Najib’s announcement of new category of PSD scholarship based on “pure merit” welcome though taken with a heavy pinch of salt

The announcement by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak of a new category of Public Service Department (PSD) scholarships next year based purely on ‘pure merit’, regardless of race, is welcome although it is taken with a heavy pinch of salt after repeated disappointments with previous promises of ‘meritocracy’ by the Barisan Nasional Government.

Firstly, some six years ago, Malaysians were promised a system of ‘meritocracy’ in the annual intake of university students but it proved to be a ‘fradulent’ meritocracy, as there continues to be two incomparable university entrance examinations, the world-class two-year course STPM and the inferior one-year matriculation course.

If Barisan Nasional government is serious about wanting to stop the sharp drop in standards of Malaysian public universities – best illustrated by the best Malaysian universities falling out of the league of the world’s Top 200 universities – and transform Malaysian universities into world-class institutions, the best lecturers and students must be recruited regarded of race or religion.

The first step is to do away with the ‘fraudulent meritocracy’ for university student intake by having one common university entrance examination – whether STPM or matriculation – coupled with a programme of positive affirmation to ensure that students from socio-economically backward sectors get special assistance to get universities places based on need and not race.

Secondly, Parliament and the nation were assured last year that in this year’s 2,000 PSD scholarships for foreign university studies, 20% or 400 places would be allocated solely on merit. This again has proved to be a hollow undertaking, explaining the repeat this year of SPM top-scorers with 11 to 16As denied scholarships as compared to those with lesser academic results.

Now Najib promises a new PSD scholarship based on ‘pure merit’ regardless of race. My response: Welcome, but to see it is to believe it!

Can Najib really ensure that from next year, ‘the best of the best and the creme de la creme will be studying in Malaysian public universities, rather than as at present going abroad universities resulting in serious national brain drain or in private universities?

Skepticism that this new PSD scholarship based on ‘pure merit’ will end up less than ‘pure’ is understandable because of the absence of a genuine 1Malaysia mindset in the higher echelons of the political leadership and the bureaucracy to treat all Malaysians regardless of race as equal Malaysian citizens.

For instance, why is the government planning to limit the Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia to 10 subjects for the candidates?

While I frown on students sitting for 18, 19 or 20 subjects, why should students be barred from sitting for say, 12, 13 or 14 SPM subjects?

The problem is not with SPM students taking 12, 13 or 14 subjects but because SPM results are used for the award of PSD scholarships. This problem can be resolved by making STPM or one common university entrance examination results as the basis for the award of PSD scholarships.

However, the real problem is whether Najib can convince Malaysians that his 1Malaysia is not just an empty slogan, good for a ‘dance and a song’ but a living and driving philosophy in all aspects of government policy.

How can Najib convince Malaysians about his seriousness about a 1Malaysia concept when he has not given up his push for ‘Malay unity government’ talks between Umno and Pas?

Is Najib prepared to give his blessing for the holding of ‘Chinese unity’, ‘Indian unity’, ‘Kadzandusunmurut unity’ and ‘Iban unity’ political talks in the country? If Najib is not prepared to publicly give his blessing for ‘Chinese unity’, ‘Indian unity’, ‘Kadazandusunmurut unity’, ‘Iban unity’ political talks, how can he reconcile 1Malaysia with the Umno-Pas ‘Malay unity government’ talks?

What is even more telling is that nobody in MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP, PBS or the other Barisan Nasional component parties dare to ask for a clear decision whether in Cabinet or the BN Supreme Council whether such demands for Umno-Pas Malay unity government talks is completely inimical with 1Malaysia concept!

Umno Youth leader Khairy Jamaluddin has attacked me for being a ‘borderline racist’ in criticising the call for Umno-Pas Malay unity government talks as going against the 1Malaysia concept.

I think Khairy wanted to call Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad a ‘borderline racist’ but dare not do so, and is using this way to hit out at the former Prime Minister. Mahathir repeated his opposition to any Umno-Pas Malay unity government talks at the Pandan Umno division motivational course yesterday.

