PAC inquiry into PKFZ scandal – Azmi Khalid should disqualify himself

The Public Accounts Committee (PAC) Chairman Datuk Seri Azmi Khalid announced after the PAC meeting this morning that the PAC would not summon four key personalities in the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal, viz: the two former Transport Ministers, Tun Dr. Ling Liong Sik and Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy, former Port Klang Authority (PKA) Chairman and currently Deputy Finance Minister, Datuk Seri Chor Chee Heung and the former PKFZ general manager O.C.Phang.

This is a most extraordinary decision despite requests by Pakatan Rakyat MPs on the PAC for the four to be summoned to appear before the PAC.

Azmi Khalid should disqualify himself and step aside in the PAC inquiry into the PKFZ scandal because of conflict of interest as he was Minister in the Cabinet which decided on the RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout in July 2007.

I am shocked that despite the PAC meeting for the second day on the PKFZ scandal, the Transport Minister, Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat has still refused to release the appendices of the PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) audit report on the PKFZ scandal to PAC members, allowing only restricted access to the appendices during PAC meetings when PAC members should be allowed a set of the appendices each for further study and research by themselves and their respective staff.

This Ministerial restriction makes a total mockery of parliamentary responsibility and accountability of both the Transport Minister as well as PKA and should be deplored in the strongest possible terms.

Unless Ong revokes this restriction immediately, allowing every PAC member a set of the appendices of the PwC report on the PKFZ, I will propose when Parliament meets on Monday that the 83 Pakatan Rakyat MPs submit a joint motion to censure Ong for denying PAC members the right to have full, free and unfettered access to the PwC report on the PKFZ, including the appendices, and in the process impeding and obstructing the PAC from discharging its duties.

(Speech at the Ipoh Barat dinner-dialogue “Political Crisis – What Next” at Florex Restaurant, Ipoh)

1. #1 by chengho on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 11:32 am

nobody can satisfy you LKS not even Penang state goverment ?

2. #2 by Godfather on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 11:42 am

This is shocking indeed ! In Bolehland everything about BN works backwards – they figure out who should be the scapegoats, then they release information to tie the scapegoats, then they get the MACC and police to go after the scapegoats.

This is the abang-adik culture of BN – all the thieves must maintain a code of silence and all will be protected.

We really have no choice but to get rid of this corrupt regime.

3. #3 by OrangRojak on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 11:44 am

Expected from a well-known shark protector.

4. #4 by monsterball on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 11:53 am

I have always expected…even the clearest proofs given…no actions will be taken.
    Wake up…once those called up..proven guilty..MCA is gone..and UMNO follows.
    This way…it is always blaming a individual…like Azmi Khalid.
    UMNO knows the whole country knows they are corrupted…so why worry to protect his loyal partner?
    Chengho..please shut up. This is not about pleasing DAP.
    This is about RM12.5 billion tax payers money. Will you for once…get serious?

5. #5 by Godfather on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 11:56 am

It’s amazing how they can decide who is NOT guilty, and then weave a story around that decision. The QC Wannabe had a term for such a thing, some form of rationalization. In the context of stamping out corruption, Azmi’s decision is simply astounding.

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 11:59 am

They obviously really don’t want the public to see some sensitive and very telling information.

So what are the “prominent experts” appointed yesterday by the Minister going to do about it? Are they part of the “cover-up” (if I may use this (word)? Do they support this secrecy?

Why can’t the Selangor State Government representatives on the Boards provide the State Government with their copies?

7. #7 by k1980 on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 12:06 pm

SHAH ALAM: A 19-year-old Indonesian woman was sentenced to eight months’ jail yesterday for stealing items worth RM78.38 from Giant hypermarket last year. Magistrate Norkamilah Aziz sentenced Kieky Amelya Hairyanto after she pleaded guilty to committing the offence at the hypermarket in Section 13 here…

For stealing RM78.38, eight months’ jail.

For stealing RM12,500,000,000.00, no jail!

