Najib and Hishammuddin would fail as 1Malaysia leaders if they take the easy way out to court popularity in the “Allah” controversy

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak and the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein would fail as 1Malaysia leaders if they take the easy way out to court popularity in the “Allah” controversy and fail to effectively represent all ethnic and religious groups in the country.

Hishammuddin said yesterday that the government does not prohibit the people from expressing their views over the use of the word “Allah” by the Catholic weekly magazine Herald, but on the condition that their actions do not undermine national security.

Najib today defended Hishammuddin’s stand on plans by several organizations to stage a demonstration on Friday tomorrow to protest the use the word “Allah” by other religions.

Would Najib and Hishammuddin be so benign and tolerant if demonstrations are organized to support the Kuala Lumpur High Court’s Dec. 31 judgment that the Herald may use the term “Allah”?

Both the Prime Minister and Home Minister’s stance are in direct contradiction to the rationale for the urgent “stay” application on the KL High Court’s “Allah” judgment made by the Attorney-General on behalf of the Home Ministry on the ground of “national interest” and agreed to by the Catholic Church also in the national interest.

Why have the “national interest” and concerns of national security prompting the extraordinary speed with which the application for stay for the KL High Court judgment of Dec. 31 was made, a hearing date fixed and application granted – all within a week – suddenly disappeared from the radar of the powers-that-be immediately after the granting of the “stay” with the consent of the Catholic Church?

Was the government decision to appeal against the KL High Court judgment made in the name of “1Malaysia” – receiving the Cabinet’s approval and not just at the instance of the Home Minister?

Malaysians of all faiths and the world are watching how Malaysia – Najib and his government in particular – are handling the “Allah” controversy, whether in line or totally in disregard of the Najib policy and slogan of “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now”.

There had been responsible and rational responses as well as irresponsible, irrational, emotional and even extremist responses.

The “Allah” controversy is not a time for one-upmanship or brinkmanship. It is an acid test as to whether the Najib administration is capable of responsible, sober and just response and rational conflict-resolution in plural Malaysia.

On its handling of the “Allah” controversy, Malaysians and the world may be making a conclusive judgment whether Najib’s “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” policy is to be taken seriously or is just an empty slogan.

I had suggested that the Cabinet should convene an inter-religious conference to reach an out-of-court settlement of the “Allah” controversy to demonstrate that Najib’s 1Malaysia policy has meaningful application in conflict-resolution and creating inter-religious understanding, goodwill and harmony in Malaysia.

Why is Najib and his Cabinet shy in responding to this proposal?

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 11:35 pm

“Isn’t the gathering at the mosques on Fridays considered as an ASSEMBLY?” (ktteokt)

Gather at the mosque for having prayers session does not need a Police permit for assembly. However, gather outside the mosque for doing demonstration and protest against Catholic Church can be seen as a belligerent challenge trying to arouse sensitive incitement. Holding a demonstration for protest against someone else’s religion can be seen as a seditious act, which is violating the law. All peace-loving Malaysians should not have taken part in this kind of hatred-creating devil-driven demonstration!

2. #2 by johnnypok on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 11:40 pm

Unproductive activity, uncivilised, and lazy, how to progress?

3. #3 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 11:43 pm

chengho,
    The sophistication of the Malay language may be in question if you do not allow “Allxh” to be used by Catholics to mean God. The Holy Bible already uses “Tuhan” to mean “The Lord”, to reuse “Tuhan” again to mean God is awkward and does not reflect the accurate meaning of God in the context of biblical scriptures. Why don’t you get a copy of the Malay version of the Holy Bible in order to find out the difference between the word “Tuhan” and the word “Allxh”?

4. #4 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 11:52 pm

Perhaps we should introduce a new word “God” into the Malay dictionary so that the Catholics are left with one more option to use “God” instead of “Allxh” for referring to Jehovah Jireh.

5. #5 by tenaciousB on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 1:05 am

yeah what happened to him, did he get put under ISA?

6. #6 by johnnypok on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 1:11 am

He became a Christian and live happily ever after.

