Zambry should stop being a “caveman” Mentri Besar of Flintstones era and wake up to the age of Internet and new media

Two online media reports on the preparations taken by the usurper Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Zambry Abdul Kadir for the illegally-convened May 7 Perak State Assembly meeting expose the mentality not only of the Perak Barisan Nasional leaders but also of the handful of civil servants acting in cahoots with them.

The Malaysian Insider in its report “New media rules for May 7 Perak assembly”, reported that only 13 media organisations will be allowed to cover the Perak State Legislative Assembly when it is held on May 7.

The Malaysian Insider reported:

A media notice was sent out by the state Information Department to several media companies yesterday informing them of the tightened security measures.

The notice stated that only 13 media groups in the list would be allowed to cover the entire duration of the assembly from May 7 to 13.

The 13 listed are television stations RTM and BernamaTV, TV3 and newspapers The Star, New Straits Times, Berita Harian, Utusan Malaysia, China Press, Sin Chew Daily, Nanyang Siang Pau, Tamil Namban, Tamil Nesan and national news agency Bernama.

The notice also limited the number of media workers to two people from each organisation: one reporter and the other a photographer.

The only exceptions made were to state-owned television stations RTM, BernamaTV and Umno-linked private station TV3, which are allowed to send in three people each.

Media organisations barred from covering the May 7 Perak State Assembly include Bahasa Malaysia papers like Sinar Harian, Metro, Kosmo; English daily the Sun, the Edge Financial Daily, the Malaysian Reserve; Chinese dailies like Guang Ming Daily, Kwong Wah Yit Poh, Oriental Daily; Tamil press like Makkal Osai; television stations like NTV7, NTV7 Chinese and 8TV Chinese.

All online media organisations are barred, including Malaysiakini, Malaysian Insider, The NutGraph, Merdeka Review, Therocknews, etc. All foreign agencies and media, whether Reuters, AFP, Associated Press, Bloomberg, Jiji Press, CNN, BBC and Al-Jazeera are also barred.

And a total ban on all bloggers – the quintessence of the new media!

Those responsible for such a disgraceful and reactionary press directive to bar all online media and foreign agencies, as well as many local print media betray the cave mentality and mindset of the stone age fearful of the light, exposure and the Internet.

Zambry and his press handlers do not understand how the media works, don’t care how the media operates, are mortally frightened of the media and even more so with regard to the Internet media.

Let me remind Zambry to stop being a “caveman” Mentri Besar of the Flintstones era and wake up to the age of the Internet and the new media.

The media restrictions of the usurper Zambry administration runs contrary to the public pledge of support for “a vibrant, free and informed media” made by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak in his first week in office.

Malaysiakini in its report “Perak state secretariat lockdown, again” reported that “Security would be severely tightened at the Perak state secretariat building during the crucial state assembly sitting next month, from May 6 until May 11”.

It states:

The state secretariat building, which houses the assembly hall and government offices, would be off-limits to members of the public during the duration.

Floors with access to the state assembly hall will also be off-limits to state secretariat staff that do not possess special permission.

The police would be cordoning off the building, while only a small number of journalists and three television crews would be allowed to cover assembly proceedings, which starts on May 7.

This is the second lockdown in three months. The first was to prevent an emergency sitting called by speaker V Sivakumar from being convened, resulting in the sitting being held under the now famous ‘democracy tree’.

Only three days ago, Najib was talking about revamp of the civil service and to hire “the best of the best in talent and expertise for the sake of the people”, but in Perak we are seeing the bane of having “the worst of the worst” in scraping the bottom of the barrel when top civil servants in the state blatantly compromise their most important qualities of political neutrality and impartiality.

Why has the Perak State Secretary Abdul Rahman Hashim issued the directive to lockdown the State Secretariat and the State Assembly for next week’s State Assembly meeting, turning the State Assembly into a security prison, as if the whole area has become a “war zone”?

Yes, there is a three-month old political and constitutional crisis and stalemate in Perak, complicated by the nightmare faced by the usurper Mentri Besar and his State Exco as to how to remove the most famous Speaker in the Commonwealth, the Perak Speaker V. Sivakumar.

