Disgraceful 45-hr police “cat-and-mouse game” on Ganabatirau and Kengadharan’s ISA release

As of now, Sunday, 5th April 2009 at 5.10 pm, the two Hindraf leaders V. Ganabatirau and R. Kenghadharan,have still not regained their freedom 45 hours after the new Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak had announced in his maiden speech to the nation over television on Friday night at 8 pm that both of them, together with 11 other Internal Security Act detainees, would be “immediately released”.

Also despite the belated assurance by the Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Musa Hassan yesterday that the ISA detainees will be allowed to leave Kamunting Detention Centre today, saying

“They cannot be released immediately. The documentation process has to be completed first. We will release all of them tomorrow after the documentation process has been completed.”

The families of Ganabatirau and Kengadharan were made to wait for hours under the hot sun yesterday and today and have not been allowed contact to see them.

Ganabatirau and Kengadharan were taken out of Kamunting Detention Centre at 1.30 pm under strict police escort, without being allowed to meet with their families, and as at 4.30 p.m. the two police cars transporting the two in custody were sighted at Sungei Buloh, believed to be on the way to the Shah Alam IPD.

The families of Ganabatirau and Kengadharan, who had waited for two days outside Kamunting Detention Centre, had at first been told this morning that both of them would not be released from Kamunting, but would be escorted to their homes.

Now, Ganabatirau and Kengadharan are not being sent directly to their homes, but continue to be in police custody while being transported to police headquarters.

This is a most shameful way in releasing the two and most outrageous way in treating their families, which included young children!

Can the new Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak explain the reason for the police “cat-and-mouse game” with Ganabatirau and Kengadharan and their families when Najib had announced their “immediate release” under the ISA?

This is a violation of the three Najib thematic themes of “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now.”

1. #1 by DAP man on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 5:44 pm

The Police are surely mad with Najib for releasing the Hindraf duo without their consent.
    Remember how the police objected to the IPCMC and UMNO buckled?
    What can Najib do if the police continue to hold them back and rearrest them on ‘new evidence’ probably from Sri Lanka.

2. #2 by PureMalaysian on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 5:44 pm

Uncle Kit,

Don’t worry… as usual, the Home Ministry will furnish you with the “reasons” for releasing them late, tomorrow in parliament.

There is never once the BN apologize for anything they, as humans, might have done wrong.

Sigh. Pure Ego.

3. #3 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 5:52 pm

A police officer from Special Branch with an ASP rank used to advise me that if I happened to fall in love with a girl whom is also being loved by a police officer, then I would have better not to argue with the Police Officer on Friday. The reason is that each and every police officer has been given the power to detain any criminal suspect or eyewitness for assisting in criminal investigation for 24 hours. When someone is detained by the police on Friday, then he will have to wait until Monday morning in order to get the fastest release. In accordance with the standards of the Royal Police of Malaysia, permissible detention of “24 hours” without a warrant of arrest, when counting from Friday after-office-hours, means from 5:00 pm Friday until 8:00 am Monday.

Therefore, the two Hindraf detainees will most likely be released by 8:00 am tomorrow morning!

Why did Najib allow the release of only two Hindraf detainees while the release of the other three Hindraf detainees was denied? I guess Najib is trying to play a double-crossing game with Hindraf, a game which can only be played well by a real cunning person! Najib never gives up on Machiavellianism!

4. #4 by carboncopy on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 6:07 pm

Maybe the C4PM kept his word already. They are no longer under the custody of the Prison Department under ISA Sect 8.

“Immediate release” from ISA does not equal freedom in the C4PM’s vocabulary.

As they say, there’s freedom of speech in Malaysia but not freedom after speech.

5. #5 by kluangman on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 6:17 pm

Janganlah buat komen bodoh…

Ada procedure, ada peraturan, ini bukan Macau, kandang babi atau rumah pelacuran..

Polis akan hantar balik ke rumah kenapa perlu cuba buat provokasi di depan pintu penjara.

6. #6 by raven77 on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 6:24 pm

So now we know….the civil service runs this country….politicians including Najib are nothing….only because they now have no control over their own guard dogs….How guard dog will have respect….You suruh anjing sentinel kasi C4 Mongol….lepas tu kasi dia gantong pulak dan kasi best friend holiday dekat Oxford….

