Tiong Lai – do not be like ‘Nero playing fiddle while Rome burns” only interested in playing MCA politics despite mounting deaths from dengue and H1N1 epidemics

Health Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai should not be like “Nero playing fiddle while Rome burns” only interested in playing MCA politics despite mounting deaths from dengue and H1N1 epidemics.

The influenza A (H1N1) has claimed a fourth casualty in Malaysia – 20-year-old woman who died of “severe community acquired pneumonia” at 9.40 am on Tuesday at the Malacca Hospital, after suffering from the flu for 11 days.

On the dengue front, two more deaths have occurred this year, a 77-year-old man from Sipitang, Sabah and a 45-year-old female teacher from Ampang, Selangor who died last week.

Since January this year, there have been 26,446 cases and 64 fatalities Liow seems to have forgotten what he started six months ago, when he declared an all-out war against dengue, which recorded the highest number of 49,335 dengue cases and 112 lives last year – 50 per cent of whom were preventable deaths.

Now, Malaysia is heading towards an even higher incidence of dengue cases and fatalities than last year.

What type of “an all-out declared war against dengue” is Liow as Health Minister waging?

Liow should be taking leave from his MCA party duties to be an effective commander-in-chief in an all-out war against dengue and H1N1 epidemics but he seems to have lost interest in the dual war against dengue and H1N1 and instead more interested to play political psy-war games in MCA, not only against MCA Deputy Chairman Datuk Seri Chua Soi Lek but also against the DAP.

Liow led the MCA response to my lodging a police report on Monday to protect Ong Tee Keat’s life from death threat revealed repeatedly in the public by the MCA President himself as well as multiple serious crimes by “dark forces” of politico-business underworld combined with Barisan Nasional elements to compromise and suborn government decision-making process all the way to the Cabinet as alleged by Ong.

I am still waiting for Liow to explain why he is completely unconcerned that Ong has received a death threat and Ong’s serious allegation of “dark forces” of politico-business underworld and Barisan Nasional elements to coerce and arm-twist Cabinet Ministers.

Has Liow information that all this is just a big bluff, that what Ong said was untrue and just propaganda in the “Ong-Chua” power struggle in MCA, and need not be taken seriously as far as his personal security is concerned?

If so, what Ong had done is the height of irresponsibility and Ong should apologise to the people and nation for such irresponsible and despicable conduct completely unbecoming of a MCA President and Cabinet Minister. In fact a MCA President and Cabinet Minister who could tell such lies about death threat from the underworld when it was completely untrue should resign forthwith in disgrace! Liow said Johore MCA is prepared to lodge a police report on behalf of DAP on underworld elements in Johore DAP.

I told the DAP Johore Chairman Dr. Boo Cheng Hau yesterday that if he had said that there were underworld elements in the DAP, he should lodge a police report. If he had not actually meant that, he should make the necessary clarification.

Unlike the MCA and MCA leaders, the DAP in our 43-year history had nothing to do with underworld elements as we derive our support fully and completely from the people.

MCA is different. After all, it was Ong when he was MCA Youth chief who publicly made the allegation in 2003 about “black gold” politics in MCA, and in particular that certain MCA leaders had connections with triad characters and that there were even MCA leaders with “triad” backgrounds.

It is most disappointing that Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein could not distinguish between his duties as Home Minister from that of an Umno and Barisan Nasional political leader.

The MCA-owned Star reported that Hishammudin said after the weekly post-Cabinet meeting that the police have been asked to investigate claims that certain politicians were involved in secret societies in Johore as such activities could tarnish the image of local representatives throughout the country.

He said: “Such practices can lead to a breakdown of the highest institutions in the country and work against everything we have striven to achieve in the country in the 50 years since independence.”

Hishammuddin was clearly referring to Johore DAP. But has he nothing to say about Transport Minister Ong Tee Keat’s even more serious allegation of a Cabinet Minister given a death threat by secret society elements and the “dark forces” of politico-business underworld combined with Barisan Nasional elements to compromise and suborn government decision-making process all the way to the Cabinet?

