The New God of UMNO

By M. Bakri Musa

In his celebrated novel Ranjau Sepanjang Jalan (RSJ – Spikes Throughout the Pathway), Shahnon Ahmad chronicles the seemingly endless traps of poverty endured by a kampong family. Or in his elegant words, “bencana-bencana yang tidak bisa langsai selagi jantung berdegup [dan] nadi berdenyut … ” (never ending cycle of calamities endured as long as your heart beats and pulse throbs). Shahnon asserts that the pain could only be felt by those willing to reflect on and empathize with the struggles of our pap-pak tani (peasant farmers).

This thought haunts me as I reflect on the hoopla surrounding the recent UMNO General Assembly. The soaring rhetoric of “1-Malaysia” and of reform is a universe away from the world inhabited by RSJ’s main character, Lahuma. The irony strikes hard as the Lahumas are the very people UMNO professes to champion.

The biting irony does not end there. Many of the Assembly participants, including the high-flying ones, are only a generation or two away from the deprivations so painfully detailed in RSJ. Those agonizing memories must have been seared into them by their parents and grandparents. That should motivate anyone to do something to alleviate the debilitating poverty still experienced by so many today.

Yet I did not sense even an inkling of that sentiment at this grand gathering of self-declared “defenders of the Malays.” Even more bizarre is that these UMNO delegates still have friends and relatives in abundance who continue to suffer the pain of peasant life. And let’s face it, stripped of their political patronages many of the currently high-living delegates would be reduced to a Lahuma existence overnight.

I doubt that many of the delegates have heard of Shahnon Ahmad, let alone read his novels. Hence they would not know what I am writing about. I once tried to buy his books at one of KL’s major bookstores, only to be greeted by the sales clerk’s response of, “Shahnon siapa?” (Who?) A stinging indictment of our education system!

Thus a brief summary of RSJ is warranted before proceeding. The book describes the endless cascading calamities of droughts, floods, and infestations suffered by one poor farmer (Lahuma). His tragedy (but not the book) ends with his unnecessary death, from an untreated trifling sliver injury. His demise compounds the anguish of his wife, who goes berserk and ends up being locked in a cage by her fellow villagers.

Shahnon’s depiction of the tyranny of poverty is a universal theme. We see this in John Steinbeck’s The Grapes of Wrath, the travails of a sharecropper’s family in drought-stricken Oklahoma of the Depression era, and Pearl S. Buck’s The Good Earth, also about a peasant family, this time in pre-revolution China.

Today, the descendents of Steinbeck’s Tom Joad are busy running the thriving agro-businesses in San Joaquin Valley, while Buck’s Wang Lung’s grandchildren are actively trading in US Treasury papers.

In contrast, Lahuma’s cicit (great grandchildren) are still scraping a harsh living in their disintegrating kampong; his fears of their being reduced to begging painfully prescient. Over half a century of unchallenged UMNO leadership, Malays are reduced to begging: begging for handouts from their government, begging for economic scraps from non-Malays, and begging for respect from others.

UMNO leaders may have been to Oxford and resided in sophisticated capitals of the world, alas scratch their hide and the ‘kampongness’ oozes out of the pores. They are still trapped by the same cultural genes as Lahuma’s. Where he is crippled by religious fatalism – “Mati hidup dan susah senang dipegang oleh Tuhan” (Life and death, hardship and ease, are in Allah’s hands) – UMNO members are ensnared by the political variety. They believe their fate is in the hands of the party; it is their savior, their new god – UMNO dulu, kini, dan selama nya! (UMNO – Then, now, and forever!)

To UMNO folks, the party has replaced Allah as the source of bounty and benevolence, as well as the punisher and decider of their fate. Corrupt leaders are forgiven not by Allah but by the party. The benevolence does not end there. Isa Samad had his political corruption sentence reduced, and then he was rewarded to be the party’s election candidate. Khairy Jamaluddin had his “money politics” conviction essentially pardoned, and then blessed by being head of UMNO Youth!

With such compelling examples, no wonder UMNO members turn to their new god with the gusto of a fresh convert. Just as Lahuma would never question Allah’s design, UMNO members too would not dare question their god and risking his wrath.

