I had said at a media conference in Ipoh this morning that the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar and Deputy Home Minister, Datuk Chor Chee Heung, should resign from their Cabinet positions for the three-month suspension of Harakah and Suara Keadilan as one of first decisions of Datuk Seri Najib Razak on being sworn in as the sixth Prime Minister yesterday was to immediately revoke their ban which had entered into its 11th day.
Now, I say that Hamid and Tan Sri Musa Hassan should be sacked as Home Minister and Inspector-General of Police respectively for failing within 24 hours of Najib’s premiership one of the three Najibian thematic slogans – “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now.”
It is most disgraceful and testimony of gross incompetence and ineptitude that although Najib announced in his maiden address to the nation over television last night that his government had decided “with immediate effect” the release of 13 detainees from ISA detention, none of the 13 could be released today and the earliest they could regain their freedom is tomorrow.
B. Buvaneswary, the wife of detained Hindraf leader Ganapathi Rao, travelled all the way from her home in Shah Alam to Kamunting with their two children, Janani 1 and Gowri 4, to be at the Kamunting Detention Centre at 7 am this morning for his release, only to be disappointed because the papers for the release of the 13 had not arrived at the centre.
Musa Hassan released a statement in Kuala Lumpur at midday that the 13 would only be allowed to leave the Kamunting Detention Centre tomorrow as the documentation process for their release had to be completed first!
Is this what Najib meant by “Performance Now” in his maiden address to the nation last night?
Were the IGP and the Home Minister kept completely in the dark about Najib’s announcement of the “immediate release” of the 13 ISA detainees, learning only about it when the new Prime Minister’s maiden address was telecast live last night?
If so, it reflects a shambolic government with no notion whatsoever about “People First” or “Performance Now”!
When Najib announced the “immediate release” of the 13 ISA detainees in his direct telecast at 8 pm last night, I had expected the two Hindraf leaders, Ganabairau and R. Kenghadharan, and the other 11 ISA detainees to be released last night itself – especially when Najib ended his maiden speech with the flourish of urging Malaysians to “rise up to the challenge of building 1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now.”
Obviously, Najib forgot to ask the Cabinet and the public service to equally “rise up” to the triple challenge of “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now.”
When Najib said “with immediate effect”, could it be so elastic as to be stretched not only overnight, but to be over 24, 36 or even 48 hours?
Najib should learn from the lessons of his predecessor Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, whose “cemerlang, gemilang, terbilang” slogan swiftly became a national joke. But Najib’s substitute of “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” is in danger of becoming a national joke within 24 hours – thanks to the Home Minister and the Inspector-General of Police!
Can Najib ensure that Ganabatirau, Kengaharan and the 11 others ISA detainees would be able to leave the Kamunting Detention Centre to breathe the air of freedom latest by 8 am tomorrow?
In fact, the government is guilty of unlawful detention of the 13 ISA detainees as they should be released “with immediate effect” by the time of Najib’s telecast at 8 p.m. last night.
Is the government going to pay the 13 ISA detainees compensation for illegal detention for 24, 36 or 48 hours to demonstrate the seriousness of Najib’s “Performance Now” slogan?

#1 by Tonberry on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 4:57 pm
Najib Altantuya will continue Pak Lah’s legacy of business of cheating. One of the readers from this blog, imranj78, was tricked by him within minutes…
#2 by kluangman on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 5:05 pm
Lim Kit Siang, cuba belajar jadi orang sabar dan bukannya jadi orang bodoh.
Cuba lihat kebaikan yang banyak dari melihat sedikit kelemahan dan kekurangan.
Jangan jadi ahli politik yang senior tetapi kurang beradab.
DAP tidak akan ke mana dulu, sekarang dan selamanya jika masih ada china tua yang bodoh seperti awak, DAP tidak ada nilai dan muflis politi tanpa Anwar.
#3 by frankyapp on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 5:06 pm
One malaysia,people first ,performance now,wow what a great thunderous sound of the 21st century for the raykat.Here’s my suggestions to NR to help him and team to succeed his dream.
{1} Equal right and opportunity to all raykat irrespective of race,culture and religion
(2) Equal right and opportunity for male and female.
(3)Provide reasonable costs of water, electricity and light to every malaysian both rural and urban.
(4) Provide roads to every kampong,village,pekan,small town or even remote kampong .
(5) Provide enough school and hospital including quality managing staffs and good service in every rural disricts,town or pekan ,even in the city..
(6) Provide reasonable good housing for all rural and suburban and city folks irrespective of race and religion for low and middle income malaysian.
