Dr. Teng, why don’t you stroke your own pen?

By Chan Lilian

I had wanted to write this but was caught up with house moving so I didn’t manage to hit while the iron is hot.

Few days ago, there is a report in Malaysiakini where Datuk Dr. Teng Hock Nan openly told media that CM Lim Guan Eng could have saved Kampung Buah Pala with a stroke of pen. I was very pissed with that sort of statement, coming from what was supposed to be one of the candidate vying for the Chief Minister position before the last general election.

Of course, it is open knowledge that I am a fan of CM Lim. But that’s not my main discontentment. It is not about Lim Guan Eng. It is about Penang.

The statement from Datuk Dr. Teng is deemed very mischievous and irresponsible. He, being a Penangite and also in Gerakan should have known that the Kampung Buah Pala issue had been turned into a racial issue. Therefore, if he is responsible and love peace and harmony in Penang, he would have kept his mouth shut instead of adding fuel to fire.

Makkal Sakthi, Hindraf and MIC had gone into Kampung Buah Pala to turn the residents against the Chinese. Their members have added salt to the wounds of the affected residents and put the blame on the Chinese Chief Minister and Chinese developer. I had been there and know what kind of racial tauntings the ‘imported’ demonstrators are capable of uttering.

Instead of letting the issue die down quietly, Datuk Dr. Teng had once again attempted to start another round of animosities and hostilities between the Indians and Chinese.

Therefore, Dr. Teng, I am so very thankful that a person like you had failed to be our Chief Minister. Otherwise, I wonder what our Penang state will turn into with a person like you who have only your own interests and not the whole state.

Oh yeah, Dr. Teng, you asked CM Lim to ’stroke of a pen’ to save Kampung Buah Pala without giving second thought to the repercussion. It would have been RM150 million of our Penangites’ money. You are merely blowing hot air, Dr. Teng. I can bet that if it had been you who is the CM, the Kampung Buah Pala folks wouldn’t even have a chance to see you. Probably, they would have taken the RM75K flat and nothing else. Here, CM Lim and his deputies had endured name callings, barging into his office and all sorts of disrespectful manners and they still open their doors to the Kampung Buah Pala folks.

Many years ago, you refused to stroke of a pen to give me a valid medical certificate because you wanted to remain the ‘clean panel of company doctors who don’t issue MCs’. I was really sick and yet, you refused to sign the MC because you want to remain in the good books of my bosses. I had no voice, a bad inflamed tonsils and had fever and yet, you dare not stroke your pen. Now, you want to act hero and talk big. Come on lah, don’t try to fool us. We are not easily fooled. Remember? We Penangites voted all of you out of Penang?

And to those people who are trying to challenge the Chief Minister of Penang to a debate, I think I have something to tell you. This is CM Lim’s favourite blast to people like that. “Ambil cermin, tengok muka sendiri” Who are you people lah? You think our CM has nothing better to do than to argue with a bunch of kiddoes ah? The only reason he challenged ex-CM is because he could mince the ex-CM like a teppanyaki chef. Chop chop chop, mince mince mince, grill grill grill and swallow.

Moral of the story : Hell hath no fury like an ex-executive secretary who was denied MC because a chicken doc dare not stroke his pen.

1. #1 by k1980 on Sunday, 27 September 2009 - 5:37 pm

“Ambil cermin, tengok muka sendiri” is too kind to runnind dogs such as THN. Should be “Ambil pisau, potong perut sendiri” (Jap-style)

Moral of the story : Hell hath no coward like an ex-assemblyman who was denied another term because his constituents finally woke up to the fact that they had been backing a rat all along

2. #2 by frontbench on Sunday, 27 September 2009 - 6:03 pm

Yes, Dr Teng denied me a MC too when I had a high fever, and so did many of my then colleagues. In fact, we have not known of a single staff in our company who ever got a MC fr him!!

