Pakatan Rakyat’s second “crisis of confidence”

(The headline for the Malaysian Insider “No let-up as Kit Siang continues attacks against PAS ahead of Kedah trip” is not correct, as it is not reflected in the contents of its report.

It implied that I was continuing to “attack” the Pakatan Rakyat government in Kedah. This is not the case.

It further implied that I had attacked the PR Kedah state government yesterday. This was also not the case.

Pakatan Rakyat is facing a second crisis of confidence and efforts must be made to resolve it.

This is why I am not only meeting the Kedah State DAP tomorrow but also have a dialogue with the people of Kedah in Alor Star tomorrow night. (New Straits Times today had wrongly reported that I would be meeting residents in the abbatoir area when I said I would be having a people’s dialogue in Alor Star).

Both the Malaysian Insider and New Straits Times report are reproduced below.)

No let-up as Kit Siang continues attacks against PAS ahead of Kedah trip

By Asrul Hadi Abdullah Sani

PETALING JAYA, July 3 — In deflecting suggestions that a trivial issue led to the DAP pulling out of the Kedah Pakatan Rakyat (PR) state government, Lim Kit Siang fell back on a cliche, and argued that the pigs were just “the straw that broke the camel’s back”.

In a shocking announcement, Kedah DAP announced on Wednesday its decision to pull out of the state government after local authorities demolished the state’s only pig abattoir.

But Lim said today that the abattoir was not the sole reason for the state DAP’s decision.
He pointed out that the abattoir issue was symptomatic of the PAS-led state government’s failure to perform and take into account the views of the public.

“Personally, I think the issue in Kedah is not about pigs but the people. It is not about the abattoir even.

“The reason for what happened Kedah is that Kedah DAP felt many issues concerning the people of Kedah were not taken account by the state government. The issue of the abattoir was the straw that broke the camel’s back,” he told reporters at DAP headquarters here today.
Lim will be heading to Kedah tomorrow to meet with his party members.
The DAP veteran also plans to meet with the grassroots and gauge public sentiment on the issue.

PR’s crisis in Kedah is just the latest problem to hit the alliance of DAP, PAS and PKR.
PAS is also continuing its flirtation with Umno, and has proposed talks between the Youth wings of the two Malay-Muslim parties.

Such developments have led to an escalation of efforts to quickly bring together the three parties in a more permanent structure akin to the formal coalition of the rival Barisan Nasional (BN).

—–

Another PR “crisis of confidence”
By : Joseph Sipalan

KUALA LUMPUR: DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang said the Kedah DAP’s determination to quit the state government spelled a “crisis of confidence” in Pakatan Rakyat.
He described his party’s latest dispute with Pas as the alliance’s

second such crisis coming after senior leaders in the Islamist party proposed unity talks with Umno.

Lim, the member of parliament for Ipoh Timur, said he was “shocked” by the Kedah DAP’s decision to pull out of the state Pakatan over the razing of an illegal pig abattoir in Alor Star.

He said it was still too early to come to any conclusions as he had not been briefed on the complaint by state DAP chairman Thomas Su Keong
Siong.

Su, however, said yesterday that an official letter had been faxed to party secretary-general Lim Guan Eng confirming the state DAP committee’s decision to leave the Pas-led state government.

He said he expected the party central executive committee to meet on the matter soon.

“We have to wait for the report, though I must admit there is considerable frustration that their (DAP Kedah’s) views are not taken seriously.

“Undoubtedly, this will not be taken lightly. We view this situation with grave seriousness,” he said at a press conference at the Parliament lobby.

Lim said he would go to Alor Star tomorrow to meet the state DAP and residents in the abattoir area for their views.

Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said the dispute could be resolved within Pakatan.

“We will consider their (Kedah DAP’s) grouses, but I will also talk to the menteri besar,” he said at the Parliament lobby.

Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Azizan Abdul Razak gave no indication yesterday that he would back down from his stand on the abattoir.

1. #1 by SpeakUp on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 5:26 pm

Mr LKS … we don’t care about what the media writes, we don’t care if you attacked or not la. They will spin spin spin. We want to see you all WORK TOGETHER SINCERELY. Can that ever happen?

Me personally, I doubt it because of late you do not even stand up for things that are wrong within. You keep quiet only but attack attack BN non stop. Why like that? Fair is fair right? Are you a fair man?

2. #2 by wesuffer on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 5:31 pm

how come recently pakatan always being headline of paper ?
    it is related to coming by election ?
    who is behind the scene ?
    do we think MR 1 WILL SITTING and do nothing to face another by election defect?

3. #3 by SpeakUp on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 5:41 pm

Why? Because they really are bickering too much and giving BN a great opportunity for a great publicity stunt. This is why PR will never be successful until they learn not to give BN an OPEN GOAL!

PR within itself is still selfish
    PR has no sense of statesmanship
    PR is led by someone who is vengeful
    PR has no idea about PR – PUBLIC RELATIONS
    PR has members who are dodgy, not meaning BN trojan ok, they on their own are questionable

Hey … come on, let’s still support blindly.

