Will Najib order all Umno/BN leaders to stop dragging MACC into political games?

The call by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak yesterday that the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) should not be dragged into political games makes history as one which have unanimous support of ordinary Malaysians – except that the targets in the minds of the overwhelming majority of Malaysians are completely different from those intended by Najib.

I have no doubt that if a opinion poll is conducted among Malaysians, almost 100 per cent would agree with Najib’s call, except that such an opinion poll would show that the overwhelming majority of easily over 90 per cent regard the Umno/BN government as the culprits responsible for dragging MACC into “political games” and undermining public confidence in the independence, professionalism and integrity of MACC while only a very small percentage would think like Najib in targeting the Pakatan Rakyat.

Najib said MACC’s credibility must be intact and it must be allowed to carry out its role in fighting graft so the country could be administered efficiently and effectively.

Again, Najib is right, except that he is raising national eye-brows in refusing to admit that the guilty parties are Umno/Barisan Nasional leaders and is trying to make the Pakatan Rakyat the scapegoat for the MACC’s rapid loss of public confidence.

Najib said: “We should not be quick to accuse or pass judgment against the commission so much so that people start to question its credibility. Leave it out of political games and let the officers do their work.”

It is the Umno/BN and not Pakatan Rakyat who are getting MACC involved in their political games and not allow MACC officers to do their work.

For instance, why is the MACC declaring war on Pakatan Rakyat instead of declaring war against corruption if not to suit the political agenda of Umno/BN?

This was why in the past seven months since its establishment, MACC was more interested in playing to the tune of Barisan Nasional’s “political games” such as the following:

• Harassing the Pakatan Rakyat Selangor Mentri Besar, Tan Sri Khalid when the MACC Chief Commissioner Datuk Seri Ahmad Said announced in February that the MACC had “good and strong evidence” that Khalid had misused his powers over the now infamous “Car and Cows” allegation!

• Took part in the Umno/BN conspiracy in the unethical, undemocratic, illegal and unconstitutional power grab in Perak, resulting in the toppling of the Perak Pakatan Rakyat state government.

• Playing a key role in the next Umno/BN power grab conspiracy in trying to topple the PR Selangor state governments, targetting PR Exco and State Assemby members allegedly for abuses of power and improprieties in constituency allocations.

As a result, the MACC was only interested in probing allegations of impropriety of RM2,400 constituency allocation, which resulted in the mysterious death of Teoh Beng Hock at MACC premises on July 16, while showing no interest whatsoever to mega-scandals whether the RM24 million “Istana” Khir Toyo or the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandals.

At the Teoh Beng Hock inquest yesterday, a MACC investigating officer Deputy Superintendent Mohd Anuar Ismail admitted that he had personally lodged a report against Selangor Pakatan Rakyat Assemblymen for graft on the instruction of his superior officer, the MACC Deputy Director in Selangor Hishamuddin Hashim to initiate MACC investigations.

I find this amazing as the MACC Chief Commissioner Datuk Seri Ahmad Said had challenged me to lodge a report against the Deputy Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin for corruptly abusing his powers in flying RMAF Nuri helicopter to officiate Umno divisional meetings in Sabah completely unrelated to his duties as DPM.

If a MACC investigating officer could be instructed by his MACC superior to lodge a report against Pakatan Rakyat Exco and Assembly members on purported misuse of constituency allocations, why couldn’t the MACC Chief Commissioner instruct the MACC to lodge an official report against Muhyiddin so that MACC could start investigations?

The MACC has made history in forfeiting public confidence in a matter of a few months from its establishment.

Is Najib prepared to stop Umno/BN leaders from stop playing games with MACC and allow it full freedom of operations in accordance with an anti-corruption body with independence, integrity and professionalism to eradicate corruption – including the freedom to lodge a report against the Deputy Prime Minister and interrogate him for abuses of power?

