Injecting Reason Back Into Indonesia-Malaysia Relations

By Farish A. Noor

It would appear as if Reason and Rationality have gone on holiday in Southeast Asia recently: In Malaysia a group of angry residents who wished to protest against the construction of a Hindu temple in their neighborhood decided to demonstrate their anger by marching to the government offices in Selangor with a severed cow’s head, a gesture that was guaranteed to offend the sensibility of pious Hindus who regard the cow as a sacred animal. In Indonesia a misunderstanding over a tourism ad commissioned from a non-Malaysian company has angered scores of Indonesians, simply because it mistakenly featured a scene from a Balinese pendet dance which the Indonesians regard as being exclusively theirs: The net result being a new round of anti-Malaysian protests leading to local vigilante groups harrassing tourists in Jakarta and going out into the streets to ‘sweep’ the country of Malaysians.

In both Malaysia and Indonesia, tempers seem to be rising out of control and for all the wrong reasons. Making matters worse is the fact that in both countries these mob actions are neither accidental nor unavoidable. Mobs do not form themselves and move into the streets for no reason; vigilante groups do not miraculously form themselves out of this air without funding and political support.

And so we need to ask the question: How and why is it that in the year 2009, more than half a century after the independence of both countries, is the state of politics and society in both Malaysia and Indonesia still rooted in primordial essentialisms and sentiments that are based on intuition and emotionalism, rather than reason?

To be sure, mob actions such as what we have seen in Malaysia and Indonesia today are not new to Southeast Asia. We often forget that Southeast Asia has historically been one of the most violent parts of the world and that since the 1950s there have been a succession of orchestrated and engineered campaigns of mob violence. In Indonesia the anti-Communist campaign of the mid-1960s led to the slaughter of hundreds of thousands, and the campaign against Malaysia (then Malaya) known as the Konfrontasi was likewise a bloody affair. Malaysia too has experienced campaigns of demonisation and violence, including the sustained campaign to demonise the so-called ‘Communist threat’ in the 1960s to the racial violence of May 1969.

In all these cases we can see that mob violence and public anger are never accidental or arbitrary. There were, and are, clearly defined and identifiable actors and agents involved, including politicians, political parties, NGOs, lobby groups and the media. Also in many of these cases we see the unhealthy and dangerous collusion between right-wing ethno-nationalist forces and the instruments of the state, leading to a marriage of convenience made in hell which results in pogroms, mass killings and victimisation on a horrific scale.

What was missing in all these instances was Reason and rational debate: Ethnic and religious conflicts can only be resolved when communities respectfully engage with each other; and in instances where there can be no resolution, then take the rational path of accepting that they simply have to learn to live with differences. Likewise misunderstandings over issues like cultural appropriation and misappropriation can only be resolved when we take a rational approach to culture and history, and to reasonably accept that all cultures are composite complex entities that cannot be monopolised and copyrighted by any community. For Indonesians to claim batik as being exclusively Indonesian, for instance, is both historically and logically wrong – for batik was produced all over Southeast Asia and up to China, India, Africa and even Europe. To claim that one country has the right to patent something as universal as batik is as absurd as to claim that the United States of America has the right to patent all cars since they were the first to mass-produce them!

But reason and rational discourse can only be re-injected back into the current Malaysian-Indonesian debate if we allow it to. This entails some degree of responsibility on the part of Malaysian and Indonesian politicians, who are morally and politically obliged to restore order in their own societies. The Malaysian authorities should never have allowed the protesters against the Hindu temple to march with a cow’s head in the first place; and the Malaysian authorities likewise have an obligation to ensure that Indonesian workers – like all foreign workers – are protected while working in Indonesia.

The Indonesian government likewise has an obligation to stop the spread and escalation of the anti-Malaysian demonstrations that seem to be led by mainly right-wing hoodlums and thugs who hide behind the mask of patriotism and nationalism, while in reality are no different from the preman gangs who have terrorised the Indonesian public for decades.

Reason and rational debate only work in softer climes where the voices of reason can be heard. Thus far, neither the Malaysian nor Indonesian governments have done anything effective to restore some degree of sanity to the debate. Standing idly by and passively allowing things to get out of hand means that both governments are negatively responsible for what might follow. And if this latest round of Malaysian-Indonesian misunderstanding escalates further to hysteria and violence, both governments will have to be held into account, like firemen who stood by and did nothing while the building before them was burnt down to ashes.