4. #4 by voice on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 6:51 pm

Pakatan leaders must sit down on a round table and discuss, not only to meet the people but also please meet up with the Kedah MB, and also to Guan Eng, the situation is not good in Penang, better to plan and solve the problem before some of the people change their views about PR, keep in mind that this is the most important aspect to PR, it is a key to victory, or total defeat, destroying our hopes.

5. #5 by zak_hammaad on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 6:53 pm

A point often comes in any political marriage between disparate groups when the initial euphoria of association changes to despair, squabbles and a final parting of ways.

In the case of the Hindu Rights Action Force’s (Hindraf) association with Pakatan Rakyat in general and the DAP in particular, that point of disengagement has arrived.

The spark for a parting of ways is the fight between the DAP and Hindraf, a movement banned by the authorities last year as an extremist organisation, over saving the century-old Indian settlement of Kampung Buah Pala in Penang.

The village is up for demolition and redevelopment into condominiums.

The DAP says the settlers, mostly cowherds, should take the compensation, move out and start a new life.

Hindraf leaders like founder P. Uthayakumar, however, argue that the DAP should use state land laws and forcibly acquire the land, pay compensation and preserve the area as a heritage site of early Indian migration and settlement.

The DAP would have been the first to agree to such an expansive proposal. In fact, the DAP had demanded the heavens in its heyday as a opposition party and the Barisan Nasional had to squirm to explain and deflect the unfeasible demands.

Now the roles are reversed with Hindraf demanding and the DAP, running Penang, squirming to deflect, with the Barisan watching from the sidelines.

6. #6 by jt84 on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 7:12 pm

This issue must be blown out of proportion or Pakatan Rakyat further lose its credibility under continous attacks from main-stream media propaganda and UMNO/Barisan Nasional. I agree with an article written online (http://joshblogspace.blogspot.com/2009/07/minor-dissection-on-pakatan-rakyats-2nd.html) that KEDAH DAP’s swift decision is acting more like an opposition rather than being a part of the state government/ coalition.

Solve the issue! now that the abbatoir has been torn down, continue to work on building a new one since you’re part of the government instead of playing tantrum.

7. #7 by jt84 on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 7:13 pm

CORRECTION: “This issue must NOT be blown out of proportaion or Pakatan…”

8. #8 by W KOK on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 7:41 pm

YB,
    I think it is important you reply via media so as not to cause confussion to the public.

A lot of things had been coming out the media.
    People thought that you are also fighting with the Kedah MB.

Some also say that DAP may join with BN & PKR to form a BN-PKR-DAP alliance as was suggested by gerakan ketua pemuda kedah.

Some even say PAS is going to sack DAP whether DAP going out or not.
    there are also rumours that PKR may take over the state Kedah from PAS.
    Very confusing.
    Please clarify if possible in Kedah.

9. #9 by SpeakUp on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 7:44 pm

Malaysia Today says LKS and LGE taking a stroll … no rush. http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/107770

I think they are planning to make sure its all smooth but LKS so fast in hammering BN everyday but nothing here? No articles that clarifies? Come on la …

10. #10 by my1anthony on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 8:58 pm

PAS is hopeless! Let them talk with BN. Many people happy with them if they join BN. Now the only hope for Opposition or PR is Keadilan. If Anwar and his party is making the root in the east coast, get the strong support there within 3 years, the chances of DAP and Keadilan to Putrajaya is closer and closer. Without PAS, DAP and KEADILAN are champion of ALL.
    Youth PAS is damn arrogant, worst than youth UMNO!

11. #11 by KennyGan on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 8:58 pm

YB Lim,

Some of us like to accuse PAS of being the weak point in Pakatan but DAP must look in the mirror too.

Was sacking the councillor Johari necessary as he had already apologized? This could not have come at a worse time. Does LGE need to prove how strong he is after his weak handling of the Kg. Buah Pala land dispute?

DAP’s pullout from the Kedah govt has given the BN press enough material to ignite into a bonfire. No doubt DAP has real grievances but I don’t think this is the right way to go about it. It is simply too drastic!

On the burner is also Umno-PAS unity talks and Anwar’s trial coming up. One crisis, even 2 crisis PR can weather but does PR need 5 crisis together? (1. unity talk, 2. Anwar’s trial, 3. Kg. Buah Pala, 4. Johari, 5. DAP Kedah)

Many Malaysians want PR to succeed, not break up. DAP is not showing proper leadership and statesmanship at this time. Please do something while there is still time!

12. #12 by dawsheng on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 9:44 pm

It would have been much easier if PAS had joined UMNO in a unity government.

13. #13 by YK Leong on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 10:21 pm

We still have a long journey to Putrajaya, as we move along we are bound to face obstructions and obstacles. However, whenever we face them, we have to correct them. Each time, we face one and correct one, our bond will grow stronger in strength.

14. #14 by chengho on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 10:25 pm

Dap just know how to shout but not to resolve a crisis ….pig slaughterhouse in the middle of residence area… not being unreasonable to be removed or demolish…think of health reason …

15. #15 by vsp on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 10:55 pm

Normally I would not hit out unnecessarily at DAP.

