Cabinet decision on PPSMI – not a New Deal but a Raw Deal leaving Malaysia stranded in the march towards global educational quality, excellence and competitiveness

The Cabinet decision on the PPSMI (Pengajaran dan Pembelajaran Sains dan Matematik – teaching and learning of Science and Mathematics in English) yesterday was not a New Deal, as proclaimed by some newspaper headlines, but a Raw Deal leaving Malaysia stranded in the march towards global educational quality, excellence and competitiveness and doing a great disservice to millions of students currently in both the primary and secondary schools.

The Raw Deal of the PPSMI decision of the Cabinet is powerfully highlighted by the Sin Chew report of a national secondary school Form One student in Ipoh who burst into tears at the news of the Cabinet decision, feeling totally lost, worried what would be his future when he had to switch to Bahasa Malaysia for mathematics and science when entering Form 4 in 2012, after mastering both subjects being taught in English from Form 1 to 3 from this year to 2011 – and Form 4 and 5 are the most important years in a person’s education in preparing for Form 6, university and the world beyond.

Did the Cabinet Ministers discuss and envision the disastrous effect of their PPSMI decision yesterday on the half a million of students who would have been taught maths and science in the English medium from Form 1 to 3 from this year to 2011 in having suddenly to switch to Bahasa Malaysia as medium of instruction for these two subjects in 2012 in Form 4 – after six years of being guinea pigs of PPSMI in the primary schools?

If the Cabinet had not anticipated the cruelty and the sheer injustice of such a switch for Form 4 students in 2012, clearly the Cabinet Ministers had not thought through the whole issue thoroughly and they have failed the nation, the people and in particular the 5.5 million school-going generation under their charge!

This is not the only Raw Deal of the Cabinet’s PPSMI decision yesterday. The Cabinet decision yesterday cannot be the last word on the controversial subject and the whole issue must be re-opened for a broader, more liberal and flexible solution which would have far-reaching consequences not only to nation-building, nature of a society we want to build in Malaysia but also whether Malaysia can compete and stand tall with the rest of the world.

I am not surprised that the father of the PPSMI, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad, is quite upset about the Cabinet decision yesterday.

I had right from the beginning in 2002 opposed Mahathir’s PPSMI, as it is educationally unsound because educational experience on bilingual education worldwide in the past three decades have shown that using a second language as a medium of instruction from too early stages can impede the development of thinking skills of children resulting in low achievement in mathematics, science and languages – powerful educational arguments against the use of English to teach maths and science from Std. One.

This argument does not apply for children whose home language is the English language or a total immersion education system is adopted with English as medium of instruction.

This is why I suggested a flexible approach to the PPSMI problem which does not allow a “One Size Fits All” solution, by giving parents the choice to decide on the type of education they want for their children – including having classes or schools using English as medium of instruction for mathematics and science.

Six years ago, Mahathir broached the idea of the possibility of the re-introduction of government English-medium school system to arrest the decline of the standard of English. Is Mahathir prepared to revisit and take up this proposal?

While I disagree with Mahathir’s “One Size Fits All” formula in forcing through the PPSMI for national, Chinese and Tamil primary schools from 2003, I share his dismay at the Cabinet decision to abandon the use of English to teach mathematics and science for Forms 1 and 4 from 2012.

As Mahathir said, he was only briefed of the Cabinet decision on the PPMSI but he was not consulted at all.

Mahathir said:

“I was only briefed about it, so after the briefing I gave my suggestions, I said even if it could not be implemented at primary level, at least at secondary level it should be maintained, so it was not a consultation only briefing.

“I am saddened because the future of our children will be affected. They will be the victims.”

It is even sadder to see Deputy Prime Minister and Education Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, trying to argue the unarguable – the dismal failure of the PPSMI after six years and some RM4 billion of public expenditures an all-round decline!

The purpose of the ill-conceived PPSMI was to raise the standards of English, mathematics and science for Malaysian students which are imperative if Malaysia is not to continue its descent into a backwater, with one country after another overtaking the country in national development and progress.

The reasons prompting the PPSMI six years ago to transform Malaysia into a global powerhouse in English, maths and science were right, proper and should be supported but the approach in conceiving and implementing the PPSMI from Std. One was wrong.

The Cabinet’s PPSMI decision yesterday sought to address the fallacies of PPSMI – but it has failed to come up with a formula which commands public confidence that English, maths and science proficiency of Malaysian students would be upgraded for Malaysia to become a global powerhouse in these three subjects.