8. #8 by sheriff singh on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 12:27 pm

You get alot of Pingats and Titles too. You are a hero.

9. #9 by Godfather on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 12:32 pm

Excellent comparison, k1980 ! You don’t go to jail for stealing billions when you control the police, the MACC and the judiciary. Instead, they look at us like we are idiots and they say “so what?”

Exactly like what the idiot chengho said at the top of this thread. “We give you Penang, that should be enough. Leave us alone to rip-off the rakyat.”

10. #10 by ekin on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 12:34 pm

MR. PATHETIC LAKSAMANA(DISGUISED) CHENG HO AKA ONE OF 3 STOOGES,

“# chengho Says:
    Today at 11: 32.02 (56 minutes ago)

nobody can satisfy you LKS not even Penang state goverment ?” – HEY DUMB, ARE WE TALKING ABOUT SATISFYING INDIVIDUAL? WE’RE TALKING ABOUT RM12.5BILLION HERE. DO YOU KNOW HOW MUCH CAN BE DONE TO HELP THE POOR AND NEEDY IN THE COUNTRY? IF ONE FAMILY IS GIVEN RM20k TO HELP THEM, RM12.5BILLION CAN HELP 625,000 POOR FAMILIES!

THE REASON YOU ARE CALLED AS ONE OF THE 3 STOOGES, PLAINLY BECAUSE YOU ARE DUMB.

11. #11 by taiking on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 1:50 pm

Hey ekin dear,

12.5b is peanut to umnoputas. It may shock the rest of us to hell and back but its nothing to them really. So its pointless to respond to their comments. We believe in freedom of expression. So just let them continue with their silly remarks and insults.

12. #12 by YK Leong on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 2:02 pm

It seems like PAC is without authority and powerless body. Why have the PAC in the first place? What can PAC do? Who is in control of PAC? And so on and so on??????

Believe me, brother Kit Siang, the joint motion, which you are going to propose will definitely be thrown out of the house. Why should they allow you “to put a mouse into their rice tank.” In Hokkien is “pang meow choo look mee tang” and in Cantonese is “chok loh si lock mine tong.”

Slowly, the RM12.5 billion PKFZ “mother of all scandals” will certainly and surely be covered up into mud and/or vanished into thin air. This is the norm in Malaysia unless the people will stand up at the next election to write off BeEnd as a very bad debts. Can and must we do it at the next general election????????????

The “tell all” public pledge made by Ong Ta Kut on 8 April 2008 is not even honoured by him. He is now swallowing back his words. What a shame not to honour the words coming out from his own mouth???????????????

13. #13 by taiking on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 2:28 pm

The whole case stinks. So obviously everyone who is involve in investigating it would want to limit the scope of his investigation as much as possible.

14. #14 by Ken G on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 2:36 pm

How can PAC decide that these big fishes are blameless even before they start investigations? Is the outcome already pre-determined like a kangaroo court?

This is a clear signal that nobody will be hauled up and PKFZ will be another crime without criminals.

Don’t even expect small fishes to be hauled up. The small fishes will spill the beans on the big fishes so they too won’t be touched.

BN will never learn – until they are voted out.

15. #15 by ctc537 on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 3:23 pm

Ken G Says,
    This is a clear signal that nobody will be hauled up and PKFZ will be another crime without criminals.

BN knows that this is precisely what LKS describes as ‘the mother of all scandals’ and for the people it is the last straw. In the 13 GE, BN candidates would fall like ten pins. I really pity those people involved in this scandal. Why do they want so much money? Can they bring along those ill-gotten millions when they die? And how do they face their Creator one day?
    For me, can get by with 2K per month.