(7) Provide facility and free medical and care centre for all senior malaysian citizens .
(8)Provide and ensure the cost of living in the country would not burden the low and middle income malaysian.
Well guys,the list goes on,but I leave some space for you guys ,ok.
Hopefully NR and team would read this message,live it up to his dream of one malaysia,people first and performance now.
#4 by All For The Road on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 5:12 pm
Why are the 13 ISA detainees not released yet? Did I hear it correctly with ‘immediate effect’?
Do they ever learn and understand? There’s still a lot of red tape around because of the so-called paper work. Alas!
#5 by taiking on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 5:13 pm
Ai yah city hall need 5 yrs to give planning permission and the land office 10-20 yrs to issue strata titles. What is one day late? One day only maa. They the detainees inside there for so long oredi hoh one day more ok what.
And oi cintanegara, zak, chengho and gang. See. Najib say one malaysia. Meaning we all same same. Chinese, Javanese, Archenese, Sumatran, Arabs, Indians, Pakistanis, Thais, etc etc we all same same. That means we all confirmed pendatang. Now we all same same malaysians. That means no malay rights. No privilege. No NEP.
Hei najib bro dont forget to abolish malay reserved land and malay quota and special discount for malay buyers in new housing development. And UiTM. We all same same now. So our children all orso can apply to enter UiTM.
Look chengho, cintanegara, kasim and gang. Your own kind betraying you people. Do something leh.
#6 by jedyoong on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 5:48 pm
Najib appears to need more professional advice on proper procedures.
Remember his first “hypothetical” RM7bil budget?
I believe Syed Hamid and the IGP are right as Najib may have forgotten to issue instructions through proper channels before making the announcement.
There is a system and paper work to be done.
#7 by TTDI_KL on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 5:51 pm
Now you know the problem with us as a nation. If the number man in the country can not get an immediate response to his directive, may I know what hope can we have on other functionaries in the administration further down?
Talking about reform, may I know why a sitting PM must spend valuable two hours to accept a party application form from someone who has chosen to leave the party earlier? And may I know why the MP for Jerlun was also there? What standing has he got to see PM at will?
This is what baloney is all about!
#8 by gyp on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 6:07 pm
Don’t be stupid believe what the BN great liars saying.
They can release you today, and days after tomorrow they can lock you up again anytimes anywhere in Malaysia.
Play Malaysian like a stupid fools. Why not the ISA be abolished?
#9 by imranj78 on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 6:13 pm
LKS,
I do feel that you’re being a unreasonably impatient here. Again you are showing us your penchant of barking up the wrong tree. It is obvious that some paperwork needs to be done before such a release can be made. While I am sure the detainees don’t want to spend a single day longer in detention, still there are procedures to be followed.
taiking,
Maybe you should add these few items as well to your long list of `1Malaysia’ concepts ….. abolish all vernacular schools, BM to be the language of all schools.. what say you? ok?
Don’t be a racist & chauvinist! Respect the country’s constitution!
#10 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 6:21 pm
“Lim Kit Siang, cuba belajar jadi orang sabar dan bukannya jadi orang bodoh.” (kluangman)
Kluangman,
Sebenarnya, YB Lim bukanlah orang bodoh kerana YB Lim sudah sedar bahawa Boss baru awak adalah orang yang kurang pandai dan tidak tahu banyak mengenai bagaimana pegawai-pegawai Polis menjalankan tugas di Malaysia.
Maklumat yang diberikan oleh YB Lim dalam laman blog ini akan menjadi sesuatu kenangan yang baik untuk selalu mengingatkan Boss baru awak supaya beliau tidaklah ulangkan kesalahan buat kali lain kerana sudah membuat sesuatu keputusan tergesa-gesa atas pemindaan dasar kerajaan atau perubahan perintah kerajaan tanpa meminta nasihat terdahulu daripada pegawai tinggi kerajaan. Ini kerana terdapat ramai orang Napolean kecil atau Napolean besar di kalangan pegawai-pegawai kerajaan Malaysia. Pegawai-pegawai tinggi ini tidaklah suka mengikut perintah daripada orang atasan termasuk orang politik tinggi yang paling berkuasa seperti Perdana Menteri.