7. #7 by ekans on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 1:11 am

#50 by chengho on Thursday, 7 January 2010 – 11:28 pm

Ekans;

probably all this while they’ve been misled by the missionaries , why not only ‘ Tuhan ‘… check with Vatican…

chengho,

Earlier, I had posted a comment in a previous topic in LKS’s blog which contains an excerpt from http://www.answering-christianity.com/allah2.htm

Further proofs from brother Tera Tak Adamar; may Allah Almighty always be pleased with him:

LAI stand for Lembaga AlKitab Indonesia or Indonesian Bible Society.

please visit: http://www.alkitab.or.id/foreword.htm

Recently there was a big issue among Christians in Indonesia about the word ‘Allah’ used as God in the Indonesian’s Bible by LAI. Some have said that ‘Allah’ is not a truth God, and should be used ‘Elohim’ instead. But LAI just keep quiet.

The issue come to the peak when there was a group of Christians produced their version of Bible by removing the word ‘Allah’ as name of God and put ‘Elohim’ instead. This version of Bible has started to spread, and Christians in Indonesia have started to confuse, which is which????

In this critical condition, Indonesian Bible Society under United Bible Societies (UBS) – WORLDWIDE BIBLE SOCIETY has wrote a circular to defend that ‘Allah’ is really the God of every prophet, the article is “Penggunaan “Allah” dalam Alkitab” or in English is “The Using of “Allah” in AlKitab (Bible)” by Dr. Daud H.Soesilo (Email: ubs@mlg.mega.net.id), he start his explanation about who Is ‘Allah’ originally by:

“el, elohim, eloah adalah nama pencipta alam semesta dalam bahasa Ibrani, bahasa asli Alkitab Perjanjian Lama. Dalam bahasa Arab, allah (bentuk ringkas dari al ilah) merupakan istilah yang seasal (cognate) dengan kata Ibrani el, elohim, eloah.”

in English….

“el, elohim, eloah is the name of the creator of the universe in Hebrew (Ibrani), the original language of the Old Testament. In Arabic language, allah (simplified form from from al-illah) is the cognated title with the word in Hebrew for el, elohim, eloah.”

please visit the whole explination – all in Indonesia language: http://www.alkitab.or.id/jelas.htm

So this is clearify who Allah really is. He is the God of this universe and the God of every prophet.

To make you confirm about this matter please email to Dr. Daud H.Soesilo from UBS or write or Email to Mr. Supardan, the General Secretary of LAI, his address is:

LEMBAGA ALKITAB INDONESIA. All rights reserved.
    Jln. Salemba Raya No. 12,
    Jakarta 10430 –
    Indonesia
    Phone: (62-21) – 3142890, Fax: (62-21) – 3101061,
    Email: info@alkitab.or.id

That URL is from a page of a website which was set up by an American Arab Muslim of Palestinian origin named Osama Abdallah to defend Islam against criticisms by certain Christians.
    So, why isn’t Osama Abdallah, in the defence of Islam, criticising Indonesian Christians and the Indonesian Bible Society for probably being misled by the missionaries all this why over the use of that word instead of only ‘Tuhan’?
    Check with Osama Abdallah… His e-mail address is in his website…

8. #8 by tenaciousB on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 1:44 am

Hi there, the Catholics and Christians need your support…..check this facebook out http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=248123628088&ref=mf

9. #9 by undertaker888 on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 7:44 am

well the pari@hs have spoken cowardly. They are burning chuches now. But we will remain calm cause we are not Pari@h like them idiots. People who do not know how to reason will always choose violence to get their way.
    those who live by the sword shall perish by the sword.

Well idiots continue to do what you are doing. Let the world see what kind of pari@h tuans are you. The gundu type I believe.

10. #10 by taiking on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 8:54 am

All_h means umno.
    That is a fact.
    So accept it boys.
    Just like I did.
    And immediately your mind would clear up.
    The issue will then vanish.
    “Jib Jib Boleh.”

I notice the return of long forgotten umno cybertrooper “chengho” – an umnoputra in cheongsam. Soon Zak too will return.