Najib cannoit function as PM…the Malaysian police and of course foreign intelligence agencies will forever blackmail him until Malaysia is soldout completely….I pity Malaysians

7. #7 by Tonberry on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 6:25 pm

kluangman,

Najib Altantuya sudah tipu semua orang, termasuk kamu dan saya juga. Kita telah diperdaya olehnya apabila dia cakap \immediate release\!

8. #8 by carboncopy on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 6:30 pm

“Polis akan hantar balik ke rumah”

Betul ke? Macam mana kluang(boy) tahu?

Bekerja untuk pihak polis? Atau Umno? Atau C4PM? Atau berangan mat jenin nak jadi CT untuk C4PM?

Hmm.. kluangboy nampaknya banyak pengalaman di Macau, kandang babi dan rumah pelacuran, boleh membuat perbandingan secara begitu apa orang putih kata authoritative dan intim.

“Irony” nasihat “Janganlah buat komen bodoh”

9. #9 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 6:36 pm

If the ISA detainees could be brought out of Kamunting Detention Centre, it would most likely mean that the high ranking police officer was readily available to sign approval on the release of the 13 detainees. If the Police is willing to release the 2 Hindraf men, then each one of them will just need to sign their name on a small piece of paper and complete the whole documentation process.

It is quite likely that the delay in the release may be caused by the unhappiness of some police officers. Why did the police insist that the 2 Hindraf men would be released at their own home? This is really a very strange arrangement. In normal practice, the police officer may just lend the detainees his handphone and permit each one of them 2 minutes to make a phone call to their family member. It really puzzles me that why the Police is so kind nowadays to want to give the detainees a free ride home upon their being released!

Is it possible that the 2 Hindraf men will be brought to a magistrate court and be charged for illegal assembly tomorrow morning?

10. #10 by lakshy on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 7:31 pm

No. I think the umno guys just realised it could back fire for them if the two Hindraf guys openly support Pakatan Rakyat foe the coming elections. May have more of an influence on all voters, not only Indian voters.

So they may charge them with something else and try to delay tehir release.

But the lawyers should check whether proper procedures are being followed, and bring pressure on the police if proper procedures are not being followed.

Cant be taking them home right? Some of them stay in Penang if I am not mistaken?

11. #11 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 7:31 pm

‘This is a violation of the three Najib thematic themes of “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now.”’ (Lim Kit Siang)

If someone who worked for Najib would also not be able to escape from the rule of law, why then should the Police listen to Najib?

What benefit would the Police get by listening to Najib if the two alleged murderers in Altantuya’s case would possibly not be spared their life should they have been found guilty of first degree murder in court?

May all the Malaysian people please ask this question for yourself to answer:
    1) Do I prefer the rule of man to the rule of law?
    2) Should Najib make decision based on his personal liking without consulting and listening to the advice of the relevant Official Committee which oversees the cases of detention under the ISA?
    3) Should the power of invocation the ISA detention and revocation of the ISA detention be placed solely into the hands of one single top politician by the name of Najib?
    4) Shall the power of invoking the ISA detention and revoking the ISA detention be taken as a political decision-making power and not as a legal enforcement power?
    5) Do I agree that the Prime Minister should be the ones who can overrule the Police Force and who is entitled the final say on everything pertaining to the matter of ISA detention?

12. #12 by One4All4One on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 7:56 pm

From themalaysian insider:

//Sokong BN jika 5 pemimpin Hindraf dibebaskan….
    Jimadie Shah Othman | Apr 5, 09 5:03pm

Sekiranya tiga lagi pemimpin Hindraf dibebaskan, masyarakat India akan memberikan sokongan penuh kepada BN dalam pilihanraya kecil Bukit Gantang, dakwa sepupu salah seorang pemimpin Hindraf yang masih ditahan di bawah ISA.//

Is the ‘sepupu’ of one of the Hindraf detainees serious in his pledge? Is he authorised to speak on behalf of Hindraf?

Is that the official stand of Hindraf?

Hindraf should and must come out with an official statement to prevent any confusion.

13. #13 by ReformMalaysia on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 8:10 pm

This shows that Najib has lack of credibility.

The people could not put too much hope on him.

He is good at playing political rhetorics to ‘KELENTONG’ the people to support him

14. #14 by gyp on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 8:23 pm

It is a CORRUPTED ACT to ISA release near the election day to attract vote to win the ELECTION.

It is a CORRUPTED ACT to approved grant of money near the election day to attract vote to win the ELECTION.

