Perak in limbo with no Mentri Besar – PR lawyers to set aside Court of Appeal single-judge “stay” decision

Datuk Zambry Abdul Kadir has likened himself to Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela, causing all-round derision, outrage and revulsion.

If Zambry dreams of being a Gandhi, he would not want to be an illegitimate and unlawlful Mentri Besar even for a second.

He would not lay claim to be the Perak Mentri Besar as after the Nizar vs Zambry judgment of Justice Abdul Aziz Abdul Rahim yesterday, he is doubly illegitimate as the Perak Mentri Besar.

Zambry went against everything Gandhi stood for in announcing that he would again “gate-crash” the Perak State Secretariat building tomorrow to illegitimately re-occupy the office of Mentri Besar!

Zambry was defaming the memory of Gandhi in suggesting that the great Indian moralist would have approved Zambry for being a doubly illegitimate MB.

The most astounding single-judge Court of Appeal decision to grant stay of the Abdul Aziz declaration does not in any way salvage Zambry’s position as a doubly illegitimate MB.

Abdul Aziz declared Zambry as an unlawful and illegitimate MB and Nizar the lawful and legitimate MB.

The stay given by a single judge of the Court of Appeal “stayed” Nizar from taking back his lawful and legitimate office as Perak Mentri, but it did not overturn the High Court decision and could not be taken to mean that Zambry can continue to be illegal and illegitimate Perak MB.

This will be against public policy and national interest. Perak government is in total limbo, without a Mentri Besar, as Nizar, the lawful and legitimate MB has been “stayed” from exercising his powers and responsibilities, while Zambry, the unlawful and illegitimate MB, could not be deemed to be licenced by the Court of Appeal to continue to act illegally.

Allowing someone whom the Court has declared to be an unlawful and illegitimate MB to continue in office would have completely horrified Gandhi – and Zambry likens himself to Gandhi!

The lawyers I spoke to in the past few hours are shocked at the Court of Appeal single-judge “stay” decision.

Pakatan Rakyat lawyers will set aside the Court of Appeal single-judge “stay” decision in an urgent application tomorrow.

Zambry and his usurper Exco should not re-occupy the SUK offices to avoid another sorry spectacle of having to vacate them after a few hours.

1. #1 by KeenWatcher_01 on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 6:50 pm

Everyone got it wrong! What Zambry meant is that he was totally the opposite of both Mandela and Ghandi. Got that?

2. #2 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 6:57 pm

This mamak Gandhi and Nelson mana ada is a just a thick skin no shame politician who do not even know he has smeared the good name of our beloved Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela.

Shame on you Zamry, the Humpty Dumpty.

3. #3 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 6:58 pm

“Zambry and his usurper Exco should not re-occupy the SUK offices to avoid another sorry spectacle of having to vacate them after a few hours.” (Zambry)

Dr. Zambry should be matured enough to avoid playing monkey game again in SUK offices. If he is the true believer of the rule of law, then he should stay away from acting as an unlawful and illegitimate Menteri Besar until the higher court has reversed the Kuala Lumpur High Court’s judgement.

Let us learn to accept the situation of no MB for Perak for the time being in order to pay respect to the decisions made by the Kuala Lumpur High Court and the Court of Appeal until a judicial review has been fully completed and the final judgement dropped by the Court of Appeal.

4. #4 by polarrev on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 7:17 pm

That Zambry guy and his boos are absolute cowards. If they think they are just, why afraid of an election and let the people to choose the gov? What a shame!

5. #5 by grace on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 7:18 pm

Zamry Nelson Mendela or Ghandi??

Please la! Zamri, you are not fit or qualified to wash both of these two greats’ feet! Make my toes laugh!!!
    But I can liken you and yur bunch of mobsters to MAT REMPIT or HIGHWAY ROBBERS!!! After robbing the victims’ money, you claim to be yours. TAK MALU!!!
    Actually people of Perak do not like you at all!!!

6. #6 by rahmanwang on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 7:21 pm

What kind of utter rubbish.
    Zambry is not even qualified to [deleted]
    How can he be potrayed as Gandhi or Mandela?
    Nizar is the Man.
    He has patience and the people’s mandate.

7. #7 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 7:22 pm

“Najib: No snap elections in Perak
    May 12, 09 5:56pm

breaking news
    The prime minister once again ruled out on calling for a snap state election in the state, stating that such a thing was the prerogative of the sultan.” – Malaysiakini
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/104162

“Najib lets Zambry decide what to do in Perak
    By Asrul Hadi Abdullah Sani
    KUALA LUMPUR, May 12 – Datuk Seri Najib Razak appeared to distance himself from the Perak constitutional crisis, pointing out that it was up to Datuk Zambry Abdul Kadir to decide Barisan Nasional’s (BN) next move.”- Malaysianinsider
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/26244-najib-says-zambry-to-decide-what-to-do-in-perak
    ————————-
    Now what? Najib’s Tai Chi????

