Has Malaysia lost the battle to become a developed nation and entered the cycle to become a failed state?

The collapse of the roof of the RM300 million 50,000-capacity Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin Stadium in Gong Badak within a year of completion provoked disbelief, shock and outrage with a whole spectrum of unflattering comments and reactions.

One reaction is that the shocking collapse of the RM300 million stadium within a year of completion is a disaster waiting to happen. An engineer, A. Mohamed who often jogged in the area, has told the media that he had noticed that the space frame which held the roof was getting bent out of shape but his efforts to warn government agencies and the media of the stadium defects were ignored.

Another is that the collapse is the inevitable consequence of a system which gives premium to “know who” than “know how”, the curse of Umno cronyism hiding under the guise of New Economic Policy. Will the Umno cronies responsible for the infamous collapse of the RM300 million stadium roof within a year of completion be exposed and fully penalized?

I was told this morning that the collapse of the Gong Badak Stadium symbolizes the collapse of the “1Malaysia” slogan of Datuk Seri Najib Razak marking his second month as the sixth Prime Minister of Malaysia.

Another opined that it marked the fulfilment of the most famous Malaysian political prophecy, RAHMAN, with Najib as the last Umno Prime Minister.

From the larger national macro perspective, the collapse of the roof of the RM300 million stadium within a year of its completion is the latest warning of the serious and quite terminal breakdown of standards and benchmarks of excellence with the consequence that far from realizing Vision 2020 and becoming a developed nation, Malaysia risks entering the cycle of being a failed state.

There is no shortage of such shocking examples in recent months, viz:

• The collapse of the five-storey portion of the Jaya supermarket in Petaling Jaya during demolition work, killing seven, when in developed countries the implosion of skyscrapers without mishap has become a routine.
  • The Universiti Sains Malaysia Apex University fiasco where 4,574 university students suffered emotional havoc when they were told that they had been mistakenly informed that they had been successful in their applications for admission;
  • Universal broadband complaints, such as the complaint in Penang since last evening of sheer inability to access Internet even when trebly insured, having Streamyx, Maxis 3G and Celcom 3G.
  • Ah Longs having parallel system of underground IGP, CPOs, OCPDs and prisons, with endemic crime and police inability to ensure that Malaysians, tourists and investors are safe in the streets, public places and the privacy of their homes.

The list can go on. As if these signs are not bad enough, Kuala Lumpur has been named No. 4 as the riskiest locations in the world for outsourcing by the “Black Book of Outsourcing”, in a survey of 50 international locations. Singapore tops the list of the world’s safest location in the world for outsourcing.

On “Personal Crime Rate & Police-to-citizen ratio”, Kuala Lumpur is ranked the fourth worst of 50 locations while Singapore is ranked the top best!

Cabinet and Parliament must focus on the issue whether Malaysia has lost the battle to become a developed nation and has entered the cycle to become a failed state under Najib as Prime Minister.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 3 June 2009 - 11:16 pm

God allows us to sin, simply because God wants us to realize our sins will make us suffer from sickness, pains and retribution! God’s has a wonder plan for us to follow. God wants us to realize our past wrong and turn to seek Him for forgiveness! There will be someday for each one of us to finally realize that no one is truly indispensable in the world except God! In order for us to realize the importance of God to each one of us, God will allow each one of us a chance to leave Him. Once we stay far away from God, we are bound to miss God again and again! We will feel like coming back to seek God sooner or later. This is the way God allows us to build up a closer relationship with Him, that is, through the experience of finding about the truth that we cannot live comfortably without the blessing of God!

The stadium roof collapse is just a omen sent by God to warn us about BN’s arrogance, which could have already annoyed God beyond our control!

2. #2 by TomThumb on Wednesday, 3 June 2009 - 11:17 pm

“God purportedly gives people like you the free will to rebel against Him so that your sins will make you sick someday in the future.” onlooker politics

that’s not what god told adam and eve some time ago

3. #3 by TomThumb on Wednesday, 3 June 2009 - 11:19 pm

if god is infallible then why does your lawyer include ‘act of god’ in your agreement he drafts for you

4. #4 by TomThumb on Wednesday, 3 June 2009 - 11:20 pm

he wants to blame god

5. #5 by TomThumb on Wednesday, 3 June 2009 - 11:23 pm

“So, apart from the constructor, those that give the green light on fitness of the building should also be investigated. Is there under-table transaction happen here”. pohsoon Tan

person issuing the certificate of fitness acts according to god’s will

6. #6 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 3 June 2009 - 11:25 pm

God does allow Satan to entice us to rebel against God, just like what had been allowed by God to happen on Job! However, when Job had proven his love to God, Job was finally being rewarded in multiplication by God!