Khairy’s allegation that I am a ‘borderline racist’ is most laughable coming from one who had been very good at playing the role of a rabid racist, as when he made an uncalled-for attack on the Indian community during a live telecast at the Umno General Assembly in November 2007 or his infamous outburst about the so-called marginalisation of the Malays in Penang.

But so long as Khairy can continue to play with impunity his role as a rabid racist, Najib’s 1Malaysia concept as a unifying force for all Malaysians regardless of race will remain suspect.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by ekompute on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 1:24 pm

I was reading this morning’s paper and it seems that Najib is very good at saying the right thing. At least, he proved to have more leadership and drive than Abdullah Badawi. We should rightly be giving him the full support but as LKS rightly put it, we have been disappointed far too many times in the past and that past empty promises will continue to haunt us until such time when we really do see the sincerity and the track record to go with it. At the moment, the track records are deeply in the red.

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 1:43 pm

STPM is world class? Its not a disgrace but World Class? How easy even the critics are in this country>

3. #3 by k1980 on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 1:46 pm

Will he swear on the Quran that the new category of Public Service Department (PSD) scholarships next year is to be based purely on ‘pure merit’, regardless of race? Will Altantuyah believe him?

4. #4 by Loh on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 1:59 pm

Najib’s announcement of awarding scholarships based purely on meritocracy is welcome. It has been proven that aptitude for higher education and hard work are not monopolised by race, anthropologically speaking. Pure meritocracy would produce scholars based broadly on racial proportion without government servants playing God in the name of social engineering, to satisfy nepotism.

Like all pronouncements made by UMNO leaders, we will have wait until actions are taken to believe what they promise.

The moment there is talk about Malay unity the people is divided into Malays and non-Malays. The Alliance party started with the concept of Malay unity , Chinese unity and Indian unity, and joining all up as Malayan unity. But we see that racism actually started with raced-based political parties. It seems that UMNO has not learned after 52 years that either we talk about national unity or we do not talk about unity at all. In calling for unity of any race, or even religion, it amounts to dividing the people.

RPK made reference to the fact that Malays in the past did not unite against other races, in his comments on Malay unity. He said that Malays in pre-independence days were divided and grouped with people, irrespective of race, to fight for their own interest. That was better because they at least looked at the issue, and decided on the merits thereof, rather than deciding to support anything based on race.

We know that Malays before independence had relevance to the bloodline of the persons. But with Article 160 and the inclusion of NEWMalays, Malays now is a political classification enjoying special treatment with numerical strength. It is divisive in the country because the country is divided by those who enjoy more advantage, and those who are subject to discrimination.

TDM painted a future of Bangsa Malaysia for 2020, in 1990 thinking that he would not be around to substantiate it. If Malays can unite, it would only take them to accept that those who have been discriminated since independence be accepted as equal citizens, and we have Melayu extended to non-Muslims. But Najib does not even agree that 1Malaysia is for Bangsa Malaysia.

5. #5 by katdog on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 2:04 pm

20% of PSD scholarships already distributed (supposedly) on the basis of merit.

What’s the difference now to say that there will be new PSD scholarships based on ‘pure merit’. What’s the difference between previous merit based allocation and now with ‘pure merit’.

I believe what they are planning is just to change the name of the PSD scholarships that’s all. However that does not guarantee it will work. The best way, is for NR to publicly publish all the names and results of the recipients of PSD scholarship. Then we can tell for ourselves whether those recipients were truly deserving.

6. #6 by Joshua on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 2:10 pm

In Sabah even non Muslims and non Malays are members of Sabah UMNO.

So what is the problem when illegal people can become members of UMNO and then become Malays? Plenty of problems.

So what is the problem suddenly this is a new policy on the award of scholarship now and only now when Sabah UMNO already got plenty of illegal members who are also known as Malays?

So when would the PM once a senior Cabinet minister in illegal BN Government only now wake up for a hidden agenda which I call SHIT or Selfish Hideous Illegal Trap.

