Deepavali greetings – triumph of good over evil to ensure unity, equality, justice and harmony among Malaysians regardless of race or religion

Happy Deepavali to Hindu Malaysians and all Malaysians.

Deepavali is celebrated this year in the midst of the great fanfare of Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s 1Malaysia slogan – which is in fact an admission of the failure of the 52-year nation building policy to create unity, equality, justice and harmony out of the diverse Malaysian citizenry, regardless of race, religion and culture.

This is the time for serious reflection how to go beyond sloganeering to end the disunity, discrimination and marginalization in Malaysia for the past half-century so that every Malaysian, regardless of race, religion or culture can find common pride as citizens of this country.

Makkal Sakti for the triumph of good over evil to ensure unity, equality, justice and harmony among Malaysians regardless of race, religion or culture.

1. #1 by asmehane on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 1:49 pm

Dear Bro,

Are u trying to fish for popularity and votes from the Indians during this festival. If u are sincere to wish the Indian go and wish Happy Deepavali but u don’t have to raise up the political issues in your wish. We Malaysians had been living in harmony for upteen of years, we do clash in politics when there is general elections and after that all is heal up no racist no religion is issue was raise up after that. But when u and your cronies + your newly found CAPTAIN “A” come into the picture everything went haywire. Please issue to break and divide us so that u be able to win the elections. Please forget politics fot the time being please start going for country building so Malaysia will able to recover from the recession. Sorry Bro.

2. #2 by asmehane on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 1:52 pm

Correction:

third line from the bottom should read ” Please NO MORE issue to break and divide us so that u be able to win elections. “

3. #3 by k1980 on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 1:59 pm

From the above comments, it is obvious some wet-behind-the-ears kiddo is blaming the DAP for the sad state of affairs in the country. For goodness sake, the break and divide policy has been and is undertaken by BN, not PR. This kiddo will next be blaming the DAP for the 39 years of NEP.

4. #4 by asmehane on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 2:22 pm

Hello Bro,

U dont have to be a sore commentator, this is Malaysia , everbody have the right to comment. Are u sore when i do comment that is negative to your principle and i bet u must a diehard supporter of the Party concern. Be gentle bro don’t get upset, a comment is a comment, u tell me if i can’t comment the way i like to comment i will not comment. This is a FREE COUNTRY. SORRY BRO

5. #5 by k1980 on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 2:40 pm

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/40594-orders-came-from-putrajaya-says-macc-intelligence-man

To commentator #4, this is how your FREE COUNTRY works. Apparently the pm has so much free time on his hands that he orders the supposedly independent macc to do what he wishes

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 3:14 pm

Its unbelievable the die-hard UMNO supporter/cybertroopers, and include Najib, think that they still have a chance to change people’s mind about who is really responsible for all the crap they blame DAP for.. It is as if they think Bagan Pinang vote reflect their stupidity that can be applied to the rest of the country. They refuse to believe that Bagan Pinang folks was just selfish (even though that was the campaign!) but also insist they are also stupid.

It just boggles the mind how perverse the minds of these right-wingers are…

7. #7 by Winston on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 3:46 pm

We all know what this country has come to after fifty over years of UMNO/BN rule, don’t we?
    Dump this party and give your vote to the PR!
    Spread the word!

8. #8 by monsterball on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 3:49 pm

He further said..”UMNO is not a racist party”
    And..”NEP must go on….as it is only 19.2% now”.
    Anyway…what have we not heard before.
    Best of all…not one word…to stamp out corruptions.
    Yes….Happy Deepavali to Hindu Malaysians.

9. #9 by a g on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 3:59 pm

Dear asmehane,

Happy Deepavali to you and all Malaysians.

I think one must be more mindful of the fact that YB Lim is a professional politician instead of an ordinary folk like us; so his attempt to drive home certain political messages even in his festive greetings, shouldn’t be surprising, or be deemed to be inappropriate.

May I share with you some knowledge of the Chinese language, specifically, the knowledge of the word “nation”. The equivalent Chinese word to the English word “nation” is “GUOJIA”(in the Pinyin–a type of phonetic–format.) The word GUOJIA is a combination of two concepts–GUO(meaning country) and JIA(meaning home). In Chinese language, the more important concept(s) are normally placed in front of the lesser ones. So in this case we can see that “country” is a more important concept than “home”. In fact, there is a saying: Without the country, there can be no homes.

In relation to our discussion, we can see that political issues belong to the realm of the concept of “country” while festive greetings belong to that of the concept of “home”, hence, political issues are, logically speaking, more important than festive greetings for us, not to mention for a posting specialized for political discussions like this one.

So I don’t think there is anything wrong with YB Lim’s way of saying greetings to you. But of course you have your way of seeing things, which is perfectly all right in a free society.

10. #10 by taiking on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 5:39 pm

Hey fellas, just ignore that thick and senseless guy. Dont give him the pleasure of having incited retorts. Come to think of it, let me incite him for some replies. After that let us all enjoy his stupidity and his idiotic answers. Such people are always good for a laugh. Now I say this to him: Oi you, phark off man!

11. #11 by baochingtian on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 6:01 pm

I like what a g said.
    Guojia, you jia cai you guo, you guo cai you jia – without homes, there’s no country and without country, there’s no home for all of us. So country and home are equally important to us. Agreed that this is a platform for political discussions, if someone merely look for pure greetings, pls visit some other sites for festival pleasure. Pls show the due respect to YB Lim whom has shown great mental and physical strengths to speak for the people in this bolehland throughout these years… TQ.

