“1Malaysia” means “Arise Malaysians” or “Arise Malays”, “Arise Chinese”, “Arise Indians”,”Arise Kadazans”, “Arise Ibans”?

Although the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak announced that “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” is the overarching philosophy of his premiership, the two following headlines of two newspapers today illustrate the two extremes of interpretation of his “1Malaysia”:

1. “Najib – I am Prime Minister of all communities. Urges people to break race barriers to foster unity.” Sin Chew Daily headline (p 3) of Najib’s Vasakhi speech at Tait Khalsa Diwan in Kuala Lumpur yesterday.

2. “Bangkitlah Melayu – Bersatu hadapi tuntuan kaum lain yang semakin terlaluan”Utusan Malaysia front-page headline which carried the following three quotes on the front-page:

• “Dalam keadaan sekarang ini, orang Melayu berhadapan banyak cabaran semasa dan kita perlu mencari cara untuk memastikan kaum itu tidak berpecah-belah” – Syed Anuar Syed Mohamad, Timbalan Presiden Gabungan Pelajar Melayu

• “Penyatuan UMNO dan Pas perlu menjadi batu loncatan untuk mengeratkan semua rakyat berbilang kaum di negara ini” – Osman Abu Bakar, Ketua Umum Badan Bertindak Perpaduan Melayu

• “Kita tidak boleh biar sebelah pihak sahaja menang. Kalau kita nak penuhi apa yang mereka nak, jangan pula kita lepaskan apa yang jadi hak kita” – Datuk Seri Dr. Mohamad Khir Toyo

What would be the reaction of Utusan Malaysia and those quoted in the Utusan Malaysia report if the Chinese and Tamil newspapers have published similar headlines and reports of “Chinese Arise” and “Indians Arise” respectively?

In fact, these developments highlight the utter failure of the 52-year nation-building programme of the Umno-dominated Barisan Nasional/Alliance coalition.

Najib said yesterday that he would explain his 1Malaysia concept to his Ministers at the first meeting of his Cabinet today.

Does 1Malaysia mean “Arise Malaysians” or “Arise Malays”, “Arise Chinese”, “Arise Indians”, “Arise Kadazans”, “Arise Ibans”?

He has a lot to explain not only to his Ministers but to the 27 million Malaysian people!

1. #1 by clteh on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 4:35 pm

“1Malaysia.People First.Performance Now.” – sounds great, espouses much hope…..that’s about it I think. Shame on the delivery system, on the mechanism, last but not least on the custodians.

2. #2 by ALLAN THAM on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 4:41 pm

It was pity that no action action was taken against the utusan for being racist in its article to call upon Malay to act against other races! Why after some many years of independent certain quarter still want to play the racist card to capture and retained power.

Chinese will not have any urge to conquer any other races. More so we have been here for decades and will died here as well. Why can’t we work together for all Malaysian.

It is the leaders that should condemn this racist in the media. Am sure if other than Utusan who ask certain race to rise against other ISA will be used with no uncertainty!!!

I shall put this as my reason no to vote BN for 2morrow. DPM you hear me.

3. #3 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 4:46 pm

Talking is easy….. Is DAP really fighting for a Malaysian Malaysia???? Will DAP consider appointing Malays to lead the party and hold the senior positions? Will LKS,LGE, KS, GSD etc resign from their present post?

4. #4 by k1980 on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 4:46 pm

1Malaysia is nothing but a political slogan to fool the rakyat. Take a look at the campaign slogans of the U.S.–http://www.presidentsusa.net/campaignslogans.html

5. #5 by DAP man on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 4:59 pm

Utusan has been playing with the racial fire for a very long time yet it has not been able to influence the Malays to flee Pakatan to UMNO.
    The Malays today are smart to see through Utusan and UMNO evil designs and they will not prey to them.
    If indeed Utusan is influential BN would have won with a 2/3 majority in the last general elections.
    In any case the people cannot be influenced by any Bahasa and English national dailies.

6. #6 by Godfather on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 5:02 pm

Slogans, slogans, slogans….when will these people ever learn ? Just make a note of all the slogans, and then recall them in derisive laughter later.

7. #7 by ryan123 on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 5:20 pm

cintanegara,

When you cannot defend your beloved party, you choose to resort to attacks on others.

It is same like UMNO who is helpless in eradicating cronism/corruption/nepotism, they will resort to provoke racial sentiments in the futile attempts of gaining their losing grounds.