8. #8 by DAP man on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 7:31 pm

Glad to hear that PR will file an appeal tomorrow. Let’s see if the court will give a lightning decision as it did today.
    I am not a lawyer but logic tells me that the rightful MB as declared by the court will hold office until the appeal is disposed of. There is no way for the unlawful MB to assume this post.

9. #9 by All For The Road on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 7:33 pm

What a joke! It must be the international joke of the year. Usurper MB Zambry likened himself to Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela. He has the cheek to say it in the first place. He is not even 1% close to their reputation of international image and standing.

The Perak political stalemate has now turned into a circus. This afternoon the Court of Appeal had granted a stay of execution to Zambry on High Court Justice Abdul Aziz’s declaration that Pakatan Nizar is the legitimate Perak MB. One moment MB and the next not MB? Who is now legally the Perak MB?

Latest news has it that Najib is adamant and reluctant to a dissolution of the Perak State Assembly paving the way for fresh state elections. The BN is obviously scared to face the Perak voters again for a fresh mandate because this time around, BN would lose big and suffer a heavier defeat to the Pakatan.

10. #10 by zipppp on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 7:49 pm

Wow ini macam pun boleh!!!!!!
    After they rob you they said sorry ,than rob you again in a few hours than said sorry again . Wow Malaysia boleh,UMNO boleh
    Mat Rempit pun Bolih,Mat toyo pun Boleh.

11. #11 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 7:56 pm

This is the real joke and this guy is losing his head by comparing himself with the greatest of the world. A real joke no less no more.
    Dia pandai berangan-angan di tepi pantai laut Pangkor.

12. #12 by DAP man on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 7:57 pm

High Court declaration: ” It is a universal fact that the earth revolves round the sun”.
    “The constitution of the earth says the sun cannot revolve round the earth.”

Court of Appeal (single judge): ” The High Court declaration that the earth revolves round the sun not vice verse is hereby stayed with immediate effect.”

So does this mean the earth must immediately stop its obit and the sun begins its movement round the earth.

But that’s what the …Appeal judge is saying.

13. #13 by grace on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 7:59 pm

Mr Lim,
    Is Sivakumar still thr legal Speaker?
    If Ganesan proclaim himself to be the legal one, it is the greatest shame that BN can bring to Malaysia.
    Look at the way tose mobsters dragged Siva out. It reminded me of MAFIA’s action. They look exactly like that. After he was dragged out, this pro Hee yit Fong hastily proclaimed Ganesan as speaker. Worst than Botak Chin.
    So to me Siva is still the speaker

14. #14 by DAP man on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 8:00 pm

Zambry, which UMNO leader is even fit to kiss Ghandhi’s feet?

You liars, cheats, murderers, evil beings are not fit to approach 1 km from Ghadhi.

15. #15 by zipppp on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 8:00 pm

Zambry

You are not even fit to wash my feetlah.Go back to your little island.

You are a disgrace to the Perak and Malaysian.

16. #16 by Loh on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 8:01 pm

///Datuk Zambry Abdul Kadir has likened himself to Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela, causing all-round derision, outrage and revulsion.///–Kit

He still remembers his Indian root. But he cannot be both Indian and NEP beneficiary.

17. #17 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 8:10 pm

Very nice, very shiok
    School kids in Malaysia
    Watching politicians main main
    One group in
    One group out
    One moment many papa tell children
    papa kena sacked, unemployed
    Next moment many papa tell children
    papa got job back
    All within less than 24 hours
    In out in out in out …..

Macam ini
    sure Guinness World Records one
    better than Zimbabwe punya
    Perak famous leh
    Excellent for tourism
    Visit Perak Year 2009 & 2010
    Conduct tour of Democracy Tree
    Also visit chamber where
    Speaker kena angkat keluar
    Visit spots where blackshirt haram
    Then eat Ipoh kai fun

Zambie thanked god for the court of appeal’s decision
    Now god also involved
    Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela too

But Gandhi and Mandela
    Not scare elections and by-elections
    Zombie, who wants to be King, knows aaah?

18. #18 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 8:14 pm

Just because his outlook is black, that does not make Zambry at par with Gandhi or Mandela! He still has a long, long way to go! Just another typical example of UMNO thinking, trying to outdo the natural process of EVOLUTION!

19. #19 by ekin on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 8:17 pm

zambry likened himself as Ghandi and Mandela in terms of his skin colour, not as in their legends…

20. #20 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 8:22 pm

The courts are fast becoming a circus, a playground of the politicians.

Something must be done fast to prevent this institution from falling into the abyss.

21. #21 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 8:28 pm

Don’t forget too he said he’s like Obama.

This guy is one of a kind.

How about Mugabe?