There must be a new round of national consultation and debate to give a genuine new deal to the millions of Malaysian students in schools which will redound to greater national economic prowess and international competitiveness, instead of a Raw Deal which negates the faults of PPSMI without any compensating or redeeming virtue.

1. #1 by YK Leong on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 10:57 pm

Sorry, Brother Lim Kit Siang. I CAN’T STOP THE MUSIC. Perhaps, I will gamble my luck with the MCA secretary-general, Wong Foon Meng for answers over the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal. STAR (5 July 2009) headlined: “MCA to address public complaints effectively”.

My complaint #5 for 9 July 2009 to the MCA Public Services and Complaints Bureau is over the Star (9 July 2009) quoting Ong Ta Kut:- “That’s not within my powers (to distribute the report to MPs)”. Is Ong Ta Kut implying that Malaysians, except MPs, are not entitled to the truth and all the facts about the PKFZ “mother of all scandals”. Malaysians are not interested in the free distribution of the PKFZ report together with its appendices. However, we can pay for the report.
    ==================================================

Malaysians should emphasise the importance of English as the bridge to cannect the country with the global market without sacrificing the national language.

2. #2 by negarawan on Thursday, 9 July 2009 - 11:53 pm

I think Mahathir must be having nightmares because Najib is already starting to dismantle his pet policies and plans, just like what Badawi did. Another war in the making?

3. #3 by HJ Angus on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 12:42 am

I believe that apart from good maths teachers in Chinese schools, there is also more discipline enforced.
    I wonder how the RM5bil allocated for improving English in schools is going to be allocated.
    So Gapena is interested to set up English clubs in schools? Maybe they too have been attracted by the large sums to be spent.
    I just hope that English literature is not going to be based solely on local writers unless they have won some international literary awards.

4. #4 by Lee HS on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 2:08 am

Remember! We are still the boss. If UMNO wants to fool around, we kick them out in the 13GE my fellow enlightened Malaysians.

5. #5 by mangodurian on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 7:15 am

I am with ‘mother of three’ to call for the CHOICE and ability for us Malaysians to have English medium National Type Schools (SJKI).

The rest of you barkers and nay-sayers are just that. You are very good at barking at the problems but cannot present a solution. Realise that as a democracy, each of us has the responsibility of determining our own future by voicing our opinions.

SJKI is a solution. As citizens who know very well how detrimental the current education direction is heading, we need this CHOICE to do our part in preserving and enhancing our own people to become competitive contributors to this country.

If chedet.co.cc’s opinion poll shows 70+% opposing to this reversion to pre-2003 practices, and almost all posters here indicating the same, then the people ARE speaking that they WANT ENGLISH in a serious manner in their schools.

Let’s have a poll: Will you send your children to English medium national school if they existed

I believe many will say ‘yes’.

Having English medium schools may cost us taxpayers more, but I am willing to pay this tax ringgit. Those Malay, Chinese, Indian supremacists can keep their kids in their respective SJK’s, and shouldn’t complain more.

Afterall, when it comes to ‘unity’ all kids are supposed to go for their national service camps anyway.

6. #6 by k1980 on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 7:53 am

According to the DPM, it appears that a mixture of English and Malay is used to teach Science and Mathematics in schools. Something like this:

(i) I jalan to sekolah every pagi.

(ii)Dua multiply dengan three sama with enam.

(iii) Fotosintesis is proses where cahaya sun, galian mineral, chlorophyll, karban dioxide dan water berinteraksi to hasilkan food yang distorkan in the tumbuhan.

No wonder the students end up blow-blow!

7. #7 by k1980 on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 8:41 am

“We used to lead Asia in terms of English, and now we have allowed ourselves to slip below other Asian countries.”

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/07/10/world/asia/10iht-malay.html?_r=1&ref=world

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 9:01 am

The Star today in front page reported the Pm’s statement that the aim of making Malaysians more proficient in English – to enable them – to compete in the global arena remained the same : “only the method in reaching the objective is now different.”

PM told a press conference after chairing the SME development council meeting here yesterday that increasing the time allocated to teaching English, introducing English literature and language laboratories, among others, would be a better method in boosting proficiency in the language than using it to teach Mathematics and Science. Najib said reverting to Bahasa Malaysia would not pose a problem as it has been proven that “we have be able to produce doctors and professionals by teaching the subjects in Malay.” “Many doctors went through the education system in Malay right through university. Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia has produced a number of good doctors. “There is no question about quality being compromised or affected,” he said.

