue could have a serious consequences. was he try to run away from his responsibility.

if this trip was not his choice, why his boss wanted to send him away at this time?

30. #30 by frankyapp on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 1:27 pm

//18 by Jeffrey…. quoting MY saying that he had been receiving quite a number of messages from non muslim friends in Sabah and Sarawak who said that there were christians who felt that things would not have happened in the first place ” if we christians would just not use the word “ALLAH”. Sabah and Sarawak christians have been using the word for more than a century,and only recently MY has been receiving messages such that “if we christians would just not use the word “ALLAH ” is something I could not buy. I think he is a liar,all I know all those messages he claimed he had received were from his cronies or some fortune hunters. On the contrary I can also claimed to have received hundreds messages from sincere muslim friends through out the nation saying that” the Umno/Bn regime should never had banned the word “ALLAH” ,hence disrupting christians to use the word in the first place. NR,MY,HH should know that Umno disturbed the hornet’s nest in the first place,now people are getting stung by the bees, they should be held responsible,not others.

31. #31 by -ec- on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 1:33 pm

we all should dare the dpm to go down to singapore to call back our best brains.

my, ask yourself why they should come back!

32. #32 by the reds on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 1:36 pm

I am sure all the talented people will not return to Malaysia, unless there is a change of government!!! Will the present government appreciate them if they return to Malaysia? This remains a concern for all of us…. BN will only protect their cronies… Will they care wheher you are talented, competent, efficient?

33. #33 by johnnypok on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 2:24 pm

Obviously they are not worried about losing Chinese and Indians brains. Protecting their own kind is more important, and at all cost. Remember they even tried to rescue the famous “Sophia”. Former badminton players were showered with millions. Datukship is quickly dish out to young and undeserving idiots all the time. Their “Kiasu” mentality is worst then the Singaporean.

34. #34 by imbcsab on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 2:38 pm

We all know S’pore is taking our best ‘O’ levels and ‘A’ levels students.
    Two years ago S’pore Govt Scouts offered my nephew a full scholarship (fees, room & board) to study in S’pore. My nephew was only twelve then.
    They have widened their search for our talent.
    We need to kick out the BN Govt to stop this brain drain that’s now spread to Primary school.
    Do your bit to get young M’sians to register as voters and get PR into power in next GE. Otherwise we are doomed.

35. #35 by watchmen on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 3:44 pm

We can judge the govt’s real intentions by their action as our brand experience. Empty words just don’t cut it anymore, no matter how many times they repeat them.

how umnoputras think:

– Non-malays can go migrate, we actually encourage, becos the more pie left for us malays. But cannot too many migrate suddenly to have big effect on malay share of economy. We want some brainy ones to stay back to serve us.
    – Indon muslims = malay associate. we welcome them as malays once assimilated. the more the merrier to push out the non-malays, is long term strategy. We prosper malays all over the world. non-malays can migrate if they don’t like the discrimination, we don’t care. We discriminate becos we have the power & the right.
    – non-malays with brains who stupidly come back are only good to help malays to prosper.
    But non-malays not allowed to prosper too much so that power is always in malay hands.
    – by hook or by crook is all ok to achieve malay supremacy objectives. Also we make sure malays get to write the history books.

how non-malays think:

I will only believe govt sincere if I see a substantial no. of towering non-malays promoted (on merit) to key positions in govt bodies, MNCs. Otherwise all talk cock only.

36. #36 by Loh on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 4:06 pm

The return of brains will not happen until the cause of the drains is settled, in the first place.

Brain drains began in a big way starting with NEP. Until the government proved that NEP would remain forever in 1990, those who were unsure became convinced that the racist regime would not change.

What is the point of returning from overseas now, even if the conditions are right, when they are sure that their children will migrate in the future?

The solution is to stop brain drains by removing NEP, now.

37. #37 by Dap man on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 4:15 pm

The police is Malay, the Judiciary is Malay, the universities (VCs) are Malay, the civil service is Malay, the GLCs are Malay, the medical service is Malay, the local councils are Malay and the government is arrogant Malay.

Now what contributions can brainy non Malays make when all positions have been taken up by Malays.

Why should they come back and be made subordinates to intellectually inferior bosses. And be discriminated. And surpassed in promotions by Malays.

Even MCA, MIC and Gerakan leaders’ children are migrating. These leaders have even bought properties in Australia where they will retire when they lose the next GE.