22. #22 by Loh on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 8:31 pm

Justice Abdul Aziz rejected the request by Zambry’s lawyer for a ‘stay’ of the judgement and he directed that a written request be made with case laws to justify the request. That was about 4 PM yesterday.

When the single judge of Court of Appeal Justice Ramli Ali heard the case at 11.30 AM this morning, was he presented with a written request and case laws for consideration, as deemed relevant by Justice Abdul Aziz? It is most likely that Zambry’s lawyers had not presented any case laws to support the request. When Justice Ramli Ali granted the ‘stay’, was it done because it was his turn to make a decision and even though there was not time enough to conduct thorough deliberation within the two hours when he was at the court?

It might have been human to grant a stay of execution of a condemned prisoner in haste because life and death is not reversible, and besides the prisoner cannot do any harm. In the ‘stay’ decision, it cannot be expected that the person declared illegal MB could automatically becomes legal because the appeal court did not pronounce it to that effect. But government servants believe that they belong to BN, and they would take order from Zambry despite his illegitimate hold to the office. Yet the ‘stay’ order gives the impression that no actions could be derived from the judgement, and hence the legal MB is prevented from conducting his official functions.

We learned about the basis to judge good and bad judges. We are now shown how the Court of Appeal could be flexible in conducting its official business when a lone judge was able to overturn the decision of the High court, and it might remain stayed for years when the court chooses to be too busy to revisit this case. Indeed Zambry might continue to act as if he was MB of Perak and the court of Appeal cannot be pushed to hear the appeal.

23. #23 by grace on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 8:51 pm

Loh, your reasoning is very good.
    You must understasnd that we cannot talk sense into those UMNO and BN’s numbskulls. They only apply laws when they suit their purpose.
    Today’s stay of execution is a good example.
    When you question the legality of Ganesan’s speakership, they quote Article 72.
    But the federal court completely ignored it even though Former Justice Chan gave a very good writeout on it!!!
    Bet what the result would be from court of Appeal???

24. #24 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 8:55 pm

Same concept as 1Malaysia. 1Judge.

25. #25 by a2a on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 8:56 pm

This mama is an enermy of all democracy Malaysian.

This Mama is an enermy of all democracy Perakian.

THEY DON’T KNOW WHAT IS A SHAME AND DISHONOR.

They can lead you no good in life except tech you and your children how to steal and rob illegally.

Voice your wills loud for PERAK RE-ELECTION, tear down the wall of these bunch of pirates/robbers.

STANDUP AND FIGHT. DON’T GIVE UP PKR AND PERAKIAN THE GOD AND JUSTICE IS ON YOUR SIDE.

26. #26 by a2a on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 8:56 pm

This mama is an enermy of all democracy Malaysian.

This Mama is an enermy of all democracy Perakian.

THEY DON’T KNOW WHAT IS A SHAME AND DISHONOR.

They can lead you no good in life except tech you and your children how to steal and rob illegally.

Voice your wills loud for PERAK RE-ELECTION, tear down the wall of these bunch of pirates/robbers.

STANDUP AND FIGHT. DON’T GIVE UP, PKR AND PERAKIAN THE GOD AND JUSTICE IS ON YOUR SIDE.

27. #27 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 8:58 pm

A stay order from the Court of Appeal does not automatically turn an unlawful and illegitimate Menteri Besar into a lawful and legitimate one!

Dr. Zambry is a learned person and he should understand well about such a logical reasoning and should not resort to “bratty kid” type of reasoning in order to justify his taking over the power of Menteri Besar of Perak from MB Nizar.

It is going to be no end to the political dispute in Perak if Dr. Zambry chooses to continue behaving like a bratty kid!

28. #28 by jt84 on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 9:07 pm

When Zambry likened himself to the great leaders of the PEOPLE like Gandhi and Mandela, he is insulting Gandhi and Mandela. Gandhi and Mandela were oppressed by the rule of tyranny and the greed of power, and their leadership is upheld and supported by the people.

Zambry has obviously become a disgraceful coward when he shys away from a state-wide elections which will return the people of their right. Secondly, Zambry leadership is only upheld with the support of three extra state assemblymen who have not only betrayed their constituents but also facing corruption charges and another who is despised by a majority of Malaysians.

Zambry is far too arrogant to redeem himself from not only that he needs to apologize to the people of India and South Africa but also to the family of Gandhi and Nelson Mandela. He has caused a great disgrace to the country!

BN’s continue grip on Perak through undemocratic and unconstituitional means a greater backfire one day as the sentiment for justice and democracy multiplies by every seconds. Pakatan Rakyat should and must continue to defend the people’s right of selecting their own government till the Perak State Assembly is dissolved whether by the Sultan or automatically in March 2013.

Therefore I urge the people of Malaysia and Pakatan Rakyat leaders to stand strong in the face of tyranny with Malaysia being two steps away from becoming into Myanmar and Zimbabwe.