11. #11 by a2a on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 8:58 am

This matter involve international muslim communitities translation to other language.

Well, it translate it as Muslim name for god.

or they prefer to tranlate it newly as Muslim’s god.

If they prefer to new one translation then it need accepted by international muslim communities.

This is not a small matter, it involve the name of GOD.

If there is only one GOD, and every human are his children regardless of races and religions then it may annoy him.

12. #12 by veddy.lum74 on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 9:05 am

while other countries are combating extremely cold and snows,some are having -60 degree C,this Bolehland is about to burst from a word “Allah”!

It shows that too many racists in this land,we didnt see them gather 1 million ppl to protest Mat Rempit,corruption,anti-dadah,rob n rape n wrong-doings by certain ppl,but thy
    are very expert in escalating the ‘temperature’ of race or religion issues,right?

13. #13 by tenaciousB on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 9:16 am

once again they’re innate terrorist type misdeeds.

14. #14 by veddy.lum74 on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 9:17 am

indonesia,turki,egypt,95% muslims,never bully their fellow minority non-muslims over penny issues,moreover,muslims can go for beauty pageant contests,in India,Shahrul Khan married an Hindhu wife but she doesnt hv to convert,and till today,the muslim woman that drank beer issue was still pending for dunno wat reasons……..

15. #15 by veddy.lum74 on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 9:31 am

yes,let the snows come to Malaysia,cool down the fool ppl here!

16. #16 by artemisios on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 10:14 am

CH Tan,
    Excellent observation.

You see, in the past there was actually no issue at all, we all get along ok. The muslims were fine with non-muslims using the word “Allah” as long as they don’t insult “Allah”.

This is never an issue. never.

Until now. Some very irresponsible party is trying to use this as an opportunity to start some kind of fight.
    Now they’re grabbing every opportunity they see & try their best to turn it into a religion/race issue.

Everyone please don’t fall into another evil trap from the crooked you-know-who.

Hey, maybe one day some unlucky guy lost control of his car on the road and accidentally damaged the gate of a mosque. & if those punks found out the guy driving the car was not a muslim… voila! you know what?

They’re going to call this an insult to Islam! They’ll pay a few people to start some kind of protest. They’d hope other muslims can get mislead & join in. They’d hope the protest turns ugly…

17. #17 by Bigjoe on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 10:30 am

PJ, Desa Melawati – Thank you UMNO/BN, we now joined Beirut and West Bank..And UMNO/BN did it ALL on their own..Congratualation.

18. #18 by k1980 on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 10:33 am

19. #19 by taiking on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 10:45 am

Church fire-bombed. Will the police arrest a jobless and homeless man with mental problem and charge him for arson? And will the Home Min then say that no high level people all_hputras involved?

20. #20 by Bigjoe on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 10:46 am

When they start to say, they don’t know who did the bombing or it could be a conspiracy, the only answer is IT DOES NOT MATTER, its UMNO/BN fault Period..

21. #21 by taiking on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 10:47 am

Najib has lost all control.
    Who is now in command?

22. #22 by Jeffrey on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 11:00 am

The God of Universe and creator of all will be aghast that his children are fighting over and politicizing who or which group has exclusive right to call him by a certain name in His honour.

23. #23 by cemerlang on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 11:15 am

We seem to have forgotten. The Quran talks about the end of the world. The Bible agrees with this too. So we shall wait and see the appearance of this one true God which everyone wants to claim is his or hers. Is it Allah or is it Tuhan aka God ?

24. #24 by Jeffrey on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 11:16 am

I am shocked by the Malaysiakini’s report Jan 8, 10 6:49am of:-

“A church has been fire-bombed in an attack that gutted its ground floor, church officials said, escalating a dispute over the use of the word ‘Allah’ by non-Muslims.At least four other churches are also believed to have been attacked in the last 12 hours in the Klang Valley, including the Assumption Church in Petaling Jaya. “

The attack on PJ church apparently failed.