The reason why the Zambry administration is confronted with the conundrum of how to remove the Perak Speaker is very simple and basic – the illegitimate origin of Zambry’s take-over as MB, as it is the result of an unethical, undemocratic, illegal and unconstitutional power grab which have sullied the credibility and legitimacy of Najib as Prime Minister and the international reputation of the country as a democracy.

But how Zambry is to resolve the problem to remove the Perak Speaker is a matter to be resolved by the political leaders, in particular the Perak State Assembly members, as it is no business of the government servants whether the Perak state secretary or a renegade Perak State Assembly clerk to get into the political battleground to try to help Zambry consolidate his illegal grab for power.

If extra security measures should be taken when the Perak State Assembly meets, it should be the decision of the Speaker or at least in consultation with him. But this was never done whether by the Perak State Secretary or the renegade Perak Assembly clerk.

If there should be a directive on media coverage of the Perak State Assembly, it should come from the Perak Speaker or it is a contempt of the Speaker’s powers to usurp his powers to regulate the proceedings of the State Assembly.

1. #1 by ALLAN THAM on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 4:43 pm

This was Caveman Politician who dare not to see the open world or who dare not to let the open world to see what you do. It that any different fron one of our neighbor country which practice dictatorship?

BN keep creating joke and let the whole world laugh at us. What a shame

2. #2 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 4:52 pm

The misuse of power by the Perak State Secretary or the renegade Perak Assembly clerk in the illegal, unethical and unconstitutional power grab of Perak made these two persons good corruption suspects who are to be investigated and charged by the MACC under the MACC Act.

Pakatan Rakyat leaders should not let go these two corrupted civil servants if Pakatan Rakyat is to be given the mandate to form the Federal Government after the 13th General Election.

3. #3 by OrangRojak on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 5:03 pm

I hope you’ve had words over the family barbecue. Not all Pakatan Rakyat politicians have kept a clean sheet where profiling the media is concerned.

I don’t know what ‘allowed to cover’ means. Are they allowed to report / write stories about the Assembly? Are the State Assemblies video recorded for the public record? Are the State Assemblymen allowed to make their own recordings? So many questions!

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 6:05 pm

Reminds me of the Burmese junta led by Senior General Than Shwe who locks themselves off from the rest of the country by staying in their isolated capital, Naypyidaw.

Why? They fear the people.

5. #5 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 6:10 pm

YB Kit,

Please do not put in too much hope on Zambry hoping that he will be listening to his supposed-to-be political master, Najib.

Some political analyst said that Zambry would never obey to Najib wholeheartedly because he was Pak Lah’s man who had been handpicked by Pak Lah in early February 2009 in order to head Barisan Nasional’s plot in the illegal, unethical and unconstitutional power grab of Perak.

If Zambry’s attempt for the power grab of Perak is successful, then Pak Lah’s influence may return to Umno. If Zambry’s attempt is to be failed, then not Zambry or Pak Lah shall take the responsibility but Najib will eventually be blamed for being a useless man in politics.

If Zambry is to fail in the power grab, then Dr. Mahathir will put all blames on Zambry since Dr. Mahathir is the protector of Najib. Moreover, Dr. Mahathir did not quite trust Zambry since Zambry had ever been detained by the former IGP, Tan Sri Rahim Nor, in 1998 during the political rifle between Dr. Mahathir and Anwar Ibrahim due to Zambry’s showing discontent against Dr. Mahathir upon Dr. Mahathir’s sacking Anwar from the post of Deputy Prime Minister. Zambry was alway giving an image as a hardcore rebel in Umno.

No matter whether Zambry can successfully grab the political power to form the Perak State Government, he will still be facing a very tough political dilemma because he will be squeezed by both Dr. Mahathir and Najib like the ham in the ham burger, in view of his rebellious sympathy towards Anwar in the past and towards Pak Lah at the present moment.

6. #6 by chengho on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 6:13 pm

Another by election this time DAP turn , heard Manoharan of Kota Alam Shah resigned?

7. #7 by voice on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 6:20 pm

No, he’s not our MB, anyway its a good job by him, pushing them a step closer to the grave.

chengho, yeah, you want to compete in kota alam shah? or what are you trying to say here?