As PM Najib, continue to do what you’re good at, dont change!…soon we, Malaysia will have the very first Nobel Laurette for Peace (Nobel Peace Prize) which will be granted to our very beloved Mentri Besar of the Rakyat Mohd. Nizar Jamaluddin.

29. #29 by Godfather on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 9:08 pm

Gandhi and Mandela never took a single cent of the people’s money. In fact they gave everything they had for the people. UMNO steals from the people, and they have the temerity to compare themselves to these great men….

30. #30 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 9:23 pm

Allowing someone whom the Court has declared to be an unlawful and illegitimate MB to continue in office would have completely horrified Gandhi – and Zambry likens himself to Gandhi!
    ====================================================

I bet a thick-skin Zambry and his usurper Exco will re-occupy the SUK offices tomorrow or sometime this week, and the partisan police will welcome them back into the offices.

31. #31 by citizenwatch on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 9:23 pm

The onus is on Zambry to prove he is the legitimate MB. Nizar should have been allowed to continue with status quo as MB. Didn’t the single judge feel naked that he didn’t have his peers with him in the court?

32. #32 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 9:31 pm

Didn’t the single judge feel naked that he didn’t have his peers with him in the court? (citizenwatch)
    ====================================================

Maybe the pro-BN judge deliberately grasped the opportunity to announce his favored decision while his peers were away.

33. #33 by negarawan on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 9:39 pm

The Indian community of Malaysia and the world should protest vehemently the sacrilegious statement of Zambry equating himself to the great Mahatma Gandhi. This is a total insult to the Indian community, amny of whom regard Mahatma Gandhi not only as a great leader but also a Saint. Zambry is unfit even to kiss Mahatma Gandhi’s feet.

34. #34 by catharsis on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 9:41 pm

………………………….Dr Zambry said however that it was lucky for him that his struggles had not caused him physical harm or loss of freedom………………………

This guy is really sick in the head

35. #35 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 9:41 pm

His claim shown his ignorant who is Mahatma Gandhi and who is Nelson Mandela. A joker a real joker, his comparison has brought shame internationally. How on earth this joker from Pangkor equal him self and the two great men on earth of human history.

He is not even qualify to empty Nelson’s urine pot.

As to Mahatma Gandhi, no human history has so far produce a man that can claim to be of his equal.

It is a joke and it is also sad a Malaysian claim he is equal to Mahatma Gandhi. He has losing his mind and he is almost insane after the high court judgment yesterday.

36. #36 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 9:42 pm

Well we all know that nothing happened after the Lingam tapes fiasco to get rid of tainted judges just like nothing happened after UMNO’s money politics findings.

Is it not stange that an appeal can be heard by just one judge? It does give a good impression as far as the decision is concerned. I expect an appeal court to have at least 3 judges of varying seniority or do judges have a steep learning curve like the JC in Ipoh?

Enough time and effort has been spent in the courts and the impasse is just as when they started. It is time to go to the court of public opinion – that is calling for state elections.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/05/malaysiakini-and-following-law-into.html

37. #37 by Loh on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 9:49 pm

///breaking news updated 8.05pm The PM once again ruled out on calling for a snap state election in the state, stating that such a thing was the prerogative of the sultan.///– Malaysiakini

Najib was certainly telling the truth with that statement, but did he tell the whole truth?

The Sultan cannot dissolve the state assembly without a request being made by the MB; since both are of doubtful status, he needs them all. Hence, though the Sultan is provided with the authority, that prerogative has to be exercised in pursuance to the constitution. In truth, the Sultan could have dissolved the state assembly at the request of MB Nizar in early February. The Sultan could still have done it on request again by MB Nizar if Najib did not allow Zambry to seek a stay of the decision by the High court yesterday. If Najib was willing to face a general election in Perak, he could have easily ordered Zambry to submit a request for the resolution of the state assembly in Perak, and that together with the standing invitation by MB Nizar would be the neat way to solve the Perak crisis.

Najib was not the PM in February when the question of dissolving the state assembly in Perak was mooted by MB Nizar. Najib should have said then that it was the prerogative of the Sultan to decide on subsequent actions. But Najib sought to influence the Sultanto have BN candidate appointed MB. Najib mentioned two days ago that he had no problems seeking an audience with the Sultan of Perak anytime. He now says that the matter was for the Sultan’s prerogative decision, and that would only mean that he would not request an audience with the Sultan. As PM now, is Najib too big to seek an audience with the Sultan? Najib can certainly send his boy Zambry to do the leg work if he wanted the matter resolved through the clear cut manner of a fresh election. But Najib prefers to use the UMNO-led government institutions, the police and the civil services to ensure continued illegal occupation of the seat of power in Perak.