Think this verbal promise would change his political fortune in case a snap GE 13 is to be held in Sept/Oct 2009.

pw: twirler Mary

7. #7 by Saint on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 2:11 pm

SORRY OUT OF TOPIC – SEE THIS BRUTALITY
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hz3UFp47eP0

8. #8 by katdog on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 2:12 pm

“the best of the best and the creme de la creme will be studying in Malaysian public universities, rather than as at present going abroad universities”

Err…No. If i were the ‘best of the best’ i wouldn’t waste my talent studying in a low class low opportunity place like Malaysian public universities.

If i truly was the ‘best of the best’ i should be able to study in world class universities like those in Singapore, US or Australia. In those universities i will have to opportunity to study and work together with other creme de la creme from other countries.

I will get access to advice and guidance from top professors and lecturers who do actual leading edge research. I would get the opportunity to work with this lecturers on the latest research and development.

Honestly, i wouldn’t want our country’s creme de la creme to waste their talents in a local public university.

9. #9 by Godfather on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 2:45 pm

Pinch of Salt? These BN thieves have a standard modus operandi. What the heat gets too hot, make a promise. Any promise to be fair, to be generous, to be transparent. In return, they expect you to stop harping on the past – don’t push for explanations, for evidence. Let bygones be bygones. The future is going to be much better, we promise you BN style.

10. #10 by k1980 on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 2:52 pm

Pinch of Salt? I would not believe him even if his announcement is taken with a barrelful of salt.

11. #11 by the reds on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 2:57 pm

Najib is trying to fool Malaysian again!

12. #12 by Freddy on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 3:14 pm

someone better keep evidence of him having said this ..

dont want to have it that he denies saying this someday, the way he denied ever saying ‘soak the kris in chinese blood’.

13. #13 by limkamput on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 3:23 pm

//The first step is to do away with the ‘fraudulent meritocracy’ for university student intake by having one common university entrance examination – whether STPM or matriculation – coupled with a programme of positive affirmation to ensure that students from socio-economically backward sectors get special assistance to get universities places based on need and not race.//

When we have fraudulent meritocracy, it does not matter the exam is SPM, STMP, matriculation or other entrance exams. Right now STPM is still credible because they have SPM and Matriculation to abuse. If STPM is used as the sole basis for scholarship or university entrance, then it is not farfetched to assume that STPM too will be abused.

We can’t fix the problem of unfairness by insisting that only one qualification is used for scholarship or university entrance. It is the fraud within the system or exam that we should be concerned with. Take Australia as an example: it has many different university entrance exams (TEE, SAM, HSC etc) but have we heard of unfairness or undue advantage accorded to anyone of them? It is not which exam or exams we should use. It is about fixing the frauds that have been going on within our system or exam for umpteen years.

14. #14 by frankyapp on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 3:25 pm

Hopefully it’s not NR’s one of the pretect sweets he’s now offering to sweeten the rakyat’s mouth.Beware of the devil in disguised.Lets hope his little napoleons will obey his instruction.But I still think it’s too little too late for NR as the rakyat has already made up their mind to put Umno/Bn into the opposition seat in the 13th GE.

15. #15 by ALLAN THAM on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 3:33 pm

Um used to produced among the best medical doctor but not now. UM has been one of the top U in the world and have the best capable student but not now. All the best have gone overseas and many have gone and offer by the most hatred country by Mahathir down under south. It was pity, given an opportunity I would not want to study in the Public University in Malaysia. But if you want and easy life public U in Malaysia is the best choice.

UTAR may be the better choice as it has many students who really want to study and want to excel in their studies.

16. #16 by ALLAN THAM on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 3:38 pm

Unless there is political will to change I will not believe in the upgrading of the public U standard in the near future. The policy just to make up graduate for the sake of graduate has make the U standard come to this poor state of today, but what choice do BN have ? If they open purely on merit there would be many Malay students who will qualify unless they do not send those best of the best Malay overseas. There are many rich Malay who children have already studies overseas since young and those leaving behind many who has not urge to excel as they will be able to enter U anyway even they do not achieve good grade.