1. #1 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 2:55 pm

UMNO is the thief that shouts “Thief”.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 3:02 pm

If a MACC investigating officer could be instructed by his MACC superior to lodge a report against Pakatan Rakyat Exco and Assembly members on purported misuse of constituency allocations, why couldn’t the MACC Chief Commissioner instruct the MACC to lodge an official report against Muhyiddin so that MACC could start investigations?
    =====================================

Really admire Kit’s political wisdom – no match for the “Old Ginger”.

3. #3 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 3:40 pm

The MACC only had a makeover from the old ACA. Apart from spending thousands on stationery and the new ill-fated HQ in Selangor, there has been no substantial change in personnel or mindset.
    Yes we have 5 oversight committees of 42 prominent Malaysians who have been prominent by their absence of any action in the Teoh murder case.
    Oversight is the correct term as they have overlooked the important matters.

4. #4 by k1980 on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 4:04 pm

The macc is not playing games. It is dead serious in overthrowing the PR state govt in Penang, Selangor, Kedah and Kelantan. It is ready to commit murder to do so.

5. #5 by the reds on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 4:14 pm

“Istana” Khir Toyo shall be probed…… MACC has totally lost its credibility! No Malaysians will believe MACC is an independent body!!!

6. #6 by Bobster on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 4:40 pm

Bought whole family to Disneyland with taxpayers money not a problem.

Transfering away $10M public donation right after 308 from Balkis fund not a problem.

Bought $24M banglo with a price of $2.4M from an unknown company not a problem.

Using state funds for cows during Hari Korban is a problem.

Using $2400 for merdeka flag purchasing is a problem.

Hey, what kind of sub-standard investigation team we have in this country.

Who else dragging MACC into political games?

Even dummies also know.

7. #7 by Winston on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 4:55 pm

Don’t we all know this bunch of hypocrites for what they are?
    They have been at this game for the past few decades!!

8. #8 by k1980 on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 5:01 pm

MACC should explain why corruption investigations on the 2 Perak PKR assembymen who joined BN have been dropped. Is it due to the myth that once a crook joins BN, his/her sins are forgiven?

9. #9 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 5:08 pm

The “correct correct correct” coverup;
    The “Mongolian” coverup;
    The “Kugan” coverup;
    The “Port” coverup;
    now “Teoh” coverup…. etc etc.

It is so obvious to the whole world that the crooks are just covering up each other. Malaysia – a nation under the carpet.

Pakatan must win big in the next election!!!!

10. #10 by Leong Yook Kong on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 5:37 pm

Who does not allow the MACC officers do their works? Of course, it is not Pakatan Rakyat and the Rakyat.

After more than 4 years of investigation into the PKFZ scandal, what is the final result of the investigation? To the MACC officers, who were involved in the investigation of PKFZ scandal previously, please answer our question: “Do you know about the disputed claims amounting to about RM1.4 billion”? Do you know how many cows and cars can be bought with RM1.4 billion?

You could investigate Teoh Beng Huat into the wee hours, why cannot you do so with this PKFZ RM1.4 billion? The urgency is there. How long will the Rakyat have to wait for your investigation into this scandal? Can you do the work? Remember, the Pakatan Rakyat and the Rakyat (taxpayers) are not stopping you from investigation into corrupt practices.

11. #11 by monsterballssgoh on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 6:26 pm

I do not know how to comment when Lim Kit Siang has said it all.
    I do not know how Najib brain works…except LKS have somewhat exposed it.
    I simply do not understand…just as I do not understand “1Malaysia”
    Therefore best is to read and laugh….just as Najib is now blaming wrong candidate chosen for by election…and still say UMNO have won by reducing majority votes.
    It is actually not easy to be an UMNO law maker or minister.
    The two best are chosen to be PM and DPM.
    You must be best twisters and actors….daily trying so hard to win votes.
    If one can guarantee sure to win 13th GE….Najib maybe ousted.
    The game of death is real. They know it and Najib knows it very well.
    Who is dying…UMNO says PR…especially keDAILan.
    Dreamers and fools will keep on spinning and dreaming.
    The Permatang Pasir result….made lot of betters won money.
    UMNO bookies much poorer…..hahahahahahaha

12. #12 by Loh on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 7:12 pm

///PUTRAJAYA: The Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission should not be dragged into political games, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said.///

Yes, the people can never drag MACC into anywhere because they are powerful. Only the bosses of MACC can make them toe the line. Games are harmless activities, but MACC actions helped change government in Perak, and caused the death of a witness. If Najib meant to direct his statement to UMNO members, then we need to ask who ordered MACC to convert two former PKR ADUNs into Katak Mas. Strangely, after the two ADUNs became friendly to BN regime, MACC has since stopped investigating. Maybe Najib should tell Ahmad Said to stop playing games under the authority of MACC.