Najib could have declared it as his wish to bully Pakatan. That would be better than presenting himself of a hypocrite behaving as if he was in total subservient to the Sultan while telling half-truth.

38. #38 by negarawan on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 9:52 pm

HJ Angus, the main problem now is the key person supposed to make the call on the assembly dissolution is politically aligned to UMNO. This is the only explanation for the hurried and legally-flawed appointment, and for turning a deaf ear to the cries and calls from the rakyat for a dissolution.

39. #39 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 9:55 pm

“Abdul Gani supported the motion, saying that Perak’s political problem must be resolved by the highest court in the country as soon as possible because it would affect the entire country.” The Nut Graph.

The highest court in the country. Why? Well, you know….strange things happen there.

40. #40 by AhPek on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 10:03 pm

A stay of execution granted to Zambry by the Court Of Appeal simply means that a court order is given for a temporary suspension of the High Court judgement from execution but Zambry may take it to mean granting him the license to act as an legitimate MB which would surely result in a fight back from the PR side.The dispute is likely to go on to the detriment of the people of Perak.The only other possible fallout from this episode is that this fracas has the makings of a saga worthy of a script for a Bollywood show to entertain the world.

41. #41 by Rocky on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 10:06 pm

dey when Hindraf used gandhi pics and his sayings, you guys said racist la and terrorist. Now zambry is using Gandhi and Mandela. Do you think any of this man who have allowed anyone under their leadership drag out a man let a speaker of the house like what happen in Perak by BN. Please la. We bloody malaysian are not stupid, we know who Gandhi and Mandela are and what they did in their life time. if Zambry was in their shoes, there would have been a war in India and he would not even end up in jail in SA cos the white govt of SA would disregard Zambry cos he would not have the support of people cos his claimed majority is made out of thin air like in Perak cos there is no rakyat supporting him like mandela who has the rakyat’s support.

Zambry if you know meaning of democracy you would know that going back to the people and getting a mandate is the right thing to do which both Gandhi and Mandela would do which is what Nizar wants to do. Mandela and gandhi were never afraid of their citizens unlike you who dare not go back for an election to obtain a new mandate.

Nizar has earned my respect, this man will go far and if Pr takes over the federal govt, he is a DPM material. A malay leader that all malaysians will support and are supporting. Nizar isa towering Malay and one with integrity.

42. #42 by lee wee tak_ on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 10:20 pm

it compounds the situation when a judge, a professional who deals in fairness and consistency, creates another problem without giving a solution; or rather creating problem to a solution.

such great haste in the light of other abominable delay in relation to other cases provide strong evidence for lack of fairness and sense in the judge’s decision.

what’s the judge’s name? given the gravity of the appeal, should it not be more than 1 judge to preside and decisions carefully considered before being granted?

the higher court seems to act less admirably compared to its subordinate one

notice throughout this sorry episode, Zaki the CJ & Nazri the Law Minister are strangely subdued

43. #43 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 10:32 pm

I think LKS may be most mistaken, has he seen the order for the stay? He cannot say that the stay only affects Nizar taking over as MB but does not cover the High Court’s decision that Zambly is unlawful. I think its most incorrect to make such a statement until the order is sighted.

Also, has LKS seen the order made by the High Court? Its not even been extracted yet for sure. Takes a couple of days even if you were to rush it.

44. #44 by safeworld on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 10:39 pm

Let me quote what I seen in Gandhi Smriti, the place of Mahatma Gandhi’s Martyrdom, the great man said “For my material needs village is my world, but for my spiritual needs the whole world is my village”.
    See how a great man’s wisdom who embrace the whole world to seek for great ideals.
    Dear all, please think beyond square, be the world citizen than earn respect from all!

45. #45 by siamo on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 10:44 pm

Before it was Zambry against Perakians and Malaysians. Now, Zambry has got the whole world up in arms against him for abusing the memory of Ghandi and Mandela. This shows how politically savvy this person is. It is another negative for BN and another positive for PR to be voted in.

First, let’s examine what Ghandi stands for. Non-violence, equality and democracy. What does Zambry stands for. One, dragging the speaker out of the Assembly Hall. So, he believe in violence. Two, use of police in the Perak Assembly to intimidate the people. Refusing to go back to the people for mandate, but says, that “he needs to go back to the people”–excellent double talking. Even refusing to go the Assembly for a vote of confidence.

And, Mandela fought hard against apartheid. Zambry is fighting to maintain apartheid with the special rights.

Up to now, there is still this question in my mind. Why was BN so afraid, so reluctant to put the matter to a vote of no-confidence in the state assembly?

Is it because they do not have full confidence that the defectors will vote in their favour? Or, as the case now develops, they were actually not afraid or reluctant? It is a deliberate strategy to let the situation develop to this point to allow the BN government to show their colors, with all the brute force, police and all, with the intention of intimidating the people not to say or do anything that is not in favour of the BN?