3. #3 by pgsilai on Sunday, 27 September 2009 - 6:09 pm

Well said, Lilian. We already voted you guys out so its better you shut your mouth and retire peacefully. Penangites have enough of Gerak Kan Fellas, mainly a group of
    “Kebosin” , ie Chicken Brand!

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 27 September 2009 - 6:37 pm

//Makkal Sakthi, Hindraf and MIC had gone into Kampung Buah Pala to turn the residents against the Chinese// – Chan Lilian
    Yes sad isn’t it, every issue becomes a racial one here!

Gerakan Datuk Dr. Teng Hock Nan is politician, so he seized whatever convenient to stress whom he peceived political opponent. Here he seized ’stroke of a pen’ to save Kampung Buah Pala” argument. It is not his original. It is parroting what HINDRAF’s P.Uthayakumar said, for reference read here –
    http://hindraf4you.blogspot.com/2009/09/kampong-buah-pala-letter-by-p.html

To meaningfully discredit Datuk Dr. Teng’s allegedly “mischievous and irresponsible” statement, writer Chan Lilian has the first dispassionately rebut and discredit P.Uthayakumar’s “stroke of pen” argument from whom Dr Teng merely borrowed…

Unless P.Uthayakumar’s “stroke of pen” argument is discredited point by point, railing against Dr Teng more like getting back at him for not giving the writer a valid medical certificate many years ago for her bad inflamed tonsils and fever” ostensibly because he “wanted to remain the ‘clean panel of company doctors who don’t issue MCs’.”

Without a dispassionate point-by-point rebuttal and discrediting of P.Uthayakumar’s “stroke of pen” argument from whom Dr Teng merely borrowed, it does sound like Chan Lilian’s gripe against Dr Teng is not based on objective merits and rationale but something more personal like (by her very own admission), “Hell hath no fury like an ex-executive secretary who was denied MC because a chicken doc dare not stroke his pen”…..

And the moral of the story behind that quote? Don’t give a quote that discredit and undermine the very objectivity nad basis of your own writing complaining about Dr Teng.

5. #5 by monsterball on Sunday, 27 September 2009 - 7:07 pm

What else do you think Gerakan got to try and convince Penang voters…to vote DAP out in 13th GE…if not for all these nonsense?
    Under Gerakan for 18 years..Penang was the living proof .who is Koh Tsu Koon….dirty filthy…dying city.
    Now come this…nobody..Dr.Teng challenging Lim Guan Eng…who needs to clean up all the dirt and filth…..yet Dr.Teng feels no shame.

6. #6 by Loh on Sunday, 27 September 2009 - 7:52 pm

Sorry, off-topic
    From chedet.co.cc

THE EAST ASIA ECONOMIC COMMUNITY
    By Dr. Mahathir Mohamad on September 27, 2009 12:46 PM | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)

///1. I am glad to read the report that the new Prime Minister of Japan, Yukio Hatoyama intends to pursue the proposal for an East Asian Economic Community.

2. I had always felt that the countries of East Asia should speak with one voice when negotiating with the European Union and the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA). If we don’t then the Europeans and the Americans would dominate such negotiations. Obviously they would want to favour themselves to our detriment.

3. This is not about hating the West as someone suggested when I drew attention to a UN Agency proposal to have a special currency to replace the US Dollar for the purpose of trade settlements and reserves. It is simply because unlike other countries the US Dollar is not backed by anything.///– TDM

The US Dollar is not backed by anything, other than confidence in US, in their technology, efficiency and continuity of the democratic system to honour the dollar. That seems to be not a problems since the backing by gold was dismantled by President Nixon in 1970s. Other countries have their currencies backed directly or indirectly by their reserves in dollar or in other currencies.

///4. They used to hold huge quantities of gold in Fort Knox to support their dollar. Today they have neither gold nor foreign exchange reserve to back their dollar. As a result the dollar value has been fluctuating. The only thing that is holding it up is the demand for it for trade payments. Other than that the dollar is nothing but just printed paper. ///– TDM

The printed papers carry with them the confidence of its value by the holders. And that counts.