17. #17 by ALLAN THAM on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 3:43 pm

For those accounting students who wish to qualify as accountant need not studies in Public U as this is merely a wast of time as the standard was so poor. They should take up professional accounting courses like ACCA. CIMA or ICSA. These internationally recognized courses are much more superior than the local degree but of course it is not easy to pass. If one is content to have easy life than public U is the choice but there is limitation as those graduate are not internationally mobile, ie say moving to overseas markets.

18. #18 by ekompute on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 3:54 pm

Katdog, you may be the creme de la creme but being a one-eyed jack, I will grab the chance of becoming the king in the kingdom of the blind, LOL. Different strokes for different folks then.

19. #19 by YK Leong on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 4:18 pm

It is merely a talk cock lah. Same old system will re-appear next year and he will give the same excuse again. This will happen year in and year out until BeEnd is wiped out in GE13.

Will Najib confirm that there will not be any more power grab from now onwards? Will he assure us that dissolving the state assembly is the best option and not power grap?

20. #20 by James on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 5:16 pm

There we go again; the gomen attempting to take us all for a ride to hell. I amy believe that the merit thing can be true BUT of course it will mean 2 or more standards. In plain English it simply means that different kinds of Malaysians will be measured by different academic standards; not unlike the present arrangement of matriculation exams and the STPM, the latter is >10 times more advanced. There we go again………….

21. #21 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 5:32 pm

Scholarship based on pure merit?

Naj must have read my comment in Teresa’s blog

—————————————————————
    http://teresakok.com/2009/05/29/restricting-spm-students-to-10-papers-is-limiting-knowledge/

Comment #1

“we must differentiate scholarship and study aid

(a) For social restructuring (bluntly put, less bright students that qualifies due to racial reasons) can have access to loans and aids. this is meant for social re-engineering. period.

(b) then allocate scholarships for the best and brightest, base on meritocracy where race or family income level is not a criteria. these scholarship holders can then be identified to serve a bond after graduation to ensure tax payers’ money can have its return in place.”
    ————————————————————-

BN has a track record of mis-implementation and abuse, like NEP and Look East Policy

Mahathir used to copy what Singapore does and screw it up, like the feel good songs, mass rail transit etc

and now Naj is copying DAP like meritocracy talk, Malaysian Malaysia becomes 1 Malaysia which I predict will become 1 Mess 1 Confusion and 1 Mis-implementation.

22. #22 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 5:33 pm

Just a thought, not soon after 1 Malaysia is unveiled, Na quickly welcome Malay Unity talk with Hadi and Nasaruddin (not PAS, mind you) so this is just 1 proof on how well Najib walk the talk

23. #23 by a2a on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 5:37 pm

Talk only.

How many years Malaysian have to live under UMNO lies and racist.

Tear down the UMNO wall and I am sure Malaysian can live in a better place.

Don’t let them fooling you like an idiot with their lies, we have live under thier threat and lies over 52 years. Don’t you think enough is enough.

How many years you still want to live like this.

24. #24 by yhsiew on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 5:54 pm

Najib promises a new PSD scholarship based on ‘pure merit’ regardless of race, but how can the rakyat be sure he or UMNO does not quietly ask PSD officials go back to the old system?

25. #25 by allan liew on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 5:59 pm

Hi, uncle lim, i aways see u just talking and compliance, n No solution

26. #26 by yhsiew on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 6:07 pm

Don’t be deceived folk!

In a Chinese gathering last night, Najib proudly talked about giving fair treatment to the Chinese; however, his deputy in another gathering on the same day had promised that “Umno would fight to the last drop of blood to protect Malay rights”.

Do you really think Najib/UMNO is sincere?

27. #27 by monsterball on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 6:57 pm

That is a clear sign…UMNO BARU is split…and Najib is the weakest UMNO leader.
    You can expect all those hypocrites apply their best foot forward….smile and say…not true..all lies.