Kalau disuruh kerja lebih masa (Overtime) pada Hari Sabtu ataupun Hari Minggu, pegawai Napolean kecil atau pegawai Napolean besar mestilah dapat alasan baik untuk menangguhkan persiapan kerja hingga Hari Isnin. Alasan-alasan seperti “tukang taip tutup handphone dan tidak dapat dihubungi” ataupun “Server termati pada Hari Sabtu dan Hari Ahad dan komputer tidak boleh digunakan” adalah alasan yang biasa disebut. Moral kerja di pejabat kerajaan sudah lama terosak dan aku mengesyaki bahawa Dato Seri Najib sanggup buat apa-apa untuk membetulkan kerosakan moral kerja ini.
Janganlah awak hanya pandai mengecam Pak Lah sahaja kerana kelemahan Pak Lah sebagai pemimpin lemah dan tidak pandai mengecam Najib jika Najib sudah menunjukkan bahawa diri sendirinya juga adalah pemimpin yang lemah dan tidak dihormati oleh pegawai-pegawai tinggi kerana perintah pertamanya sebagai perintah daripada seseorang Perdana Menteri untuk melepaskan dengan serta-merta 13 orang tahanan bawah ISA sudah enggan dipatuhi secara bersungguh-sungguh oleh pegawai-pegawai tinggi yang menjaga Kem Tahanan Kamunting.
Janganlah awak suruh YB Lim belajar jadi orang sabar dalam kes seperti ini. Pak Lah sudah terkenal sebagai seseorang pemimpin yang bersabar tetapi kesabarannya selalu disalahfaham sebagai tanda kelemahan dan lambang tidak boleh memimpin. Kalau Najib nak jadi orang sabar, satu hari kelak beliau juga akan dikecam sebagai pemimpin lemah dan akan disingkirkan oleh segala Rakyat jelita juga.
#11 by Godfather on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 6:35 pm
Very predictable modus operandi of UMNO. First, you put some innocent people in jail. Then when you release them when you need a publicity boost, never mind that the detainees were never charged in the first place.
Next you say something about reviewing some legislation that the entire country wants to see repealed – but of course you can’t repeal it because it works to your advantage. Not from the view of justice, but from the view of political expediency.
Then you reduce prices of some goods or reduce taxes….but then the government no longer has any money, so this might be out of the question for the time being.
Look out for more populist moves….perhaps pictures of Rosie kissing newborn babies’ backsides….
The real test will be in the composition of the cabinet – whether it is the return of Mahathirism and more of the same “business-as-usual” attitude of a coalition that is already bankrupt of ideas for change.
Just follow Obama – Change We Can Believe In.
#12 by a g on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 6:35 pm
imraj78,
Your stance contradicts that of the slogan/concept/whatever of NR: “1 Malaysia, people first, performance now”. Yours is more in line with ” 1 Malay ja, my people first, performance later” kind of slogan/concept/whatever.
#13 by imranj78 on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 6:42 pm
a g,
Refer to taiking’s post above. I am just pointing out to taiking that while he strongly espouses getting rid of the Bumiputera’s position as enshrined in the constitution, he seems to have conveniently forgot what he should have also included (on matters pertaining to other races) if he truly believed in what he was proposing.
#14 by a g on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 6:57 pm
imranj78,
You mean since there’s the special position that’s enshrined in the constitution, the “1 Malaysia” concept is basically an empty slogan?
#15 by ahluck on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 7:02 pm
najib punya cakap macam najis jugak tak serupa bikin. immediate release 13? what happening? just one day prime minister and he became the crime minister…yesterday today and tomorrow he be the same won’t change one. the king should look into it. why najib’s command not excuted. if cannot don’t say. if say do it. maybe the king also close eye and ears and mouth. iyya…..the botak and igp must be kicked for not following orders. thats why the saying goes…not polis diraja malaysia but polis raja di malaysia.
#16 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 7:25 pm
Yes imranj78…”One Malaysia” is an empty slogan……just as all the titles…Datuks..Tan Sri…..Tun…given to UMNO crooks…lumped up with great Malaysians…is telling Malaysians…the taxi drivers…farmers…teachers…low class dentist…few big mouth doctor
lawyers…. are all highly educated……damn smart…not equal to Malaysians.
UMNO and BN parties..all are racialist parties.
How can racialist can ever hope to be one with Malaysians..when they keep showing how great they are?
Yes..imranj78….it is low class political words uttered by Najib..with no meaning…..and stop being such a big balls carrier of UMNO.
#17 by taiking on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 7:48 pm
Godfather is most probably correct.
Suspended the two publications during badawi’s time to make it look like badawi’s the bad guy and when he became pm ordered the removal of the suspension to make him look like GOD.
Pre-primary tricks. Try something more sophisticated man!
