3-point formula to resolve the Kedah Pakatan Rakyat crisis – resolution of outstanding complaints by Kedahans, a committee headed by Dr. Goh Cheng Teik to resolve abbatoir problem and a PR trouble-shooting state mechanism

Yesterday, I had a 90-minute meeting with the Kedah DAP State Committee followed by a two-hour dialogue with the people of Kedah in the Kedah Chinese Assembly Hall, with overflowing capacity crowd, over the Kedah DAP State Committee’s decision on Wednesday to pull out of the Pakatan Rakyat Kedah state government.

I had my hands full in Parliament on Wednesday, with a host of burning issues such as the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone scandal; the urgent need to have a new Inspector-General of Police to provide new police leadership and vision to create an efficient, incorruptible, professional world-class police service which is regarded as friend and protector of the people and capable of performing the three core functions to keep crime low, eradicate corruption and uphold human rights; and Parliament becoming a kangaroo court to punish eight Pakatan Rakyat MPs when the subject is the punishment of Umno Youth leaders who had obstructed and threatened wheelchair-bound DAP National Chairman and MP for Bukit Gelugor Karpal Singh from discharging his parliamentary duties in the precincts of Parliament on February 26, 2009.

I was shocked when I heard the news about the Kedah DAP State Committee decision to pull out of the Pakatan Rakyat Kedah state government, subject to the final decision of the DAP Central Executive Committee.

At that time, it was alleged that Kedah DAP had acted very irresponsibly in pulling out of the PR Kedah state government over a trivial issue of pigs and the demolition of the abbatoir in Alor Star.

I would agree that Kedah DAP State would have acted most irresponsibly, heedless of the far-reaching impact of such a decision not only in Kedah but also nation-wide when Malaysians are expectantly waiting for Pakatan Rakyat to spearhead political changes in the country particularly in the next general election, if its harsh decision was just over an abbatoir and pigs.

From my 90-minute meeting with the Kedah DAP State Committee and two-hour dialogue with the people of Kedah last evening, I have been able to get a fuller picture of the reasons for the harsh decision for the pullout from Pakatan Rakyat Kedah state government –as the abbatoir issue was just “the last straw that broke the camel’s back”.

There was a host of issues over which the DAP Kedah state committee felt frustrated and marginalized in unable to get their views taken seriously by the state government, which is reflected by deep-seated grievances among the people of Kedah including those who had fully supported and voted for the Pakatan Rakyat parties in the general election last year.

I do not want DAP Kedah to pullout of Pakatan Rakyat Kedah state government for it would affect Pakatan Rakyat’s credibility nation-wide. However, if the legitimate grouses of DAP Kedah and the people of Kedah are not addressed, resulting not only in an ineffective DAP Kedah but also discontented Kedah electorate, this will also impact far and wide outside Kedah.

The Pakatan Rakyat Kedah crisis is best resolved at the Kedah state level, which is why I said at the public dialogue last night that I propose to meet with the Kedah Mentri Besar, Datuk Seri Azizan Abdul Razak and that I was even prepared to meet with him today. This had been communicated to Azizan last night.

I have in mind a three-point formula to resolve the Pakatan Rakyat Kedah crisis:

• resolution of outstanding complaints by Kedahans such as the 50% housing quota for bumiputras, Kedah Buddhist centre controversy, pork selling in the Alor Star market, temple demolitions, etc.

• a committee headed Dr. Goh Cheng Teik to resolve the abbatoir problem. Dr. Goh was formerly Deputy Agriculture Minister and had considerable experience in resolving problems in this field when holding this portfolio. I have spoken to Dr. Goh and he is prepared to help if such a state committee is set up by the state government.

• a Pakatan Rakyat trouble-shooting state mechanism to resolve all emerging issues, problems and controversies in Kedah.