28. #28 by boh-liao on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 7:03 pm

Ai-say, give lah NR a chance
    Don’t lah sabo him every time he opened his mouth
    Same too for RM
    Don’t lah sabo her every time she opened her mouth
    Both NR n RM are trying very hard to turn over new leaves

Now a new online news has called RM as ‘our First Lady’ n
    ‘the country’s mother figure and the queen of our hearts’
    Comparable with the late Lady Diana Spencer
    in terms of grace and generosity
    Urges RM to wear a cheongsam or a saree
    when she attends festive celebrations
    WOW WOW WOW
    Can you visualise RM in cheongsam or saree?

29. #29 by taiking on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 8:40 pm

So he expects us to cry in joy with that announcement. Yeah finally the Annual Begging thingy will be consigned to the past. But hey wait. He said a new category will be created didnt he? Yeah a totally merit based category. Hold on there. Isnt that what we already have now – the merit based category? And wasnt that the category in which we were made to beg every year? So what is the difference? Any it is only a new category he said. Which means there will be other categories. What are those other categories? One for malay only and another for umnoputras only and then a new one for everyone to share albeit on the basis of merit. Is that what we will be looking at?

30. #30 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 8:47 pm

the glaring thing missing is banners, cries and screams of Pewaris & Co.

Remember what happen after Lim Guan Eng spoke soon after 8 March about assist all poor and Khalid Ibrahim’s suggestion of a little more competition in UITM?

Where are you, you foaming, gesticulating ala Boxer Rebellion defenders of racism?

If you are really passionate about your cause then you MUST be consistent. Where were these RM100 for hire professional protesters?

31. #31 by Godfather on Sunday, 28 June 2009 - 11:01 pm

Every scandal will have a new improved formula to prevent recurrence but the problem is that the new formula will be concocted by the very people who were responsible for the scandal in the first place.

Truly Malaysia Boleh….

32. #32 by ekompute on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 2:02 am

Boh-liao says: “Ai-say, give lah NR a chance. Don’t lah sabo him every time he opened his mouth.”

Yes, I agree. Truth be said, we should be giving NR a chance. Never had a Prime Minister since Tunku Abdul Rahman ever said things like what NR has been saying. Not even Abdullah Badawi who founded Islam Hadhari and promised to be the people’s Prime Minister, much less Mahathir who, according to some sources, coined the term, Ketuanan Melayu. We listen to the songs of Mr. Nice Guy who said a lot of things, including wanting to hear the people but when Hindraf approached him, they found that he was as unapproachable as the Emperor of China. We were conned by Abdullah and his 2004 election manisfesto that brought him an overwhelming landslide victory. He became arrogant, thinking that it was he who brought the victory. Well, from the 2008 results, we can see how much exactly he was worth, minus the manifesto. Is it better to at least hear about meritocracy for a start, as compared to 2Malaysia’s Ketuanan Melayu and keris-waving sandiwara, popularized by the son of Bapa Perpaduan? Kerishammuddin is a disgrace to his father or is he hoping to be the next Prime Minister with the sobriquet, Bapa Perpecahan? Well, the RAHMAN Prophecy does not have room for him, if that Prophecy turns out to be true.

(P/S: On the flipside, we cannot fault those who “saboo” NR. After all, we got hoodwinked by Abdullah Badawi before. How many times must we be hoodwinked before we wise up?)

33. #33 by TomThumb on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 2:11 am

damn if you, damn if you don’t. now that najib says it will now be based on merit, dap is still not happy. has the dap another undisclosed agenda??

34. #34 by TomThumb on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 2:15 am

no such thing as a borderline racist. either you are a racist or you’re not. everyone in malaysia is a racist. there are those who admit and there are those who don’t. but merely saying you’re not a racist does not make you not a racist.

35. #35 by Loh on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 2:21 am

Until the list of successful awardees of scholarship together with their scores comes out next year nobody would ever believe that the government was interested to respect the word meritocracy.

Article 153 says that reasonable proportion of scholarships and education opportunity would be reserved for Malays. Obviously 90% was not a reasonable proportion. When quota system was followed, the government had to offer places based on the agreed proportion; it cheats nevertheless. When meritocracy is proposed, can the people trust that the government would be sincere in its implementation?

