Deputy Prime Minister and Umno Deputy President, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin is the latest political leader to perform the somersault – taking a diametrically opposite position from the one he had postured only a few days or even a few hours ago!
Speaking in Kuala Krai this morning, Muhyiddin said Umno wants talks on a unity government to be sped up and asks PAS leaders to forget past conflicts in the interest of the unity of Muslims in the country.
He said he wanted the talks to materialise because he feared that if the matter was allowed to drag on, it would create disunity among the Muslims.
He declared: “We will not impose any conditions and we accept whatever terms set by PAS. As far as I’m concerned, we have to be open.”
The Umno deputy president urged PAS spiritual leader Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat to forget about the conflicts between PAS and Umno in the ‘70s, when both parties cooperated to form the Kelantan state government and the national government.
“As Muslims we are encouraged to forgive. That was in the past,” he said.
He even expressed the hope that the meeting between Umno and PAS could take place “in the next few days, anytime, no problem.”
This is a fantastically speedy turnaround for Muhyiddin who had been adopting a very critical and even sceptical stance to the Umno-Pas unity government proposal.
From his first public stance in Sri Kembangan on June 9 wanting Pas to explain what it meant by a unity government; to the critical position in Langkawi on June 13 questioning the seriousness of Pas in proposing Umno-Pas unity government as “Until today, there is nothing concrete” and predicting that the proposal would not become a reality because of “differences within Pas itself and the other Opposition parties”, Muhyiddin has transformed himself to become the foremost champion for Umno-Pas unity government talks, abandoning all his earlier reservations and pre-conditions to propose the holding of immediate Umno-Pas unity government talks “in the next few days, anytime, no problem” on “whatever terms set by PAS”.
Pressing for such a Umno-Pas unity government meeting in the next few days, Muhyiddin said
that initially the meeting should be between PAS and Umno only before the matter was discussed in a comprehensive manner with component parties of Barisan Nasional (BN) and the opposition alliance.
Many questions come to the surface. Is Muhyiddin speaking for the Prime Minister and Umno President Datuk Seri Najib Razak, and if so, why such a desperate hurry and even unholy haste?
Did Najib and Muhyiddin get the approval of the leaders of the other Barisan Nasional component parties, in particular MCA President, Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat, Gerakan President Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon, MIC President, Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu that Umno to conduct such “Umno-Pas unity government talks” or is there just no necessity for such prior consultation as MCA, Gerakan, MIC and the other Barisan Nasional component parties are just pawns, digits and ciphers which just do not matter or count in the Barisan Nasional scheme of things?
Thinking Malaysians must be asking however how Umno’s support for “Umno-Pas” unity government talks reconcile with what Najib claims to be the underlying philosophy of his premiership –“1Malaysia” concept.
Surely, Najib does not expect Malaysians to take his talk on “1Malaysia” seriously when the first fruit of the Najib premiership is “Umno-Pas unity government talks”!
It would appear that it is none other than Muhyiddin who is making the strongest repudiation of the “1Malaysia” concept!

#1 by Taxidriver on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 1:11 am
If you recall past Harakah issues, Hadi Awang condemned and called UMNO and its leaders by all sorts of names. But now he wants to work with UMNO again! Why, this man has no principle. He is like what the bible says: ” A dog returning to its own vomit ”
Nik Aziz Nik Mat is a true Muslim and champion of Malays and Malaysians. Hidup Tok Guru
#2 by Taxidriver on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 1:29 am
MCA said DAP showed its true color by working with PAS. They insisted that DAP apologize to the Chinese.
Should’nt the MCA now state their stand on the PAS-UMNO unity government talks?????? ( 4 horses cannot chase to bring back the words spoken out in haste?? )
#3 by imranj78 on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 1:30 am
OrangRojak,
Your point on the `natural expectation’ of people with regards to association when voting a party is noted. But I think PR has no `moral’ ground of using this excuse as they themselves were courting BN reps to jump over i.e. `Sept 16′ project by Anwar. BN themselves are no angels as well when it comes to this matter of course.
I believe the support for these unity talks within PAS is bigger then we think. For example, only 10 out of the 23 PAS reps came out publicly to support Nik Aziz’s stand. Could this mean that the other 13 did not agree with Nik Aziz but were aligned with Hadi instead? Only time will tell but this is a likely scenario.
a2a,
Again I reiterate my point that `unity’ talks doesn’t mean that it will sideline the non-Muslims. I can understand however the fear that such talks could create a situation where the Muslim majority virtually control the running of the country as between them, PAS and UMNO can easily control parliament and turn Malaysia into an Islamic country (which I am sure PAS is very well aware about). But again, that’s the essence of democracy i.e. the majority rules so there’s really nothing undemocratic about for as long as the rights of the minorities are upheld.