16. #16 by yhsiew on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 3:32 pm

The Public Accounts Committee (PAC) Chairman Datuk Seri Azmi Khalid announced after the PAC meeting this morning that the PAC would not summon four key personalities in the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal, viz: the two former Transport Ministers, Tun Dr. Ling Liong Sik and Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy, former Port Klang Authority (PKA) Chairman and currently Deputy Finance Minister, Datuk Seri Chor Chee Heung and the former PKFZ general manager O.C.Phang. – Kit
    ====================================================

It is shocking to see the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) Chairman Datuk Seri Azmi Khalid come up with such decision. I am not at all surprised if Datuk Seri Azmi Khalid also had a part in the scam.

17. #17 by Ken G on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 3:36 pm

LKS’ next question:

If a BN scandal can pay for many scholarships, how many scholarships can the PKFZ scandal pay for if a BN scandal pay for many scholarships?

18. #18 by ekans on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 5:31 pm

On 12/6/2009 at 11:32.02, chengho said:
    nobody can satisfy you LKS not even Penang state goverment ?

PKFZ is in Selangor, and so, how is the Penang state government suddenly involved here?

Of course, how can one be satisfied when faced with crooks who somehow have influence over the way their crimes are being investigated?

19. #19 by TomThumb on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 8:11 pm

“We believe in freedom of expression. So just let them continue with their silly remarks and insults”

you understood right. but destroying an otherwise respectable blog like this one is beyond the comprehension of a semi-educated new village foul-mouthed bak ku tek starved slant eyed yellow skinned dap supporter like this one. that is the profile of the average dap supporter going by many of the postings you get to see on this blog. you’ll never achieve unity.

20. #20 by ekin on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 8:28 pm

MR. PATHETIC TOMTHUMB AKA ONE OF 3 STOOGES,

“# TomThumb Says:
    Today at 20: 11.10 (10 minutes ago)

“We believe in freedom of expression. So just let them continue with their silly remarks and insults”

you understood right. but destroying an otherwise respectable blog like this one is beyond the comprehension of a semi-educated new village foul-mouthed bak ku tek starved slant eyed yellow skinned dap supporter like this one. that is the profile of the average dap supporter going by many of the postings you get to see on this blog. you’ll never achieve unity.” – THE STATEMENT HE MADE MEANT THAT YOU’RE THE ONE WITH SILLY REMARKS AND INSULTS-LAH..LOOK WHO’S SEMI-EDUCATED? YOU CAN’T EVEN SPELL BAK KUT TEH CORRECTLY AND YOU CALLED OTHER PEOPLE UNEDUCATED? YOU ARE SO DUMB! HA HA HA

I JUST COULDN’T COMPREHEND YOUR LEVEL OF DUMB-NESS AS YOU CAN’T EVEN UNDERSTAND WHAT WE ARE DOING HERE. IF COMMENTING HERE MEANS SUPPORTING DAP, THEN ARE YOU SUPPORTING DAP? DEFINITELY YOU WILL SAY NO. WE SUPPORT FREEDOM AND DEMOCRACY BUT PEOPLE LIKE YOU ONLY SUPPORT RACISM, CORRUPTIONS AND WICKEDNESS. MAY GOD HAVE MERCY ON YOU DUMBBELL HA HA HA

21. #21 by OrangRojak on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 8:37 pm

“…slant eyed yellow skinned …”

Blimey. That tested my limits of free speech.

Referee! Do ekin and TomThumb need a little rest?

22. #22 by ekin on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 8:42 pm

MR. ORANGROJAK,

REFEREE: DON’T NEED REST, TOMDUMB WILL KO SOON.

(^^)

23. #23 by TomThumb on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 9:08 pm

orang rojak,

you missed the following:

“that is the profile of the average dap supporter going by many of the postings you get to see on this blog”

24. #24 by TomThumb on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 9:15 pm

asking if a character like that needs a rest is like asking if the skin heads in east london need a rest.

25. #25 by TomThumb on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 9:29 pm

This is a most extraordinary decision despite requests by Pakatan Rakyat MPs on the PAC for the four to be summoned to appear before the PAC.” lks

a futile exercise to begin with

26. #26 by TomThumb on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 9:33 pm

“This Ministerial restriction makes a total mockery of parliamentary responsibility and accountability of both the Transport Minister as well as PKA and should be deplored in the strongest possible terms.” lks

well spoken. now what next?

