The Seditious Press

by Thomas Lee

The following Antara misteri dan politiking headlines appeared on Sunday:

Berita Minggu:
Kematian Teoh timbulkan pelbagai spekulasi politik
By Zainul Arifin (NSTP Group Editor)

Mingguan Malaysia:

By Awang Selamat

I now understand and support Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng’s decision to boycott the NST group of newspapers and stopped the state government’s subscription of the papers.

It is simply beyond an intelligent person’s comprehension how an editor could arrive at the conclusion that the protest against the high-handed methods of the MACC is a challenge to the Malays. Only an immature, insecure and not too intelligent person can look at the Teoh Beng Hock case from a racial perspective. OneMalaysia? Nonsense! If we have people in positions of power and influence with such racialist mentality, there can never be OneMalaysia.

I have just retired as a journalist after nearly 35 years in the profession, and during my years as a reporter, socio-political analyst and editor, I have identified five types of journalists in the media community.

First, there are the EEs — Editorial Eunuchs, who take orders from their political emperors and write and spin stories to promote the emperor’s cause. These political appointees are usually in top and senior positions, not because they are good journalists or great writers, but because of their connection to powerful political godfathers. They are first class cronies. Many are ghost writers for their political masters. Some have become millionaires.

(Note: I thank God that, except for one or two cases, the editors I had worked under are not such people. I can vouch that people like Ng Poh Tip, Michael Aeria, Wong Sulong and Wong Chun Wai are good people of principle and top class journalists, not EEs. My good friend Chong Cheng Hai, the chief editor of theSun, is another person of integrity.)

Secondly, there are the PPs — Press Prositutes, who have sold their souls and principles to gain favours and privileges from their political and/or business clients. They will write what pleases their political masters. The amount of hampers and gifts they receive during festive seasons is perhaps a good indication of their rising status in their media organisation. (Perhaps the MACC should consider looking at this practice of giving editors hampers and gifts during festive seasons).

Thirdly, there are the MMs — Media Marionettes, the puppets who have no brains but are used and abused by opportunists to advance their own political or business agenda. They usually feed such journalists with twisted information and deceive these gullible writers to propogate their schemes of things. Our education system has produced many such gullible, unthinking, uncritical, and dumb people, and some of them are found in the media organisations.

Fourth, there are the JJs — Junket Journalists, those who will write anything for the sponsors of their overseas trips.

Finally, there are the WWs — Wise Writers, the rare breed who know how to survive through the controlled press situation and get their honest views into print without rousing the suspicion of their media bosses, who are usually political cronies. There are very few such honest writers with integrity and principles, and they are usually not in positions of power.

How can we expect to have OneMalaysia when we do not really have a free and credible press? If our prime minister is truly sincere in wanting to take take the country to greater height as OneMalaysia, then the first thing he needs to do is to liberate the press by abolishing the oppressive legal restraints such as the Printing Presses and Publications Act, the Internal Security Act, the Official Secrets Act, etc. and enact a Freedom of Information Act. Then, he must revamp the whole system of administration to get rid of those known to be corrupt, racist, and incompetent. Most importantly, there must a reform in the judiciary, enforcement agencies, the election commission, etc. He must also reinstate local council elections.

OneMalaysia? It will remain a slogan and a dream if the current federal government does not take concrete actions to reform the whole political and administrative environment in the country.

If the Barisan Nasional administration is unable to bring about such reforms, then we must throw it out at the next general election.

1. #1 by tanjong8 on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 10:58 pm

The Umnoputras and the Utusans know that it pays to be racialists, time and again. So this game will continue to be played out in the political, social and economic arena.

What can we do ? After the exuberance or euphoria is over, we forget everything and never pursue the matter.

2. #2 by Woof on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 11:10 pm

“Secondly, there are the PPs — Press Prositutes, who have sold their souls and principles to gain favours and privileges from their political and/or business clients. They will write what pleases their political masters. The amount of hampers and gifts they receive during festive seasons is perhaps a good indication of their rising status in their media organisation. (Perhaps the MACC should consider looking at this practice of giving editors hampers and gifts during festive seasons).”

