M vs Pak Lah (Round One) – M triumphalism checked

Mahathir triumphalism was checked with Abdullah Ahmad Badawi winning Round One of the “M vs Pak Lah” battle with the following Umno Youth Chief election results yesterday:

Khairy Jamaluddin Abu Bakar 304

Datuk Seri Dr. Mohd Khir Toyo 254

Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir 232

But incoming Prime Minister, Najib Razak has not emerged as the clear winner, especially with the Umno Wanita chief results:

Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil 507

Tan Sri Rafidah Aziz 280

Today is Round 2 of the UMNO elections stakes.

Who will emerge the real winner – Najib, Mahathir, Abdullah or none?

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 9:08 am

Mahathir may be checked but not Mahathirism which Najib is just pushing it further to put his own stamp on it. If Najib stamp on it does not work quickly, Mahathir, if he is still alive, will be back again.

2. #2 by ALLAN THAM on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 9:10 am

To be honest non of the youth leaders were suitable but if to chose one from the three, I was relief that Khiary was the one. If Toyo was the one, God bless us. If Old Hat ‘s son was the one, there will be not end to the old hat have to say.

At least it is a better choice than the worst possible choice has been decided.

3. #3 by aries66 on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 9:25 am

Ha !, The “Three Musketees” fightings and two unlucky ones is going to KO soon. Hairy,Toyol or Mamak ? guess who won the TROPHY ?

4. #4 by Cinapek on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 9:49 am

The OLD Man must be tearing his hair out. Is he going to merajuk and refuse to attend the opening today?

The results shows one thing clearly. Even the UMNO members does not want TDM’s brand of rule anymore. They have sent him a loud and clear message. While his protege may be occupying the No 1 seat (not voted in by members), he may not last long given the scandals around him and also surrounded by hostile members. The other elections today will indicate how long he can warm the seat that “was his destiny”(according to his wife Rosmah).

5. #5 by AhPek on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 9:54 am

Of course,amongst the 3 devils Khairy Kairy is the least evil.The result showed that Mahathir’s influence in UMNO is not as great as most people made that out to be.And for Toyol ‘semuanya’ is not ok for him from now onwards and hopefully we should be expecting him to go to jail for all the crime he committed during his MB term of office!

6. #6 by born in Malaysia on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 10:01 am

Their speeches is still about only ( Hidup Melayu and Hidup UMNO), no mention of hidup Malaysia and Malaysian overall, from these speeches, everyone can see that UMNO is the real culprit in instigating the racial disharmony. Who invented the term “Bumiputra and Non-bumiputra”?

7. #7 by PSM on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 10:08 am

Bro Kit,

Does not really matter lah. At the end of the day, Malaysians & Malaysia lose!

8. #8 by N. Kiru on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 10:11 am

An important lesson to be learnt in the UMNO elections is that it is fallacious to accept the delegates at face value. For all their courtesy and and self effacing habit ,has inevitably imposed a constant restraint on them.It is better that the power brokers within Umno understand the delegates for what they really are. This restrain within the delegates is potentially dangerous. It is perpetually seeking expression. Yesterday that expression was Khairy Jamaluddin.

9. #9 by DAP man on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 10:15 am

Najib can fix KJ up in a jiffy. He can refuse to give him a deputy minister’s post or he can direct the disciplinary board to act on some ‘new evidence’ to disqualify him.
    Najib is not going to tolerate any kind of opposition, no matter how insignificant or subtle, within his party. He will neutralize anyone he is not comfortable with. A weak leader has be vicious to survive and Najib is a weak leader.

10. #10 by taiking on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 11:11 am

Yes none of the three aspirants are suitable. I agree with Allan Tham on this score completely. If the election was to find a cover boy for a mag, I suppose M s/o M would be my pick. The other two would fall far behind as joint distant-second. In reality none of them would make a difference to the rest of us outside umno. They are downright lousy in their own ways. M s/o M is the mirror of M s/o Kutty. That is bad, ipso facto. And that hairy fella monkeys about too much. That is also bad. Toyo is a troublemaker and he too is no good.