There was one obvious departure with this recent Assembly. Gone were the obligatory race-taunting theatrics, shrill calls for defending the ‘honor’ of the Malays, and other ugly chauvinistic displays. Time will tell whether this shift represented a change of heart or tactic.

My take is that this is more of the latter. For one, UMNO leaders have not been known to utter anything sensible. When they do, one wonders whether it comes from within or merely the parroting of poll-tested printouts from their public relations hire. For another, there is a huge gulf between what those leaders preach and practice.

UMNO’s latest obsession is combating corruption and rejuvenating the party. At least that is the impression their leaders give. Yet when given an opportunity to demonstrate its resolve, as with the recent by-election in Bagan Pinang, the party chose a tired and tainted character to be its standard bearer. I would have thought that it would pick someone who best exemplified the “new, rejuvenated” UMNO.

In judging UMNO leaders (and thus Prime Ministers), there was only one who understood the plight of our Lahumas. Because he understood them, Tun Razak was able to craft imaginative and effective policies, such as his massive rural development schemes, in particular FELDA.

The Tun’s massive expansion of educational opportunities (Gerakan Lampu Suloh – Operation Torch) brought light to the families of the Lahumas, enabling them to escape the trap of poverty. His expansion of health facilities in rural areas (Klinik Desa) ensured that they would not die unnecessarily from simple treatable diseases.

Tun Razak did not belittle or poke fun at the cultural beliefs or biological heritage of the villagers. While they fervently believed that their fate was in Allah’s hands, Tun Razak demonstrated there was much that his government could do to persuade if not prod Allah to alter that destiny. He was more persuaded by another Quranic verse: Allah would not change the condition of a people unless they first make an effort at it. As leader, Tun Razak felt a great obligation to help his people change their conditions by bringing education, health care, and development to the villages.

He could not care less about Malay leadership, Ketuanan Melayu, Glokal Malay, or any other cutesy slogans. Take care of those three basics (health, education and economic development), and the rest will take care of themselves. There are no shortcuts; stunt or showy development projects cannot replace the real need for improving our schools and healthcare, or bringing development to rural areas.

Now that the delegates are back home to savor the memories of their brief moments in the limelight, I am left wondering what specifically did they do that would directly impact the lives of our villagers. None! The Pak Lahumas would continue enduring their dreary life, one that has remained unchanged for the past half a century under UMNO rule, save for Tun Razak’s brief tenure. If UMNO gets its way, that life will remain the same for the next few generations.

Pondering the fate and empathizing with the plight of our pak-pak tani are furthest away from the thoughts of these UMNO leaders. They will however, make a brief and perfunctory show of both come election time, when our Lahumas can expect gifts of kain pelakat, in return for their votes of course.

1. #1 by katdog on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 11:27 am

And i was just thinking how funny it was that many chinese i met blamed PAS for the plight of the Malays in Kelantan.

Its very funny that these ‘supposedly’ well educated chinese cannot see that it is because of UMNO and not PAS that Kelantan is so poor. After all, Terengganu, an UMNO state is equally as poor as Kelantan. Same for Sabah and Sarawak. Because of UMNO many Malays and bumis still live in poverty despite 30 years of NEP.

In fact, PAS in Kelantan has survived for 18 years without federal aid. Compare this to the chinese who have constantly gone begging to BN for ‘development’. Would the chinese be able to do better if they had to rule a state for 18 years without federal aid? They should get the facts straight. UMNO is the reason why many Malaysians still live in poverty.

2. #2 by k1980 on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 11:31 am

After “1-Malaysia”, will there be “1-Party”, “1-Philosopy” and “1-Leader” as is the case with North Korea? And then Love Live Chairman Jib?