This is TheMalaysiaInsider’s report by Debra Chong PETALING JAYA, Jan 8 filed :-

(Quote) “A Catholic church next to the Assunta Hospital here came under attack early this morning, just hours after another church in nearby Kuala Lumpur was torched. Roman Catholic church officials said some homemade explosives were lobbed into the Church of the Assumption in Jalan Templar at about 4am.
    “It did not explode,” said Father Lawrence Andrew, the editor of Catholic paper Herald.
    Lawrence was himself informed of the incident through a text message sent out by Assumption parish priest Father Phillips Muthu.
    “Someone threw homemade kerosene explosives into Assumption Church, Jalan Templar, Petaling Jaya at 4am. Am going to Police later. Earlier the Metro Tabernacle was burned in Desa Melawati, media has filed story,” said the message forwarded to The Malaysian Insider. (Unquote)

As can be seen here, it is highly irresponsible for our politicians to play up religious issues and create tension just for the sake of political mileage and their popularity.

It will provoke fanatics of marginal mentality to perpertrate violent acts like these which will in turn create disharmony in a multi-racial and multi religious society like ours and escalate tensions if not violence detrimental to all.

In light of what has happened and the tense situation to allow demonstrations is to court disaster.

25. #25 by k1980 on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 11:20 am

The next word to be off-limits to them troublesome kristiens would be “Amin”

26. #26 by Jeffrey on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 11:22 am

It is imperative for our politicians to stop their politising of the issue and for the govt to come out with an immediate statement to condemn the attacks on the churches and to show unequivocal determination to stop/clamp down illegal public assemblies that only serve to exacerbate tension by adding fuel to fire in light of what happened.

27. #27 by tenaciousB on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 12:04 pm

i’m really saddened with malaysian politics. i’m tempted to take my famiily away for good.

28. #28 by k1980 on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 12:08 pm

http://malaysiakini.com/news/121433

Quote of the Millennium:

Najib: We can’t stop people from protesting

(What did the police do to Hindraf, Tian Chua, Candlelight vigil holders ect?)

29. #29 by jackl on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 12:14 pm

“So this is clearify who Allah really is. He is the God of this universe and the God of every prophet. ”

Wrong.

God who revealed Himself through the jewish scriptures is not known as Allah but

Then Moses said to God, “Behold, I am going to the sons of Israel, and I will say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me
    to you.’ Now they may say to me, ‘What is His name?’
    What shall I say to them?”

God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM”; and He said,
    “Thus you shall say to the sons of Israel,
    ‘I AM has sent me to you.’

God, furthermore, said to Moses, “Thus you shall say to the sons of Israel, ‘The LORD (YHWH), the God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob,
    has sent me to you.’ This is My name forever, and
    this is My memorial-name to all generations.
    Exodus 3:13-15

Christians may use allah to denote god but this word cannot be used as a proper noun to describe YHWH as Dr. Daud H.Soesilo has indicated. Wrong.

30. #30 by Tonberry on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 12:21 pm

Bombing churches = 1Malaysia?
    any Umnoputra have to comment about this?

31. #31 by avatar1 on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 12:21 pm

Most unfortunate incidents !
    Leaders should calm situation Now.
    Christians should also remain calm and steadfast in faith.
    Your God Jesus ask you to love even those who persecute you, pray for them.
    Jesus loves you and will help you always. Peace.

32. #32 by Bigjoe on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 12:26 pm

Actually I disagree with those that want the govt to stop the protestor. I say go protest. They police should be going after the bombers/attempted bomber.

If you go on twitter, you will hear and overwhelming outpouring of disgust for the acts against the churches – mostly from Malay Muslim. There is even many calls by them to donate and help rebuild the church.

What we have seen is clear evidence there was and has NEVER BEEN real justification for govt to get into the religion of anyone including Malay Muslim in this country. The protest and bombing are the result of the govt messing around with religion. If it just leaves the people alone, they will do fine. Its the same case with social engineering or NEP or national service, languages etc. Just get the hell out of such issues and deal with corruption, poverty, public services, education and everything will work itself out.

33. #33 by k1980 on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 12:37 pm

BREAKING NEWS!!!

Following Bolehland’s example,

The Greeks have decided that they have absolute rights to the word “democracy” and so other countries are prohibited from using that word to describe their system of government.

