Confidence motion in Parliament – Is Najib afraid that he will not get 100% support from Umno/BN MPs?

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak said in Beijing yesterday he would not emulate his father Tun Razak and dissolve Parliament on his return to Malaysia after his China visit.

Tun Razak returned from his historic six-day visit to China in 1974 and dissolved Parliament the next month and the fourth general elections were held on 24.8.1974.

The climax of Tun Razak’s visit to China was the establishment of diplomatic relations between Malaysia and China on 31st May 1974, an objective the DAP had been advocating for eight years since the founding of the party in 1966.

For instance, I just came across a speech I made at the National Day reception of the Muar DAP Branch on 2nd Sept. 1973, where the subject of my speech was: “DAP calls for full diplomatic relations with the People’s Republic of China”.

In saying that he would not follow his father’s example 35 years ago and return home to dissolve Parliament, Najib was fully aware that he is in a completely different political position from that of his father.

Tun Razak and the Barisan Nasional that he had just formed were at the height of their political power and influence in 1974, while Najib and the Barisan Nasional are now in the opposite polar position, struggling with lowest popularity ratings and to avoid the fate of United Kingdom Prime Minister Gordon Brown and Labour Party which suffered a complete wipe-out in yesterday’s local council elections.

Although Najib said there will be no dissolution of Parliament after his China trip as he has many “uncompleted things to do”, is Najib prepared to do what is right and proper, to seek a motion of confidence when Parliament reconvenes on June 15 to secure a clear mandate and establish his credibility, integrity and legitimacy as Prime Minister?

This is what his immediate predecessor Tun Abdullah did in his first week as Prime Minister on Nov. 3, 2003, and what the third Prime Minister, Tun Hussein did in the first fortnight as Prime Minister in an emergency session of Parliament in Jan 1976.

Najib has enough questions and doubts dogging him and casting a dark cloud on his ascent as Prime Minister without acquiring another serious one, that he dare not seek a clear mandate through a motion of confidence in Parliament, as if he has doubts about the total allegiance of the Umno and Barisan Nasional MPs and do not trust them to vote solidly for him in a parliamentary motion of confidence.

1. #1 by the reds on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 12:36 pm

Najib dares not to risk his “high pay” PM job, with current politic scenario. His post can be said as good as gone, if he allows a motion of no-confidence to be tabled.

2. #2 by frankyapp on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 1:09 pm

Najib wants to remain as prime minister as long as he can hold on to it using whatever it takes. Hence calling for a vote of confidence in parliament is not even in his dream.He can’t take it to parliament cos he has no faith in his own members.Umno itself is disunited because of money politic and faction between his group and Muhhidin/TDM group.The MY/TDM group is convince that Najib is guilty of the Atantuya/C4 murder case.And Najib smells it,he knows he’s in trouble water.The current China trip is a way out of the trouble water.Najib is also using his cousin Krismuddin,IGP/PDRM,MACC and the Judiciary to warm all his adversaries (out side and inside of umno/Bn) to get out of the trouble water.Time is absolutely essential to him.Right now,he dares not seeking any chances to fight in the parliament as he’s still in deep trouble water.

3. #3 by boh-liao on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 1:10 pm

Well, whatever you may say
    NR is the incumbent n in power, n he decides
    For LOL, U can just drooool n make Ah Q-like statements

4. #4 by chengho on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 1:23 pm

This is marathon run ,slowly you run out of gas…..let the young turk to take over , DAP in need of fresh talent ,get TY….

5. #5 by johnnypok on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 1:30 pm

His tenure as PM is fated to last only a limited period. A vote of no-confidence will surely send him to Tg Rambutan. To carry on under tremendous pressure will shorten his life, unless Altantuya can forgive him. It is a dilemma …. The Najib Dilemma.

6. #6 by yhsiew on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 1:58 pm

……as if he has doubts about the total allegiance of the Umno and Barisan Nasional MPs and do not trust them to vote solidly for him in a parliamentary motion of confidence. – Kit
    ====================================================

The recent Trengganu Menteri Besar crisis is only a tip of the iceberg of UMNO internal problems. Surely Najib is well aware that not all UMNO representatives in Trengganu will vote in his favor.