If UMNO sucks, just say it OUT and CLEAR. Save your precious time not to divert the attention

Btw. itt seems to me that Tunku Aziz is the DAP Vice President. We have various races in PKR, so as PAS.

UMNO? nahhhhh~~ name one and I will kowtow in front of u immediately. I only see UMNO’s malaysia in the greedy eyes of the politicians

8. #8 by chris chong on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 5:38 pm

YB, don’t fall into their trap.

let the malays in pakatan rakyat deal with them. tell anwar deal with them on this racist issue.

9. #9 by taiking on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 5:58 pm

See. You have only a book title without any content. Members of your party are filling in the contents for you and are hijacking your book title.

10. #10 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 6:04 pm

Is Najis trying to displease his UMNO members? Whereas UMNO members are screaming “KETUANAN MELAYU”, Najis is carrying on with his ONE MALAYSIA policy! Is his ONE MALAYSIA policy going to be done with KETUANAN MELAYU as its guide or is he going to drop KETUANAN MELAYU altogether? Just how can he achieve ONE MALAYSIA if KETUANAN MELAYU is maintained? Another instance of both at the far ends of the SPECTRUM with no compromise in the middle!

11. #11 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 6:17 pm

“Najib – I am Prime Minister of all communities……….”
    ========================================

Najib can promise 101 things but the rakyat only want to see one thing – that is action which speaks louder than words.

12. #12 by upholdjustice on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 6:18 pm

Cintanegara,

Yes, a Malay can lead the party if he is the most competent person in the party.But it is a pity that Chinese community here has much more competent people than Malay community even though Chinese are just the minority of the population.

You just want a Malay to lead a party regardless of their competency .You did not know that the government has wasted much money just to produce a Malay entrepreneur .You did not know that the majority of income tax come from the Chinese.

You did not ask your UMNO Abdullah to step down even if he was just a sleeping Prime Minister.How dare you ask Mr Lim to step down when he has tirelessly struggled in Malaysia politics for many decades !

13. #13 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 6:47 pm

“Bangkitlah Melayu – Bersatu hadapi tuntuan kaum lain yang semakin terlaluan”

Rasuah tak terlaluan ke?

14. #14 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 6:48 pm

Bolehkah Kaum Melayu bangkit dengan perasuah and pembunuh?

15. #15 by democrate on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 7:22 pm

Boleh ke bangkit ? tanpa TONGKAT?

16. #16 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 7:23 pm

“Bangkitlah Melayu” and all the related and associated statements to rise against the purported “challenges” made by the other communities.

I wonder why some quarters continually feel threatened and insecure when everything has been given to them on silver platters. I wonder why they keep seeing shadows, ghosts and bogeymen everywhere when there are none. Are some people just plain paranoid? Does this help Muhyiddin understand things abit?

17. #17 by ryan123 on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 7:29 pm

It is nothing more than a political move in creating a sense of fear among the malays in order to re-gain their support.

I am surprised that non-malay bumipitras are always left out of the context

18. #18 by ekans on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 8:05 pm

“Bangkitlah Melayu – “
    Ya, memang semakin ramai orang Melayu yang dah bangkit, tapi untuk PR, bukan untuk BN kepunyaan UMNO…

“Bersatu hadapi tuntutan kaum lain yang semakin terlaluan”
    Kaum mana yang semakin terlaluan?
    Adakah kenyataan ini sengaja untuk mengelirukan orang Melayu supaya mereka akan meyangka bahawa PR diketuai oleh kaum lain yang akan menindas mereka, dan oleh itu, orang Melayu patut bersatu dibawah BN kepunyaan UMNO untuk menentang PR?

Mungkin hajat sebenar tajuk utama Utusan Malaysia tersebut ialah:
    “Bangkitlah BN kepunyaan UMNO – Bersatu hadapi pembangkang PR yang semakin mendapat sambutan”

19. #19 by KennyGan on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 8:07 pm

Utusan Malaysia is owned by Umno and so like Ahmad Ismail, is above the law on sedition.

On the other hand, Karpal Singh was charged for sedition for merely saying that the Sultan of Perak can be sued in court which is a fact.

The selective enforcement of laws is something which sickens all Malaysians.

As for Najib’s 1Malaysia, let’s hope there’s real political will to realize it and it doesn’t become as empty and useless as Mahathir’s ‘bangsa Malaysia’.

