By Augustine Anthony
Wing collar with bands, wearing a black jacket and holding my robe, my brisk stride to the usual work place came to a momentary halt by a gentle voice coming from the back me. “Bos boleh menang kah… ini BN Ooh”
In a short given moment, that gentle voice had many misgivings about the state of affairs in our country, but then I had to go or else I will be late. Then with a tinge of despair the parting words came from that gentle voice. “Tapi apa boleh buat, kita mesti undi dia”.
From his attire and the way he spoke my reading is, he must be a civil servant.
Later that evening, I sat down and thought about the words of that gentle voice that were spiked with sadness. There were no hidden meanings to decipher. The emotions were simple and clear to understand. I know. And so let us talk about fear. And not just our fear but of those who are opposed to our thoughts and actions.
It has been depicted in the movie “Gandhi”, where a Hindu man in rage rushes to the fasting and near dying Gandhi and confesses that he had crushed and murdered a Muslim child during communal violence and fears that he will, in death end up in hell for his wrong doing, Gandhi assures him that he can overcome that fear. Gandhi tells the Hindu man to raise a child who is orphaned in the civil unrest with conditions. That, that child must first be a Muslim and he/she must be raised as a Muslim in the Hindu man’s home.
Barack Hussein Obama has made the message of overcoming fear and human prejudices simple and exceedingly pleasing to listen.
He is Hussein Obama to start with, but a practising Christian. To the Muslims he is a Christian who they need not fear and to the Christians he brings assurance that they need not fear the Muslims.
To the American whites he sees his fears as a white through his grandmother’s eyes and as an American black and coloured he shares the fears of blacks and coloured through the pain and hardship of people like his father.
By birth and disposition Obama is an embodiment of assurance rather than a byword for fear.
But in our country even after 52 years of independence, UMNO continues to put fear in non Malays by words such as “Ketuanan Melayu” and all the side shows of Ketuanan Melayu that we have often witnessed. UMNO at the same time puts fear in Malays of the potential loss of Ketuanan Melayu if the Opposition comes to power.
MCA puts fear in Chinese and non Malays that PAS is going to turn this country into an Islamic state (frankly I have no fear of this but it is a topic that we can discuss on some other day)
I will stop by saying that politics in MIC is frightening. The events of late leading to the party election is proof of its state of affairs.
Collectively Barisan Nasional puts fear amongst ordinary people, civil servants, fishermen, farmers occupying TOL lands and etc. etc. of what potentially awaits them if they do not vote for Barisan Nasional candidates. And many out of fear vote for Barisan Nasional even though the chosen candidate may not be the real choice of the people.
The Prime Minister’s 1Malaysia: People First, Performance Now! is a very attractive catchphrase but the recent events indicate that it may be heading the same direction as other slogans like Bersih Cekap Amanah, Vision 2020, Zero Inflation and Cemerlang Gemilang Terbilang. The prime minister’s down liners are such a let down.
The above actions of politicians are only causing fear and mistrust in ordinary people. In fact it is akin to poisoning an otherwise ordinary, peaceful and healthy society.
Do we have any assuring words from our politicians?
Anwar Ibrahim’s message to the nation is very assuring. Having listened to such assuring words from Anwar, peoples’ mistrusts are likely to disappear. But then there are many who may say that Anwar cannot be trusted because of his past association with UMNO, but at least he is prepared to change his old rhetoric with a new way forward. That is a first step and a good sign. Check Anwar’s recent speech in Ipoh available in You Tube.
Lim Kit Siang’s frank disclosure is also assuring. By making honest admission of the negative (though manageable) state of affairs in Pakatan Rakyat coalition, (like the recent interview with Sin Chew), voters who are not partisan feel that as a leader he is sensitive to their feelings. His further statements that collectively there are efforts to resolve these minor differences are very assuring to the people. In this way he signals the people that he is listening to their grouses even if it is only a whisper. These are steps in the right direction.