#4 by TomThumb on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 1:32 am
\Either they die or you die as a second class. Which side you take?\a2a
I’ll take the left side. the window seat if you don’t mind.
#5 by lkt-56 on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 2:13 am
PAS-UMNO unity talk. Unity of muslims… I can see that nearly every one is getting paranoid about this development. I had thought that PAS is a party guided by strong spiritual values but it now appear that there are elements within the party that subscribe to communal ideology.
Trying to stop them talking would make them even more determined to talk with UMNO. I say: Have no fear! Let them talk and see what comes out of it. They are after all ideologically incompatible. UMNO is using the other to break up the opposition alliance while PAS side I believe is using UMNO to check PKR’s influence in the alliance. Such is the nature of politics. In time these self serving politicians will find that they cannot go it alone and will come to terms that the Malays, Chinese, Indians and other races have to live together in harmony. I may be the odd one out… But I am watching with great interest how these politicians seek to manipulate people’s emotions and most of all fear.
I would like to say it again. Have no fear. Let them talk. If it should lead to PAS being split, so be it. The winds of change that has taken place since the last GE cannot be easily stopped. I believe that we have reached the critical mass of a new consciousness that will sweep new Malaysians along the road to non-communal politics!!!
#6 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 2:46 am
imranj78 Says: that’s the essence of democracy
To misquote Star Trek:
The ‘association’ issue is key here – there would be no hue and cry if people really did grant the people they voted for the Right of Freedom of Association, but they don’t. And they’re right not to. The natural outcome of elected but totally ‘free agents’ is no protection at all in a system where most of the power and money is concentrated on one side. A majority might vote for the poorer side, only to see them collect their new Mercedes and work for the richer side while the campaign flags are still lying on the ground. The more honest ones might declare themselves “Independent” while painting a big target on their backs, complete with price tag. The smarter ones in a first-past-the-post system would sign up to whichever poorer party is most likely to win a seat.
If the wishes of the majority of voters are not represented after the election, then in my view it isn’t really democracy. Saying that the ‘majority of elected officials’ is what counts is disingenuous, particularly so in an environment where neither promises nor principles appear to count for much. Thanks for reminding me that ‘Anwar started it’. If you re-read my post, you’ll see we agree on our attribution.
#7 by TomThumb on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 2:50 am
“Let them talk and see what comes out of it. They are after all ideologically incompatible.” lkt-56
they are not ideologically different as they are made out to be. they share the same core aspirations regarding religion, language and education. how different is a muslim malay from another muslim malay? pas recently toned down its rhetoric on issues like islamic state. umno has upped the ante. declaring the country is already an islamic state. this play on words remains as what it is i.e. a play on words. the reality? both want to see islamic values govern and guide the day-to-day running of government. the intrusion of islamic values into homes of both muslims and non-muslims.
if umno is one islamic party (to all intents and purposes you cannot say it is not) pas would be to the extreme right of center and umno under the present leadership, right of center. together they would be able to function as one party – but not so with dap. they are incompatible ideologically speaking and can never be.
so you should be scared shit that they are talking to each other.
#8 by frankyapp on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 2:53 am
If every race and religion aspire to gain control of our multi racial and religious country without regard to the sensitivity of others,this will create a very explosive(liken C4) situation and when it happens what do we all benefit from it ?.If Umno/BN are sincere in unity,it should not just call on PAS but all other political parties as well.How nice to hear ” malaysian unity talk ” instead of what we are now hearing “malays and muslim unity talk “.
#9 by katdog on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 3:07 am
“the malays are 100% muslims” -TomThumb Says
This is only because our constitution defines a Malay must be a person of muslim faith. In truth, outside Malaysia, there are many Malays that are not neccessarily muslim, but we do not recognize them as Malays, as they do not fit our constitutional definition. Whereas, within our borders, we have many people that are non-Malays but actually still ‘constituationally’ a Malay.
“PAS and UMNO can easily control parliament and turn Malaysia into an Islamic country” -imranj78 Says
That statement is incorrect. Number of parliament seats, UMNO – 78, PAS – 24. Total 102. Not enough to form even a simple majority government. And don’t talk about majority rules crap. BN has for years ensured that opposition held territories are always allocated fewer seats compared to BN areas.