1. #1 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 6:43 pm

If you listen to our national anthem and the Terang Bulan, you will realise that our Negara-ku definitely was copied from the Terang Bulan although the tempo is different.
    I suggest that Malaysia should organise a competition to pick a new tune for the National Anthem – that should keep the Info Minister busy rather than worry about cow head videos.

2. #2 by digard on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 7:27 pm

Farish Noor, a great piece as always!
    A minor issue, though: I think you wanted to write “the Malaysian authorities likewise have an obligation to ensure that Indonesian workers – like all foreign workers – are protected while working in Malaysia.”

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 8:23 pm

///To be sure, mob actions such as what we have seen in Malaysia and Indonesia today are not new to Southeast Asia./// – Farish Noor.

Was that how these parts of South East Asia made a permanent contribution (since the early 16th century) to the richness of English lexicon by the word “amok” (also spelt amuk, amuck, amock) (meaning to go mad with rage)?

4. #4 by Loh on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 8:44 pm

///In all these cases we can see that mob violence and public anger are never accidental or arbitrary. There were, and are, clearly defined and identifiable actors and agents involved, including politicians, political parties, NGOs, lobby groups and the media. Also in many of these cases we see the unhealthy and dangerous collusion between right-wing ethno-nationalist forces and the instruments of the state, leading to a marriage of convenience made in hell which results in pogroms, mass killings and victimisation on a horrific scale.///– Farish A. Noor

Yes, the display of public anger has been organised, in Malaysia and in Indonesia. In Malaysia it has always been against its own nationals of different religious groups. In Indonesia, it is against foreigners. Interestingly Indonesians consider Malaysians foreigners whereas Malays consider Indonesians potential Malays.

5. #5 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 9:01 pm

I still wonder at the tension between ‘rational discourse’ and the howls of outrage at the cow’s head when megaphone man threatened ‘bloodshed’. Is it displacement? Am I wrong to fear bloodshed if I haven’t been sacrileged (or however you verb that) against? What should I consider as sacrilege? I feel a bit left out.

6. #6 by BoycottLocalPapers on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 9:02 pm

Many so-called bumputeras in this country are actually immigrants from Indonesia. That explains why we ciplak so many songs from Indonesia and adopted Indonesian culture as ours.

According to RPK, our national anthem is ciplak from Mamula Moon. That explains why our country is so famous for producing pirated CDs & DVDs. It is time for our nation to face the reality that our national anthem is stolen from another song.

Can we replace Mamula Moon rip off with Sudirman’s 31 Ogos? I find that Sudirman’s song is more inspiring than Mamula Moon, and the best song to be our national anthem. By the way, Sudirman is our version of Michael Jackson.

If I am not mistaken, Dr M once tried to change the tempo or rhythm of our national anthem (correct me if I am wrong). Why? Is it because the anthem sounds too similar to the Indonesian version of Mamula Moon?

7. #7 by johnnypok on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 10:09 pm

Malaysia BODOH

8. #8 by k1980 on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 11:10 pm

Indons will next accuse malaysians of copying their wearing of sarungs and songkoks, that is, royalties must be paid to them. Even the malay language is copied from Bahasa Indon.

9. #9 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 11:40 pm

The Indonesian outrage is a little taste of the medicine that UMNO has been doling out on all Malaysians – playing up issues to gain political mileage. According to WIKI, terang bulan was copied from the Perak state anthem and that too was copied from a French composer – the tune originated from a Polynesian island. Maybe the next PR government will change the National Anthem to something more original.
    TDM changed the tempo to become more upbeat but it was changed back to the slower more sombre tempo a year years ago.

10. #10 by OrangRojak on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 12:29 am

change the National Anthem
    Someone did a lovely job only recently (well I liked it, anyway), but it was very poorly received by some people with no sense of humour. Wikepedia tells me there’s a gag order by the Internal Security Ministry, so hang on while I tie this round my face.

Mmf. Mmm mm mmm mnn fnn, mmf mf fmfm mm! Mmm mm, mmm. Mmm? Hmhmhmhm!

How to inject reason lidat?

11. #11 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 12:50 am

//////

Farish explains lucidly how ethnic and religious conflicts (esp in multiracial society)
    can only be resolved when communities respectfully engage with each other on level of rational debate instead of reacting emotionally and violently. Then he laments and wonders aloud – “how and why is it that in the year 2009, more than half a century after the independence of both countries, is the state of politics and society in both Malaysia and Indonesia still rooted in primordial essentialisms and sentiments that are based on intuition and emotionalism, rather than reason?”