Click here to read My Sinchew interview with Lim Kit Siang:
Exclusive Interview With Lim Kit Siang: “Pakatan has not yet achieved maturity.”
Exclusive Interview With Lim Kit Siang: “Islamic state is the greatest challenge.”
As a leader of an Islamic party, Ir. Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin is also very assuring in his ways when dealing with people. The Kuala Sepetang Chinese voters are living testimony to this. Click here to know what makes him special.
Those who put fear in people may attain success for a certain period of time but not always, for people who live in fear may one day stand up and say enough is enough and let us rid of it, once and for all!
History is the best lesson for those who are unwilling to learn and reform.
I think the writings are not only on the wall but all over the place.

#1 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:30 am
It is not in the Pakatan’s Declaration that apostasy should be de-criminalised. So maybe LKS should take up the matter with PKR and PAS??
#2 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:32 am
Called upon by a kafir, i don’t think so.
#3 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:33 am
Jeffery,
I think we should petition the Agong to withdraw Kamput’s long service medal (PP) for having committed apostasy. Apostasy is a crime in Malaysia.
As you can see Kamput is trying to avoid the issue. Little does he know that by refusing to affirm his Muslim faith when called upon so to do, he has in fact committed ‘murtad’.
My advice is that he sees the mufti immediately.
#4 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:34 am
I think everybody knows LimKamPut has a psychological condition but only I dare tell him frankly to consult a psychiatrist, and you good enough to give him the address of the relevant hospital and telephone no.
Can he be held responsible for committing an offence in such a psychological condition?
Long service medal (PP) is poor recompense.
#5 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:37 am
“Called upon by a kafir, i don’t think so” Kamput
Ahh …! Kamput views the allegation serious enough to have done some research! But why is it so hard for you to say “I am a Muslim”??
#6 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:38 am
We have nothing against our Muslim brothers.
#7 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:43 am
Anyway what you just wrote i.e. “called upon by a kafir, i don’t think so” is a clear admission of who you are i.e. you are a Malay Muslim. You should be proud of it and not pretend to be who you are not.
#8 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:45 am
As if your “for” or “against” really matter, talking about being self conceited.
Ok, enough i have no time for you now.
#9 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:47 am
Readers are entitled to know where you’re coming from.
#10 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:57 am
“Have you been to see the mufti yet?? ‘Murtad’ is very serious.” (Jaswant)
Jaswant,
Mufti of a state of Malaysia does not 100% equal to the true Islam.
As far as I know, the muslim government officers of Abu Dhabi are permitted to drink liquor in hotel even though they are prohibited to keep liquor at home. Don’t tell me that the Malay muslims are better muslims than Arabic muslims!
Al-Quran never makes drinking alcohol a sin. Alcohol drinking was prohibited by Sunnah as a measure to prevent a guy from committing a big sin like raping a girl when he got drunk. Al-Quran actually means that alcohol itself does not carry the meaning of sin but the aftermath behaviour of a drunk man may lead to big sin such as rape crime, sexual immorality or street fight! However, a mufti thinks that he is much bigger than Al-Quran and therefore he makes alcohol drinking in the public a crime which has to be punished by canning! What is that for the mufti to preach in Islam if he does not tell the followers of Prophet Mohammad that Islam actually means “Submission to God” and therefore all muslims must learn to be submissive and not to confront God by challenging God but only stubbornly insists that an alcohol consumer who consumes liquor in the public must be punished by six counts of canning? What role does “Allah” play in the case of Kartika being sentenced to 6 counts of canning due to consuming beer openly in the public? Does Allah only send punishment with wrath but show no mercy, no grace at all?
#11 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:02 am
“Readers are entitled to know where you’re coming from.” (Jaswant)
Jaswant,
Please don’t try to push another commentator too hard here, unless you are the STASI sent by Special Branch!
#12 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:06 am
Onlooker,
You should direct your question to Kamput.
I’m a practicing Christian and don’t know much about Islam But what I do know is that it is futile to try and separate religion from state when it comes to Islam. It is different with the other religions.