Barisan Nasional parties particularly Umno, MCA, Gerakan and MIC are hoping that the Pakatan Rakyat Kedah crisis is the beginning of the end for Pakatan Rakyat and it is incumbent on everyone in Pakatan Rakyat, whether national or state, to prove Barisan Nasional wrong.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by monsterball on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 9:16 pm

Wa.. this Limkamput..MCA racialist dumb ass is supporting LKS.
    Anything to satisfy his racialist attitudes.
    But meet face to face…their accepted MCA landlords….his balls shrink and call then masters.
    Ignore me..I contribute nothing….HAHAHAHAHAHA

2. #2 by monsterball on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 9:19 pm

hahahahahahaha…”people of Kedah”
    He talk like that in Alor Star…they will make him…LIM mee….kaput..C4ed

3. #3 by Cinapek on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 9:36 pm

YB Kit, try to help me to understand something. Your article seems to suggest that you and the Central Committe is totally unaware of the problems in Kedah. I find this hard to comprehend. If it is going to explode soon and in your own words

“…Barisan Nasional parties particularly Umno, MCA, Gerakan and MIC are hoping that the Pakatan Rakyat Kedah crisis is the beginning of the end for Pakatan Rakyat….”,

shouldn’t the state level leaders at least communicate with you or the national DAP leadership first of the problems they are facing in Kedah PR before they took it to the press? If the state DAP leadership had not done this , then I must say I find them highly irresponsible. But if they had, then the central leadership had most certainly failed badly to handle this situation if they had not tried to nip it in the bud. This reminds me of the same problem with Fong Poh Kuan’s decision not to stand for election. The top seems totally unaware of what is happening at the grassroots level until it is too late. If I might say so, it is like the chinese saying of “.. putting snakes into your own backsides.”

4. #4 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 10:10 pm

Cinapek … maybe the Kedah DAP people did not communicate to Central Committee because they think they can handle it? Rather than be seen to run to Daddy or Mummy over the smallest matter. Most important, the public do not know the full story. It should be laid out clearly for the public to judge it properly.

5. #5 by zak_hammaad on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 11:53 pm

Zulkifli Noordin, said it was meaningless for DAP to remain in Pakatan if it could not tolerate its two partners in the alliance.

1-point formula to resolve Pakatan crisis: Ask DAP to leave the fickle ‘coalition’ and go it alone.

6. #6 by albert308 on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 11:53 pm

Following Abattoir debacle, YB LKS had meeting with DAP Kedah and Kedahans to get first hand information relating to dissatisfaction over state goverment. Also DAP Kedah state leaders gave the reasons through media. Many issues involve in the crisis. These issues are mainly involve local agenda and proper channel must be sought to find amicable solutions. The announcement by Kedah DAP through media to pull out of Pakatan is naive without consultation with DAP national leaders. Very obvious of lack of consultation channel within state Pakatan.

China Press reported today the sole DAP ADUN as saying that he meets Mentri Besar, Exco member and council chief; fail to solve problem and frustrated. But, the point is his incapability more a concern to find solution and Mentri Besar had never agree to the demolishment. It was a town council actions that make public outcry.

DAP Kedah lack of quality leadership a great concern. They should be more matured and prove a better choice than BN, so far they are not ready to take over MCA and MIC positions.

7. #7 by sheriff singh on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 12:00 am

Say does anybody remember what happened to the OTHER PIG problem?

Remember the one by the Malacca BN government? What became of it? Was it a success or failure? In any case the BN still got voted in there didn’t they?

Anyone can enlighten me on this case?

8. #8 by SpeakUp on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 12:03 am

Albert308 … one weak link allows the whole thing to blow up? Looks like too many weak links in PR, still have one racist one in Kulim …

9. #9 by albert308 on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 12:25 am

The facts is BN have too many weak links and easily crumble if no longer a ruling party. BN components will splits faster if they lost federal power; it is the government posts, money and power that bind them together.
    Pakatan will survive because the struggle is for the PEOPLE.

10. #10 by optimuz on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 8:46 am

wow! gotta hand it to you Kit…2 states, 2 issues, 2 races but different approach to handling..one affirmative and the other complete negative!

Wonder why?

11. #11 by wesuffer on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 10:10 am

illegal adabtoir for 20 years long.? temporary licence with money? for 20 years? report to MACC PLS

12. #12 by SpeakUp on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 10:29 am

I called my friend in AS today about the abattoir, its really interesting. From her point of view she says its on both sides. One side illegal and the other side perhaps a little hard (not saying they are wrong by being hard since its illegal). The abattoir is not really beside a kampung, its actually beside some shoplots. Those of you who watched the MalaysiaKini video can see the kind of area its located in.

