Pak Lah’s “kick at the pack of snapping hyenas around him”

Politics enters turbulent waters as prime minister retires
By Jonathan Manthorpe
Vancouver Sun
March 30, 2009

Malaysia’s Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi is known as a courteous gentleman, ill-fitted for the brutal and violent world of his country’s politics.

But even the tolerant and spiritual Abdullah could not resist a kick at the pack of snapping hyenas around him when he retired last week after nearly six years as everyone’s fall guy.

Unless, he warned, the United Malays National organization (UMNO), the party that has dominated government since independence from Britain in 1957, stops silencing its critics, jailing its opponents and discriminating against minorities, it is on the fast track to political oblivion.

It was a harsh judgement, but a just and alarming one for a country which until recently has been seen as one of the great economic and political success stories of Southeast Asia.

Despite its oil wealth and highly educated middle class, Malaysia has been hit harder than many by the global recession. Exports are down by one third and the economy is expected to shrink by at least five per cent this year.

But the more troubling aspect long-term, that Abdullah pointed to in his farewell speech, is the apparent crumbling of the political culture.

Abdullah took over the leadership of UMNO and became prime minister of the Barisan Nasional governing coalition in 2003 at a time when the country appeared ready for some political calm after a couple of decades under the intemperate and stern discipline of Mahathir Mohammed.

But it swiftly became apparent that it took a man of Mahathir’s authoritarian instincts to control the feral beasts that inhabit the Malaysian political jungle.

Abdullah was just too nice for the job. Last year the voters gave the UMNO-led coalition its worst election results in over half a century, and Abdullah’s departure was only a matter of time.

He has been replaced as UMNO leader by his deputy Najib Razak, who will formerly take over as prime minister this week.

Najib comes to power laden with a mess of political baggage that illustrates Abdullah’s warning about UMNO being out of touch with the voters.

Najib has been accused of corruption, especially allegations around a deal to buy French submarines when he was defence minister.

He denies those charges, but they won’t go away, in large part because of the current trial over the murder of a Mongolian former Parisian model, Altantuya Shaariibuu.

Shaariibuu was the mistress of Najib’s main policy adviser Abdul Razak Baginda and she appears to have acted as a translator during negotiations over the submarine deal.

Shaariibuu was killed in October 2006 and her body destroyed by military explosives. Prosecutors allege she was killed by two of the bodyguards of Najib’s wife, and, to the incredulity of opposition politicians, Baginda has already been found not guilty of involvement in the murder.

Independent media in Malaysia allege Shaariibuu was killed because she demanded a share of the $155 million US “commission” paid to a company linked to her paramour, Baginda, by the French.

The court is due to deliver its verdict on the two bodyguards next week.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by trublumsian on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 5:46 am

in tiny dot one enter politics to serve the country on merits
    in big dot one stands in line to enter politics to get hands in the cookie jar by kissing a’s

2. #2 by AhPek on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 10:13 am

To let cintanegara to be further informed about power sharing which he is fond of harping without really knowing which is also typical,we compare the cabinet (full minister position) line up of Singapore and Malaysia.

Total size of Singapore’s cabinet: 21

Total number of Chinese ministers: 16

Total number of non Chinese ministers: 5

% of Chinese in Singapore’s population: 76.8% (From Cia’s source)

% of Chinese ministers in the cabinet : 76%
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………..

Total size of Malaysian cabinet: 32

Total number of Malay ministers: 23

Total number of non Malay ministers:9

% of Malay ministers in the cabinet:71.8%

% of Malays in the population: 50.4% (according to CIA’s factbook)

From the stats I have cited,ask yourself which country gives a more equitable power sharing.Unless you are totally maths illiterate,you can clearly see that Malayasia has given dispropotionate power to the Malays whilst Singapore has a far more equitable power distribution.From there one can definitely say the one Singaporeans are far more fairly treated than Malaysians!

3. #3 by Jan on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 12:57 pm

Many of you claim to be Malaysians yet condemn this country to the dogs and even praise a foreign country. Cintanegara is only being patriotic and loves his country is that wrong?

4. #4 by AhPek on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 2:28 pm

Tell me Jan is criticising or hating one’s government the same thing as not loving or condemning one’s country? Get this straight first before I allow myself the time to engage with you.

5. #5 by collin1202 on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 10:36 pm

Dear Jan

Patriotism is a virtue and it must be laudable. However Cintanegara, save for his patriotism for his country, blindly fired off without checking facts and as a result, he has gained more brickbats not only from his own country men but from patrotic citizens from the small dot too. I am from that small dot.

6. #6 by Jan on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 11:37 pm

Condemn the govt of the day by all means but please do not condemn our country. We are born here and we must all die defending her if necessary.

7. #7 by AhPek on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 10:50 am

But Jan who is condemning the government? You think those who are criticising people like cintanegara,kassim amat or shamsul condemning the country!Are opposition parties traitors to the country because they criticise the government administered by a large group of scumbags who become fabulously rich thro stealing from the coffers!

8. #8 by AhPek on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 10:51 am

Correction: But Jan who is condemning the country?

9. #9 by Jan on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 1:55 pm

Some readers here are condemning the country. They said Malaysia this Malaysia that. There’s nothing wrong with the country only the people who run it.

10. #10 by collin1202 on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 3:33 pm

Dear Jan
    A righteous person will not resort to condemning his own country, the big dot or another country, the small dot for personal gain. Big and small dots were once previously, political differences resulted in separation which was probably a best solution then. It is now history, we can’t change it now. Small dot is not perfect, will never be perfect and she has her own domestic issues too. Big dot should not always use small dot to score points, I mean the politicians. The economic downturn is a big problem globally, shouldn’t all put their energies in riding out this difficult times instead of engaging in domestic squabbles? Jan, your loyalty to your country is unquestionable and for that I, give you my highest admiration.

11. #11 by Jan on Sunday, 5 April 2009 - 7:27 pm

Collin, I am willing to die for my country even though I have been discriminated by this govt. This country IMHO could have been as advanced as yours if not for certain politicians and their misplaced policies. I can understand some of the whinging among readers but they should direct their vitriol directly at those responsible for our country’s malaise. To do this try to vote them out at each and every election.
    Singapore is an advanced country which I admire and visit very often but I wouldn’t want to stay there for the rest of my life.

Comments are closed.