It was also reported that there were divisions within UMNO in Anwar’s constituency – that was one of the reasons why UMNO performed so badly during the Permatang Pauh by-election.

How about MCA and MIC’s loyalty towards UMNO? If Najib has decided to by-pass MCA and MIC to reach out to non-Malays, would the two non-Malay BN components still remain loyal to UMNO? It is a big question mark hung over Najib’s head.

I guess the above are some of the reasons why Najib does not intend to dissolve Parliament on his return to Malaysia after his China visit.

7. #7 by johnnypok on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 2:36 pm

He may get 100% support from UMNO/BN MPs on the surface, but the underwater current is fast developing into a tsunami.

Less than 100% = OBITUARY

8. #8 by mendela on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 3:49 pm

Why Najis needs to bring his playboy son and daughter along to China?

Is Najis a King?
    Why our hard earned tax money need to be used to sponsor the playboy’s China trip?

By having him as a member of the delegation, what role can the playboy play? Drank and got drunk again?

Like the father Najis, the playboy son too has a big image problem. What good can he bring to Malaysia by joining such tour?

9. #9 by ktteokt on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 3:54 pm

And BN had the guts to say “we have no money to build the Cheras Police Station”! This police station has been abandoned for nearly one year!

10. #10 by Loh on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 5:14 pm

///This is what his immediate predecessor Tun Abdullah did in his first week as Prime Minister on Nov. 3, 2003, and what the third Prime Minister, Tun Hussein did in the first fortnight as Prime Minister in an emergency session of Parliament in Jan 1976.///– Kit

That should be the right procedure to follow, to establish himself officially as having commanded the support of the parliament. But Najib might be worried that if he asks for a confidece motion in Parliaiment, he could not explain why Perak’s MB had lost confidence without a vote. He would choose making two wrongs to get a right.

Najib is mindful that he said the causeway to Singapore would be widened with a third bridge to be built, a position that went against TDM’s crooked bridge. He did not take part in Penanti by-election, also against TDM’s advice. He might not get 100% votes as he can’t be sure TDM’s son would attend parliament on that day.

11. #11 by monsterball on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 7:45 pm

Chengho never ceased to keep putting out idiotic logic to favour Najib …showing he can be an good MCA man in the future…that is….if MCA still exists… after 13th GE.
    He thinks 13th GE needs marathon runners….without realizing Anwar a…Karpal and Lim Kit Siang are proven marathon runners winners.
    Only Mahathir is marathon running ousted out.
    Who do you think are stayers….chengho?

12. #12 by TomThumb on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 10:00 pm

“In saying that he would not follow his father’s example 35 years ago and return home to dissolve Parliament, Najib was fully aware that he is in a completely different political position from that of his father.” kit

don’t you think he knows that, and he knows that you know that??don’t you think we know that?? and we know that you know he knows that??

13. #13 by ekompute on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 10:23 pm

Loh seems to have high respect for TDM. I used to respect him a lot until I found out more about him. Then I realized that he is no better than Marcos or Suharto.

14. #14 by Loh on Saturday, 6 June 2009 - 10:58 pm

ekompute,

Sorry for creating the wrong impression. I was only saying that TDM could cause trouble for Najib, and Najib knew that. He certainly does not want to follow AAB. TDM has the ability to do harm, and I don’t believe he could ever think serving beyond his own interest.

15. #15 by ekans on Sunday, 7 June 2009 - 1:38 am

On 6/6/09 at 13:23.18, chengho said:
    This is marathon run ,

No, this is politics.

slowly you run out of gas…..

Isn’t it more like UMNO’s BN running out of political steam?

let the young turk to take over ,

Based on the latest published photos, the Pekan MP isn’t that young either…

DAP in need of fresh talent ,get TY….

