What is the Wow factor in the Najib Cabinet?
None on the positive side.
If any, there are the negatives, viz:
- Najib’s “backdoor” Cabinet – the first Cabinet in the nation’s 52-year history with the most number of “backdoor” Senators, 11 in all and comprising mostly of candidates rejected by the voters in the political tsunami of last year’s general elections.
- Replacement of one set of “old faces” like Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar and Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said but who have entered Parliamen by the front-door by a set of equally “old faces” like Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon, Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil, Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun and Datuk Dr. Awang Adek Hussin who have to get into Parliament by the backdoor of the Senate as they had been rejected by the voters in last year’s general elections.
- Parti Gerakan becoming “Parti Belakang” with its president having to sneak into Parliament from the backdoor.
It is laughable to see a senior Cabinet Minister yesterday desperately trying to justify and convince the media that the Najib Cabinet is a “lean” one, claiming that there had been a reduction from 32 Ministers to 28, when in fact it was from 31 to 29, as Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had a 31-strong Cabinet when he submitted his resignation to the Yang di Pertuan Agong on 3rd April while Najib is now heading a 29-strong Cabinet!
Najib said that “The era where the government knows best is over” and that “We can only achieve our ambition for Malaysia if the government and people, in a united effort, work together for success and progress”.
Yet the first thing Najib did as Prime Minister was to violate this important principle that “the era where the government knows best is over” by appointing the most number of rejected politicians in last year’s general election into his Cabinet through the backdoor of Parliament, a fundamental defect which cannot be cured by Najib’s claiming that he has formed a People’s Cabinet!
Tsu Koon has denied that he is a “back door minister” – given prominence by Star today, with the headline “’I’m no back door minister’ – Gerakan’s Koh defends appointment”.
My blog has received email of a media report (Sin Chew) in May last year with the headline, “Exclusive Interview With The Gerakan Acting President: No Back Door Approach”, quoting Tsu Koon as giving two reasons for rejecting any offer of Senator and Minister.
Tsu Koon quoted MIC President Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu that it was “going through the back door” if he accepted the offer as a Senator after being defeated in the general elections and that it would be “contrary to the true meaning of democratic elections” to become a Minister through a Senate appointment.
As for his ministerial portfolio of “Unity and Performance Management”, can Tsu Koon, who had been a Penang Chief Minister without power for 18 years and who had to buckle down to the demands and pressures from lowly Umno divisional and branch leaders, have the power to monitor the ministerial performance of UMNO warlords in the Najib Cabinet like Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein?
Would his writ even extend to the MCA Ministers?
Tell it to the marines!
If Najib is serious about using the key performance indicators (KPI) to “stress impact and not input, results and not output, and value for money” to monitor the performance of Ministers, this portfolio should be the direct responsibility of the Prime Minister or Deputy Prime Minister and not be entrusted to a fly-weight Senator Minister.
In the first place, is Tsu Koon able to work out and publicise a KPI framework to monitor the success of his other ministerial responsibility, to promote national unity, so that Malaysians can see the three Najib slogans of “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” translated into policies, actions and results, particularly in reining in the extremist and irresponsible racialist and religious outbursts by Umno leaders most recently manifested in the Bukit Gantang and Bukit Selambau by-elections.

#1 by Raitman on Sunday, 12 April 2009 - 5:00 am
Dear Samy Vellu,
Your time is up long time ago. No need to feel disappointed for your failure to get the Works Minister’s post now. You have no shame, is it, wants to main belakang? You have no support whatsoever from the Indian community in the aftermath of the two Bukits by-elections. So stop your pathetic lies about MIC getting the Indian votes in those by-elections, ok? You are a liability in MIC and Barisan, do you know that? Opps, sorry, I have to keep reminding myself again and again that you are donkey, who doesn’t know a sh@t about the meaning SHAME. You are merely a sour grape and jealous of your partners such as Dr. Koh Chicken and the likes in Barisan can masuk belakang, while you can’t.
No need to lead a boycott of Minister and Deputy Minister posts. I suggest you quit your MIC President’s post and lead the team to pull out of Barisan. But anyway, you are still a D.O.N.K.E.Y. to know anything what I’m trying to say.
#2 by Godfather on Sunday, 12 April 2009 - 8:10 am
Another backdoor minister coming to Najib’s cabinet – the one and only Diam Diam Daim. Mahathirism is going to be fully resurrected. God save our country.
#3 by ctc537 on Sunday, 12 April 2009 - 8:48 am
zak_hammaad,
You didn’t mention that BN and its component parties are alo ridden ith so many scandals and problems. I guess at least 80% of PR’ corruption cases have been investigated by MACC while only 10 per cent of BN’s cases investigated by MCC. Despite its claim of impartiality, MACC have been slow in dealing with cases involving BN people but terribly efficient when dealing with PR .
The bias views you present will impede the expansion of your analytical mind. I’m sorry. Frankly, I don’t think it’s appropriate to use words such as balls, cock, etc, in the comments by some people. In the comments to TDM’s blog, no such words are found.
#4 by yhsiew on Sunday, 12 April 2009 - 8:58 am
Incumbent BN ministers and senators hardly need to contest in the 13th GE as their big-boss is kind enough to open the backdoor for them to join the Cabinet even without being elected as MP’s.
Instead of wasting their time and energy to contest in the next GE, they do well, from now on, to please their big-boss in everything they do.
They should learn the lesson from Khairy J that even if they are elected, they may not be made a minister!