#13 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:13 am
“I’m a practicing Christian and don’t know much about Islam But what I do know is that it is futile to try and separate religion from state when it comes to Islam.” (Jaswant)
Jaswant,
If you really think that it is impossible to separate the Mosque Authority from the State Authority, then I would suggest that you to go visit United Arab Emirates or Kuwait.
#14 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:14 am
After Ramadhan, there are Jews and Muslims coming to our church to share their faiths with us.
There shouldn’t be any fear or any stigma attached to your faith.
#15 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:17 am
I don’t enough about those countries you mentioned to make any meaningful comment. But I do know Turkey is a good example of separation of religion from state. They have a secular constitution. You are not allowed to put on your hijab when you come to work!
#16 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:25 am
Because of that the Turkish government is facing difficulties with its Muslim fundamentalists. Muslims in Turkey feel that they have been denied their religious freedom and some have come to make the United States their home where they can put on your hijab as you please.
Not so in some European countries like France. And this is causing serious problems with Muslim minorities there.
#17 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:28 am
In United Arab Emirates, the females are sometimes (I mean sometimes, not all the times) fully covered their body with white clothing simply for the purpose of upholding the traditional costume clothing. You may see some police woman in Abu Dhabi wearing uniform showing their face. Sometimes the uniform is being tailored made and trimmed for just fit into a female’s body with the clear shape of female breast and buttock be shown in the public. What do we have to find a lot of religious hypocrites outside Arabic Peninsular trying to preach some kind of occultic belief like alcohol drinking is a big sin that should be punished by canning or not wearing “tudung” is a sin because the female hair can stimulate sexual desire of a man?
#18 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:30 am
///Please don’t try to push another commentator too hard here, unless you are the STASI sent by Special Branch!/// – Onlooker Politics
A commentator whom you yourself once described as “an odd man who prefers to stand outside the window of the house of civil liberties. Therefore, he will not care too much about the denigration of his personal image by frequently resorting to name-calling when he feels that someone has said something which painfully touches his nerve…that it is no point preaching civil liberties and human decency to a stiff-necked man who doesn’t know how to appreciate the beauty of respectable human interaction!”?
[Reference – your comment #41 on July 24th, 2009 20:52 under thread blog subject "Are the 10 MCA Ministers and Deputy Ministers prepared collectively to lodge official reports with the police and the MACC to protect the life of Ong Tee Keat as well as to uphold the integrity of the Barisan Nasional government and Cabinet against the “dark forces” of corruption?" posted on Friday, July 24th, 2009 10:38 am and is filed in achieves here under Corruption, Crime, MCA.]
Now why would Special Branch send STASI to harass the principal person disrupting (in your own words) ‘respectable human interaction’ by his illusions of grandeur in an Opposition blog?
#19 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:30 am
Sorry, a slide of pen to be corrected!
In United Arab Emirates, the females are sometimes (I mean sometimes, not all the times) fully covered their body with BLACK clothing simply for the purpose of upholding the traditional costume clothing.
#20 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:31 am
Over where I am, you can stomp and spit on a dead cow’s severed head all you want. The only law you would have broken and a fine you could expect to get is for is for spitting.
#21 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:36 am
” …. alcohol drinking is a big sin that should be punished by canning or not wearing “tudung” is a sin because the female hair can stimulate sexual desire of a man?” Onlooker
It stimulates Kamput! That’s why he has fled the scene. All this talk about bare bodies and exposed hair has apparently got to him.
#22 by OrangRojak on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:38 am
stomp and spit on a dead cow’s severed head
Pffft! Where I grew up, you could get an Arts Council grant for that.
#23 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:41 am
“Now why would Special Branch send STASI to harass the principal person disrupting (in your own words) ‘respectable human interaction’ by his illusions of grandeur in an Opposition blog? Jeffrey
Yes, why Onlooker??
#24 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:43 am
“stomp and spit on a dead cow’s severed head
Pffft! Where I grew up, you could get an Arts Council grant for that.” Rojak
Why, you could get on the Crown Prosecution Service for less!