9. #9 by wesuffer on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 9:02 am

what happen to yours..when government stick to teaching in english. all of you complaint and demo.
    now government change back to Bm. all of you getting more complaint. hais..cannot satisfied everyone.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 9:38 am

In my earlier posting July 9th, 2009 at 15: 24.42, I posed this basic question: whether learning maths and science in English (PPSMI) is to intended to improve (i) maths/science or (ii) English or (iii) both???

It may well be true that under certain conditions – for example having good teachers of Maths Science and English (in combination) – PPSMI may yield positive results.
    However likely the conditions are not there and what we have is like what Emily Pratt said above – “Kalium Karbonat when added to Natrium Hidrokloride will kos exploshen” or what K1980 said – “Dua multiply dengan three sama with enam” and “ Fotosintesis is proses where cahaya sun, galian mineral, chlorophyll, karban dioxide dan water berinteraksi”

So they have to abandon PPSMI and try another way – but try what?

Alas If it were to just improve Malaysians’ proficiency in English – to enable them – to compete in the global arena, the solution would be simple : introduce the options as had up to early 1970s including English Medium schools (as I have mentioned in my earlier posting).

But they will not have it – why? Because if left to parents to decide, I suspect majority/market will opt to put their children in English Medium Schools. That will not only make those who opt for vernacular uncompetitive in market place but most crucial it will be direct blow to all aspirations/precepts of “Ketuanan” articulated by Kasim Amat in posting July 9th, 2009 at 15: 57.47. This is the absolute demand of the champions of National Language & Ketuanan that UMNO dare not offend and will have to compromise and yet try to delicately balance against the need to improve English esp amongst Malays students!

TDM’s PPSMI was to appease Ketuanan advocates by saying “hey, Bahasa is still given primacy but English may be limited to Mathematics and Science since we have to climb up techology ladder. As what Emily Pratt & K1980 point out, it does not work, so PPSMI has to be abandoned and in its place is Bahasa again in deference to demands of Ketuanan advocates but another compromise/delicate balance by way of “increasing the time allocated to teaching English, introducing English literature and language laboratories”.

The fact is whether PPSMI or this “New Deal” it has never been and never will be a full commitment to English improvement but in each occasion a half way half hearted compromise with political imperative of “ketuanan”, and that’s why its doubtful it will work.

The greatest tragedy here is that they (I mean here not just politicians in ruling coalition but those in Opposition as well) just can’t put Education and our Children’s future above political realities on the ground and the politics of Ketuanan. Not for the forseeable future anyway. Period. The voice of those like Kassim Amat has (over time) far from being diminished has instead got stronger and louder. Do I don’t see the situation will get better unless Najib could/dare, in small steps shove the Ketuanan agenda further and further to the background in favour of pragmatic imperative to commit more and more to English.

11. #11 by SpeakUp on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 9:44 am

Jeff … what the PM says is true to a certain extent. We can use whatever language to educate but there needs to be a strong push to ensure that Malaysian’s are able to communicate on a global basis. Soon, China will be THE powerhouse. Will we then blame the PR government then for not having the foresight to lay the foundations for Malaysians to speak Mandarin?

Education needs to be of quality and not the bickering of what language to be used. Also not to forget, we need GOOD teachers, at the moment that is totally lacking.

12. #12 by HJ Angus on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 10:03 am

It seems to me that if Malaysia is to progress further we need to dismantle any policy and political party that subscribes to the “Ketuanan” fallacy!
    If after 40+ years of accepting this concept we still cannot even operate a good education system we must be mad to tolerate it any more.
    Malaysia must be the only country in the world that promotes a different apartheid system whereby a first generation “immigrant” can become a “special class” of Ketuanan and become superior to those who have been here for hundreds of years and some of these “ketuanan” are more than half foreign through mixed marriages.

13. #13 by tsn on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 11:18 am

MangoDurian,

Every one of us likes mango and durian very much, but if the price of durian/mango is $20.00 per kilo, then how are we going to afford it. I suppose the tax $ you willing to foot up for English medium school is much lesser than amount charged by private/international schools, otherwise you would have been sent your kids to those schools instead of vent your anger here. The crux is there are not many willing and able taxpayers in this Land of Boleh.

Be sensible, do not waste time and hypnotized yourself. To have English school as pre-1970 is absolutely hallucination. It is better we wholeheartedly looking up for ways to uplift the standard of English in present school system both national and vernacular.

14. #14 by SpeakUp on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 11:29 am

TSN … how do you lift the standards of English in vernacular schools when they are one of the root causes of poor English? How many students from such schools can speak decent English? I seen so many people from such schools who do not and they are only about 20 years old!