8. #8 by toyolbuster on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 6:24 pm

This KingKong will always be a KingKong even for the next million years when the Dinosaurs return. When Pak Lah took over, he had a half past six cabinet, but now, Mahathir is back as you can see with Najib’s herd of Donkeys. With half past six cabinet, at least Pak Lah could still depend on half of his cabinet to get some work done for the people. But with the entire herd of Donkeys, they are only there to serve their master. Zamry is only half donkey and the top half being an ostrich, that comes with a pea-sized brain.

9. #9 by OrangRojak on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 6:35 pm

Interesting analysis Onlooker Politics! But ground beef is what you squeeze between your buns in the famous sandwich of Hamburg. Perhaps you’re thinking of a bacon sandwich, but if you were I would have to protest at ‘the food of the gods’ being compared to those three.

10. #10 by ktteokt on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 6:55 pm

If the state assembly is to be conducted like a secret society meeting, I suggest they close all doors and discuss everything behind closed doors!

11. #11 by taiking on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 7:11 pm

Did the MF bar the public from the assemly? Oi but I thought that place belongs to the people of perak and not politicians!!

12. #12 by miles on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 7:15 pm

BN has made the whole thing disgustingly UGLY. It is truly shameful and I just want to puke.

13. #13 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 7:22 pm

“But ground beef is what you squeeze between your buns in the famous sandwich of Hamburg.” (OrangRojak)

OrangRojak,
    I think you may have a cultural shock when living in Malaysia.

In fact, the word “ham” carries quite a number of different meanings when being applied in different countries.

The explanation as shown in Wikipedia on “ham” is referring to the American context of situation:
    “Ham is the thigh and rump of pork, cut from the haunch of a pig or boar. Although it may be cooked and served fresh, most ham is cured in some fashion. Cuts referred to as ham in the U.S. are called gammon in the U.K. and Ireland.”

In Malaysia, you may not be able to find the true ham burger in some popular fast food restaurants like McDonald, KFC, Merrybrown, or Ayam Mas. Those smart restauranteurs who want to capture as much as possible on the wider area of market segments will target their foods on the theme of “No Beef, No Pork, No Lark but Chicken only.” Therefore, in my analogy of ham burger, I should have chosen an insensitive word “chicken burger” instead of “ham burger”. Ham burger may be a bit sensitive now even in the home country of OrangRojak, the United Kingdom. This is because many people have gotten the wrong perception that H1N1 has been spred through pork (inclusive of ham) due to the confusion being created by the words “swine flu”. World Health Organisation (WHO) already clarified that there was no strong evidence indicating that H1N1 had been spred from pig or boar to human. However, there were evidences showing that H1N1 had been spred from human to human. Therefore, to those non-muslims except for those vegetarians, those Seven Day’s Adventist Church followers or those Hinduism followers who worship Krisnah (The God of Pig), pork shall still be a safe food to consume until WHO says otherwise!

Anyway, thanks OrangRojak for reminding me to avoid using sensitive food to present a political analogy! I should say, “Zambry is going to be like a chicken burger, which will be squeezed by both Dr. Mahathir and Najib no matter whether he wins or loses in the Perak power grab attempt!”

14. #14 by OnandOn on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 7:52 pm

That were newspaper belong to caveman. I don’t buy/read them anymore. you can too.

15. #15 by lee wee tak_ on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 8:03 pm

if this is not a good enough reason for his majesty to let the tax payers and people of Perak to decide who administer their money and responsible for their livelihood then I don’t know what else.

16. #16 by LBJ on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 8:21 pm

I think Pakatan Assembly should provide real time update from the meeting. This will give the public fast update on what is happening.
    Many people will be assembling outside the building. Maybe we can arrange shoe throwing ceremony for zombie.

17. #17 by carboncopy on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 8:36 pm

Can we “armed” all Pakatan’s state assemblymen with small video camera?

18. #18 by OrangRojak on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 8:46 pm

Maybe it’s a shamburger.

Is there anything in law preventing a State Assembly from being held in secret? I would have thought it was an obvious candidate for guaranteeing public access to, even if the public in normal circumstances may not be interested. I could see a case for large numbers, certain categories of criminal and anonymous visitors being barred. If this meeting is not secret, then could the selective restrictions be challenged in court?