20. #20 by ekans on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 8:21 pm

“Dalam keadaan sekarang ini, orang Melayu berhadapan banyak cabaran semasa dan kita perlu mencari cara untuk memastikan kaum itu tidak berpecah-belah” – Syed Anuar Syed Mohamad, Timbalan Presiden Gabungan Pelajar Melayu

Tuan Timbalan Presiden Syed Anuar,
    Pada masa sekarang ini, ada terdapat orang Melayu yang ingin berdikari dalam menghadapi berbagai cabaran hidup, tetapi ada juga orang Melayu yang masih hanya ingin mengharapkan bantuan dari kerajaan yang di pimpin oleh BN kepunyaan UMNO. Jadi, tidak hairanlah yang adanya jurang yang kelihatan semacam memecah-belahkan kaum Melayu. Besar kemungkinannya, masalah ini boleh diselesaikan jika ada peralihan kuasa didalam kerajaan kepada PR selepas pilihanraya umum yang akan datang.

21. #21 by mendela on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 8:26 pm

All such slogans were created by the hired speech writers.
    When Najis reads out those slogans, he himself does not even know what they actually meant!

How can we expect Najis to interprete such slogans correctly?

22. #22 by KennyGan on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 8:27 pm

By the way, what is our newly minted “Minister of Unity” touted as Super Minister by Gerakan going to do about this racist instigation by Utusan Malaysia?

23. #23 by fearforlife on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 8:31 pm

Malaysians helping malaysians. Chinese helping Malays.
    Who is trying to create unrest among the races?
    This is the video that really tells the real story of our people.

Kisah Benar Malaysia
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=82H8C8Ik-Ug

24. #24 by ekans on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 8:31 pm

“Penyatuan UMNO dan Pas perlu menjadi batu loncatan untuk mengeratkan semua rakyat berbilang kaum di negara ini” – Osman Abu Bakar, Ketua Umum Badan Bertindak Perpaduan Melayu

Encik Osman,
    Pada suatu masa dahulu, Pas pernah menjadi parti komponen BN tapi akhirnya ia keluar juga. Ia mungkin lebih berjaya jika UMNO berkongsi kuasa dengan parti-parti komponen BN yang lain dengan secara lebih adil dan saksama.

25. #25 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 8:50 pm

In my opinion, 1Malaysia is best interpreted as “Rise Up Pakatan Rakyat” as the one united political coalition which is bound to take over Barisan Nasional as the ruling party of Malaysia when the 13th General Election is to be held in Malaysia.

The Malaysian people urgently need Pakatan Rakyat to rise up quickly to become an equally important political party which can outmatch Barisan Nasional in Malaysia in order to provide an alternative which offers the comfortable level of competency and capabilities for forming and operating the governmental bodies at the local government level, the State level as well as the Federal level.

Allow me to quote the statement of YB Elizabeth Wong, ADUN BUKIT LANJAN, Selangor EXCO for Tourism, Consumer Affairs and the Environment:

“My only wish is to serve my constituents and the state to the best of my abilities and with the help and cooperation of the people, to make this state and this country a better place for all. The struggle continues, and our work has only just begun.”

Welcome YB Elizabeth Wong back from a short break to the government duty as the Selangor EXCO member. YB Elizabeth Wong has the full support from me personally because YB Wong has clearly expressed to the public a wish which is also my long-term wish even though I am just an ordinary Malaysian citizen who does not hold any official political post so far!

RISE UP PAKATAN RAKYAT! HIDUP PAKATAN RAKYAT! HIDUP MALAYSIA!

26. #26 by monsterball on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 8:51 pm

I am PM for this race ….that race.
    “RACE” is the word….twisted by Niaf Ton Rasa saying we all are Malaysians…..all are equal..he said.
    Ignore all what he said…and lets look at the ministers lined up.
    Are they equal?
    OK….let him bring back loosers…from MCA ..MIC.. Gerakan to ignore voters.
    Out of 28 ministers…he should have 4 from Sabah..4 from Sarawak…4 from MCA .2 from Gerakan …2 from MIC…and the rest…14 to UMNO BARU.
    That will show a sign..he maybe sincere.
    If he did that..it will scare the hell out of PR!!
    As it is…..it is all acting…all promoting UMNO…all programming voters to vote for UMNO BARU..in 13th GE.
    UMNO BARU politicians are all gone case…cannot change..just full of lies and promises.