And the Chinese have also decided that they have absolute rights to their ancient inventions of gunpowder, printing and the compass, and other countries will have to pay royalties when using the above items.

And the Indians have claimed exclusive rights to their nasi kandar, so Malaysian food stalls are not
    eligible to sell that particular dish.

1Malaysia Boleh!!

34. #34 by ekans on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 12:41 pm

KL, PJ, Klang Valley areas, most have voted for Pakatan Rakyat during GE12.
    Hopefully the churches frequented by the bumiputra Christians in Sabah & Sarawak (where most have voted for UMNO’s BN) will remained unharmed.

35. #35 by taiking on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 12:42 pm

I cant see christians in the country reacting with aggression at all. Then again, umnoputras aka all_hputras will almost certainly take any reaction, no matter how mild or peaceful, to be a challenge against their right as tuan (now god) of the country.

God is the english word for allaah. So watch it guys. Umnoputras would soon be claiming sole and exclusive ownership of the word “God” as well.

36. #36 by rockdaboat on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 1:18 pm

“BREAKING NEWS!!!

Following Bolehland’s example,

The Greeks have decided that they have absolute rights to the word “democracy” and so other countries are prohibited from using that word to describe their system of government.

And the Chinese have also decided that they have absolute rights to their ancient inventions of gunpowder, printing and the compass, and other countries will have to pay royalties when using the above items.

And the Indians have claimed exclusive rights to their nasi kandar, so Malaysian food stalls are not
    eligible to sell that particular dish.

1Malaysia Boleh!!”

And Indonesia has claimed exclusive rights to Bahasa Indonesia, so spelt end of the day for the so-called Bahasa Melayu (most of which are Bahasa Indonesia).

Malaysia “Tak Boleh”, and need to invent a new language.

Oh yes, hospital (ruma sakit is Indonesian?);
    Polis (mata-mata is Indonesian?); quisen, Otopedik, rekod, komputer, implikasi, sensasi, saikology, talivisen. See Malaysia still “Boleh”.

Oops, Inggeris people better don’t claim exclusive rights to English, otherwise, susah lah, got to invent another language pula.

Just for fun.

37. #37 by frankyapp on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 4:24 pm

Thanks GOD ALMIGHTY,the ummnoputras are attacking and bombing only some selected churches throught out the country.I think most malaysian catholics/christians have the love of GOD and through the grace of GOD have patience and would not retaliate but just forgive all those devil driven trouble makers as they did not know what they were doing.On the contrary,What’s really worring me pretty much is these evil umnoputras,not satisfied with the result would turn to attacking and bombing certain mosques through out the country and putting the sole blame on catholics/christians. They would then go on a holy war or “jihat” retaliation spree. This is a fact I have learned from the Sabah State’s mosque incident. It would be a tragedy if it’s repeated again.

38. #38 by Evenmind on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 6:46 pm

Kerismuddin and Najib are the two mafia heads directing all the operations, if the latter can blow up human bodies, what is a building? Then they gloat by saying they are donating RM 500K (tax payers monies, not part from the submarine commissions) for the damage,
    HIPOCRATES

39. #39 by Evenmind on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 6:58 pm

WHAT IS NEXT???? ???? Are they going to blow up sikh temples in Malaysia, becos thier holy scripture dating a few centuruies also uses the ‘A’ word.

CAN SOMEONE SEND THE GOVERNMENT OF MALAYSIA BACK TO PRIMARY SCHOOL TO STUDY ENGLISH.

40. #40 by Evenmind on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 9:03 am

The most extremist political party in Malaysia is…… you guest it right , no need to mention , thy capitalize on trival issues to endear themselves to the muslims on the street. and they say they are innocent, they said they had nothing do do with the burning of churches, when in fact the two top ministers from that party were the ones who endorsed the demonstrations ( after friday prayers) at the very first place, only following that the attacks began . NOW they have started stoning a sikh temple, WHERE DOES THE BUCK STOP WITH THESE CORRUPT EXTREMISTS.

Comments are closed.