So, the BN never learned from the bitter loss of March 2008. There are using more brute force and intimidation that had resulted in their defeat.

46. #46 by siamo on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 10:58 pm

I think this continuing imbriglio is good for PR in the long term. It continues to generate bad feelings for the BN!

47. #47 by vsp on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 11:01 pm

The important thing is to respect each other. We have to respect the rights of the opposition and the opposition has to respect the rights of the government,” Najib stressed.

————

Wrong, wrong, wrong Najib! You have to respect the people because the power comes from the people. You only shouted about your rights but the way you bulldozed your way into power is a disgrace and a mockery of your stand.

So you say you have the majority support? Then let the people decide whether they want to punish PK and to confirm your assertion. Going back to the people is the most cost-effective way out of the mess that was created by you.

Why do you have to make the sultan into a moron, the police into a mafia organization and the courts into a prostitution den? As if you don’t have enough skeletons in your closet, you are still gung-ho to collect more. Enough is enough, Najib. If you are still very stupid to understand and to cut your losses, you will lose your pants and nobody will be sorry for you.

48. #48 by eglonet on Tuesday, 12 May 2009 - 11:46 pm

njis doing more mistake…every step he take…he taking wrong step…he make it difficult…whole world now knew that that najis scared to election…bn scared to election…please rakyat not stupid …that is lucky for mahathir….that time peole never wake up…mathis survive and use his dirty tactic..but now rakyat allready wake up so..please najib dun play ur drama anymore..stop everything…let people to judge…donmake urself st***

49. #49 by sheilakrishnan on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 12:00 am

Dear Mr Lim Kiat Siang,

A humble suggestion – is it possible for you to print a million badges saying TUANKU – POHON BUBARKAN DUN PERAK and distribute to the people of Perak to wear at all times. This was what NUBE Members did to get their 30% pay rise.

Perhaps if the views of the public were more visible to the Ruler…

Regards

50. #50 by ekans on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 12:05 am

For many years, Mahatma Gandhi had practised the philosophy of non-violent civil disobedience in his struggle for India’s independence from British rule.
    Nelson Mandela had spent a significant amount of his life behind bars in his struggle against the racist white supremacist ideology of apartheid in South Africa.
    Can the Pangkor ADUN prove that he has also suffered the same hardships and made the same sacrifices as Gandhi and Mandela to justify his claim of being likened to those two great men?
    He and his motley crew of UMNO’s BN ADUNs plus ‘independent but BN friendly’ double-crossing defectors can’t even prove that the ‘virtual reality’ Perak state government they claim to be running has the mandate of the people of Perak via the ballot box in the first place.
    His party tried to ‘character assassinate’ his adversary with allegations that Nizar is a traitor, stooge, puppet & other negative stuff but eventually Nizar became the victor in the Bukit Gantang elections, leaving the Pangkor ADUN with a slap in the face.
    Of course, the Pangkor ADUN still wants to hold on to the power-grab through the back doors and back lanes, enlisting the help of ‘supposedly independent but BN friendly’ members of the judiciary…

51. #51 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 1:05 am

Hey guys,it looks fishy,one judge said it’s illegal,next minute an other one judge said it stays. I think there’s a conspiracy in this case.The sultan is co-incidentally out of town,the PM said no fresh election,it sums up pretty cocky. No MB,no speaker no assembly meeting,what’s nect ?.

52. #52 by raven77 on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 1:12 am

Our Malaysian courts now become a laughing stock of the world….dont our judges have this thing called self respect or guts anymore….is it always going to be the ricebowl thing…..Najib’s actions are literally destroying the country…[deleted]…the man just doesn’t realise that he will surely go to the grave one day and he should be cultivating a good name…..Malaysians should not be his victims….they must disengage and cast him away if Malaysia is ever going to have a future….

53. #53 by ekompute on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 4:20 am

“dont our judges have this thing called self respect or guts anymore”

Well, if you have a gun pointing at your neck, what self-respect are you talking about? Supposing you are walking along a lonely back alley, and this guy comes up to you and say, “Hey, give me back my wallet.” Are you going to fight, knowing very well that you will lose your job instantaneously if you don’t listen?

54. #54 by chengho on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 4:21 am

Why Zambry wanna be some body else ?…….
    you can never satisfy DAP…….unless if u are velocity engineer like Nizar a cross between Kit and Anwar…. in Anwar word …. nepotism….LGE and Azzah….

55. #55 by kerishamuddinitis on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 6:56 am

the Sun, morning 11 May, Front Page – ‘If we respect the law, and everyone must respect the law, there won’t be any crisis and things won’t turn into a crisis.” Najib.

A SLIME BALL breaks into your house, seizes all your possessions, and because he is physically bigger, richer and more influential, beats you to the ground…then offers to share 50% of the spoils of what is rightfully yours.

The judge says ‘return it all to the rightful owner.’