27. #27 by ALLAN THAM on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 8:52 pm

A kangaroo court or kangaroo trial, sometimes likened to a drumhead court-martial, refers to a sham legal proceeding or court. The colloquial phrase “kangaroo court” is used to describe judicial proceedings that, the speaker feels, deny due process rights in the name of expediency. Such rights include the right to summon witnesses, the right of cross-examination, the right not to incriminate oneself, the right not to be tried on secret evidence, the right to control one’s own defense, the right to exclude evidence that is improperly obtained, irrelevant or inherently inadmissible, e.g., hearsay, the right to exclude judges or jurors on the grounds of partiality or conflict of interest, and the right of appeal. The outcome of a trial by “kangaroo court” is essentially determined in advance, usually for the purpose of providing a conviction, either by going through the motions of manipulated procedure or by allowing no defense at all.

28. #28 by sotong on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 9:27 pm

This is nothing new from Utusan………it’s most divisive, irresponsible and dangerous in a multi racial country.

” Search for the truth, respect your opponents and the end must justify the means “- Mahatma Gandhi.

29. #29 by kevchua on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 9:34 pm

“Bangkitlah Melayu – Bersatu hadapi tuntuan kaum lain yang semakin terlaluan”
    ===

Is this the sentiment of most Malays? Or the sentiment of one particular bloke in an organisation? Whatever it is, these people have been known to show blatant arrogance. It is my personal hope that the non-Malays do not resort to such childish acts. We have the right to be angry but a threat is a no-no. These people won’t change because they’ve the constitution to back them up.

The non-Malays have to show that we are more mature than them. We do not mind other people’s business by exposing their sexual matters to the public; we do not wave our keris; we do not threaten to suck the blood of the Malays in our convention. In fact, the non-Malays have been silently receiving one hit after another from the BN (particularly from UMNO).

It is my hope to see Pakatan Rakyat be different – I have already seen some differences but PKR needs to work out their internal problems. PR should not give an iota of a chance to BN bloke to find fault with us. PR is not as desperate to win as BN.

PR will win the hearts of the people not by shouting in Parliament, not by pointing fingers in meetings by being humble and by keeping all your promises, and by being honest and just. Shouting won’t get you anywhere

What happens when you fight fire with fire? Everyone’s house gets burnt down. We have already seen that too many times.

30. #30 by kevchua on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 9:38 pm

…an error:

PR will win the hearts of the people not by shouting in Parliament, and not by pointing fingers in meetings BUT by being humble and by keeping all your promises, and by being honest and just. Shouting won’t get you anywhere.

31. #31 by chengho on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 9:41 pm

Tunku Aziz is the Ali Baba strategy of DAP …peoples know which direction DAP heading to….even if lightning strike they will blame Najib…i am still waiting PR shadow cabinet?…

32. #32 by mumzie on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 9:53 pm

Uncle Lim, After what his Exco member said about the chinese as ‘pendatang’ now he got the face to say ‘one malaysia’. Ask Najib to bury his head like ostrich 3″ down the ground.

33. #33 by mumzie on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 9:54 pm

Najib just want to win the chinese heart or Najib want the chinese vote????

34. #34 by slashed on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 10:30 pm

35. #35 by ryan123 on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 10:37 pm

Cheng do,

A moronic statement (ali baba?) need to be substantiated with solid proofs.

I am waiting for yours.

Well I only see political/racial hegemony in BN

36. #36 by ryan123 on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 10:38 pm

I miss Jeffrey’s postings =\

37. #37 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 10:45 pm

The author of “Bangkitlah Melayu….” should understand that the Chinese and Indians are no parasites of Malaysia. They too, toil for the country and contribute their part towards nation building. Without their contribution and sacrifice, Malaysia would not have been what it is today – a regional economic powerhouse.

It is certainly not too much for them to claim a share in the country’s wealth and success which they deserve. The author of “Bangkitlah Melayu….” should stop been narrow-minded and myopic. It is wrong for him to treat fellow non-Malay Malaysians as unwelcome people and totally ignore their contribution and hardwork in nation building.

38. #38 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 10:58 pm

Oop!

‘stop been narrow-minded’ should be ‘stop being narrow-minded’.

39. #39 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 11:15 pm

“even if lightning strike they will blame Najib…” (Chengho)

Chengho,
    In the old testament of the Holy Bible, there is a chapter telling us that when many people got killed by lightning strike which sent by God to punish wrath, Moses’s followers put blame on those disobedient and stiffnecked people who had worshipped the Golden Calf and hence annoyed God for their idolatry practice.