19. #19 by SpeakUp on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 9:32 pm

I am curious … the Penang State Government has also ‘barred’ some very pro BN/UMNO media from the state events etc. Is that fair? So Penang can do it but BN cannot?

I believe it is LGE’s prerogative to do that but then how come BN cannot also do it for Perak? Mr LKS … can you please comment on that and show us the difference?

This is like Animal Farm … at the end of the day it ends up like what we are fighting against. Why? Because we are fighting only. Come on … serve the people and leave the Federal Government to what they want to be.

The whole world says Communism is wrong, tell that to Cuba, China and North Korea. They are all doing well. Why? Because they serve the people!

I am so tired of the negativity from LKS, can we not see some positive things? From LKS himself I mean not that he is to praise BN. Let’s steer this ship and make it happen!

20. #20 by vsp on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 11:13 pm

What is the perquisite of a leader? If Mahathir, who has a Jekyll and Hyde spilt personality who managed to transform Malaysia from a respected nation into a pariah nation in a matter of 22 years, can be considered as a leader, then even a donkey in Bolehland can also be a leader.

Proof: Mahathir choose a donkey and it manage to swoon the electorate to give him 91% mandate to destroy the country further.

Maybe Mahathir can propose another donkey to be the cheerleader. How about chengho? After all this is Bolehland – the land of bizarre dreams.

21. #21 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 11:20 pm

“If this meeting is not secret, then could the selective restrictions be challenged in court?” (OrangRojak)

OrangRojak,
    It seems that the discussion will be directed to long-lingering argument of legal technicalities if we have to focus on the question on whether the Assembly meeting is going to be a secretive one and then on the additional question of whether the decision of selective restrictions being imposed on certain news media can be challenged in court if the meeting is not going to be a secretive one.

To me, the problem of Perak constitutional crisis can be simplified into a complex of moral issues. First of all, the three defectors should not vote against Sivakumar because for most Asian people, behaving like a traitor to comrades is a deadly sin. Secondly, the Sultan of Perak should not have permitted the political defection to become a fruitful exercise which would result in much political gain in favour of the defectors because the moral value of promoting loyalty and despising defection is the essence for building a long-term relationship between the monarch and the subject. The Royalty’s refusal to listen to the petition of the majority people for requesting the Sultan to exercise the prerogative to dissolve the State Legislative Assembly in order to discourage political defection had disappointed many loyal subject of Perak. Many loyal subject indeed found that it did not pay to pledge loyalty and give high respite to the monarch because the monarch showed no mercy by turning deaf ear to the petition of the subject.

The Sultan of Perak has already done some unseeming things which may devastate the loyalty bond of the subject towards the monarch and hence put the system of constitutional monarchy into a danger of highly unstable situation. Most loyal subject have suddenly found that they have lost their hope in seeking for protection since they feel that have no one else to cling to when the ruler does not respond to their demand when they are in needs of protection from the ruler. The Sultan himself has created a big moral hazard. This is the core problem of the Perak constitutional crisis.

22. #22 by aiD_kamikuP on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 11:25 pm

In Bedrock, Fred Flintstone and Barney Rubble keep up with events unfolding watching them on their ever reliable, and shall we say independent TV news telecast. Meanwhile Wilma and Betty chat using the Internet.
    This ‘Rocks-in-his-head’ usurper who is in bed with 3 fetid scumbags of silverland does not even deserve the right to say YABBA-DABBA-DOO.
    He is just bringing people back to an age where even Fred and Barney would read in their archaeology books.

23. #23 by LBJ on Friday, 1 May 2009 - 11:27 pm

Since all institutions in Perak are suffering from dysfunctional erections that even political viagra cannot fix, then it is time for home cure. An anarchist pill or two might give the shock needed to kick the organs back to life.

24. #24 by limkamput on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 12:00 am

If we see events unfolding in Perak, the issue is really the difference between power and authority. In civilised society, it is really the exercise of authority that matters. The Speaker and the State Assembly obviously have certain inherent authority, but the evolving events have clearly shown that they have no power. Power is raw, animalistic and illegal. Whoever has the barrel of gun and the administrative machinery shall have power. This is fundamental. Are we still a country based on law and constitution? Are our politicians or people in positions starting to exercise power rather than authority?