ROFL
#25 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:43 am
I still have fear of Special Branch’s sending me to the ISA detention camp! This is a dreadful experience, which still gives me nightmare in the midnite!
#26 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 2:08 am
Now why would Special Branch send STASI to harass the principal person disrupting …. an Opposition blog?” Jeffrey
Good one Jeffrey!
Why stop a person who is doing a heck of a job that even their best and brightest could not hope to do?
#27 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 2:17 am
Fear of ISA detention camp? No fear about that for the particular commentator. It would not be suitable.
More likely a communal, cheerful and non-institutional with low rise buildings of tropical architecture, clustered with courtyard, verandas and abundant landscaping, reasonable food of Hospital Permai, Tampoi Johor Bahru Johor 81200 Malaysia, Johor Bahru, Johor, 81200, Malaysia
(Telephone:607-2373333).
#28 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 2:20 am
After he has done his job, that is, lest he migrates later to pro-government or ministers’ blogs!
#29 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 2:40 am
ROFL
#30 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 7:15 am
Jeffrey,
Hospital Permai is the oldest mental asylum for the mentally deranged who have no prospect of a cure. I think Kamput should make it his permanent home. There are inmates who have been there for more than 25 years. There he can stay and decide who he wants to be. He’s pushing 60 and so it won’t be long. No point in wasting electricity on him.
#31 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 7:24 am
So much for being serious commentators. At the end of the day, both of you are just garbage that should be flushed down the gutter. I am not running away. Unlike you, I have no one to leverage on. Need to do honest living.
#32 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 7:32 am
one ball, you have only one idea and that is Islam and the state can not be separated. Think outside the box lah. Luckily there are only few stupid asses like you around. Otherwise the world may be still in stone age.
#33 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 7:41 am
You mean coming to you to expose your hypocrisy? What a waste of time. Everybody knows that by now. Think about it, there is quite a similarity between wannabe and hypocrisy. Both want to show something that they are not really are. No wonder they need to support each other to survive.
#34 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:32 pm
“Everybody knows that by now”.
But where is everybody that you mentioned? I don’t hear anybody else says anything.
Its all in one person.
That’s the advantage of a schizophrenic: you hear different voices not there, and feel never alone or out of place when you articulate the collective judgment (supposedly) for all.
#35 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 2:14 pm
i have others supporting from time to time. You only have a hypocrite which is like you a wannabe.
#36 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 3:05 pm
//I have others supporting from time to time//
There is actually no need for me to respond to inane remark without a morsel of substance, except in passing just to remind that your iillusion is deep, you stew alone in your spite. Was it not just the other occasion when OrangRojak commented about your “lonely crusade” of spite you had unbashedly admitted that a lone crusade was good? You must have conveniently forgotten.
Your attitude like diapers should be changed – for the same reason!
#37 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 6:05 pm
“But where is everybody that you mentioned? I don’t hear anybody else says anything. Its all in one person.” Jeffrey
Your analysis of his character is spot on. A paranoid schizophrenic would hear voices telling him how good he is and how stupid others are, even telling the blog master that he has stolen ideas from him and then when confronted with a simple ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ question about his faith, he wanders away from the question in the hope that it will be forgotten and when finally pinned down amidst the allegation he has committed ‘murtad’ the answer finally came :
“Called upon by a kafir, i don’t think so.” Kamput
Called by a ‘kafir’ (a non-believer) to affirm if he is a Muslim, he says doesn’t make a ‘murtad’ (apostate) out of him. There you go! A very clear admission albeit indirect of who he is.
It only takes a trial attorney minutes in a devastating cross-examination to expose him for who he is – a liar and a coward and a sick one at that.
We just want to hear him say he is a Muslim and not that he is not a Muslim. What’s wrong with being a Muslim? There is a good Muslim and there is a sick Muslim This is not a blog where Muslims are not welcome. We welcome all who share in our cause. Even the sick ones.