///5. The US has twin deficits and no savings . Where then did the United States get the three trillion dollars to bail out the banks, industrial corporations and insurance companies? The obvious answer is that it got it from thin air. Just print the money. ///— TDM

That illustrates the importance of confidence. Malaysia is in ruins because the people have lost confidence in the court, the police and the government.

///6. Why is it that the US can print money to bail out companies while others may not do so? Malaysia did not print money when we bailed out our companies. The money came from revenues collected by the Government and loans raised by it. ///– TDM

US bailed out the companies so that the economy will survive and the society would remain calm and collected. Malaysia bailed out companies so that the shareholders did not go bankrupt. The purpose was difference. It did not matter whether money used was through printers or loans.

///7. It is not about hating people. It is about not condoning abuses of the monetary system that the proposal is made not to use the US Dollar. ///– TDM

The system could not be abused if it works. Only the persons running the system abused their power to enrich themselves.

There is a system to make requisition of land for public use through paying compensation to land owner, in Malaysia. The persons involved in PKFZ abused their power to purchase land at negotiated price rather than to make requisition which could have saved the country billions of ringgit from going to those who profited from insider information.

///8. Now the Chinese have come out with the same idea about a special currency to replace the dollar. If we think of the huge sums of dollars held by the Chinese, this suggestion would cause them to lose a lot of money. But they must have realised that the money they are holding is pretty useless.///– TDM

The central bank of China certainly does not think that US dollars are pretty useless; so does not the Governor of bank Negara.

7. #7 by boh-liao on Sunday, 27 September 2009 - 9:00 pm

The Gerakan gang of bolaless thieves still fantasize to retake Pg in GE13
    They fantasize that Pg ppl still love them, want them
    Time to educate Pg ppl to bury Gerakan n BN once n for all in GE13

8. #8 by malaysian4malaysia on Sunday, 27 September 2009 - 9:15 pm

[E3] RPK Speaks His Mind – Pengalaman Semasa Dalam Kurungan ISA Pertama
    Latest Raja Petra Video With Bahasa Translation @ GoMalaysian.Blogspot.Com
    Video Terbaru Raja Petra Hanya @ GoMalaysian.Blogspot.Com

Untuk Video Yang Lepas
    [E1] RPK Speaks His Mind – Surat Sumpah Altantuya
    http://gomalaysian.blogspot.com/2009/09/rpk-speaks-his-mind-altantuya-statutory.html

[E2] RPK Speaks His Mind – Menghina Islam? Tolonglah!
    http://gomalaysian.blogspot.com/2009/09/episod-2-rpk-speaks-his-mind-menghina.html

9. #9 by Hugos on Sunday, 27 September 2009 - 9:21 pm

boh leo

10. #10 by Hugos on Sunday, 27 September 2009 - 9:34 pm

better stroke old flame then stoke the flames of racial hatred

11. #11 by Taxidriver on Sunday, 27 September 2009 - 11:27 pm

If Gerakan under KTK had not colluded with UMNO Baru in disposing the land in Kg. Buah Pala ( at way below market value ), ” stroke of pen” would be a non-issue today. Instead of trying to ignite a racial fire Dr. Teng Hock Nan should be more responsible and gentleman enough to apologise to the residents of Kg. Buah Pala on behalf of the president and party.

Kg. Buah Pala residents should understand why they are in this predicament and who are the people responsible. YAB LGE can only do that much for you. KTK and Dr. Teng are the best persons to resolve the issue with a stroke of their pens. Go……go after them!!

12. #12 by baochingtian on Sunday, 27 September 2009 - 11:38 pm

Right, gerakan penang is after their own interests. They pick on minor issues and blow up unnecessarily, at least this is what I, as a penangite, see it. If the party is here for the penangites, pls la, go ask federal gomen for the heritage fund promised to penang state. Penangites pay tax too, why is the state govt deprived of the allocation? What’s your big brother doing in Putrajaya? How can u help build peneng instead of picking on road signs, rubbish issues when the state govt has already had lengthy discussions and identified the root cause?