May be there are politicians among us who think it is possible for Malaysia to be like Myanmar. Aung San Suu Kyi won the popular votes handsomely but nothing happened and the world just watches and continues to give lip service support. Is it possible for Malaysia to be like Myanmar and we Malaysians like Burmese?

I see many talk like heroes here. But when push comes to shove, I wonder whether i will be an ostrich?

25. #25 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 12:48 am

“I see many talk like heroes here. But when push comes to shove, I wonder whether i will be an ostrich?” (limkamput)

limkamput,
    How do you define “hero”? Is the Secretary-General of the dissolved Malayan Communist Party, Mr Chin Peng, a hero by the measurement of your standards?

Unfortunately, Chin Peng already surrendered to the former deputy IGP of Malaysia, Rahim Nor, in December 1989. Although Rahim Nor was seen as a disgusting father of police brutality after he assaulted Anwar Ibrahim in the police lockup in 1998 in his working capacity as the IGP of Malaysia, at least some ex Communist members of Malayan Communist Party who had been put under 2 years’ ISA detention upon their surrendering to the Royal Police of Malaysia would still see Rahim Nor as a person who honoured his own words because after two years’ ISA detention, the ex Communist members were then given the Malaysian citizenship based on the recommendation of Rahim Nor.

However, how does the outdated hero, Chin Peng, see the Barisan Nasional Government under the administration of Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Najib? I believe Chin Peng sees Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Najib as the oppressor who refused Chin Peng’s rights of returning to Malaysia and the rights of being granted a Malaysian citizenship as promised by the Barisan Nasional government under the administration of Dr. Mahathir. I wonder whether Chin Peng will regret for his signing on behalf of the dissolved Malayan Communist Party a peace treaty with Rahim Nor and then paving way for the surrender of some ex Communist members to the dishonest Barisan Nasional government.

As for now, I could be surely confirming that most Perakian people already regretted that they had been pledging their unfruitful loyalty to the unappreciative ruler!

26. #26 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 1:00 am

Onlooker Politics, you need Scarlet O’Hara again.

27. #27 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 1:08 am

Yes, OrangRojak, after all… tomorrow is going to be another day! But Chin Peng is already in his age of 85 years now!

28. #28 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 3:05 am

All PR Assemblymen should take extra care in case there are parties out there who might wish to prevent them from being able to attend the Assembly on the 7th. Be extra careful. Ensure their safety.

29. #29 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 6:10 am

Media restrictions are imposed to prevent independent coverage but what’s the considerations behind this? Who do they expect to be embarrassed by the likely farcical proceedings of that day that ought not to be independently/objectively covered – BN MB Zamri or PR Speaker Sivakumar ? Is this end game for Siva, will he be physically carried out of the Assembly?

We know that the new media restrictions are imposed by the State information department. It controls State Secretariat and justifies restrictions/lock down ostensibly on security concerns. However Perak Legislative Assembly is housed within state Secretariat building. Isn’t the Legislative Assembly still the “turf” of the Speaker Siva for so long he has not yet been removed? What happens if Speaker Sivakumar invites media not issued passes to attend? Am I to understand that Speaker has no power to direct whosoever guards responsible for security of the Legislative Assembly Chambers to, open its doors to all with media accreditation? Maybe the Legislative Assembly’s proceedings will turn farcical. No not over seating arrangments-yet. Datuk Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir and Cohorts will move motions of (i) confidence on Zambry as MB and (2) No Confidence on Sivakumar as Speaker.

Siva will then deny motion (1). Siva will argue that The Federal Court had on 28th April directed the dispute between Zambry and Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin on who is the rightful Perak Mentri Besar to be heard and determined by the High Court. As the High Court has not yet decided on this issue whether Zambry is legitimate MB, it is premature – and nonsensical – for the Legislative Assembly to proceed presumptiously to consider a motion of confidence on Zambry as MB when the earlier question of whether he was validly appointed MB over Nizar has not yet been determined with legal finality by High Court. To add to the confusion, Zambry will then cite Article 72 of Constitution and NH Chan that validity of legislative proceedings cannot be questioned by the Court! :)