But the Kedah slaughterhouse issue is a storm in a teacup. Be realistic, DAP is not a powerhouse in Kedah and it cannot always has its way where it has not much influence. It has to work smart. DAP must know when not to be a Don Quixote to fight the windmill or they will have mud thrown into their faces. Please don’t resort to the bravado of yesteryear. That’s was old politics. Recognize your strengths as well as your weaknesses.

Personally, the sole DAP assemblyman in Kedah is a damn fool. Why don’t you work out a solution with PAS for a suitable replacement for the demolished slaughterhouse instead of insisting that it remains where it is now? If you want to talk about principles tell me how far can you go if you are not in an advantageous position? Only stupid fools will stick to that angle.

16. #16 by SpeakUp on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 11:08 pm

I read NST today, I was shocked. They interviewed the residents nearby. They are Muslim and they were not nasty despite living beside a pig farm for like over 20 years. The stench, parts in the drains etc. When it rains the muck spills over in the drains and goes everywhere.

Would it be fair for them? If this is what the DAP rep was fussing over then I propose that he tries to live in the same circumstances before he starts to make so much fuss over the pig farm issue.

If all the above is true then the rep is an insensitive fool, incompetent and should not be a DUN at all. Useless bugger.

What DAP Kedah is doing is no different from HINDRAF in Penang. Both have no rights to be there, the papers report that the farm has no proper papers.

17. #17 by sirrganass on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 11:48 pm

2nd crisis of confidence? Oh Yes! Whatever it is, please quickly go to Kedah and Penang because those two-three “kacang putih” problems there can be easily solved. What is more important now is PAS/DAP/PKR must must MUST continue to work together.

Use “LOGIC” and “FAIRNESS” to handles those small “family problems”. Don’t burn the mosquito net if you hate the mosquitoes. Good Luck! See you in Putra Jaya next 3 years! bye

18. #18 by lkt-56 on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 11:57 pm

Shadow cabinet formed in the midst of the second crisis of confidence! It show the determination of the PR leaders to make the coalition work. If this single minded focus stays on course you can be assured that we are on our way to form the next government. ;)

19. #19 by SpeakUp on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 12:04 am

If PR can bring the ratio of BN:PR MPs to say 51:49 … I will treat everyone who is registered as a forumer here to a meal at KL Hilton.

PR will not be able to do it. Why? They are bickering non stop after 18 months, it does not bode well. We do not expect miracles overnight but come on, PAS still wants to have intellectual chats with UMNO? This shows that there is no ONENESS

The cabinet committees are a joke, one from each party? Why scared cannot trust the other person issit? Where is the trust? I think PR has just created the World’s Biggest Shadow Cabinet.

20. #20 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 12:12 am

I spoke to 5 motor mechanics …all Chinese and they said…..they never voted before. They also do not understand politics……but are brainwashed that MCA is helping the Chinese.
    After listening to me……proving MCA is not helping the Chinese but helping UMNO to divide and rule….and all the temples and schools are to win Chinese votes..that began to open their eyes and minds to some real truths and they promised to go back to their home to towns and vote on 13th GE… for DAP…or keDAILan.
    Refused tips to repair my car….thanked me for the talk.
    If you read the papers……you will think PR is splitting up…..and Eng Guan is in hot soup.
    That idiot…Chengho with his usual low class propaganda message for MCA…does not know Koh Tsu Koon was the one to be blamed….and expect LEG to clean up everything.
    As usual…some protesters are with cow brains…but slowly they will learn the truths.
    MCA knows the real culprit is Gerakan..and take low class political pot shots… to smear and insult DAP.
    They love to create quarrels to avoid the results of PKFZ investigations.
    UMNO and MCA will be very busy to steer Malaysian minds away from PKFZ …let it cool down…let it be forgotten…..hoping Malaysians run out of energy….and accept whatever verdicts that is forth coming.
    And we know….UMNO will do it’s utmost best to see Ling Liong Sik and Chan Koon Choy…free…for if they are found guilty…..Mahathir will be implicated too….as he was the PM.
    Votes is the ultimate deciding factor for UMNO BARU……not justice.

21. #21 by boh-liao on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 12:19 am

Sorry to be negative
    but many cracks and leaks had appeared in the PR dyke
    How many fingers do you have to plug the many leaks
    And you are sleeping with some nasty racists n
    opportunists n frogs who are all ready to jump, jump
    A long, dark night with many nightmares ahead
    Will PR be still around by 4 July 2010
    Too bad, too bad

22. #22 by SpeakUp on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 12:21 am

Monster … of course the papers are playing it up but the FACTS are still true:

DAP DUN is out of Kedah
    Hadi is keen to chat with UMNO
    PKR Penang is not backing LGE on the Kg Pala matter
    PKS Penang is hammering LGE for Johari sacking

Are the above not happening? Yes it is and it causes concern. There is a crisis of confidence.