13. #13 by sheriff singh on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 1:11 am

Did he stroke his…….ummm……ummmm…beard?

14. #14 by Hugos on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 6:18 am

china man no beard

15. #15 by Joshua on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 8:26 am

By the stroke of a pen, this Makkal Sakthi party as tempting is the name of people power may replace MIC…

It is also tempting that UMNO members join this MSP in massive numbers..after 10 Oct when MCA can be in trouble…

So BN becomes People Power…as the last resort to reform race and religious parties by a stroke of a pen.

another piece by the stroke of pen in MT over Al-hantu-ya…

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/27286/84/

pw: monster Mr

16. #16 by Jeffrey on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 9:18 am

Hugo, beard is no issue lah, “one stroke of the pen” is not go “stroke your pen” and since pen is phallic metaphor, you’d know what Chan Lilian means by way of insult to a man, in expression “go stroke the pen”!

17. #17 by Jeffrey on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 9:28 am

I may be mistaken but out of curiosity I wonder if this blog censors any mention of Hindraf’s P.Uthayakumar’s criticisms of LGE referred to in my 2 earlier posts under moderation.

18. #18 by sheriff singh on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 2:08 pm

The ‘stroking of his pen’ is meant to be a metaphor.

19. #19 by Jeffrey on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 3:35 pm

//The ’stroking of his pen’ is meant to be a metaphor.// – Sheriff.

Precisely. That is why you read Chan lilian last part : “Moral of the story : Hell hath no fury like an ex-executive secretary who was denied MC because a chicken doc dare not stroke his pen.”

It is intended to degrade the good Doc as “chicken” doc who dares not even “stroke his (own) pen” when no one else would do for him. It has nothing to do with “one stroke of the pen” that the doc said. (One stroke of the pen has no co-relation whatsoever with “stroke his pen!”)

That is the message!!! Reminds me of “Hell hath no fury than a Woman scorned” – William Shakespeare. hah ha

20. #20 by undertaker888 on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 6:16 pm

seems like lately all these out of favor polticians THN, KTK, etc are farting crap just to antagonize the public even more. The more they speak the more I feel like giving them 20 sens and pergi main jauh jauh. Can’t take them seriously anymore these buggers with the girlie farts.

21. #21 by Boneka on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 6:23 pm

I sympathised with the Kampong Pala residents at first but seeing how the INDIANS OF MIC, MAKKAL SAKTHI, GERAKAN, UMNO and the LEADERS OF THE KAMPONG tried to “bully” the State government, I SALUTE YB LIM GUAN ENG AND HIS GOVERNMENT FOR STAYING FIRM AND STRONG- a characteristic so lacking in other leadres who have so narrow objectives and agendas! Bravo to Pakatan!

22. #22 by Taxidriver on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 9:35 pm

“LGE could have saved Kg. Buah Pala with a stroke of pen” – Datuk Teng Hock Nan

Datuk Teng can talk. Taxidriver also can talk because talk is cheap. It doesn’t cost anything. That LGE didn’t cave-in when under tremendous pressures from many quarters including UMNO and Gerakan is praiseworthy. It shows LGE has the good sense and fore-sight to avoid future problems resulting from his power abuse by a “stroke of pen” Had he done it, he could be accused of power abuse and poor management of Rakyat’ money, not only by UMNO Baru and BN, but also invite strong criticisms from supporters and NGOs.

Residents of Kg. Buah Pala must uuderstand LGE also has his own problems to think of and should be reasonable to him.

Syabas! LGE. You made the best and only right .decision by standing your round. The Federal Government under UMNO Baru can learn from the Penang State Government what good governance is all about! It is NOT a flip-flop-flip- flop kind of government.

23. #23 by Hugos on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 12:33 am

undertaker888,

you should take your derogatory language and go elsewhere. pls respect the blog host.