The constitution provides that all Malaysians are equal. There was a time-bound provision to help Malays so that they were able to catch up. Beyond the initially agreed 15 years period for providing and reserving positions for Malays, the desirability of its extension, and if so the period had to be agreed to through a review as enshrined in the original constitution. UMNO did not keep to that promise.

Najib is talking about 1Malaysia, and in the same breath, declaring Malay special rights. When Malaysian government accepts that some citizens, other than the Rulers, enjoy special rights, it just means that the citizens are not equal, contrary to what is provided in the constitution. There cannot be unity among the citizens when they are not fairly and equally treated. So, after 52 years, Najib came out to declare 1Malaysia without the intention of ever adhering to Article 8 of the constitutions that all Malaysians are equal; except the Rulers who are by definition more equal than the rest.

Najib needn’t declare 1Malaysia if he had no intention to comply, but he did. So Najib’s announcement would have ulterior motives. He would ensure that Malays get more than the proportion representing the population composition.

UMNO will never bring Malaysia to the stage where citizens would be equally treated. It is not that the people are racists, or that the true Malays Tulen would insist that the Article 153 would stay perpetually. Unfortunately, Article 160 has brought in NewMalays who have since outnumbered the original Malays, and they know that Malays is a political classification rather than an anthropological one. Pride of Malays means nothing to NEWMalays. In a sense, Malays have lost its meaning, and they are strictly losing their identity rapidly.

To save Malaysia, BN has to disintegrate; that will happen after the next election. Of course, UMNO would think that if they don’t get to rule, there is no point having a peaceful country. But would non-UMNOputras follow their lead?

36. #36 by johnnypok on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 2:46 am

1. Threatened to soak his kris with Chinese blood
    2. Altantuya
    3. Submarine deal
    4. Saiful & the great sodomee case
    5. Perak power-grab
    6. Kicked Bodoh Wee out
    7. 1Malaysia
    8. …and now PSD scholarship

God must be crazy to believe him again and again.

37. #37 by monsterball on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 5:14 am

No johnnypok…..not God.
    It is the UMNO racialists and corrupted members..supported by MCA..MIC..Gerakan who will sell their daughters to please UMNO.
    How many will support such sickening racialists parties?
    Those who voted for them .. are the crazy..selfish..idiotic..no brain …Malaysians….believing in UMNO and BN…again and again.
    God gave us many signs….to march forward without fear.to vote them out completely….in 13th GE.
    We must finish the job.

38. #38 by House Victim on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 8:09 am

JUST PERFORM HIS JOBS BEFORE HE TALKS!
    ——————————————
    TELL HIS MINISTERS TO PRESENT FULL PICTURE ON PORT KLANG!
    TELL THE POLICE,KUP & AG TO DO THEIR JOB.
    KICK OUT THOSE JUDGES WHO TWISTED THE LAWS!
    STOP INTERFERING THE CONSTITUTION IN PERAK!
    ………………………

The List is endless if HE REALLY will do his JOBS!!

DO PERFORM THAN JUST TALK!!

HE CANNOT EVEN MANAGE ONE OFFICE OF HIS WITHIN A STONE THROW! – CANNOT EVEN SEE PCB AT WORK!!
    —————————————————————-
    HOW MANY OFFICES WITH “PUBLIC SERVANTS” THAT ARE PAID BUT DOING NO WORK OR JUST ABUSING THE RIGHTS OF EACH AND EVERY MALAYSIAN!!
    —————————————————————-
    TALKS WITH GARLIC!!

39. #39 by taiking on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 8:51 am

Its another lie. Look at his declared intention to review isa comprehensively. Wots going on now? Any news? Its purty quiet aint it?

40. #40 by TomThumb on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 9:03 am

‘The constitution provides that all Malaysians are equal.”

read the constitution in its entirety. it says no such thing.

41. #41 by Godfather on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 11:18 am

Promises are meant to be broken. Especially in Bolehland.