There is legitimate reason for the Malaysian people to put blame on Najib even if lightning strikes on them. You may go ask Najib what sins Najib has committed so far, which seriously annoys God and cause God to punish we the Malaysian people with a curse of suffering from an economic hardship with no sign indicating any significant economic improvement in the near future!

Shall we all the Malaysian people with humility surrender ourselves to God now and pray hard to God asking for His graceful forgiveness due to our foolishness in giving consent to a power-hungry people such as Najib to practise Money Politics in his own party Umno and in allowing Najib to swear in as the new Prime Minister without going through the proper constitutional procedure of tabling a motion of confidence towards Najib in the Parliament? May God bless Malaysia!

40. #40 by ekans on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 11:20 pm

“Kita tidak boleh biar sebelah pihak sahaja menang. Kalau kita nak penuhi apa yang mereka nak, jangan pula kita lepaskan apa yang jadi hak kita” – Datuk Seri Dr. Mohamad Khir Toyo

Jangan takut, Dr. Khir. Jika Dr. Khir tidak dapat menang di dalam pilihanraya yang akan datang, Dr. Khir masih lagi berhak untuk menyara hidup sebagai doktor pergigian.

41. #41 by voice on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 11:39 pm

there’s a kind of thinking in umno, malay must stay united, cannot disagree to them, must obey them, cannot have a different mindset, they must stay together and “menentang” other citizens of different ethnics, or they haven’t realise we all are citizens?
    to cintanegara and chengho, you both have really narrow mindsets, otak tumbuh dekat punggung ke?

42. #42 by Jong on Wednesday, 15 April 2009 - 11:54 pm

Consult Perak MB Nizar, Najib!
    written by Jong, April 15, 2009

Perhaps Prime Minister Najib should learn from Perak’s Menteri Besar Nizar Jamaluddin! In 10.5 months he did what Malaysians see as the inevitable – MB Nizar managed to unite Perakians irrespective of party affliation, race or creed with his humility, fairness & sincerity, good governance and much professionalism!

Najib should get real, get down from his high chair and seek Nizar’s advice, he won’t regret it!

43. #43 by LG on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 12:40 am

What does 1Malaysia mean?

The definition of 1Malaysia given out by our PM is still obscure, unsubstantial and something still in the air.

He first needs to understand the multi-various view-points of all to realise the proper, all-encompassing and complete 1Malaysian’s vision of 1Malaysia.

With a necessity of a clear defined vision and the acceptance by all Malaysians of all races, religions, eco and social standing, can this vision be implementable, achievable and successful.

Rather presently it is defined according to the PM’s own limited knowledge, understanding and experiences that may be biased and erroneous, and including those consultantion and advices from his cronies.

Until then the 1Malaysia vision may instead cause further confusion, misunderstanding, distrust, jealousy, strive, rivalry and even wider division among the Malaysians rather than fostering understanding, tolerance and harmony with one another to achieve the unity of all Malaysians as the “intended” aim.

44. #44 by boh-liao on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 1:39 am

NR should just stop the bull sheet acting and sloganing. Just show us, his bosses, some simple right acts and right some wrongs.

For a start, just bring Abdul Razak Baginda back here. Tell us what was the justification of bribing ARB a whooping 115 million euro (RM541 million) during the acquisition of three submarines from the French-Spanish company Armaris.

We the rakyat, your bosses, want to know what value added services (besides having a great time romancing AS and sharing her with his bosses) did ARB provide to deserve that amount of money?

That money RM541 million can do so much to improve the basic necessities, like electricity, water, road, healthcare, education, of our fellow citizens and your bosses as well in Sabah and Sarawak. Instead, they are still suffering for the lack of basic necessities after >50 years of joining Malaya to form Malaysia.

We the bosses want to know WHY, WHY.

Why is ARB allowed to enjoy luxurious life overseas while two brave and loyal cops are to die for him and their political bosses?

Have a new and proper trial to convince us of 1Malaysia!

45. #45 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 1:42 am

ekans,

Mana toyol lagi minat cabut gigi. Cabut gigi berapa banyak boleh untung? Dah lama dah dia ‘cabut’ duit rakyat. Senang lagi banyak.

46. #46 by monsterball on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 1:47 am

Naif Ton Rasa went to P.street to mingle with the hawkers
    He went casually…to a Sikh celebration .
    He said…this is what UMNO is all about…no race discrimation. All are equal.
    What he did not say is..that … UMNO is trying hard not to be a racialist party now…and .ask all Malaysians to forget the past 50 years…race and religion dirty politics.
    But he did not say that.. Therefore..he is still bullshitting Malaysians.
    New tricks are thought out how to win votes. That’s what “1 Malaysia: is all about.
    SICK OF THEIR DOUBLE TALKS.