///The Prime Minister said doing so would create a negative perception among the public about its integrity and credibility.///

The people have already lost confidence in MACC because of a series of unprofessional undertakings by MACC which served only the interests of BN parties that formed the federal government. Najib should not for a moment think that Malaysians are stupid, if not blind. The games by UMNO leaders are plain for all to see. Only UMNO leaders stooped that low and they, or was it Najib alone, were willing to drag not only MACC, the Judiciary, the police but also the His Highness into political disputes.

///He said the commission’s credibility must be intact and it must be allowed to carry out its role in fighting graft so the country could be administered efficiently and effectively.///

One effective way is to set the thief to catch the thief. Now the thief is crying theft.

MACC is taking order from UMNO leader and it knows not its role in fighting graft. MACC has lost its credibility entirely, and they are lost but intact.

///“The Government has confidence in the MACC and we should not point fingers or make negative judgments based on one unfortunate incident,” he said, referring to the death of political aide Teoh Beng Hock.///

If the government has confidence in MACC with all its unprofessional undertakings and double standards, we have no confidence in the Government of Malaysia.

/// “We should not be quick to accuse or pass judgment against the commission so much so that people start to question its credibility. Leave it out of political games and let the officers do their job,” he said.///

If the 42 MACC Panel members of the five committee set up to oversea the activities of MACC do not act, or call in a royal commission of enquiry into selective investigation and persecution perpetrated by MACC then the whole set up of MACC serves only political games directed by UMNO. Najib reigns supreme even if he pretends that all is well with MACC. But his comment shows that either he is not in control or he is a liar.

///Najib said the Government had been transparent in dealing with the issue.///
    Yes, the government has chosen not to hide it blatant abuse of MACC for political interests. Is that transparency a show of arrogance?

///He said holding a Royal Commission of Inquiry and an inquest into Teoh’s death was a testimony of such transparency.///

The person in charge directed that reporting of the dead body be delayed. Was that an effort to prevent or confuse pathologist in getting a definite answer on the cause of death? Quite obviously one cannot hold his own belt to lift himself up. So Teoh did not jump to his death. God knows whether Teoh was dead before he touched the ground.

///If there are certain issues involving civil liberties which are unsatisfactory, we will rectify them,” he said.///

ISA is a clear case involving civil liberties. The other concerns a private investigator who made a statutory declaration. The police have not investigated on the declaration but the person who made that has disappeared. He has lost his liberties after making the declaration. How Najib is going to rectify it?

13. #13 by lee wee tak_ on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 10:33 pm

ok, Najib tell us not to politicalise MACC right?

then
    1) New Straits Times Group managing editor Zainul Ariffin wrote in the Berita Harian calling it a Malay institution-racialising on top of politicalising it

2) when Najib says 1 Malaysia, his Deputy said Malay first, ungrateful Chinese blah blah blah…now look, I can understand in politics, double speak can be a tool but when you use it as often as soap and underwear, you lose your credibility and I do not know whether to trust your speech or fart.

If Najib want to stop this negative public preception, I have a suggestion – EQUAL TREATMENT for BN and PR chaps.

However, not a nostril hair of Ong Tee Keat & Tiong were not harmed at all despite the jolly number of RM10 million was involved but somehow Teoh Beng Hock can died for RM2,400. Did MACC tell Ong Tee Keat he was bodoh and tell me to go back to Tong San like the Kajang councillor who happens to be in DAP camp?

If there is professionalism in conduct and total impartiality. No, I do not want Ong Tee Keat sprawling at MACC ground floor lifeless but I want Teoh Beng Hock to be still alive and kicking like Ong now.