Example, P125 – PUTRAJAYA (BN), total voters: 6608, P51 – BUKIT GELUGOR (DAP) – Total voters: 65,614. Seats like Putrajaya are an incredulous abomination that should never exist in the first place.
#10 by frankyapp on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 3:27 am
In the United States of American,through it’s a multi racial country,its citizens seldom talk about white’s right,black’s right,hispanic’s right or yellow’s right,most of the time they talk is about “american’s right “.The american federal government leaves all the rights of an individual to determine their own religion .It definitely shows its maturity as a united country. Malaysian should emulate the American and the federal government should also do like wise. Nothing is impossible should we have the will and determination to make our country a great nation for all malaysians to live in peace,harmony and prosperity.
#11 by katdog on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 3:28 am
“But I think PR has no `moral’ ground of using this excuse as they themselves were courting BN reps to jump over i.e. `Sept 16? project by Anwar.” – imranj78
Fair enough, but i think talking about moral standpoints is besides the point.
The point is, can PAS’ core standpoint of an incorruptible and just government rooted in Islam be compatible with UMNO’s lax morals and convenient manipulations and abuse of law and power for personal benefits? Can PAS work with UMNO, and yet be able to keep themselves untainted and claim to represent the true teachings of Islam?
Niz Aziz knows very well that this is probably impossible and that the credibility of PAS would forever be damaged in the eyes of voters. Hence his vocal objections to any unity government.
But as i said, let the unity government supporters go talk to UMNO. Let them work out whatever sweet deals they desire and let them crossover. We’ll see what happens to BN then.
#12 by Joshua on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 3:35 am
Imranj78 says “PAS and UMNO can easily control parliament and turn Malaysia into an Islamic country.”
This maybe an old issue since 1957 as some are tempted to interprete the Federal Constitution that way with the official religion. Would that really be good for Malaysia as we have seen that in 52 years? And surprisingly Najib comes up with the title in Kuching as ”
http://www.theborneopost.com/?p=53460
Friday, June 19th, 2009
We’ll not take away your land: Najib
By Raynore Mering and Samuel Aubrey
Ibans assured government will solve problem of uppermost concern to them — land
LUBOK ANTU: Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak yesterday assured the Ibans that the government will not snatch their land away from them.
He even went further to assure them that problems related to their land would be solved by the Barisan Nasional (BN) government.
“… have confidence in the Barisan Nasional (BN) government. We have no intention of grabbing anybody’s land. The Ibans should not worry. The BN government will not snatch your property,” Najib said at a huge gathering at Rumah Manai, Nanga San, here.
“We want to ensure the future of the Ibans and we will solve the land problem that I know you are concerned about,” he added.
pw: Mcaerneyy latrobe
#13 by frankyapp on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 3:35 am
TomThumb,I beg to differ that “malays are 100% muslim ” In Sabah alone,I have said it before and am now repeating it again that I have several malays friend who are born muslim malays but are now christian.One of them is a Pastor of a church and all of his family members are christian as well.
#14 by dawsheng on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 4:40 am
“Again I reiterate my point that `unity’ talks doesn’t mean that it will sideline the non-Muslims. I can understand however the fear that such talks could create a situation where the Muslim majority virtually control the running of the country as between them, PAS and UMNO can easily control parliament and turn Malaysia into an Islamic country (which I am sure PAS is very well aware about). But again, that’s the essence of democracy i.e. the majority rules so there’s really nothing undemocratic about for as long as the rights of the minorities are upheld.” -imranj78
PAS will never join UMNO, period! Stop daydreaming!
#15 by dawsheng on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 4:51 am
“In Islam, unity among the Muslim ummah is something that is expected and this is what I believe the unity talk is all about. The unity talk proposal is not about forming a political entity nor is it about UMNO abandoning its BN partners. Unity talk here is about bringing the biggest two parties together to discuss about matters affecting the ummah as espoused by Islam and does not mean it is sidelining the non-Muslims. Is this wrong? Definitely not as it is within their right to do so!” – imranj78
Talk cock! Where in the world got unity among muslims? Only in hell you can marry Islam and corruption.
#16 by chengho on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 5:39 am
Nik Aziz and gang can stay with Anwar , dap and the rest of pakatan to ‘berpakat pakat’ , all the president men of PAS must response to Muhyiddin …..today Umno tomorrow BN ….