Still, she says when they slaughter pigs in the middle of the night you can hear the loud squeals. But let’s just put it this way … Malaysian are still very selfish in their ways. Illegal but want the right to carry out business and demand that they be taken care of if they are LAWFULLY shut down.

13. #13 by SpeakUp on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 10:42 am

More fights to come … enjoy this. Mr Su proving a point but shouting to the press and allowing BN to use this to their advantage:

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/23977/84/

14. #14 by dawsheng on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 11:15 am

wow! gotta hand it to you Kit…2 states, 2 issues, 2 races but different approach to handling..one affirmative and the other complete negative! – optimuz

Wonder why optimuz? That is because you don’t know the meaning of affirmative and negative.

15. #15 by dawsheng on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 11:22 am

BN components will splits faster if they lost federal power; it is the government posts, money and power that bind them together. – albert308

It is the wrongdoings like abuse of power and corruptions that keep BN together. The moment MCA and Gerakan try to pull out from BN and Najib will immediately issue a reminder by squeezing Ong Ta Kut and Koh Tsu Kun’s balls. Woof! Woof!

16. #16 by dawsheng on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 11:31 am

I give my full support to DAP Kedah for pulling out from the PAS led Kedah state government.

17. #17 by wesuffer on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 11:38 am

opposition ask federal government buy over toll concessenaire.
    i thinking, if PR took over federal government one day. they still will buy over toll concessenaire even the cost is very high?
    i dont think they will buy. they will blame to BN back if they seize power as what happen in penang now.

18. #18 by wesuffer on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 11:58 am

abattoir should not been drag into political issue .
    this is more like individual business interest. national issue is more important.
    kedah dap is not make wise decision and action.
    why the abattoir can be illegal for longtime ago ? is the wastage system is clean ? no environment pollution? public health , state enviroment is come 1st.
    the abattoir can move to non residents place.
    all this people only think for convienient and profit margin.

19. #19 by dawsheng on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 12:07 pm

wesuffer, I suggest you find out the facts first before commenting on the issue.

20. #20 by OrangRojak on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 12:27 pm

That link posted by SpeakUp is priceless. Su appears to be an idiot.

not illegal by choice. The authorities have refused to legalise them

What nonsense is that? A long time ago I read comments on this blog pleading with DAP to organise some sort of retreat or convention where they could all learn to sing from the same hymn sheet. How is ‘not illegal by choice’ coherent with ‘rule of law’?

Far from the MB checking his facts first, he should check his own. He ‘has proof that illegal Hindu and Chinese temples would be demolished’ – so what? Where is the proof that an illegal mosque is not being demolished? The buildings scheduled for demolition are not related by religion, they’re related by illegality. All he has is proof that the law is being enforced.

Maybe he’s actually a bright guy and they caught him on a bad day, but that article does neither him nor DAP any favours.

21. #21 by SpeakUp on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 12:38 pm

wesuffer … you are one of the few who can see it clearly, hahahaahahaa … you got it spot on. Its an individual’s issue that is made into a DAP or State issue. The selfish inconsiderate individual as sated in Sin Chew’s article about this problem.

Orang Rojak … I personally have cleared Chinese temples and Indian temples that are all squatters. When faced with legal action they say this: “No court will be willing to enforce against us.” Its pure arrogance knowing that they can play the religious/racial card against the law when they know they are illegal!

If anyone dares to tell me I am wrong I will say my religion believes that the gate to their house is MY GOD and I can chant there every evening and they should allow me to do so.

22. #22 by dawsheng on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 1:06 pm

“They are not illegal by choice. The authorities have refused to legalise them,” – Thomas Su

If we can pick a statement and use it as an inference without further discourse, thus completely disregard the nature of its problems, it is just as good as one person’s opinion, we can call it freedom of speech. But not so when one is entrusted with Rakyat’s will, there is a pact with PAS and there are covenants on Kedah DAP’s part to fulfill, and in similarity the KBP case, all parties argue about broken promises, what matter most now is not a statement but action, since words are easily manipulated where action is louder than words.

23. #23 by SpeakUp on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 1:08 pm

dawsheng … you are right, action speaks louder BUT it must be the right action for the right reasons with legal basis.