47. #47 by wvee on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 1:54 am

Suggest that we look for those who has yet to register as voters to register to SPR asap… We need to spread the news to the rest and vote BN out of the picture in 13th GE!!! Talk politics more often, even on breakfast, lunch and dinner table, no joke!

There are about 8 millions of Malaysian who didnt vote in 12th GE. If only 2 millions new voters turn up with a ratio of 70:30 for PR:BN, plus the the existing 3 millions, we are able to turn the results the other way round. We have to act quickly to teach those “CELAKA” a lesson!

RPK suggested BURN UTUSAN DAY…. WE BURN UTUSAN EVERY PUBLIC HOLIDAYS!!! No more visit to UTUSAN WEBSITE! BOYCOTT THOSE SHOPS WHICH ARE STILL SELLING UTUSAN! I MEAN IT.

48. #48 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 2:42 am

I have a feeling Najib is going to “sandiwara’ a bit. He will instruct his cousin Kerismuddin who now helms the Home Ministry to issue a show cause letter to Utusan Melayu for publishing the seditious article. Then the Home Ministry will announce the suspension of the Paper for three months. Next, when everything cools down a bit ( maybe after 2 weeks ), Utusan will make an appeal to the govt. to have the ban lifted. And …. You,ve guessed it…..the headline: GOVERNMENT LIFTS BAN ON UTUSAN MELAYU WITH STERN WARNING.

As regards the writer of that seditious letter, Najib will say: We leave the matter to the police. I trust their their professionalism. They will investigate and take appropriate actions if an offence has been committed ( ??????????????? )

49. #49 by pwcheng on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 2:53 am

I am not sure about the ethos of”1malaysia, people first, performance now”. But I am very sure of “WangMalaysia, money first, performance no way”

50. #50 by tupai on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 3:49 am

If you read deeper into the headline, it’s actually a cry of desperation. Pity them.
    They foresee they are going to lose big time in the next GE.

51. #51 by ekompute on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 5:21 am

Does 1Malaysia mean “Arise Malaysians” or “Arise Malays”, “Arise Chinese”, “Arise Indians”, “Arise Kadazans”, “Arise Ibans”?

Elementary, Dr. Watson! 1Malaysia means “Arise Najib!” He says this only because BN is losing popularity, and not from any political conviction. As you know, at one time, Najib was called The Fence-Sitter. He sees which way the wind blows and then follows when he is 99.999% sure. But he is smart. If not, he would have been out of UMNO Baru.

52. #52 by ekompute on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 5:23 am

“Performance now” simply means there was no performance in the past, even with him as Deputy Prime Minister.

53. #53 by k1980 on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 8:02 am

The economy is expected to record negative growth of -2.2 per cent this year. The rate of unemployment will spike to over five per cent in 2009, double the usual rate of unemployment. While the government continues to fool the people with fanciful sloganeering and total lack of foresight

54. #54 by blablowbla on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 8:23 am

chengho,

which school were you from?is botak hamid your school-mate?

come on,pls dont put plural to people,i can see that you are not a chinese,but incarnated as chinese,right?

55. #55 by Godfather on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 8:28 am

chengho is an UMNOputra brought up in the country’s non-meritocratic system that allows him to graduate with poor English. The only thing he has in common with the great admiral is that both are eunuchs. He doesn’t really understand what we say here.

56. #56 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 8:51 am

Its a freaking joke. It is dead even before it started.

In his first clarification of what he meant, he gives an example where basically he is asking the Indian community to trust him first when he is the PM with the lowest popular rating overhelmingly with non-bumis. In the same speech, he talked about performance and yet he says he delivered 80% of Hindraf detainee in numbers (not in quality mind you) and they should be grateful.

I don’t know whether he is delusional or just so full of his own crap. The disrespect for non-bumis and self-grandeur of his ideas is psychotic. No one in their right mind ask someone else to respect them AGAIN when clearly has a track record that cannot be trusted…

Seriously, I think the man’s mind is seriously damaged.