27. #27 by katdog on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 9:50 pm

As always these MCA fellars will try to deflect attention away from the wrong doing by claiming MCA is ‘progressive and forward looking’, MCA is committed to look for a solution instead of finding faults.

And i am sure many semi educated slant eyed yellow skinned Malaysians will idiotically believe these words claiming that BN is about ‘progress’ and ‘development’ and is focused on ‘constructive’ efforts, unlike the opposition that only harps on the problems.

28. #28 by ekin on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 9:59 pm

“# TomThumb Says:
    Today at 21: 08.30 (47 minutes ago)

orang rojak,

you missed the following:

“that is the profile of the average dap supporter going by many of the postings you get to see on this blog” – DON’T PUT WORDS INTO PEOPLE’S COMMENT AS IF THEY ARE REAL. HE IS REFERRING YOU AS WELL DUMBBELL.

“# TomThumb Says:
    Today at 21: 15.57 (39 minutes ago)

asking if a character like that needs a rest is like asking if the skin heads in east london need a rest.” – ASKING YOU LA DUMBBELL HA HA HA…YOU WILL KO SOON HE HE HE

“TomThumb Says:
    Today at 21: 33.02 (22 minutes ago)

“This Ministerial restriction makes a total mockery of parliamentary responsibility and accountability of both the Transport Minister as well as PKA and should be deplored in the strongest possible terms.” lks

well spoken. now what next?” – NEXT YB LIM WILL SHUT YOUR SISSY DUMBBELL GEEK UP. HA HA HA

29. #29 by kerishamuddinitis on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 10:03 pm

looks like building up into another Lingamgate…no further action!

tomdumbo strikes again! and succeeds in deverting discussion from the ISSUE to focus comments on him!

so, what’s the issue at hand? That the PAC inquiry is going the way of Lingamgate…restricted access to appendices, no grounds for a probe, no need to call the big fish to testify, bury the discussion, and finally conclude NO FURTHER ACTION!

1 MALAYSIA BOLEH!

30. #30 by TomThumb on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 10:20 pm

“tomdumbo strikes again! and succeeds in deverting discussion from the ISSUE to focus comments on him!”

err … somewhat inaccurate. if you call giving opportunities away to others so they could do better at what you cannot be seen to be doing yourself, then that would be more accurate. you cannot say i have no genuine interest in the health of this blog.

31. #31 by TomThumb on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 10:25 pm

“This Ministerial restriction makes a total mockery of parliamentary responsibility …” lks

mockery of parliament rather than parliamentary responsibility seems dap’s forte

32. #32 by katdog on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 10:38 pm

We all know the everything is a forgone conclusion. Not enough evidence etc..

But still it is important to challenge these BN nuts so that at the very least we get to see them make complete a***s of themselves.

Just like how they handled themselves in the Perak fiasco. A real thumbs up to the guys in UMNO that orchestrated the whole takeover. They sure made complete a***s of themselves in that one.

Lets see how well they do in this one. I await with bated breath.

33. #33 by monsterball on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 11:01 pm

What bloody UMNO parliamentarians responsibility …that Dumb ass talking about?
    LKS is exposing how irresponsible UMNO buggers are..and he said LKS is making a mockery out of parliament sittings.
    Using LKS word…’mockery”..he twists the facts to put out his idiotc message.
    Like a toothless UMNO doggy…hungry to eat poo poo from his masters..so much so..brain is full of s..t worms..keep putting out nonsensical messages.

34. #34 by TomThumb on Saturday, 13 June 2009 - 12:10 am

“They (UMNO-BN) sure made complete a***s of themselves in that one (Perak fiasco)”

not bad for an ass to gain control of a state government. just imagine what they could do if they are not.

