by Thomas Lee
The Bagan Pinang by-election on Oct 11 is an opportunity for the voters to tell the Braisan Nasional in no uncertain term that the practice of corruption and cronyism must be wiped out in the country. They must go all out to ensure the defeat of the Umno candidate.
By fielding a candidate suspended by his own party for corrupt practice, the Barisan Nasional is obviously snubbing the people, indicating that it couldn’t care less about what they think and feel. It is a de facto endorsement of corrupt practices.
By nominating such a tainted candidate for the Bagan Pinang by-election, the purported high moral ground on which the Umno leaders have been self-righteously proclaiming has been exposed as a mere hollow sinking ground.
Umno is arrogantly confident and cocksure that it will win the Bagan Pinang battle even with a corruption-contaminated candidate.
The voters of Bagan Pinang must come out in full force to show Umno through the ballot box that the days of its exaggerated sense of superiority are numbered.
It is time the Barisan Nasional be told that:
– it cannot simply grab power by unethical and illegal means, like what had happened in Perak;
– it cannot simply use oppressive laws like the ISA to silence its critics, opposition leaders and the freedom and human right crusaders;
– it cannot simply use harsh enforcement on peaceful unarmed demonstrators and candlelight protestors;
– it cannot simply change the education system at its whims and fancy every other few years, causing confusion among the teachers, parents and students, and creating chaos in the schooling system;
– it cannot simply continue to control and manipulate the press and mass media to promote its own causes, and to run down the opposition and critics;
– it cannot simply allow the corrupt political leaders to go unpunished, especially those using public funds for private holidays to Disneyland and those living beyond their means in great luxury in multi-million ringgit mansions;
– it cannot simply allow investigation into the mysterious death of political aide Teoh Beng Hock to be frustrated by attempts to prevent relevant persons from testifying;
– it cannot simply cover up scandals involving public projects such the PKFZ issue.
Will the voters of Bagan Pinang take the lead and send the message to Umno and the Barisan Nasional that “Enough is Enough” and it’s “Time for Change”?

#1 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 11:58 am
Look, I don’t care if it’s financial corruption or political corruption, I don’t care if we are trolls or twats, or if we use Queen’s English or broken Engrish. All I care is how we pass on the message that we must vote for change. Even if PR loses this time, we must show that the voters have continued to mature, and that this is Najis’ one and only term in office.
#2 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 12:08 pm
Welcome back Godfather.
What’s your suggestion for ‘how we pass on the message’? This is the perennial problem, isn’t it? Can we have a whip-round for a sky writer to write ‘vote for change’?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skywriting
#3 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 12:19 pm
One has look at the objective facts when seeking to describe something.
For example, a man acts in a certain way based on his habit or convictions. He will not change, whatever you tell him. These are the facts. However people don’t describe the facts as they are (neutrally) – that he does not change habit or behaviour. They also put in their emotions into their words describing that man. If they believe in his convictions, they’ll describe him as “firm”, if not he’s “obstinate/stubborn”, if they are diametrically opposed to his convictions, then he is described as “pigheaded.” Either way the words used – whether firm, obstinate/stubbon or pigheaded – don’t often throw objective light on what the man really is. They just show where the bias/emotions of the person(s) describing the man lie judging from their choice of words.
Hence in Bagan Pinang a candidate found by his own party as guilty for money politics can be “good guilty” (as if guilty were not guilty) because he never disparaged and acted against his party’s interest just because it found him guilty of money politics. One can also extrapolate to say a person guilty of money politics is also “good guilty” if he ‘shares’ like Robin Hood his money and take care of party or some constituents with it. But is it permissible to twist words this fashion as if telling the objective truth when its far from it?
Like in this blog, just because a poster makes an assessment, which if reasoned and backed by logic and experience, may be described as realistic, can another poster, who emotionally does like the assessment and its inevitable conclusion, just summarily say and reiterate that that assessment is “defeatist” and “stupid” and thinks he can get away with it just because he is condemning the other’s comment, as distinct from the commentator himself as “defeatist” and “stupid” as if there’s a world wide of a big difference in such a case when the derogatory description is based on an emotional rather than a reasoned and intellectual response?