Next Siva will then deny motion No 2 of he being considered for replacement as Speaker by former Sungkai assemblyman MIC Datuk R. Ganesan. Siva would cite as reason for denial the same reason why if Zambry has not been determined by High Court as valid MB, neither he could move the motion for Speaker’s replacement nor secure his cohorts to vote on it. the other second reason Siva will argue is that there is no provision under Perak Legislative Assembly’s standing orders for a Speaker’s replacement under such disputed circumstances. Siva will argue that a Speaker like him can always reject the motion, even one to replace himself. For any ruling by the speaker, whether on a matter of interpretation or any practice, is final as stated in the Standing Order 89 of the Perak state legislative assembly. Zambry will argue that Siva could not make such a ruling as speaker : since motion concerns him being replaced he must step aside for Deputy Speaker to take over to interpret and make ruling. This is because no man can be judge of his own cause. It is conflicts of interest to permit him to so so. Siva wants to tell Zambry that if he does not believe what Siva says, they can always call off meeting and go back to courts to interpret standing orders but Siva hesitates in case Zambry cites NH Chan again on article 72 – that Court are excluded from reviewing Legislative Assembly proceedings including Speaker’s interpretation of standing orders. :)

Siva will refuse to vacate the Speaker’s seat. The ‘MB’ will request Assembly’s sergeant to physically dislodge the Speaker. The Speaker will in turn ask the guards to dislodge the MB (since his appointment has not been legitimised by High Court). The not so educated guards will be confused as to whose instructions to follow. Meanwhile PR & BN aduns will be howling at each other, maybe even engage in fist fights! The Reporters are sniggeriing at the farce developing in the August chambers. Zambry pats himself. Luckily he has forsight to bar independent reporters. If truth be reported, everyone will be a laughing stock, he says to himself! :)

30. #30 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 8:46 am

In terms of photo opportunity, this is equivalent of being there when Christ was taken away by the Roman soldiers or Muhammad being driven from Mecca. Each photo taken, if spread around during the next GE with the similarities pointed out, would negate anything that BN can do over the next 3 years.

31. #31 by limkamput on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 9:05 am

The great wannabe said:
    The not so educated guards will be confused as to whose instructions to follow.
    ——————————-

The guards will know exactly what to do despite not as educated as you said.

When we need to go into minute details of procedures, rules and regulations to perform certain constitutional, legislative or even administrative functions, it is a clear indication that civil society has broken down. Perak is no longer a state of law and constitution. Renegade Politicians are now exercising raw power, not authority. Hence, Siva has lots of authority but no power, period. He has no power to do anything now. We shall see whether what I am saying is right. On the other hand, Zambry, has no authority, but has every power to do anything. Again we shall see.

To you nincompoop wannabes out there, so you think exercising government functions are merely laws and constitutions. How wrong can we be? Ultimately, it is whoever who control the machinery, the barrel of gun and financial resources. Yes, the people have the ultimate power to decide as many would say. Please go ask the Burmese.

So don’t worry too much whether or not freer news media are allowed or otherwise. I think anybody with some grey matter would know what is likely to happen except some wannabes who must gave all kinds of meaningless zombies. The focus must inevitably be on “what can the people do” in the face of all the onslaughts by the renegade politicians, the administrative machinery, and the police.

32. #32 by limkamput on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 9:29 am

Onlooker Politics Says: As for now, I could be surely confirming that most Perakian people already regretted that they had been pledging their unfruitful loyalty to the unappreciative ruler!

I appreciate your courage but my advice to you is you better be more circumspect when you say things here. It is not like others do not know.

On whatever you said, please don’t blame third parties for no good reasons. As I have alluded to earlier, when in doubt, always go back to the SOURCE of power and things should become clearer.

With regard to Chin Peng, I have nothing to say. I don’t know the context and what you are trying to get at. I don’t usually read your postings because I find them uninteresting and not factual. Your opinion on Rahim Nor, the former IGP, is half baked at most.