3. #3 by ekompute on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 11:25 pm

As we know, NST is merely a boot-licker. What is more dangerous is the insensitivity of the national government to Teoh’s death. This government has become so power-crazy that it will not stop at anything, just to stay in power. It has lost its senses and no longer knows what is right and what is wrong. Sedition, to this government, is defined not according to generally accepted norms, but to whether it serves its interest or otherwise. Come the next election, expect the worst, if BN loses. Muhyiddin has already hinted, and given the disclosure of the truth by the London Public Office as to the actual causes of the 1969 incident, I don’t take it too lightly, Islamic, though, this country may profess.

4. #4 by m2molo on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 12:01 am

I viewed several YouTube speeches given by Singapore Prime Minister. I found out the mentality of our BN leaders are very very very far behind compared to that of Singapore government leaders. Singapore PM talks about measures taken to recover the economy. Malaysian BN leaders gave fake slogans and promises, e.g. 1-Malaysia, jambatan at MU, jamban issue, 46 ekor lembu, RM2400 flags, etc. I think Lee Kuan Yew was right… UMNO/BN wants a Malay-Malaysia, not 1-Malaysia. In my opinion, non-Malay can’t do much. They can only hope for those good Malays to help to ensure a better Malaysia for everyone.

5. #5 by ablastine on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 12:29 am

‘the first thing he needs to do is to liberate the press by abolishing the oppressive legal restraints such as the Printing Presses and Publications Act, the Internal Security Act, the Official Secrets Act, etc. and enact a Freedom of Information Act. Then, he must revamp the whole system of administration to get rid of those known to be corrupt, racist, and incompetent.’

It is a blessing to Pakatan that Najib and his UMNO government do not realise that the only thing that can really help maintain their their grip on power is abolishment of these instruments and institutions of suppression and exploitation. Being what they are (gangsters in the guise of politicians) and having seen it serving their predecessor well, namely the warp thinking mamak, it is unlikely they will ever reach this level of enlightenment and let go. Even though they have the MACC, police force, senior civil servants, the press, judiciary and perhaps even the royalties in their pocket, they still need to content with the wrath of an entire nation awakened against their exploitation and destruction of the country. I have high regards for the tacticians in Najib’s entourage but their numbers will be considerably outnumbered by mafia style imbeciles who only know raw carnage, self gratification, lust and obsession with the control of others. It will come to no good end for him.

6. #6 by sightseeing on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 12:55 am

Thomas Lee, you have destroyed your own credibility by naming Wong Chun Wai an editor of good people and principle. Wong is a typical EE who will write anything to please his boss.

7. #7 by Sagaladoola on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 1:36 am

My opinion on the issue ..

Teoh Beng Hock’s Funeral, Vigil and Public Concerns

http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com/2009/07/teoh-beng-hock-funeral-vigil-and-public.html

8. #8 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 2:05 am

Perhaps you name Wong Chun Wai as an editor of good people and principle because Wong Chun Wai is a Christian. But how much does Wong Chun Wai really know about Jesus? The Star Group which publishes the Star Newspaper, where Wong Chun Wai serves as the Group Chief-Editor, does not represent a fair and impartial vocal voice which reflects the public opinion of Malaysian people. The Star always reports the biased and lope-sided views which are unfair to the Opposition, the dissidents and the dissenters.

Wong Chun Wai is not a man of good principle because he does not practice the principle of avoiding favouritism in performing his job, which is the core principle of the Christianity in relation to work ethics.

9. #9 by draken001 on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 2:15 am

Thomas, your take on the “Seditious Press” is okay by me but I have to agree with Sightseeing that some credibility is lost by mentioning these former Star journalists/editors including present GE Wong Chun Wai.

I can vouch like you that some are good people of principles but to call them top class journalists is, I think, stretching it a bit. We know them and their work. Chun Wai is the one always starving for some cheap publicity.
    Prove me wrong on that.

I know it’s not nice to go on and on about these people as far as professionalism is concerned. So I just leave at that.