Therefore, TomThumb should learn to listen to God. Be repentant and turn to give your support to Pakatan Rakyat, for PR has the ultimate mandate from God to rule over us by the next coming General Election!

7. #7 by TomThumb on Wednesday, 3 June 2009 - 11:26 pm

“Please turn to vote for Pakatan Rakyat as soon as you can before God has taken your life away!” onlooker politics

why should anybody be afraid of meeting 72 virgins??

8. #8 by TomThumb on Wednesday, 3 June 2009 - 11:29 pm

“PR has the ultimate mandate from God to rule over us by the next coming General Election!” onlooker politics

this is the first time i hear PR has received its mandate from god. i thought you receive mandate from the people? which god did it come from? money god?

9. #9 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 3 June 2009 - 11:31 pm

TomThumb,
    Issuing a certificate of fitness for occupation is not a will of God. The certificate can only be issued when a Consultant Engineer has certified the 100% completion of the construction work! The certificate is issued based on the will of the Consultant Engineer, not the will of God!

Hopefully, the Consultant Engineer in this case did not act God without going through a proper checking and inspection on the work done!

10. #10 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 3 June 2009 - 11:36 pm

The ultimate mandate will still be coming from God, even though God borrows the voters’ hand to allow such a mandate to be prevailing and be carried out after the polling day of the General Election! When Najib could only receive 45% support, then the other 55% would be the sign of God’s giving mandate to Pakatan Rakyat by the next coming General Election!

11. #11 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 3 June 2009 - 11:44 pm

“why should anybody be afraid of meeting 72 virgins??” (TomThumb)

TomThumb,
    No one can be sure about where he/she will go after this life, unless he/she obeys God.

God wants us to give support to Pakatan Rakyat now and from now on until the BN Federal Government has been replaced with the PR Federal Government!

12. #12 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 12:36 am

Shhhhh!!!

They banned the word “Altantuya” and any adverse references to Najib Tun Razak.

They may soon ban words like “failed state”, “PKFZ”, “Ong Tee Keat”, “corruption”, soon or declare them seditious.

13. #13 by a2a on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 12:44 am

I don’t mean a racist, but Asian countries admin by chinese related people nearly all of them turned into economic tigers/dragon like CHINA, SINGAPORE, HONG KONG, TAIWAN, JAPAN AND KOREA.

It is a fact, we do not wish to be racist but it is a fact.

CHINESE good in admit the country, especially with Malaysian natural resources will be an easier job.

AND THE INDIAN is coming up in the race too.

Why Malaysia still lay far and far behind each year? Many Malaysian are still asleep and selfish they do not know how to utilise a proven fact people and give them authority to admin.

In the end, ALL MALAYSIAN AND MALAYISA ARE LOSER because of their narrow mind and selfish.

14. #14 by OCSunny on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 12:58 am

YB Lim Kit Siang,

If you just glance through this blog you will notice 3 conspicuous idiots having their “names” appearing very often. After sometime, their arguments become childish and they begin to sound like school boys or girls trying to out smart each other.

Maybe that is LKS idea of “freedom of speech”??

15. #15 by TomThumb on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 1:30 am

trying to provoke the great statesman of all times, aren’t you?? he is not easily provoked.

freedom of speech is what it says. free to speak. you got another definition??

16. #16 by dawsheng on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 1:33 am

Sad isn’t it? Some of you know some of them is here to distract us yet some of you still fall into the trap. They want to make this blog irrelevant yet some of you guys are make it easier. It is just so sad!

17. #17 by TomThumb on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 1:34 am

godfather is not a school boy. he has wisdom that comes from age, flowing out of his ears. onlooker politics is a part time politician and a priest wannabe.

18. #18 by TomThumb on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 1:36 am

every thing godfather does is an act of god

19. #19 by TomThumb on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 1:36 am

hello dawsheng

20. #20 by TomThumb on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 1:40 am

“It is a fact, we do not wish to be racist but it is a fact.” a2a

what is a fact?? the fact that you are a racist or the fact that you do not want to be a racist but are a racist. which?? what more facts you want?

(TomThumb – this is final notice that you will be put on the Moderation List if you continue to trivialise and show disrespect of this blog and visitors. . Nick change is no licence for this. – Admin}

21. #21 by mumzie on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 2:38 am

Uncle Lim, next in line going to collapse is Najib empire and last not least BN and the end of Malaysia kerajaan of 52 years old…. hahaha

22. #22 by Joshua on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 3:02 am

Too many scandals (not acts of God) and too much profligacy under the double greed namely GREED in Rahman or Games of Rampant Evil Elitism Deceit and Government Rampant Excesses, Exploitation and Destruction (GREED) plus the impact of road tolls is devastation for Malaysia under the scourge of GREED-TWIN in Game of Rampant Evil Elitism Deceit (GREED) in RAHMAN and Governments’ Rampant Excesses, Exploitation and Destruction (GREED) resulting in profligacy of RM30 trillions in rotten system. With this come SHIT or Selfish Hideous Illegal Trap of UMNO and illegal elite gang. Now some in the leadership call it SMART -Sure Make All Rotten Through – when illegal UMNO had ruled Malaysia since 1957.

so some people not only suck the thumbs but all the toes to get back to their positions despite failed efforts and corruption. GREED, SHIT and SMART have overwhelmed many.