I will ask in Parliament why Hishammuddin could “behold the mote in thy brother’s eye but consider not the beam that is in his own eye”.

His father, Tun Hussein Onn, the third Prime Minister of Malaysia, would not be guilty of such double standards.

Tun Hussein would have immediately and fully understood of the great national threat posed by “black gold” politics – which is no ordinary criminality involving a few individuals but a national and systemic curse and threat to society as it is a fusion of organized crime with corruption to subvert the political system, economic system, the rule of law and social justice.

1. #1 by Biggie on Thursday, 30 July 2009 - 6:38 pm

Fight Fight Fight, the ppl are behind you.. Reveal more more more, our country is facing Dengues, H1N1, crimes, corruptions, human traffickings, human abuse, drugs abuse, environmental degradation, and incompetencies of management.

Everyday we are watching……. Its sad that ppl in powers are not doing what they should do, but instead strays aside to do other matters and as a result, life becomes worthless in Malaysia (no one cares)

Memang boleh. How do they even expect ppl to visit Malaysia when corrupted officials themselves and crimes happening here are embarressing us all. I certainly would not recommend any of my foreign friends to come over.

2. #2 by Joshua on Thursday, 30 July 2009 - 7:50 pm

When the nation has a rotten system, other rotten items group together to make the nation more helpless.

It is timely to change the system with a new Government so that the nation may repent and make amend to avoid further decline when we are part the crossroad and at the slippery slope to nowhere.

Think who is in control of the nation and for that matter the world.

captcha:freer Marwin

3. #3 by Joshua on Thursday, 30 July 2009 - 7:52 pm

correction

part the crossroad = past the crossroad

4. #4 by oldman99 on Thursday, 30 July 2009 - 10:56 pm

It is not uncommon for BN ministers putting self-interest before nation.

The spread of H1N1 is becoming alarming & we wonder what steps are being taken. But it seems the minister is more concerned about the goings on within his party & the opposition.

Also, YAB LKS, pls form a shadow minister to look into our ever degrading health system (if there is one). Our health system seems to promote more private health care rather than public health care.

I have also heard that the monitoring of quarantined persons suspected of H1N1 was a joke. The person who was quarantined was not allowed to go to work obviously…but could go for holiday (domestic). All the officer does it make a call to check if they (if husband & wife) are at home…& they call the h/p.

True or false, the minister should be paying more attention to grave matters instead of grey matters.

If he is not fit for the job, do something about it. These current incidents should be part of the infamous KPIs by backdoor minister.

5. #5 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 30 July 2009 - 11:39 pm

I think YB Kit is going to be disappointed if he tries to persuade Hishammuddin to emulate his late father in pursuing the culture of clean politics. Hishammuddin himself is the beneficiary of “Black Gold” politics. Most voters of Sembrong Parliamentary Constituency who ever received cash payment during 2004 general election and 2008 general election would be able to confirm the source of the “Black Gold” that had been distributed to them by the Underworld on behalf of Hishammuddin. Therefore it is going to be a vain effort for YB Kit to attempt to preach the culture of clean politics to Hishammuddin because this guy will never give his statesman-like forefathers, namely his late grandfather, Dato Onn Jaafar, and his late father, Tun Hussein Onn, a right place in his heart. He was very unhappy about the crude fact that his forefathers did not leave behind them a fithy rich legacy of huge estate for him to indulge himself in luxurious and extravangaza lifestyle! Therefore, it is a tendency for this guy to want to amass more wealth through the award of government projects to his cronies.

6. #6 by the reds on Thursday, 30 July 2009 - 11:56 pm

Liow is the worst Health Minister in Malaysia. Even sex scandal-hit Soi Lek is better than him…..