38. #38 by kheng888 on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 4:35 pm

To use less than 10 words to conclude why the government is don’t care about ‘brain drain’: majority of the best drains are non bumis!

all the BN big guns are using taxpayers’ monies for their ‘makan angin’ trip in oversea, one of such method, they thought they are very smart by using the name of ‘ wooing back best brains from oversea’ which classied as official trip so they don’t have to pay a cent for the trip.

Let VOTE wisely in next GE!

39. #39 by samurai77 on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 4:42 pm

This is a bloody racist country. As confessed by Nazri, Mathathir is racist and subsequently, confirmed by Mathathir himself, UMNO is racist too. Well, a country that governed by a racist party…what do we get? We will not get any fair dealings in this country when the UMNO goons are here to stay. In whatever sector, be it in education and business…they will ensure that they will get the biggest slice. Only the left over to be shared by non-Malay.
    With this condition, those non-Malay with the best brain…they will surely leave this racist country…tunggu apa lagi moron.

40. #40 by Suckkars on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 5:44 pm

Under Bakuthir’s regime with furious NEP, most of talents migrated. Now, under the Najizak’s sodomy NEP, even more migrations occur!!! What is use of mastering a language that is useless in the world arena? What is point of living under a sodomy government where words, such as Halla (reversing), Rojak, Tipu and etc, are banned from using by non-umikayu (Tapioca) ???

41. #41 by boh-liao on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 5:51 pm

No worry, Y need these ppl, small number saja
    Our population is climbing very quickly
    Now maybe >28 million, soon 30 million
    Got plenty of talents coming, what me worry
    1Malaysia will survive 1, got oil money, got palm oil, got ppl power 2 work as maids
    Now China coming 2 invest big time, billion RM masuk, starting in Sarawak
    By 2020, becomes China economic colony, nevermind 1

42. #42 by Leong Yook Kong on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 7:19 pm

I would like to share this experience with all of you here.

Encik Md Nayan bin Abdullah, Senior Assistant Director of SLDN had openly claimed that an academy offering SKM Level 1 to 3 for a certain batch of trainees did follow the minimum duration of 24 months as set by JPK. He testified that the programme was from 1-1-2008 to 10-12-2009. I did request him to repeat the dates, and he repeated them.

However, in actual facts the programme was from 31-03-2008 to November 2009 (8 months). The Letter of Offer (my supporting documentary edvience) from the academy already confirmed the duration of 8 months.

Is this what Muhyiddin wanted from the trainees, irrespective that the skills training was half baked? Why can such skills training education happen in Malaysia? Is this not offending the Legislative purpose?

43. #43 by Leong Yook Kong on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 7:24 pm

Correction “November 2009” should be read as “November 2008” Sorry for the inconvenience caused. Thanks.

44. #44 by ktteokt on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 8:05 pm

Yes, don’t expect the brainy ones who have migrated to come back to Bolehland to be placed under a “brainless idiot” as department head! They became department heads not because they have brains but because they have special skin colour!

45. #45 by johnnypok on Friday, 15 January 2010 - 9:01 pm

Very soon Malaysia has no more brains left.
    A brainless country is called “BODOHLAND”

46. #46 by waterfrontcoolie on Saturday, 16 January 2010 - 1:31 pm

Godfather, actually I’ve been trying to get the education Ministry to list out all those 12As & above; to find out what has become of them, at least in their academic pursuits. Maybe you can help out??? Ha! ha! ha!
    40 years ago, all those local papers are ‘massaged’ for the ego. We’ve done it!!! Of course, the test is in the eating of the pudding. First, their achievements in the overseas Us [ though, I was told that some desperate Us can be persuaded to ‘adjust’ as they would not be working over there] and then their working-life. If all these add up, then I apologize for the presumptious conclusion. Would they tell???

47. #47 by wanderer on Monday, 18 January 2010 - 12:02 pm

“A smart country” once a dream of all Malaysians, now has become a not very smart country…if allowed to slide further down, we will be known to our neighbours as a ‘DUMB Country”!
    Thanks to the KETUANAN MELAYU EGOIST Dicks!!

48. #48 by shackees on Thursday, 11 March 2010 - 7:37 pm

Can agree more than that. Malaysia is yet to plunge into the slums soon with the current assimilations of policies…