14. #14 by Ken G on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 10:54 pm

Why hasn’t Ong Tee Keat been questioned at all over the RM10million bribe allegation? What kind of investigation is MACC conducting, a one-sided investigation where they only listen to one side of the story? Come on, MACC, do your job or don’t blame others if the public holds you in derision and contempt.

15. #15 by vengai on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 11:59 pm

whom Najis try sell his shit with?
    Its his Regime the one dragging the
    M alaysian A dvanced C orrupted C ulprits
    to political game for their and to do their dirty plot againt the Pakatn.

His trying to cover the conspiracy he plot which failed.

16. #16 by passerby on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 12:57 am

The counsel Gobind Singh Deo should call the macc as the “discredited macc” at all time during the inquest and challenged all their statements as lies and manufactured facts since they have never been independent and have not investigated real blatant corruptions committed by umno and their cronies.

The people doesn’t trust the macc and consider it to be just as corrupt as the umno.

Let create a public online poll for the macc to let them know how we veil them.

17. #17 by frankyapp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 1:32 am

Najib said MACC’s credibility must be intact and must be allowed to carry out its role in fighting graft so that the country could be administered efficiently and effectively…And I said oh dear Najib,what are you now talking about ? Didn’t you know the MACC has lost all its credibility and is now in a messy mess ,all because of your own doing ? If in fact Najib now only realises the MACC inefficiency and ineffectiveness,than I think he either must be sleeping all these while or he predended he didn’t know.I still think that the later was the truth as he’s the mastermind of all these biased activities against his political apponents.I think now whatever he does to create a good impression for the MACC is useless as the damages have gone beyong repaired.The people preception has now become conception,hence it takes an obortion to rid of this corrupted disease .Will Najib dares to do that ? Has he the authority to do that ?

18. #18 by frankyapp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 1:39 am

and I wish to add this,will Najib now able to dismantle the monster he created ?

19. #19 by sightseeing on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 1:52 am

//I find this amazing as the MACC Chief Commissioner Datuk Seri Ahmad Said had challenged me to lodge a report against the Deputy Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin for corruptly abusing his powers in flying RMAF Nuri……………….., why couldn’t the MACC Chief Commissioner instruct the MACC to lodge an official report against Muhyiddin so that MACC could start investigations?//
    ———————————-
    YB Kit,

Right on target, you are a sharp shooter. You have killed many birds in one shot.

You have provided indisputable evidence on the double standards of MACC and that it is a dog acting under the direction of UMNO.

You have successfully shut the mouth of Ahmad Said.

To the MACC Chief Commissioner Datuk Seri Ahmad Said. Do you have any defense for your crime of corruption? If not, you should change the designation of your position to:

Chief Commissioner of Malaysian Agency for Covering Corruption.

20. #20 by GilaPolitic on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 2:16 am

Dear Uncle YB Kit Siang,

I read that many Malaysians have renamed “MACC” with excellent titles like :

(a) Malaysian Agency for Car and Cow.

(b) Malaysian Agency for Covering Corruption.

During my long LRT journey to KLCC for breaking fast, a Mat Salleh was anger to read the coward Deputy Chief of MACC was alleged of corruptions in the mistery letter and he called out MACC as:-

“Malaysian Agency for Cowards and Corrupts”.

Do you have better worst name for MACC ?

21. #21 by monsterballssgoh on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 4:12 am

There are few monsters Najib created.
    MACC is action monster.
    Police also.
    Few judges are monsters that are as cruel..but getting less. Najib seems to fail in this.
    Then thousands of small monsters…than can go in to frenzy moods…at the beck of his call.
    PR need to counter act by sending animal tamers…with no fear.
    Yes monster are created by him…and the most successful one is that smart ass who encouraged corruptions….so much so…an ex Chief Justice and few high ranking judges toe to his tunes..establishing him .a dictator.

22. #22 by jbozz on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 12:21 pm

If he don’t use MACC what else he can use, already lost the confidence of the Rakyat.