35. #35 by monsterball on Saturday, 13 June 2009 - 2:18 am

No need for us to imagine.
    We can see what’s coming and are prepared for that.
    Do you know what’s coming….dum ass?

36. #36 by ekin on Saturday, 13 June 2009 - 3:18 am

“# TomThumb Says:
    Yesterday at 22: 20.27

“tomdumbo strikes again! and succeeds in deverting discussion from the ISSUE to focus comments on him!”

err … somewhat inaccurate. if you call giving opportunities away to others so they could do better at what you cannot be seen to be doing yourself, then that would be more accurate. you cannot say i have no genuine interest in the health of this blog.” – EVERYONE KNEW YOUR INTEREST IN THIS SITE TO SMEAR AND TO MOCK EVERY BLOG AND TURN IT INTO FAVOR OF UMNO BN. TRY YOUR BEST BUT IN THE END, YOU’LL BE SO SAD TO KNOW YOU’RE DUMB! HA HA HA

“# TomThumb Says:
    Yesterday at 22: 25.00

“This Ministerial restriction makes a total mockery of parliamentary responsibility …” lks

mockery of parliament rather than parliamentary responsibility seems dap’s forte” – ANOTHER IDIOTIC DUMBBELL COMMENT FROM YOU. TWISTING AS IF YOU’RE A SNAKE. YEAH, YOU’RE A SNAKE. NICE CRAWLING ON YOUR BELLY? HUNGRY? CONTINUE LICKING AND EATING YOUR UMNO BN POO! HA HA HA

“# TomThumb Says:
    Today at 00: 10.50 (3 hours ago)

“They (UMNO-BN) sure made complete a***s of themselves in that one (Perak fiasco)”

not bad for an ass to gain control of a state government. just imagine what they could do if they are not.” – TO UMNO BN! PLEASE CALL UPON ISA TO ARREST THIS TOMTHUMB DUMBBELL! HE IS DIRECTLY MOCKING YOU AS ASS! TANGKAP SAMA DIA! CEPAT!!!

37. #37 by TomThumb on Saturday, 13 June 2009 - 6:39 am

“Unless Ong revokes this restriction immediately, allowing every PAC member a set of the appendices of the PwC report on the PKFZ, I will propose when Parliament meets …” lks

yes, dap proposes and umno disposes.

38. #38 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 13 June 2009 - 8:12 am

What is pretty amazing and comdemning of this country is the way these kangaroos institutions and processes are so detrimentally coordinated i.e., they are well coordinated to the detriment of the public. So well coordinated it led to PKFZ and billions in loses. Its not just one or two people who decided to screw the Rakyat, its a whole group of people and many are very very powerful if not the most powerful.

It speaks badly of elitism in this country and how dysfunctional the elite in this country is. Elitism is necessary in today’s technologically and globalised world – they are leaders in ideas, in bringing value and reality to the grounds. But elitism can fail badly to grave consequences. The current global malaise is a failure of elitism particular of the brightest in Washington and Wall Streets for example. But even what is happening in US and globally does not compare to the failures of our elite here in Malaysia. Our elitist failures is only second to those of Communism, Marcos, Burma, North Korea, Zimbabwe.

Its all the more reason we need institutions like PAC and clowns like Azmi kicked out and punish severely for the moral irresponsibility given their privillege. They are prodigal elites, born ana raised by hard work and sacrifices of Rakyat but all they fell is entitled and irresponsble to their parental Rakyat…

39. #39 by pky103 on Saturday, 13 June 2009 - 9:01 am

– It is ridiculous that those involved in the PKFZ are NOT summoned! How can we expect to get a full picture of what happened?

– Or is that government’s aim to keep the skeletons in the closet at all costs?

40. #40 by ekin on Saturday, 13 June 2009 - 4:13 pm

“Unless Ong revokes this restriction immediately,”

I don’t think he will. He can’t do anything at all, no balls. He’ll just allow everyone to spit on his face like now and then push everything aside, pat his butts and leave. There goes our minister…