CORRUPTION! CORRUPTION! CORRUPTION!

It even allow happen for election campaign.

What kind of country is this?

15. #15 by yhsiew on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 8:30 pm

Najis is not sincere in carrying out reforms. The realease of V. Ganabatirau and R. Kenghadharan is to fish for votes in the 3 upcoming by-elections.

16. #16 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 8:37 pm

As I said yesterday, Najib is really a “Besok, Lusa, Mungkin” PM.

Don’t take him seriously. He’s only a “play-play” PM, a pretender.

Didn’t you see Najib-Mahathir-Pak Lah raising their hands in “unity” at the recent UMNO General Assembly?

Pak Lah’s already out. Mahathir was in the CENTER while Najib’s at the side. Why is the CURRENT UMNO president standing at the side? Why is Mahathir standing in the CENTER? Its telling, isn’t it?

BESOK, LUSA, MUNGKIN

17. #17 by ahluck on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 9:01 pm

i told you! i told you! police raja di malaysia – not police di raja malaysia. if the two jokers are not criminals, just release them under Najis order and then do the formalities! the apa nama must have bud in. this shows if najib say bring out C4…C4 comes out. now u know police are the thief of thiefs. yeh! apa i merepek ni! i sakit hati la with out malaysia law and order. please someone explain in details why and how this can happen. think i’m a stupid fool asking these.

18. #18 by ShiokGuy on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 9:27 pm

Only after the By-election? May be?
    Another carrot and we the voter become prostitute?

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2009/04/leaders-response-to-release-of-13-isa.html

Shiok Guy

19. #19 by gyp on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 9:40 pm

In the TV you can only see the BN election talking, and only those media attack the PKR allow to AIR.

Is this call fairness in election?

To me, it is so disguisting seeing these happen in TV, the BN is so dirty and disguisting from bottom to the top.

20. #20 by yhsiew on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 10:04 pm

Ridiculous democracy in Bolehland
    =========================

Ganabatirao free to walk, not to talk

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/22394-ganabatirau-gagged-for-a-year

21. #21 by distantmalay on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 10:59 pm

it is unfortunate that poor people are easily swayed, for the reason their needs are immediate and short term, hindraf have to think long term, otherwise they find themselves marginalized another 51 years, once bitten twice shy, they should make a long term but correct choice, and not try to leverage between their tormentors and their saviours.

22. #22 by distantmalay on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 11:09 pm

the same with our brethren in long houses, they have no land title, no electricity, and they are at the mercy of big corporations, but few hundred ringgit can buy their votes for the next five years, this way they will stay marginalized forever

23. #23 by wvee on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 1:09 am

Kluangman, siapa bodoh? Kau lah…

24. #24 by raven77 on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 1:15 am

Orang kampong maaa….so easy to con them….UMNO has been doing it for the last 50 years….and they will continue doing it….the cause of this country’s misery is the orang kampong’s political immaturity…..

25. #25 by 186 on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 1:34 am

interesting…..

maybe we should just pay the hindaf people what they want…

and consider the payment to them as one of the stimulus package…

26. #26 by 186 on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 1:36 am

Formerly this place Malacca was not a designated a ‘country’..There was no king of the country ; it was controlled only by a chief. This territory was subordinate to the jurisdiction of Hsien Lo(Thailand); it paid an annual tribute of forty Liang of gold;if not paid then Hsien Lo would send men to attack it.

In the seventh year of the Yung Lo(1409) the Emperor ordered the principal envoy the grand eunuch Cheng Ho (Zheng He) and others to assume command and to take the imperial edicts and to bestow upon the chief two strong seals, a hat, a girdle and a robe… Thereafter Hsien Lo did not dare to invade it [Ma Huan, 1424]

27. #27 by monsterball on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 1:48 am

That’s UMNO trademarks….unless you believe they have all change to be truthful and sincere.
    Yes…lets see how much more years can they fool kampong Malays.