7. #7 by Auntie_J on Friday, 31 July 2009 - 12:04 am

On the Influenza A(H1N1): I find that what the minister of health and the DG of MMC say is not what is being practiced at the government hospitals. My girl is sick since Monday night and has been to 2 private clinics three times, and and one clinic, the Dr. said to wait for three days for the antibiotic to take effect. As she continued to have high fever, and as advised by the Dr in the 2nd private clinic, today she went to Malacca Hospital. After waiting for three hours, she finally gets to see the Dr. only to be told to wait another three days, and new medicine issued. When asked, they said she did not have to undergo the swab test. This inspite of the several cases of the A(H1N1) at her university in Bukit Beruang. Dato’ Seri Liow is quoted as having said that all those with symptons should undergo the swab test. However, sad to say, the message is not going to the ground level, where a totally different stance is being taken. They call it the ‘mitigation phase’. I ask: What if three days or one week is too late? (My girl is underweight and not terribly strong.) Is that how the other deaths occured? Why minister and DG say one thing, but hospitals and IMR not listening? Does it surprise you then that the number of cases are escalating day by day? DG of MMC today said the people are not doing enough. I was informed by a doctor in private practice that countries like Hong Kong are doing a great job in containing this pandemic. Why Malaysia cannot do? How many more deaths is it going to take?

8. #8 by Sony boy on Friday, 31 July 2009 - 12:51 am

The plague of H1N1 needs every citizen’s cooperation. Cannot depend only on the Health Minister – he is only one man.

Like in the developed countries, we must do what we can to help our family, friends, and community to not succumb to the scrouge of H1N1.

Politicking is second place now. Our health is most important concern now. Otherwise lesser people alive to come out to vote next GE.

Most important of all, don’t go watch cinema show if you are coughing, sneezing or have sore throat. PLEASE, your saliva may be very dangerous.

9. #9 by raven77 on Friday, 31 July 2009 - 1:37 am

If the MOH “dengue performance” is anything to go by…..expect Malaysia to have an explosive death toll with H1N1…

It’s not that people are not aware…but testing is out of reach for anyone with prolonged cough and cold in Ulu Yam….yep and like the Malacca girl who died….the results may only come after she has died…

And at Tamiflu selling for almost 150 ringgit….expect some patients to prefer dying….

The big question is ….does the Ministry of Health have a plan???????…..The answer is obvious….there isnt….

Malaysia will today pay the price for ignoring public health for the last 15 years……

10. #10 by Joshua on Friday, 31 July 2009 - 6:02 am

There was a news report of chinese herbs costing much less than tamiflu healing H1N1 cases in 88 out of 115 in China.

so why no takers in M’sia?
    even Nixon was treated by the Chinese ways.

pw:Nixon grubs

11. #11 by frankyapp on Friday, 31 July 2009 - 7:15 am

The MOH has his throat and neck all choked up,he’s hardly able to breathe,all due to the RM 12.5 billion PKFZ scandal.He’s trying to tell you guys,dengue,N1N1 and others,you have to take care of them by yourself. After all these choking you guys have forced into my throat.Though,he hardly can breathe,he seems to be able to force himself to give you guys a deadly smile. Guess,it’s a tit for tat last breath of our MOH.LOL.

12. #12 by Bigjoe on Friday, 31 July 2009 - 7:42 am

Most H1N1 death victims have pre-conditions that are severely aggravated by H1N1 leading to their death. I have to say quite a number of of death victim here does not sound like they have any pre-conditions or just minor pre-conditions that should not have led to their death.

Seriously, someone should look into the cases in more details. I think Sdr.Lim is right, Liow Tiong Lai is not just doing a bad job, he is a failure no less…

13. #13 by palmdoc on Friday, 31 July 2009 - 9:46 am

The press reports IMO geenrate confusion for both the public and doctors. I’d like to highlight the issue of screening and testing for H1N1 as per MOH guidelines here:

http://medicine.com.my/wp/?p=7543

14. #14 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 31 July 2009 - 9:49 am

We should not have too high expectations from incompetent BN govt that are using tail instead of the head to run every things!!!
    We have been brainwashed by the incompetent BN govt to think that we are invinsible by eating chilly or not eating pork!!!
    Incompetent people from the lowest level to the highest level of the land are leading our beloved country down the drain when disaster or pandemic strikes our country!!! True competent people should be the head and not the tail to lead the nation forward and to overcome problems!!!
    Time to change the BN govt before too late!!!
    We might not die because of the high crime rate in our country, we might die due to AH1N1 or dengue!!!
    LTL still got time to play politics, this shows that he is not paying 100% of his energy on tackling the AH1N1 and dengue problems which he should!!! What an incompetent BN Minister!!!