33. #33 by kerishamuddinitis on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 9:33 am

Jeffrey’s account of the Assembly on 7th April is the 1MALAYSIA that will eventually be the reality in this country. That assembly session is just a forerunner of things to come. In the one breath, Najib promises a 1MALAYSIA while at the same time continues to deny the rakyat the will to determine their own government. And ture to what the people perceive of him as a two-faced doublespeaker, he continues to ignore the political impasse he created and accept that what he and BN did in Perak was wrong and thence to make a graceful exit from that mess as a good leader should to allow for a wrong to be corrected.

1MALAYSIA – sloganeering adspeak and public relations engineering devoid of the heart and soul for it to be truly the CHANGE the rakyat want!

34. #34 by Godfather on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 10:29 am

I saw an ad from LG that their latest phones now have a camera with 8MB resolution. Arm all PR reps with these phones, and have everyone turn the recording on.

You think mamak Zambri will be pleased with himself when videos of Siva being “carried” out by the police kicking and screaming are posted on YouTube ?

35. #35 by taiking on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 10:46 am

Orangrajak said:

“If this meeting is not secret, then could the selective restrictions be challenged in court?”

Yes. Possible to do so. Always possible to sue for anything. Its a matter of whether the court entertains the suit and grants a hearing or simply dismisses it summarily as a trivial action. File also for injunction to restrain sitting of the assembly whilst main legal challenge is pending. Spice up the whole thing.

36. #36 by taiking on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 11:43 am

Like a fool he shoots non-stop from the start line. Like all fools he too will soon run out of ammunitions. Errr. Correction. I think as a matter of fact he is out of ammunitions by now. Its a bit like the hundreds of sorties executed by the american forces in iraq at the start of the war on terror. Massive and supposedly destructive but not effective at all. At least the americans were firing real missiles and dropping real bombs. And not empty shells that strike with a dull thud and cause annoying little pothole formations along the way.

37. #37 by yhsiew on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 1:52 pm

To “build a democracy (that is) responsive to the needs of the people”, Malaysia needs a media that will “report what they see, without fear of consequence”, Najib said recently.
    ====================================================

Najib’s words are mere empty rhetoric without substance.

38. #38 by carboncopy on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 2:38 pm

The crystal clear difference between the Democracy Tree Assembly of the legitimate Perak government and the illegal May 7 Assembly of usurper and illegitimate government.

Democracy Tree Assembly was done in full view of public, press and the world (http://www.youtube.com/democracytree). Wherelse the illegitimate usurper Perak government is done under cloak of secrecy and closed to the public, press and international view.

Who is the legitimate govt? Its crystal clear.

C4PM, you can run. But you cannot hide!

Makkal Sakti!

39. #39 by frankyapp on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 3:35 pm

The Perak State Legislative Assemby,who is the legal controller ?.The Speaker or the MB ?. Presently,MB Zambry seems to be in control and is calling the shots.Legally speaking,is he oaky to do that ?. How about the Speaker,Mr.Siva,has he any legal right to stop such action from BM Zambry ?.I think in a normal case,the MB or CM can not hold a meeting in the State Assemby without the consent of the speaker . In this case,Zambry is seem to be getting on his way to hold the meeting.How is he allow to do it ?.Surely,zambry/Umno/Bn know they are not living in the stone age era ! But the question still,how and why these guys insisted to hold this meeting ?. Like I said and am saying again right here now that the Perak sultan started it {this political turmoil } and he should end it.The rakyat throughout the nation is expected HRH the sultan of Perak to do the right thing ie to disolve the state assemby.call for fresh election,thus conclusively ending the political impasse[deadlock} .This will give the Perak people/voters a new hope/wish to vote for a government of their choice.We say we are an elected democracy and it must be seem to be democratic in our ways and means otherwise we will be laugh at .

40. #40 by ctc537 on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 3:39 pm

All this goings-on will not help to improve the image of BN in the eyes of the rakyat. On the one hand, PM Najib wants to sell his 1Malayia concept, and on the other hand, he seemingly ignores the necessity of giving the mandate back to the people of Perak to elect their government. Soon people will have this etched into their minds: what the government say is one thing, one they actually do is quite another.

41. #41 by Yee Siew Wah on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 4:35 pm

Most mamak are double tongue especially that old senile despicable mamak kutty. They are real apportunists who will do anything to get to the top.
    And for that mamak Zombie in Perak, he will revert to stone age mentality to get whatever he wants. What a despicable bum we have in BN.
    However, Perakians must not let this Zombie to do whatever he wants. Come this May 7 lets give him and his cronies hell of a time.
    Also not to forget that 3 greedy friggies hopping and jumping around his Zombie.