#5 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 12 April 2009 - 9:21 am
Re Najib’s Cabinet, simple – how can fresh water come from brackish water? Brackish water belongs to the cesspool. So it is with Najib’s Cabinet. That is, whether you like it or not, the plain truth!
Integrity isn’t a slogan. It’s a way of life. It emanates from a pure soul. Pure character. None of us have attained theat perfection. That is why we must have checks and balances. Here we have none. Everybody from Tun M, to Tun Abdullah, to Cjief Justices, to IGPs, to Son-in- Law (KJ), to UMNO Disciplinary Committee, to Ku Li, to the ordiianry man on the LRT and Omnibus says filth, corruption, immorality reigns in Malaysian politics. Yet there is no system of checks and balances. Najib is suspect. Muhyiddin is suspect, KJ is susupect. IGP is suspect. AG is suspect. Judges are suspect. Police is suspect. Now who is in charge?
Only Malayisa can have a One-Man economic council, One-Man judicial council, One-Man Prosecution Council, One-Man Enforcement Council.
The rot is so deep, you can’t and it is even futile to have a surgery. Malaysia simply must replace BN in the next GE. And then begin on a fresh new leaf. Period.
#6 by yhsiew on Sunday, 12 April 2009 - 9:58 am
How can Malaysia be called a democratic country when the Cabinet which exercise authority over the people are made up of UNELECTED sycophants, opportunists and careerists?
#7 by xseelan on Sunday, 12 April 2009 - 11:33 am
How come Samy vellu didnt get the pintu belakang entry……?
I guess thats y he is angry and MIC so called wanted 2 backout from the cabinet
#8 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 12 April 2009 - 11:47 am
DEMOCRACY IS DEAD IN BOLEH. BN can now do whatever it wants by totally ignoring the people
Is this what the people wanted, to pick up the rejected politicians as ministers through the belakang doggie style? BN has no idea what the people wanted. BN simply ignored the majority of people.
#9 by frankyapp on Sunday, 12 April 2009 - 4:05 pm
My dear Chaamp1,either you have been away from Malaysia for half a century or you are pretty too naive. Since Tunku A.Rahman time right up to the present, Alliance or BN,these politicians have never wished to share their power with anyone except their kind and pack.Why,because sharing power means sharing weallth.As ummno/bn leaders are power hunger ,wealth greedy and crazy,how would you expect them to share all these goodies.Moreover when you share power with your foes,you tend to reveal your own weakness.In umno/bn,one of their many evil weaknesses is corruption through cronism,scandal and hypocrisy. I hope this answer your question.
#10 by ringthetill on Sunday, 12 April 2009 - 4:22 pm
Seen it all. Shout some slogans initially to get some attention, nothing will happen, creep back to old ways.
Do I see a will to improve life for ALL?
Back to sleep….zzzzzz.
#11 by lopez on Sunday, 12 April 2009 - 10:00 pm
What pendatang?,
first go check who was in the treaty of pangkor in 1874.
#12 by taiking on Monday, 13 April 2009 - 8:57 am
Najib “the soak-kris-in-chinese-blood” prime minister punya style is to ignore voters’ wishes altogether. To him its “vote for what?”. Itu dia. Undi pasal apa? Tak guna. No use at all. Trust him. He knows best. Itu semua wayang. Semuanya entertainment saja. Bagi orang putih tengok. Bagi opposition shiok sendiri. Bagi voters shiok sendiri. Bagi umnoputra untung lima tahun sekali. Cetak ini cetak itu. Supply banner, supply kerusi meja. Hire van, kereta, bas dan banyak opportunities for quick gain. Itu dia makna election yang sebenar. Election has no other meaning. Betuul.
See perak. Undi. Undi. Undi. Tengoklah. Assembly man – ai yah beli saja. Macam kat pasar. Pilih mana yang you nak. Lepas itu beli. Mudah. No problem. Money. That is all you need. Beli saja. And see new cabinet. ..
Democracy? Apa itu. Celaka dia, buang saja dalam tong. Buang saja.
#13 by localgrad on Monday, 13 April 2009 - 3:58 pm
chow mee hun’s remark pre-308 while asked by reporter on her opinion on DEB:
AH?? I tot DEB was ended in 1990? isn’t it? We no more have DEB.
Her remark post-308 on Astro political forum/debate:
If not because of MCA, u all (chinese) back to China already la.
BRAVO! Najiss, u got this kind of useless pasar auntie to become your deputy minister! got shot
#14 by localgrad on Monday, 13 April 2009 - 4:00 pm
Najiss kichen cabinet— full bunch of LOSERS!!! rejected by the people but still can squeeze inside the shiity kitchen cabinet
#15 by localgrad on Monday, 13 April 2009 - 4:10 pm
KOH boh Tsu Koon, the other big time loser
1.lost in Chinese majority batu kawan.
2. cant make his chioce of next CM, dilly-dally king of penang
3. hiding in his cabinet while being attacked by penang UMNO goons
4. a CM yet cant handle a umno DIVISION CHEF.
5. Penang is out of shame after his N years of service
I guarantee u he will choose a malay majority seat in the next GE, most likely dollah’s vacant seat. He is KOH mei Zhi Gen (read in mandarin)
#16 by Toyol on Monday, 13 April 2009 - 5:23 pm
Goes to show BN/UMNO is surely going down the gutter. Voted out still got chance to come back. Same people, same old ideas…how to progress as a nation…SIGH!!!