Now that hairy the monkey (reminiscent of those scenes we see in Kungfu Panda doesnt it?) is pronounced the winner, a new perspective is being thrown into umno politics. Pak Lah may be gone (well soon) but he is certainly not dead. He is being reincarnated. In this round M s/o Kutty’s reincarnation has not been successful.

This is an indication to us that in umno, Pak Lah still has cables to pull. But why on earth did he succumb to najib’s pressure to step down then? One wonders. That is another issue. The point is the hairy monkey is not well liked by people outside umno at all. So his success may translate into an instant liability for umno.

More than that. Najib’s coded message that he wants a strong team (meaning he wants umno to pick people whom could thumb about) has not got home. He now has to pick a weak team. Now isnt this wounderful for us, non-umnoputras?

11. #11 by DAP man on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 11:18 am

KJ obtained only 38% of the votes cast which makes him an impotent Youth Leader.

12. #12 by taiking on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 11:22 am

Yeah yeah. I know. I know. Its only crocodile tears. We see them all the time. Maybe its less than croc tears. Perhaps its only eye drops applied in copious quantity. And there goes part of the recently announced 60b stimulus. But no worries guys. Its only a wee bit I am sure.

13. #13 by wanderer on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 11:37 am

Among the three contestants for the UMNO Youth Chief, it was a contest for who is the Super, Super Corrupt, the result confirmed it all…very precisely!

14. #14 by ALLAN THAM on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 12:00 pm

Khairy will be a check to najib camp. It is good no all from the same camp.

I think this may be good some how.

Khairy is seen to be less devil among the three and he should be easier to move forward some positive changes.

Toyo is the worst among the three and it is good he lost. More shit is coming out from his tenure as MB

15. #15 by Tonberry on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 12:07 pm

The Super Gangster of Pemuda Umno celaka.

16. #16 by chengho on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 12:22 pm

KJ is abrasive but intelligent and charismatic ,he is in the mould of the young Anwar , very good speaker
    Shahrizat is goody goody type of lady , much more suitable to lead Wanita , Rafidah lost due to generation gap , they are moving to a younger generation
    Najib play the games smartly like a maestro in the philharmonic orchestra..
    The market is getting more bullish today..

17. #17 by clearwater on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 12:26 pm

I care not who the real winner will be – Najib, Mahathir or Abdullah. I only care that Malaysians emerge winners and true change and reform emerges. If not, we will all be losers.

18. #18 by ALLAN THAM on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 12:50 pm

KJ is definitely more receptive to changes. He was one the few who disagreed with the bar of alternative media into UNMO assembly. This is one positive point about this guy.

Toyo as we all know was a big crocodile and never have the sincerity to repent even thous his wife has join the trip for repentance, the repent trip or other wise your guess is as good as mine.

Murkis is just a shadow of the old hat, nothing good from him

19. #19 by sotong on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 12:53 pm

Whoever is elected, it changes nothing in the short to mid term…..our future is in our hands.

20. #20 by Bobster on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 1:14 pm

Congrats to KJ.

Even non of us support your corrupted party, putting aside your big mouth, you are the least evil among 3.

Good to see MM and Hantu got kick out.

You make our day!

21. #21 by MyPeoplePower on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 2:36 pm

Toyol had invested millions of $(which he gained during his tenure as a MB) for the Youth Chief post.
    After this defeat, he surely can’t sleep well!
    Luckily Toyol is no longer an MB, otherwise, surely he will find more lubang to cover the loss of this investment!

Kah Kah Kah! Padan Muka!