#4 by boh-liao on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 12:20 pm
While people battle about words here
Umnoputras had oledi started the most unscrupulous n racist war in BP
Racist books were distributed to stir up tribal racist instincts
Divide, divide n rule
Umno n BN’s message, loud n clear:
Malays must only trust n vote for corrupt Malays who preserve ketuanan Melayu
Malays must only trust n vote for corrupt Malays who only cakap 1M’sia but do not practise 1M’sia
Malays must not trust and vote for Malays who believe in n act fairly towards Malaysian M’sia
Voters in BP must take $$$ offered by Umnoputras n their cronies (Bumi n non-Bumi)
And then vote against Umno
#5 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 12:34 pm
//Racist books were distributed to stir up tribal racist instincts//.
What else to campaign on? If religion, the PAs candidate has arguably better credentials. If financial probity, well the BN candidate had been found guilty by his own party of money politics (mitigated ostensibly by him being “good guilty”).
So the only remaining card is race even if it contradicts the top leader’s “1 Malaysia”!
This (Bagan Pinang) is a very crucial by election. If BN ever loses, it will not recover its confidence. If it wins (not marginally but truimphantly) it means, race is still, after 50 years of independence, a crucial factor that overrides downside of manifestly poor credential leaders. It will be a signal to Pakatan Rakyat that its upholding of multi racial Malaysia, as a principle, will militate against it in many areas where the “exchange system” offerred by BN is still very much alive and kicking.
#6 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 12:36 pm
Ooops – “triumphantly” in last para.
#7 by limkamput on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 1:03 pm
Thank you Orang Rojak for being helpful. I agree that we should focus on the strategy and on how to turn things around given our present less than comfortable situation. It is pointless to state on one hand and on the other hand all the time. We all know it is depraved indoctrination that UMNO has used and reused since the beginning of this country. If we accept this as fait accompli, then UMNO has won. This is what some bloggers here want us to believe – we have to “realistically” accept that we are scr*wed. That I think is illogical.
A patronage system cannot favour the majority. A patronage system can only favour the well connected and the privileged; otherwise it is not a patronage. If the people of Bagan Pinang have continued to support a corrupted system, that is not because they have benefitted meaningfully from such a system. It is because they are ignorant and victims of depraved indoctrination. During 1963-65, the country nearly made a break but it failed. We are now trying again, and try we must till we succeed.
#8 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 1:10 pm
OrangRojak:
Passing on the message by whatever meagre means at our disposal – keep ramming the message home through the alternative media, leaflets, seminars, etc. Those who have financial means should contribute and as we head towards a 2 party (or 2 coalition) system, there’s no reason why corporates should not be encouraged to contribute to PR.
#9 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 1:18 pm
One of the things that has mystified me over the years is the lack of advertising capability of the Opposition parties. Granted that the mainstream press won’t accept your paid adverts, but what about billboards, posters and pamphlets ? Can’t we flood the streets with posters that say “A Vote for BN is a Vote for Corruption ” with Isa’s face as the backdrop ? How about “Remember PKFZ ?” or “Say Enough to Stealing”. I mean the Ah Longs and the pimps can flood the streets with their adverts, and we can’t ?
#10 by limkamput on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 1:22 pm
Political struggle is not like selling ice cream, i.e. even if you don’t believe in the ice cream you still can sell it. Political struggle is about belief and way of life we hold dear. We must have conviction before we can embark on it. I notice some people have the tendency to justify the status quo even though the status quo is hopeless and disgusting. Alternatively, some people would say that the present situation is unchangeable because the ruling party is too strong or the system too entrenched. If that is the case, may I know what is the point of having opposition parties participating in constitutional struggle. I am sure opposition parties would never want to stay opposition forever. All political parties harbour intention to rule the country someday. I think it is not just the rural or less educated people that got indoctrinated. I think the so-called intellectuals too are also victims of UMNO indoctrination and inculcation machine. Yes, I am the tuan, I have more rights and you are just a pendatang, a serf, and you better work hard so that I can tax more and spend more.