12. #12 by Godfather on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 6:05 pm

The Indians who have traditionally thrown in their lot with the MIC should use the festival of lights to take stock of their future, and then to act on it. For heaven’s sake, don’t let Najib dictate UMNO’s preference for the new Indian political party. Don’t let UMNO launch an Indian party for Indians. The message is clear – Semi Value has outlived his usefulness, and the Indians still continue to throw in their lot with this loser ? It takes UMNO to bring this message to MIC ?

13. #13 by limkamput on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 6:43 pm

The darkest hour is before dawn. Forever the Indians (and also the Chinese) will go for short term expediency. That is the problem with Indians (and also Chinese). UMNO did not prefer MIC (also MCA) and now Makkal Sakti for no good reason. In 1965 UMNO preferred MCA over PAP. In 1969, UMNO went for Gerakan at the expense of MCA. Now, it is Makkal Sakti at the expense of MIC. If we have lousy and dishonorable Indian and Chinese leaders keep popping up, that is because we have citizens who are ignorant, stupid, greedy and lack tenacity. I don’t intend to wish anyone. It is not the time to be merry.

14. #14 by boh-liao on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 6:58 pm

Ah, Diwali festival or ‘festival of lights’
    MCA kaki r seeing the lights now, implosion
    PKR kaki r also seeing the lights now, implosion
    Umnoputras, pretending to be beyond monoracial n racists, cannot tahan anymore
    Samsol Bari Jamali, Yahaya Mat Ghani, Rozai Shafiann, seeing lights n stars
    One by one, out with pendatang n ketuanan Melayu again
    Fun time, let the games begin

15. #15 by OrangRojak on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 7:21 pm

I wish you a triumph of marketing over substance.

16. #16 by monsterball on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 7:48 pm

When Limkamput is not happy…he does not intend to follow traditions to wish Hindus…..”Happy Deepavali”
    If his unhappiness drags on to Christmas and Chinese New Year……..liao la,
    Everything….depends on his moods.

17. #17 by Lemonbraders on Saturday, 17 October 2009 - 12:18 am

@ashemane
    i guess u’re pretty dumb with words. u’re simply putting words in such a way which creates huge mockery to LKS without proper thoughts and solid evidence.

u said LKS raised political issues, but LOOK, this is a political blog, what’s wrg with raising political issues?

U said we were living peacefully and LKS came into the picture and ruined everything? Did u do your homework before making such a dumb comment? If there isn’t any of these opposition party here fighting for our rights, do u still believe we’ll be living peacefully? N do u know how much dey sacrificed for us? Go do ur homework and see how LKS n his son sacrificed for us.

LKS intends to focus on how to end disunity, discrimination and marginalization in Malaysia putting aside fancy sloganeering, and may i know how does that ignite ur hatred on his greeting?

And ur last sentence, who doesn’t want 2 end politics and focus on economy recovery? But look at the newspaper, so many issues cropped up caused by the gov which obviously needs interruption by the oppositions otherwise these things will be neglected, undone. For eg the Teoh Beng Hock case.

Seriously u need a good sm*ck on the face to make u realise what’s right and wrong.

18. #18 by GilaPolitic on Saturday, 17 October 2009 - 3:34 am

Hi Bloggers & Uncle Lim,

Consumer NZ testing manager Hamish Wilson said potential buyers should steer clear of the Malaysia-made “Proton Jumbuck” car and China-made ute, Great Wall Motors SA220, which was awarded a 1 star rating and 2-star rating respectively

“We don’t believe these vehicles should be allowed on the road,” he said. According to Wilson, the minimum standard should be four stars, obtained by the Toyota Hilux, Mitsubishi Triton and several Ford Falcon and Holden Commodore.

He said the difference in safety between a two-star and a four-star ute was significant.
    “It can mean the difference between walking away from a crash and being taken away in an ambulance.”

UMNO and BN should be ashamed of the car test report made by Consumer NZ for giving “1Malaysia -1Star Rating” for Proton Jumbuck Car stating it is not fit on the road and will takes the driver and its passengers to hospital rather walking safely away in a car accident. ‘

1Malaysia – 1F1 Team – 1 Star Rating Proton Car = Taken Away by Ambulance.

Bravo – Malaysia BOLEH Land – Happy Deepavali !

19. #19 by k1980 on Saturday, 17 October 2009 - 7:28 am

20. #20 by Hugos on Saturday, 17 October 2009 - 10:46 am

But how come? He oledi reached menopause!

21. #21 by monsterball on Sunday, 18 October 2009 - 7:42 pm

This born …muslim..”asmehane” writer,,,,,calling others as brother is actually a hypocrite and a racist.
    A die hard UMNO member…..coming here to teach us how great Malaysia is under UMNO.
    He thinks Malaysia..blessed with so much natural resources and wealth are all due to UMNO’s government.
    He must be one of those lazy buggers that need not work hard to earn ac living…working under UMNO race and religion double standards favoritism….formula.which he benefits..and maybe feeling very insecure ..if UMNO falls in 13th GE……or a plain lazy fella.
    This is a gone case weird Muslim…that uses loving kindness..just like Najib and the band of robbers…to try fool all.
    Brother this brother that is just lips services..never spoken from the heart.
    It’s typical hypocrites that UMNO and PAS have produced…feeling so proud…to fight for one race…yet declaring fairness to all.
    PAS is much more sincere..with non muslims as members and like every basket of apples..thee will be a rotten one…and in PAS…it is Hadi Awang..that is the stumbling block to PAS more open minded approach to life in Malaysia.
    This “asmehane” claims freedom of speeches and rights…ignoring how UMNO keep shutting mouths that opposes them.
    This “asmehane” is a sickening low class smart ass.

22. #22 by tanjong8 on Sunday, 18 October 2009 - 8:04 pm

asmehane, pls tell your umnoputra bro what you told lks !

they are the root of all evils !

pls be fair