3. #3 by monsterball on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 11:31 am

Today Bakri Musa talk sense….so little with lots of nonsense to show….how educated he is.
    A book shop attendant does not know…who is..Shahnon Ahmad is shocking to him….spells the way he thinks and understands humans.
    No doubt…today’s politics by UMNO turns him off…nice news for readers to know..but next day…if he likes what he hears frOm UMNO…..who knows….what this lover of reading lots of books may conclude.
    In his past messages…he did show he is a proud Malay…proud of his race..that present situations ask all to be united as Malaysians maybe secondary matter to him too.
    As such…I will keep an arm’s length to be away from his friendliness.
    Kopitiam fellas are simply and straight forward…no need so much mumbo jumjo….as written by him…where whole message…what is he really trying to tell us…you go and conclude.
    I keep reading…what a bookworm he is.

4. #4 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 11:32 am

Again, another holiday? Soon Malaysia will have 360 holidays out of 365 days a year. Can we find a country that has more holidays than Malaysia? Holiday is to please the people? What kind of mentality are the Malaysians (both the politicians and the people).

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 11:36 am

UMNO threw out God back in May 13, 1969. Its just that the devil is smart enough to not show himself too obviously. However UMNO is not as bright…

6. #6 by johnnypok on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 11:42 am

“What goes up must come down” … sooner or later UMNO will have to come down, and the longer they stay, the more painful when they fall.

7. #7 by Joshua on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 12:59 pm

Soon every day for holiday to remember all the great PMs of Umno for their birthdays.

So we will have two public holidays for Tun M for he two birthdays .

so Sept 16, 916 both ways is another sign of snap GE 13 soon after the budget 2010 tabled on 23 Oct.

pw: 308,658 strobes

8. #8 by taiking on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 4:07 pm

The new god of umno huh. Whaooo. And mca was reported in yesterday’s paper as saying: “mca must emulate umno …”

9. #9 by Loh on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 4:08 pm

///A book shop attendant does not know…who is..Shahnon Ahmad is shocking to him….spells the way he thinks and understands humans.///-monsterball

Interesting observation. Is it 1Malaysia 1knowlege at work?

10. #10 by LG on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 6:14 pm

These UMNO leaders though they professed that they believed and worshipped God but in actuality they practised, acted and spoke portrayed that their God they worship is actually UMNO the Supreme God. They do not have real fear of God and their God is just in their mouth, in their mind, in their stomach, in their … #@*$? When the UMNO head spoke, the rest of the UMNO leaders “kaw-tow”.

I challenge them starting from UMNO head, its President then the Deputy President, Vice-Presidents and the rest of the UMNO supreme committees on a lie detector test (conducted by independent foreign experts) to test whether they ever commit any corruption, abuse of power, immorality, telling many lies, racism and the many evils. If anyone passed the lie test of not commit any corruption (this one test only), I am willing and most gladly to give my house, my car and saving of about a hundred thousand ringgit to him or her. I bet 100% will fail the test and even fail badly.

11. #11 by k1980 on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 6:41 pm

http://www.malaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/40806-soi-lek-asks-registrar-for-reinstatement-as-mca-no-2

Chin Peng should emulate Viagra Chua and apply to the ROS for reinstatement as malaysian citizen

12. #12 by tenaciousB on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 8:44 pm

LG :
    These UMNO leaders though they professed that they believed and worshipped God but in actuality they practised, acted and spoke portrayed that their God they worship is actually UMNO the Supreme God. They do not have real fear of God and their God is just in their mouth, in their mind, in their stomach, in their … #@*$? When the UMNO head spoke, the rest of the UMNO leaders “kaw-tow”.

Malaysia is more islamic than arab is, so i hope you get my point. The greatest hypocrites in malaysia live in politics, they set the rules based on a religion but practice the complete opposite and then prosecute a poor malay girl who drank alcohol. LOL!

13. #13 by Ramesh Laxman on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 9:02 pm

What do you mean ‘New God Of UMNO”. For your information , if you do not know it already, UMNO is GOD.

14. #14 by vsp on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 9:41 pm

Najib has announced that Malaysia Day will be a national holiday.

If I were to made a choice between celebrating Merdeka Day or Malaysia Day, I would definitely choose the most sensible thing, i.e. Malaysia Day.

Merdeka Day? What’s Merdeka Day, it’s a silly joke because we are being colonised by the UMNOputra pirates. Anyway, most of these UMNOputras are not true Malays but the most rapacious opportunists descended from other races.