24. #24 by limkamput on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 2:18 pm

//If anyone dares to tell me I am wrong I will say my religion believes that the gate to their house is MY GOD and I can chant there every evening and they should allow me to do so. //loose cannon ball II

It is confirmed beyond doubt that you are also a loose cannon ball. I shall call you a loose cannon ball II or better still phua tang sai commentator or simpleton. You have no ball to debate with me, and yet want to talk so much.

25. #25 by limkamput on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 2:44 pm

//I called my friend in AS today about the abattoir, its really interesting.// speakup

So, is your friend representing Kedah? I don’t call you simpleton for nothing.

26. #26 by SpeakUp on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 2:55 pm

Lim … I love how well you can use the English language, with limited vocabulary I can understand why you need to resort to name calling only. Typical of the low class filth that is present in PR that allows BN to laugh all day long. Typical …

27. #27 by wesuffer on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 3:16 pm

have no choice ? if not legalisme them. how come the illegal abottoir can still last for 30 years? so should they thanks to umnoBN led government ? is this involved in under table money to council during this 30 years ?
    they willing to pay to them. chinese wont stupid to do no benefit business. all is business interest

28. #28 by SpeakUp on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 3:33 pm

wesuffer … maybe not everyone is telling the whole truth? Perhaps when the business owners say that Kedah government is not assisting in relocation they may mean they want some place near only (they don’t want far as will have to pay for transport), they want the place built up nicely for them (no expenditure for business), they are not willing to ensure cleanliness (not keen to pay for the proper machinery etc).

Maybe the Kedah government ‘did not’ assist because the business owners want it all for FREE and are slightly unreasonable. Perhaps the Kedah government got fed up and decided to play hard ball?

We will not know the truth because it will never be told. What we do know is, its illegal and that is enough.

29. #29 by whattheheckman on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 5:00 pm

Lim Kit Siang, Lim Guan Eng, DAP, Gerakan and MCA are all chinese. Common sense lah they fight basically for chinese interest and often fool the other races who supports them in elections. Outstanding example: Kg Buah Pala, The Tamil High Chapparel of Penang. Bet you the Lims and the rest of the chinese are having a good laugh at the way they fool the indian and malay voters.

30. #30 by whattheheckman on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 5:02 pm

ha ha ha he he he

31. #31 by SpeakUp on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 5:34 pm

whattheheckman … LGE not like that la. Hahahahaa … he is now scratching his head how to smoothen things out. I for one would not love to be in his shoes

32. #32 by chengho on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 5:43 pm

the farmer and the towkeh behind them laughing to the bank ..Rakyat suffer with environmental and racial issue…..dap..dap.. u cannot manage crisis…

33. #33 by shortie kiasu on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 5:50 pm

It is a simple matter in fact but has now been blown very much out of proportion.

In this country, when we come to pigs and porks, they are always the loosers.

No one in this country can beat the religious discrimination imposed unilaterally on the minority.

It is a losing battle and better to forget about it. It is better to fend ourselves by otrher means to get the pigs and porks in this country.

34. #34 by newchief on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 5:54 pm

i suspect the kedah DAP is feeding wrong info to its central committee. he’s taking the situation and deciding ON HIMSELF to pull-out off the alliance .

i suspect he has been offered handsomely by the corrupted oppositions just like the case of the THREE BETRAYERS OF PERAK!!!
    i hop uncle LKS will do a ‘secret body-check-up’ on this DAP guy!!!

35. #35 by SpeakUp on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 6:03 pm

chengho … I have to agree with you …

36. #36 by dawsheng on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 9:15 pm

By Wong Choon Mei

Kedah DAP has withdrawn from the state Pakatan Rakyat coalition, accusing the PAS-led government of not giving equal treatment to all Kedahans after Menteri Besar Azizan Abdul Razak refused to intervene in the demolition of an abbatoir.

“Although the slaughterhouse was operating on land belonging to the Alor Setar City Council, the state government had the power to postpone demolition work,” Kedah DAP chairman Thomas Su told a press conference on Wednesday.

“This would have given more time for the Kedah Pigs Trader and Slaughterer Association to find a new site.”