22. #22 by AhPek on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 3:05 pm

Even better next if we see Muhyuddin losing out to the 2M and,we would see Mamak’s influence further reduced with the forces of Abdullah stronger to help dig a hole for Najis.In saying that I am not saying 2M is suitable,only he is useful in reducing or wiping out Mamak’s hand in the affairs of the nation.Who knows this might encourage Abdullah to do a flip flop by saying that his work in the implementation of his programme needs more time and therefore he is not ready to hand over the PMship to Najis yet! That would be the best news all round for everybody except Najis’s cronies.

23. #23 by Bobster on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 3:08 pm

Betol Ah Pek!

Let the hantu hantam sama hantu. Sama-sama got terminated in the process.

Rakyat the winners in the end!

24. #24 by Yee Siew Wah on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 3:41 pm

As I have said, none of the 3 musketeers are fit to be head of UMNO youth or any political party for that matter. At least that “Oxfart” SIL is the best of the worsts. What choice do the general rakyat have!! This is still Bolehland. Anything can be boleh la!! However, it feels good to have that mamak kutty legacy cut short. This mamak use all evil means to try and help his senile son so that he legacy can go on. However, at last, he lost. That poor mamak has got the biggest shock of his life. Hope not another triple bypass. If i were Mukhriz I would have commit hara kiri in front of his father as one blogger has suggested.
    As for that KT bum, he should de-botox himself now, cause he might be recognised by the rakyat. Go back to Indonesia to further his street-side dentistry. The UMNO malays wanted a true malay to run the party and not some self claim “pendatang malay”.

25. #25 by Anak_Penang on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 8:09 pm

Liverpool or Man Utd for the premier league Champion this season ?

Check it out at sonofpenang.blogspot.com

26. #26 by shamshul anuar on Thursday, 26 March 2009 - 11:25 pm

Dear tonbery,

My dear friend, where is your mannerism ? Why must you use four letter word to advance your point? Not that you have any point anyway.

Dear Born in Malaysia, yes sir racism is alive and kicking, no thank to tireless effort by Uncle Lim and Son for inciting hatred among Chinese by saying any alliance between MCA and Gerakan with UMNO is a symbol of weakness.

What is wrong by having such alliance. Why? Because the dominance of UMNO in BN? But it is natural as UMNO won the largest number of seats. Just like the post of Penang CM goes to DAP and not to PKR due to DAP winning the largest number of seats in Penang among PAS, PKR and DAP.

What is wrong in UMNO defending the Malay interest. Surely, it is suicidal to expect DAP to represent Malay interest. What DAP consistently talks for decade is Malaysian Malaysia, a nice facade for “Chinese” Malaysia only.

The interest of Chinese is firmly held but the rights of Malay is relentlessly questionned. that is Malaysian Malaysia for DAP.

Dear PSM, talk about losing , just like what Penangites feel currently. Now they realize that Guan Eng is only good at criticizing . Any Tom, Dick and Harry can do that. But governing a state is another story . What Guan Eng did was wasting state coffer by bringing 52 “tourists” to Korea to secure a golf course investment, something that Penagites cant fathom.

As for “M checked” written by Uncle Lim, well only he can see non existent faction. Anyway, it is not surprising considering that is his tactic used foe decades to tighten his control in DAP. Whatever said and done, Son Guan eng must inherit the post. Other leaders were slandered to make way for the filial son.

27. #27 by frankyapp on Friday, 27 March 2009 - 12:40 am

KJ won.Two reasons,one was a trade off between AAB and NR,the second I think he’s a good communicator and speaker.Yeah I too agreed with some of you guys that he’s a least evil of the three.But that’s didn’t mean you guys are free and safe. KJ with this victory,he’s likely to become a minister and might use his power to end some of you guys’s freedom especially PR’s state and federal ybs. Power rules,these triger happy fellows (new umno leaders} might simply shoot to show their new gained might through the barrel of the gun.My humble suggestion to all opposition ybs is ” look b4 u leap ” in dealing with these power crazy and hungry for revenge unstable guys.