The SLIME BALL then gets another judge to stay the order of the first judge. Afterall, SLIME BALL is big, very big and rich, very, very rich and influential enough to own sultans of slime, grime and crime.

1MALAYSIA – 1 BIG FAT LIE!

56. #56 by ctc537 on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 7:09 am

The longer this political crisis lasts, the more angrier the people become. I think the situation in Perak could become like the few days before the 12GE. People just fed up with politics and didn’t like to talk much since they had already made up their mind as to which party they would vote for. On 8/3/2008, many people just went to cast their votes. Asked any friend or acquaintance which party they voted for, almost all of them said: You knowlah, and still asking me this unnecessary question’

57. #57 by poo chit on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 8:04 am

PR will file an appeal today. Let’s wait and see whether they will be accorded the same super highway. The nation and the whole world is keeping an eye on this city that Tin Built.

58. #58 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 8:12 am

The whole BN case comes down to that the State Assembly should not be the only venue to remove an MB and there is no proviso in standing order for no-confidence vote. But the counter argument is 1) Why NOT? – the BN case arrogantly assumes they cross their T’s and i’s in all the messing up of the laws and institution over the last 50 years. Its clearly evident they are screw-ups for a long time.

2) Even if there should be another mean to remove the MB other than the state assembly, it does not lie with the Sultan NOR is it clearly spelled out and hence not a matter for courts to decide what its standard necessary. The courts is not there to make up for the failures of the legislative and executive but as a matter to resolve the legal matters only.

Again, this is a matter that cannot be resolved at the courts and the courts should not decide – that is the whole point of PR argument, go back to the people and let the people decide.

It DOES NOT matter what the Court of Appeal says really. This comes down to between the will of the people or the will of the politicians. Which matter at this time? The answer is obvious.

The longer this goes on, the longer it just shows how deep BN has screwed-up this country for the last 40 years. And it does not end unitl and election is held. Period…

59. #59 by negarawan on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 8:35 am

The high court has already ruled that Z is a thief and N is the rightful owner. What is the logic for the single judge in the courts of appeal to order a stay of execution so that Z can continue to be thief while the righful owner suffers? This is the sorry state of the Malaysian judiciary that UMNO has corrupted. BN must be wiped out for the sake of Malaysia

60. #60 by taiking on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 8:52 am

And didnt najib declare that he will “solve the problem”?

Is this a part of the solution he has in mind? If it is then its is quite clearly improper and its practical result makes an utter nonsense of the laws and the nation – perhaps as ridiculous as the world famous line: “Looks like me. Speaks like me. But its not me.”

If it is then it is clear that najib has no regard for the laws. He is out to gain power by all means including crooked means. His fangs are out and his hunger for power is exposed. But fortunately for us this perak issue will kill him and the idiot who equate himself to gandhi, politically.

I call him stupid. His desire for greater power has turned into a national issue. Perakians will certainly get a lot of sympathy support from people of other states. The symphaty support will no doubt be translated into votes in elections. He has become a great liability to the country. (And umno too. So what are you waiting for? Get rid of him umno.)

61. #61 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 9:20 am

Correction – it does not end until the BN is kicked out – the possibility that BN can come back from this muck is just morally wrong…

62. #62 by wanderer on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 10:01 am

It is about time, the Perakians should come out in the open and do the Ganhdi or Martin Lurther style of protest…peaceful but, meaningful. Demand for People Power to be returned to the rakyat…and, not held by slimy politicians!
    Freedom does not come on a silver plate…it has to be fought for….

63. #63 by taiking on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 10:13 am

Dear negarawan,

Quite clearly, the stay does not makes sense to you. Its alright. It makes no sense to me either and to all malaysians. I bet the whole world is laughing at us for having to content ourselves with such senseless order. But its ok. Let me tell you a secret. As long as it makes sense to najib and the idiot-who-equated-himself-to-gandhi all is well.

64. #64 by Toyol on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 10:27 am

Don’t let this Zambry character get to you. Just treat him like a clown or an UMNO puppet. That’s all he really is, nothing more.

The proceedings in Malaysian courts continue to prove itself unworthy to be called world class judicial institutions. What it really is, a tool for the ruling coalition to cling to power.

65. #65 by mumzie on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 10:32 am

Uncle Lim, do Perak rulers has any emergency ‘CONSTITUTION’ like in Nizar vs Zambry’s case. I’m sure the Sultan can do something for his Rakyat to call by-election.

66. #66 by Johorean on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 10:33 am

Don’t worry, we the citizens has already seen what had happened and this useless so-called Dr Zambry can keep his MB post all he wants but come GE13, he can start packing together with our “1Malaysia” creator. Short term gain long term lose…what a no brainer.

67. #67 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 11:31 am

I have been pondering the stay of execution order particularly the argument by Cecil Abraham that its necessary to stop Nizar from asking for disolution of assembly and fresh election.