23. #23 by dawsheng on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 12:39 am

Get used to the news reporting, just read between the lines!

24. #24 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 12:43 am

DAP is huge and cannot be perfect.
    It is the ultimate reasons for those “cracks” and so call..”crisis of confidence”….that one needs to study carefully.
    As for me…DAP did nothing wrong.
    That’s the bottom line. That matters most to me.
    UMNO and MCA can talk as much as the want.
    A 100 reasons given on ONE subject….yet UMNO do not act. What is the ultimate reason?
    So much dirt and filth and corrupted acts…. left over by UMNO… all over Malaysia.
    Decisions made with no choice by DAP……as orders are legally passed….now DAP act and work for their salaries…..and some are not happy..all blames thrown to DAP.
    They can keep smearing and insulting father and son…but we do know..who the devils are.
    One Hindraf guy woke up….will the other 4 understand truths?
    Kedah…not interested…as DAP knows..they withdrew ..not to be in the managing group….PR is still controlling Kedah. What crisis?
    Lim Kit Siang said “crisis”…is meaning some misunderstandings within PR family….not National crisis at all.
    PKFZ RM14.5 billion scandal is National crisis.
    Sometimes…LKS English …no better than mine……hahahahahahaha

25. #25 by dawsheng on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 12:43 am

I just want to say here that in my opinion the Kedah DAP did the right thing.

26. #26 by SpeakUp on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 12:45 am

Monsterball … what you spiaking ar? Hahahahahaahahaa …

27. #27 by AhPek on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 12:55 am

It’s a real shame that PR being so new as a loose coalition of opposition parties is starting to show serious crack lines so soon and YB Kit,your negotiation and PR skills are crucial to save it from breaking up. This time it looks like DAP might have the wrong man in Alor Star as the state assemblyman.

28. #28 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 12:56 am

SpeakUp…is trying to be smart.
    I will not try to prove he is an idiot.
    I have one to handle..few are sleeping…that’s good. Let others handle you…..but I will give them the hints…to start off with SpeakUp.
    No..those are not crisis in confidence.
    There are democratic rights..acts ad speeches you are not used to reading and hearing and naturally..UMNO love to twist everything into a crisis
    LKS is talking about DAP family crisis….openly….not National crisis..
    DAP is also concern over Hadi’s famous racialist personality. Even PAS…knows that..Hadi is a disgrace to their party….but no choice..still plenty fanatics to deal with. That’s politics..not crisis.
    PKFZ RM14.5 billion is a crisis…involving all Malaysians.
    Can you differentiate family quarrels with war of words involving voters

29. #29 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 1:07 am

I do not think DAP have a wrong man in Kedah.
    I think he has dignity and principles in life.
    We do not know the whole story..but read from papers and Malaysiakini.
    It is pushing DAP to explain….and in politics…explanations cannot be that straight forward in Malaysia.
    53 years….dealing with the master of twister…UMNO….one must think carefully…how to deal with the devils.
    PR is very popular and riding high.
    DAP needs to cautious in Kedah…and have nothing to do with the management is a wise move where majority is one race…so many are still pro UMNO…let PAS play with UMNO..their own ways.

30. #30 by SpeakUp on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 1:07 am

Monster I know what you are trying to say … squabbles are normal. We all do it. BUT when DAP DUN in Kedah pulls out its not the same anymore. When the confidence of PR is shaken due to Hadi’s itch to play with UMNO its no more a mere squabble. When PKR backs the villagers against LGE its no longer a family argument. When a racist DUN in Penang starts to cause trouble at seminars … hey, why was he not properly disciplined? Forgotten huh?

Okay let’s drop the word CRISIS etc. The issue is simple … why cannot work as one? Why have to quit la, offend la etc? That is mainly the issue.

Imagine you are on a flight and you happen to see the pilot and co-pilot squabble/disagree when coming in for landing. Then tell me how you feel … this is the nation that is being entrusted to them with the individual’s vote.

31. #31 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 1:18 am

SpeakUp have no manners at all..always addresses me as “monster”…and I keep ignoring…that that will be the starter from me to this no manners guy.
    He is a bloody low call …no manners braggart.
    His reply to my message..is from a typical….over the moon…with a rock star brain.
    Just read his last para and you will know what I mean.

32. #32 by SpeakUp on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 1:22 am

Monster or Monsterball … looks like you cannot answer matters point for point and need to resort to insults and name calling … most interesting to see …

33. #33 by SpeakUp on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 1:29 am

Hmmmm … Monster is so smart, I guess Sin Chew is also wrong and probably BN controlled …

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/23898/84/

I love the term … political maturity …

34. #34 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 1:32 am

SpeakUp can talk .. giving all sorts of opinions…till all the cows come home.
    They are shallow and meant to insult DAP reputation.. fanning and fanning for agree to disagree conversations…to benefit MCA.
    This young fut…thinks he know so much from his short life…reading books…and listening to MCA.
    Let this no manners son of a gun…..try to teach MCA how to capture Penang back from DAP…..and don’t waste my time…to trap me to his crap messages.
    Want to talk real?….give your reason why IGP must not be replaced….you idiot.