Come Merdeka Day, I won’t be celebrating it; instead I prefer to work and save it for Malaysia Day.

15. #15 by vsp on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 10:11 pm

I have an advice for Anwar Ibrahim: please don’t punish yourself with extra workload. Your constituency is here and not overseas. People voted Pakatan because they still have hope in Malaysia. It seemed you have been too involved in the lecture circuit and reveled in the international limelight and have been remiss in nurturing the fledging Pakatan much to the delight of the BN. You seem to manage the Pakatan through remote-control. The Pakatan is in a terrible mess: quarelling, plotting and stabbing one another. People like Zulkifli Noordin, Choo Wee Keong and Azmin Ali from your own party have brought untold miseries and yet they have not been disciplined.

Your visibility has not been felt and seen during this troubled growing pains of the Pakatan but only during ceramahs. Ceramahs are fine but if people do not see you in action locally, what you say during ceramahs will soon grow thin and the Pakatan will surely lose in the next general election. Please put on hold your overseas assignments and concentrate your energies locally. Pakatan depends on your charisma 100%.

16. #16 by tenaciousB on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 11:06 pm

Anwar’s vision is a failure as you can see things have backfired for him. He did not plan his take over with full proof, it was more of an overambitious take over with lots of false promises. He led many astray without a fullproof plan and thus the recent reprocurement of states one by one by BN.

We need a more calibrous leader to contend with BN. If not it’s that time where we citizens have to cut out loses and migrate out to a country to values us as citizens.

17. #17 by johnnypok on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 11:54 pm

PR should consult our very own “God of Politics”, namely Mahal Teh the Great, and offer to make him the President of the Coalition Party.

18. #18 by monsterball on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 3:53 am

Ramesh Laxman…Are you saying you are praying to UMNO as a God now………or that UMNO is mighty and powerful political party….which is which?
    Perhaps you are saying…UMNO putting themselves…above God…….mocking God?
    I hope you are saying UMNO BARU is a low class hypocritical party…will doing anything….even insulting God.
    What LKS is saying…has so many negative meanings for Najib……not a compliment.

19. #19 by monsterball on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 4:29 am

Now…johnnypok….Mahathir is not “God of Politics”.
    He is a confirmed devil reincarnated.
    PR will never do what you suggested because Mahathir is the master of all dirty politics…using money to corrupt and buy up the country. He is most evil…for 22 years…a generation of Malaysians have been lead by him….to be cunning…to be crooked..to lie….to be cunning….to twist and turn…from facts to fictions and vice versa….to cheat…to be lazy …to depend on UMNO..and learn the art….how to know right people to be rich…and not how to perform with knowledge to succeed in life.
    Fortunately….majority Malaysians work for commercial firms or on their own business….and that needs real knowledge..skills and truthfulness to succeed…….making majority Malaysians fully aware who Mahathir is.
    Najib have no better ideas.
    He is trying to copy Mahathir…with slogans and then contradicts himself…to expose what a low class cunning liar he is.
    With that character confirmed…go and remember…he sworn by the Koran…he does not know the Mongolian murdered lady….murdered by C4ed bomb stuffs…a controlled item…under his authority as Min.Of Defence.
    Mahathir have aLways treated Najib very special…in his 22 years as PM….because it was Najib’s father who brought Mahathir back to UMNO with the help of Harun Idris…defying Tunku…the founder of UMNO.
    There lies the first sign…..how ungrateful present UMNO members are…to the Father Of Independence…yet celebrating Merdeka Day….with no guilty feelings at all.
    Some stayed in UMNO BARU..trying hard to change lost souls back to original UMNO…but failed miserably….for greed..false titles..false hopes….with formulas how to cheat steal and rob…with no fear…..for MONEY is now the true God for UMNO BARU….money that belongs to Malaysians…all taken by UMNO..to do as they like.
    The devil reincarnated have succeeded to make UMNO BARU…exactly as he planned.
    Najib is just an instrument of the devil…..right now.
    The issue is…are we going to allow the devil rule over us?
    If so…lets all give up religions…burn down temples mosques and churches…and live with jungle laws…be low class animals..not to think …but to obey…UMNO.
    Malaysians cannot afford to be selfish anymore.
    Choose your path of life…between UMNO and Pakatan Rakyat….between…Mahathir and Najib…against Anwar..Lim Kit Siang..Lim Guan Eng..Karpal..Tok Guru Aziz..which means…UMNO dictatorial government or by keDAILan..DAP and PAS co-operation…for freedom and dignity.