23. #23 by Joshua on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 3:22 am

Najib said in Great Hall:

Najib said he would not only be following footsteps of his father but intended to take Malaysia-China relations to greater heights, especially with the fact that “China had advanced so far ahead.”

so be definition Malaysia is a failed state on the way to the 6th PM – end of the sad story.

24. #24 by TomThumb on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 3:35 am

there are bigger disasters waiting to happen.

buildings have collapsed before and lives lost. the courts did not think it was due to negligence. the court today is not about to rule negligence as the cause of the latest collapse – which is the roof of a $300 million stadium. the next time it could be the lrt or klia or the petronas towers or the loss of a french made submarine. there are lives waiting to be lost.

if you have to travel it is better to drive. if you have to work it’s better you work in a two storey building. if you have to take a bus to work it is better you cycle. if you have to take a submarine it is better you swiim.

(TomThumb – this is final notice that you will be put on the Moderation List if you continue to trivialise and show disrespect of this blog and visitors. . Nick change is no licence for this. – Admin}

25. #25 by TomThumb on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 3:37 am

this is progress! who says it is a failed state??

26. #26 by TomThumb on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 3:39 am

there is a cost to economic progress. corruption rises. crime rate rises. prices rise. what goes down will be buildings, planes, bridges etc.

27. #27 by TomThumb on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 3:40 am

it makes readers think!

28. #28 by TomThumb on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 3:43 am

a case of selective prosecution. practice what you preach

29. #29 by techboy_88 on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 5:21 am

seriously, there are a lot of things went wrong in msia such as stadium collapse, broadband failure, university admission fiasco etc. i feel that malaysian education system is imbalanced. less attention is given to vocational and technic schools. malaysians seem not realizing the existence of vocational schools as secondary education institutions apart from ‘sekolah menengah kebangsaan’. if anyone thinks malaysia is loosing skilled blue-collar workers, they are definitely right. instead, we have more half-baked white-collar wannabe’s and active mat rempits around.

30. #30 by monsterball on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 5:44 am

TomThumb can sure twist and turn and be very sarcastic over a disaster post than may have killed hundred of lives.
    I wonder what will be his respond …if indeed the roof collapsed with the stadium full.
    We certainly are practicing what we are preaching…TomThumb.
    Did you not notice People’s Power at work in by-elections?
    And …we will keep on preaching…until more and more readers from UMNO understand…that it is not will of God that the roof collapsed.
    It is pure irresponsible government servants…who are on the take…drunk with money…ignoring building houses lives.
    Buildings are supposed to last a lifetime.
    Here we witness….a RM300 million building last one year.
    Jaya Supermarket is different story. It is the irresponsible people…hired to demolish it.
    Putra Jaya….KLLC…new school roofs…Smart Tunnel..and so many…all have poor workmanship and no quality control at all.
    Putting the blame on contractors….never the government itself who should give final inspections…never tested the quality of building materials.
    These are clear signs….bribery given…all are happy…and it need God to show us….the truths.

31. #31 by kerishamuddinitis on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 7:35 am

there are 129 responses as I write.
    tomdumbo has made 41 comments, in many instances a string of multiple commentaries consecutively. and he has succeeded in diverting discussion from the topic and managed to engage all and sundry in mumbo jumbo….hmmmm, quite effective I must say
    tomdumbo has been particularly active on this posting…I wonder why so.

anyway, this gong badak fiasco simply means that we take a very high risk everytime we have to walk into a gomen or gomen-related building built in the last 10 years.

pity the gomen servants-lah. they need personal M&H and Accident insurance for sure at this rate. they don’t know when their office is going to crash down on their heads.

32. #32 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 7:39 am

Our atap roof houses are stronger than this made in boleh stadium

33. #33 by Godfather on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 7:54 am

If you read the comments of Mat Said, the Trengganu MB, you’d be shocked. The state government knew that the stadium roof was unsafe, and yet they allowed SUKMA to proceed last year. There was no CF on the stadium structure. If the roof had come down then, it would really have put us on the world map.

It now transpires that the Korean company that built the roof was a subcontractor, and the main contractor is a local company.

34. #34 by Godfather on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 8:01 am

There’s an ongoing investigation into a money printing company in Australia that won deals in Nepal and Malaysia by paying “large” commissions. It was reported that the commissions paid were too large relative to the size of the printing contracts. Let’s hope that Australia reveals the name(s) of the Malaysian parties receiving the commissions.