28. #28 by frankyapp on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 2:18 am

Hey guys, have you ever wonder why an innocent person being wrongly detained,when order released by a big shot and the victim’s wife or family member have to thank the big shot ? In the US for instance,the family member would instead demand an apology from the authority,failing which,the victim/family member would sue the authority concern for wrongful arrest and detention.Don’t you think this was weird ? Now guys,in the Hindraf case for example, the police arrested them,detained them,didn’t charge and trial them why ,the answer is simple,no evidence to prove them guilty,hence these guys are innocent,thus being released. The police should feel sorry and thus at the same time should apologize to the victims and famalies for all those suffering they and their family members have endured. The case in question now made it looks NR the big shot is a hero like what some umno members were telling the press that NR was very brave to release these hindraf and other guys.And The ex-pm AAB even have the cheek to tell the press that NR did the right thing,after only resigning as pm for less than 72 hours.My goodness,AAB arrested these poor innocent guys for months and years,yet he didn’t think for a second that it was right to release them but now could say it was the correct thing by his successor within less than 72 hours of his resignation. What kind of man you guys think he is and yet the King or Agong thought highly of him and awarded a Tunship to him immediately after his resignation. This is indeed ridiculous.

29. #29 by monsterball on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 2:55 am

Off the subject….Hee Yit Fong…the defector from DAP…is now appointed…BN adviser in Perak…….meaning income is assured……giving up parliament seat. How much more money…or income..you go and guess.
    She warned DAP not to blemish her good name!
    Hee is a NOBODY!! I am sure….DAP will ignore her threats. No decent Chinese will ever respect her anymore. Majority Chinese do not easily shake hands and forgive each other. Chinese value dignity and principles in life…more than money. That’s what life is all about to Chinese.
    Hee…trained now to deny accepting money …how to talk…..gives DAP a warning……just 3 days from by-election.
    I think that will make Chines voters..go all out to vote for PAS.
    UMNO have used all sorts of stunts..and not one can fool Malaysians.
    Let see how many kampong folks believe in them.
    I hope they are inspired by the Terengganu by-election……sending clear message to UMNO.

30. #30 by passerby on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 3:06 am

This is release is just a joke. What happen to the rest of them? And if they don’t have any evidence against the them, they should be released too. If you think you can buy goodwill from the people by this bullshit release, you are wrong. The people will always remember the dirty tactics you use against the poor and defenseless people and the people will never forget that.

The release is even not sincere and even after 45 hours they were still not being released. You don’t even have the courtesy to inform their families properly where they will be taken to and instead let them wait and suffer for nothing.

Questions now is why your police goons are still holding them that long or are they going to do a “Kugan” act on them to teach them a lesson?

31. #31 by monsterball on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 3:07 am

Frankyapp….Maybe few have been bought over by Najib?
    Conditions are simple….take these millions and enjoy life. Give up Hindraf.
    What say you?
    Why keep comparing with USA la?
    Have some sense of proportions and logic.
    52 years and on going mind control….false history..briberies and corruptions…race and religion politics….not easy for weak minds to avoid being sucked into the satanic web.
    We are still fighting for our freedom…and USA is free completely 200 years ago. Only be racialists…..and that out now.
    USA educate their Americans to be intelligent and hard working.
    What are we educating students here in Malaysia?
    UMNO is the best…….showing so much developments. and Najib is a great PM.
    You see…at that infant age and stage…students do not understand corruptions…and what is dirty politics.

32. #32 by disapointed86 on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 7:26 am

MU SA HASSAN RESIGN immediately…disgrace to the police institution…no way near expectation to what Najib was uttered in his maiden speech……Why cant NAJIB say something about it…another weak PM or what? SLEEPING??? disgrace to Malaysia

33. #33 by Bigjoe on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 8:15 am

They are afraid the two would show up at a PKR event and kill them in the by-election.

My suggestion is to fly the two into Batang Ai rather than Bukit Selembau or Bukit Gantang to help. I think the Ibans will identify with their marginalisation and abuse. As lawyers they will take their views seriously on the issue of NCR land.

34. #34 by kluangman on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 8:44 am

Semua yang akan dibebaskan telah dibebaskan tanpa komplain, termasuk sanak saudara mereka – Why?

1- Sebab mereka tidak menjadikan semua perkara sebagai isu politik.
    2- Mereka warganegara yang tahu berterima kasih kepada kerajaan pada masa dan perkara yang sesuai.

Kenapa di sini bising?

35. #35 by HJ Angus on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 9:13 am

It is good that 13 detainees have been returned to their families. We know that the ISA is being used for political reasons and not only for public security and the government has abused its powers.
    Even the condition for release is an abuse of this power. Don’t expect CHANGE unless we change the government.

http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/04/maaysiakini-and-being-free-but-without.html

36. #36 by carboncopy on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 9:29 am

Dibebaskan?