Dap overture to MCA……why not…
#17 by ShiokGuy on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 8:36 am
Dear Kit,
Can PR send an independent during the July 3 nomination day! If PAS does not come out openly and ask UMNO to go to hell with Unity Talk. We will vote the bloody PAS out.
http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2009/06/referendum-on-pas-unity-government-on.html
Shiok Guy
#18 by limkamput on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 8:57 am
//the reality? both want to see islamic values govern and guide the day-to-day running of government. the intrusion of islamic values into homes of both muslims and non-muslims.// tom dumb
I don’t think this is entirely the right observation. If truly Islamic values and principles were used to govern the state and our home, Malaysia would not have so many problems today. The REALITY is Islamic values and principles are abused by politicians in order to galvanize parochial supports, subjugate others and exclude the infidels. They were never used to govern and guide the day-to-day running of government and our home as the dumbo has said.
Look at Iran now, what Islamic government and values are they talking about? Look at Sudan, Somalia, Pakistan and Afghanistan. If truly ISLAMIC values and principles are inculcated and practised, these countries would not be shamble.
Since no country is able to successfully practise any form of religious government, it is best that religious are kept out of government and also be kept out as an intrusive guide to our daily life. Let religions be the personal matter between a person and his creator. Let him pray in the privacy of his room, not at the street corner as Jesus had said or shout through the top of his voice for these are mere religiosity. For centuries religions have been used and abused by politicians for their own selfish ends. I don’t understand why Malaysia would want to work itself into that hole again unless we are dumb like this dumbo.
#19 by taiking on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 9:49 am
Is there a way to turn the situation into a situation of advantage for pakatan? Any idea?
#20 by katdog on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 10:23 am
“Is there a way to turn the situation into a situation of advantage for pakatan? Any idea?” -taiking
Easy. Let Hadi take his supporters over and join UMNO. Hadi will now be the nuisance for UMNO and thorn in BN’s side. All the call’s for ‘Islamic’ laws will now be coming from BN. And Hadi’s supporters now need to be given positions in the government, which will annoy some UMNO men who will now lose out on the getting of said positions.
#21 by lkt-56 on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 10:57 am
taiking Says:
Today at 09: 49.37 (51 minutes ago)
Is there a way to turn the situation into a situation of advantage for pakatan? Any idea?
1)Do not fear those who are intent on using race and religion to further their selfish interest.
2)Do not come to the conclusion that allowing that faction of PAS and UMNO to come together and talk is dangerous for non-muslims(non-malays). For the outcome is far from clear.
3)Trust that wisdom will guide leader with good hearts to make the right decisions.
4)Trust that the trend towards non-communal politics will prevail over the old-styled politics of the communal politicians of yesteryear.
5)If you have the above presence of mind would you still be fretting over these bankrupt politicians who are out to exploit your fears?
6)If you are unmoved by their antics you will remain clear headed and wisdom will be in every decision and action you take.
In short there is no need to “turn the situation” into an advantage for to do so you are no better than those who are out to manipulate. Any effort to counter these unity proponents will only give them more strength to generate more fear and finally these fears become a self prophecy.
#22 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 11:01 am
taiking Says: advantage for pakatan?
Yes, once every 5 years.
I think there’s an opportunity for an ideological split in PAS. The most likely outcome is an uneasy truce, as I doubt anybody in PAS would be able to overcome pride and give up being PAS. I don’t know. I think parties like Germany’s Christian Democratic Union is an anachronism – I’m surprised the EU still allows political parties with an overt religious affiliation. On the other hand, it would be fantastic to see Malaysian Muslims declare themselves to be fully behind democracy as the only inclusive political system for all Malaysia’s citizens and resolve to be fully committed to their faith in the discharge of their political responsibility towards all Malaysians, regardless of citizens’ faith.
Islamic Democrats, anyone? We need competent, principled people to run Malaysia. It’s a nation, not a place of worship (despite what the Rukun Negara says). Being a political leader is a job offered by the people, not a calling from God. If a group of people are helped by their religious conviction to be better politicians, that’s marvellous for all of us. The last thing we need is “we’re moderate really, vote for us”, only to reveal themselves as power-hungry conservatives as soon as the counting ends.