One Malaysia to me means all the races in malaysia i.e. chinese, archenese, javanese, sumatran, thai, arab, indian, pakistani, iban, kadazan, etc etc are all the same. No NEP. No special rights or privilege for any race. If One Malaysia means anything else then it is meaningless umno trickery again. And based on gut feeling it will be nothing different from what we now have.
#18 by TTDI_KL on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 7:52 pm
That is why I have been saying Malaysians are gullible bodoh. Hindraf family members express gratefulness to PM for releasing their husbands and fathers. Hmmm, I don’t get it. I guess the detention works. After a while, you just want to forget everything and go home, am I right?
#19 by TTDI_KL on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 7:56 pm
Malaysians express thankfulness to things returning to them after they were unlawfully or “cavemanly” taken away from them. No wonder we get the government we deserve.
#20 by TTDI_KL on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:01 pm
Fellow Malaysians,
if you want to know whether 1Malaysia carries any specific meaning or intention;
if you want to know whether there are genuine reforms intention;
if you want to know whether UMNO can be trusted,
just watch all the political talk cock shows in TV1.
I rest my case.
#21 by taiking on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:05 pm
imraj,
You seriously want to limit our younger generation to learning bahasa malaysia and using bahasa malaysia only?
Remember. You are here in this blogsite only because you can read and write english. Be practical like me. Propose something realistic and workable. And yes. Dont be a racist. I am not a racist like you. And my proposal is not racist for it does not favour any one race. Quite the contrary, my proposal is about removing race favouritism elements from our present system. Vernacular schools has no element of race favouritism like nep like uitm like bumi discounts like malay reserved land like bumi only glc contracts etc etc etc etc etc etc etc. Get it or not? Understand or not? Want me to repeat or not?
Oh its hard to deal with products of umno’s (-)meritocracy system.
#22 by gyp on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:06 pm
NO CHILD IS BORN A RACIST.
It is the dirty politician make Malaysian RACIST to protect their INTEREST of GREED.
#23 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:10 pm
“Hindraf family members express gratefulness to PM for releasing their husbands and fathers.” (TTDI_KL)
TTDI_KL,
That kind of gratitude expression only shows that several Hindraf leaders who have a few kind-hearted and thankful members in their family were wrongfully detained by the UMNO tyrannic government for the past 17 months and these family members warmly welcome the decision of seeing their loved ones to be released unconditionally by the tyrannic government.
“I guess the detention works. After a while, you just want to forget everything and go home, am I right?” Such a comment may be a little bit of inhumane and inconsiderate. ISA detention camp is like a hell. Of course, it is much better for the detainees to be released from the solitary confinment than to die in the camp!
I have great compassion with the ISA detainees. I should say “thank God” for they are being released from the inhumane solitary confinement!
#24 by taiking on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:10 pm
Dear Najib, while you are still at it please consider this politically advantagous move. Return perak state government to pakatan. Thank you.
#25 by computation on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:11 pm
taiking
i think you probably have failed to realize
but imranj78 got his education at some
pasar malam located along the street
of jokers complex and najis street.
i cannot believe that onlooker politics is so patient
as to educate him. attempting to teach the unteachable
is a waste of time.
#26 by taiking on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:20 pm
computation,
You do have a point there.
But what I fear is imraj could well be a graduate.
#27 by TTDI_KL on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:25 pm
Onlooker politics, I think did not know my stand on Hindraf and their leaders. Those who know me long enough would know. What I am saying is this: Hindraf family members should hug their released loves and at the same time show the middle finger to those responsible for their detention, got it? You said “thank God” and i agree. I hope you know this group of cavemen are not God.
#28 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:28 pm
ISA detention camp is like a hell, I repeat! Anwar Ibrahim was politically doing a correct thing when he made a request for the draconian ISA to be abolished in his recent ceramah.
If Najib refuses to abolish the ISA, then the Rakyat of Malaysia shall go all out to defeat Najib in each and every contest in the by-elections! We should not continue to allow the ISA to be continually placed in the hand of a wrong person who would tend to abuse this draconian law in order to fulfill the malicious and selfish personal goals of maintaining the power grip for purpose of looting the national wealth.
Let’s say “NO” to ISA!
#29 by TTDI_KL on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:32 pm
imranj78 Says: “Respect the country’s constitution!”
I agree, but let’s go back to the original consitution, not the constitution as amended by your racist clanmen, ok? You represent UMNO mentality, and that is why UMNO will never change. Umno will be history and so will you.