If you consider yourself fresh talent, by all means, do join DAP…

16. #16 by ctc537 on Sunday, 7 June 2009 - 9:38 am

The situation of PM Najib cannot be be compared to that of his father’s, the 2nd Premier. It was 1974, the time to call for anoher GE for the last one had been held in 1969. For Pak Lah, it was reasonable for him to call for GE in 2004 as BN was into the 4th year of the 5-year term.
    To be fair to PM Najib, he answered quite appropriately. why should I dissolve Parliaent to pave the ay for GE since I still have unfinihed job to do? he told reporters. BN still has more than three years to rule.
    If one has studied modern Malaysian history, one would notice that Tun Razak was quite deperate with the approach of the 1974 GE. He had to win Chinee support in the GE in order to secure a 2/3 win for his newly-formed BN. The establishment of diplomatic relations with China had won him the confidence of the Chinese voters – the 1974 GE results clearly showed.
    Now Najib is trying to win Chinese voters’ support by recognizing more China’s universities. But the situation today is far more different than in the 1970s.
    Uncle Kit, it’s stupid to expect Najib to allow a confidence motion in Parliament. If you were in his situation, what would you do? Surely ignore them since the last thing you need is the crisis of confidence in you!

17. #17 by YK Leong on Sunday, 7 June 2009 - 11:44 am

Najib will not emulate Tun Razak and dissolve Parliament on his return to Malaysia after the China visit. Moreover, he will try as far as possible not to seek a confidence motion in Parliament.

By doing so, he is asking for “natural political death.” Look at Perak, he is still holding the fort tightly with his two hands just like a drowning person.

18. #18 by ekompute on Sunday, 7 June 2009 - 6:11 pm

I agree with YK Leong. The once mighty Barisan Nasional is now an underdog in every election, and it would be pure foolishness to dissolve Parliament when the chips are down. At least by not dissolving Parliament, they can extend their political life by a few more years.

19. #19 by TomThumb on Sunday, 7 June 2009 - 9:49 pm

“Moreover, he will try as far as possible not to seek a confidence motion in Parliament.”

najib may be stupid but he is not that stupid. najib may have been born at night but not last night.

20. #20 by boh-liao on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 9:45 am

The next GE will be held
    only after the BN had carved out n reengineered
    the constituencies
    favorable to the BN –
    more seats in Pahang, Johor, Sabah n Sarawak
    A few BN kampongs one MP n a couple of state assemblymen
    A few large cities one MP n one state assemblyman
    BN, sure win one – democracy, yeah

21. #21 by taiking on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 11:43 am

Najib is a goner and if you look past him really there is no one in umno who is next in line. In short the Rahman legacy now hangs like a prophecy on umno’s demise. Our wait will not extend to the next election. Come the next GA umno will crumble like a pack of cards. MCA and MIC will be dragged along into oblivion. Gerakan may survive if they take the decision to join pakatan and even then only barely.

22. #22 by ekin on Wednesday, 10 June 2009 - 8:32 pm

MR. PATHETIC LAKSAMANA(DISGUISED) CHENG HO AKA ONE OF 3 STOOGES,

“# chengho Says:
    June 6th, 2009 (4 days ago) at 13: 23.18

This is marathon run ,slowly you run out of gas…..let the young turk to take over , DAP in need of fresh talent ,get TY….” – RUN WHAT MARATHON? THIS IS NOT A PLAY GROUND FOR NUISANCE LIKE YOU. THIS IS ABOUT MALAYSIA’S SOCIAL STATE. YOU THINK 3 YEAR OLD KIDS PLAYING SAND? I BELIEVE ANYONE HERE IS 1000 TIMES MORE TALENTED THAN YOU! HA HA

“# TomThumb Says:
    June 6th, 2009 (4 days ago) at 22: 00.53

“In saying that he would not follow his father’s example 35 years ago and return home to dissolve Parliament, Najib was fully aware that he is in a completely different political position from that of his father.” kit

don’t you think he knows that, and he knows that you know that??don’t you think we know that?? and we know that you know he knows that??” – WE KNOW YOU ARE A DUMB BUT YOU BEING A DUMB DOESN’T KNOW YOU ARE DUMB BECAUSE YOU ARE REALLY DUMB NOT REALIZING YOU ARE DUMB. SO PLEASE WAKE UP FROM YOUR DUMB ILLUSION SO THAT YOU WILL NOT BE BLAME DUMB AND BEING DUMB FOR NOT REALIZING THAT YOU ARE DUMB AND STAYING IN DUMB ILLUSION.