According to the city council, the slaughterhouse was illegally built 30 years ago and although it had ordered the association to vacate the premises several times through the years, it did not do so.

The latest directive was issued in May and when the association sought a postponement, it was given until end June to find new premises.

According to Su, DAP suggested six new sites but they were all rejected and the city council refused to give any further extensions.

“The trust of the 28 operators has been betrayed. They are now left stranded,” said Su.

State-level decision

Meanwhile, Azizan said it was not within his power to stop the demolition, as claimed by Su.

“I was told that the association has submitted an application to the Pendang district office for a piece of land in Kampung Cina on June 26 and the district office technical team is studying the application,” the MB said.

http://en.suarakeadilan.com/top-story-1/2009/07/10744

37. #37 by dawsheng on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 9:22 pm

Maybe the Kedah government ‘did not’ assist because the business owners want it all for FREE and are slightly unreasonable. Perhaps the Kedah government got fed up and decided to play hard ball? – SpeakUp

DAP suggested six new sites but they were all rejected.

38. #38 by dawsheng on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 9:27 pm

Lim Kit Siang, Lim Guan Eng, DAP, Gerakan and MCA are all chinese. Common sense lah they fight basically for chinese interest and often fool the other races who supports them in elections. Outstanding example: Kg Buah Pala, The Tamil High Chapparel of Penang. Bet you the Lims and the rest of the chinese are having a good laugh at the way they fool the indian and malay voters. – whattheheckman

Not true!

From http://limguaneng.com/index.php/guan-eng-vision-for-penang/

Q: How do you address the problems of Malays being marginalised in the development of the state? (Mohd Azlan Abdul Majid)

A: One of the first things I did when I came into power was to increase the allowances of religious teachers by RM600 a year. But let’s not talk of race. We want equal opportunities for all. Once we start talking about race, we fall into Umno’s political trap.//

39. #39 by the reds on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 10:21 pm

I am a Kedahan! PAS is too arrogant these days! Luckily, Thomas Su still backs our Chinese and voice out our problems! On the other hand, I can hardly see MCA do something beneficial to us! Where has Chor Chee Heung gone? I understand that PR has a bigger agenda (to form an alternative government next GE), but I hope it is not at the expense of Kedahan! PAS just cannot simply implement what they like or don’t like!

40. #40 by siapatau on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 11:05 pm

what happen to bangsa malaysia slogan…wht diff you guys compared to BN if every party is back to politics of race

41. #41 by siapatau on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 11:13 pm

Biz without license is legal??? hmmm…
    Right is right, wrong is wrong…no matter what…
    Time to show a difference in upholding the justice…

42. #42 by W KOK on Tuesday, 7 July 2009 - 12:38 pm

YB,
    I am I dreaming or not……gerakan supporting DAP???

Kedah Gerakan Youth Urges MB To Investigate DAP’s Allegation

ALOR SETAR, July 6 (Bernama) — Kedah Gerakan Youth today called on Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Azizan Abdul Razak to set up an independent body to investigate the DAP’s allegation that the state government would demolish some Hindu and Chinese temples in the state.

Its head Tan Keng Liang said Azizan should do this immediately to prove whether the allegation was true or not.

\This is a serious allegation and the outcome of the investigation should be announced to the public,\ he told Bernama here today.

He said Azizan should not dilly-dally by saying that he himself did not know of the alleged state government’s decision to demolish Hindu and Chinese temples.

Azizan was also reported to have said that the DAP was trying to incite racial hatred towards the PAS-led state government.

Recently, Kedah/Perlis DAP chairman Thomas Su repeated his claim that he had proof of the government’s decision to demolish some Hindu and Chinese temples.

He said the Menteri Besar should take the matter seriously and not accuse the DAP of inciting racial hatred by raising the issue.

The Kedah DAP also recently made a shocking announcement of withdrawing from the Pakatan Rakyat state government over alleged unfair treatment of the DAP in the pact and the demolishment of a pig abattoir in Taman Berjaya here by the Alor Setar City Council.

– BERNAMA

43. #43 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 8 July 2009 - 10:10 pm

siapatau … what you say, not many will agree, I try that a lot, they call me UMNO goon, MCA b@ll carrier etc. A lot don care right is right and wrong is wrong la. They hate BN so much they dun care …