35. #35 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 1:35 am

AT LAST!!
    SpeakUp spoke some sense.
    Yes…I am smart and wise….and you better have some manners and respect for old folks.
    Blogging tells your personality…and you are one hell of a badly brought up… braggart.

36. #36 by SpeakUp on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 1:42 am

I have to agree with you Monster, the manner in which you wield your command of English has truly shown your up bringing and perhaps in breeding. :)

Oh yes … I am actually a DIE HARD MCA supporter. I mean I love them so much that I actually came here to put down LGE by saying he is doing a great job in Penang. However, its actually a guise to throw everyone off my trail. Sssshhhhhh …

My reason why the IGP must not be replaced? I think its mainly because he is an UMNO sympathiser and is doing a great job for UMNO? Did I score well?

37. #37 by SpeakUp on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 1:46 am

Monsterball is correct … its a small family matter:

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/23897/84/

Cleansing time! Time to get rid of the dirt within.

38. #38 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 1:47 am

I have answered to ALL your stupid points..but you are not smart enough to be able to read between the lines…nor have a sense of love for the country and people….with a clear agenda..to have a political conversation….which favours MCA.. I have no time for that.
    I am after FOR or AGAINST changing the government.
    I am after voters.
    You are showing the skills how to carry balls…with no manners..nor respect to the old folks that eat more salt than you eat rice.
    Yes…I am after your character…and will keep insulting you…as you are AGAINST change of government….trying to be too smart with your comments….tilting to one side….against change of government.
    My nick is “monsterball”..not “monster”…yet your rock head find it so difficult to differentiate.

39. #39 by anna brella on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 1:49 am

Wonder if LKS has any plans to highlight that small, but nevertheless allegedly stinking to high heaven, connection between a certain previous deputy home minister and now deputy finance minister that the local Alor Starians had carefully chosen as their esteemed parliamentarian and that small fact of the RM12.5bn PKFZ scandal/potential national write-off that is now about to potentially beggar further ALL Malaysians, including those astute winning voters of Alor Star and their children.

Bet that poor beaten to a pulp Chang is now sitting somewhere laughing his head off in schadenfreude at that heartless person who failed to help him get any justice then. And I bet if you ask Chang, he will not be so churlish as to want to deny appropriate justice to the ex-deputy home minister who offered him no support when he was beaten up by a gang of PRDM thugs.

“Imagine Power To The People” John Lennon.

40. #40 by SpeakUp on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 1:50 am

Monster … you really make my day. I appreciate all the attention that you are giving to me. :) Want to be the president of my fan club?

41. #41 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 1:55 am

Bang bang bang..and that goon finally got it right.

42. #42 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 2:00 am

There is goes again….seeking for attention!
    I will ignore him.
    His twisted unstable mind is so clear.
    Monster….you say?
    OK….as long as it makes you happy and others are enjoying your stupidity..and voters know what type of young fut…good for nothing..members.. MCA have.

43. #43 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 2:04 am

anna brella…That’s a nice piece…and back to sense and sensibility.

44. #44 by boh-liao on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 2:07 am

Winning an election is easy
    To stay on for a long haul n to work smartly
    is not easy
    Cakap tak serupa bikin
    Remember you can con people once, not twice

45. #45 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 2:17 am

But UMNO have been conning and bullshitting for more than 30 years…..and still in power.
    So who are the fools….politicians or voters?

46. #46 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 2:17 am

But UMNO have been conning and lying for more than 30 years…..and still in power.
    So who are the fools….politicians or voters?

47. #47 by anna brella on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 2:32 am

monsterball:

Thanks for the kind piece but on that sense and sensibility, no thanks, much prefer pride and prejudice personally.

“Imagine Power To The People” John Lennon.

48. #48 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 2:46 am

anna brella….I was referring to the post and not the book.
    I agree..Pride and Prejudice is a better read….a must to all students.
    I like Shakespeare most…in schools.
    They make you think and have different conclusions..sharpening the minds.

49. #49 by distantmalay on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 3:32 am

alternative sites were rejected by the kedah govt, and now the last abattoir in kedah is demolished,

the pas led kedah govt will not approve another pig abattoir in kedah, they have no intention to.

50. #50 by distantmalay on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 3:33 am

at last, kedah is pig free…..alas not pork free..

51. #51 by katdog on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 3:45 am

Such a big hoo hah over an illegal pig abattoir.

And about the Kedah PAS leadership, the warning signs of possible ‘trouble’ were already there right from the beginning. How come nothing was done to prevent this ‘break up’ for the past 18 months? What were the PR national leadership doing?

Now only want to fix.