20. #20 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 8:36 am

….my opinion is maybe anwar is thinking a bit ahead. Imagine pr has the possibilty of paving the road to putrajaya in ge13.

What will be the reactions once cornered? Invoke emergency rule. Invoke ops lalang. Invoke the army. Unleash hell to stay in power at whatever cost. These are the norms we experienced in our life here. Nothing new.

My guess is anwar has to go overseas for support. He needs all the backings he can get knowing there will be no govt machinery to support him if any untowards incident happened.

Remember that anwar was once upon a time 2nd man on the land. He knows pretty well how the govt works.

Anyway this is my 2sens. He may be on holiday.

21. #21 by taiking on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 8:47 am

Mca to emulate umno the god. Now, how is that possible? Pray to the umno god of course. A specially designed umno god figurine (in all probability it will look something like the goddess of mercy – male version of course with the face of najib and the logo of umno embossed somewhere) will be handed out free of charge soon.

22. #22 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 9:40 am

..probably a figurine of 6 heads representing all previous and current PMs, riding on a wild beast drunk with innocent blood in a cup. That would be scary like in the movies…

23. #23 by Loh on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 10:31 am

///There lies the first sign…..how ungrateful present UMNO members are…to the Father Of Independence…yet celebrating Merdeka Day….with no guilty feelings at all.///– Monsterball

UMNO leaders suggested MCA should emulate UMNO. The newly minted Deputy President LYL did just that on 14/10 at Niko Hotel where he got 22 members to sign and made him their spokesman. The 22 now have no voice, except his master’s voice.

For details please read: http:\\www.tilianker.blogspot.com

24. #24 by k1980 on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 11:17 am

Having just moved into his new office, the pompous-newly-appointed-senator-installed-as-minister was sitting at his desk when a workman knocked on the door. Conscious of his new position, he quickly picked up the phone, told the workman to enter, then said into the phone, “Yes, PM, I’ll be seeing him this afternoon and I’ll pass along your message. In the meantime, thank you for your good wishes, PM, sir.”

Feeling as though he had sufficiently impressed the young workman, he asked, “What do you want?”

“Nothing important, sir,” the workman replied, … “I’m just here to hook up your telephone.”

25. #25 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 11:21 am

People like Monsterball should use the rationale brain to control his emotional brain…

Except DAP core supporter(s)…no one can deny the fact that…. Negarawan Ulung Tun Dr Mahathir who has done a lot of good for this nation, is an inspiration for all every Malaysians regardless of race, religion, social standing etc …He is truly international statesman who shaped this nation into wonderful destiny,,, Every Malaysians and the rest of the world still look up at Tun Dr Mahathir with respect and praises….

Long live our great warrior

26. #26 by tenaciousB on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 12:28 pm

“cintanegara” by your statement you’ve just given your identity away, this is what we can assume you are definitely a malay, supports UMNO. It would be quite impossible for that statement to come from an indian or chinese in this country. LOL.

27. #27 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 12:32 pm

cintanegara, adolf Hitler also done a lot of good but only to his so-called master race and to some other chosen races (Japanese,Italians) to his conveniences.

If your are not of these ummoputras type, what advantage have you gotten from the govt as an ordinary citizen? Education? Commerce? Jobs?

Are you talking about peace? Harmony? Be grateful-with-what-we-have-given-you reminder?

Well, should not a govt that is ruling provide us with this? What? I have to begged for these basic rights as a citizen?

Destiny? How come I see only corruptions, institutionalized racism at every corner, and when I look at my child, the lingering thought what future holds for him and her in this country which they called home.

I am talking as a ordinary citizen here without any liason to any political parties. Why is my thought shaped in this way even though I live here many years as a citizen thru many PMs? Can you asked what did the govt did that was wrong? No DAP or PKR or PAS taught my line of thinking. I am sure I am not the only one thinking this way. Why, cintanegara?