HJ Angus … KETUANAN MELAYU is most necessary. Sorry to say. When you have that, it makes you ‘better’ than others (when you are really not) so that you can oppress or suppress the rest whom you unequivocally have labelled as basically second class. That is why it is being used! Basically, make others inferior so that you can be superior. Amazing huh? Many Malaysians still fall for it …

15. #15 by Kasim Amat on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 12:11 pm

I think the people are not being realistic here. They thought English is the international language and all the subjects must then be taught in English? Does Japan, Korea, China, India do this? The Philippines taught everything in English in schools but did they achieve the desired result? If China and India can teach science and English in their own mother tongue, why not Malaysia? Are Malaysian more inferior to the people from these two countries? You may say Singapore is doing well because they use English as the first language. This is totally irrelevant. Singapore is small and they do that because they need to survive. They have no choice. Malaysia is full of natural resources and talented people. Why must we follow everything that Singapore is doing?

Malaysia has successfully transformed itself to a modern and advanced Islamic nation and Bahasa Malaysia is also gaining more recognition in Islamic World. It is time now we have to emphasize the use of our own language and not the language that used to colonise us. Please think about it. I respect the view of Tun Mahathir but it does not mean the whole UMNO has to agree with him.

16. #16 by johnnypok on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 12:18 pm

Chinese and Indians have no problem to master other languages, and they are also FREE to embrace other religions, and they can survive any where in the world. How many Malays can do it?

17. #17 by SpeakUp on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 12:26 pm

Kasim … you got it half right but also half wrong. I agree that English is not the be all and end all for our educational system. But let’s just say Malay is.

So we push for the use of Malay. How many books do we have in Malay to teach perhaps quantum physics or fluid dynamics? That is the main problem with using Malay as the medium. Unless, BM has truly matured as a language then it cannot be the main medium for education when it comes to sciences, esp sciences in the upper secondary and tertiary level.

You say the following to fortify your arguments about BM:

“Malaysia has successfully transformed itself to a modern and advanced Islamic nation and Bahasa Malaysia is also gaining more recognition in Islamic World.”

Why do you pray in Arabic and not in BM? Are the Malaysian religious authorities not proud of BM? Does the religion make it compulsory to do so in Arabic? If so then I am mistaken.

18. #18 by ktteokt on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 12:52 pm

I thought the Mamak is out of the political scene in Malaysia when he retired! He is not even made a Minister Mentor like LKY of Singapore. So, why should Najis consult him on the change of policies! Is he trying to be the “Tok Dalang”, pulling the strings on Najis?????

19. #19 by slashed on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 4:14 pm

Political agenda aside, the government’s directionless and hesitant approach to the education cum language problem is appalling.

I for one am not against the teaching of science and mathematics in Malay – the reason is simple: these two subjects put the language to use at a minimal level; It will not improve any student’s ability to express oneself in English to any great extent. Rather, it will only teach you the specific semantics of both subjects.

If the point is to improve the use of English, a far better way is to teach History in English. This one subject alone will do much to improve the student’s grasp of the language for not only will it put the language in use (the students necessarily having to express themselves) but it will encourage greater recourse to other resources (e.g. wikipedia etc) as reading is encouraged and cultivated.

With regards to our students being at a disadvantage outside of Malaysia, my personal experience has been that once one grasps the language, the conversion of malay terms to english terms is essentially simply. In fact, most Malay terms are so similar to english words (since malay scientific terms are more often than not derivatives (read: malay copies) of the english counterpart) that I really question the wisdom that learning the subject in english will help our students much at all.

What is more problematic for malaysian students is the ability to express oneself. When it comes to exams, we can compete with any foreign student. But when asked to speak up in class, it becomes a problem. We know the answer, but we can not put it out to the effect we desire. THAT is the problem and the real disadvantage.

Therefore, Uncle Kit, I ask you, please please push for history to be taught in english.

However, the government has already changed from BM to English once. Notwithstanding my skepticism of its effectiveness, the problem is that once they’ve done the change they should not abruptly change it again. It shows how fickle they are and how thoughtless they are to all the students and teachers that are directly affected by this. Shame on you!

20. #20 by hawaiichee on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 6:27 pm

My daughter is less than 2 years old and she can understand both English and Japanese, and later will introduce Malay, Mandarin and Cantonese.

http://daddyparentingtips.blogspot.com/2009/07/tip-161-reading-in-both-languages.html

I can’t see why we cannot take 1 step forward to integrate the BM textbooks few years back with the current English science and maths text books. Its a lot of effort, but why move backward instead of forward. We can allow students to use either English or BM to answer in the exams as long as the maths and science principles are correct.