52. #52 by lkt-56 on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 6:57 am

# distantmalay Says:
    Today at 03: 33.05 (3 hours ago)
    at last, kedah is pig free…..alas not pork free..

Learn to accept the reality that the world is never going to be pork free and you will feel less miserable.
    This may be of help:
    http://www.rspca.org.uk/servlet/Satellite?pagename=RSPCA/RSPCARedirect&pg=pigs&marker=1&articleId=1233061395386
    ;)

53. #53 by yhsiew on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 8:56 am

Kit,

Set up a PR Supreme Council with PR coalition component leaders as heads would be one way to reduce the number of crises in the future. For example, the Council can formulate rules such as all unity talks with UMNO must have the consent of the Supreme Council before going ahead, failing which participants of talk will be………….

PR desperately needs to strengthen CENTRAL CONTROL to restrain little Napoleans within PR do things at their whim and fancy.

54. #54 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 9:16 am

True, pig abbatoir caused a stench to nearby residents and was illegal (in sense not licensed to be there). Nobody challenges it should remain there. All that’s been asked was for PAS Kedah state government to approve and give a new site for the abattoir before demolishment. That was not granted. It shows intolerance on Alor Star Municipal Council’s part. PAS’s MB also gave no reprieve. DAP might want to show unity with PAS at coalition level but how is DAP’s sole representative in Kedah, Lee Guan Aik going to explain to his constituency that voted him why for 30 years BN administration had not demolished the abbatoir?? Illegality and stench might be the excuse whilst real reason would be perceived to be intolerance of a state administration that views it, from religious angle, haram. Same thing happened in Kampung Buah Pala. In spite of LGE’s state govt’s legal and financial limitations, HINDRAF agitators turn it into a racial issue.

YB Kit says “Pakatan Rakyat is facing a second crisis of confidence and efforts must be made to resolve it”. However before efforts could be made to resolve crisis, the nature of the crisis must first be understood. Crisis here means an unstable political condition with Pakatan Rakyat (“PR”), at a turning point of some imminent abrupt or decisive change. The expression “crisis” is apt because the crisis involves not just Kedah’s abattoir controversy or HINDRAF’s Kampung Buah Pala issue. These are but only manifestations and symptoms of some more deeply embedded contradictions confronting the entire PR proposition, and that even if these controversies are each resolved there’s no assurance that others of like nature would not recur. What is being challenged here is the very premises on which PR is constructed and bears on the question if it could still remain viable.

First, what is the PR’s proposition? It is, as I understand it, to be this: that in spite of conflicting ideologies between secular pluralistic DAP and theocratic PAS with DSAI/PKR arbitrating in-between, PR will transcend -in the words of Dr Farish Noor in “Relativism versus the Politics of Absolutes – the “essentialist and primordial loyalties to race, religion and culture dominating and determining the norms of political praxis” that BN (in contrast) has pandered for and deepened in its more than 50 years of misrule” – and the proof of that is (supposedly) PR’s spectacular gains in depriving BN’s 2/3 parliamentary majority and gaining 5 states in 8th March 08 GE (and subsequent by elections gains by PR’s candidates).

Are these premises correct here?

PR’s victories in 8th March 08 GE (and subsequent by elections) were not because of PR’s strength in terms of cohesiveness but largely because of BN’s unpopularity and weakness. Farish’s “race, religion and culture dominating and determining the norms of political praxis” is very much alive and kicking, if the abbatoir and squatters issues are anything to go by. The problems of conflicting ideologies between DAP & PAS with opportunistic PKR in between come to sharp focus and is subject to the severest of test when PR’s component parties actually sit down to rule and govern! And when they do so they are faced with problems such as the Kedah’s abattoir and Kampung Buah Pala controversies.

PR has raised expectations of its supporters in saying that it transcends “race, religion and culture” that it is showing it is not in position to gratify/fulfill. PR, and DAP in particular, should draw lesson from Pak Lah’s predicament. No matter how good intentioned, if one raises high expectations that one cannot fulfill/gratify, the multitudes disappointed will punish one at the next polls….

55. #55 by SpeakUp on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 9:25 am

Jeff … I like your last para … they indeed held themselves out to be transcending everything but now fall short of what they have represented. But we have die hards here who justify it by saying:

i. PR is new, only 18 months
    ii. BN been doing worse for 50 years.

Adding on to your ‘What is PR’s proposition’, I say the following:

i. PR should bring all the head honchos together and pledge that they are here for the people and they are not supportive of race/religious politics;
    ii. the new Cabinet Committees such as the Education and Finance should make a clear statement that race/religion shall play no role in decision making but only merits (of course provision is made for the financially challenged and under privileged);

You think this can happen? This would be the acid test for PR, for them to assure the Rakyat that PR is cohesive and that the aims as per pre-GE12 is still the same.

56. #56 by limkamput on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 9:38 am

The quality of this blog suffers big time, destroyed by a loose cannon ball and a never shut up (or is it speakup) ass. These are the self seeking gullible fools.

57. #57 by limkamput on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 9:40 am

It is not about pig, it is about what PR stand for. If they stand for tolerance and diversity, then things should not have been done in such a high-handed way. We all want clean and healthy living conditions. If the present site is no longer suitable, find an alternative before it is demolished. This is common sense and good governance.