#30 by lopez on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:34 pm
talk nonsense, trying to buy votes or what….then resume as usual
this trick used to often….so stop pretending to be the sheep and take off the sheep skin
some suckers will believe what an angel there is but just wishful thinking …..wait till the dust settles….you see the devil’s wrath
#31 by TTDI_KL on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:41 pm
We Malaysians always think there is a simple solution to a complex problem. Don’t be too sure if we have abolished ISA, all problems in the country will be resolved. Singapore too has ISA. Remember Anuar and Guan Eng went to jail not under ISA and because of that they were subsequently barred from politics for years. Do you guys genuinely believe that Anuar and Guan Eng were guilty under the respective laws? ISA is alright, it is the abuse of ISA. If the Government can abuse ISA, it can abuse anything under the sun.
#32 by ShiokGuy on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:41 pm
I think the BN government still think that the voter are born yesterday, or still the good old day where putting a carrot in front will get the vote, may be in Batang Ai because of lack of information.
We the voter are not a prostitute, even a prostitute will demand payment up front before any services.
http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2009/04/leaders-response-to-release-of-13-isa.html
Shiok Guy
#33 by vsp on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:44 pm
imranj:
Where is your brain now?
Are you dead to reality? I think you are walking around like a zombie. Please don’t try to hookwink the people here on this blog. They are more intelligent than you think. They have seen it all before – Mahathir’s “Bersih, Cekap dan Amanah” sent the country to the dogs and Badawi’s “Cemerlang, Gemilang, Terbilang” pushed the country into the longkang. Remember? Najib’s “1 Malaysia” will C4ed it.
Go back to the hole where you belong.
#34 by computation on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:51 pm
“One Malaysia to me means all the races in malaysia i.e. chinese, archenese, javanese, sumatran, thai, arab, indian, pakistani, iban, kadazan, etc etc are all the same. No NEP. No special rights or privilege for any race”
taiking
i think you forgot to mention about that idiotic
ketuana melayu rubbish.
the question that is literally begging to be asked
is this “can the malays do things the other races cannot?”
#35 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:52 pm
1Malaysia? Can’t he come up with something more original than to copy 1Utama?
What Najib’s new slogan really means is “Besok, Lusa, Mungkin”.
Don’t forget, he’s still stuck with the 50 over years’ legacies, the many little Napoleons and pencil pushers.
Do you all realise his first speech was essentially a rehash of Pak Lah’s “work with me” bull and as bulls go, they s..t. This guy has nothing original and will just float along. Mahathir and Rosmah will rule.
#36 by taiking on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:53 pm
Dear najib, your 1 malaysia slogan is laudable. But between you and me and the computer screen let me confide in you a secret view. Mahathir’s stand appears to be contradictory to your beautiful concept. So be very careful of him ok now that he is back in umno. Love taiking.
#37 by computation on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:55 pm
“Don’t forget, he’s still stuck with the 50 over years’ legacies, the many little Napoleons and pencil pushers.”
sherrif singh
#38 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 9:03 pm
Najib says he plan to visit Petaling Street, Brickfields, Kampong Baru and Chow Kit to show his commitment to include all races.
Yep. Them Bangladeshis, Nepalese, Indians, Pakistanis, Indonesians, Africans etc etc are looking forward to his visits.
#39 by a g on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 9:12 pm
But the release of some of the detainees, and the lifting of the ban, do serve some useful purposes for NR. First, it’s to paint a better image of himself (Wow! He’s kinder than what we’ve expected). Secondly, to try to win some Indian votes. Thirdly, by temporarily shifting our attention away from that Mongolian lady, it’s to unload the burden he has had to carry all this while..phew!
#40 by AhPek on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 9:15 pm
Respect the constitution says the great Imranj 78 but does he know how many times the constitution is amended? Go do a bit of research and tell us.You can then compare the number of times the American Constitution is amended over its 300 years history with the number of times Malaysian Constitution is amended over 50+ years of history.Shocking would be an understatement but then why that high number of times of amending over such a short period of time?It is quite obvious isn’t it?You call that respecting the constitution Imranj78?
#41 by Tonberry on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 9:16 pm
does he still have a brain? He has been showing severe sign of brain damage the moment Najib Altantuya inherited the throne. Mostly fart are coming out from his mouth..
#42 by pakualakurau on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 9:21 pm
Ini orang cina cakap “pegawai baru dilantik and 3 api”, ini bermakna “hangat hangat tahi ayam”. Apa yang dilakukannya sekarang cuba mengkaburi mata orang ramai.