Trying to win back the Rakyat is not easy especially after 52 years, all the childrens has grown and matured. Most of them have enough.

Already 52 years and they still treat us like chilkdrens?

23. #23 by jbozz on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 12:34 pm

After 52 years we are entering to dictator era, where each words we spoke, write and discuss are been dictated. Democracy no longer work, when people awakened.

Who will not want to vote for BN? but what BN give us, nothing after 52 years of empty promises. It scare all foreigner away because there is no proper law and regulation to protect their interest. Most foreigner would rather reside in Thailand because the Thais are all blessed to be hardworking and they don’t mind to take less unlike the Malaysian.

How many millionth they lied to all the pig farmers who lost millionth investing in junk land to rear pigs? is this some kind of retribution that these pig farmers are as stupid as pig to lost their hard earned saving to invest in a junk land? where is the law to protect them. There ain’t nothing to protect Malaysian. But if you are rich and powerful even murder case, can have a solution to prevent from death sentence or lifetime imprisonment. Such a lawless state, which foreigner will come to invest. When VW resume the talk to merge Proton, they seek for transparency, do you think AP Queen will agreed to reveal and sacrifice all these sub standard sub contractors of Proton? how many commission each month the politician get from these sub standard sub con?

24. #24 by jbozz on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 12:40 pm

How many of you have been to Thailand, look at every sector. The Thais fragrance rice is good to eat, their sea food is kind of cheap and nice. The massage and Spa is cheap and you can get excellent service very cheap there. Also try visit their supermarket the choices is more compare to the supermarket in Malaysia. That’s because each entry product must pay some form of gratuities not sure to whom, but it is some form of prevention to protect local traders.

25. #25 by jbozz on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 12:45 pm

We don’t have any business here, most chinese resort to Ah Long in the end, they all run away or hide in darkness. There is not many loan to non bumi, and most bumi who get it do not know how to manage a business, most of them failed or end up in legal tussle. Majority of the bumi are working in palm estates, and factory workers. The rest, are working in Bank sector and some are in private sector. If we can get chinese, and indian can become Malaysian and they don’t choose race to offer loan, this will boast the economy greatly. Not sure the 3 budgets which cost billionth, yet we feel nothing? are these funds end up at wrong people hand who did not start business.

26. #26 by yellowkingdom on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 1:07 pm

AhMat Sei HamTan, does not have the “eggs” to challenge DPM. How to? He does not want to lose his position. Unless, of course there’s instructions otherwise. After roosting the nest for so long, the “eggs” have changed to Pei Tan (exceeded shelf life.) Time to bring in fresh eggs reporting to Parliament not to Napoleon (Animal Farm).

27. #27 by mut on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 2:03 pm

When we had ACA, this outfit was feared by the corrupt in carrying out their duties.

Now, MACC has forfeited their reputation faster than we can say “submarine commission !”

The way Utusan referred to the MACC as an “institusi Melayu” tells us Malaysians a lot more than what is merely being printed.

BN/UMNO out, and the outing of these criminals can begin !

28. #28 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 10:57 pm

” Will Najib order all UMNO/BN leaders to stop dragging MACC into political games” ? – LKS

Will all UMNO/BN leaders order Najib/Muhiidin to stop dragging MACC into political games?

29. #29 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 1:01 am

Taxidriver :
    Will all UMNO/BN leaders order Najib/Muhiidin to stop dragging MACC into political games?

Taxidriver, you better go and drive your taxi laaaaa. Your Inglis very atrocious.

How can you ask someone to order himself? Najib and Muhyiddin are leaders laaa. The rest are LOADERS. Check laaa online dictionary, it’s flee: A loader is a laborer who loads and unloads vessels in a port. A leader is a featured article of merchandise sold at a loss in order to draw customers, LOL.

30. #30 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 4:27 pm

yhsiew :
    UMNO is the thief that shouts “Thief”.

Aptly said!

31. #31 by Lee HS on Monday, 31 August 2009 - 2:45 pm

If these Malays institutions are so great, how come we have so much problems?

Do they mean that there is no righteous men in the government?