#23 by frankyapp on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 12:58 pm
TomThumb asked “how different is a muslim malay from another muslim malay “?. My answer is plenty.For instance TDM sticks to only one wife,through he can afford to have three more. Certain sultan’s son just married an Indonesian beauty for the pleasure of torture,gosh she’s pretty smart and managed to excape.Certain malay millionaire simply married a muslim celebrity,threw a grand party,only to agree to a divorce in last than 6 months. PAS muslim malays are mostly islamic or islamists and some are extremist.A couple of dozens are good muslim eg Nik Aziz. Umno muslim malays top leaders are fanatic,corrupt,mean and hypocrites .The list goes on. I rather stop here and will reveal more should the needs arise.
#24 by Loh on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 2:02 pm
It would be bad for democracy and a boost for corrupt practices if the unity talk aims at forming an enlarged BN. But the Muslims are perfectly entitled to have a unity talk ending in an enlarged UMNO and weakened PAS, in number, or an enlarged PAS and a weakened UMNO. All those who are envious of how UMNOputras became wealthy are free to join UMNO, and those who consider UMNO religious in political gain but a-religious in life would be free to join PAS. After the reshuffle, we shall hear less of the need of unity among Malays as though the Malays are ganging up against other races.
We are only against UMNO for usurping power; reading more meanings into the constitution that what it provides. For example, when a reasonable proportion of educational places mandated to be reserved for Malays and natives of Sabah and Sarawak, it did not mean 100 to 90% of the places to be reserved, and that it was to be reserved for Malays only. When Razak said that NEP was to be implemented for a generation, of 20 years, he did not say that so long as there are Malays driving for Chinese, the period ought to be extended. So the unity talk should aim at uniting Malays, of the same feathers, and not at weakening the resistance to corrupt practices.
Tok Guru wanted Pakatan to remain united and he suggested tat PKR and DAP join the talk so a form a damage control. If there are rots in PAS, let it show now. Tunku said that even when there were only a few MCA members remained he would still work with MCA. Pakatan should hold the same view and accepted the surgical remains of PAS. The current President and his deputy should be encouraged to leave PAS.
#25 by Joshua on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 6:45 pm
N41 Manek Urai would be tricky if PAS and UMNO go for friendly contest.
That happened once in Sabah’s General Election when PBS pulled out of BN in 1990 suddenly for the Parliament contests which turned out to be friendly contests and DAP lost out badly.
Is it UMNO’s desperate strategy to win this by election? After that PR would be betrayed byPAS.
pw: surprised Therefore
#26 by kontiki on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 7:39 pm
Now MCA deputy president Dr Chua Soi Lek @ porno actor has come out saying he’s confident proposed UMNO/PAS Malay unity talks as spelt out by Muhyiddin will not be detrimental to the non-Malays. But everyone knows he’s scared as hell to say the truth because Muhyiddin would just silence him. There’s a lot of unhappiness and fear among MCA members that their party will be sidelined even more. Muhyiddin does not give a damn for the feelings of OTK and what is left unsaid but understood by OTK and Chua SL that if they don’t like it, MCA can just leave the BN….Muhyiddin knows OTK too much concerned about his ministerial post and all its perks, so what can an idiot like him do, but to just quietly swallow the insult and move on.
#27 by TomThumb on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 8:32 pm
“The list goes on. I rather stop here and will reveal more should the needs arise.” frankyapp
according to you there are pork eating malays, church and temple going malays praying to stone images of hanuman, kali and krishna, stone images guanyin and lu shing god of wealth, chang’e etc.
don’t stop. do go on.
#28 by TomThumb on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 8:55 pm
” … it is best that religious are kept out of government and also be kept out as an intrusive guide to our daily life.”
#29 by frankyapp on Saturday, 20 June 2009 - 11:23 pm
TomThumb,it’s your words,not mind,please don’t put your words into my mouth.Please be polite.What I said is a fact.You can check it if you wish.Whatever list if I wish to add,you can be rest asure it’s factual. Please don’t create fire intentionally to hurt others. It may backfire.
#30 by TomThumb on Sunday, 21 June 2009 - 12:43 am
that is one way to get you to focus on the meaning of what was actually written. if your argument is followed through then that would be how you appear to be saying. follow??
distorting the meaning of what was written through the magic of ‘cut and paste’ is not the way forward.
“how different is a muslim malay from another?” is a rhetorical question.
this is not an invitation to you to talk about universal values of right and wrong. it is wrong to assault another person. it doesn’t matter what religion you belong to. i