All I am asking is my basic rights as a citizen and good governance. I do not want to be TUAN to any other races, nor do I want to be given special rights.

All I want is for my children to have a place here. Am I asking too much?

28. #28 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 12:46 pm

In this country, no one has ever considered as second-class citizen. It is just a propaganda brought by the oppositions to gain support and political mileage.

Unlike the tiny country which DAP adores very much, Malaysia appears to be more fair and transparent in terms of equality of opportunity regardless of race, ethnicity, or religion.

That’s why our PM has never declared that Malaysia is not ready for a minority PM. Furthermore, minister posts are allocated among various ethnic groups and some of them even hold senior positions in the cabinet.

In Malaysia, it is not something unusual to see the minority ethnics fly the Fighter jet…high rank police office etc.

29. #29 by tenaciousB on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 1:07 pm

LOL cintanegara you must either be intentionally ignorant or perhaps pedantic altogether. I won’t waste my intellect or brain space on someone of your level. LOL is all i can do, i’m sure the others in this forum would take the piss out of you.LOL

30. #30 by tsalak on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 1:21 pm

@”…Umno can only be accepted by the people… if its name be changed from United Malay National Organisation to United Muslim National Organisation. …” – Nik Aziz, Bernama, October 14

@”…Najib have no better ideas….” – monsterball

In fact all of his ideas are Mahathir’s.

All of his political strength is Mahathir’s.

Just about everything he does is Mahathir’s.

The Prime Minister of Malaysia, is not Najib.

The Prime Minister of Malaysia is Mahathir.

UMNO dulu, kini dan sekarang is Ugama Mahathir National Organization or UMNO!

What is Mukrit doing in the Cabinet? UMNO is not God.

Mahathir is.

So God can put his son anywhere he wants. But why is God telling his son to sell San Miguel in Manila?

Well, everything comes from God!

Doesn’t it? ;)

31. #31 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 1:36 pm

…cintanegara../// in this country…high rank police office etc///

like one commentator used to say;”WHich hole did you crawled out from?”, is all i can say.

32. #32 by tenaciousB on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 1:42 pm

Quite true, it’s pretty obvious you don’t need to read in between the lines. Mahathir has taken over as PM, najib is his commanding officer.
    Tan sri isa’s reinstatement into politics is a trademark of UMNO’s corruption level.
    Just let your immaginations flow, they’ve done so many things over the time period of their inception. Even the word ‘corruption’ is shy to define itself after witnessing the above.LOL

33. #33 by Joshua on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 2:01 pm

Mahathir against borderless world and UMNO baru is his party and to be known as

Ulu Mahathir Natang Organisasi.

pw: one-hundredth myrdal

34. #34 by tenaciousB on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 3:25 pm

Essentially politics has always been a failed attempt at addressing this nation and any other nation in general.

The problem is someone has to do it and generally the one’s who get into politics are unethical, greed stricken and pathological liars. It’s a universal breed that should not be misconceived or deceived by their physical appearances.

Unanimous decisions to choose a particular ruling party is a misnomer and in fact is a no brainer. We can be ruled by PKR tomorow but be assured we’ll face similar issues.

All in all i must agree it’s time this present government is relieved of it’s duties and another party be given a chance to rule. We indeed have nothing to lose by deciding as such but have plenty more to lose with the present BN as their ultimate goal is to restore their power and corruption and not anything slightly relevant to the nation’s economy or people’s interest.

35. #35 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 4:20 pm

///In this country, no one has ever considered as second-class citizen. It is just a propaganda brought by the oppositions to gain support and political mileage./// countrylover

Let’s get my daughter and your daughter (malay), everything being equal (results, curriculum activities, etc) apply for same course at the same university. What will be the outcome? This is what ordinary folks see day in day out even after 50 years of independence. No need for any opposition’s propaganda. Even a donkey would make noise if you hit it hard enough.