Masa Abdullah pada tahun 2004 pun sama. Tetapi tengok apa terjadi kepadanya. Korapsi semakin lelusa.
PM baru ini akan kembali sepeti tun abdullah selepas 3 bulan, mungkin tak sampai 3 bulan. Sebab, umno ini terlalu ramai tunggu makan wang rakyat.
#43 by ctc537 on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 9:22 pm
1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now
I doubt 1Malaysia can be achieved within the lifetime of PM Najib as long as we have this Bumi-Non-bumi divide among us. I suggest PM Najib do exactly the opposite of what TDM did during his reign. To achieve quality education, we have to adopt the Look-West or Look-South (Singpore) Policy instead of TDM’s Look-East Policy (to learn work ethics only). Yes, PM Najib, you’re right. Quality education is the all-important prerequisite if our Malaysia is to make a quantum leap in all fields. Don’t listen to TDM all the time. I personally feel that he is anti-Western and anti-Singapore, too.
#44 by imranj78 on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 9:44 pm
vsp, Tonberry, computation, taiking,
I am here for proper debates. Your extreme name callings etc upon me is irrelevant and only reflects badly upon your own personality and yourself. Like I have said before, when people like you stoop to such lows, that normally means that you are incapable of proper and quality debates and are just trying to divert attention from your own incompetencies by attacking others with rubbish and utter gibberish. :)
a g
We will have to wait and see what exactly DS Najib means by 1Malaysia in the days and weeks to come. But 1Malaysia does not have to mean that all of us are the same like what taiking is trying to espouse. In my view, 1Malaysia could mean establishing a common bond and identity that would cut across all religions, race, culture etc. The US seems to have got this right. I also get the same sense when talking with my Brazilian and Venezuelan friends.
taiking,
I never said that we should limit our younger generation to learning BM only right? Again, please don’t put words into my mouth! Understand or do you need to spell it out to you word by word? I said that BM as our national language should be the common language that binds us together. I strongly believe English should continue to be stressed upon, plus not forgetting that those who wish to pursue learning other languages such as Mandarin and Tamil should also be allowed to do so. Vernacular is not racist but it prevents us from forming a common identity. Even DAP’s famous Malaysian Malaysia concept will never be a reality if all our children go to different schools!
TTDI_KL, AhPek,
A constitution of the country is a product of the majority of the people’s wishes. When the constitution was amended, it was amended by a group of parliamentarians who were put there again by the majority of the people. As such these amendments are valid and legal even if they are changed many times if there is a need for it. It is fine if you disagree with the constitution. Vote for someone who can gain 2/3rds majority in the parliament and they can amend the constitution as per the wishes of the people who put them there in the first place. This is what democracy is all about!
#45 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 9:50 pm
“One Malaysia”….Only UMNO weird guys know what that means.
#46 by vsp on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 9:51 pm
Just a naughty thought: Could it be that the great mentor is holding the much talked-about photo that is hanging around Najib’s neck?
#47 by computation on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 9:52 pm
imranj78
you sound stupid. you probably look stupid.
you probably are stupid.
you are a deceitful person.
you will deceive yourself into hell.
#48 by Tonberry on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 10:01 pm
Imranj78,
yesterday, you were talking about “majority” in the GE 12th. And now, you’re contradicting yourself here. With so many people in this blog finding your comments dont even worth a rubbish, and you are accusing others of treating you unfairly..
Perhaps you should have a re-look at your own comments like – which part of constitution, where is the proof.. etc. Most of your comments are damn stupid and only kids will argue/debate like your style.
In Malay term, there is a word called degil. It is for those who refused to accept others’ opinions, but only of his own.
#49 by imranj78 on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 10:02 pm
`imranj78 you sound stupid. you probably look stupid. you probably are stupid. you are a deceitful person. you will deceive yourself into hell.’ (computation)
computation,
I am not going to reply to your last post and stoop so low as what you (and some of your other `friends’ have done :) You are not worth my time unless you start speaking with some intelligence like maybe trying to debate what I have put forward as a possible concept of 1Malaysia?
#50 by computation on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 10:05 pm
taiking
i fail to see what the hooha is over
BM. BM may jolly well be the national language
but do you see any reason why BM should be
the language that binds malaysians together??
pathetic. by the way do you know that
outside of malaysia and indonesia nobody gives
a damn about the malay language?
i think you are probably aware that some
umno person couldn’t speak english
and got himself into trouble
with australian customs… wow
so much for ketuanan melayu and BM(whatever it may be)