Satu lagi projek Barisan Nasional.

35. #35 by sotong on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 8:03 am

We want the best for our country and her ordinary people – in education, safety and protection, public accountability and responsibility, permanent and rewarding job opportunity, fair and equal opportunity in all aspects of life and etc. – but the government could not deliver!

36. #36 by Godfather on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 8:22 am

Last weekend, we were in our kampung, and the road leading there had a police roadblock. Suddenly one of the cars in the queue made an abrupt u-turn and drove away hastily from the scene. In the car were 2 Indians with no seatbelts on. The police didn’t even bother to take down the numberplates, let alone chase the car that broke from the queue.

What’s the use of roadblocks if people with something to hide can easily turn around the drive away ? Another sign of the 3rd world country.

37. #37 by blablowbla on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 8:46 am

so what?so what?so what?

no ppl die,no lives were lost,you say god bless,or luckly or whatever,if 100 die during this collapse,u thnk the exUMNO MB will commit suicide?

see what happened to the tmn international land-slide incident last year,so many lives were barried under the soil,so what?

the heads of judiciary there are standing by to protect their own ppl,what to worry?sue melah,BODOH!!!!!

38. #38 by boh-liao on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 9:00 am

The little red dot is easy to rule lah
    no big deal for it to be first here, first there
    Malaysia looking with green eyes, red eyes
    cannot beat the LRD, cannot join the LRD
    Never mind lah
    cannot be the first
    then be the last or almost the last
    can still be almost famous or infamous, notorious
    Look, everyone in this world knows Malaysia
    ‘cos our 1Malaysia PM is a bosom buddy of Altantuya

39. #39 by riversandlakes on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 9:38 am

Oh, the kleptocracy will just question the credibility of these indexes instead of their own.

40. #40 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 10:33 am

Korea is well known for many collapsed buildings and bridges. We definitely made a wrong decision by going cheap. It would be even worst if going to China. What Korean contractor is this? Let’s publish its name!

41. #41 by TomThumb on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 10:49 am

admin doesn’t understand humour and sarcasm. these are tools like any other to get the message across in a room full of boys repeating the same message day in and day out.

42. #42 by Cinapek on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 11:00 am

The list of calamities continues. The MRRII fiasco, Putrajaya leaking roofs, the collapsiing navy complex in Bandar Penawar, the Kuching Prison, defective finishing and fungi infested new hospitals and now this collapsing roof of the stadium.

When we encourage a culture of mediocrity bred by corruption and bereft of meritocracy, this is what we reap. We reap what we sow. Any contractor who gets involved in a public sector project knows what the score is. They will have to bribe many people and after doing so, shoddy work can be accepted.

Until the day we have the will to punish all these wrong doers and send them to jail for long terms, this problem will never end. The powerful and well connected will get away with murder – literally. And with a tainted judiciary that is ever so willing to do the bidding of the Executive, how will we ever get out of this quagmire?

43. #43 by Godfather on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 11:06 am

What choice do we have other than to get rid of the bunch of thieves known as BN ?

44. #44 by Hamdan on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 11:30 am

The PWD Chief in Terengganu must Resign with immediate effect
    for his failure in caring out his Duty deligently, no excuses, the Buck stops at his Desk.

45. #45 by k1980 on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 11:34 am

When is bijan going to say “The buck stops at my desk”? Or will he push it to his predecessor the sleeping mullah?

46. #46 by tsn on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 11:54 am

Sudah runtuh, bising apa?

Now what we really need to do is to ensure other tofu buildings not to collapse, at least not during there are people around. The best solution is to put “NO ENTRY” sign in front of the tofu or near-tofu buildings. Next day you may see 90% of our government buildings are with this sign. Congratulations.

47. #47 by trublumsian on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 12:31 pm

now we know why Peep-Tom-Thumbsucker likes this space. it has a room full of boys! you pervert TomThumb! may your god have mercy on you, uhh… god willing.
    you stink up this forum. go back to where you come from. hint, starts with an “a” ends with “e”. gosh, what is that smell? ah… embellished excrement spewing from your mouth is still filth. my goodness, you defecate between the lips! get help!

48. #48 by frankyapp on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 1:12 pm

Dear Yb Lim,it’s an over statement when you said malaysia is a developed state. How could it be when we can’t even take good care of our public toilets ?. Failed state ,yes it’s it.

49. #49 by ctc537 on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 8:36 pm

TomThumb,

Why do you old people want to argue so much? Everybody makes mistakes, gets old, falls sick, dies, and faces our Creator. Not only old people, young people also die.

50. #50 by Ramesh Laxman on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 9:39 pm

Corruption is like watering a plant. If you have too much water(corruption) the plant will die. Who said that?