///Unlike the tiny country which DAP adores very much, Malaysia appears to be more fair and transparent in terms of equality of opportunity regardless of race, ethnicity, or religion.///

You mean equal opportunity and transparency for MCA(Chinese), MIC (Indian) and UMNO (Malay) to share the loot from our hard-earned money irregardless of race and religion? You are d@mn right.

///That’s why our PM has never declared that Malaysia is not ready for a minority PM/// cintanegara

Agree, soon BN will be kicked out. Maybe an Indian or Chinese or others can be PM.

///Furthermore, minister posts are allocated among various ethnic groups and some of them even hold senior positions in the cabinet.///

You mean those ethnic groups that are as crooked as the one in UMNO like MCA, MIC? You are d@mn right again.

///In Malaysia, it is not something unusual to see the minority ethnics fly the Fighter jet…high rank police office etc.///cintanegara

Can you compare the academic qualifications of the minority ethnic group with the majority group who are flying the fighter jet and high ranking police force? It is very unusual isn’t it?

I am not a member of any political parties, but to give my vote to the party you described above, I will not be doing my duty as a citizen who love this country. If you do love this country, you would do the same as I.

36. #36 by monsterball on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 5:49 pm

Cintanegara is a racist idiot.
    Double standards is so clear….yet he says all are equal.

37. #37 by taiking on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 6:38 pm

Well of course monsterball. He is W-tongued and he speaks jibby language.

In case you are wondering, “W-tongue” means forked-tongue.

38. #38 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 9:37 pm

“Maha-God” should be given the honor to be the first God of Bolehland.

Semi-value = “Semi-God” of MIC

AP-Queen = “Goddess of AP”

39. #39 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 9:51 pm

“Negarawan Ulung Tun Dr Mahathir who has done a lot of good for this nation, is an inspiration for all every Malaysians regardless of race, religion, social standing etc …He is truly international statesman who shaped this nation into wonderful destiny,,,” (cintanegara)

I am glad to see that such a hardcore follower of Mahathirism as cintanegara has given a high value to YB Kit’s blog. Cintanegara’s affirmation to this blog could be proven from his frequent visit and written contribution to the comment blogs of YB Kit. In fact, cintanegara can be someone who always greets Dr Mahathir as “ayahanda” in chedet blog. Dr. Mahathir’s success in attracting many loyal followers who would deify he himself has proven that the influence of Dr. Mahathir has been widespread among the Malays in Malaysia, perhaps his influence to the Umnoputras can be equated to the influence of Prophet Mohamad as to the muslims worldwide.

Therefore, the polytheism believers should have considered giving Dr. Mahathir a datukship with a shelter being built under a huge Banyan tree, just for the sake of proving that Malaysia is a country of freedom of religion, including the freedom of political idol worship and also for the sake of proving that there is no second class citizen in Malaysia because all are allowed to worship whoever they like!

40. #40 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 10:16 pm

Agree, agree, agree, we can also instal AAB as the “Sleeping God”.
    Taxi-God
    Goddess of C4
    Goddess of hAPpy
    Porn God
    God of Gambler (Forex-trading)

41. #41 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 10:36 pm

Anwar’s counsel in the libel lawsuit against Dr. Mahathir has done a good merciful job upon Dr. Mahathir, by purportedly left the signature column of the court petition blank so that it is easy for the Court of Appeal to find a good excuse to strike off such a libel lawsuit case. This should be another good reason which makes Dr. Mahathir’s hardcore followers such as cintanegara happy.

Shall cintanegara consider changing his political stand by adopting a critical attitude towards Najib and keep criticizing or nagging on Najib, just as Dr. Mahathir’s using cynicism against Najib after Najib has declared that September 16 be made a national public holiday in order to commemorize the formation of Malaysia?

Dr. Mahathir is no longer considered a non-compromising foe by me if he can continue to criticize Najib and other Umnoputras until the political regime of Umnoputras will finally collapse and another good government will then be replaced by Pakatan Rakyat!

There should be no permanent foe in politics as proven by Dr. Mahathir and me, just as there should be no permanent friend in politics as proven by MCA’s Ong and Liow!