15. #15 by palmdoc on Friday, 31 July 2009 - 9:57 am

As for the steps the public needs to take to contain the spread, the most important aspect is that of personal hygiene – cover your mouth and nose if you sneeze & cough, wash your hands or use hand hygiene lotions.
    Closure of schools etc. will only delay but not prevent the eventual spread of H1N1 in this pandemic.
    People, things WILL get worse before it gets better.
    More patients WILL die despite every measure taken by all concerned.
    Hopefully the fatality rate remains low – currently about 0.3% (estimated).
    Hopefully the H1N1 vaccine will come sooner than later.
    There is no point blaming each other.

16. #16 by wesuffer on Friday, 31 July 2009 - 10:05 am

look at the body of TBH doesnt seem to be fell down from higher level.
    1.) less blooding ,
    2) dint see any external serious injuries
    3)the position is not right.
    especialist the body is place next to parapet wall. if he fell down to nearest wall. sure somewhere of his body will hit the parapet wall, maybe his head will heavy damage..or leg or hand will broken

17. #17 by HJ Angus on Friday, 31 July 2009 - 10:36 am

Allow me to share my own experience with A(H1N1) that may help others.
    BTW whenever you enter Singapore they give you a health precaution card in all the 4 languages with advice on A(H1N1).
    I think the Health Minister is a newbie and needs support from the Information Minister who is having his own problems explaining the 1Malaysia concept(not=”Malaysian Malaysia”!)

http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/07/malaysiakini-and-spread-of-ah1n1how-to.html

18. #18 by raven77 on Friday, 31 July 2009 - 10:36 am

To Liow…please dont be an idiot and keep singing the same song as his HP6 DG….all doctors and patients fault…

Then what the heck are you fellas there for??

The basic problem is both testing and the drug is not available readily….people wait and see and …die…

The third death was an architect…dont tell us he too was dumb…

The situation and mentality at almost all government hospitals is at beat callous….the Minister knows it…the DG is part of the problem…

LKS..the country needs a public health expert immediately if we are to avoid a disaster…get rid of this DG and get one preferably direct from the WHO or the private sector here in Malaysia …..otherwise we are all doomed…..

19. #19 by artemisios on Friday, 31 July 2009 - 10:59 am

Auntie J
    I’m sorry to hear about your difficulties. I’m even sorrier to hear the government’s complete lack of action, despite talking & doing so much PR in the media.

There is absolutely no control for this flu.

The only control done by the Health Ministry is close both eyes, fold hands, & pray: “H1N1, please don’t hit us, please don’t hit us”.

Just look at our borders & airports.

The media showing officials hard at work. But if you go there yourselves, you will see NOTHING. Yes, NOTHING.
    Maybe, just maybe, there will be a giant signboard saying “Thermal Scanning in Progress” but you won’t find anything there. Just a sign.

Perhaps that sign board can magically contain the infections?

20. #20 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 31 July 2009 - 11:15 pm

For those who have a family member falling sick of either H1N1, Chikongunya, or Dengue, I would suggest that a Chinese Herbs Tea such as Shen Chu Cha or Malaysia’s Ho Yan Hor Tea be served to the patient first in order to cool down their body temperature before you send your patient to the hospital. The Chinese Herbs Tea can at least help to extend the sustainability of the patient in the long queue up time waiting for the medical blood test result of the patient or in the long waiting period for the anti-biotic injection to take positive response!