Since when is having election INHERENTLY WRONG??? So what is wrong about Nizar being abled to dissolve the assembly and having fresh elections even if they argue BN Perak is the legitimate govt? How are they deprived of their rights by going back to the people?

How did we come to the stage where TRUE DEMOCRACY is assumed to be WRONG???

68. #68 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 12:59 pm

Zambry needs to learn this from Gandhi … Gandhi was torn by the quest of the Muslim leaders to break India apart. He was willing to give the premiership to a MUSLIM to ensure that the nation was not torn apart but obtain independence as ONE nation.

Zambry a Gandhi? ROFL!!!

69. #69 by BenMoses on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 2:31 pm

Zambry Abdul Kadir has likened himself to Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela. Why not add Martin Luther King. You are not even worthy enough or the least to say fit to stand next to them and untie their sandals. Those great leaders were never power crazy people. Unlike you and the rest of the BN goons. Our very own Karpal Singh, Lim Kit Siang and other opposition leaders have struggled, fought, faced humiliation in the name of justice, corruption and democracy in this country for years and some of them have even been to prison. Our own opposition leaders are great but they never claim themselves to be like Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela.

Shame on you stupid Zambry

May the Lord show his great love and mercy on the people of Perak and justice will prevail. God is the judge, not humans.

70. #70 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 2:54 pm

Big Joe … what Cecil Abraham tried to show is this. If the stay were not granted, then Nizar will call for a dissolution and Zambry’s appeal will become academic. Its not about right or wrong.

Actually, I am shocked to see a lawyer of his standing say that. Its lame. Who cares if it becomes academic … if I am not mistaken even LKS has experienced this when his case against Petronas was all settled by parliament passing an act to cover the issues.

It only concerns Zambry because he wants to win and write history

71. #71 by kerishamuddinitis on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 10:26 pm

TRUE DEMOCRACY is judged to be WRONG!
    The CONSTITUTION is not worth the paper it is written on.
    A clown like Zambry can liken himself to Mandela and Gandhi.
    The police can act as the strong arm enforcers of politicians.
    For the 1st time in the history of Malaysia, the police have invaded the august chambers of the Assembly.
    The Speaker is muscled out, dragged out by the police.
    The PM says ‘respect the law…’ then promptly ignores a legal judgement and shows his underlings precisley how to undermine the Judiciary, yet again.

This is the 1MALAYSIA Malaysians can look forward to.

May Allah protect us from the evil that is gushing out from these people…and help Dumbry to realise that he is at the very best a Dumbdela and a Dumbdhi!

72. #72 by ekans on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 10:37 pm

On 13/5/2009 at 04:21.40, chengho said:
    Why Zambry wanna be some body else ?…….
    you can never satisfy DAP…….

The Pangkor ADUN had said it himself in his own blog, more to his own satisfaction than DAP’s…

On 13/5/2009 at 04:21.40, chengho said:
    unless if u are velocity engineer like Nizar a cross between Kit and Anwar…. in Anwar word …. nepotism….LGE and Azzah….

Don’t forget the Pekan MP and his Home Minister cousin, plus the old doctor and his MITI Deputy Minister son…

73. #73 by kerishamuddinitis on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 11:08 pm

Chengho,
    Yes, Zambry DOES want to be somebody else…

at least he wants us to think so…but I can only conclude that based on the on-going shenannigans of Born Nincompoops, Zambry can be Dumbry…and the best he can hope to be is a Dumbdela and a mindless Dumbdhi. Afterall, he is caught in a ‘sure-lose’ situation:

lose and Nizar is MB, the MB Perak people want
    win and the entire nation condemns the way he won…

Only the Born Nincompoops and Utterly Moronic Nincompoop Organisation cannot gauge the feelings of the rakyat…308 all over again but now TSUNAMI 2 will finish off what TSUNAMI 1 started!

74. #74 by TheOwl on Saturday, 16 May 2009 - 7:18 pm

I think the nincompoop mamak said he was like IDI AMIN. Like Idi Amin, he also has black skin and is power crazy. typo error in the papers. DO NOT drag the good names of Ghandhi and Mandela in. that SWINE/PIG impostor is NOT even worth the dust they tread on!!! I won’t even let him smell my asshole haha.

Hey, mamak zombie, the people of Perak hate you and can’t wait for you to get lost! Najib is afraid of a re-election bcs he knows Nizar and PR are going to win BIG this time. (When I see those weak,sensual lips I feel SICK to the pit of my stomach and do I hate Najib’s f…… face!).

The Sultan’s hands are now tied by dirty money and even if he wants to redo his moment of weakness he can’t now.

I guess the only way the people of Perak can bring back democracy is to start a REVOLUTION! Now what we have in Perak is a DEMON CRACY!!!!!