He does not give a reason on why.

How groups of people act is dependent on their individual and collective psychological condition. When Farish uses words like “primordial essentialisms and sentiments that are based on intuition and emotionalism”, he is talking about that psychological condition.

Psychological condition of groups and people is strongly shaped by cultural factors. It is a culture-bound (or culture-specific) syndrome.

Perhaps Farish could go further to explore and elucidate the “whats” and the “whys” relating to cultural factors common to both Malaysia and Indonesia that make groups/people more inclined to “primordial essentialisms and sentiments based on intuition and emotionalism” than (say) reason and rational debate.

12. #12 by HJ Angus on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 1:10 am

“cultural factors common to both Malaysia and Indonesia that make groups/people more inclined to “primordial essentialisms and sentiments based on intuition and emotionalism” than (say) reason and rational debate.”

That a polite way to say “going amok”!
    Maybe it is a basic lack of intelligence and inability to communicate that they return back to basic and crude behaviour.

13. #13 by monsterballssgoh on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 5:44 am

Farish A. Noor needs to study more the real history of Indonesia and Malaysia properly….before he put out a message to compare tiny tot new Malaysia with old old Indonesia.
    We can say…Malaysia is somewhat like Australia…but with a older history background that all are immigrants…including the so call Malay race.
    But Indonesia have a solid foundation of mixtures from China and India.
    In anycase…historical facts in Malaysia are not truthful at all.
    Farish A. Noor get it very very clear.
    Leave out the government of both sides….majority Indonesia on the streets do not like UMNO government and members at all.
    The way of life…are far far apart..although Malays are claiming they are like brothers and sisters..based on both embraces Islamic faith.
    No no no..Indonesia way of life and love of ALLAH is totally different from UMNO way of life and interpretations to Malaysians Mulims.
    For one…Allah hates race discrimination and separation.
    And foremost of all….Indonesia do not have false titles to identify themselves.
    The common bondage between the two governments maybe massive corruptions…and Mahathir is the great teacher to Soeharto….how to do that.
    Look what happen to Golka party..once so mighty for decades…now reduced to be just a supportive small party..to form a government.
    I need to point out Indonesians Muslims do not consider Malaysians Malays…their so call blood brother at all.
    Malaysian UMNO muslims gave a tendency to belittle Indonesians…based on Twin Towers..Proton…Putra Jaya…Penang Bridge..an based on being a richer country than Indonesia..very clearly shown from Mahathir era up to now.
    Farish A. Noor talk about out gangsters and batik cloth….is showing a typical UMNO racialist way of talking.
    Indonesians are mad at UMNO using their Javanese cultural dance in the 52nd Merdeka promotional videos…which Malaysians are fully aware…UMNO loves to show off and promote false history and what have we got.
    That Javanese dance is originated in Indonesia..
    To sum up…our National anthem …was copied wholesale from…..’Terang Bulan”…where the song writer is still alive in Indonesia……and it takes Malaysian muslim to say…it was originate elsewhere..copied by that Indonesian writer.
    Such is the way….UMNO politicians and supporters.. keep belittling others….always find ways and means o cover up and insult anyone…the think they can do that.
    UMNO copy all the US game shows..copy US flag…are the smartest thieves and crooks in the world….YET…it takes Mahathir to perform his side shows….keep teaching and belittling US government…to the delights of UMNO muslims..and naturally..those who are against US obvious..double standards government are happy too. Such is the way..Mahathir showed UMNO…how to play dirty politics….by accusing others……on the things UMNO are doing…before anyone start accusing UMNO.
    Farish A. Noor….should go to Indonesia…sit at kopitiams and talk to man in the streets…to get real facts….and not read books..like some here….blaring out nonsense.

14. #14 by ekompute on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 8:06 am

“What was missing in all these instances was Reason and rational debate: Ethnic and religious conflicts can only be resolved when communities respectfully engage with each other; and in instances where there can be no resolution, then take the rational path of accepting that they simply have to learn to live with differences.”

The problem with these religious zealots is that they don’t know what their religion is all about. At the end of the day, all religion is the religion of the heart.