42. #42 by Godfather on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 11:52 am

Now some quarters in UMNO say that this “promise” by Najis is unconstitutional as it infringes Malay rights under the constitution. After relying for crutches for all these years, these guys are not about to give up their goodies.

43. #43 by taiking on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 12:57 pm

After relying on crutchers for so many years, muscle tissues of the users actually grew and wrap around their instrument. So you see godfather the instrument is now an indispensable part of their anatomy. They may not know it but they surely look like strange four legged (some only three) beings.

44. #44 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 1:59 pm

More like a tonne of salt. Have I been missing something? Shouldn’t scholarship be based on merit all this while. You can give bursaries and financial assistance based on needs, but scholarship should be based on merit and ability. No wonder they have to qualify it as “pure” merit. Meaning, in the past, it was based on impure or adulterated merit.

45. #45 by ktteokt on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 2:26 pm

TheWrathOfGrapes, this amounts to a silent admission and confession by Najis that entry to the universities have not been based on merits but rather SKIN COLOUR! It is also an admission that we have been foregoing quality for quantity and that our national universities churn out nothing else but GARBAGE!!!!!!

46. #46 by donplaypuks on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 2:28 pm

YB

I think many did not read what Najib said, carefully.

Najib said a NEW category of ‘merit scholarships’ would be craeted. He did not say the old race based system would be abandoned completely. I take this to mean that the pie will be expanded, so that at the bare minimum we will still have about 2,000 scholarships awarded solely based on ethnicity!!

As I have posted several times in your blog, please get the statistics from the Govt/Minister as to ALL scholaships, bursaries AND LOANS awarded by PSD, PNB, Petronas, TNB, Telekom, GLc’s, Stat Bodies and Govt owned Colleges and Universities. All these scholarships are financed from taxpayers money.

Have them analysed as to race vs merit. The statistics are bound to be damning of the Civil Servants & UMNO/BN regime. It will be a vote winning issue for DAP and Pakatan at GE 2013.

I am not saying the Constitutional provisions on ‘special position’ of the Malays be tampered with. Far from it. Affirmative action policies should be in place to help out rural Malays/Bumi in West and East Malaysia. I am only asking that the Constitutional position of non-Malays be enforced, on the basis of what is “REASONABLE’ post 1969 and 40 years theron!!

Please get your analysts and assistants to secure and make public this information quickly. Don’t let UMNO/BN stonewall on this issue with semantics and plain bull-shit!!

47. #47 by vp74 on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 3:06 pm

If Najis’s word can believe, the cow also can climb the tree, ha ha ha.

48. #48 by monsterball on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 3:49 pm

TomThumb is staring to talk race issue again.
    He said all Malaysians are racialists.
    Sure we are!!
    If you cannot beat them…join them…that’s plenty smart way to live.
    Now we can beat UMNO and his racialists bunch now….and vast majority Malaysians want a Malaysian Malaysia.
    Now UMNO cannot beat us….try to join us..and proposed ..”1Malaysia” to fool voters.
    Can Dumbo understands we are Malaysians and not racialists like he is? We hold dear to our history……but we are proud Malaysians….seeing and talking to each other as Malaysians.
    I guess TomThumb sees Najib as his Malay master….with arms stretched out…like a beggar…..making sure he is a racialist that Najib love to control as second class citizen. What a jerk…Dumbo can be.
    hi idiot…DAP have plenty experiences to expose corruptions……not agendas to dam UMNO.
    Tell me…what is so right about UMNO that have been unfairly dealt by DAP?
    Exposing corruptions are not damming….you idiot.
    You want to carry Najib’s balls…do it with style.
    Najib will love you more…if you have style like him.
    So stupid…so childish….so crude…so cina-arpian..where got style…you Dumbo.

49. #49 by johnnypok on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 4:16 pm

Dear vp74,

“If Najib’s words can believe, shit can also be eaten”

50. #50 by HJ Angus on Monday, 29 June 2009 - 5:08 pm

Comments are closed.