57. #57 by chengho on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 9:35 am

From RUMI for everyone,

how long
    can i lament
    with this depressed
    heart and soul

how long
    can i remain
    a sad autumn
    ever since my grief
    has shed my leaves

the entire space
    of my soul
    is burning in agony

how long can i
    hide the flames
    wanting to rise
    out of this fire

how long can one suffer
    the pain of hatred
    of another human
    a friend behaving like an enemy

with a broken heart
    how much more
    can i take the message
    from body to soul

i believe in love
    i swear by love
    believe me my love

how long
    like a prisoner of grief
    can i beg for mercy

you know i’m not
    a piece of rock or steel
    but hearing my story
    even water will become
    as tense as a stone

if i can only recount
    the story of my life
    right out of my body
    flames will grow

-rumi

58. #58 by cto on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 10:06 am

chengho Says:

Yesterday at 21: 41.23
    Tunku Aziz is the Ali Baba strategy of DAP

———————

Brilliant analysis but how exactly does Tunku Aziz profit from this Ali Baba strategy?

59. #59 by boh-liao on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 10:14 am

“Najib – I am Prime Minister of all communities. Urges people to break race barriers to foster unity.”

Sure. Let’s hope NR will be jantan enough to announce that Umno, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, etc are to be disbanded and merged to form a truly race-blind Malaysian political party.

Let’s hope NR will be jantan enough to announce that all VCs of our local public universities will be appointed based on race-blind meritocratic selection, rather than the current Umno-reward system.

Malaysian Malaysia! Boleh kah?

60. #60 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 10:30 am

One People, One Nation, One Singapore

Hmmm, sounds familiar…

61. #61 by ekans on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 11:11 am

Ali-Baba strategy?

People of different ethnic origins working together for a common goal?

62. #62 by Lexus on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 12:21 pm

IMPOSSIBLE & RIDICULOUS. 1 malaysia??? — —laughable!!!

Malaysia is a democratic country,
    BUT why stil got 2 political parties (DAP & PKR)
    fight for JUSTICE???
    Our “democratic” government never obligated to treat all the races in our beloved country EQUALLY. yes, NEVER!!! why??????
    Simply bcos UMMO dun understand d justice value taught by the their Koran.
    Shame!!!

63. #63 by zak_hammaad on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 12:23 pm

UMNO is mainly a Malay party looking after the interests of the Malays. MCA is mainly a Chinese party looking after the interests of the Chinese. MIC is mainly an Indian party looking after the interests of the Indians. There are a dozen coalition partners that make up the BN, so I don’t understand why some quarters are trying to sensationalise this issue!

1Malaysia concept as far as I understand it, is simply promoting cross cultural and racial awareness and values to more fully integrate and incorporate a ‘national agenda’ for development and progress in terms of the economy and social stability first and foremost.

What Najib’s recent elaboration shows is that perhaps the general rakyat itself is not mentally ready nor sophisticated enough to break away from the ‘ethnic prison’ and work together as one team regardles of their racial differences. Prosperity in diversity is a cliche that has been successfully adapted in a number of developed countries. Malaysia should be no different if its citizens truly want to chart a prosperous future for itself.

64. #64 by Lee HS on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 12:45 pm

UMNO has been indoctrinating the Malays that Chinese, Indians are “pendatang” and don’t want to acccept the fact that we are all Malaysians. The older genration of Malays believe UMNO full heartedly. This is because the majority are dwelling in kampongs living an agrarian life not affected by industrial development in the cities.

Howver based on the 12GE the modern Malays may not think so because Malaysians have to depend on each other to survive and progress.

Just look at the recent economic crisis, the Malays are out of job in quantity far greater than the Chinese and Indian. When a workshop went bust because of poor UMNO policies, notonly the Chinese suffers, the Malays too. For the urban Maly dwellers, they cannot turn to the farm for sustaining their livelihood. The Government do not have the capacity to create jobs for these unemployed Malays. So where can they go?

They felt the pain as the Chinese and Indian do. I believe they are more educated than their parents eventhough their outlook in life may be affected by Utusan Malaysia, TY1,TV2 and TV3.

If the Malays continue to be fooled by UMNO, then they have much to lose and nothing to gain in terms of their personally abd community development.

Hopefully we will not end up a failed state and depends on piracy to survive like the Somali do.

65. #65 by kerishamuddinitis on Thursday, 16 April 2009 - 8:04 pm

Only Talk Kok of Money Can Accomodate must explain what he understands of 1Malaysia especially:

1. in face of what Putuskan Malaysia reported; now it simply means if Malays unite under Unequalled Moronic Nincompoop Organisation, then no Money Can Accomodate is needed. Therefore, OTK will no longer be needed and will sink lower than the rabid lapdog that he is. OTK and MCA will become the faeces underfoot!