I am not religious and that’s why I read all religious literature. Of all that I have read so far, I find Buddha’s original teachings (not the Chinese Mahayana Buddhism) the easiest to understand. Buddhism recognizes ten “non-virtuous actions”, consisting of three physical acts of the body, four actions performed by speech, and three performed by thought. The non-virtuous thoughts are: 1) craving, similar to the Old Testament concept of covetousness; 2) ill-will, or wishing bad things to happen to people or taking pleasure at others’ misfortunes; and 3) wrong view, an incorrect understanding of the nature of reality, which leads to the performance of the other non-virtuous actions.

Islam, I believe, also preaches basically the same thing but I guess because of language problems, a lot of Muslims who are defending Islam are the very culprits who are offending their own religion, the cow-head incident being just one of many many. Corruption is another. Anyone who is in public office and has amassed a big fortune cannot truly called themselves Muslims, period.

15. #15 by ekompute on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 8:12 am

monsterballssgoh :
    Farish A. Noor….should go to Indonesia…sit at kopitiams and talk to man in the streets…to get real facts….and not read books..like some here….blaring out nonsense.

“Only the foolish learn from experience — the wise learn from the experience of others.” Romanian Proverb. (Fools go out, make their own mistakes and learn from them. Smart people learn from others’ mistakes.)

“Experience keeps a dear school, but fools will learn in no other.” Benjamin Franklin (Fools don’t learn in school from textbooks or teachers. Fools learn from their own mistakes. They can’t learn this in a school classroom.)

Well, I guess we need both. It’s not an either or situation. Each reinforces the other.

16. #16 by BoycottLocalPapers on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 8:17 am

The fact that the majority of Malays and Indonesians are very tolerant, hospitable & nice people partly due to the Hindu & Buddhist culture (e.g. Bali & Borobudur) they inherited from their ancestors.

The intolerant ugly part of the Malays & Indonesians (e.g. cow head protest, anti-US protest led by KJ, the violence against the Christians in Ambon, Maluku) could be attributed to the Pakistan & Arab culture that the Malays & Indonesians imported in recent years.

17. #17 by ekompute on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 8:20 am

monsterballssgoh :
    Indonesians are mad at UMNO using their Javanese cultural dance in the 52nd Merdeka promotional videos…which Malaysians are fully aware…UMNO loves to show off and promote false history and what have we got.
    That Javanese dance is originated in Indonesia..
    To sum up…our National anthem …was copied wholesale from…..’Terang Bulan”

Well, I think Malaysia has the right to use the Javanese dance as much as Kerismuddin has the right to wave the Javanese keris. After all, isn’t it true that Malaysia is akin to the Kuwait of Indonesia where most of the Malays come from? Oopphhhs, is the keris the symbol of Malay royalty or the Malay race?

18. #18 by a g on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 11:14 am

Ok, I must admit I am stepping into a minefield now. But I have learned that it is a fact that in the holy book the Qur’an there are certain parts that “sanction”(?) / “permit” (?) / well, maybe “do not denounce” is a safer phrase (?) ..errr..fighting…or, waging jihads—(ok, this “jihad” thing may be too farfeched to be of any relevance to our discussion here, but it’s there isn’t it?)—ok— WHEN NECESSARY. Ok, that’s a good one, that means you have to use reason!

But my worry is, could that “saction(?)/permit(?)/do not denounce(?)” provision have been abusively invoked?

I am getting nowhere…

Can someone tell me my worry is irrelevant, unreasonable and therefore unnecessary?

19. #19 by BoycottLocalPapers on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 2:59 pm

Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin is reported to have said:

“Indonesians should understand that Malaysians are also sensitive, and get angry at hearing our country labelled negatively, and seeing our national flag burnt.

Isn’t KJ the guy who burnt the American & Israeli flag when Condoleeza Rice was here? If I am not mistaken, our former education minister encouraged students to burn American flags?

Why it is okay for UMNO to burn US & Israel flags but it is not okay for Indonesians to burn Malaysian flag?

UMNO leaders must be damn hypocrites.

20. #20 by somaris on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 5:49 pm

BRAVO BRAVO
    THATS A GOOD ONE.
    IF MALAYSIA UMNO CAN BURN AMERICAN & ISRAELI FLAG. WHY IT IS NOT OK FOR INDONESIA TO BURN MALAYSIA FLAG ?
    SO UMNO CHIEF AS THEY SAID
    SIAPA MAKAN CHILLIES DIA RASA PEDAS LAH