By the way, if it is an abattoir, why must it be filthy, dirty and oozing stench? It is about who we are as a nation. This is a nation of filth and stench. I have been to Alor Star recently. Like all towns and cities in Malaysia, the town is filthy and disorderly. It shows most town councils are not really working, whether it is BN or PR states. We have to face reality; most local authorities are archaic, lazy, corrupted, and inefficient. Even if the abattoir is moved to another location, do you think those staying nearby would be happy if the same filthy standards are practised there?

58. #58 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 9:57 am

Professor of limbo twister is under control.
    Now complaining blog quality….blaming me…and teaching LKS how to manage a blog.
    Blaming PR….twisting tolerance and diversity..ignoring who actually need to be blamed.
    The order was given long before and approved.
    Yes….Alor Star is badly managed…corrupt and limbo said it all.
    Why blame PR and then…moved to blame everyone?
    Limbo is fickle minded and behave like a sissy.

59. #59 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 10:09 am

DAP man very smart to keep away from Muslims politics..in Alor Star.
    Unity in PR is different from UMNO…so clear..so good.
    PAS guy in Alor Star…can shout and be sarcastic.. as much as he likes.
    DAP have an established reputation…totally clean….hard working…and play second fiddle to any party.
    Professor limbo can judge ..but offer no solutions.
    What type of professor is that?
    He has admitted and declared he is the biggest slimebag in this blog.
    How can a slimebag…teach others?
    Ah..they do. They are thick skinned bas..trd. Only UMNO and MCA guys have such qualities..and Limkamputty is a good student.

60. #60 by limkamput on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 10:12 am

Malaysia’s future is based on a government that is secular, modern and multi-cultural. The alternative is degeneration into a typical third world standard.

PR is not working because the coalition is essentially based on short term expediency. Everybody knows this country has suffered enough because of race and religion. I think it is time for PR to have a unified and common policy – an inclusive policy based on multi-racial, multi-religious and multi-cultural platform. Those that can’t subscribe to the common policy should leave the coalition. I think it is better this way. Political parties should not be afraid to take the issue directly to the people. Go directly to the people and sell them the modern, secular, multi-religious and multi-cultural nation. Right now, we are only assuming that the people want a “religious” government. Look at Iran today and other so-called Muslim nations elsewhere. Have they not provided with us with enough lessons? Why are we digging ourselves into the very hole that others are trying to get out?

61. #61 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 10:23 am

Professor Limkamput puts out all ..to show he understands everything…and then force PR to change it.
    This is a low class way …for he knows …it is next to impossible..right now.
    He is building a case to insult PR…to win votes for MCA.
    Then his mind goes wild.. to talk about Iran…to tell everyone…he is the man of the world in politics.

62. #62 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 10:24 am

limkamput Says: sell them the modern, secular…
    Hey, isn’t that Lee Wang Yen and Jeffrey’s argument? You mean PD? Was it Pakatan Demokrasi or something? Maybe Pokok Demokrasi now…

It’s a marvellous idea limkaput – the problem with it is that there just isn’t anybody besides LWY, Jeffrey, and now you, to do it. In the current first-past-the-post system, who is going to do something principled when they could join a party that is on the brink of making it into power (some weeks) and ride the existing gravy train into gold town?

I think there could yet be time to build a modern political platform, working from principles and clear mission statements up, before the next GE, but it would be an enormous slog from those that started it, and they’d be heaped with derision all the way, from all angles. You can’t change what we’ve already got into that. What we’ve already got was baked in the same oven BN is. Everything is c,ompromise and cosmetics, ending up with something that’s not so different from BN, but with no access to sycophantic mass media to pump it up.

Are you going to start PD? I’d vote for you – you appear to have principles, even if you can be a bit of an arse sometimes. Oh, I can’t vote. But you know what I mean.

63. #63 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 10:27 am

09.26….I mean DAP play second fiddle to… no one.

64. #64 by frankyapp on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 10:40 am

Hi speakUp,what’s 20 years for those muslim like you said have endured the stink from a pig farm.It proves these muslim group is practising the real meaning of Islam and they are pretty good muslim fellowers too.You see guys, bad smell,if you are given the right or positive attitude,could become fragrant.This again proves true by those good muslim people who live nearby the pig farm.Take myself for a good example.You know guys,I was a kampong boy for more than 21 years.I live nearby a muslim malays kampong and in this kampong there’s a middle size good looking mosque.You know too,before dawn the “calling for prayer “through the four sided loud speaker,initially,it irritated me and making me unable to continue my good morning sleep but with a good attitude,it took me just a matter of days to adjust to the situation ,turning the irritation to sweet music to my ears .Ever since than,I have no problem at all with the “special muslim morning call for prayer “.

65. #65 by taiking on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 10:54 am

What we see now will be the order of future politics in malaysia. Umno’s style of stiffling dissenting voices amongst themselves is obsolete and absolutely unhealthy. No two persons can be of the same views all the time. Not even identical twins and I suspect even clones too would differ in their opinion about things and issues. Voicing out at least has the advantage of letting others know about your views and sentiments. That way sentiments and emotions will not bottle up and explode at some point in time which is definitely undesirable. Umno will explode one day. That day may come sooner than we think.