#38 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 6:52 pm
There is no need for a hypocritical so-called Christian to be overtly concerned with what faith others possess. I believe I am contributing and I believe in my heart my ideas were being used. If you don’t like to hear that, there is nothing much I can do. I am contributing, unlike you, just coming here is to cause mischief and talking about how Patriot Act and ISA were needed in post Sept 11 era. Oh yes, Islam and State are not separable. What else have you got, hypocrite?
Wannabe, don’t be an oxymoron. If there is no need to for you to respond, then why did you respond? Yes, I have supporters, there is no doubt about that. If you don’t like it, it is just too bad. You can’t change it, neither can I.
#39 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 7:33 pm
There you go again!! He’s not even attempting to answer the question!
Question: Are you or are you not a Muslim?
Answer the question!
No, I’m not as you put it “overly concerned with what faith others possess” but only with yours. Say you’re a Muslim or say you’re not. It is not that difficult is it??
#40 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 7:40 pm
If you’re not I’m sure you’d have said it. But for the fear of committing ‘murtad’.
#41 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 8:36 pm
A real psychopath – you just go ahead believing what you want to believe, for that is what a psychopath does. There are smart psychopath and stupid psychopath, you belong to the former.
//No, I’m not as you put it “overly concerned with what faith others possess” but only with yours//
Why why why, did you cause you pain in your posterior? Turn around, you may see that it was wannabe or monsterball.
#42 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 8:39 pm
Repost:
A real psychopath – you just go ahead believing what you want to believe, for that is what a psychopath does. There are stupid psychopath and smart psychopath, you belong to the former.
//No, I’m not as you put it “overly concerned with what faith others possess” but only with yours//
Why why why, did I cause you pain in your posterior? Turn around, you may see that it was wannabe or monsterball.
#43 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 9:42 pm
Say you’re a Muslim who looks upon Mohammad as God’s messenger, and that you’re willing to raise your posterior to the sky five times a day!
Or say you’re not a Muslim.
It is that simple!
#44 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 10:00 pm
Jaswant, a schizophrenic, by definition, has split or multiple personalities and therefore can be different persons of different beliefs depending…so it is not so simple an issue with him.
#45 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 10:04 pm
///Why why why, did I cause you pain in your posterior? Turn around, you may see that it was wannabe or monsterball//
Where imagination is exhausted, rational argument can’t be raised, eloquence fails, vulgarity is your last resort? How pathetic!
#46 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 10:09 pm
I think we can (for now) wind up this exchange. It must be recollected in your favour that you have a medical condition which always deserves a degree of empathy and understanding. Goodnight Lim Kam Put, sleep well!
#47 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 12:02 am
“Where imagination is exhausted, rational argument can’t be raised, eloquence fails …” Jeffrey
For many that comes from fasting. But in Kamput’s case he says he is not a Muslim. So what could possibly be the cause??
#48 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 12:13 am
///what could possibly be the cause??/// – Jaswant
Based on Kamput’s stupid comment #25 in the other thread, “Anwar Ibrahim – he cannot sing he cannot dance….”, many would have thought the cause is congenital stupidity but I guess we should know better that persons chemical imbalanced, clinically bipolar and schizophrenic should not be thrown into the same mixing pot with those congenitally stupid, lest the latter category is unfairly stigmatized as having brain diseases.
#49 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 3:50 am
as per Jeffrey “ …….. a medical condition which always deserves a degree of empathy and understanding (referring to Kamput)”.
A paranoid schizophrenic running amok on this blog is one thing. But he’s pushing 60 and if signs are any indication he’s likely also to be a pedophile. Right now he’s lurking round corners at night near his humble abode in Kg. Attap waiting to expose himself to school children. We’d be doing a disservice to the public if we don’t stop him.
#50 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 3:59 am
Now tell us.
Are you a Muslim or are you not a Muslim??
It is possible that due to ravages of time, he has forgotten who he is or that he’s a Muslim.
Now look between your legs and tell us. Is your foreskin still intact??