2. and what can 1Malaysia be if Moo-heehaw-din can accuse Malaysian Chinese of being ungrateful, singling out a particular race for blame, when the facts are Rakyat of ALL races rejected Born Nincompoops and Malays rejected the Unequealled Moronic Nincompoop Organisation? So, how Only Talk Kok?

3. when DAP had for the longest time, as far as we can remember, championed a Malaysian Malaysia. Wiil Only Talk Kok be honest enough to help his lapdog members understand the differe nce between the 2 slogans?

(i) Malaysian Malaysia – the country belongs to ALL Malaysian citizens regardless of race; the OTHER is like the ONE CARD, 1Utama, 1+ growing up milk, 1 this and 1 that…also 1 IDIOT.

(ii) Malaysian Malaysia mean ‘UNITED AS MALAYSIANS’ as it’s core essence; the OTHER could well mean ‘Ketuanan Melayu’ if MALAY = MALAYSIA and therefore the ‘1’ is the symbol of supremacy of the defining race over all others.

(iii) Malaysian Malaysia gives hope to ‘pendatangs’ that we will finally be accepted as equal citizens of our country; and it gives hope to non-pendatangs that they will no longer exploit their numbers for their own profit and be aclled the 7% DISCOUNT race; the OTHER is STILL a numbers game…only 1 will benefit! As always…how, Only Talk Kok?

66. #66 by blablowbla on Friday, 17 April 2009 - 8:06 am

BANGKITLAH TONGKAT,

BANGKITLAH ALI,

BANGKITLAH TONGKAT ALI,

AWAL-AWAL PAGI!

MANA ISTERI AKU?

MAKSUD AKU,ISTERI YANG KE 3,

ALAMAK,DAH LARI!

LARI SEKALI DENGAN SAYANGKU MYVI!

:-)

67. #67 by ctc537 on Friday, 17 April 2009 - 1:02 pm

zak_hammaad Says:
    UMNO is mainly a Malay party looking after the interests of the Malays. MCA is mainly a Chinese party looking after the interests of the Chinese. MIC is mainly an Indian party looking after the interests of the Indians. There are a dozen coalition partners that make up the BN, so I don’t understand why some quarters are trying to sensationalise this issue!

The problem is BN is not seen to be functioning as a coalition of equal partners. If BN is so perfect like what you say, then there wouldn’t be so many problems in the country today. For example, why can’t the government treat Chinese and Tamil schools the way it should, like building fine school buildings with all the modern facilities like what is found in all national schools. Zak_hammaad, you can never understand how we Chinese love our culture and language so much. In Chinese primary schools, students are taught good virtues like filial piety, hardworking, (a prerequisite for success in life) self-reliant and enterprising spirit. That is why the majority of SMEs are owned by Chinese people, which provide employment for tens of thousands of non-Chinese. This fact alone is enough to convince the government to give due attention to Chinese primary schools.
    By giving money to Chinese schools only during by-election the BN has unwittingly insulted the Chinese, with MCA even taking credit for it. Tun Lim Keng Yaik once said of something that all Chinese can relate to – Chinese-based BN component parties are like beggars, having to beg for something that are their right under the constitution.
    If people like Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, Datuk Hishammuddin, Tun Dr Mahathir, Ahmad Ismail, etc, were to publicly apologize to the Chinese for their remarks that are hurtful to the community, I’m sure it would do wonders for race relations. To me, if they humbly admit their miatakes, BN would again command the support of not only the Chinese but the majority of Malays as well. Most Malays, I believe, would not think the lesser of them, but would probably feel very proud of them for having good leaders who are honest and human enough to admit their wrongs. I do believe most Malays hate to hear their leaders utter such unreasonable statements like ‘We Malays do not have to apologize for championing our rights’ for they also realie that the Chinee are also human beings and there is a limit to the humuliation and unresonbleness they can take. Malays are politically, UMNO strategy is usually taking a hardline stance against other races in order to gain support. But it doesn’t work this time round as both Malays and non-Malays have found a common alternative party, and thus entangle themselves from racial politics.

68. #68 by kerishamuddinitis on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 12:49 am

1NOW, 1Nescafe, Zak?
    1Malaysia is good for a laugh over a cup of coffee…coming from a man who once said he would ‘…bath this keris in Chinese blood…’