Prime Minister of UMNO?

by Hussein Hamid

Will someone tell if this Najib is the Prime Minister of UMNO, of the Malays or of Malaysia. I did not mention the Chinese, the Indians and the Others because by default and by his actions he has certainly made these people reject him as their Prime Minister. So that leaves the Malays and Malaysia because he certainly is Prime Minister of UMNO. Now because Malaysia is made up of not only Malays but also the others then again by default he cannot be Prime Minister for Malaysia. So that leaves the Malays.

The jury is still out and deliberating this issue. Yes there are only Malays in UMNO. But are the interests of UMNO and the Malays the same? The Malays are Muslims. And so, it seems are the profess religion of those in UMNO. Tapi cakap bukan serupa bikin. Islam frowns on greed, corruption, and deceit. UMNO does not.

The Malays are polite, soft spoken and do not, I repeat do not, tolerate arrogance and lack of respect for elders and for those that live amongst them. The leaders of UMNO are arrogant to a fault. They strut around like peacocks and yet bury their head in the sand like ostriches unwilling and unable to understand that the Malays are the reason they are in power for the last fifty years.

Instead they let it be known to anybody who would listen that it is because of UMNO that the Malays are what they are today. And what are the Malays today? Are they more successful then the Chinese? No! Are their children better educated that the thousands of others that have chosen or are driven to go overseas to further their studies? No. Are the Malays positioned to take on the Chinese economically? No – not even with the Bumiputra privileges, not with the NEP not even with our so-called control of all the major economic instruments required for our success in commerce.

This is because of the abuse and manipulations by UMNO of all these advantages that was to be for the Malays but instead hijacked by UMNO for its own. So if UMNO insists that the Malays are what they are to day because of UMNO – yes I agree. UMNO has cause the Malays to be a poor second to the Chinese and the others.

So I say that Najib is not Prime Minister for the Malays.

He certainly is Prime Minister for UMNO. He justifies the need and use of the ISA to imprison any opposition politicians that he perceives is a threat to UMNO. Not to the country but to UMNO!

He justifies the taking of our resources by UMNO stalwarts in the name of the Malays and then overlooks the keeping of these resources by UMNO for their own personal account. An act only a Prime Minister for UMNO will condone.

This Najib also talks about taking the high moral ground for all Malaysian and yet as Prime Minister of UMNO picks a corrupt Isa Samad to be their flag carrier in a by-election this week in Bagan Pinang.

So I say again. Najib is Prime Minister for UMNO. Not for the Malays, not for the Chinese nor the Indians. Not for anybody else in Malaysia. He is only Prime Minister for UMNO.

For us Malays that are not in UMNO I can say with confidence that we will survive. We have survived for most of the past two decades of Mahathir’s regime without much assist from the UMNO government while he helps those preferred UMNO Malays and his cronies to the richness of our country. We do not expect this to change under Najib. We will wait for a Prime Minster to come that will be for Malaysia. For all of us. That day will come soon.

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 7 October 2009 - 10:28 am

Prime Minister of UMNO? Don’t belittle him lah, he is the Emperor of UMNO!

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 7 October 2009 - 11:06 am

Actually I am not sure he is Prime Minister of UMNO even. The way he is going about it, UMNO will be finished. His plans to get rid of corruption in UMNO will only destroy it. UMNO now is really an dictatorial oligarchy. What he doing is eliminating the dicatatorship and making even more an oligarchy instead of democratising it. What happens when you put put more power to a bunch of oligarch? They will fight even more and go more extreme. The party will turn right further leading to its eventual demise…

3. #3 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 7 October 2009 - 11:25 am

The NEP was ‘cleverly’ thought up with the sole purpose to enrich the UMNOputras and not to help the Malays. After more than three decades the majority of Malays are still lagging behind the others economically and in education while the small number of Malays with the right connection are living in great comfort, with plenty money to cover the eyes of the ordinary Malays by hosting jamuan ringan and giving a token amount of their ill-gotten cash. Even that, I believe, is not their own money for people who love Money too much are usually kedukut ( stingy )

To put the record straight, the Chinese and other races are not against the NEP if it is to help the poor Malays to bring them to be on par with other Malaysians. And because the Malays being the majority race, it will be to the advantage of the other races and the nation as a whole if they are can compete with other Malaysians on a level playing field. Only then 1 Malaysia can be realised. Najib and UMNO Baru cannot make that happen!

Although a Chinese, it pains my heart to see many of my Malay friends living on mergre income. I am not rich myself but I am thankful that I sometimes help them with what little I can and however I can. Does UMNO Baru really care for their own kind?? This Ouestion is best left to our Malay braders to ponder over and answer.

4. #4 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 7 October 2009 - 11:35 am

In my above comment, the reason why I am thakkful to be of some help to my Malay braders is because I feel more fortunate than them. As the saying goes: there is more happiness in giving than receiving.

5. #5 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 7 October 2009 - 11:52 am

So let me understand the situation.

Najib cannot achieve 1Malay or 1UMNO or even 1BN.

But he goes around the world to talk about 1Malaysia, 1Region, 1World.

Is he promoting some mall, hotel or casino?

6. #6 by k1980 on Wednesday, 7 October 2009 - 12:05 pm

He is promoting the forthcoming Amanah Saham 1World to raise cash to pay for the interest charges of the PKFZ

7. #7 by pgsilai on Wednesday, 7 October 2009 - 2:11 pm

Ya, precisely sheriff singh.. Maybe 1 ton mee. This
    guy is full of bull sh*t, NATO only.

8. #8 by taiking on Wednesday, 7 October 2009 - 4:13 pm

Oi sheriff singh,

If there is one thing umno can do well it must be talking big for they have extremely thick skin. “Gift to the world”, “teaching the world our ways”, “world class” and what not.

And Taxidriver is right to say that chinese have no objection to the assistance given to malays. The basic idea behind the nep is acceptable actually. We dont want to see any poor fellow countrymen and women. We too celebrated when the sidek brothers did well in badminton or when mokthar dahari scored for malaysia. We protest only when nep was hijacked by some umnoputras and was treated by them as their birth-right.