Malaysia sudah lama menjadi bahan lawak masyarakat antarabangsa akibat kejahilan BN yang menjajahi Malaysia. Tiap hari ditambah garam keatas luka dihati sanubari rakyat Malaysia.

Mengapa C4PM perlu mengenakan syarat-syarat yang dirahsiakan keatas V. Ganabatirau dan R. Kenghadharan?

Adakah Ganabatirau dan Kenghadharan penjenayah yang telah disabit kesalahan? Apakah kesalahan itu? Mengikut lunas undang-undang yang mana beliau dikenakan syarat-syarat rahsia ini?

Ini adalah suatu yang memalukan dan menghina rakyat Malaysia yang menghormati undang-undang dan kedaulatan Perlembagaan.

37. #37 by vincent on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 9:39 am

Cara ini seperti tangkap dan lepas anjing sesuka hati mereka. Adakah kita ada undang-undang di mahkamah?

38. #38 by wesuffer on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 11:17 am

mamakthir lead campaign in bukit gantang.
    why is he? not new PM ? new PM not confident to lead the campaign? is mamakthir stilll influenced man now aday? he premiership already rejected in 1999 election to make him step down before 2004 GE.
    please dont be joker tun

39. #39 by taiking on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 11:22 am

Reason for delayed release: “They were detained under the ISA. And then they were due for release. But we reckon they needed some protection before release. So we use the ISA to protect (not detain) them for 1 more day.”

The ISA is under comprehensive review. One important proposal is to change the Act to allow protection of innocent people.

40. #40 by OrangRojak on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 12:11 pm

protection of innocent people
    :-D Always a sign of how bad things are.

I remember once hitch-hiking from Aberdeen to Lancaster (nearly 500km apart), I got a ‘bad lift’ from a car covered in ‘Jesus Lives’ stickers. The people in the car were singing Christian songs so loud, they couldn’t hear me telling them I wanted to get out when I saw them heading into Glasgow. They finally dropped me near the City Centre, and gave me a pile of Christian magazines. It was January, snowing and windy. There was no traffic. I waited for a while, got very cold, stuffed all the magazines into my clothing for extra insulation, waited a bit longer. Hitch hiking from city centres is nigh-on impossible. Hitch hiking after darkness falls is very difficult. Nobody likes to open their car door when it’s snowing. 3 out of 3 is a disaster.

Eventually I looked at a bus shelter map and saw that the motorway to England (with a service station that would be good for getting a lift from) was only 20-30km away, so I started walking. If you’re hitch hiking and get stuck after night falls in a bad place, the only option in the UK is to start walking. It’s too cold to sleep outside, particularly in the North. A night spent walking at a reasonable pace is 30km, usually enough to get you to somewhere good to hitch a lift.

By 3am, I was on the old road East out of Glasgow and it was very quiet. About one car per hour passed. I stuck my thumb out for a black car, and it stopped. The front seats were occupied by two enormous policemen, one of whom said “Get in”. He asked me a lot of questions about who I was and what I was doing, and eventually explained that they’d picked me up because I was in a very dangerous area. Their policy, they explained, was to arrest anybody that looked like they were going to be a victim of crime and take them away. They said it was more effective than arresting criminals in that area, as there were so many.

They were quite polite, if a little quiet for the rest of the journey. They dropped me at the service station I was headed for, and the driver broke his silence (he hadn’t said a word the whole journey) just before they left: “Stay out of the East End of Glasgow” he said. I was home a few hours after that – hitch-hiking is easy once you get to the service stations.

I think things aren’t so bad in Malaysia. At least they want you all to stay – why else would they take you to Kamunting? You’ll know things are really bad when they pick you up and take you to KLIA.

41. #41 by ekans on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 4:30 pm

It’s difficult not to believe that the release of 13 people from ISA detention, especially the two HINDRAF activitists, isn’t some sort of by-election strategy cooked up by UMNO’s BN.

Why is there need to slap on some secret conditions for their release?
    Isn’t being released the same as being free like any other citizen who is not being detained?
    What about the other three HINDRAF activists who are still being detained?

Our fellow citizens, especially those who are going to cast their votes tomorrow, should seriously ask themselves whether what appears to be the benevolence of UMNO’s BN new leadership is really truly bona fide…

42. #42 by ekans on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 12:31 am

Sorry. The beginning of the first sentence in my last post is supposed to be “It’s difficult to believe…”