#11 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 1:52 pm
Sometimes I feel as though there aren’t any actual DAP members posting on this blog. Is there a leaflet campaign in Bagan Pinang? It seems as though it would be child’s play to coordinate one online – I don’t understand why it’s not visible. Shouldn’t there be neighbourhoods allocated via Google Maps, local supporters each printing 50 or 100 4-leaflet pages, dropping them at the nearest DAP/PAS/PKR office, for people who don’t look like apparent foreigners to put into mailboxes?
I guess there might be a local plan that involves a local printer and local distribution company, but I would still expect to be dimly aware of a design for a leaflet. But nothing – nothing is curious! Anybody got reassurance?
#12 by pgsilai on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 1:57 pm
Yes, Limkamput not only they are victims, these people refuse to Change. They still have the mentality that they are the Tuans now and forever! Simply because change has a ripping effect on those who won’t let go, change isn’t for cowards. Bagan Pinang voters must take the lead and go all out to ensure the defeat of the Umno candidate. I am eager to know the result next week
#13 by Winston on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 2:29 pm
For far too long, the BN, especially UMNO, has been foisting rubbish on the electorate and they have been lapping it up!!
Now, they have grown so bold as to field one sullied candidate after another and expect the electorate to give them vote to them!
Only the dumbest of the dumb voters will allow such brazenness to go unchallenged!!
Never give another vote to UMNO/BN ever again!!!!!
#14 by Winston on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 2:46 pm
“I mean the Ah Longs and the pimps can flood the streets with their adverts, and we can’t ?”
Welcome back Godfather.
You seemed to have forgotten that those who are mentioned by you happened to be loaded!
By ill gotten gains!
The opposition can ill afford to flood the streets with anything.
But all is not lost.
For a start, all those who posted or visited Uncle Lim’s blog can spread the word, either electronically or by word of mouth.
The most important thing is to tell others that the electorate MUST STOP voting for those self serving parties.
Also, never, ever listen to the propaganda published by the MSM that those parties will reform because what they said is for the sake of getting votes! They’ll gladly sell their mothers to do so! Or their sisters for that matter!
Once the votes are in hand, they’ll ride rough-shod over you AGAIN. And this cycle will keep repeating!
Remember, what they have done to the nation and its people are unforgivable!!!
#15 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 3:11 pm
When the ruling party knows no shame, that’s when you know that things are really going from bad to worse. Check it now, or it’ll be too late for our children and their children.
#16 by siapatau on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 4:46 pm
Ini adalah peluang demokrasi yang memberikan kita rakyat msia melaksanakan hak kita. Marilah rakyat msia jelata tak kisah samada dilabel “pendatang” atau tidak, undilah untuk masa depan anda:
1. bebas dari korupsi
2. Satu Bangsa Msia yang tidak mengira kaum, agama dan bahasa
3. Satu Bangsa Msia yang maju bersama tidak mengira kaum, agama dan bahasa
4. Satu Bangsa Msia yang penuh harapan
#17 by boh-liao on Sunday, 4 October 2009 - 9:44 pm
This is not a case of the ruling party knows no shame
Umno n BN definitely have no shame n don’t care abt it
Umno n BN have always been racist parties
And they are out to create racial discontent, hatred, n panic, esp among Malays
In order to gain votes from Malays
They used to use nonMalays as the punching bag n bogeyman to terrify Malays to vote for Umno n BN
Now they include, in addition to nonMalays, fair-minded Malays who embraced Malaysian Malaysia as traitors of Malays n bogeyman
Yes, as always, during erection times we see the true ketuanan Melayu color of Umno n BN
Scruw their meaningless slogans, like 1M’sia
Scruw MCA, MIC, Gerakan, n other BN component parties for kowtowing to Umno n selling their ancestors against the principle of Malaysian Malaysia
#18 by 1problem on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 11:32 pm
i think it is fair for PR to be given chances to govern since
we already given at least 50 yrs to the weaklings that never learn to improve
so i say….we change for better NOT for worse!!
never trust the 3 scumbags parties