Some good will surely come out of the dialectics at work between both languages instead of choosing either one. We need new advancements. We need Malaysia Boleh. Not some power struggle between languages.

When will Malaysia advance and not hold on to race and language as stumbling blocks but embrace our differences as advantages?

21. #21 by Kathy on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 8:02 pm

The government should reintroduce English medium schools (mission schools) and let the people choose which language medium school that they want their children to attend. It would be beneficial to the children if languages like Mandarin and Tamil is included in the time table with the other subjects (maybe remove subjects that are not important like Kajian Tempatan or Kemahiran Hidup to accommodate this inclusion).

Our future generations (especially the talented and smart ones) will not be in Malaysia if their parents have a choice. Most of them would be heading down south soon to Singapore. What a waste!!!

22. #22 by tsn on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 8:26 pm

SpeakUp,

Before one speaks up his/her mind, it is better to bulge up one’s mind first. To accuse vernacular school as the root of poor English is rather uncalled for. With English schools bashed to junk yards in 1970, schools are no longer a holy temple to learn English. Today a student’s English standard is almost entirely ascertained by family background. It is immaterial the type of school you are attending. If you are a lucky bloke from English speaking family, with exposure from very young age, naturally you would have a better English standard compare to your peers who are not so fortunate. Of course exceptions do exist, there are students who against all odds to excel in English.

So next time if you happen to come across a student with good English, besides knowing the school he/she is attending, be prepared to go a step forward to check up his/her family background; English speaking? Parents’ education level?

23. #23 by OrangRojak on Friday, 10 July 2009 - 11:21 pm

Kathy Says: The government should reintroduce English medium schools (mission schools)
    Surely not ‘mission schools’? Since they’re a tool for christian evangelism, I would imagine the Malaysian government would sooner declare a ‘beer, bacon sandwich and naturists’ public holiday!

I struggle to convince myself that anything other than Bahasa Malaysia should be the medium of instruction in National schools. Are we sure the problems with the National schools have been correctly attributed? As a foreigner it strikes me that almost everything in Malaysia is ‘broken’ through incompetence and extreme self-interest. Even apparently successful private enterprises often seem to me to be nearing the end of a ‘lucky run’ having made their short-term fortunes at the expense of long-term problems in the society they operate in.

I’m not so sure that the problems with the education system can so easily be laid at Bahasa Malaysia’s door. I would have thought a greater reason for failing education standards would have been half a nation unable to have pride in their homeland because their homeland doesn’t want them, and retarded critical thinking skills through pervasive suppression of criticism. I don’t believe there’s any such thing as the ‘wrong’ language.

24. #24 by Loh on Saturday, 11 July 2009 - 3:59 am

///I would have thought a greater reason for failing education standards would have been half a nation unable to have pride in their homeland because their homeland doesn’t want them, and retarded critical thinking skills through pervasive suppression of criticism.///– OrangRojak

That is right but quite mildly put. The trained and better educated half of the population has rightly concluded that they are not welcomed in their homeland and have chosen greener pasture. The endangered species get the privilege to guard the crucial learning institutions, and they proved to be better than their students, generation after generation.

Education has always been looked upon to be the most important means to uplift the standards of living. Unfortunately for fear of competition, trained manpower of the wrong race has been prevented from taking their rightful place in the society. Over time, education institutions are treated as employment agencies, just like the government services. Since these institutions do not care about the outcome of their actions and input, the products, the standard of education in Malaysia naturally suffer.

Since the teachers are not equipped to teach, they would not want the students to veer beyond the textbooks. But curiously, we get straight A students so numerous that the government has a problem, it seems to choose base on merit in scholarship awards.

25. #25 by House Victim on Saturday, 11 July 2009 - 5:53 pm

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/7/11/nation/20090711165608&sec=nation

This is the answer of What goes Behind this PPSMI stuff!!

But what could that “huge Budget” be? How much it will require to Translate Sufficient Books and Information in the World to provide Bahasa Malaysians to be at least an Average informed people in the Word?

DO NOT BLEND POLITICS WITH EDUCATION!!
    By the way, is Bahasa accepted in the UN community?

26. #26 by House Victim on Saturday, 11 July 2009 - 6:08 pm

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/7/11/nation/20090711165608&sec=nation

This is what is behind the PPSMI probe. How Big can a Budget to provide enough Translation to let Bahasa Malaysians be Average informed of the World?

Had other fundamental improvement of Living been provided with sufficient budgets?