42. #42 by lopez on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 7:48 pm

how did alamak came into the language

mamak

The more longer he has been a mamak, the more convincing he can be but many dont buy his rhetoric ways except some still blind and buta buta
    As for him there are no other type people to blame except where holds no family ties or kinships….actually he already won half his convincing ways….the rest is nearly done hands down…of course a drink with him at his cousin teh tarik stall.
    Careful with his small and little talk being his hallmark and expertly done in his brother brother ways…he is a trully natural with whispering schemes and malice into ears of his peers….bellowing for the might of the agenda…that can be either divine or colour version.

if you a sucker , he can even wear your underwear.

mamak two tarik …lekas ! kurang manis…ada dengar…kurang kurang manis..
    careful this time he may add some spit into your drink!

43. #43 by lopez on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 8:06 pm

that ong fella deserves a better deal, the nations denial syndrome starts during those times and still growing

, separate the idealogy and and look at the matter separately….

many of us could not been born at all, if the imperial japs met no resistance at all in those times.

whoever not have stories from their grandparents that hey have to worry of the white men soldiers and the commies and the imperial japs and their kempetai

whether you like it or not , that is our history.

44. #44 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 8:27 pm

Why do some commentators in this blog show so much impatient about Mamak and turn racist?

We are supposed to hate the sin, but we must still love the sinner! This is the basic religious principle which a religious person is required to follow even if he/she is to deal with a man who is full of the vilest sin in the world!

Dr. Zambry must understand that a PhD degree and the power in hand will not give him any glory in everything he endeavours if he does not seek his fame and power in accordance with a fair and righteous way in the eyes of God. Success through a crooked way will not last long. A long-lasting success, inclusive of success in political career, is only made possible when the success itself comes from the will of God.

If all evidences already pointed to the truth that political defection would never be an acceptable way for achieving political success in the eyes of God, then it would be much better for Dr. Zambry to give up his power grab effort from now on, lest the wrath of God would be too much and too heavy for us to bear and ultimately is to result in our pains and suffering in the economic purgatory!

45. #45 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 8:39 pm

If the Sultan of Perak is to reveal to the public that His Royal Highness has never given the royal consent for the convene of State Assembly meeting on 7 May 2009, then the meeting-call notice issued by the Assembly Secretary Abdullah Antong Sabri would be null and void.

The ruler is the key man for finding a viable and peaceful way to resolve the Perak Constitutional Crisis. In the end, it will still be the prerogative of the ruler on whether to listen to the voices of the subject or to listen only to the voices of several political crooks! Isn’t this prerogative the core matter which the ruler wants to uphold always whenever there appears to be an eclipse in the inherent power of the institution of rulers?

46. #46 by ShiokGuy on Saturday, 2 May 2009 - 10:08 pm

am sorry I cannot be there on 7 May 2009 due to fatherly responsibility for my 2 autistic sons. But I would want to be able to tell them in the future that I did contribute a bit toward 7 May 2009.

In the death of someone important, for example a member of the police force, a football team member or a family member. The mourning members will wear a BLACK ARM BAND. This coming 7 May 2009 is the death of something very dear to our heart, the people of Malaysia.

It will be the Death of Democracy!

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2009/05/mourning-arm-band.html

I have the Arm Band design there.. you may use it in anyway you see fit

Shiok Guy

47. #47 by Shahnon on Sunday, 3 May 2009 - 3:52 am

What’s the difference with your son Guan Eng in Penang? So far only Karpal Singh dared to ask LGE to lift the ban on NST. Why is LGE so afraid of the mainstream media?

48. #48 by TheOwl on Sunday, 3 May 2009 - 10:47 pm

Aiyah this MAMAK is just a modern-day PIRATE so he doesn’t deserve any consideration from voters. What’s the point? He’ll age before his time. When you sit on the throne that doesn’t belong to you, heavy is the head that wears the crown!

49. #49 by raverus on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 12:10 am

Normally barred means they are trying to hide something. So it’s either hes media literate or hiding something.