42. #42 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 21 October 2009 - 12:24 am

In the UMNO Baru General Assembly when the then Prime Minister Pak Lah had yet to finish his speech, in walked Mahathir and wife. They all welcome the couple with applause and a standing ovation, forgetting Pak Lah who was made to look like a bloody fool. That is for us all to see the kind of person Mahathir is; purposely choosing the ‘right’ time to belittle a fellow Muslim Malay and the PM chosen by he himself.

Although not a Malay, I feel deeply hurt for Pak Lah by the very un-Malay, very un-Islamic and very bad mannered display by the UMNO Baru delegates.

I am sure PAS or PKR Malays have better common sense to not do such like what UMNO Baru Malays did to Pak Lah even to a person of other race and religion. UNNOputra is special. 52 years in power has made them forgotten the Malay culture.

43. #43 by taiking on Wednesday, 21 October 2009 - 8:44 am

Breaking News.
    Further to my remark at #21, mca’s proposed figurine was rejected by umno. “Use the fiercest looking deity you can find” they demanded. “Use that bearded black face deity and superimpose jibby’s image upon it.” “For max effect paint the tip of the deity’s huge blade blood-red.” “Umno’s terrorising image cannot be compromised.”

44. #44 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 21 October 2009 - 8:49 am

dear undertaker i can’t believe you entertained cintanegara’s pea sized brain. nevertheless, kudos and hopefully i gets an eye op to open his eyes. lol

45. #45 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 21 October 2009 - 8:53 am

Taxidriver :
    In the UMNO Baru General Assembly when the then Prime Minister Pak Lah had yet to finish his speech, in walked Mahathir and wife. They all welcome the couple with applause and a standing ovation, forgetting Pak Lah who was made to look like a bloody fool. That is for us all to see the kind of person Mahathir is; purposely choosing the ‘right’ time to belittle a fellow Muslim Malay and the PM chosen by he himself.
    Although not a Malay, I feel deeply hurt for Pak Lah by the very un-Malay, very un-Islamic and very bad mannered display by the UMNO Baru delegates.

Such is the influence of mahathir on his party members, it’s really scary ain’t it. When a leader is uncontested for so long that he doesn’t know how not to be signficant and influencial and has to be above all..grandiosity..an element of psychiatric problem i must admit. lol.

46. #46 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 22 October 2009 - 7:03 am

Singaporeans are a fortunate people to have a leader like LKY who transformed a very poor Island State with no natural resources whatsover into one of the top-most developed countries in the world. PAP government ensure their people ( all races ) have decent jobs. It is common to see them eat in clean foodcourts, hawker centres, restaurants and fast-food outlets. Unlike in Malaysia you connot see even one fly in places you eat.

Misfortunes struck Malaysians when Mahathir became PM of Malaysia-a blessed country with all the natural resources like oil, tin-ore, palm oil, rubber ………you name it, we have it. But what has become of the country today? UMNO leaders and their families and those with connections to them become very rich while majority of Malaysians work two times harder than Singaporeans and yet living from hand to mouth ( kata orang Melayu , ” ayam cari makan” ) In fact, the livelihood of Malaysians today should be many times better than Singaporeans, but it is the other way around. How we wished Mahathir was never born to govern our beautiful nation- turned-into najis.

PERFORMANCE RATING:
    ——————-

LKY………EMPAT BINTANG!!
    MM………TAK ADA BINTANG!! ( ma’af tun )

47. #47 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 22 October 2009 - 10:02 am

Instead of making this country into and advanced one, mahathir concentrated on making the Malays feel superior thru artificial “insemination”.

Out comes discriminatory policies in education, commerce, civil service, and what have you in the disguise of NEP. With big ego, he has to achieve this in his terms as PM at the expense of other malaysians.

As time past by, what is the outcome? It bred inferior kind of graduates. It bred racism. It bred corruptions. Those who are good in bullying and stealing from their own citizens. But behave like minnows when out of the countries.

This is cintanegara’s ayahanda. He love him so much because M made them to be fed by others because this is his special rights. This is the new tuan. They want to be tuan like the old days in the US southern states.

The world are becoming more superior because of their advancement in technology, science, medicines and looking beyond race. But ours are becoming “superior” thru daylight discrimination.

I salute you my tuan.