66. #66 by TomThumb on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 11:57 am

limkamputt the mug faced putt thinks he is smart

67. #67 by taiking on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 11:58 am

In university, lecturers always ask students for their views on some issues relating to the topic under discussion. Students are expected to give as diverse a perspectice as possible. That is a very fundamental university training – i.e. to stimulate students’ minds so that they can think and reason for themselves. Of course, inevitably someone would give some idiotic or even stupid comments. Comments like that would still be better than: “My views are the same as the majority views” or “I reserve my opinion” or “I have no views”. Secondly and in any event, stupid and idiotic views may not be wrong or for that matter, useless. Einstein once said something to the effect that an idea which does not appear ridiculous at first is an idea not worth pursuing. Furthermore, only time will tell whether an idea is workable or not, right or wrong. Umno has given to us countless examples of wrong ideas and decisions. Look at the decision to switch from english to malay as the medium of instruction. Look at Hicom. Look at Renong. Look at Perwaja. Look at proton. Look at PKFZ. Look at Mat Rempit problems. Look at the 30% umnoputra quota for listing a company in klse. Look at FIC policies. Look at the deteriorating university ranking. Look at the judiciary crisis. Look at corruption problems. Look at our police force effectiveness and performance. It took time for all of these to show their true skin whether they are right or wrong, good or bad. Opening issues up for discusion will not prevent these only-time-can-tell mistakes. But at least, some of the problems could have been highlighted along the way. And so those who are responsible would be in a position to intervene and respond much earlier before the only-time-can-tell problem matures fully.

As we progress (although at a disgustingly slow pace compare to korea, taiwan and hong kong – see umnoputras I am not putting singapore in the equation) more and more malaysians would have a university education. They will be questioning the government of the day and demanding for details, explanations and justifications for the government’s policies and decisions. Like it or not we are moving in the direction of openness and transparency and away from secrecy and oppression (which is umno’s punya style). So when pas raises an issue in public or when dap makes a protest publicly, they are exercising that modern and transparent mode. And the pertinent question to ask is this: How are the people taking it? Very well indeed. Despite the several disagreements within pakatan since 308 last year (which umno’s media gave full coverage), pakatan continues to win by-elections and did so with greater majority margin.

Right after 308, Gerakan attempted to be open about their sentiments (saying that umno is a bully within bn). MCA too made some feeble attempts. Look at them now. They are completely mute – bullied into silence of course. DAP will not be bullied. Neither would PAS and Keadilan. Pakatan would stand as a true coalition of equal partners unlike BN.

68. #68 by frankyapp on Saturday, 4 July 2009 - 12:47 pm

Hopefully PAS and Umno leaders too have this kind of attidutes.If these guys are responsible politicians,they should have this positive mentality,or else they are hypocrites.Looking through most of you guys comments on the current political activities,it gives me an impression that PR is likely to break up,starting with DAP.And PAS and Umno are likely to be reunited.I think all four leader’s talk and action are just testing to see what’s the rakyat’s re-action,hence not sincere but rhetoric .There’s no permanent friend or foe in politics.Politicians normally manipulate the rakyat’s weaknesses to gain support and win , are likely to surviveThose who don’t will just fate away.I think Umno and PAS are the most hypocritcally ones. PKR is the middle of the road type and DAP is the only sincere one,among the four. Sincere politicians usually find it pretty tough to survive whereas those cunning ones continue to survive from months to years,even up to decades.Look at Umno/Bn ,most of its top politicians are long timers. TDM,NR are two good example.Some say politic is dirty but I say politician is dirty.Iresponsible politician is everywhere but though we have good ones but it’s real hard to find him or her.So if any of you guys wanna find some real sincere politicians,go to DAP and PKR and perhaps just only one still remaining in PAS.It’s due to all these past and present dirty politicians ,resulting Malaysia ,our country going backward instead of going forward.Change we all need and needed badly but where is the solution ?.Just DAP alone,is not enough.Hence DAP should look for more positive alternatives in its stride for success. It cannot compromise with dirty and cunning politicians.

69. #69 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 3:16 pm

Frank … its true they tolerated for 20 years without burning the place down and that is commendable. But it cannot be said that the stench can be be perfume. The call to prayer is not from an illegal mosque right? :) I too lived beside a mosque, after a month or so my brain shut off the Azan Zohor, slept like a baby.

70. #70 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 1:42 pm

YB Lim, I view this incident differently.
    1)It shows that the status between
    three component parties of Pakatan Rakyat
    is equal where three parties of PR need each other.

2)It shows that DAP really fights for the interest
    of people. If Kedah were to be ruled by BN and
    the pig abattoir demolished by the BN government
    dare MCA and Gerakan pull out from the state government?
    No, definitely no. They will kowtow to the interest of themselves
    instead of pulling out from the government.

Even the best couples in this world do quarrel with each other
    so it is normal for parties of different ideologues to have difference of opinions, sooner or later the problems within PR will be solved.