10. #10 by Jong on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 2:23 am

Sightseeing, you are so right about Wong CW, and as they say “carimakan lah dia”! :D

11. #11 by Jong on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 2:28 am

That reminds me, we do have PP in Parliament too, don’t we? They are Parliament Prostitute and we see in MP for Kinabatangan and the other Minister for ‘table and chairs’ Nazri Aziz!

12. #12 by nicolee on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 2:29 am

We have read columns written by the new NST and BH editorial boss Zainul Ariffin and more often than not there’s always a tinge of racial undertones in his writing. His political master should be proud of him.

It has reached a point where journos in the Umno-controlled papers are now in tune with each other to propogate and defend themselves with racial rhetorics that will justify their being in position of power.

As one commentator put it: ” It is these “covert bigots” who present the biggest challenge to Najib’s efforts to build a united nation and his promise to create a nation of peace and harmony.

What do people like this racist group managing editor of NST and BH care except to use his column to promote his own spin to please his political master whoever he is. This is a person to keep a wary eye on and see how he twists and turns this BH and NST into contemptible rags. I used to buy the NST but no more.

“Why did the Selangor MB, a Malay, question those of his own race to act fairly?” Zainul wrote in BH. And he also touched on the MACC as a Malay-controlled institution.

What this ketuanan melayu smartass wrote, truly reveals himself for what he is – a racist editor with a dark agenda on his mind and belonging to the same league as those operating from Utusan Melayu. Not to mention another one who recently took over the Malay Mail.

Zainul’s racist comment is creating racial disharmony and seditious enough to warrant him to be hauled up for publishing inflamatory articles.

Yes, It’s a crying shame that this man with his blinkered view is in charge of two national newspapers and using them as propaganda machines and spewing dangerous rhetorics. For what purpose?

He should be locked up because he’s a danger to a peaceful and harmonious society. Another Ahmad Said in the making?

13. #13 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 3:25 am

Hi Thomas Lee,Sightseeing has a point here but I think Wong Chun Wai is the lesser of a typical evil EE.Other that this,it’s good job,Thomas.Talking about press prostitutes,I agreed with your points but it’s real tough ,probably almost impossible to survive if one does not prostitute especially for rookies.I think one can do it without compromsing his own soul and principle as long as the article means no harm to readers.Any news or articles or features writen within the code of ethic of professional journalism which means truth,reasonable truth,foreseable truth plus common sense in a given case or asingment on the ground is not concieve as PP. If it’s deliberately done to protect some unscrupulous people,then it’s PP. As a journalist yourself for 35 years,you know how hard and tough to survive as a wise writer.In the world of competitive journalism especially in Malaysia in which we have so many dragonian laws(you have mentioned them all) to deter reporters,editors and publishers to get to the bottom of any case and then write,edit and publish the truth of that matter.Most daily newspapers(private ones) are in a kind of catch 22 situation. You tell the truth,you may lose your permit or publish nonsense or like you said ” beyong an intelligent person’s comprehension material,you may lose readerships and subscriptions and face bankruptcy.Your appeal to the prime minister to control or stop corruption,nepotism,cronism,racism and also to overhual the Judiciary,the PDRM,the MACC and the EC is commendable.The point is do you know that PM NR has no control of Umno especially those powerful and fillty rich umnoputras and warlords.These guys in fact control Umno.Moreover PM NR himself has integrity problems hence I can assure you that your appeal and others like PR’s ones will all be ignored.The only choice left now is overturn the UMNO/BN government in the next GE. Vote for TBH and PR.

14. #14 by Loh on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 10:13 am

///If our prime minister is truly sincere in wanting to take take the country to greater height as OneMalaysia, then the first thing he needs to do is to liberate the press by abolishing the oppressive legal restraints such as the Printing Presses and Publications Act, the Internal Security Act, the Official Secrets Act, etc. and enact a Freedom of Information Act. Then, he must revamp the whole system of administration to get rid of those known to be corrupt, racist, and incompetent. Most importantly, there must a reform in the judiciary, enforcement agencies, the election commission, etc. He must also reinstate local council elections.///– Awang Selamat

Well said. That would be the necessary conditions, but not sufficient to make this oneMalaysia. He should at least work towayds satisfying the necessary conditions befiore yelling 1Malaysia.

15. #15 by AtoZ on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 11:06 am

The prime minister is once again making up fairy tales.
    Come on..1Malaysia??!!…no..no..with the current way…it’s not acchievable.
    PR can help make 1Malaysia, that is if the BN listens to voices of everyone.

16. #16 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 12:00 pm

Today the watchwords of journalistic ethics is impartiality, truth-telling, unbiased observation, credible informants protected by journalistic ethics from disclosure.

Our press as practiced here is 17th century’s in which the press is to be controlled and the function of the press is to support the policies and actions of the state, and its authorities. This is done under banner of fostering social solidarity and national unity. The state asserts the right to control the press for the overall public good. Hence the Printing Press Publications Act (PPPA) requiring licensing and periodic renewal. News business itself is controlled by ruling political parties via affiliates. Editorial staff are appointed with approval of the higher ups in political parties. Hence controlling the press for social solidarity and national unity is, by implementation, translated means to making sure that the press plays propaganda role of improving image of the government and preventing the press from embarrassing it, a necessary result being to repress criticism and protest, and to severely punish any member of press staff for doing breaking these unspoken expectations.

This makes it difficulty for the journalist even if he believes in journalistic ethics. He too needs to make a living, do a good job, rise up in his chosen career make a good living for himself and family. However every Press that he goes to that can provide him opportunities to write and make a decent living, he finds that the only viable opportunities available at the press controlled (directly or indirectly) and manacled by the “State” or parties ruling it. So what to do, choose another career? To carry on in the chosen career and do well he has to play multiple roles, sometimes, “Press Prostitutes” (to rise up the corporate ladder), other times “Media Marionettes” (to get first hand information from ruling politicians) and occasionally “Wise Writers”, when his social conscience pricks him, all the time measuring the mood of the government vis-à-vis the public of the day. So no journalist is all the time in one category exclusive of the other categories, he plays different roles measuring the prevailing mood – and of course what his readers are interested to read.

Talking about who and who has “integrity”, a journalist known to Thomas Lee may personally be a person of character and high integrity but in context of journalistic ethics relating to impartiality, truth-telling, unbiased observation, it is a contradiction in terms in an environment of controlled press. It is possible only if one leaves the profession or join otherwise join the online press like Malaysiakini, not manacled by PPPA or controlled by organizations affiliated to ruling parties.

What a mainstream editor says that the “protest against the high-handed methods of the MACC is a challenge to the Malays” goes beyond the mere skewing of facts and news to serve the government of the day’s interest.

As Kit has ably earlier rebutted, the MACC is a Malaysian institution and one does not call PKFZ less a Malaysian organization merely because it was/is under direction of 3 successive transport ministers who are Chinese.

Our Sedition Act defines seditious as being a tendency to “raise discontent or disaffection amongst subjects of the Yang di Pertuan Agong or amongst inhabitants of Malaysia or any state”.

As the “protest against the high-handed methods of the MACC is a challenge to the Malays” is a provocative and inciting statement unbacked by even facts, Thomas Lee appropriately adopts as heading “The Seditious Press” for his piece above.

17. #17 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 1:10 pm

We call them racist etc. The scary part is that there are still many out there who will buy into what is written. That is why they dare to write it too. A real scary thought …

18. #18 by Loh on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 2:04 pm

///If our prime minister is truly sincere in wanting to take take the country to greater height as OneMalaysia, then the first thing he needs to do is to liberate the press by abolishing the oppressive legal restraints such as the Printing Presses and Publications Act, the Internal Security Act, the Official Secrets Act, etc. and enact a Freedom of Information Act. Then, he must revamp the whole system of administration to get rid of those known to be corrupt, racist, and incompetent. Most importantly, there must a reform in the judiciary, enforcement agencies, the election commission, etc. He must also reinstate local council elections.///– Thomas Lee

I am sorry to have attributed the above to Awang Selamat. If Awang selamat could one day say the above, there will still be hope that Malaysia might not regress further.